Newport Blues Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,1

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,0
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,1

Notation basée sur
144 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Newport Blues

3,8 sur septembre 17, 2014

Easy check in. All ammenties were excellent.


The perfect spot!

3,4 sur août 26, 2014

Newport Jazz Festival Trip - First time and everything was really great. Nicely decorated and clean room and breakfast. Walking distance to sooooo much and good parking location.


Jewel House review

3,0 sur août 20, 2014

We stayed at the Jewel House in the Diamond Room. We have stayed there before and chose to again because we have enjoyed it. One problem was that the door did not lock. We could lock the lock but, we could just push the door open. We were only there for 2 nights so we did not want to take any of our weekend with having someone come to fix it possibly while we were in the room. There were also empty cans and plastic cups on the wall and in the garden which looked sloppy. Lastly, check out time was 11am on Sunday and no personnel were there to accept the keys and wish us on our way. These are certainly little things however, the little things mean a lot.


Great location!

3,4 sur août 13, 2014

Most B&Bs I've stayed in have fairly cramped rooms, but our room in Newport was huge! The staff was excellent, and the location was perfect for walking around Newport!


A fantastic experience...

5 sur juillet 30, 2014

I have had nothing but excellent experiences with the entire Newport Blues Inn company. The rooms are spotlessly clean but comfortable and homey, bathrooms are modern and updated, the common areas are super cute and comfortable, and breakfast is delicious and creative. From check-in to check-out, each person I encountered was friendly, helpful, and an absolute pleasure. I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in town.


Nice stay, central location

3,0 sur juillet 27, 2014

We stayed at the Newport blues inn new orleans suite. Room was large and clean. It was far away from the wharf that we did not hear any noise and was a five minute walk to the central locations. Room was clean as was the bathroom. It did not have a warm bed and breakfast feeling but was a nice stay. Breakfast was disappointing as the day we went down the hot selection was pancakes and bacon, two things i cannot eat. there was oatmeal fruit and cereal as other selections for breakfast. Worth the location but a disappointing breakfast.


Good Stay but No Wi-Fi

2,6 sur juillet 08, 2014

We had a good stay. The location is great, clean room, comfy bed. Breakfast has been better at other B&Bs I have stayed at, but it was fine. My main issue was the lack of Wi-Fi. They said they had Wi-Fi and provided a network name upon check-in, but that network name never appeared on our devices. It was very frustrating. I called and left a msg. about it, thinking perhaps they had changed the name or could provide assistance of some kind, but my call was never returned. Again, frustrating. Certainly not the place to stay if it's important that you stay connected.


Beautiful B&B

5 sur juillet 08, 2014

We had such a great stay! The location was more than convenient, including a lot for our car so we didn't have to worry about on street parking. The rooms were just perfect, with more than enough room for 2 people. I'm addition to our great night's stay, the French toast breakfast the next morning exceeded all my expectations! I would choose this B&B over any chain or inn next time I'm in Newport!


Newport Blues is lovely

4,0 sur juillet 07, 2014

Great place for get away!


Amazing place to stay

4,2 sur juin 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Black Duck inn. We were running late and weren't going to be able to check in on time. They were very accommodating and left the keys for us. In the morning there was a very nice array of breakfast items available and they made us the BEST french toast. It was really nice. I loved the location and it was very convenient to everything in downtown Newport! I would highly recommend to other people.


Dietary Needs

3,4 sur juin 20, 2014

Everyone was very pleasant to speak with when we arrived. The rooms were very clean and modern too. Although the website said they work with dietary needs, with 2 weeks notice, our vegan/ gluten free breakfast consisted of fruit salad and a bag of gluten free granola. Although I love fruit salad, I was slightly disappointed because my husband and I booked here since a HOT breakfast was included and the bedandbreakfast.com website said they offer special meal options (Low fat , Restrictive , Vegetarian , Gluten Free). Overall though, the location was perfect for our needs and a summer weekend in Newport is a beautiful thing!


Best B&B ever!!!

5 sur juin 10, 2014

My husband & I stayed in this B&B in the heart of Newport, Rhode Island and were delighted by the amazing good value for money we got. I will consider these properties like small boutique hotel Quality!!! The attention to detail, the help, advise from All the staff great customer services! And finally the breakfast second to none. Home made cooking and the variety just great! No doubt in my mind will recommend this to Anyone and everyone I know!!! Love it, great Memories...


Newport Blues Inn

3,4 sur juin 01, 2014

Very comfortable stay and extremely convenient to downtown (we walked every day). Love the quiet, historic neighborhood. Breakfast was excellent, the room was just right in every way. Was a good value, too. Not posh, but perfect for our getaway weekend.


Memorial weekend stay

5 sur mai 29, 2014

Had such a great weekend! Staff were very friendly and nice. Room was perfect! Can't wait to return.


Black Duck Inn was Great

4,0 sur mai 21, 2014

We stayed at the Black Duck Inn, which was beautiful and recently remodeled. The breakfast prepared by the innkeeper was wonderful each morning. The locations was superb as it's walking distance to the main strip. Only downfall was how noisy it was all day and night due to being so close to the action. Don't plan on sleeping much!


Quaint Bed and Breakfast Stay

3,6 sur mai 16, 2014

I stayed at this inn with my boyfriend after it was recommended to me by a friend of mine. We both enjoyed the peaceful quiet of the inn, and it was wonderful to have breakfast served in the morning before we began our next day in the area. The bed was very comfortable, the staff was very pleasant and helpful when we couldn't get our key to open the door (it was a rainy day when we checked in and the humidity was making the metal stick). It was a very cozy and hospitable inn, and during the off-season the prices are unbeatable. We enjoyed our stay very much, we had a great time!


Anniversary weekend

5 sur avril 04, 2014

Went with my boyfriend for our 13th anniversary. The room was gorgeous, the staff so friendly and helpful. And the breakfast delicious!


Black Duck Inn

3,4 sur février 24, 2014

It felt like our home. It was really quiet and cozy. We would definitely stay here again. However, the thermostat could not really be controlled and it got a little warm at night. And once other guests arrived, they did not make sure that the doors were locked and shut entirely.


Our romantic weekend at the black duck inn

4,0 sur février 14, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in this lovely house that is walking distance to several restaurants and shops on Thames st. The mansions are only a short drive away. Breakfast is included in room rate. There are a variety of rooms. Our favorite is the champagne suite upstairs. There are also nice bedrooms downstairs. We would definitely recommend this inn. The owners also run the newport blues inn.


A quick overnight.

5 sur février 09, 2014

When I arrived I was upgraded to a room with a fireplace which helped out on a cold night! The breakfast was great. I will stay there again when I'm in the area.


Beautiful modern room- great breakfast!

4,6 sur janvier 25, 2014

Would have been perfect stay if bed mattress was not so soft and if the jets worked in the jacuzzi tub.


Black Duck Inn

5 sur novembre 26, 2013

What a fantastic night!! We had a wonderful time, and a great Breakfast in the Morning, prepared by a wonderfully nice Innkeeper. Great Job!


Wonderful time!

5 sur novembre 13, 2013

We had a lovely time! Great location, comfy bed and a fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend them to anyone!


Not A Typical B&B - More Like a Budget Hotel

2,2 sur novembre 10, 2013

We had booked two nights and really wished we had checked out the B&B before they ran our card. The owners of the B&B actually have a total of 3 B&Bs, all in close proximity to one another. It's run more like a hotel than a B&B with no personalized service or extra amenities whatsoever. Our room was clean, but had a very noisy, small refrigerator that kept us awake. The bathroom had the smallest sink we've ever seen, and there was a small, broken floor tile. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were terrible -- too heavy and thick. Additionally, the breakfast was very meager and served in the basement, not quite what we expected. On the plus side, the hotel is within walking distance of downtown and the street itself, Pelham, is the first street in America to have been illuminated with gaslight (1801) which they still use today.


Weekend Getaway

5 sur novembre 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and cozy. We plan on staying here again.


Lovely stay

4,4 sur octobre 30, 2013

We had such a lovely time in Newport! We stayed in the Breton room. The inn was very centrally located in downtown and an easy 1 mile walk to the mansions. The room had nice sheets and was quiet. The breakfast was an upgraded continental breakfast with eggs any style and bacon plus the usual yogurt, cereal and freshly baked muffins. Plenty of seating and great staff.


cozy & clean with great location

3,8 sur octobre 29, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Newport Blues Inn. We found the rooms very accommodating and breakfast was delicious. Very clean, cozy place in a perfect location with very friendly & helpful staff. Would recommend!


Weekend away in Newport

3,4 sur octobre 28, 2013

My husband and I came to Newport for the weekend as our first getaway after having our first child. We had a great time the Inn was just wonderful and we truly had a nice relaxing luxurious weekend. We will definitely be vising again and the Black Duck Inn is where we will stay!!


Doesn't match the price tag

2,8 sur octobre 24, 2013

We were excited to stay in downtown Newport and the Black Duck Inn was very clean and contemporary. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great. That being said, for $300 a night, I shouldn't have to listen to the next room or the street noise, my sink should drain properly and I should be able to use the jacuzzi tub whenever I feel like it. Next time I have $300 to burn in Newport, I will be visiting Castle Hill where they make you feel special.


Contempory B&B

3,2 sur octobre 20, 2013

Our original reservations were to stay at Blue Jewel Guest House, in the Diamond Room. Upon arrival, we were told we were "upgraded" to a King bed at the Black Duck Inn, which was down the street. I was disappointed, as I did a lot of research for the type of room I wanted to spend our 44th Wedding Anniversary. I unfortunately did not question the change, but thought it was perhaps due to the fact that no one else was staying at Blue Jewel, and it is only a 4 bedroom house, and they did not want to keep the house open to just one couple? The Black Duck was clean enough, and the service and people were very nice. The breakfast was also good. But it was more of a contemporary room. The hot tub did not yield hot water, but we didn't mention this, as this was not a priority to us. I really would have liked to stayed at the Blue Jewel, but it was just nice to be away.


Black Duck Inn

3,8 sur octobre 17, 2013

Very nice place. Great food. Less than a block from downtown Newport. Would stay here again when going back to Newport, RI.


Had a Great Time!

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2013

This was our first stay and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were not sure what to expect, but the Inn was great. The room was big and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and the people were very nice. We will certainly return.


Love B&B

4,8 sur octobre 16, 2013

Very welcoming greeting. Upgraded to make the birthday weekend even more special. Felt like I was at home. Would rather staying at a bed and breakfast over any 5 star hotel


Cozy and clean

3,6 sur octobre 15, 2013

We loved the quiet, cleanliness of the Black Duck in Sauvignon Blanc room. It was a lovely surprise to find a spacious spa tub waiting for us to enjoy as well. The location to Bowen's Wharf et al was perfect. Finally, the cheerie housekeeper made us some delicious pumpkin pancakes. We will certainly return at some point in the future!


Girls Weekend

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2013

Easy check in with very nice people; the room was very clean and large enough for 4 women to be comfortable. Great breakfast,perfect location and free tix to the Blues Club. Would return in a heart beat!


weekend in Newport

3,6 sur octobre 07, 2013

I have never stayed in a B&B and was reluctant....boy what a surprise ..easy check in.... room or I should say suite was very roomy for the 3 of us...we also had the only balcony very nice to sit on for drinks and snacks....would recommend very highly


Nice place, but if you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere

2,8 sur octobre 07, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 2013. I believe it was the Gooseberry room? Fantastic location; cute room but nothing fancy/luxurious; bathtub needed to be repainted, but it was clean; great hairdryer in room; bed was very comfortable; loved the cookies and drinks available in the common room 24/7; breakfast pancakes were delicious but again, nothing fancy. All-in-all a good find. Reasonably priced for Newport. Would stay here again simply because of the price and location.


comforts of home

5 sur septembre 30, 2013

boat show accomodations at their best.Close,clean and friendly.


Great Newport B&B

5 sur septembre 30, 2013

Perfect location, great service, and quaint rooms! Exactly what we wanted for our Newport escape.


A great girls' weekend

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Newport Blues Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful.


Great old town location, great value, great people

4,2 sur septembre 16, 2013

If you want to be walking distance from the heart of Newport, park your car for the day and walk around the shops, restaurants, parks and the port, then this is it. Great value for what we got. The plan is not to stay in your room all day, since the one chosen was not that big (in our case), but rather go places and visit. Newport is really nice. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything. I would come back for sure next time around.


Newport Blues Inn

4,4 sur septembre 15, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves! Great price! Great location!


Newport vacation

2,8 sur septembre 15, 2013

The Newport Blues Inn was where we stayed for our Newport vacation. We chose it because it was close to downtown...within walking distance. The house was old and quaint with a lovely front porch. Our room was kind of on the small side but it was ok for the two of us. The bathroom and shower could have been a little cleaner. And I wish the room had some sort of alarm clock. Breakfast was simple but very good. For the price and location, I would stay here again.


Great location & value

4,4 sur septembre 11, 2013

The location and value were both great. We'll definitely be back.


Great value in Newport

4,6 sur août 26, 2013

We stayed at the Black Duck Inn on Thursday night, and it was great. We were looking for a room with a bathroom, walking distance to the downtown area, and that's exactly what we got. We stayed in the zinfandel room. The room was small but cozy, and located right next to the exit, but there was very little noise. In the morning there was tea, coffee, pancakes and (microwaved) bacon. The walk to the downtown area is hardly worth mentioning, as it is such a short distance. The room was clean, the bathroom updated and immaculate, and we will be going back there the next time we stay in Newport. Thanks!


Loved!!!

4,2 sur août 25, 2013

What a great experience we had at this adorable B&B. It was quaint, cozy, centrally located, affordable, and the service was wonderful. The chef for breakfast was so accommodating and a made the most delicious breakfast! It's very no frills so if you're looking for posh, this is not the place. If you're looking for simplistic coziness, you're going to love it here.


Great Location, Friendly, Responsive Staff

3,6 sur août 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Jewel while visiting the area to tour the mansions. Very walkable town. Mansions are a bit of a hike so we hopped on the local bus. Breakfast is served down the street at The Black Duck Inn, a sister B&B due to space limitations at the Blue Jewel. Room was nicely decorated, 2-person bathroom shower was new with modern design- a nice surprise.


Zinfandel Room Review

4,0 sur août 21, 2013

The breakfast was delicious! Definitely much more substantial than expected. It's nice that cookies and drinks are left out for the guests as well. All of the staff we came across was very friendly and welcoming. The location is great - a few steps away from Thames Street. Parking is in a lot - not the street - and right behind the inn. The only issue was that the sliding glass door in the shower was wonky, but beyond that, the room was nicer than expected and very very clean.


Wonderful place to stay.

4,8 sur août 18, 2013

A very lovely, clean, comfortable place to stay in Newport. Quite close to everything - right in the heart of town but a quiet retreat. Delicious breakfast. I will definitely stay again.


Great b&b

5 sur août 16, 2013

The staff was great the breakfast each morning was very good. Room was nice size and quiet. Well located right off main pier.


Great customer service, not enough A/C in the summer

3,0 sur août 05, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Jewel for 3 nights in July during a heat wave. Our room was comfortable and clean, but rather small. There was not enough air conditioning; fan was exhausted, but they installed a window A/C unit that helped to cool down the room. Other than that, our stay at the inn was fantastic! Staff are very friendly and willing to provide great dinning recommendations. Breakfast was excellent too! I’d definitely stay there again, just not in the middle of the summer…and I’d request a bigger room.


Convenient Location

3,2 sur août 01, 2013

The room was very small, but clean and sufficient for our purposes. We came to enjoy Newport, not sit in the room. The front porch was not overly clean--it needed to be swept and the furniture had beige cushions that really needed to be cleaned. They also need to take the price tags off of the hanging baskets (picky, but a little detail that could be helpful). There was iced drink and cookies available in the afternoon which was a nice touch. There was not an ice machine ice available for guest use. There also were not full length mirrors in the rooms, which would be helpful when dressing for an evening out. Breakfast was very good--more than expected--with pleasant staff.


weekend getaway

3,2 sur juillet 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a pleasant stay at the Blues Inn this July. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the location was right off the downtown area. Would definitely recommend this Inn!


nice

3,4 sur juillet 25, 2013

breakfast was excellent, room was nice, bed comfortable, had to plunge the shower, was standing in water, but once i did that it was ok for my wife. would go there again. mid week price was excellent


Fabulous location, beautiful b &b

4,6 sur juillet 09, 2013

Best location, you can walk everywhere. The room was very comfortable and clean. Great breakfast. Will be back!!


Newport Blues Inn

4,0 sur juillet 03, 2013

This was our 3rd stay here so there's a reason we keep coming back. 2 out of the 3 times we were upgraded to bigger, better rooms. This most recent stay we were upgraded and I think perhaps it wasn't keyed properly in the system because housekeeping did not come after our first night. No big deal but we just didn't want to make the bed on our vacation! Breakfast was, as usual, outstanding. Ample coffee, juices, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, yogurt, and of course an incredible hot meal. This most recent stay included blueberry pancakes and French toast. All delicious. We will definitely return again!


Black Duck

3,2 sur juin 25, 2013

The unit itself was very nice and newly renovated. Rooms were very clean and the staff was super pleasant! Ammenities on the other hand were limited. A small dorm size fridge is all that is available in teh common area. WIFI had limited avaialbility as well, perhaps because we were on teh second floor. Lastly, if you enjoy a quiet nights rest you may want to stay further up the street as you can hear the music and noise from the local club at the end of the street.


Happy updgrade

3,8 sur juin 24, 2013

The street was quiet and within walking distance to the wharf, a perfect combination. I was unexpectedly updgraded to a different room when I arrived. I was very happy with it. It was the getaway I was looking for. The staff were helpful with directions, etc. I would definitely go back.


Graham - June 9-13,2013.

5 sur juin 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Location was perfect. Room, service, breakfast were all outstanding. We could not have had a better stay. Thanks.


Cosy refuge

4,0 sur juin 08, 2013

Very well located, Cosy atmosphere and warm Stuff.


Quaint B+B

4,4 sur juin 05, 2013

The Newport Blues Inn is a nice, quiet B+B just a short walk from downtown Newport. There is adequate parking a block and a half away, which is good for Newport. I would definetly return.


Anniversary Getaway

5 sur juin 05, 2013

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary and everything was perfect!


May 17-19 Stay

4,8 sur juin 02, 2013

Very nice stay. Would stay again. Thank you!


the cozy blues

3,8 sur avril 25, 2013

we love the newport blues! Our weekend was great! The feel of the B & B is very homey and comfortable-you feel at home even though away from home-My only disappointment was the bed wasn't as comfortable as the beds on the second floor, but all in all for the price we paid it was a fantastic deal!


Sauvignon Blanc

3,8 sur mars 31, 2013

Stayed in the "Sauvignon Blanc" room which was a nice mix of modern (jetted tub and bathroom) and quaint. Staff was very friendly despite a busy holiday weekend, and cooked up some lovely french toast and bacon for us before we headed out.


Great Girls' Weekend

4,8 sur mars 06, 2013

Three of us stayed in the Easton Room. We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, and the general accommodations, including the comfort of the beds and pillows. The check-in process was easy and comfortable, even though we arrived after regular check-in hours. We spent one evening enjoying the fire-placed sitting room and freshly-made cookies, and the full breakfasts were wonderful. Altogether a lovely place and a great weekend, and we plan to make it an annual event!


Our romantic Valentine's Day & Anniversary!

4,2 sur février 20, 2013

Our stay was amazing! The Black Duck Inn was clean and in the perfect location for our get away! If we come to Newport again, we'll be sure to check here for our stay.


Meritage suite

4,0 sur février 04, 2013

The location of this inn was spectacular, and the suite was lovely. The people were very nice and the room was clean. The only issues with the room were a towel rack falling off the wall and new towels that hadn't been washed properly (the dye leaked out of them when using them). The bed, however, was exceptionally comfortable and the room had some thoughtful finishes.


Newport Blues Review

5 sur janvier 04, 2013

The Inn was very nice and clean and in a very good location to downtown Newport. The breakfast was also delicious and we will definitely come back for another stay in the future....thanks!!


Newport Blues Inn

4,8 sur novembre 21, 2012

We came to Newport Blues Inn for an engagement weekend. This place was awesome. Right in the heart of Newport, walking distance to everywhere, and the beds and pillows were great. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice romantic getaway weekend in Newport. We loved it!


Black Duck Inn

5 sur novembre 20, 2012

We stayed at one of the Inns called the Black Duck Inn. The room was very very very clean, the bathroom was great, and the Breakfast in the morning was awesome. So many times you dont know with reviews who is actually writing them. I am a real patron and our stay was awesome!!!!! Two thumbs up Black Duck Inn, and we will be Back!!!!!


Outstanding room.

3,4 sur octobre 26, 2012

My rating is based on my stay in the Chicago room. Good room which was very clean and perfect for an overnight stay.


I would definitely stay here again

3,8 sur octobre 14, 2012

The Newport Blues Inn was very nice and the innkeeper could not have been more wonderful


lovely B&B

4,4 sur octobre 11, 2012

we were 2 couples and stayed in the Pinot Noir suite of the black duck inn. fabulous rooms, great location and the breakfasts were great. Thoroughly recommended.


modern bnb

2,8 sur septembre 23, 2012

Nice modern bnb room was clean breakfast was ok overall had a great time


charming b&b

3,8 sur septembre 17, 2012

great location and superb breakfast. only complaint is musty smell in the room upon arrival. we opened the windows which helped.


Jewel House review

3,6 sur septembre 06, 2012

I would have expected hangers in the closet. especially for the price we paid. There was also an ice bucket in the room, but no place to get ice to fill it. The room itself was pretty and clean.


No Cable?

3,4 sur septembre 04, 2012

Would have thought room would have cable tv and a sofa or love seat.


Very Quaint B&B!!

3,8 sur août 18, 2012

We made reservations at the NBI. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeting by the innkeeper. The innkeeper is a lady in her early 40's or late 30's. She had a motherly feel about her. When she smiled or spoke, it gave me an impetuous feeling of being at eased and comfort. We were an half hour early, hoping that we could get an early check in. Turns out, the innkeeper didn't received our room keys yet. Instead of checking in at NBI, she recommended for us to stay at the Black Duck Inn, their other inn right down the road, because it was closer to downtown and also, we wouldn't have to walk up the hill to get to the NBI. We were glad we made the switch. The BDI is only right down the street from the bars and restaurants. The location made it quite easy to walk home after a night of dining and drinking. I really have no big complaints about BDI. The room was smaller than I expected but I was still happy. We didn't spend much time in our rooms anyway so it didn't matter. There were always fresh cookies, tea, and coffee out in the eating area for us, which I thought was nice. There is also a refrigerator with complimentary bottled water and wine. The breakfast in the morning was great. The innkeeper always made something different everyday but I always opted out of the daily menu for just eggs and bacon. The eggs were unexpectedly delicious. Usually I prefer salt and pepper on my eggs but I didn't need it because the eggs were surprisingly really flavorful. Overall, my experience was great. The location was phenomenal and the price was reasonable. I would definitely come back again!!


Great find - highly recommended!

3,4 sur août 16, 2012

I recently found the Newport Blues Inn when planning a last minute trip to Newport, RI. Most hotel rooms were booked or charging extremely high rates - the Newport Blues Inn was a much lower price. They only had suites available but they were still at a lower cost than the hotel rooms. The location is great, it's right in the middle of the main Newport strip so we could walk everywhere. It's not on the water but I was okay with that given the price. There is no parking immediately in front/back of the inn but we received a free parking pass for a parking lot a half block away which was fine and very safe. Breakfast hours were from 8-10 which actually was my only complaint - I had hoped that there would be a later breakfast on Sundays for those who want to sleep in a bit more. The breakfast is a nice assortment of fruits, yogurts, and bagels/toast. They will also make you a hot meal based on the daily specials. It was a cool August weekend there - so the suite stayed at a comfortable temperature with the air conditioner. It was a wall unit in the bedroom. However, we had it running on its highest setting the entire weekend and it never got "cold" which made me assume that it would fall short if it was above 85 degrees outside. Lastly, any interaction with the other guests were always very friendly.


Folk Festival

3,0 sur août 13, 2012

NBI is a quaint B&B, very close to great shopping and restaurants. We were pleased to find that there was parking available to us up the street at the lodge, as there are never any spaces available on Pelham St. We stayed in the Gooseberry room. It was somewhat small, but we were only using the room for sleep and showers. The positives of NBI were the quiet neighbors, the breakfast in the morning (quite a few selections were available, the blueberry pancakes were AMAZING), fresh cookies available every afternoon, and a "comfortable" bed (the bed was hard as a rock, and I typically don't like a hard mattress, but I slept like a baby every night). The negatives were the linens... the fitted sheet had dirt on it... it looked like an old soot stain or something like that. The stain was right at the head of the bed. If you wanted to conceal the stain from guests, put that stain at the foot of the bed! Also, there were two bottles of water in our room when we arrived, but the bottled water was not replenished each day. I found that to be somewhat cheap. When we arrived in the room, the air conditioner was on, but the room was very warm. There was a large open area in between the window A/C unit and the window. We fixed that problem by shoving a towel in the open area, and the room cooled down in a matter for minutes. The negatives mentioned were all small inconveniences, none of them affected my overall experience at NBI. I would stay there again!


great value!!

4,2 sur juillet 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 nights here mid-week. It had been 12 years since our last visit and I don't know why we waited so long to go back!! Very clean, spacious rooms, recently remodeled, great price and great location!! I acnnot wait to come back to the Black Duck Inn!!


Another fabulous stay at the Newport Blues Inn!

5 sur juillet 24, 2012

It was yet another fabulous stay at the Newport Blues Inn - the excellent location, delicious daily cookies and breakfast, and cozy beds are always fantastic!! We will be back again next summer!


Black Duck Inn

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2012

We stayed at the Black Duck Inn, one of three bed and breakfast inn's associated with the Newport Blues Inn. Our inn was set about one block back from the main harbor thoroughfare, easy walking distance to all the harbor attractions (i.e. 12 Meter Yacht Cruises). Ours was a second floor room; smallish, but clean, air conditioned, with windows that opened (big plus for us). There was a two person over sized Jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, not the bathroom (also a big plus - how romantic can you get next to the toilet?). Breakfast was excellent each morning, cooked to order by the friendly chef. The inn provided free off street parking right at the inn. We loved the place and would heartily recommend it.


4th of July stay in Newport

3,4 sur juillet 08, 2012

My husband and I celebrated 5 years of marriage in Newport at The Black Duck Inn over the 4th of July holiday. The location of the B&B is perfect, as we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed in the Riesling room. It was small, but clean, attractive and adequate for our needs.


Nice B & B

4,4 sur juin 25, 2012

This B&B fit our needs well since it appears to be one of only a few B & B's that actually has 2 queens and/or doubles in a room. Service was great; location is great; the breakfasts were quite good; the price was what I expected for Newport. If we return to Newport, we would certainly stay here again.


Recent Stay

4,6 sur juin 22, 2012

Friendly service, comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Also a great location right near town and convenient parking. We would certainly visit again.


Black Duck

5 sur juin 18, 2012

we found the Black Duck to be a clean, quiet, well appointed and above all very hospitable. Jean, our host, went the extra mile to ensure we had a memorable stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely recommend to our friends and look forward to staying there again. Bill & Donna


Very clean, good mattress, good breakfast

4,0 sur juin 17, 2012

My only complaint would be the front desk is very inflexible with the rules. You check in at 3pm, not minute before. If you arrive early, no one is allowed to park until checked in even if the lot is emply. I generally expect more hospitality at a B&B. Otherwise, I would recommend this place, very clean, thoughtful in furnishings, good breakfast.


a wonderful stay!

4,6 sur mai 25, 2012

close to everything, marvelous breakfast, great staff, superior rooms


Great Inn with a Great Location

5 sur mai 01, 2012

We spent the weekend for my fiance's birthday. The location was great. It was a short walk down to shops, restaurants, and the water. Our room was great. It wasn't a huge room, but it was plenty for the two of us. The staff was very helpful, giving us many suggestions for activities during our stay. The breakfasts were great, too. Overall this was a great place to stay. We'd definitely stay there again.


Black Duck Inn

3,6 sur avril 18, 2012

Nice rooms, comfortable bed, great bathroom, all updated. Dining room areas nice and modern with individual tables and 2 chairs. Very convenienct to have on parking space behind the Inn, with back door access too. Only complaint is the noise level at 2am when the club down the street, Studio One, lets out. VERY noisy, entertaining at times, but you will not sleep through it trust me. Would not stay there due to that fact only. Otherwise the Inn itself was lovely.


overpriced, noisy

4,0 sur mars 14, 2012

Not a good value, for what else is around. Very loud, awnings falling off and rattling in wind


Weekend away!

4,0 sur mars 04, 2012

We had a pleasant stay until the drunkin' brood came in around 1. I didn't feel this lovely inn would attract such behavior. Definitely not whet I thought I would have to deal with on my weekend away with my husband. I paid a good chunk of change to deal with loud drunk behavior. Would return, but maybe to the sister inn where the innkeeper resides.


Great Place to Stay in Newport

4,8 sur février 23, 2012

We actually got switched to the Black Duck Inn, part of the same group of B&B's on Pelham Street. The room was wonderful, clean, comfortable and right in the heart of downtown Newport. The breakfast, provided by the Inn, was delicious and freshly made. The chef took our egg order and whipped up some quick, tasty breakfast treats. This was our 2nd time staying at Newport Blues/Black Duck Inn and I can safely say that we'll be staying there anytime we're in Newport. 5 Stars.


Wonderful Experience

5 sur décembre 14, 2011

My fiancée and I decided to take a winter trip to Newport during early December for a romantic weekend, and the Newport Blues Inn was exactly what we were hoping for. Not only were we upgraded to a nicer room that was closer to the town at no extra charge, but everyone who worked there was amazing and the room had the perfect combination of old world charm and amenities of today (TV, Jacuzzi Tub, etc.). I will certainly go back, and I recommend that everyone else does as well. Thanks again to the Newport Blues Inn!!


Honeymoon in Newport

5 sur décembre 09, 2011

We stayed in the Meritage suite at the Black Duck Inn and we loved it! The room was gorgeous and the Inn Keeper was very welcoming and made us a wonderful breakfast. We would definitely return.


Hidden Gem in Newport!

4,8 sur novembre 27, 2011

This quaint bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations in every area. We stayed in the Zinfandel room (the smallest), but it was perfect for our needs. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was a good size, and beautiful decor. Breakfast was amazing! We had three hot dishes to choose from as well as an array of fruits, muffins, bagels, danish, yogurt, etc... It was also in a great location, within walking distance to shops. At night we could hear some noise from downtown, but the inn was just far enough away so it did not interrupt our sleep. We will be staying here again!


Okay But

2,6 sur novembre 25, 2011

This is BnB has a great location right in the middle of everything. Our room was a little small for two people, only one chair in the room. The bed and pillows were great! We slept very soundly. It bathroom sink had a slow drain and the shower took a long time to get hot water. Would I stay here again? Probably not.


friendly staff, great location

4,0 sur novembre 20, 2011

We stayed for a night for a last-minute weekend getaway. The staff was very friendly and had helpful suggestions about places to go and see in Newport. The room (Gooseberry) was as expected -- on the cozy side, but clean and comfortable and well kept up -- and the the location is a great one for walking around the downtown area. Overall we enjoyed our stay and found it a really great last-minute value.


GREAT but ANNOYED!!!

3,6 sur novembre 12, 2011

Great innkeeper, great room , great neighborhood, great food!! BUT annoyed by the housekeeper! Not once, not twice, but three times!! Are you kidding me???? She knocked at 7:30 am that scared the heck out of us! At breakfast, she was kind enough to apologize. It was a dark rainy morning, so after breakfast, we went back to the room and fell asleep reading up on Newport. Only to be startled by another knock at the door at 10:06!! It was The housekeeper who said, "O, you still there?!". Yes we were still there! We paid for the room until 11am!! So we got up to pack and figure out where to go on that rainy day in Newport....only to receive another KNOCK AT THE DOOR at 10:43!! Yep...the housekeeper...This time she told us that our room was her last to clean and she been trying to clean it! Really?? Did I not pay for the room until 11am for an uninterrupted stay??? So, as I do recommend the B&B, I recommend you make sure the housekeeper keeps her distance and does her cleaning after you check out!! While I refuse to allow anyone to ruin my day.....this should not happen to anyone!


Such a Treat!

5 sur novembre 01, 2011

A group of us were in town for a function last weekend, we booked rooms at the sister inns, Newport Blues Inn and the Blue Jewel. Each of us had wonderful and unique rooms. This was my second trip to the Inn. I now consider it my home away from home in Newport. The inn's are walking distance from all of the excitement on the wharf and Thames Street. Great location, staff and accommodations.


Great Place

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2011

Everything was very clean. A nice quiet place to stay, walking distances to most places and the breakfast was fantastic.


Awesome Stay

4,4 sur octobre 12, 2011

I really enjoyed out stay here. The room was beautiful and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I loved sitting out on the porch drinking my tea and either writing or reading. This is a great place to stay and I would return again if given the opportunity.


Newport Blues Inn on Boat Show weekend

3,6 sur octobre 03, 2011

Excellent B&B for the Boat Show weekend. Walking distance to the Show and restaurants, yet on a quiet side street. Nice "galley" for breakfast, with friendly service by the chef/hostess.


Black Duck is Nice Spot

4,6 sur septembre 28, 2011

Stayed in the Chardonay room - big bathroom, very clean. Liked the decor in the common areas, breakfasts were very tasty, staff was pleasant. Great location - short walk to Thames St. Look forward to staying at the Black Duck again some time.


First Time Stay...Will Be Back Again Next Year

4,2 sur septembre 26, 2011

The Newport Inn exceeded my expectations. Everything about Newport was exemplified here..the quaintness, pleasent atmosphere, warm, friendly and gracious hosts, and relaxation made our stay that much better. We will be back again next year and this time for the Jazz festival...you can bet on that.


September Getaway

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2011

The Newport Blues Inn was a wonderful place to stay for a fall getaway in beautiful Newport! Breakfast was delicious! Rooms are quaint and cozy! Perfect location!


Black Duck Inn review

3,2 sur septembre 17, 2011

We stayed in the Meritage suite off season, and while it was fantastic, I feel the price was a little steep for the off season.


Great Newport Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur août 19, 2011

Stayed at Newport Blues Inn on a Thursday night in the Brenton Room. It was very comfortable and relaxing. Check-in was a breeze and the Inn keeper provide excellent suggestions of bars/restaurants to check out. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! The Inn is conveniently located 2 blocks from Newport's waterfront wharf and only a mile from the Newport mansions.


We will come back

4,8 sur août 18, 2011

The rooms and everyone who worked here was very nice and friendly. Just like if we knew ech other for years. We were treated like family here thanks for the kindlness of your year everyone.


Hidden Gem!

4,4 sur août 08, 2011

We stayed at the inn upon recommendation from a friend (who also loved it). The price was great, location was perfect (close to town but still quiet), room was VERY clean and the breakfast was amazing. And the greatest bonus was the homemade cookies in the front foyer! We will definitely recommend to friends and stay there for any future Newport adventures!


Charming and adequate, but not outstanding

2,8 sur août 03, 2011

Overall, the staff was very nice and the place very charming. A few things that were disappointing. The air conditioner did not keep the room cool enough. the room appeared clean on the surface, but when you looked a little closer, it needed a deep cleaning. The window sill in the bathroom, the shower and the shower curtain, in particular were not as clean as they could have been. The shower drain was also partially clogged, which meant you were standing in water while you showered. Otherwise, the inn was fine. The breakfast was an outstanding experience and value, and the location is ideal. I would stay there again, but I thought the price was a little high.


Perfect place to stay in Newport.

3,6 sur août 02, 2011

It was clean, with a good location and they offered a delicious breakfast.


Thank You

4,2 sur août 02, 2011

Emma was very helpful on initial call for reservations. She was polite and patient. the "cook" for breakfast prepared excellent dishes and was very informative about directions and activities. we asked for a late check out and it was "no problem". the "room" was a great value because we had two separate bedrooms and living room at a great price. great location!


Wonderful Time in Newport!

5 sur juillet 27, 2011

Just a wonderful experience at the Blue Jewel. The room was extremely comfortable. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home. The staff was so friendly. The breakfast delicious! The private driver / guide they arranged was spectacular as well. Just an all around wonderful experience!


Very, very pleased!

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2011

Very attractive, clean, good food. We asked for a few things and they accommodated us. Shops and restaurants with in walking distance. We were kept cool on a hot and humid weekend.


Black Duck is Top Dog

5 sur juillet 25, 2011

so impressed with the location, room and breakfast! 10 out of 10


Nice, but missing some simple amenities...

3,6 sur juillet 20, 2011

Had a nice visit, great house rooms were clean... missing some of the creature comforts I would expect... no ice, no glasses, nice to have a fridge though. Decor was very basic and interior was blahhh. Great staff though! Enjoyed the Blues at the Newport Blues Cafe... cover charge complementary:)


Great location and value

3,6 sur juin 15, 2011

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the Newport Blues Inn. Good points: the location couldn't be beat. We walked pretty much everywhere. They also include parking in a lot across the street which was very convenient - we didn't have to pay for or search for parking the entire time we were there. Breakfast was also nice with a large selection of items every day (yogurt, fruit, muffins, juice, coffee, cereal) and a special hot item each day (pancakes, french toast, quiche, etc). The main room and our room were immaculate and nicely decorated. Also, the value cannot be beat. I did my research and this inn was by far the best value for the location, time of year, an quality. Some things that I would improve upon: We found the bed (we stayed in the Gooseberry room) to be horribly uncomfortable. This is clearly personal preference, and I'll admit that I don't sleep well away from home, but it was unfortunate not to be able to sleep at all while on vacation! Also, the lights from the hall showed through a crack in the door which didn't help with the sleeping situation. While the housekeepers came every day and did a great job refreshing the room, towels, etc, we never got new toiletry items after we arrived. So, by day 3 we were out of shampoo and soap - lucky I had some stashed away! I should mention that everyone we spoke to at the inn was very nice - we didn't mention anything about the hall light or the toiletries; I'm sure if we had that it would have been addressed. However, since the check-in is at the other property down the street, we weren't really sure who we should talk to and honestly it wasn't really worth it for such minor things. Overall - I would recommend this inn if location and value are important to you. I would stay here again, but would definitely choose a different room in hopes that the bed would be more comfortable.


Great!!

4,6 sur juin 02, 2011

Had a great time,,,loved the room and the location...such a treat to have a wonderful breakfast served to you every morning!! Thank You!


Wonderful

3,8 sur mai 26, 2011

Upon checking in, they notified us that they upgraded us to a better room without any extra charge :). The room was very clean. The breakfast was wonderful, and they accommodated my need for a gluten free meal happily. We would definitely stay there again.


Fabulous!

5 sur mai 19, 2011

I had a visitor from overseas for a visit. I brought her to Newport and we stayed at the Blues Inn. We stayed in the Sachet room #9. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. The inn keepers were so pleasant and the breakfast was delicious. Close to town but still quiet at night. My classy European friend was very impressed!


Great getaway in Newport!

4,2 sur mai 18, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a local getaway (we live 2 hours away) and Newport was the perfect place. The Newport Blues Inn was a great place to stay. We walked one block from the Inn and we were in downtown Newport with access to all the best restaurants, shops, etc. We parked the car all weekend. Clean rooms, friendly check-in, great breakfast and afternoon snack provided. Would love to return!


Nice but one small issue

3,2 sur mai 11, 2011

It's a very lovely Inn and very conveniently located. It was very clean and breakfast was nice. The people at breakfast were very friendly and accomodating. I think where we may have had a problem was that we ended up delayed in traffic so arrived late so didn't really receive very much information about the inn or the room. There were some slight issues with the room which we just sort of let go and maybe would have not been an issue if we had arrived on time. We were on the 2nd floor and the weekend we were there it was warm so our room at night was quite stuffy. We tried opening the windows and that did help a bit but we were expecting air conditioning. We did find something in the closet which looked like it might be some type of portable a/c unit but had no clue on how to use it. Again, perhaps if we had arrived on time, we would have been given a bit more information and instruction about the room. Other than that one small issue, it was a lovely stay. Very pretty inn in a very pretty location.


Relaxing weekend at The Black Duck

5 sur avril 17, 2011

Breakfast was delicious, rooms were cozy and the staff was very accomodating and hospitable.


President's Day fun in Newport

3,6 sur février 24, 2011

The Newport Blues Inn is a terrific home base for fun activities in Newport. Well-priced, clean and comfortable our group of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Inn staff were incredibly welcoming and gave us good tips as to our stay in Newport. My one negative comment was the breakfast, although included in the price, it was pretty bland. All in all a great stay. I highly recommend


Great time!

5 sur décembre 25, 2010

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here. We fully recommend this place!


Cozy Place

3,2 sur novembre 04, 2010

On a chilly day, the fireplace in the front room was wonderful. The breakfasts were excellent on both days that we stayed there. We had booked for the Black Duck Inn but were redirected to the Newport Blues Inn when we arrived. The location is excellent, three blocks from the waterfront.


Disappointing!

2,4 sur octobre 24, 2010

I reserved Gooseberry at NB online. 4 days later had not received confirmation went back online and found 2nd night I had reserved room was still available. We booked again. Week later I received a call stating that they had 2 res. The women explained that there had been a problem with their online security and hadn't sent confirmation. After call still did not receive any confirmation or receipt. We planned to spend a mini honeymoon in Newport for 2 night after wedding and then back to work. We arrived at NB we found a note instructing us to go down the street to BJ to check in. Not a far walk but would have been nice if had been sent an email explaining this process before we arrived. At the 2nd inn a nice young lady greeted us and said there was a note saying our room had been "upgraded" to the 3rd inn (Black Duck). I questioned this saying we had not been notified but the girl was not able to offer us a reason why. I did not care for the room at all. Very small and dark. Not an "upgrade" in my opinion. Ended up asking us to stay in the Champagne Suite at the BD. When we arrived at the room was not clean. The beds mattress pad had all sorts of stains but the sheets had been removed leaving me to believe they were going to remake the bed with that mattress pad still on the bed. I was grossed out but at this point we had 30 min to get to our dinner res. When we returned from dinner it been cleaned and ended up being comfortable but street was VERY noisy until 2AM. We thought that at breakfast (which was pretty good!) the inn keeper or manager would possibly stop by and apologize for all the confusion and explain to us why our room had been changed but we never heard from them. We still have not had any contact from them. We ended up cutting our "honeymoon" short and going home a day early rather then stay at any of the three inns a third night due to the poor service and the stress they caused us on our HONEYMOON. Very disappointing!


Black Duck Inn

5 sur octobre 13, 2010

We stayed at the Black Duck Inn and had an awesome experience. Our room (the Champagne Suite) was super...great decor, modern, clean, etc. The Innkeeper, Elena, was terrific...and her breakfast was outstanding!! We had a fabulous time and would highly, highly recommend the Black Duck Inn!!


Newport Blues Inn doesn't give you "the blues"

4,4 sur juillet 30, 2010

We stayed from Mon - Fri. The breakfasts were always delicious, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the rooms were cozy and very clean. We loved this B&B and would stay there again as well as recommend it to our friends and family.


Perfect 4th!

5 sur juillet 08, 2010

The Newport Blues Inn was the perfect place to spend the 4th! We were so close to shopping, great restaurants, and the beach. Breakfast each morning was delicious and the wine and cheese at night was the perfect start to our night. It was also a great way to meet other people staying at the inn as well. I would absolutely recommend staying here!!


Enjoyed my stay at Newport, Great location!

4,4 sur juillet 08, 2010

The rooms were beautiful at Blue Jewel Guest House. The room was kept clean and maintained well. The keepers were kind and generous in recommending great places to dine and play within the Newport area. The location is a plus! Easy access to the popular part of town considering the fact that I was a tourist and a first-timer in Newport, RI. Thank you!!


Can't wait to go back.

4,0 sur mai 22, 2008

Great location, very comfortable, very nice rooms and a breakfast to look forward to. What more can I say, except that the couple who runs this place are are great, down to earth, genuine people who just want their guests to be happy. Of course, they're from the midwest, you don't find such friendly people in southern New England.


The Perfect Valentine's Day Getaway

4,8 sur mars 03, 2008

It was our first Valentine's Day together, and the Newport Blues Inn helped make it one of the most memorable vacations ever. The room was gorgeous, and the staff was nice and incredibly helpful. We would recommend the Newport Blues Inn to anybody who enjoys friendly people, a clean room, a great breakfast, and an overall outstanding value.


Family Reunion

5 sur février 26, 2008

We've stayed all over Newport for family reunion. Newport Blues was classy & convenient. We'll stay there again!


Wonderful!

4,0 sur janvier 24, 2008

We stayed in the upper two-bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. Room was very well decorated and clean. Great to walk out the front door and walk the Cliff Walk and stroll the beach. Some good seafood restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast nothing fancy but good. Would go again.


perfect location

5 sur janvier 06, 2008

The Inn was wonderful. The room was clean and the bed was great, I slept like a rock! Janet and Phil were very charming hosts. It was nice to just park and be able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast was delicious!


Awesome BnB

5 sur janvier 06, 2008

We all stayed at the Newport Blues Inn two summers ago for our family reunion. Gary and Lisa were so welcoming and knowledgable about Newport. They also cook a GREAT breakfast! If you want a clean, friendly, and overall outstanding place to stay in Newport, then the Newport Blues Inn is the place for you!


Rooms like Pottery Barn

4,8 sur janvier 04, 2008

3rd floor has 3 bedrms with shared living rm, kitchen area(cool new retro fridge) and porch in back. Great if you go with family or friends. We had our kids that have graduated from college already. Beautifully decorated,hardwood floors, comfy beds, clean,new bathrms. Breakfast was good-cozy room downstairs, can eat outside. Took advantage of the great wine and cheeses late afternoon/ enjoyed front porch breezes. Have to walk up the 3 flights of stairs-only bad thing if not in shape. Walk downhill to shops,wharfs. Parking not far.


what a bargain

4,6 sur juillet 23, 2007

if you are all about clean spaces, this b&b is for you. my daughter and i spent two nights here last october. gary and lisa made us feel right at home. they were very accessible and accommodating. not to mention happy and smiling all the time. the room with two beds at the back of the first floor was large and spotless as was the bathroom. the dining area was clean as a whistle and the food was good. the wine room was a pleasant attraction for us, but we must have visited the inn during off season as there was never another guest there to chat with. special attention was given all areas as far as decorating was concerned. the walk to town was a treat, looking at the pretty older buildings that were renovated. we walked everywhere after dark and into the late hours and never felt threatened. great location. wish i had restaurant recommendations, but all we visited were not worth mentioning. we liked this place and would love to go back. the price is right.


great 3 bedroom penthouse

5 sur juin 08, 2007

It is a wonderful newly decorated bnb. Great location.


Great Stay! Memorable St. Patrick's Day!

4,4 sur avril 17, 2007

Wonderful location, convenient to downtown and sights. InnKepers were extremely friendly and helpful. Accomodations were great. Very comfortable. Breakfast was very satisfying! GOOD JOB!


Newport Blues Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $356
  • Avis (144) 4,1
  • Chambres 12
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4018474400

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut