Castel d'Amerique Francaise Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,1
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,1

Notation basée sur
15 Avis

Ecrire un avis

An Unforgettable Stay

5 sur juin 24, 2011

Our stay at the Castel d'Amerique Francaise was an unforgettable experience. Jolanda welcomed us warmly and showed us to our elegant, clean and spacious accommodation. We felt like a queen and king living in opulence! The fluffy pillows and down comforter made for a refreshing night's sleep. The breakfast was incredible with fresh baked pastries, crepes, quiches, cheeses, ham, fresh fruit...just to name some of the yummies! The atmosphere was cozy and homey and the guests friendly. Having traveled a lot, our 11 year old daughter agreed that it was our favorite place to stay. The location too was great, in the heart of Old Quebec City. I can't imagine anyone having a bad experience at the Castel d'Amerique Francaise.


Charm, fantasy and service

4,0 sur mai 11, 2011

This house is full of charm and imagination. Waking up in the morning to the soft light of morning sun through the window is a delight. Breakfast is a feast. Our hostess was helpful and ready to provide for all our needs. Excellent value for money. 'Lang may yur lum reek' a Scottish saying meaning 'long may your chimney be filled with smoke, long may you have all that you need to eat, to keep warm and make life agreable


Wonderful Old Quebec Experience

5 sur avril 12, 2011

Since 2006 I have taken one of my granddaughters at the age of 11 or 12 to Quebec City by train in July, and stayed at this B&B: 3 trips in all. The ambiance has provided a perfect setting for such trips. The rooms are large and comfortable with interesting antique furniture. The breakfast varied and plentiful with freshly made dishes and fruit, and the location perfect for walking to the historical points of interest. The proprietor has always been gracious and helpful. I look forward to returning again this summer.


Experience Authentic Old Quebec

4,8 sur juillet 20, 2010

We chose to stay at a B&B in order to enhance the experience of visiting historic Old Quebec City. The decor at Castel d'Amerique Francaise was authentic and the room which we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. It was hotter than usual for mid-July and the air conditioning was sufficient in keeping the room cool. Spacious shower and a terrace to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine. Breakfast was good with a variety of foods- you can sit inside or on the outside terrace. The inkeeper was friendly and accomodating. A plus-a computer set up in a hallway with internet access. Loved this place and would stay here again. Connie/Chicago


magnifique!!

5 sur juillet 19, 2010

Great location, charming surroundings, and a hearty warm breakfast with fresh fruit available everyday! Innkeeper and staff were very friendly and willing to help with directions or anything you needed. I will definitley return


Our Excellent Stay

5 sur juin 14, 2010

Rooms were spacious and well appointed and anything that you could possibly need was provided. Breakfast satisfied all tastes and was plentiful. Major points of interest were within walking distance. Innkeepers were extremely courteous, helpful and accommodating. Without question I would return for another stay.


Is Your Meeting At the Conference Center? Look no further....

5 sur octobre 25, 2009

Conference attendees; why pay big bucks on that “special rate” your conference reserves at the “official” hotel and miss out living within the Old City? Why end up paying too much for a cold- featureless- small room in a steel/glass building? I recently attended a conference in Quebec City; found this B&B within walking distance of the conference; even closer than one of the two high buck conference hotels reserved for conference attendees. What a waist it would have been to stay in a building I could find in any busy urban area of the world; missing out on staying within the unique antiquity of Old Quebec. The B&B is only a 7 minute walk to the Convention Center. Your path to the Conference in the AM allows you to see the horses being prepared for carriage rides that routinely pass this B&B. Our room was 3 x the size of the rather Spartan conference rooms my colleagues showed me. Aside from saving more than $100 per night on a spacious, wonderfully decorated room, I saved around $20 per day on a comparable “breakfast for two”; and another $15-$25 per day on free secured wireless internet; which my buddies were constantly complaining about having to pay for at their conference hotels. I saved a bundle; my wife was happy; I was KING OF THE CASTEL D’Amerique. If your next conference is held at the Quebec Conference Center, don’t end up whining over high prices, lack of value, disconnection with the local flavor, and paying extra for internet charges! We stayed one extra week using this location as our base from which to sightsee other areas reached by rental car (which ended up being FREE due to the huge savings we scored). The kitchen was always open to help yourself to coffee, hot chocolate, tea, yogurt, fruit etc. The stairs in the house are steep but rather cool too, provided good exercise. Not able to climb stairs? Reserve early to secure the lower floor! We had a wonderful and romantic time and strongly recommend you stay at the Castle D’Amerique Francaise


Extended our stay . . .

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2009

We just stayed 12 days at Castel D'Amerique Francaise; loved each and every day of our stay. The home is lovely from bottom to top! Of the many unique renovations made to this B&B the most charming,in my opinion,are the climbing terraces and balcony views which make the B&B very romantic; both in your room and outside on multi level decking. Weather permitting, the terraces make wonderful locations to have romantic breakfasts in private, simply sip a coffee, read a book, or star gaze at one of the many cafe tables scattered around the entire property. Maid service is upon request,which I like due to my preference not to have someone in my room every day; and also to do my part to conserve resources. Anything you might need is easily found in abundance on each floor. The views on both sides of the hotel are just magnificent in the day time and uniquely and beautifully lit at night. We had the opportunity to view most of the rooms in the house and I can say that one room is just as lovely and uniquely decorated as the next. We just couldn't have been more delighted with our pick in this Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast is also unique in that there is a menu of which to order. Choices are healthy and cooked to order as each guest arrives in the morning. They were very open to pleasing us individually, so do not hesitate to let them know what you may like to have made available for your personal tastes. The dining room is intimate; we truly enjoyed sharing our table with other guests when the situation presented itself; giving opportunity to exchange the day's activities,a few hearty laughs,and favorite dishes found at local restaurants. Everything you want to do in the old city is very close and easy walking distance as is reported in other reviews of this B&B. Horse carriage tours are located just around the corner. You will love this place! The best croissants we have ever had are just down the hill and three blocks away at Paillards on St. Jean Street.


Best keep secret

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2009

Wonderful B&B, elegant rooms, felt right at home with the casual atmosphere. Super breakfast and enjoyed talking to other guest.


Stay at Castel d'Amerique Francaise

2,6 sur août 31, 2009

We stayed at B&B for three days. B&B is in a very good location, inside the walls of the old city and walking distance to all old city attractions and is very close to Citadel. We did have some rough time at the beginning though - we were placed on the top floor of the hotel and did not expect it was so high up without an elevator. It is pretty tiring to go up and down the stairs every day. The owner did change the room though upon our request which made our stay much more pleasant. Thanks to owners for reacting to our request so quickly. The B&B also does not have enough tables for breakfast - you either need to wake up very early or wait for others to finish. This is inconvenient as noone wants to waste time. The breakfast was OK but was the same every day and was pretty basic. We also thought the service was very impersonal - when we arrived, we were just left with the envelopes with keys and instructions without meeting an owner. This was unusual for a B&B in my previous experience. I was not sure if it is just the way it is in Quebec City or if it is just this B&B. We did like the rooms - very nice and cozy. Loved it! Location and rooms are definitely nice but I am not sure I would necessarily return to Castel d'Amerque Francause because of what I said before. Not the best and not the worst B&B in my experience. I would return to Quebec city though - I loved the city!


Interesting B&B, good location

2,6 sur août 10, 2009

Apart from the friendly little resident dog who begged for our breakfast each morning, our presence was never even acknowledged at this B&B. It was very strange. When we came into the foyer using the security code given us there was an envelope with our name, containing our room keys. Never during our 3 night stay did the owner or any employee personally welcome us. When it came time to check out we had to hunt down the owner and introduce ourselves. By the way, they only accept cash as payment, which is not very convenient or businesslike. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable, although the four flights of stairs were a bit daunting with luggage. Breakfast was OK, but no fresh fruit and store bought bread served from the bag. Location was very good, very short walk to restaurants and sights. I think in the future I would check around to see what else I could find in this same price range.


Satisfactory, good location

3,2 sur septembre 29, 2008

Our room was spacious but our companion's was somewhat smaller. It was clean but daily make up was not provided. The breakfast was either good or OK depending on your opinion of the entree of the day. There was no resident owner on the premises, only a cook/ cleaning lady who spoke sufficient English for routine matters but not enough for anything complex. Considering other prices I was encountering on prospective lodging in Quebec, the price which was tax inclusive and included free parking was good. The location was very good within easy walking distance restaurants, tourist attractions in the upper old town, the funicular to lower town, and the several sites and eateries just outside the walls. All considered, I would recommend it to a friend.


Great rooms in the heart of old Quebec

4,0 sur juillet 26, 2008

We recently spent four days at the Manoir du Jardin in Old Quebec, and we couldn't have been happier with our location. Within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, and the Citadelle, we left our car in the underground parking provided nearby and explored the area on foot. The rooms were spacious and lavishly decorated, and the service was very good. Breakfast daily offered many different selections to suit anyone's palate, and with the parking included we felt like we got a good value for our money. I'm sure we will stay there again.


Charming B&B in Old Town

4,0 sur juin 30, 2008

Well located, charming and very friendly. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Lights were rather dim.


Fine Bed and Breakfast in old Quebec City

4,0 sur juin 11, 2008

Although the stairs were daunting, once the bags were on the top floor, the room had a great ambience due to the unique decor. It was clean, comfortable and functioned well... plenty of power points for battery chargers. Breakfast varied and was substantial. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Situated right in the middle of the old city, it was very convenient. A laundromat was close by and we walked down the hill, out of the old city, with our bags to the railway station at the end of our stay.


Castel d'Amerique Francaise

Détails

  • Prix par nuit CAD 135 - CAD 175
  • Avis (15) 4,2
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4182620048
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8886665220

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut