Avis récents dans Queens, New York

Great way to stay in NY à Astoria B&B (Queens, New York)

3,8 Dernier avis le juillet 10, 2014

Three of us stayed quite comfortably for four nights ending July 5, 2014. No complaints from anybody! Breakfast necessities were in the fridge and cupboards, a grocery store is close, and a great German pub a mere couple of blocks away. Access to the subway is fine. We plan to return.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Lovely Brooklyn Brownstone à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,8 Dernier avis le juin 15, 2014

Visiting daughter who lives a 10 minute walk away from this lovely historic brownstone. 2 blocks from the subway. Very convenient to Manhattan on express train. Comfortable twin beds in large room on top floor - we got the last room so no double was available. Sink in room. Large full shared bathroom. Be prepared to get to know your housemates while waiting for a delicious, filling breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed the other guests in this relaxed setting. Or have cereal and fruit before if you have to get out early. But if you want to relax you won't regret it. Our hostess asked for our preferences our first morning and was very accommodating (turkey bacon instead of pork & lactaid milk). We felt safe in the neighborhood at all times. Though the block is somewhat dark at night it is only one block off of two very busy street/intersection. Jazz on Friday and Saturday with top artists until around midnight. Friday includes a fish fry. Unfortunately we couldn't attend on either night, but from what we could tell they were exceptional artists and a lively well-behaved audience. If you don't want to hear the muffled sounds of top notch jazz artists, then get a room in the back. So exciting to stay in an authentic historic building! We would definitely stay here again.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Time of Connection à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,0 Dernier avis le avril 19, 2014

I left with my heart and soul full. My husband and I stayed at this gem of a place. We were in town to see The Raisin In The Sun. It was my first time in NYC and I wanted my first experience to be authentic and away from the "tourist" feel of NYC. Debbie and Sankofa Aban did not disappoint and exceeded my expectation. From the brownstone itself to the corner pastry/coffee shop on the corner. For me it was such a connection to Debbie and Sankofa Aban. This connection, particularly to the brownstone and the history behind, was so real to me. We stayed in the Retreat Room and it was simply lovely. We meet a lovely Parisan couple who live in England and another young lady who hailed from Canada. It still resonates in my soul the richness and authenticity of our stay. I want to thank Debbie, Spencer (who waited for us on our 1st day) and just simply everyone for the genuine warmth and love sent our way. We will definitely be back.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


great cozy place super friendly staff5 minutes from the casino which is why I stayed à JFK Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse (Jamaica, New York)

4,8 Dernier avis le février 15, 2014

I stay there earlier this week I'm a first-time bed and breakfast person I didn't know what to expect but they made me feel super comfortable the room was gorgeous although just a little bit small perfect for two people though they made me a big breakfast which was very delicious the stores were only a couple blocks away the main host Nicole she's very helpful and friendly cater to my every need I would definitely stay here again

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Beautiful place, great location, amazing staff à JFK Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse (Jamaica, New York)

5 Dernier avis le novembre 30, 2013

I absolutely love thus place and would recommend it to any couple single or friends!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Awesome Anniversary Trip to NYC à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,2 Dernier avis le novembre 16, 2013

This place was wonderful. Being from New Orleans, this was the perfect place. It is just a block from the subway, plenty of parking, the food was wonderful (especially the fried fish on Saturday night), and the owner was amazing. The place was warm and inviting. There was a Jazz performance on Saturday night with drinks and a wonderful Crepe shop down the street. The bed was not the most comfortable, but everything else more than made up for it. We will definitely be visiting here the next time we make a trip to NYC.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Location and Hospitality with a Few Quirks à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3,0 Dernier avis le août 01, 2013

Lovely brownstone and owner was both warm and friendly. She was more than happy to provide us with needed information about restaurants and public transportation in the area. Room was very comfortable and spacious next to a shared bathroom that was always available to us. Breakfast was good but sparce with one entree the first day and out to a neighborhood restaurant for breakfast the second day which we enjoyed. Wash cloths were not available until requested and room was not serviced after the first night (bed was not made upon our return). We thoroughly enjoyed the jazz and fish fry in the evening as well as the warm hospitality during our stay.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


OUTSTANDING!!! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le juillet 03, 2013

Where should I begin- Oh yeah... upon my arrival Debbie (the owner) came to my rescue!!! She took on the cab driver who attempted to overcharge me for the ride from the airport- She was "Not Having It" I knew right then and there- I was in the Right Place!!! Sankofa Aban is a magical ... upon entering i felt transported to another Place and Time- Such Character and History... The Havana Room- Simply Beautiful! Whatever you do- Please DO NOT miss Brownstone Jazz on Friday and Saturday Nights!!! Oh what a Glorious Experience- I attended both nights... It's just that GOOD (plus there is a Fish Fry ya'll) The Caliber of Performers was simply Outstanding- easily worth five times the price of admission. What a Gift!!! Sankofa is an Experience that i will NEVER FORGET- I felt Safe and Cared for at all times... Money well Spent!!! Oh- and a Shout Out to Nelson... Thank you for an Impeccably Clean room and your Sweet disposition.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful Time à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,8 Dernier avis le avril 20, 2013

I stayed at Sankofa Aban during my first ever visit to New York. I was concerned a little bit since I was travelling alone and had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. However, I had a very pleasant experience in New York and at Sankofa Aban and my concerns were all for nothing! My room was the "Country Blues" and everything was very sufficient for one person and the room itself was lovely. Jazz sessions on Friday and Saturday were brilliant and the fish fry was great! Debbie, who was my host, was a wonderful person, very very helpful and laid-back. People who stayed at the Inn were also very nice people and every morning we had long breakfast conversations and we shared our experiences in New York and told stories. The breakfasts were very tasty as well (the serving time was a bit late for one day but it wasn't a huge deal). Even though my initial plan was to go to the Inn just to sleep at night, the loveliness and welcoming warmth of the atmosphere of Sankofa Aban made me feel at home and not at a "cold" hotel. When I go back to New York, I will definitely stay at Sankofa Aban. It really add to my trip and overall experience in New York. I am very pleased. Highly recommended!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Victorian character à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,2 Dernier avis le novembre 15, 2012

Quiet & friendly neighbourhood, lovely hostess, Victorian-style furnishings and decor, amazing jazz nights, lotsa steps inside so ask for lower floor if you need to :), good breakfast although a bit tardy both days, great coffee!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A good nine nights à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,0 Dernier avis le octobre 25, 2012

My wife and I spent nine nights at Debbie's B& B in late September. We had been in Washington for a week and arrived in NY by Amtrak at Penn Station. There was a bit of culture shock for two Western Canadians when we got off the A train at the Nostrand Ave stop. I knew some of the hisory of Bedford Steyvesant from reading up on the area. Debbie's warm welcome quickly made us feel comfortable. We had read previous reviews and one of the selling points in those reviews was the Friday night jazz sessions. That experience was fantastic with great session musicians and the featured vocalist that Friday being Carla Cook, a grammy nominated artist. Expectations would have been a couple hours of being entertained. Reality was an expereince with two sessions that lasted an hour and a half separated by a fish fry and some "Speakeasy" libations. During our stay we met an assortmant of other guests from various corners of the globe. That is one great reason to stay at B&B's. Debbie had a tough week when we were there with a three people close to her passing away.This included her taking a quick trip to Bermuda to attend a funeral. Her close network of friends filled her host role admirably when she was away. Thanks to Davy. Commuting to the other burroughs via subway was easy and cost effective. The weekly pass worked great. From Times Square to the Norstrand stop was around 25 minutes. With Debbie's daily trip to the market, she willcustomize a breakfast for you-- just ask. Enjoy Charlie Clarke, Alberta ,Canada

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Our stay at Sankofa Aban.... à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 15, 2012

We stayed at Sankofa Aban mid-September 2012 for (sadly) just a one-night layover. What a wonderful period Brownstone Debbie has, and she has made it into a great & comfy B&B! In our case we were taking the opportunity to connect with our son who attends Pratt. This is a GREAT location within walking distance of Pratt and many local businesses & restaurants. We received a warm welcome from Debbie, and were very comfortable in the awesome QUEEN "RED ROOM". Debbie gave us the recommendation to go to "Peaches Hot House" for dinner and our son LOVED the down-home southern cooking and so did we. Thanks so much for a great stay! We intend to return again, hoping for Spring of 2013 or Fall 2013 at the latest!!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Hidden Gem in Brooklyn à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le juillet 17, 2012

I now have a new home in Brooklyn! Back in April, I was overjoyed when I learned that I won tickets to Oprah's Lifeclass in New York at Radio City Music Hall. Over the years,I have frequented NYC many times before. This time, I decided that I wanted to live like a local. The Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast exceeded my expectations. Live jazz held on Friday night was enchanting.Jam packed with sounds of true musicianship performed by accomplished local artists playing and singing jazz , blues, gospel and swing. Finger snapping, head bobbing laughter, food and drinks simply flowed.I literally felt as if I was transported back to the Renaissance period. Debbie, the owner is so delightfully charming hostess eager to ensure you have what you need. She tells you to treat her house as your won.You have your own key to your room and front door. You can come and go as you please. Even still, Debbie is very accessible. I don't know what my friend and I would have done without her recommendations. She suggested fabulous underground jazz spots and fine dining restaurants (Thai & French) that only a true native would be privy to. On a cold rainy day, she insisted that I take her shawl to ensure her ill-dressed Texas Sunbelt guest didn't freeze to death. Oh. Did I mention, Debbie held Belly Dances classes at the house too! Breakfast was divine. Each morning presented you with the chance to meet international guests from Australia, Germany and Great Brittan. I cherish each and every conversation. And to think, these connections were made in Brooklyn. I have already shared my experience with friends, family and strangers. Please do NOT pass up an opportunity to stay at this hidden gem in Brooklyn.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful hospitality in a wonderful location! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,2 Dernier avis le juillet 02, 2012

We stayed in Sankofa Aban B&B for a week and it was the most wonderful base for our explorations! So close to public transport and a great neighborhood. Everyone was so friendly and breakfast was delicious. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there next time we're in town and we've already recommended it to friends! A relaxed and beautiful B&B!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Fantastic deal à Astoria B&B (Queens, New York)

4,6 Dernier avis le janvier 27, 2012

First, I'd like to say there were absolutely no complaints. Reading other reviews, I saw that some people said it was stuffy, crowded with little light, but I did not find that to be the case. It is a basement apartment, but, did I mention, it's a basement apartment! You get a living room, small kitchenette, bathroom and sleeping area. Let me say, if you are like a lot of attention and are looking for a room with a view and warm breakfasts cooked every morning, you are going to be disappointed. But if you like being able to come and go as you please, make your own hours, and have your own mini apartment to yourself, then this is an awesome place. It's very close to the subway, it felt safe, and Claudia was nice and made herself available. And for the price, in NYC, I can't imagine finding anything better. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


More Than a Bed and Breakfast à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,8 Dernier avis le janvier 02, 2012

The Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast was like staying at a friends house. Debbie is a wonderful host and I was so glad to stay the two nights I was there. The rooms are cozy and I really enjoyed Debbie's cooking. This place was exactly what I was looking for. I went to New York by myself and didn't want to stay at a hotel where you check in, go into a room, and keep to yourself. Breakfast with Debbie was fun and I enjoyed talking with her. The house is really beautiful and I hope to visit there the next time.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Pleasantly Surprised! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le décembre 06, 2011

On our first leisure visit to New York to see my daughter on her birthday we got much more than we anticipated at the Sankofa Aban B&B. Debbie went out of her way to make us not only feel at home, but to make Sankofa Aban B&B "OUR" home during our stay. The decor of our home away from home reflects the rich history and culture of the old Brooklyn neighborhood Sankofa Aban B&B is located in. Another thing we did not expect to do on our short weekend visit to New York was to make new friends, but now we have a friend in Debbie along with a few of her friends. In an incident that was not Debbie's fault, Debbie worked through the night to make sure we were comfortable in the morning. We only have one regret, and that is that we did not attend the Jazz festival held weekly at Sankofa Aban B&B on Friday. We will not repeat this mistake next time. God's Blessings. Gary and Linda

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wonderful B&B à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,6 Dernier avis le novembre 10, 2011

Stayed there for two nights. Room was very nice and tastefully decorated. Other guests in the house were very friendly. The house itself is beautiful, with lots of history tied to it. Debbie is a wonderfully engaging host, who makes you feel at home and is passionate about her business and Brookyln. Right near the subway so traveling throughout the city is not an issue. Jazz concerts on Friday night... What's not to love? Next time I am in Brooklyn, I know where I will be staying.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Fantastic find à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,4 Dernier avis le octobre 12, 2011

A wonderful place, beautifully decorated in a unique neighbourhood of Brooklyn. Debbie, the host, is wonderfully welcoming and a fantasticly eclectic person. Watch out for the jazz practice nights and many other fun goings on. Great breakfast spreads too! Highly recommended.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A Wonderful Place to Stay, A Great Hostess! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le octobre 11, 2011

We stayed at Sankofa Aban in May of 2010 for 2 days, and it was everything I wanted it to be and more! Debbie made us feel so welcome from the very start. She is an amazing hostess, such a warm and lively personality. She made us great breakfasts, and even homemade lemonade when we returned from an afternoon of shopping! I loved the neighborhood, the architecture of the brownstones are breathtaking. We loved our room, it was elegant and well decorated, and the bathroom could give any high-end spa a run for its money! I highly recommend this b&b. I plan on staying there again the next time I'm in NYC. Outstanding!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great Deal in NYC à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3,6 Dernier avis le septembre 17, 2011

Mrs. Debbie the owner was awesome and we felt right at home plus the subway was right down the street! I would stay there again!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Brilliant stay! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

5 Dernier avis le septembre 14, 2011

We had a lovely time staying at Sankofa Aban B&B in Bed-Stuy, Brooklyn. The B&B is gorgeous and the owner Debbie is a lovely person. She attended to our every need - nothing was too much trouble for her. She even took us out for breakfast one day to a lovely cafe with amazing cakes. She was lovely with my son and made both of us feel very welcome in her home. The jazz concert held on a Friday night was also fantastic. I had originally booked to stay at a hotel in Times Square but decided last minute to change my booking to Sankofa Aban due to mainly the price. I definitely made the right decision in staying in Brooklyn as opposed to Manhattan. The locals were friendly and I felt totally safe in the neighourhood even at 2am in the morning - definitely safer than in Times Square at night! The only downside was we did not have enough time to explore Brooklyn itself as we only had 4 days. If I am ever lucky enough to be able to return to NY in the future, I would definitely stay in Brooklyn. Thank you Debbie x

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great place to stay à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,0 Dernier avis le septembre 09, 2011

I booked this B&B for my in-laws who were visiting NYC from Indiana for the first time. We met Debbie and she was awesome with her service and hospitality. And they loved her ! The A/C train is just a block and a half away. I will totally recommend this for anyone staying NYC

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


A True Brooklyn Experience à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,0 Dernier avis le août 18, 2011

I loved staying here so much! I will definitely stay here the next time I get out to NY! I felt like a local staying here - we had our own key to this cool historical brownstone, and it was within walking distance to the subway and a few great lunch spots - the owner is a trip, and she made us feel like part of the family - can't wait to visit her again! Lindsay

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Very nice place in a nice neighborhood à Astoria B&B (Queens, New York)

4,2 Dernier avis le août 14, 2011

Lots more space than most rooms; really almost like having a 1 bedroom basement apartment, since you have your own bedroom and also share a living room next door with the proprietors (who are rarely downstairs). Claudia is very nice and very attentive (but not to an obnoxious degree). The neighborhood is nice and convenient. The only negatives were (1) the mattress was too soft for my back (which reflects my idiosyncratic tastes- if it was harder I'm sure other guests would be displeased because it was too hard) and (2) when I emailed trying to book another stay I didn't get a response!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Brooklyn bliss à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,8 Dernier avis le juillet 18, 2011

This place has a lot of character and charm, and is as relaxed as it comes! The house is just amazing with lush colours and beautiful details in each room. Debbie made sure we had everything we needed - cold beer, coffee, bagels with salmon and cream cheese, candles, bug spray, you name it! It made it very hard to get of bed in the morning and leave the house, so I guess we'll just have to come back!

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Great service, great building, great time! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,4 Dernier avis le juillet 17, 2011

We loved our stay at Sankofa Aban. We were in the brown room, which was great-not too hot even on hot july days, very nicely decorated, very comfortable bed. Debbie was very friendly and helpful. No complaints, other than the price, which is high but not high by New York standards. The location was great as far as being in close subway reach to M anhattan and anywhere in Brooklyn.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Wow, what a place! à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

3,6 Dernier avis le juillet 08, 2011

Flying in from SF, CA, I had a last minute work appt and I needed a place a to stay asap! Thank god for Debbie! All amazing! My regret was not staying longer to really enjoy the house, the Friday night live jazz music, and to spend time to talk with Debbie about this wonderfully renovated house.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


2 days in Brooklyn à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,4 Dernier avis le juillet 01, 2011

The place is great as well as the owner, Debbie, a wonderful person. Be warned though that the neighborhood is not the best in NYC.

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Magic Brooklyn à Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (Brooklyn, New York)

4,6 Dernier avis le juin 20, 2011

There are no words to explain a stay in Debbie's B&B. All is magic, the Inn-cheeper, the brownstone buildings, the rooms, the atmosphere, the breakfast, the friday jazz concert and all peoples you meet. Easy to Manhattan by subway station few undred meters around. Thanks Debbie, that's really a different way to visit N.Y. Paolo & Isa (Italy)

Voir plus d'avis pour ce B&B


Les B&B les mieux notés

  1. JFK Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse (4,90)
  2. Sankofa Aban Bed and Breakfast (4,48)
  3. Astoria B&B (3,68)
Haut
}