Oceana Hostal Playero Avis

Ensemble
3,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    3,5
  • Services3,9
  • Qualité/Prix3,7
  • Propreté3,5
  • Repas3,6

Notation basée sur
19 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Perfect location for the beaches

3,0 sur octobre 26, 2013

Competitive pricing for convenient location. Rooms were adequate for sleep. Bathroom a little small with suboptimal water pressure. Very close to beach and super friendly staff. Would consider returning for location and price.


Just an Overnight Stay

3,4 sur mars 13, 2012

Staff were very helpful ...with luggage, wake-up, calling taxi, area information. Great location, a block from the beach. Facility itself is older and worn - but pass up the steps to the roof and the view!


Not as good as add appears!!

1,2 sur mars 13, 2011

room dirty, sheets, towels worn and torn. No clean sheets when stayed a few days. Had to ask 3 times for clean linens. Matress pad torn with bed bugs seen!! Breakfast was juice, coffee, 2 pieces white toast and banana. Supper food way overpriced for serving size, etc. Tried to sit by pool/garden, but eaten by bugs. Pool hadn't been cleaned and was full of moss.Arrive before 6p or you will not be let in. Good location for beach and bus.


interesting place

2,6 sur janvier 20, 2011

looked very nice when we arrived,lobby, outdoor patio and dining. was easy to communicate with innkeepers. We enjoyed the night shift barkeeper and waiter. Very friendly and pleasant. Our room was not the best, tub had peeling finish(paint?) on the bottom of it, bath mat was dirty, so we laid it aside and used a towel to stand on after showering with flip flops on. Head boards of the beds were free standing from the bed its self and would hit against the wall if you turned over in the night. I thought them to be dangerous...better to have no head board as to have them loose and ready to fall on you while sleeping. Breakfast was a piece of fruit, toast, small sweet roll, coffee or juice. Last morning there my sweet roll had mold on it and you could tell it has been sitting and gathered moisture. It was close to the beach, a beautiful beach and not far from a market, bakery and Starbucks( :) ). A nice walk for sure. We stayed for the price and we found it on B&B. We decided it could have been worse..you get what you pay for.


Good deal

2,6 sur janvier 19, 2011

This place is ok, although the towels were old and it was hard to get another one, there was only 2 pillows, although they gave me another 2 when I asked for them. If you're on a budget it's an ok place to stay.


You get your money's worth.

2,8 sur janvier 17, 2011

At less than $80 per night during high season, Oceana was definitely worth the money. However, this is not the place for folks who aren't willing to put a little elbow grease into their trip to Puerto Rico. The room was cleaned pretty much every day, and the staff was generally very helpful in helping us navigating the city. However, the breakfast was paltry (one toast and a banana), the Wi Fi didn't work, the security seemed a bit extreme, and there was one night when we waited outside the hotel for 20 minutes for the staff member to wake up and let us in the building. You cannot beat the price, but just a word that it's not for vacationers hoping to be extra lazy during their stay.


Pleasant and Friendly

3,2 sur mai 09, 2010

I found Oceana Hostal Playero on your website when I googled inexpensive bed and breakfast san juan. Little did I know I was going to find the best location - close to ocean, bus routes, great restaurants - along with a welcoming and friendly staff. I have already recommended the Oceana to several friends and will certainly return myself.


don't bother

1,4 sur avril 13, 2010

this hotel is dirty, noisy, badly managed, and serves lousy breakfast.


bed and breakfast/ bed not mad/breakfast a mess

4,0 sur mars 03, 2010

We stayed"Run of the House" it was off the left of the main floor. I was ready to take what I get because it was last minute. Our bed was not made daily, it was never swept and if it had been done I could not tell. We did have plenty of towels so that was a plus. The first night I had gone out to the front desk and expressed that our room was really hot and I did not think that the controlled worked properly, his comment was "Well it is hot here" after that I was very shy about discussing other issues we had, like our bed not being made daily, I just made it myself. One day on the way to beach we asked for some ice for our little cooler, we did get it the first time easily, however when we asked a different worker for the same ice he looked at us in a odd manner and said "Ice?" yes ice I did get it form the other gentlemen, he did finally get it to us. I wish I would have gotten the name of one of the workers there, he was very nice and worked very hard to get everyone the morning continental breakfast, but he was the only one that had shown genuine service. I think the place is cute and would and should be a much nicer experience if they get rid of all the help except for the one that I had mentioned.


The truth well told about Oceana

5 sur juin 08, 2009

I have just stayed there and had the chance to corroborate all that Frommers says about Oceana: "Yeah, Oceana is a block from the beach, but it is the best beach in the city - so you might say that's better than beachfront at another nearby beach. Oceana is a place with helpful, friendly staff and clean, newly renovated rooms. All units are air conditioned and have a small refrigerator, cable tv, a tiled bathroom with either a tub or a shower. The property has a free WiFi internet zone. You can enjoy the complimentary breakfast outdoors on the patio or in the air conditioned saloon, and the swimming pool area is a big plus. Its PuraVida Bistro and Lounge serves good local and vegetarian cuisine. Oceana's most recent renovations have greatly improved this Hostal since the days of the Beach Buoy Inn, but the price is still very nice"... Definitively, I recommend Oceana and look forward to staying there again.


Oceana exceeded my expectations

5 sur juin 01, 2009

Choosing a place to stay is not easy, due to all counts of good and bad reviews. Because of our budget, I decided for Oceana, and it was a very smart choice and pleasant experience staying there. The value for money was terrific. The location, steps from the beach, just great. The comfort of the room, beyond expected. And the staff did everything they could to make our stay the most enjoyable. Although we did not needed, they even offered us free parking, located right outside the building. My wife and I have already started planning our next visit to Puerto Rico and Oceana next year.


Don't be fooled by other reviews

5 sur mai 22, 2009

Don't be fooled by other reviews. Oceana was a lovely seaside hotel, perfect for a single person who wants to save money & enjoy family friendly service. Everyone there were as if mi familia (primos - cousins)! Newly renovated hotel was a comfortable place to relax after a hot day on the beach or coming in from a daily tour. City Prada bus line C53 takes you into Old San Juan; look for the free tourmobile near the end of the line to take passengers to the forts; shops and merchants are near the docks; arrange inexpensive tours with the hotel front desk to Bacardi Rum factory, El Yunque Rainforest, and night kayak trip to Bio Luminscent Bay (a must do trip)! Beds are comfortable; rooms cozy and cool; wonderful authentic Puerto Rican dinner (low cost); and very good drinks! Security is excellent! Walk to Ocean Park beach one-block away. You get more bang for the buck at Oceana. I had a lovely time and will definately return in the future with friends and family!


Highly recommended

4,4 sur avril 20, 2009

We were very pleased with everything about this inn. The people were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was awesome and clean. Free breakfast and parking. It was a short walk (10 min) to Condado area which was great for us because we wanted to stay away from the tourist area. The beach is one block away!!! We will definitely return here and recommend to all our friends and family.


A good location to see the city.

4,0 sur février 15, 2009

The continintal breakfast was pretty routine but the drinks and dinners we had in the dining room were supurb. The personnel were charming and helpful. The bus a block south ran more frequently than those on the street in front. We would go back.


Happy days in San Juan

3,0 sur septembre 05, 2008

For the two days we wanted to spend in San Juan, it was a good choice: short walk to the beach, in a very nice area, close to Old San Juan, and with bus service at the door. The staff is very nice, especially the young manager who tried his best to keep us happy.


A nice place to get off the typical cardboard hotel

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2008

I stayed at Oceana for a weekend scape with couple of friends and it was a very nice experience. The room (the one with two beds), although not the biggest one, it was decently spacious, well kept with a recently renovated bath and quality contemporary furniture. Their continental breakfast is a success with fresh fruits slices, your choice of espresso freshly made when ordered or tea or chocolate, cheese, home made danish, real butter, and the other goodies. The patio is full of plants like a little jungle with a water fall. The pool, small, but very relaxing and neat. The food at their on site bistro was just delicious and at incredible prices. On the bar, give it a try to the Mojito. Ooof! My friend were also fascinated with our stay at Oceana and we are planning to come back soon.


Outstanding, Quaint, Perfect

4,8 sur février 26, 2008

My fiance (now wife) and I stayed at Oceana one night before and one after our cruise/wedding. They were extremely kind and genuinely good people. I will say that if you expect 5+ star establishments, this is not for you. However, if you want a GREAT hostel, with wonderful guests, staff, and atmosphere, definately look into Oceana. When we return to San Juan someday, this is without a doubt where we will stay.


Amanzingly outstanding

5 sur octobre 19, 2007

In few words, Oceana has it all. Perfect location, good deal of amenities, sweet hospitality, comfortably accommodation and a great, great price. Almost forget their food: just finger liking good.


Just a Fantastic Experience

5 sur octobre 09, 2007

My special friend and I had never been at a bed & breakfast before. We dared to and it was love at first sight. The experience of relaxation and the special bonding developed with the owners is something we really appreciated. Thanks, Alma and Tony for being such wonderful hosts.


Oceana Hostal Playero

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $79 - $166
  • Avis (19) 3,7
  • Chambres 23

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7877288119
  • Fax 1-7879190642

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut