The River View Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
58 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A wonderful experience.

5 sur juillet 08, 2014

It was a perfect place to spend the evening of the 4th of July, staying in the Overlook Room with panoramic views of the Susquehanna River and watching the various firework celebrations. Linda could not have been more helpful and we also talked with Gary the next morning.


Very nice place to stay

4,6 sur juin 26, 2014

we were looking for a place to stay close to where a concert was being held at the spyglass winery. I hadn't heard of this spot, but we decided to try it out. We got in and out before the show, then came back late. We knew we were staying in the only room without a toilet, but did have sink and shower in room. We slept in and didn't get to partake in the breakfast that smelled wonderful as we left, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if needed. While I didn't get to meet the owners other than a quick hello, the communication was good and I think they have a nice setup here.


Outstanding 5 night stay

5 sur juin 16, 2014

We had a wonderful 5 night stay. The view from our room was amazing. The b&b is in a great location. The owners were very friendly and made beautiful fresh food. We enjoyed getting to know the other guests and would gladly come back to stay again. They even bought my husband a special birthday cupcake. What is there not to love!?!


Very nice

5 sur juin 02, 2014

Very pleasant Inn with especially nice innkeepers that allowed us to stay when they had a last-minute cancellation that made a room available as we checked at 10:00 pm when traveling thru the Sunbury area. We checked-in at 10:30 and had a wonderful though brief stay.


Lovely B&B

5 sur juin 01, 2014

Inn keepers were warm and engaging. Would stay there again and would recommend to others.


We loved our weekend stay!

5 sur mai 28, 2014

The hosts were warm, friendly, charming, helpful and great conversationalists!!! We really enjoyed talking to them and they went out of their way to accommodate my diet needs. We recommend this B & B for a great weekend stay!!! The house is decorated so beautifully- we wanted to take some of the antiques home!!! The river view was beautiful! We really relaxed here Doree & Tom Valenza


River View Inn B&B

4,4 sur mai 07, 2014

We stayed at the River View Inn following a mini wine tour at several local wineries. The room and common areas were very clean and well maintained. The inn is decorated true to Victorian style and is beautifully done. When we arrived there was fresh coffee and tea as well as muffins biscotti, etc. in the sitting room area and candies throughout the home, all were routinely refilled. We didn't have to ask for a thing as all was taken care of. Breakfast was delicious and the presentation was wonderful!! We were very happy with our stay and would absolutely recommend this B&B!


A lovely stay

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2013

Our second time at this B & B. The decor is lovely, the host and hostess friendly and very helpful, the breakfasts out of this world. I would recommend this to anyone.


Best B&B Ever!

5 sur juillet 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay while attending a class reunion.. Linda and Gary did everything possible to make our stay more than comfortable. The house is beautifully decorated and maintained the view from our room was just spectacular--a wonderul view of the Susquehanna River and park. The food was plentiful, tasty, and beaufifully presented. We will be back!


Excellent as always!!!

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

We stay here once a year - but never think of going anywhere else - everything is PERFECT.


What a view at River View!

5 sur juin 29, 2013

Gary and Linda pay attention to detail whether in rooms or breakfasts or throughout the day pleasantries. We love it there not only because of the amazing view of the river, gazebo, people and dogs walking below and the hills, but the coffee and hot water for tea which is left on all day for your convenience. A variety of teabags and snacks are left out as is a beautiful glass bottle holding a liquor of quality. A nightcap was something to top off the day. Linda and Gary are also probably the friendliest inn owners we have come across and are great conversationalists. We have been there twice now and plan to come back if in the homeland of my husband.


Bucknell U graduation weekend

4,2 sur mai 22, 2013

The hosts went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, comfortable and convenient. The breakfasts were delightful, with plenty of choices in a pleasing environment. Thanks Linda and Gary!


Overall, a great stay, clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts!

4,0 sur mai 01, 2013

Stayed with another couple. Both rooms, as well as the rest of the house were very nicely decorated and clean. The pictures on the website are perfect representations of the house. Inn keepers Linda ad Gary were very nice and accommodating. The only con that I can mention is that there is no parking on the house property. There is free on-street parking and a parking lot behind the house across the street (the Inn keepers actual residence). We arrived at 9:00 PM and were not aware of the parking situation until we pulled up to the house, although the parking accommodations were documented in the Welcome packet that we received when we arrived. I would suggest that the Inn keepers email the parking situation to renters prior to their arrival. Overall, a great stay, clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts!


Cosy getaway

3,8 sur avril 04, 2013

Owners were very accomodating and helpful.


Nice place to stay while visiting Susquehanna U.

5 sur février 06, 2013

The house is beautfully decorated and Linda was very welcoming. It was cold during our stay, so it was nice to walk in with fireplaces on in the LR and DR. We did not have breakfast as we were dining at the college. There is not much going on in Sunbury, but lots of dining and shopping within ten minutes and Susquehanna is about fifeteen minutes away.


A Great Stay

5 sur octobre 05, 2012

Had a great time at this superb B&B. The location was perfect for our needs and the hospitality was even better. Breakfasts were delicious and in fact, could not finish most mornings! Our room was beautiful andf the overall look of the inn was very warm and inviting. Loved the study area. Thanks again for a perfect stay!


Happy with River View

4,2 sur août 27, 2012

We were very pleased with the room and the beautiful antiques. The owners live nearby in case there are any problems. The owners also made breakfast for us and were exceptionally friendly and accomodating. They even provided tea and a delicious cake for us to snack on in the evening. Seemed more like a part of a family instead of a stranger. Would happily return and highly recommend.


The River View Inn- Great place!

3,8 sur juillet 05, 2012

We are regulars at The River View Inn and we come back because we love it! The Innkeepers are extremely friendly, the food is delicious and the rooms are super clean. I would highly recommend this Inn.


Best weekend Ever!

5 sur juin 13, 2012

Paul & Laura, Burke Va Five star weekend the Lake Agusta room is so beautiful and the house is so warm and beautiful were so hooked on B& B's now and cant wait for our next trip Gary & Linda are awesome and we felt like we feel in love all over again thank you so much for an awesome weekend its a place to stay first class top notch.


Dream come true!!!

5 sur juin 11, 2012

Me & my beautiful wife have been together for 13 years, & we have never stayed at a B & B and were hooked, we stayed in the Lake Augusta room its just amazing it brought tears to my wifes eyes and resparked our love and brought us closer together Gary & Linda are the best Host ever and the food was awesome and the house is just beautiful and so nice this is the B & B to stay in if you love B & B's , we cant wait to get back Gary & Linda Thank you so much !


GREAT Experience!

5 sur juin 09, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Room was very comfortable, breakfast was wonderful and our hosts were beyond nice! Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!


A lovely night in Sunbury, Pa.

4,0 sur mai 02, 2012

Our one-night stay at the River View Inn was a delight. Gary and Linda are very friendly and thoughtful hosts. Our room overlooking the Susquehanna River was spacious and pretty. Breakfast was delicious and ample. All in all, a nice time. If we ever return to Sunbury, we will definitely stay again at River View Inn


the best stay EVER!!!

5 sur mars 31, 2012

My wife and I needed a romantic getaway. If you like Victorian settings, a bed that will force you to covet it, an intense quiet, and a very friendly staff, you will love this place. We had the greatest time ever. We plan on going back every year.


Gracious Hosts at the River View Inn

5 sur mars 26, 2012

Clean, comfy with a great living area. Outstanding breakfast! Fantastic view of the Susquehanna River.


A wonderful retreat

4,6 sur janvier 13, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at the River View Inn. The decor is outstanding. The breakfasts were very well done. But we probably enjoyed our visits with our host and hostess more than anything else. I would heartily recommend this to anyone in the area.


Fantastic Stay

5 sur novembre 29, 2011

This was our very first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, and our reason for traveling was not the happiest. We were quite nervous about what to expect, but Gary and Linda quickly put our fears to rest. We were personally welcomed by the Linda even though we arrived near midnight! The house was breathtaking, especially at night with the beautiful stained glass and lights. The antiques were awesome and each room was decorated perfectly. Our room was clean and neat, the bed was so comfortable, and the breakfasts were....lets just say AMAZING! It was just like home and we couldn't have felt more welcome. The Gary and Linda were very accommodating and made sure that we had everything we needed. We can't wait to return.


A great B & B

5 sur novembre 09, 2011

The River View Inn was fantastic and was just as beautiful as it was shown online. Linda and Gary served a delicious breakfast both mornings we were there and are very pleasant to be around. It was Susquehanna University's Family weekend and there were three other couples at the Inn that were attending it also.


Wonderful evening !!

5 sur novembre 07, 2011

This home is victorian gorgeous and modern amenities! All the fixtures sparkle and breakfast was amazing! To relax and have a cozy place to stay - this is it! There is little within walking distance, but we prepared and brought a bottle of wine to relax and enjoy the evening.The tv has a dvd player and the kitchen had snacks and water. When the hair dryer didn't turn on, a new one was brought up immediately. I can not say enough about the hospitality of Linda and Gary - we hope to see them again!


A nice place

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2011

Outstanding living and dining rooms with comfortable seating and beautiful Victorian décor. Very nice innkeepers. At the time of our stay, the Augusta room had an in-window air conditioner, which allowed in the busy road noise. Note to seniors: The stairs to the third floor are somewhat steep and narrow. Location is convenient to Bucknell.


Nice Place, But Unattended

3,2 sur octobre 02, 2011

Didn't see anyone else in the entire house until the morning just before I left. The note and chocolate did not make up for the absence of the caretaker. It felt very odd to be left alone and not be greeted in-person. I really could have used advise on where to go for dinner, etc... The room and house are beautiful, I would have been a different experience if the caretaker had made a point for there to be human interaction as part of my visit. Personal connections between caretaker and guest are a key part of the B&B experience.

Réponse du propriétaire
Please be aware that the majority of Innkeepers have personal lives and jobs just as the traveler. Our house is never unattended. At the time of the above review there was another businessman in the Inn. My husband and I also work as nurses. Travel slows dramatically in the Susquehanna Valley as winter approaches. Thus when I see that there is no one coming to the Inn I schedule myself to work. When I receive calls from travelers at the last minute I always make them aware that I have to work and at that time they have the option of seeking lodging elsewhere. If they decide to come I offer to have coffee/tea and a sweet waiting for them upon arrival. I always have a welcome letter awaiting especially for late comers. I always speak to my guest prior to arrival and if they need any suggestions for dinner, etc it is always discussed before hand and if a guest doesn't ask - we don't know what they need. Please instead of writing such a review - Please - Please speak to your Innkeeper because we are all in this business to make you stay as the best possible and we love working with people.


River View Inn review

5 sur septembre 10, 2011

Excellent example of home away from home - the lovely attributes of the River View along with the friendly and competent owners provided one of the most enjoyable stays I have had. The Augusta room was beyond my wildest dreams and the view of the river was spectacular! The breakfast was sinfully good! I will definetly stay there on my next genalogical visit to historic and picturesque Sunbury.


Excellent Experience!!!

5 sur août 31, 2011

This was our first stay at a B&B and we absolutely enjoyed the experience. Outstanding room (very clean)and house with excellent (and neat!)decor, extremely friendly innkeepers (thanks Gary and Linda!!), along with a very tasty and well presented breakfast, (which included pleasant conversation and stories) made this a weekend to remember. I would without a doubt recommend this inn to any and all. The inn was perfectly situated near and accessable to the Spyglass Winery and Knoebels Amusement Park (the reasons for our visit) All in all a great 5th anniversary weekend experience for my wife and myself!!!!!!! Try it out, you wont be disappointed, i highly recommend it!!!


A very nice Inn with gracious hosts

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2011

We had a 3 night stay with Linda and Gary, both were lovely and tried to make or stay most enjoyable even with the 110 degree temps outside the house was kept cool and comfortable. Our room the Cottage room was a tad to warm for my liking but our friends who stayed in an adjoining suite had a much cooler experience. The beds were very comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath in our bathroom was heavenly. You will not be disappointed!


Great inside

3,2 sur juillet 25, 2011

Very nice inside and friendly innkeepers. Breakfast was really good. Location is not very nice due to construction of new park (will be a fine addition to the area when done) and there is no outside areas at the B&B to sit or relax. The area is old industrial and not nice for walking. If you want a fine room and good breakfast this is a good choice. If you want to relax and enjoy the B&B and neighborhood - this one won't do at the moment. Once all the construction is done the new park might fix what is lacking at this B&B.


River View B&B

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

The house was gorgeous and clean. There was a walking/biking path across the street and a gazebo with views of the river. The breakfast in the morning was amazing! We will definitely go back here again when in the area. Oh, and the owners were great people!


Awesome place to stay

5 sur juin 28, 2011

Our stay was fabulous. They were so accommodating and the house is magnificent. We are planning another trip to Sunbury and will definitely stay there again. View of the river was georgous


River View Inn

3,4 sur mai 23, 2011

The Inn was beautiful and hosts were excellent. Very accomodating and pleasant. The sheets were old and "nubby" however and need to upgraded. The bed was very comfortable other wise. Breakfast was very special. An overall good experience with the minor flaws.


the best b&b experience I've ever had

5 sur mai 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in the fall and we had such a lovely experience that we recommended it to our entire family for my sister's college graduation. We rented the entire b&b with the exception of one room this past weekend, and it was wonderful. There was a comfortable living room with a gas fireplace where the family could gather. The bedrooms were comfortable, quiet, and clean. Our third floor room had a gorgeous bathroom with a claw-foot tub located near windows that look our over the Susquehanna River. Linda came over on Saturday evening to start preparing the ingredients for a fresh, homemade breakfast on Sunday. Her signature meal is a muffin served with whipped cream and berries followed by a savory frittata, which is absolutely delicious. I was surprised when she made a full breakfast for my family on Monday as well, despite the advertisement that continental breakfast is served on week days. Throughout our stay, Linda and Gary added little flourishes to show that they cared very much about showing hospitality to their guests. Little chocolates were laid on the bedside table when we arrived. Regular and decaf coffee were waiting for us when we returned in the evening. Finally, it is a dog friendly b&b, and we brought our German Shepherd. While we were out on Sunday, Linda washed and dried a towel that we were using to dry our dog off after walks in the rain. When we left, Linda packed up his dog bowls and sent us on our way with a dog biscuit. Together, Linda and Gary make their b&b feel like a home away from home.


Quiet, peaceful retreat

4,8 sur mars 18, 2011

The Inn is quite nice. It was quiet. The owners were very gracious. They were particularly accomodating regarding dietary restrictions. They provided great food on my schedule. I will stay there again when I return to Sunbury.


Great B & B!

5 sur mars 02, 2011

My boyfriend and I stay and the River View Inn often. Its a very clean, quiet house. Owners are very friendly and the breakfasts are delicious!


River View Inn Sunbury, Pa

4,0 sur février 19, 2011

Very nice room with fantastic innkeeper! Would highly recommend.


had a wonderful time

5 sur février 16, 2011

we stayed here for our valentine getaway. The owners are very friendly and the place was spotless . Also the breakfast was outstanding


A Wonderful Experience

4,6 sur novembre 24, 2010

The Inn was beautifully appointed. The room I chose had a gorgeous view, a most comfortable king size bed, super clean bathroom with complementary toiletries. I was graciously welcomed and given a tour of the downstairs. The entire Inn was spotlessly clean with knockout furnishings. Compementary offerings included coffee, tea, cocoa, water and sodas. The full breakfast was far beyond my expectations, something you'd expect in a high end restaurant. I'll be back!


surprising, in not such a wonderful way

2,6 sur novembre 01, 2010

The house was beautiful. I think the room could have been cleaner... Cobwebs in room... crumbs on dresser. Served us leftovers for breakfast...saw it in the fridge the night before : ( Complimentary soda and snacks was very refreshing at check-in.

Réponse du propriétaire
I would like to quote the review left in our guest book by this guest,"This was the first time we stayed in a B & B. I called my daughter last night and told her if she had to travel this way she can stay here-wonderful." Floors are cleaned the old fashion way -- on my hands and knees, every piece of furniture is dusted after each guest leaves,absolutely no left overs have ever been served to any guests! There are certain casseroles that one can start preparing the night before and are cooked fresh the following morning. Anyone at anytime is welcome to come into my Inn and inspect/look around. We welcome guests.


The River View Inn

5 sur octobre 12, 2010

Our stay was enjoyable and very accommodative. We are looking forward to a return visit. This was our annual wedding anniversary getaway and the River View Inn certainly added considerably to our stay in the Sunbury area.


Disappointing B&B

2,0 sur août 15, 2010

Please be aware that the website photos do not portray the current condition of the B&B. Not a quiet stay due to loud, heavy traffic directly at the front of the inn. Unfortunately, not a pleasant relaxing stay

Réponse du propriétaire
I was able to determine the guest that wrote this review and unfortunately as an Innkeeper one must realize that there will always be that one guest that you will never be able to please. The guest that commented did not stay the night, only a matter of hours and voiced none of their complaints directly to us as Innkeepers. I would say that 90 some persent of our guests return. All have commented that the pictures of the Inn do not do it justice - that the Inn is much more beautiful in person. This is our first negative review since we have had the Inn and would invite anyone that is in the neighborhood to please drop in and view our facility. There is more traffic than usual, as the town is erecting an Amphitheather and Marina on the waterfront. This will be done this spring. We have 1/4 glass on all outside windows as sound proofing. We belong to the B & B Association in our area and our facilities are inspescted regularly for any defects and cleaniness. Please as a guest in any B & B I would encourage a guest to contact their Innkeeper immediately because all Innkeepers work very hard to resolve any problems/concerns a guest may have to make their stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Thank you for your review because it is these types of review that keep us all aware of our surrounding and how to make and keep our B & B the finest in the area.


Terific Bed and Breakfast

5 sur juillet 29, 2009

Reminded us of some of the elegant B&B's in Ireland! We had a great time and it is a beautiful place to stay!


Great stay

3,8 sur novembre 25, 2008

Excellent room, great breakfast! Owners were very flexible and accommodating to our schedule. Would stay again!


Riverview Inn

3,4 sur novembre 10, 2008

nice stay


Beautiful inn

5 sur novembre 05, 2008

Tasteful furnishings, comfortable beds, solicitous hosts, delicious breakfasts, a wonderful experience.


lovely

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2008

great hosts, great breakfast, great accommodations


Victorian Delight

4,8 sur octobre 30, 2008

Our stay was a trip back to the turn of the century with lovely furnishings and comforts, too. Our innkeepers, Linda and Gary, couldn't do enough for us and made out stay most enjoyable.


overnight stay in river view inn

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2008

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome. We required transportation to a wedding reception and our Innkeeper, with a great personality, took time out to drive us to and from reception. Breakfast was delicious in a beautiful dining area with a gorgeous view. First class accomodation with first class service


River View Inn is Outstanding!

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2008

I am a frequent business traveler and have never stayed in a B&B for business before. This place is absolutely wonderful! The innkeeper has made every attempt to provide a world-class experience in a charming little burg (in the middle of nowhere!) It is elegant, exceptionally detailed, relaxing, and inviting. I plan to go back with my wife this winter (it gives you the feeling that you will TRULY experience the charm when the snow is flying and the fireplaces are burning!) The breakfasts have been very delightful, as well. Elegance in every detail. I even asked the innkeeper if they sent the linens out or did them in-house because they smelled so fragrant (they do them inhouse). I can't think of any place that could offer anything better. It has the quality of Mackinaw Island at a very low price. The hospitality makes it that much better.


Beautiful place to stay

4,0 sur juillet 07, 2008

The River View Inn is a great place to stay. It is beautiful and romantic. The Inn keepers are very attentive and want to make sure your stay is a great one. One of the nicer bed and breakfasts that I have ever stayed at and we go often.


June trip

4,6 sur octobre 11, 2007

For my boyfriends birthday, we traveled out to a b&b in the new berlin area. I added an extra night to our vacation last minute and chose the river view inn. The place is beautiful, the staff very friendly and welcoming, and the view from the overlook room was beautiful. We both wished we had stayed here both nights instead of leaving for new berlin--as the riverview inn was nearly half the cost as well. I will definitely be back sometime.


a pleasant surprise . .

5 sur février 08, 2007

I was accompanying my daughter on a business trip, and although in a non-tourist area, I would revisit this inn. The rooms are luxurious and well-appointed on all levels. They've thought of everything a traveler could need. The innkeeper was especially gracious. He was unable to provide the room we'd reserved, so he gave us two rooms! Both were lovely,breakfast was delicious. A web comment cannot accommodate all the details I'd love to give.


The River View Inn Review for 6/3/06

5 sur février 07, 2007

We came to the RVI because we were in town for a wedding. However it was also our one year anniversary. The Inn was easy to find, and overlooked the river as the title suggests. I have stayed in a few inns in better locations not as busy as this suberb, but once inside I found the Inn to be extremely peaceful. We got a beautiful room w/ a clawfoot tub and a pretty veiw and the room accommadations were exemplary. The staff were respectful and cooked an excellent french toast breakfast and had a nice library room off the dining area to read the paper. The best part about the place was that although it was a "fancier" looking victorian, was the state of the art kitchen that you were free to go in at any time (as we did after the wedding) and fic yourself up a little midnight snack. A+ on this inn.


The River View Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $129 - $139
  • Avis (58) 4,5
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5702864800

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut