Marshall Slocum Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
65 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Only one night

3,0 sur juin 30, 2014

We were only there one night of a six week south to north trip. The location, room, breakfast & helpfulness of the staff were all great. Would go back if in Newport again & hopefully stay longer.


Our Favorite Get-Away!

4,8 sur avril 23, 2013

My Fiance and I have stayed at the Marshall Slocum Inn a few times. We have recommended the Inn to both friends and family. There is plenty to do in the area and our hosts were great! The rooms were lovely and the food was amazing! My personal favorite was the blueberry pancakes!


Relaxing Getaway

5 sur avril 19, 2013

Just a quick note to share this is quiet and relaxing bed and breakfast. The staff are wonderful, helpful and courtesy! Excellent breakfast each morning severed with fresh fruit and a smile.I would recommend this Band B to every one!!


Stay in Rhode Island

3,8 sur septembre 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Inn the staff were helpful and knowledgeable and we had a good choice of breakfasts. The room was clean and tidy and if we go back to Rhode Island we would consider staying there again.


Warm and welcoming

4,8 sur septembre 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Marshall slocum inn several times now. Each time we stayed in a different room, most recently in The Snuggery. It was a bit tight but not uncomfortable. The bathroom is up a spiral staircase which is a little different. Each time we stay there, Mark remembers us which is nice considering how many guests they must see. The breakfast is always amazing with several choices based on your diet preferences. The inn is a superb choice! Don't miss out.


Love this place

5 sur septembre 07, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Fell in love. When you walk into the Inn you immediately feel like it is cared for and clean. Our room was very charming and comfortable. I love that there is always iced water with glasses, ice buckets, mugs, teabags available, as well as an attendant accessible in the kitchen throughout the day. The breakfasts were outstanding and probably our fav meals we had in Newport. I would love to return, would not take the chance someone else.


Wonderful Stay

4,6 sur août 18, 2012

The Marshall Slocum Inn is a great place to stay when visiting Newport. The home is beautiful and all of the rooms are very comfortable. The MSI is far enough away from downtown Newport that the crowds are not an issue, but it is still close enough to walk there which is nice. Mark and his staff were wonderful hosts. Mark prepared delicious meals and all of the staff wanted to know if we were enjoying our visit and had lots of recommendations about where to go and what to do. These recommendations were very helpful for first time visitors to the area. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Newport.


Pleasant B&B

4,6 sur mai 21, 2012

The Marshall Slocum Inn is a lovely establishment with nice, quiet rooms and comfortable beds. Noteworthy is the first class manner in which the owner dealt with a mistake. It speaks highly of the way the inn is run.


Wonderful Place

5 sur avril 20, 2012

A superb B& B. The hosts Mark and Dana were wonderful The room spacious, The breakfasts delicious. Everyone should experience this B& B when visiting Newport.


Great Getaway

5 sur avril 17, 2012

I have stayed in a variety of places in Newport. By far this was my favorite. I can't wait to go back again.


Great Trip

4,0 sur octobre 06, 2011

We just returned from our stay at this wonderful bed and breakfast. we have a great time. Rooms were wonderful and the breaksfasts were great. Mark and Dana are just wonderful hosts as well. The house is just minutes from all tourist sites in Newport.


Quiet weekend getaway

5 sur juillet 24, 2011

We had a great time here in May, 2011. Located in a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance to all of Newport's shops and restaurants. Relaxed atmosphere, great food, comfy bed, plenty of off street parking. We will definitely be coming back!


Location is Excellent

2,8 sur mai 13, 2011

Pluses: This B&B is walking distance to town and has parking. The bed was VERY comfortable. Minuses: Very disappointed in the breakfast. Usually B&B's have way too much excellent food. I would consider this one a very skimpy breakfast. The owner was also not the most personable chap compared to others we have stayed at.

Réponse du propriétaire
We offer our guests a full breakfast each morning which features a menu to choose from each day. Today we are offering a choice of Fresh Herb and Cheddar Omelets, Ham and Cheddar Omelets, Berry Parfait served with a grilled coffee cake muffin, Fresh Fruit plate with wheat toast, and Pastry of the Day with Fresh Fruit Cup. We also accommodate all food allergies and have gluten free bread and pancakes.


A Spring weekend away

3,8 sur avril 22, 2011

We stayed in the Brass room. The room was large and clean and had a bathtub and ceiling fan (which we used even in April!). The bed was a little hard for my liking but I'm also pregnant so it might not be a big deal to others. Breakfast was served on a shared dining table (as opposed to separate tables for guests). I really like being at one table. Everyone was friendly and shared stories and suggestions for thing to do. Our last morning there we realized we chatted with another couple for well over and hour. The breakfast was tastefully done although just one course (I've been to other B&Bs that served more courses). The food was plenty though. Great location - an easy walk to downtown - maybe 10 minutes. We didn't have the opportunity to walk there because it was raining but I'm sure in nicer weather it would be lovely. All in all I think this is a great value for Newport.


Weekend getaway special

3,4 sur avril 01, 2011

Very nice accommodations. Breakfast was outstanding. Convenient location.


Perfect stay

4,8 sur janvier 24, 2011

My stay at the Marshall Slocum Inn was perfect. Mark was very helpful with all of the details of our trip. The atmosphere was relaxing and calming- both in our room and the common spaces. I would not hesitate to go back.


lovely Inn

4,6 sur décembre 10, 2010

The Marshall Slocum Inn is one of the most lovely B and Bs that I have ever seen. It is within walking distance to all that Newport has to offer and the owners are extremely friendly and courteous.


Charming stay in Newport

3,8 sur novembre 03, 2010

Our B&Breakfast was very well located in a quiet street but near the harbour and near the centre. No problem of parking, there is a parking available for guests. The room was very charming and the beds were excellent. The shower is a bit narrow but we could manage well. We were very satisfied with our breakfast that we shared with other guests and chatting with them about their trip.


Great breakfast and lovely room!

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2010

Nicely updated B&B. Jacuzzi tub, comfy bed, but watch that step getting out! The pancakes and service were wonderful!


Our overnight Newport stay

4,2 sur octobre 13, 2010

At the last minute we decided to spend the night in Newport and found a very reasonably priced room at the MSI. Our room was the smallest, but comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was above the room and you had a private spiral staircase leading to a very clean shower and bathroom. If you have trouble with stairs...don't pick this room (snuggery)...but we found it very quaint. Service was OK when we checked in...and Mark was friendly in the AM with a great breakfast. The inn is a close walk to everything and we wished we had more time to explore Newport. Although the room and bathroom was exceptionally clean, the stair carpet leading to our floor was very dirty. Mark and Dana should invest in some colored runners for the stairs as this is your first impression ..we weren't expecting much from our room . The 5% discount for paying cash was a nice perk...evidently if you bring canned goods for a local shelter you get another 5% off.

Réponse du propriétaire
As a member of the BedandBreakfast.com Diamond Collection we maintain the highest level of cleanliness. The stair runner mentioned in this reviewer's message is vacuumed daily and, although a bit worn from a busy and rainy Summer season, is as exceptionally clean as the rest of the Inn. The rug is scheduled to be replaced once our offseason commences.


Marshall Slocum Inn

3,0 sur septembre 21, 2010

Pleasant room, very nice bed linens. We were right above the street so it was a little noisy. We appreciated being able to stay just one night even though it was the weekend of the Newport Boat Show.


Great Inn at a Great Price

4,0 sur septembre 19, 2010

Great location just a few blocks from town. Inn was very charming and innkeepers were wonderful and presented a fabulous breakfast. A really good value.


MSI review

5 sur septembre 04, 2010

We have been to the MSI 4 times now and would strongly recommend staying there. Ther rooms are spacious, large bathrooms, clean and well decorated. Mark has always been so friendly and is the best chef, the breakfasts are top notch. We have stayed in many inns around the country and this is our favorite! The inn is also within walking distance of downtown which is a huge plus given the parking situation in Newport. I would highly recommend staying at MSI!


Excellent mid week stay

4,2 sur août 23, 2010

We arrived late due to traffic but the key and directions to our room were waiting for us. Great breakfast in the morning; overall, a great value for our midweek summer overnight.


wonderful stay

5 sur août 19, 2010

I stayed at marshall last week of may and it was a most wonderful experience. It was the first time i stayed in a b&b facility so i had doubts. But the wonderful experience opened my eyes to another kind of home away from home. The rooms are tastefully decorated with what seemed like antique furnitures. My room had a four-poster bed and overlooks the garden. The bed is very comfortable and the linens crisp and white. The room and bathroom are clean though the drain in the shower is very slow. Nevertheless it did not mar the pleasant stay in this inn. We had breakfast in the garden. It was lovely. The owner/chef looked after each guest and seemed to know each one personally. I came with my son and his wife. No wonder this was their third stay in this inn. I will definitely stay here again


Great Value at Marshall Slocum

4,6 sur août 09, 2010

Bucolic, tranquil Marshall Slocum Inn provided service without being intrusive and class without being gaudy. Tastefully and simply decorated and designed, the inn was not overrun with flora, fauna, and oil paintings of past inn owners. The owners are youthful and knowledgeable; they're also quietly available around the inn during the daytime. Breakfast was delicious--Mark knows his stuff! Will definitely return, hopefully sometime this autumn.


Great Newport Find

4,8 sur juin 27, 2010

My husband and I were looking for the perfect inn before our wedding and we lucked into finding the Marshall Slocum Inn. The rooms were the perfect mix of antique with modern comforts and the breakfast food and their outdoor deck makes me want to come back in a heart beat.


Could not have been better

5 sur juin 11, 2010

Very kind and helpful owner, Mark. He is an awesome chef. Breakfast was perfectly wonderful and served on the back porch on a beautiful day. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. Not one complaint. I highly recommend Marshall Slocum on your visit to Newport.


Great oasis for a stay in Newport

4,8 sur mai 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall Slocum Inn for a brief mid-week getaway to celebrate our anniversary and as a brief babymoon. Mark was very charming, provided outstanding restaurant recommendations and his breakfasts are superb! My husband was disappointed with no tv, but I didn't mind. We stayed the Captain's Quarters and the bed was super comfortable. Parking is a breeze and easy to find our way back to at the end of the day.


First B&B Experience was fantastic

4,6 sur mai 10, 2010

We stayed here for two nights while we were in town for a wedding. The location was excellent and we could walk everywhere - a nice touch for our first visit to Newport. Mark was a pleasant host and made a great breakfast. The only room for improvement would have been the bed in the Postcard room - it was a bit soft for our liking and caved in the middle. Should we have the opportunity to return to Newport, we'd definitely stay here again.


SWEET ESCAPE

3,8 sur mai 10, 2010

This is a sweet B&B. Has FREE parking in the back. The house is clean and so was our room. when i travel i must have two things, a firm mattress and hot water in the shower. i wish my pillows were firm and that the shower had more pressure. The rooms do not have TV's which was nice for a change. The breakfast menu changes everyday and the chief knows what he's doing. The location was walking distance to all. All in all this is a cozy spot. With nice owners and i would recommend others to stay here.


A great place for a girls' getaway!

4,8 sur avril 26, 2010

My 2 girlfriends and I celebrated our 30th birthdays at the lovely Marshall Slocum Inn. We stayed in the Brass Room, which had a king size bed and a single bed. The simple elegant decor helped give the room a sense of spaciousness. The inn is about a 1/2 mile away from the Cliff Walk and a little less than a mile from both downtown and the mansions. After choosing to spend most of they day walking to and touring many of the sites, we were thrilled to have a few hours before dinner to relax in the charming sitting area at the inn. We had some nice time to chat with the friendly inn keepers, who made sure we had everything we needed and were very helpful in making reservations for us for dinner. Delicious breakfasts were served on the sunny deck! The Marshall Slocum is definitely an inn that I would like to return to!


march visit 2010

4,8 sur mars 29, 2010

I just stayed at the Marshall Slocum Inn with my fiance and we could not have been happier. Mark is great host and chef who offered very good dinning suggestions during our stay in addition to the daily gourmet breakfasts he prepared.


A wonderful weekend getaway

5 sur mars 18, 2010

My wife and I were looking to get out of NYC for the weekend and friends of ours recommended the Marshall Slocum Inn. Even with their recommendation, we had a truly outstanding experience. Everything from the rooms to the food were amazing -- and just what we needed. Mark and Dana were lovely hosts -warm and friendly. And the breakfasts were delicious! We can't wait to come back!


Great value in Newport

3,6 sur octobre 19, 2009

I made my reservation the week before my stay and was pleasantly surprised by what the inn offered. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and the service wasa pleasant and accommodating. The breakfasts are just the right size - don't expect a gluttonous feast in the AM, but a nice start to your day.


First trip to Northeast...

5 sur août 28, 2009

Loved this place! My only regret is that we didn't have the time to stay another night in Rhode Island but also at the Slocum Inn. Quiet, relaxing and not to mention a great homemade breakfast created by Mark himself. Thanks again Mark and Dana. Christi and I really enjoyed your home and thanks again for the directions to Boston/Fenway Park. Go Red Sox!


wonderful!

4,0 sur août 28, 2009

The Marshall Slocum Inn was lovely in every detail, and its owners were simultaneously solicitous and discreet. We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip to Newport, and recommend that others who are looking for a perfect mix of history, beauty and serenity do the same.


perfect getaway

4,2 sur août 25, 2009

This is a wonderful B&B! The owners are a lovely couple and their combined experience in the hotel industry shows in the well thought details. We loved the decor: classic, quaint and evocative of Newport's ambiance. The Inn is at a very comfortable distance to all attractions, but in the middle of a nice residential area. One of the highlights was coming down, after a great night's sleep, to a perfectly made to order breakfast at the lovely rear porch.


4 days in Newport

4,2 sur août 09, 2009

We just spent 4 days in Newport and were quite pleased with our choice at the Marshall Slocum Inn. We stayed in the Brass Room, an immaculate, spacious and extremely quiet and comfortable room. The inn sits in a charming tree lined street in a quiet Newport neighborhood, situated easy walking distance from sites, trolley stops and town. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch sipping wine in the evening and peace and quiet strolling back from dinner each night. Mark, Dana and staff gave us excellent recommendations on where to dine, what to see, and how to navigate easily without a car. Mark does a fantastic job with breakfast each morning, served in the beautiful patio/garden area. We are world travelers and highly recommend the inn...and would happily return for our next stay in Newport. Myriam and Marc- Miami


A delightful experience

4,2 sur juin 27, 2009

Our host was very gracious and accommodating. The inn is lovely and very conveniently located. We will stay here again.


what a great find

5 sur juin 23, 2009

We found the Marshall Slocum on the web from Australia. We booked the Great Little Apartment for a week emid June 2009. The hosts Mark & Dana were the most hospitable couple. Mark drove to the bus terminal to collect us. When we first walked into the apartment we were thrilled. It was so comfortable, bed huge and so comfortable. Everything was there for us and we made ourselves very "at home" for the whole week. Breakfast was "to die for " each morning cheerfully cooked by Mark who went on to tell us of various places to see, restaurants to eat at. Such wonderful hosts. One extra that was provided for us, as we had been travelling for many weeks and playing court tennis during our stay in Newport, was the housekeeping ladies did our laundry for us 3 times during the week. How I would have coped without this generosity I don't know. Marshall Sclocum is ideally situated in a gorgeous street, close to everthing, the International Hall of Fame Tennis, the Mansions in Bellevue and of course the wharfs and the habour. We walked everywhere. We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. Jim & Irene Stephen Australia


Hearty breakfast and very comfy room

5 sur juin 22, 2009

We stayed here for our 1-yr anniversary. It was quiet and comfortable and just the right distance from shops, restaurants, and sight-seeing. Mark's breakfasts were hearty enough that we were still full near lunch time. Great value!


Great Value!

4,2 sur juin 22, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. Great value. We stayed in the Tree Top room and really liked the decor. The breakfast was delicious. The service was excellent. The Inn is within short walking distance to the downtown area. A pleasant stay all around and we would definitely return.


First time in Newport - Great Experience !

5 sur avril 20, 2009

This was our first real visit to Newport and to the Marshall Slocum Inn and we had a fantastic time. Mark and Dana are the nicest people that you'd ever want to meet, and the Inn was just lovely. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters and enjoyed great accomodations and even better food. Mark was also the chef for breakfast and cooked delicious meals each day. Both Mark and Dana are very knowledgeable about Newport and its attractions, and helped us decide what to do and where to go each day of our visit. They also know all of the local restaraunts and were able to tell us where to go outside of the tourist areas for some of the best local food in town. They were genuinely concerned with us having a good time while in Newport, and that concern was greatly appreciated. We will certainly recommend the Inn and Mark and Dana to any friends looking to have a memorable vacation in Newport. Keep up the good work


Marshall Slocum Inn

4,0 sur avril 07, 2009

I planned a weekend for 5 woman. I can't tell you enough how fantastic Mark made our visit. From the first contact he was extrememly helpful and made my planning so easy. The Inn is gorgeous, the food is fantastic and Newport is just beautiful. If you are looking for a nice little getaway Marshall Slocum is the place to go. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. I will be back for sure.


Marshal Slocum Inn

4,0 sur décembre 30, 2008

The Marshal Slocum Inn presented premium accomodations at modest prices. A rare find in the sometimes overpriced B & B world. Great Job!


A fabulous girls' weekend getaway

4,8 sur novembre 06, 2008

My mom, sister and I stayed at the Marshall Slocum Inn and had a great time. Breakfast was wonderful as were the accommodations. Close walking distance to lots of the main sights/restaurants.


Perfect stay in Newport

5 sur octobre 31, 2008

My gf and I stayed here a few weeks ago and loved the Inn. Mark and Dana were excellent hosts and provided us with great suggestions on things to do in Newport. The room and bathroom were superb and we will look to stay here again next year when we come up for the Jazz festival.


Comfortable

3,8 sur octobre 29, 2008

Mark was very friendly from the start of my reservations through our stay. The breakfasts were wonderful. Every day we were asked how our day was and if there was anything required by them (dinner reservations, suggestions, etc). My husband enjoyed his 60th birthday eminencely. There was only one itty bitty issue, I requested and purchased truffles to be in our room upon arrival and a card that was to have written in it Happy Birthday Dad, Love Ryan and the card only had Happy Birthday and my husband thought it came from the Inn personally. Thank you for a wonderful memory! Pat & Ed


An anniversary to remember

5 sur septembre 15, 2008

We celebrated our 20th anniversary at the Marshall Slocum Inn. We were greeted with exceptional customer service every day! Every detail was exquisite and mad for such a memorable stay! Thank you Mark and Diana.


Great Place to Stay

5 sur août 31, 2008

The Inn is a great place. Walking distance to most everything. Breakfast is a real treat. We will surely be back again. Thank you Mark & Dana


can't be beat

5 sur août 25, 2008

The owner's of this bed and breakfast are on the property 24/7 to make you stay as comfortable and as pleasing as possible. The food is great, the atmosphere is better and the inn as a whole is the best. I have had the pleasure being a guess at many inns and share a great pleasure on visiting many, but this inn is so unique and the owner's make every possible effort to whatever you wish, I will not partake in any other inn at Newport becasue I know Marshall Slocum can not be beat.


Lovely New England B&B

5 sur août 15, 2008

What a quaint and charming stay at the Marshall Slocum Inn. The room was lovely with its beautiful decor of antiques and the New England charm. We were welcomed as guests and hosted with delicious specialty breakfast each morning. We will be guests again next time we come back to Newport.


excellent getaway

4,6 sur juillet 30, 2008

a wonderful inn that is family owned.the springs truly care not only about their property, but the people who come to visit newport as well.


Best Vacation in years.

5 sur juillet 14, 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Marshall Slocum Inn. The accomodations were top notch. The breakfast was delicious. Thank you to Mark Spring for being a great innkeeper.


BEST IN NEWPORT

5 sur juillet 13, 2008

We have to honestly say that the Marshall Slocum Inn is our favorite place to stay in Newport. After trying several other Inns in the past, we have finally found our home away from home. The Inn is superb; accommodations are immaculate & very comfortable; probably the best gourmet breakfast you'll find. It wouldn't be summer without visiting Mark & Dana. This is a gem!


Beautiful Inn

4,0 sur mai 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed last weekend and were so happy with the place! The house is so quaint and has a gorgeous front porch (with a swing seat) overlooking the quiet street and gorgeous big green trees. The grounds are perfectly kept and Mark cooked us a delicious breakfast on both mornings. We did not take a car and the location was great - short walk to the main part of town/water/restaurants etc. our room was lovely, with the most comfortable bed I have slept in for ages! no tv (which ended up being a good thing) but you can use the portable dvd players and borrow from their dvd collection. would recommend to anyone, really great find!


The B&B to stay at in Newport, RI

4,6 sur mai 05, 2008

Mark and Dana were great and every aspect of our stay was just outstanding!


Excellent first visit to Newport

5 sur mai 04, 2008

Everything about Marshall Slocum was beyond our expectations. The service and accommodations defiantly made our stay in Newport worth wild. Will defiantly return this year. Rachel


A real gem in Newport

4,8 sur avril 28, 2008

This B & B is decorated tastefully and elegantly, with uncluttered simplicity. The breakfast each morning was wonderful, including great coffee. We could walk to town, yet come back to a quiet residential neighborhood. Our 3 nights in April 2008 were just delightful.


We'll be back!

5 sur avril 27, 2008

Our recent one night stay at the Marshall Slocum Guest House was one of the highlights of our short visit to Newport. Upon arrival at the Inn we were warmly greeted by Mark who was quick to offer us helpful information for exploring Newport (it was our first trip to this city). Since our time there was limited to just one day, we wanted to make the most of it. Mark's friendly advice and recommendations helped us to "hit the high points." We especially appreciated the convenient location of the Inn as we were able to take a delightful evening walk into town for dinner and a movie. The Inn itself was lovely; tastefully decorated with thoughtfully appointed furnishings throughout. Our accommodations in The Brass Room were most comfortable. We found the room itself and the private bath to be sparkling clean, and the selection of amenities just right. Breakfast in the dining room was a real treat! An excellent chef, Mark prepared a delicious breakfast, the presentation of which was beautiful! The blueberry pancakes were out of this world! Mark and Dana's warm hospitality and commitment to excellence are evident in every aspect. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.


Excellent Weekend

4,0 sur avril 25, 2008

I recently stayed at the Marsall Slocum Inn for a weekend getaway with my girlfriend in Newport. I made my reservations online, and chose the room after looking at the pictures they had on the website. I must say that when I got there I was pleasantly surprised. The location of the Inn is fantastic, Mark and Dana were great and the room exceeded my expectations. My next stay in Newport will be at the Marshall Slocum Inn.


We had a great stay!

5 sur novembre 07, 2007

We had a wonderful time staying here- the room was lovely, roomy, and clean. Mark and Dana were great hosts, and Mark serves up some pretty mean pancakes in the morning!


Marshall Slocum Inn.

5 sur octobre 18, 2007

Excellent service, house was beautiful and intimate. Food was incredible. Best place to stay for all the above. Price was great as well.


June 2007

5 sur juin 13, 2007

This bed and breakfast is an absolute treasure! The owners could not be kinder and the facility itself is well situated, welcoming and immaculately kept. I highly recommend this as your first choice for Newport accommodations.


Marshall Slocum Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $255
  • Avis (65) 4,5
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4018415120
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8003725120

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut