Spruce Hill Manor Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
104 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A gem during my business trip

4,8 sur août 10, 2013

I needed room for only one night after a function at U Penn, and this was the perfect choice. I only wish I had more leisure time to enjoy the beautiful home. Janet was amazing, a perfect hostess in every way. If you are coming to Philly - or local as I am - this is the right choice. I'll be back!


Highly Recommend

4,8 sur mars 11, 2013

Spruce Hill Manor is wonderful! Janet was so friendly and really knows the area well & has great recommendations for anything you need. The B&B is very clean, full of charm and character and in a great location; within walking distance to numerous restaurants, shopping, and cultural attractions. It's also right outside the downtown area of Philly, a short drive or even walk to a lot of great sights. (public transportation is very close by as well) Parking was fine, it's free on the street from Friday at 6pm and there is a driveway. We never had trouble finding a spot. We stayed in the Billie Holiday Room. It was spacious and the bed was very comfortable! We had a kitchenette, private bathroom, TV with cable.The bathroom was spacious and clean and had all the essentials. Breakfast was nice. It is a help yourself spread of excellent freshly baked quiche, breads, oatmeal, cereal, and fruit. The dining room is beautiful! Worth standing there for a minute or ten to take it all in. There is also water, coffee, a large variety of tea, fresh baked goods and snacks available all day. We stayed during daylight savings time. Janet was very accommodating and let all the guests check out later to make up for the lost hour. We wanted to check out the Mutter Museum on Sunday, our check-out day and didn't want to leave our luggage in the car. She let us keep it in our room, as well as use the room when we got back before we headed out on the road. We really appreciated her kindness so much. She even gave us a parting gift as we left! It's the little things that really mean a lot! If you're looking for charm, hospitality, and a comfortable place to stay, we both highly recommend staying here.


A very personal experience - very much appreciated

5 sur février 07, 2013

This was our first experience at Spruce Hill Manor. As this was a visit to two of the local hospitals for surgery- we could not have been more apprectiative of the care and consideration that was given to us. This was like being cared for 24/7 with such a good heart and spirit. Our sons also were accommodated with little or no adance notice. Would definitely recommend to all - much more than you will ever expect or receive elsewhere John & Jean O'Brien & Family


Such a wonderful place!

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2012

This was an amazing place to spend our anniversary. Janet was so kind. She even drove us one day to the subway, since we didnt know where it was yet. On our anniversary, she had a tray with chocolates and wine (and an ornament) left on our bed for us. The room was so big and comfortable, and always cleaned. She even did our laundry one day. A kind woman. We would highly, highly recommend this home to any visitor in Philly. She is a gem!


Two weeks in Heaven

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

Beyond any expections. we could not have been happier and were saddened when the last day arrived. janet gave 200% and we felt loved and cared for beyond any place we have staye. Do not ever ever ever think another facility could beat this home away from home for the last two weeks. thank you so much for making two seniors feel like kids again. hope to see you again in the near future.


Historic charm with a personal touch

5 sur juin 19, 2012

Spruce Hill Manor deserves all its rave reviews! This lovely old house, with its golden woodwork and lush yard, is ideally location for travelers. All the rooms are spacious and impeccably decorated with an eye to period detail. Best of all, innkeeper Janet Reitano takes great joy in her work: She's warm, accommodating, and full of fascinating information about her house and the area. Note: If you're traveling without a car, the Lady Liberty Shuttle from the airport is only $10 and takes you door to door. Thank you, Janet! My daughter and I can't wait to return.


Wonderful experience

4,0 sur mai 22, 2012

The Innkeeper was wonderful, breakfast was fantastic (great quiche!) with wonderful breads and fresh fruits. It was a pleasure to stay in a place with so much character as opposed to a hotel room. Overall wonderful experience! Thank you.


Thanks for a wonder time!

4,8 sur octobre 29, 2011

Janet the Inn Keeper was AMAZING! She took care of taxi/travel details, offered sightseeing tips with maps and brochures. She even drove us herself to one of our dinner meetings! And most importantly she was sensitive to our families needs and managed room cleaning and assistance on our schedule. Would HIGHLY recommend the Spruce Hill Manor - Kathy, Lynn and Celeste


A gem in Philadelphia!

4,8 sur octobre 10, 2011

Janet, the Innkeeper is a delight! She made us feel at home from the moment we walked in the door! She had several little extras including Halloween candy and other seasonal treats. The B&B is lovely and we we more that pleased with our stay. I highly recommend!!


A joyful step back in time

4,0 sur juillet 21, 2011

Beautifully decked out with antique furniture, mirrors, upholstery etc, it was a joy to stay here. In a great location for a taste of suburbia whilst being within walking distance of the centre and great places to eat. I wish we'd been able to stay longer and enjoy the porch and garden. We'll be back!


Unexpected Gem!

5 sur juillet 01, 2011

From Janet's greet to goodbye, my stay was outstanding. My room was large, clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast included an abundance of fresh fruit, breads, yogurts & juices. The location is close to my business downtown. Janet went out of her way to insure that my stay was perfect. When ever im in Philly, I know were i will be staying. Thanks so much! Paul


Quaint but with faults

3,0 sur juin 03, 2011

Beautiful and quaint old house a little out of the way and without suitable parking, albeit on-street available on first come first served basis and with time limit. Steep stairs both to house and inside to lug suitcases so beware. Bedrooms large and definitely charming but with major faults - very loud window A/C, tiny TV that only one person can really view and bathroom extremely hot as not air conditioned. Breakfast very ordinary during week-days and mostly from packets - not quite sure why they could not offer cooked breakfast at the rates charged - they are competing at a price level of many 4 star Hotels that do. No real sitting area as theirs double as office so a little uncomfortable to relax in so bedroom only option - not great. Breakfast room however well laid out and attractive. Hosts charming and attentive but ultimately while that is nice, what is more important is the quality of the accomodation and food offered and they were a little below average in our view and we go to a lot of B&B's.


A special place in the city

4,0 sur mai 16, 2011

I recently stayed at Spruce Hill Manor while visiting Philadelphia. This was my first time there and will certainly not be the last. The innkeeper, Janet, was so pleasant when I called to make my reservation and she was delightful and so helpful during my stay. She made me feel like I was the only guest there with all her attention. The grounds are lovely, my accommodations were very nice, and service was stellar.


Convenient to UPenn and Drexel Univ.

5 sur mai 16, 2011

Very nice stay at this immaculate inn. As a lone female traveller, security was a concern for me. I felt very secure with innkeeper and neighborhood. Neighborhood is mixed, some mansions, some on the downward slope, but hey, it is the city. Felt comfortable walking during the day, took taxi at night. Parking rules more lenient than University area. I parked my CRV on the street overnight, probably wouldn't have done that with a fancy car. I took the last room, Eames Library. It was near the entrance on the first floor. Pluses: Charming large room, bed firm but comfortable, lots of windows and light, bathroom small but nice, all the amenities avail., great linens and towels. I could hear other guests as they arrived later in the evening but not a problem for me. Next morning after a hot shower and nice breakfast, I sat in the spacious back yard garden and read. I definitely will return. Some reviews have questioned the prices. There are not many options in West Phila. , the two chain hotels are twice as costly at peak times. I found it to be a good value and nice change of pace.


As great as it gets!

5 sur mai 14, 2011

Stayed March 19 through March 22, 2011. From Australia. Janet was so beautiful and went out of her way to make our stay the best ever. she catered to our vegan dietary requirements and helped us in any aspect necessary. Thanks Janet, we love you! The departing gifts were wonderful and much treasured.


Fabulous Spruce Hill Manor

5 sur mai 01, 2011

What an amazing weekend at the Spruce Hill Manor! We were in for the Penn Relays and everything about Spruce Hill Manor was perfect. The inn is just gorgeous - carefully appointed with gorgeous antiques. The room was spacious and cleaner than clean could be. The location was within walking distance of everything we needed so I was able to park the car in the driveway and never move it! Janet is the ultimate hostess, always on call for whatever we needed. She makes fresh baked goodies each day which make the inn smell heavenly. Everything was just perfect and I am ready to make my reservations for next year! Thank you so much!!


Third Time Still The Charm

5 sur avril 24, 2011

As noted this is the third time we have stayed at Spruce Hill Manor. The personal service is outstanding. We have already made reservations for next year's graduation because it is our home in Philly.


Great place to stay

4,2 sur avril 20, 2011

Loved this place. Janet is friendly, personable, and warm, and makes you feel at home immediately. Found her place online and chose it b/c it was close to a relative we were visiting, but now that we know how nice it is (room was large and comfortable, city location was convenient), we will definitely stay there again next time we stay in Philadelphia. Highly recommend it!


A place like home

4,6 sur avril 17, 2011

Spruce Hill is a very welcoming place to stay. Beyond the amazing ancient and beautiful decoration we have the opportunity to receive all the hospitality and kindness of the inkeeper Janet. Another important characteristic is the delicious and healthy breakfast they offer. For all these things, I strongly recommend Spruce Hill, a place that makes us feel like home. Indaiá Bassani - São Paulo - Brazil


Repeat experience, just as wonderful as the first

4,6 sur mars 24, 2011

I (with friends) stayed with Janet before and decided to pay her another visit on a mini-vacation to Philadelphia. The house is just as beautiful and well-cared for as I remembered, proving to be even more cozy and comfortable with how biting the weather was. I'll be returning again, hopefully sometime soon!


Anniversary weekend

4,6 sur mars 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful B&B to celebrate our anniversary. The manor was lovely and Adrienne's hospitality was amazing. We had a great time visiting Philly and cannot wait to visit again. Thank you Adrienne.


The comforts of home

4,6 sur mars 18, 2011

My daughter and I were in town on college visits and stayed 2 nights at this wonderful Inn. The accommodations were spacious, we had a bedroom with an adjoining living room. The living room has a pull out queen bed giving us plenty of room. Janet is a lovely hostess and always available if needed. We loved the historic neighborhood and the fact that this home is a short walk to Drexel and U Penn. We will be planning another stay in the fall for parents weekend.


Spruce Hill Manor

4,0 sur mars 16, 2011

I came to Philadelphia to visit my newly married daughter and son-in-law and stayed for 2 nights this spring. I found Janet warm and so accommodating, even offering breakfast to my daughter and son-in-law to join me in the mornings! My room was beautiful and so quiet. Loved the easy access to downtown as I walked to the Philadelphia Museum of Art and used the trolley for all other visits to the area. I will stay again when I come to see my daughter, would love to see the gardens during peak season!


February 2011 Visit

4,4 sur mars 05, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spruce Hill Manor. The home retains most of its original elegant architecture, and our host was exceptional - gracious, wonderful conversationalist, and excellent recommendations on where to eat and what to do. It's on the edge of the University City neighborhood, which not surprisingly has that collegiate feel. Our only downside is that the elaborate table setting belied the fact that breakfast is enhanced continental. Still, there was the smell of baking banana bread as we checked in.


A lovely B&B

4,2 sur mars 05, 2011

This B&B is a lovely place to stay while in Philadelphia. The building is a gorgeous old, historic antique house with beautiful architecture and gorgeous touches everywhere you look. The owner is dually lovely, sweet and willing to do whatever necessary to make visitors stays as pleasant as possible. The breakfast was fresh and delightful, served in a striking dining room and the rooms were comfortable and a delight to spend time in. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves bed and breakfasts and/or historic architecture as well as great service!


Surprise/Reunion in Philly

4,8 sur février 28, 2011

Stayed for one night on 2/23/11. Came to Philly to surprise one of my very best friends for his 50th birthday. Met an another friend that I hadn't seen in 25 years here and we had a such a wonderful time that I can still only say one word when I think of this.... WOW. Janet greeted us and showed us around when we got there, our room was so perfectly set up and clean with a great location and I enjoyed the best view ANYWHERE. We look forward to meeting again in this wonderful B&B. Incredible memories were made here. Thank you Janet for all your hospitality.


Perfect getaway

4,8 sur février 28, 2011

Had a wonderful experience at the Spruce Hill Manor. Janet was a wonderful host and her hospitality was exceptional. I would recommend a stay at this property over any hotel chain any time. Again, thanks Janet. Andrew and Kristen


My one night stay

4,2 sur janvier 22, 2011

I needed an over night stay at a B&B near the Univ. of Penn. Spruce Hill Manor was a wonderful choice. The innkeepers were very friendly and made themselves available for my every need. It was a beautiful old Victorian home, elegantly furnished and it met all my expectations. I was also given permission to bring my little dog with me. She was their first 4-legged guest. They made us feel welcomed and loved. I would highly recommend this wonderful B&B.


Anniversary weekend

4,6 sur janvier 17, 2011

Our 4 children planned a delightful weekend for us to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary in Philadelphia. After spending the day at the Italian market and South Street and the Reading Terminal market, we headed to the Spuce Hill Manor and were greeted really warmly by Janet. We went to dinner follolwed by a wonderful performance of Les Miserables. Janet was so helpful in providing directions and logistical advice. Our breakfast the next morning was lovely. The atmosphere was warm, cheery, elegant and everything we'd anticipated. Thank you so much, Janet!


A peaceful retreat in the heart of University City

4,0 sur janvier 10, 2011

I stayed at Spruce Hill Manor the night before an early meeting in University City and the experience was pleasant and convenient from reservation to checkout. Innkeeper Janet Reitano was friendly and helpful, and went out of her way to be flexible when I missed my train getting there and needed to check out late. The property is beautiful, cozy, quiet, and relaxing, and the location is in walking distance to most places in University City. In good weather, I would consider the location to be a relatively easy walk to downtown Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and it is also close to public transportation.


a real pleasure

4,6 sur janvier 04, 2011

Attending a conference in Philly, we waited until too late to book rooms at the hotels near the conference center. It turns out, this was good luck. The rooms were charming, the breakfast (which included home-baked breads) outstanding, and the trolly ride to the convention center no problem. Highly recommended! Paul McNeil


Welcoming, Warm, and Comfortable

4,4 sur décembre 04, 2010

Janet greeted us warmly at the door and gave us a thorough and efficient orientation to the inn, our room, and the area. The Double Suite was roomy with a comfortable bed, plenty of clean towels and amenities, like a microwave and kettle, extra space heater, fridge, etc. Everything was exceeding clean. Breakfasts were a delight, with home-baked muffins and cakes and lovely fresh fruit as well as a selection of juices, cereals, yogurts, and breads. After a long, cold day of exploring the city on foot, we returned to find our room warm and lighted, with a little basket of chocolates on our pillow which went down beautifully with cups of hot tea as we rested up and prepared to go out to dinner. It was a lovely, thoughtful touch. We plan to stay here again when we are in Philly! G & M--Williamstown, MA


Empty Nesters Trip

4,6 sur octobre 28, 2010

We have 3 couples who have travelled the last 5 years staying in B&Bs or renting houses. We chose Spruce Manor online due to its location and the large number of excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. Everything was ready for us. Janet and her daughter worked very hard to be sure our stay in Philly was wonderful. She had lots of restaurant brochures and menus for us to consult. She had wonderful homemade breads and fresh fruits for us each morning. One of my favorite features was sitting in the backyard, enjoying our chese and wine and feeling miles away from a city. If I am lucky enough to return to Philadelphia I would definitely stay here again.


A lucky find!

5 sur octobre 27, 2010

My stay at Spruce Hill Manor was exceptional. It provides the charm of the country, the warmth of a home and the convenience of the suburbs (street parking), while enjoying the fun of Philadelphia. My room was lovely. The moment I walked in, I felt comfortable and I knew I made the right choice regarding lodging. I started my days with a delicious breakfast (Janet is a wonderful baker) – just the right mix of healthy and satisfying choices. My days ended by coming home (back to Spruce Hill Manor) to my comfortable, spacious and perfectly decorated room. Every city should have a bed and breakfast like Spruce Hill Manor. Although I am sure that someone with a keen eye could replicate this B&B, no one could compare to the Innkeeper, Janet Reitano. She goes over and beyond to make sure you have what you desire. Treat yourself when you come to Philadelphia and stay with Janet at the Spruce Hill Manor.


Warm and Inviting

4,8 sur octobre 06, 2010

From the first warm welcome to the fond farewell, Janet was an exceptional hostess of this lovely B&B. Enjoying breakfast in a sunny, elegant dining room was the best way to start the day, And retiring to our cozy and comfortable room was the best way to end the dayand the added benefit of the private adjoining sitting room allowed us to extend our social evening with our friends. Don't forget to sit under the huge lacy maple in the back yard and look up through the filigree of leaves -- lovely setting. We would definitely return to this elegant old home another time.


Everything you need is here

4,4 sur octobre 05, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the homelike atmosphere and outstanding hospitality from Janet, who could not have been more friendly and helpful. Room was attractive, clean and comfortable, "homey" in a good way, with minifridge, microwave, coffeemaker, TV and access to tea/coffee all day. Great location if you enjoy walking in a city, with UPenn and Drexel U. about 10 minutes walk away and Center City accessible on foot in about 30 minutes. We will be back.


Awesome B&B

5 sur septembre 22, 2010

We loved our stay at Spruce Hill Manor. Cannot think of anything that Janet and Adrienne could do to make it any better. Very helpful with maps and directions for getting around Philly. Adrienne even gave us a ride to the bus so we wouldn't have to catch the trolley! Highly recommend this wonderful B&B.Your Wisconsin friends. S&E


Peace and quiet close to the city

4,6 sur septembre 19, 2010

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and would stay here again. Janet provides excellent service and provided us with great information to help make the most of our stay. We stayed in the library room and there was plenty of space and it was very quiet. It was so nice to sit on the front porch and enjoy a cold drink on a warm evening and listen to the crickets in the garden.


Unforgetable hospitality

4,0 sur septembre 18, 2010

Me and my two daughters stayed at Spruce Hill Manor one night. It is a very special place. The house and the furnishings are very impressing. The breakfast was very rich and neatly arranged. We felt at home the moment we met Janet with her warm smile. She is so gentle and kind. She was very helpful with every question/request we had. with best regards, Aliza Moyal.


Lovely historic home and wonderful hosts

4,0 sur septembre 15, 2010

Janet is a charming and knowledgeable hostess who aims to please. She has great recommendations of things to do, see and places to eat. The house is beautifully kept with lovely antique furniture and a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, breads, cereals etc. Highly recommend.


Excellent stay

4,2 sur septembre 05, 2010

This is a lovely place to stay with a very convenient location, especially if you are interested in walking around University City. The proprietor is exceedingly helpful and will make sure you are made welcome and anything you need to know or need assistance with is taken care of. Highly recommended and would stay here again.


Spruce Hill A Hit!

3,8 sur août 30, 2010

My children and I drove to Philly from NY for a little getaway. We were very pleased how easy it was to get to Spruce Hill Manor. The innkeeper ( Janet ) and I had several conversations on the phone before I arrived and by the time I left for the trip I felt like I had known her all my life. She made me welcome before I arrived. We had a wonderfull stay at her Inn. (kids too) If ever I return to Philly I will give Janet a call.


beautiful bed & breakfast

4,4 sur août 25, 2010

spruce hill manor was such a pleasant and welcomed surprise in the heat of Philadelphia. i was visiting family and they had no idea such a beautiful bed & breakfast was so near them. the owner, janet, was more than willing to accommodate all my requests and was incredibly helpful with directions, where to buy specific items and just chatting about the area. i very much enjoyed my stay and wouldn't hesitate to book spruce manor inn again on my next trip and have recommended it to other family members. thank you, janet!


Great B&B

5 sur août 23, 2010

Recently stayed at Spruce Hill Manor for one evening with a friend, as we were looking for a hotel alternative. Room was clean and great, very nice historical decor. Reasonably priced for the area. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of fruit and other healthy options available - organic yogurt, soymilk, fruit, fresh-baked bread, etc. Would recommend to all.


Great choice!

3,4 sur août 14, 2010

My husband and I just returned from an evening spent at Spruce Hill. Janet is the most gracious of hostesses, helping us with directions, restaurants, etc. Breakfast was delicious with the fresh fruit, pastries, juice served in golden stemmed ware, all in an elegant dining room. The coffee was the best..so good that we took some to go! We enjoyed our wine and cheese on the back porch and had our late night tea on the front porch, enjoying the tiny white lights and neighborhood. A perfect place to stay, especially for you parents of students in the area.


Fabulous in Philly

4,6 sur août 11, 2010

What a delight to meet Janet, the innkeeper of Spruce Hill Manor. She is an amazing host and knows her city and its environs inside and out. The rooms are all furnished in period antiques and very tastefully appointed. The dining room, set with lovely pink and gold china and gleaming crystal, welcomes you at any time of day for tea, breakfast, or lounging. I can't say enough good things about my stay at Spruce Hill Manor and I look forward to staying there again.


A Great B&B in Philadelphia

4,6 sur août 09, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a central B&B in Philadelphia so we could visit while our son was cycling the Gran Fondo Philadelphia 102 mile course. The Spruce Hill Manor turned out to be a “grand slam”. The B&B itself is fantastic: an old building with nice and comfortable rooms. The location was great for the city visits, for the fine dining in the University City at night and for the Gran Fondo start and end points. Janet, the innkeeper, is a fantastic person that works hard for her visitors. She even woke up early enough to serve breakfast to Olivier at 6AM the day of his race. We loved the Spruce Hill Manor and we will be back in Philadelphia!


Wonderful Stay / Attentive Inn Keepers

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

My girlfriend and I decided on a last minute excursion out of NYC to Philadelphia - July 4 weekend. We had an exceptionally nice time staying at Spruce Hill. The inn keepers are friendly and attentive and the house is classic and beautiful. We will definitely find reasons to come back and stay at Spruce Hill again! K&A


Philly Haven of Rest and Relaxation

4,4 sur juin 13, 2010

We stayed at Spruce Hill Manor for our Philly Historic sightseeing vacation and we were pleasantly surprised at this quiet B&B, yet only a 15 minute stroll through this quaint neighborhood (University City) to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Here you can hop on board the Phlash Trolley system for only $5 per person and ride all day around downtown, waterfront and out to the zoo. Janet was the most helpful and hospitable host we have ever encountered. Her attention to guest details helps them make the most of their visit whether for pleasure or business or checking out the local colleges. Special "surprise gifts" await each guest upon their stay at Spruce Hill Manor. Thanks Janet! We look forward to coming back and having more time to explore Philly!


Pleasant and warm!

4,6 sur juin 07, 2010

This was a first time at a bed and breakfast, and also a first trip to Philly! Janet was extremely accommodating and helpful with getting us around, giving suggestions, and generally being very friendly. The house and the room we were in were beautiful and comfortable. Highly recommended!


Friendly, comfortable, very convenient!

4,6 sur juin 05, 2010

We had a wonderful time, the innkeeper was warm, friendly, and extremely helpful every step of the way! You really feel like guests in a friend's house, not just customers. The room was beautiful, too, it almost made me want to stay in instead of going out sightseeing. Thank you!


A very warm and pleasant stay

4,4 sur mai 12, 2010

We spent a very enjoyable and pleasant 3 nights. Janet is a very accommodating host and will do anything for the guests; she even let us park our bicycles in the house (we kept them clean)! The breakfast featured a variety of items - excellent fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, freshly-baked bread and specialities, juice, good coffee, yogurt. Quiet picturesque neighborhood yet very convenient to downtown. Bill Cooke


Excellent Stay

4,4 sur mai 10, 2010

Janet exceeded my expectations with a delightful fresh fruit, warm bread and hearty coffee every morning. She placed beautiful multicolored roses from her manicured garden in our room and overall made herself accomodating and gracious. Our room was mercifully quiet, spacious and comfortable and I recommend Spruce Hill manor for an enjoyable stay.


Wonderful week-end in Philly

4,8 sur mai 09, 2010

My husband and I spent a March week-end visiting our son at UPenn. I found the Spruce Hill B&B on line and took a chance. We were wonderfully surprised with a very cordial and gracious welcome by owner, Janet and a comfortable suite. The furnishings are beautifully kept and displayed. Breakfast was abundant do-it-yourself. The location allows easy walking to campus as well as to downtown Philly. We are eager to return! Karen and Lou, Charlottesville, VA


Impecable Inkeeper

4,8 sur avril 29, 2010

We have stayed in this bed and breakfast in Philly for two years now. Ms. Janet is a wonderful hostess and takes the time to meet and greet all her guests and is very accommodating when it comes to scheduling. The place is kept in excellent condition and the neighborhood is wonderful. No better bread and breakfast in the Philly area.


Spruce Hill Manor, My Best Bed & Breakfast to date.

5 sur avril 27, 2010

Stepping through the vestibule and through the second set of double doors, the inlaid wood plank floors, the awesome wooden staircase, and the vintage architectural designs are in abundance. Beautiful lawns, and gardens, with antique furnishings, oriental carpets, fine linens, original woodwork, and stained glass, abound the Sugar Hill Manor. I spent my down time in the J.S. Singer Deluxe Suite, named in honor of the famous Philadelphia artist, John Singer Sargent. It is very spacious, airy, elegant, and a Suite featuring a hand-carved Indonesian queen bed, original chandelier, and fireplace, a new bathroom with elegant trimmings, and a kitchen with modern amenities. The ceilings are tall, lots of big windows, and especially cozy in the evenings. Turn on only the night light next to the bed and live experience. My Suite lived up to, and exceeded my expectations. The table setting for breakfast included crystal and china and are exquisite. Fresh grapefruit, grapes, bananas, strawberries, pineapple, melon, cantaloupe, cereals, milk, miniature pastries, yogurt, hot bread, honey, orange juice, a cornucopia of gourmet teas, (tea teetotalers, drink to your heart’s delight), were all delectable, healthy offerings. You do not walk away hungry. By the way, listen for the classical music playing gently in the back ground; you might hear your long lost classical favorite. I did! Janet showed extreme interest in my native country, Barbados, its culture, government, education, and life style. She even brought out her maps, and we poured over them in deep discussion. She catered to all of my needs, and her humming reminds me of my grandmother. I love the Spruce Hill Manor so much; I booked my stay for next year 2011. Al Lashley. Lovingly Divine Think Globally. Dream Universally. From the Desk of K. Alphonza Lashley - Samurai XV Festina Lente https://www.shopbest.com/al


beautiful place, outstanding service

4,4 sur avril 26, 2010

I came to Philadelphia to visit a nearby college and was looking for a nice and affordable place - the Spruce Hill Manor definitely exceeded my expectations. It is situated in a lovely street and surrounded by other beautiful houses. Although it is very easy to get to 30th Street Station by public transport, it is almost as fast to walk. Janet, the innkeeper, welcomed and treated me as if I were a family member; she gave me directions, infos about the city, offered me to use her mobile phone any time, and she even got up with me very early in the morning the day I left. The house is decorated beautifully and has a very nice atmosphere to it. I can highly recommend the Spruce Hill Manor and I will definitely come back!


very spacious and beautiful room with excellent service

5 sur avril 25, 2010

I was in Philly for the Penn Relays and looking for something close. I was very fortunate to find Spruce Hill Manor which was less than a mile away and really quaint and accomodating. The room I had on the second floor was really the size of little apartment. The living area was beautifully decorated and spacious and the bedroom was great too with a very comfy queen size bed. I had a view of a beautiful garden and it was extremely quiet and peaceful there. I was only a few block walk from the U Penn and Drexel campuses. I was concerned if I would feel safe there travelling alone as a single woman. I felt completely comfortable walking around there during the day, and chose to take a taxi to return at night. Janet, the innkeeper also told me about a free service that would walk me home from anywhere within a few miles. Janet was extremely accomodating and willing to do anything/everything to make my stay in Philly and at her inn wonderful. She provided names of restaurants and places to sightsee once I told her what I was interested in. She was there before and after regular hours to answer any questions and provide guidance. If I go back to Philly to visit Penn or back for the Penn Relays, I would absolutely stay there again.


Quaint and Cozy

5 sur avril 14, 2010

Spruce Hill Manor is nestled in the cutest little neighborhood, surrounded by beautiful gardens, gorgeous old homes, and tree-lined streets. The description and pictures on-line were exactly what I found when I arrived. As I ate breakfast in the dining room, I was reminded of my time living in France...it felt like I had stepped rigth back into Europe! The service was impeccable and I immediately felt welcomed and at home. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to several of my friends.


relaxing and wonderful stay

4,4 sur avril 08, 2010

We spent a long Easter weekend at Spruce Hill Manor as a gift from one of our daughters. Being bed and breakfast "virgins" we had no idea what to expect, but what we found was a cozy, beautiful, comfortable home away from home. Janet was the most incredible host - so accomodating and friendly. After a few days I felt like I had known her forever. The house is incredible with all it's old charm and beautiful architecture and woodwork. I cannot say enough good things about our stay there. We would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who is considering staying in the Phillie area. You will not be disappointed.


Great place for Step II CS test takers

4,4 sur avril 05, 2010

I came to Philadelphia to take a national exam for medical school (Step II CS) and was looking for somewhere quiet, comfortable and with character. Spruce Hill Manor was all of these and located just blocks from the testing center. Meeting Janet also made the stay enjoyable. She was incredibly helpful with the little things like directions, breakfast in the morning and laundry (she even ironed a tie for me!). She also gave me an affordable rate for somebody on a student budget. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in the area. Thanks Janet!


wonderful get-away b&B

4,8 sur mars 24, 2010

Chose this bed & breakfast because its prices were more reasonable than the hotel options we had. It is a little removed from downtown, but the trolley line is only a quick walk away and it goes straight to the heart of Philadelphia in 15 minutes. The b&b itself was wonderful - beautiful rooms, an attentive innkeeper, and peaceful surroundings. The breakfast itself was rather simple, but it turned out OK since we were eating out so often anyway.


A Touch of Elegance

5 sur mars 08, 2010

We stayed for three wonderful nights in late February with Janet and Adrienne at their elegant and charming Victorian mansion. They went way out of their way to make sure that we fully enjoyed our stay in every detail. They helped us in arranging restaurants, museum visits, cabs and in suggesting the best ways to see the most historic and memorable sites in this beautiful city of Philadelphia. We both had wanted to see Philadelphia all of our many years of life and what a perfect way to experience it by staying in this impeccable and stately mansion. We were so grateful that Janet and Adrienne have maintained this wonderful property. We will definitely be back when the gardens are blooming. Janet has promised us that she will have some of the foods that we like when we return.....Like hazelnut organic "Nutella" on our toast. MMMMM!! Everything about this stay was special and memorable. ...........Two very satisfied Canadian guests..............


Exquisite attention to detail and attentiveness!

5 sur mars 05, 2010

Beautifully charming and cozy... our stay with Janet was beyond expectations. She was delightfully courteous and accommodating to our special needs. She even did our laundry and woke up early to make sure we had breakfast before our big day! Thank you so very much for sharing you with us!


Great hospitability

4,4 sur mars 02, 2010

I stayed in the Spruce Hill Manor's unique Library Room for three nights and enjoyed this wonderful ambiente as much as Janet's kind attention and helpfulness. I had a very early flight back home, and she even got up to make me coffee at four in the morning!


Comfort & Location for a college visit

4,2 sur février 23, 2010

The twin-bedded room was the perfect place for a friend and I to stay while visiting children attending UPenn. Despite record snow outside, the inn was warm and comforting, with many thoughtful touches, such as little boxes for rings & earrings on the nightstands. Decor is restrained Victorian, with especially lovely place settings in the dining room. Innkeeper Janet was a delight to talk to, very knowledgeable and helpful about local restaurants, museums and markets. I'd love to return in spring when the garden is in bloom.


Perfect place for a special weekend

5 sur février 22, 2010

Picture the need to have a special weekend for your mother's 60th birthday. From the beginning (the reservation) to the end including exiting the b & b at the end of the weekend, my family was treated like royalty. In my mother's room Janet had a gift waiting. Each room is exquisite. Every need was attended to. I highly recommend. We will be back for sure!


An Enchanting Getaway

5 sur février 17, 2010

The Spruce Hill Manor delivers charm and style unsurpassed by any B&B we've stayed in before. The spacious, immaculate rooms are furnished regally. The elegance of the suites was matched by our lovely innkeeper, Janet, whose warmth and attention to detail made our stay at Spruce Hill one we will never forget!


Great stay

4,4 sur février 15, 2010

I surprised my girlfriend with a night at this wonderful B&B on Valentines Day. We both live in the city, so I just wanted to have a nice night away after our V-Day dinner. My girlfriend was surprised and we both loved the room (Billie Holiday I think). Janet was a most gracious and accommodating hostess. Very eager to help and very friendly. Breakfast was pretty disappointing: cold cereal, yogurt, etc. I was expecting something more along the lines of crepes and fresh fruit parfait. Other than breakfast though, I highly recommend this great place.


amazing place

4,6 sur février 14, 2010

it was a very comfortable stay in spruce hill manor. Janet made me and my friend so comfortable.every need was taken care of and the place is very clean. i would definitely go there again with my friends and recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in philadelphia.


Exceptional service

4,0 sur février 13, 2010

Janet was welcoming and helpful throughout. She contacted us to let us know what to expect upon arriving since the city had just been socked with a record breaking blizzard. She does truly offer concierge service, arranging cabs, ironing, etc. Our only regret is that the only homemade touch at breakfast was the delicious sourdough bread. Very immaculate and charmingly decorated. I would recommend this inn wholeheartedly.


Awesome Experience

4,8 sur février 12, 2010

My experience was so awesome that i am thinking of going there again. The lady of the place was so sweet. i was stuck there for an extra day due to the storm but she made me feel right at home and even let me stay at a discount. The breakfast was good and the place is clean. If you are going to philly then you have to stay here. The place is like a slice of history itself.


SUCH KINDNESS!!

4,0 sur février 10, 2010

I purchased my son and his girlfriend gift certificate. i was amazed when i recieved a call from janet asking me to tell her what their interests are, what are type of chocloate or red or white wine..she said she makes a welcome basket. in today's day and age to find a buisness owner with such compassion and caring is amazing. i am sure that this weekend will be extra special due to janet's willness to make her "visitors" feel so special..thanks you janet!!


A Wonderful Winter Get-away

4,6 sur février 01, 2010

An absolutely lovely inn with gorgeously decorated rooms and a friendly and charming inn-keeper. We were stunned at the spaciousness of our room - rather like a small apartment - and how much attention had been taken in regard to details. The breakfast was modest, but filling, and there was continual access to coffee, teas, cocoa all day/night. Janet, the inn-keeper, couldn't have been more gracious and informative. We will definitely stay again; the problem is - go back to our beautiful room, or try one of the other lovely ones???


Spruce Hill Manor is the best in Philly!

5 sur février 01, 2010

I have stayed at the Spruce Hill Manor twice in the past two years and can say this is the best Bed and Breakfast in Philadelphia. Not only are the rooms beautiful and comfortable, but the innkeeper, Janet, is of the nicest and most hospitable person in Philadelphia! Close to some great shops and University City, the Spruce Hill Manor is a warm and welcoming home away from home.


A beautiful place to stay!

3,6 sur janvier 12, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at The Spruce Hill Manor - the rooms are clean and beautiful and Janet is so incredibly gracious and welcoming. The only thing that was slightly disappointing was that the breakfast was a bit less than what we were expecting. In staying at a Bed & Breakfast we were hoping for a some fresh hot items, like some eggs, bacon, or something like that. There was some lovely fresh bread that was out to be toasted, but besides that the breakfast consisted primarily of cereals and yogurt. That being said, the presentation was very nice and the service incredibly attentive. We had a very nice stay there.


"Great place to unwind"

5 sur janvier 06, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Manor this New Year's Eve. The house is beautiful as is the surrounding neighborhood which is a tree lined enclave of Victorian houses. The Manor is located near the trolley but we chose to walk to City Hall to watch the Mummers parade. The Philadelphia Museum of Art is even closer. The room we stayed in was spacious, immaculate and nicely decorated, and the dining room was elegant and inviting. All told the house has a lot of character. But what really made our stay special was the hospitality shown by the innkeeper, Janet. She went out of her way to make our stay special in numerous ways. We arrived tired and stressed and left feeling pampered and happy.


Fantastic get-away

4,2 sur janvier 05, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Spruce Hill! The innkeeper was so very pleasant and excitable, the rooms were extremely clean and tidy, and we felt like we were being given special accommodations. The area was very pretty and safe (although it is about 4 blocks away from neighborhoods you might want to call the escort service for). The restaurants nearby were limited but very good (upperscale Mexican, Thai, and quite a few little pizza joints - one of which was Drexel's top pick - it was fantastic). We felt very at home and comfortable - the decor was beautiful without being overwhelming (which I often find in victorian B&Bs). Breakfast was rather limited (hot bread, laughing cow cheese, oatmeal from a bag and cold cereals), but most of it was organic and we certainly never left hungry! If you are considering Spruce Hill, I encourage you to stay there!


One night stay in Philadelphia

4,6 sur janvier 01, 2010

I stayed in the Spruce Hill Manor the one night I visited Philadelphia. Janet is a gracious hostess. The foyer and dining room were still decorated for the holiday season and it was a very warm and inviting atmosphere from when I first walked in the door. My room was cozy and clean. Janet saw to every need, helping me figure out the public transportation. She had the answer and access to what I wanted to know, having just a few hours to spend in the old city. When I return to Philadelphia, I will stay at the Spruce Hill Manor.


A Christmas experience

4,8 sur décembre 29, 2009

Spruce Hill Manor is beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We loved being among all of the antique furniture. It is very clean and Janet the innkeeper made us feel quite at home. She was extremely helpful. We are looking forward to staying at this Bed and Breakfast again.


Our stay at Spruce Hill Manor during Christmas week

4,0 sur décembre 29, 2009

Janet, our Innkeeper, was fabulous! She really made our stay easy and comfortable. She went above and beyond in making us feel welcome.


The night before the marathon

4,6 sur décembre 01, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Spruce Hill Mannor the night before the Philadelphia marathon. The location was very convinient, the room nice and clean and Janet, the inkeeper, was extermely helpful and efficient. She speaks French, she booked a restaurant for us, and was attentive to all our needs. Great experience!


Charming, Comfortable, and Friendly B&B

4,0 sur novembre 29, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Spruce Hill Manor. The accomodations were well-decorated and roomy for the three of us. Janet made sure that we were comfortable and accomodated our special needs.


BEAUTIFUL!

4,2 sur novembre 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend and we were very happy. The rooms are just gorgeous, as are the common areas and garden. It is a within walking distance of the train station. The host (Janet) was very gracious and made us feel both pampered and at home. The breakfast is a simple continental one, but good for what it is. This is a really beautiful and soul calming place to stay.


A wonderful Bed and Breakfast

4,8 sur novembre 02, 2009

We really enjoy the Spruce Hill Manor B & B. This was our 2nd stay and we enjoyed it this time as much as the first. Janet made us feel right at home and made sure that we had everything we needed at all times. It is a beautifully decorated home… and both rooms we have stayed in were lovely, clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this B & B… great location for us when we visit our son at UPenn.


Great Experience

4,4 sur octobre 29, 2009

This was our first BnB experience. Loved our room and the Innkeeper's hospitality was superb.


Simply Amazing

5 sur octobre 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed here during our first visit to Philly together. We thought this place was absolutely amazing, however what made the stay even better was the welcome you get from Janet! Janet makes you feel right at home from the second you walk in the B&B to the second you leave. You can tell that she genuinely cares for the place and her guest who stay there. Spruce Hill Manor is very clean and everything is right there for you. My wife and I highly recommend this place and will surely be returning in the future. -Tim & Keira


Great Atmosphere & Service!

5 sur octobre 28, 2009

My new bride and I recently stayed at Spruce Hill Manor for the night before our wedding and the night of and can't get over how fantastic the experience was. We had our families getting ready with us on the big day - and the six grown-ups and one little girl had a great time! The room was spacious, the bathroom and mini-kitchen were perfect for our needs. The innkeeper (Janet) was so accommodating when it came to lunch, and early check-in, and all of our special requests! She really made us feel welcome and special - like we were the only guests there! We would definitely go back in a heartbeat and suggest that anyone coming to Philly for a visit (or from Philly looking for a little getaway) try Spruce Hill Manor - it's a little gem tucked away in Powelton Village!


A Delightful Surprise!

4,8 sur octobre 24, 2009

A year ago my husband and I (travel writers) needed weekend accommodations in Philadelphia, and all the places we tried were booked. I found a listing for Spruce Hill Manor, but when I called, the innkeeper was reluctant to make a reservation, saying she wasn't opening for a month. I reassured her that she'd surely be ready in a month, and she booked our reservation. I rang the day before, and she said they were not quite ready, but we were welcome to come. When we arrived, the driveway was filled with trucks (electrical, plumbing, painting) and Janet greeted us warmly at the door. "I almost made it," she said, "but not quite." You're my first guests, and I have one room ready! And what a gorgeous room ... overlooking the lovely gardens, light and spacious, filled with beautiful antiques, decorated by someone with a keep eye for color and details. The neighborhood was lovely to walk in, the room a tranquil oasis. We're looking for another reason to go to Philadelphia, so we can stay here again.


Splendid Stay

4,6 sur octobre 23, 2009

This was a most pleasant visit. The hostess was quite friendly and accommodating. She anticipated all our needs (e.g. plenty of supplies, towels, etc. Cleanliness was of a very high standard. We and other guests we met there all agreed that we would stay there for all future visits.


Great place!

4,0 sur octobre 20, 2009

I stayed there when I went to Philly for an interview at U Penn. Very nice place, clean and in general very friendly and warm environment. The host is very kind and I will be more than happy to recommend it.


delicious

4,4 sur octobre 16, 2009

simply beautiful. The innkeeper is really nice and the service fabulous. you'll love philly even thanks to this B&B! s


Beautiful B&B, Wonderful Host!

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Spruce Hill Manor this past weekend for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience! Our room (the Queen Deluxe) was very clean, beautifully decorated, and very romantic. (The bathroom had just been renovated and was wonderful!) The house itself is also beautiful, the dining area where breakfast is served (cereal, juice, warm bread, tea coffee) is absolutely gorgeous. The host Janet is WONDERFUL, she even drove us to the 30th Street station in the morning. I would highly recommend this B&B. I am a big B&B fanatic, read all of the reviews, and am very critical. I would definitely recommend the Spruce Hill Manor. The location is great for access to Penn or Drexel campus, the Philadelphia Art Museum, the Zoo etc. and has easy access by subway or trolley to the city center. A little distance from the old city, but very easy and WORTH IT! Two enthusiastic thumbs up!


A Pleasant Surprise

4,4 sur septembre 30, 2009

Rooms are large & clean, innkeeper can't do enough to make your stay easy & pleasurable. Will come back.


University City Retreat

3,8 sur septembre 24, 2009

The innkeeper, Janet, was a delightful host, very warm and accomodating. Our rooms was clean. We went to walk to center city. very enjoyable.


Beautiful house full of great antiques

4,6 sur septembre 22, 2009

This is a wonderfully furnished and decorated house with a nice garden where Europeans feel quite at home!


Stay at Spruce Hill Manor!

5 sur septembre 18, 2009

Janet runs a beautiful B&B minutes from the UPENN campus. Her hospitality was so warm and she made me feel so welcome. I will definitely be back. Rooms are so clean and beautiful.


Home Away From Home

5 sur septembre 18, 2009

Chose Spruce Hill since it looked exquisite on the net. The real experience was simply beyond all expectations. As sales director AirFrance/KL to Indian Subcontinent I have in the past 30 years traveled to several countries. I come from a land renowened for hospitality but I never felt near as at home as I did at Spruce Hill.


Great B&B!

5 sur septembre 09, 2009

What a great place! Perfect location outside the city but easy access to downtown. Janet, the innkeeper, was so helpful and kind. I highly recommend staying here!


Charming

5 sur septembre 01, 2007

My husband and I just returned from spending two nights at this delightful B&B. Our experience couldn't have been better. We look forward to booking rooms there when we return to Philly.


A Feast for the Eyes and Soul!

5 sur août 26, 2007

Spruce Hill Manor is a most beautiful Bed & Breakfast! When you enter the Manor, you feel as if you have stepped back in time to a period of elegant graciousness, uncompromised quality, and superb hospitality. Every appointment in the Manor clearly reflects Janet's impeccable eye-for-detail. Janet's settings for Breakfast were so exquisite (crystal & china) that they seemed suited for a Thanksgiving Dinner! The cereals, the yogurt, the fruit, the hot bread, the eggs, the gourmet tea, the orange juice, etc....all were healthy offerings and were most delectable. The proximity of the Manor to Center City, University City, and easy-public-transportation-to points-of-Philly-interest add to the Manor's attractiveness. Free parking is an added plus! If enjoying a lovely respite with a touch of having been time-warped back about 100 years is what you seek, Spruce Hill Manor is where you want to stay!


Family reunion

4,4 sur mars 13, 2007

I adored my stay at Janet's. We stayed for three nights with our two daughters, ages 9 and 12. We were all made to feel most welcome. The decoration is superb, the architecture unbelievable, and the area is very nice. A tram or bus took us rapidly to the heart of Philly. We will certainly return.


We had a great time!

4,4 sur février 16, 2007

My best friend and I had a "best friend's weekend" in Philly and we had a blast staying at Spruce Hill. Janet treated us like queens and pretty much let us have run of the house. We did everything on our own time...including breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. If I would critize one thing, it would be that we were under the impression we would be getting a hot cooked breakfast. We are not typically cereal eaters, so we ended up going to the Philly diner for hot breakfasts...but other than that 1 little thing, we had a perfect weekend, thanks to Janet!


Holidays at Spruce Hill

5 sur janvier 01, 2007

A party of four, we just returned from spending New Year's Eve weekend at Spruce Hill. The hostess could not have been more accomadating! The Manor did not disappoint at all. You and your guests do get a suite of rooms which cover the whole floor of the Manor. Each room is decorated beautifully yet feels very comfortable and usable. The holdiay touches were nice additions. The breakfast offered plenty of options and we never felt rushed even when we slept in. The Manor location was great and the parking that was included was key. I would highly recommend the Manor for your visit to Philadelphia and we will certainly call for reservations again!!


Spruce Hill Manor

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $165 - $195
  • Avis (104) 4,6
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2154722213

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut