The Mainstay at Saxonburg Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
22 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Comfortable and homey

4,8 sur avril 25, 2014

Stayed here at the same time my sister and brother-in-law did during the time of a death in the family. The rates were really reasonable, our hosts were accommodating, and went out of their way to make sure that our stay was comfortable and welcoming. Our family was able to visit us while we stayed and share time together in the library, living room, and back patio - and that made it a truly memorable stay.


Perfect place to stay

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2013

Beautiful bed and breakfast! Very charming, quiet and immaculate! Will stay there every time I visit


A Wonderful Stay

5 sur juin 04, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights as I attended a business training. Wow! I couldn't have been more impressed. Jim was a top notch host and I wouldn't hesitate to return here again. And again! The rooms are lovely, the atmosphere is great and there are plenty of little nooks indoors and outside to sit and relax. Thank you, Jim for your attentiveness, as well as your pleasant and engaging demeanour. I felt like I was at home while I stayed at your B&B!


Hidden Gem Just Outside Pittsburg

4,8 sur mai 28, 2013

Whenever I travel in to visit family, my first choice is ALWAYS the Mainstay. It is warm and inviting as are the proprietors Jim and Brian who are always so personable and fun to chat with. Unlike some B&Bs, the Mainstay's common rooms are offer comfortable furniture and ammenities where you can "hang" and read or watch TV without losing the charm of an old home. Their back patio is also a wonderful place to enjoy an afternoon tea or late night drink. I'm a pretty particular person and so I really appreciate the extent they they go to ensure my stay is always perfect! I highly recommend the Pine Room. The bed is super comfortable and I love the jacuzzi tub!


Warm and welcoming

5 sur avril 28, 2013

Our first B & B experience was fantastic! Jim was the perfect host. The common rooms were elegantly decorated yet comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom and private bath were nicely appointed and no detail was left unattended. We will look for a reason to return and highly recommend a stay here. The sign over the entry door read: You"enter as strangers and leave as friends" ...truer words were never written!!! Thank you Jim for making our stay so memorable!! Mary Carroll and Ted


Outstanding

5 sur avril 21, 2013

Perfect B&B with plenty of extra personal touches. Had two lovely evenings and lots of fun in Saxonburg. Would highly recommenced anyone to stay here, beautiful house very comfortable and so clean, I do hope we get the pleasure of visiting again. Our host Jim was absolutely perfect. Thank you so much,


Cozy Delight

5 sur décembre 13, 2012

We were lucky to stay at the Mainstay during the holiday season. We entered to holiday music and lovely decorations throughout. The first floor has plenty of cozy nooks for guests to relax and unwind. Our guest room was spacious and comfortable. The modern bathroom just added to our comfort. We woke up to a delightful continental breakfast the next morning. The owners are so accomodating. They even helped us find glue for a broken earing before our holiday party. We enjoyed a night cap next door before heading to bed in the evening. I hope to get back there soon!!!!


Very Nice

4,4 sur octobre 15, 2012

I had a terrific 2 night stay at the Mainstay. The accommodations were great. What a great location, with a wonderful restaurant right next door. The only thing that would make this "Outstanding" all the way around would be to have a home-cooked breakfast in the morning. I spite of that... I highly recommend the Mainstay.


Wonderful relaxed weekend

4,8 sur octobre 14, 2012

Just returned from a wedding weekend in Pennsylvania where we and a bunch of family stayed at the Mainstay and at the next door Hotel Saxonburg. It was wonderful--Jim, Brian, and of course Buddy (the dog) made us feel welcome and relaxed the whole time, and provided us with a venue to visit with and enjoy family aside from the actual wedding celebration. The B&B itself is very attractive, warm, and welcoming, and the hosts make it even more so. Definitely recommend, and we will come again when we are in the area.


Perfect Location for Business Clients and Relaxed Tourists!

5 sur juillet 30, 2012

I just recently held a small certification program at the Mainstay with students from as far as Ireland, and it was a complete success! The students loved their rooms, and Jim and Brian could not be more welcoming and hospitable! This charming location is steps away from a phenomenal restaurant, coffee shops, antiques stores, a yoga studio, Curves fitness, hair salons, artist co-op, and much much more. There was plenty for my students to do on break and in the evenings. Mostly they loved just hanging out at the Mainstay in the living room or in the beautiful garden in the back. I will definitely hold another program there! Thank you Jim and Brian for making this so great!


Escape the 21st century

4,4 sur mai 20, 2012

This silly web site is insisting on a score for Dining. Jim & Brian provide breakfast, which is not 'Dining' in any lexicon I am familiar with. The breakfasts are very good, of course, but still. World-class dining is available in the hotel next door, by the way. I had a long weekend in the Pine Suite which was luxurious and decorated with considerable style. It is the only room which is en-suite: the layout of the historic building means the other two rooms have private bathrooms across the corridor, but robes are provided and there is no problem I can see with any of that. This is effectively your own home for the duration of the stay, you have run of the sitting room downstairs, as well as the Breakfast room, and a door key. Well, I say your home - but someone else makes the beds and cooks the breakfast. It doesn't get any better than this. This is a wonderful establishment in a lovely historic town: a real chance to escape the rat race. Highly recommended.


Perfect

5 sur mai 13, 2012

We just got back home in New Y ork from an awesome weekend in Saxonburg. Though we arrived later than expected James was so gracious and warm. The Mainstay is absolutely beautiful. Our room was inviting, quite, charming and spotless. They thought of eveything to make our stay relaxing and homey. I will recommend The Mainstay to any and everyone looking for the perfect getaway place. As a matter of fact, we are already talking about another trip, this time bringing some of our family. Thank you James, you were awesome! Sue & Steve Owego, NY S


Fabulous weekend!

5 sur juillet 06, 2011

We spent 3 wonderfully peaceful nights at the Mainstay at Saxonburg in the Mission Room. All of the rooms in the house were beautiful and clean, the bed was heavenly, and the private bathroom for each room made our stay very comfortable. The innkeeper, Jim, was a gracious and friendly host. We started our days enjoying coffee, juice, and home-baked treats, and ended them relaxing on the patio overlooking the backyard. The yoga studio and amazing restaurant on either side were a treat. We'll definitely return to the Mainstay the whenever we're in the Saxonburg area!


PERFECT PLACE!!!

5 sur juin 29, 2011

I absolutely LOVED my stay at the Mainstay. It was quiet, clean, and the owners were AMAZING!!!! Buddy (the dog) greated me every morning with a wag of his tail, and The Pine Room was just BEAUTIFUL!!! I HIGHLY recomend staying at the Mainstay. Simply OUTSTANDING!


Perfect Wedding Weekend

4,8 sur mai 30, 2011

The Mainstay was recommended by friends in Pittsburgh, so a group reserved for a wedding weekend. Oh, what fun! The rooms were gorgeous, beautifully decorated. We had the Safari room, and we loved all the clever details. The room and bath were spotless, and I appreciated all the closet space, the iron and ironing board, and the good strong hair dryer. The common rooms were so welcoming, we gathered and spent time just relaxing and chatting. We adored Buddy, the welcoming B&B dog, who eagerly made us feel at home. Each morning we awoke to the smell of tantalizing coffee drifting up the stairs, and were met with an array of delicious healthy breakfast choices. This was our best B&B experience ever.


Great stay

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2010

Last minute before attending the US Open we decided to golf and stay - we are so glad that The Mainstay was recommended to us! Our room was fantastic including the jacuzzi tub! Your decorating was like something out of HGTV and you could decorate my home anytime. We enjoyed sitting outside on the swing with a glass of wine...so relaxing. Your recommendations for dinner were great! Would definitely recommend The Mainstay!! Rod and Bonnie Boyce


Southern Hospitality Goes North

5 sur juin 28, 2009

We were in town from SC for a wedding. After Armstrong Farms (read that review on their site)overbooked the same room 3 times the owner sent us here. I have to say that we came out WAY ahead in the deal. The house is lovely, the rooms were beautifully decorated and the garden in the back was pristine. A real B&B should be a home away from home and this place certainly is. Jim, one of the owners, is kind, knowledgable and was most helpful during our stay. The bed was so comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and everything about the inn was so warm and welcoming. I don't think I've ever seen luxury and easy going comfort mixed so perfectly. It was such a wonderful experience I won't need another wedding as an excuse to make the trek back. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer.


Wonderful

4,8 sur octobre 14, 2008

What a delightful surprise. This bed and breakfast far exceeded our expectations. After returning from a family wedding celebration we relaxed in the very comfortable library before retiring to our rooms. The hosts were charming and we would highly recommend this lovely home.


Beautiful!

4,8 sur octobre 07, 2008

What a beautiful place to stay! Just wanted a place to get away for a week end, and was pleasantly surprised! Thank you so much for the kind hospitality! Someone else I'd like to thank as well, he knows who he is!


The Mainstay

4,0 sur octobre 07, 2008

What a wonderful B&B and the hosts could not be more gracious and helpful. We stayed in the Pine Suite and we could not have asked for nicer accommodation, the room was clean and beautifully furnished and we made full use of the jacuzzi tub. We decided to stay a second night at short notice. Complimentary wine and breakfast really added to our enjoyment. Certainly a place that we would both like to visit again.


AWESOME!

5 sur juillet 29, 2008

the best place we have ever stayed - spotlessly clean, and wonderful hospitality! The atmosphere was AWESOME! What a beautiful place - I highly recommend it! The first night we got there, the circus was in town. What a surprise treat!! If you visit Pittsburgh, it's worth the short drive to stay there.


Recent Stay

5 sur juin 18, 2008

We just returned from our trip to Saxonburg during which we stayed at the Mainstay. The place is fabulous! I would HIGHLY recommend choosing this bed and breakfast over any hotel in the area. They have done a fantastic job rehabilitating the building while maintaining the Main Street charm of Saxonburg.


The Mainstay at Saxonburg

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $85 - $125
  • Avis (22) 4,8
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7243602651

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut