Burbridge St. B&B Avis

Ensemble
3,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    3,7
  • Services4,1
  • Qualité/Prix3,9
  • Propreté3,5
  • Repas3,6

Notation basée sur
84 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful Historic Home experience!

4,2 sur septembre 11, 2014

The host replied to all my enquires promptly to obtain the room easily. I felt so comfortable, it was quiet and quaint, parking was available but home is close to the local historic sites as well as near the train to get to Philadelphia City Centre. Marney shared her passion & knowledge of this wonderful city. Truly a great 1st visit to Philadelphia!


OK

3,0 sur août 14, 2014

My expectations of breakfast at a BandB is hot breakfast. While there was a variety of breads and fruit, yogurt would have been a nice option. Marney is very knowledgable about the area and is devoted to the neighborhood and her house renovations.


Our week at the Burbridge St. B&B

5 sur août 04, 2014

My husband and I had a redeye flight from California, so we arrived much earlier than our hostess's normal check-in time. Marney was very accommodating and she had the room ready for us when we arrived. The house is beautiful with many interesting pieces of furniture and art work throughout. Marney spent time with us making us feel welcome and giving us historical information about the area, as well as valuable tourist information. The breakfast provided was delicious and substantial. Having all the guests sit and eat together gave us the opportunity to meet many nice people from all over the world.

Réponse du propriétaire
I try to be flexible about arrival times, to accommodate the travel schedules of my guests... but it is always important to let me know about arrival times in advance, since only I can open the door for you (my wonderful cats haven't mastered that task yet!). Also, my porch repairs are finally finished (Hooray!), and my place also has new signage identifying the B&B, hanging on the front wall of the house. No more doubts or confusion about whether you've found the right place...


Wonderful..

5 sur août 03, 2014

The original bed and breakfast my partner and I made reservations at was terrible so we had to turn it down, and we were desperate to find a room for the night. As chance would have it, Marney had just put a room up 3 minutes ago. We reserved the room and headed over, and were instantly greeted by Marney and her two amazing cats. She gave us the room for an amazing price, and we felt right at home. She is a wealth of amazing information, and we felt lucky to have met her. Our room was quiet, clean, and unique. The bathroom, even though it was shared, was spotless. It was a nice place to rest and as newbies to Philadelphia, we are glad we met someone as knowledgeable as Marney. It turned around a potentially disastrous weekend. Not to mention, she is probably one of the coolest women ever. Thank you so much!


Charming Home, Bubbly Proprietor, Great Value

4,4 sur juillet 04, 2014

A stay at this charming, 100-year old Germantown home is a wonderful experience and great value. It’s located on a block-long, one-way street in a quiet neighborhood of similar homes. Local ordinance prohibits signs, so nothing identifies it as a B&B. Owner Marney Hague, who has spent 12 years restoring the home, is putting finishing touches to the porch. Plenty of on-street parking is available. Comfortable but not posh, the home is filled with antique furniture and Marney’s collection of paintings and sculpture, creating an early twentieth-century feel. Free Wi-Fi provides a modern touch. In addition, large, completely refurbished bathrooms have separate tubs (with jacuzzi) and ample showers. Bedrooms come with televisions and window air-conditioning units. I had the second-floor Parlor Room, the largest of the bedrooms, with sofa and wide writing desk. Although daytime temperatures reached into the 90s, air-conditioning was not needed for sleeping because the room’s large windows allowed excellent cross-ventilation. Marney is a font of information about sightseeing in the Philadelphia area and restaurants within driving distance. She also stocks up on all kinds of maps and brochures. A hot breakfast is not served, but there’s several varieties of fresh fruit along with cold cereals, tea, coffee, and an extensive assortment of Amish breads. It’s a four-block walk to the Tulpehocken station on the Chestnut Hill West commuter train line. Getting to downtown Philadelphia takes 30 minutes. The senior fare is $1.00. A cautionary note for people with luggage arriving via the commuter train. The first half-block from the station is a fairly steep up-hill climb. After that the ascent becomes more moderate, but in spots over brick sidewalk or cracked pavement. For an elderly person or someone not in good health, the few blocks might be a challenge.


Review

4,2 sur mai 29, 2014

Disappointed with breakfast. A cooked breakfast would have been better than just fruit and cereal.


Lovely B&B, lovely value!!

4,6 sur mai 07, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Burbridge B&B last weekend. The stately mansion has tons of charm; the owner has clearly put a lot of love and hard work into restoring this home. She served a broad range of Amih country favorites for breakfast along with market fresh fruit, savory breads and an assortment of drinks. It's a quiet and beautiful neighborhood about 15-20 minutes from downtown Philly. For the proximity, charm, warm personal welcome and reasonable rates this B&B is far and above any chain hotel right downtown. My husband and I definitely hope to have to opportunity to stay here again.


Nice B&B

3,6 sur décembre 24, 2013

Very nice B&B clean very friendly hostess. Two very nice and friendly cats.


Philadelphia Stay

3,4 sur décembre 11, 2013

The Inn Keeper was delightful and if you don't mind the friendly cat coming into your room you should enjoy staying here. just a couple of minor things were off but she seems to be on top of the corrective action. just wish this B&B was closer to downtown which was a 12 minute drive.


Home away from home!

5 sur décembre 08, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Marney recently and it really felt like a home away from home. We have made everlasting memories from our stay with Marney our host and Cleo and Queen Bess (her very affectionate and just gorgeous cats). Marney is full of knowledge and enthusiasm for her home town and you will never be at a loss for ideas of what to do and see while visiting Philly. Although out of the city about 20 mins by rail, the easy walk to the local train station will take you past the old mansions of Germantown in all their glory. A quick bus ride in the opposite direction will take you up into Chestnut Hill where there are many restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. We would definitely recommend Burbridge B&B and feel that you would be hard pressed to find anything that is better value for money than here! Scott and Annie


A good and restful stay

4,2 sur décembre 03, 2013

The owner Marney was welcoming and offered tips of things to see and places to eat. I enjoyed the antiques and furnishings in this interesting bed and breakfast. We liked the location, in a varied residential neighborhood rather than in a hotel or business area. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom shelves were full of books to read. We love her two cats. The breakfast was full of healthy choices and we enjoyed the wide range of fresh fruits and breads. I would have liked to have breakfast earlier than the set time but understand the selected time must meet the needs of the others staying there.


Charming and cozy B&B

4,2 sur novembre 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, doing tourist stuff. Marney, the Innkeeper, was very nice and gave us really good suggestions, what to do in 2 days. She was very helpful and it was a pleasure to have great conversations during breakfast (with fresh fruit salad!).


A good value stay

2,8 sur octobre 10, 2013

Plus: Comfortable bed, healthy breakfast Minus: Could be cleaner, breakfast with strangers


A bargain

4,4 sur septembre 30, 2013

For the money, this place is excellent. Scruffy on the outside, it's a work in progress. But inside, the rooms are fine and finished. The shared baths are clean and accessible, and mean you meet more interesting Europeans than Americans. The hostess is very knowledgeable. VERY quiet neighborhood, it's close to an awesome bikepath to Center City.Plenty of parking


Quiet stay in historic area

3,4 sur septembre 26, 2013

House is old but that lends to its charm. Reminded me of spending the night at my grandmother's old house (except I didn't have to draw and heat my own bathwater). Shared bathroom has been upgraded and was nicely done. Close to rail service for easy access to downtown. Hostess was very gracious and knowledgeable about the area; very helpful with her information of the Philly area. Breakfast was a little sparse, but adequate. Overall, a good stay.


Good place, great host

3,6 sur septembre 25, 2013

This place was great! Wasn't sure what to expect, but it was a very nice place to stay. The hostess was great, quite gregarious and wonderful to share breakfast with. Her cats are wonderful too, Bessie kept us company throughout the weekend. I recommend it!


As expected

3,0 sur septembre 15, 2013

My wife and I spent one evening only as we left the next morning for another State.


Amazing getaway in Germantown!

5 sur août 20, 2013

Great value for staying in Philly. Marney is the best hostess and is very attentive to guests' needs.


http://www.bedandbreakfast.com/content/images/selStar.gif

4,2 sur août 04, 2013

Very nice old historical house filled with interesting antiques and art work made for a very pleasurable visit. The inn keeper, Marney, is delightful and very knowledgeable about every thing Philadelphia. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone who wants to experience the wonderful neighborhood of Germantown in Philadelphia!


great place

4,6 sur juillet 09, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. It is a very nice place to stay in the Germantown area of Philadelphia. I had to skip breakfast so cannot rate it It is a very large old house, very nice proprietor, 2 friendly cats, plenty of parking on the street in front. I would definetely stay again.


Stay at Burbridge B&B

2,6 sur mai 17, 2013

House in an interesting part of town full of historic places to visit. 30 minutes away from downtown Philly by car. Good place for a one night stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
My B&B is in a residential neighborhood just 7 miles, a 10-15 minute drive into Center City by parkland drives. There is local regional rail service nearby into the city center in just 20 to 30 minutes, depending on which of the various train stops you choose. And best of all, you can park your car here free, rather than pay the inflated parking fees of Center City.


Delightful informative visit

4,8 sur mai 08, 2013

Our 3-nite stay was really special, with helpful directions and suggestions for our stay at Burbridge, including transportation help, with healthy breakfast choices, and a pleasant quiet room. The brick street is in northwest Philly, Germantown, surrounded by other turn of the century homes, "lovingly restored" as they say. We will go there again. It is helpful to reserve direct. Thank you Marnie, Dan Robertson


Home away from Home

3,4 sur avril 30, 2013

A warm, friendly atmosphere provides a unique "home-away-from-home" experience. Well located, a few blocks from the train station, allows ready access to downtown. Marney goes out of her way to make sure her guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay, while helping to foster lively and interesting breakfast table discussions.


Would stay here again

4,6 sur avril 21, 2013

We recently stayed two nights here and were totally satisfied with the facilities. Even liked the friendly cat who would follow us to our room. Would stay here again.


Very cozy and welcoming.

4,2 sur avril 08, 2013

Quiet neighborhood with easy access to public transportation. Host is friendly, helpful, and accommodating in every way. The second floor front room is very attractive, with a sitting area. The second floor bath is modern and roomy. Very enjoyable.


Stay at Burbridge B&B

4,6 sur avril 04, 2013

Enjoyed my stay - Marney was very helpful in finding places to eat and visit, really enjoyed the cats


Good place to stay

3,6 sur mars 19, 2013

We stayed two nights here. The best thing about this B&B is its location, only a few minutes away from the light rail station that takes you into City Center. The host is very friendly and talkative. Breakfast was served at 8 am, which was a little early for our taste but we weren’t sure if we could have requested a late time. Breakfast consists of a variety of breads, cereal and fruit, which held us over well until lunch. The host will recommend places in the area to eat, along with fun things to do in City Center. The house is very old but has modern accommodations. The bathroom on the third floor was very clean, and the shower pressure was excellent. The bed in the 4 poster room was very creaky, but comfortable. If you don’t like cats, shut your door otherwise the very friendly cat will come in. I’m very picky in terms of cleanliness and while the room was dusty, I felt comfortable in the bedroom and bathroom. There were no litter boxes in our bathroom. We had no trouble finding the location (the number is as indicated). One thing I would like improved is clear checkout times- this could vary depending on whether a new guest is arriving, but it would be nice to know ahead of the visit how soon we need to leave. Overall, we would recommend this place.


Philly weekend

4,0 sur mars 03, 2013

It was out first time in Philadelphia. The house is charming, situated on a quiet side street not too far from Mount Airy . The host had an encyclopedic knowledge of the neighborhood and the city, including some excellent restaurant and museum recommendations. Breakfast was great, just right to start us off on our day touring the town..


Great place to stay!

4,2 sur février 22, 2013

The room was beautiful and the host was very nice! Very knowledgeable about landmarks to visit and places to eat around the area. I would definitely stay here again! Unfortunately I left early every morning and never got a chance to try the food


Why stay in a hotel?

4,8 sur février 11, 2013

The host, Marney, will make you feel welcome, and pays attention to the details that will make your stay special. For example, there are not just glasses for water in the rooms; you will find a carafe with a cup for each person, with enough water that you will not need to The wonderful old house is very well-appointed and tastefully decorated. The breakfast features a wide variety of fresh fruit and bakery breads. She keeps it low fat, which also makes it a little short on protein, so you may want to bring some cheese, or better yet, I am sure Marney will accommodate if you let her know in advance. If you like cats, there is nothing that makes you feel at home more than a cat that instantly recognizes a cat lover! Queen Bess fits this role better than any cat I have ever met. Always affectionate, but not demanding; a purrrfect hostess! Cleo is also very sweet, just a little shy. An easy 5-minute walk in a safe and friendly neighborhood past well-maintained, very old and architecturally wonderful houses to the light rail station adds more charm as well as practicality.


Comfy Furnishings

3,2 sur février 08, 2013

Hostess was very friendly and helpful.


Can't wait to visit again!

4,4 sur janvier 29, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed three nights here while visiting from southern Maryland. Right away we were blown away by how friendly and knowledgable Marney, the Innkeeper was. Throughout our stay she was a delight; always ready with tips and suggestions of where to go, both locally and in center city. The rooms are beautiful, bathroom wonderfully updated and - by far - more spacious than the photos here let on. A brief walk gets you right to a nearby train for a quick trip into town. If you're new to the area, don't worry; Marney has a wealth of material on all the local historic attractions, art & theatre, dinning and local transit ready for you in each room. We couldn't ask for more on our stay, except maybe for more time to visit. When you're there, make sure to say hi to Queen Bess the cat!


lovely getaway in Germantown

3,4 sur janvier 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed once again at this restful, quiet retreat. We stayed on the third floor, in the four poster bedroom. Its a lovely old home, located in Germantown in a easily acccesible neighborhood. Easy to get to everything, and stress free. The B and B owner, Marnie, is welcoming, very accomodating and knows Philadelphia and its environs intimately.


Perfect for our getaway!

4,6 sur décembre 06, 2012

We were only in town for one night for the Monkees concert at the Keswick, Theatre, but we wish we could have stayed longer. A beautiful home with a wonderful hostess and great food - much better than a hotel for about the same price. It only took 20 minutes to get there from City Center in the middle of the evening rush hour via the Kelly/Lincoln scenic route. This was a very positive experience and we hope to visit again soon!


Full of Hospitality!

4,8 sur novembre 27, 2012

Inn Keeper made sure my parties needs were met. I recommend this Inn highly! For a wonderful getaway, come visit this wonderful Bed & Breakfast!


Nice, but more of a hostel feel than a B&B

3,0 sur octobre 26, 2012

This B&B is really more like a very nice hostel. It is on a residential street, and not evident where the B&B is. As I approached the house had a bit of a dilapidated look to it because the porch railing is broken off and hanging there. The rooms do not have private bathrooms and there are 3 cats in the house. The bedroom was very comfortable and nice. It is a great price, and I would really call this an upscale hostel with a very kind Innkeeper.


Comfortable with Character

5 sur octobre 16, 2012

It was a delight to spend several nights at Burbridge Street Bed and Breakfast. Although my trip required me to be away from the location for most of the day (and to miss breakfast), my experience was excellent. The place is "homey" - something that might disturb some people who are used to the banal sterility of commercial hotels. However, there was nothing at all disappointing about my experience, and I am quite glad to have stayed at a location that reminds the visitor that we do not need to treat travel as though it were an assembly-line affair. I will definitely be staying here again and highly recommend the location.


Marney and Queen Bess

3,6 sur octobre 08, 2012

Marney was lovely, a very welcoming host and her house is decorated beautifully! Rooms look exactly as pictured, everything very ordered and clean. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom large and clean with plenty of fresh towels and bits & bobs for us to use during our stay. Breakfast was served promptly at 8am and comprised of a delicious array of fresh fruit and a load of tasty american breads for toasting. If you are not a cat-lover then please make note that Bess the cat is extremely friendly and will rub, cuddle and nuzzle at you if you stay still for more than a moment. Fortunately we have a cat at home and were delighted to make aquaintance with Bess! A walk down to Germantown provided us with some brilliant places to eat and drink, we would recommend trying the 'Earth - Bread + Brewery' and 'The Wine Theif' restaurant. Marney was really helpful in advising us on directions and provided us with local maps and local recommendations. We would recommend staying here and if visiting Philadelphia again we shall certainly do so!


Just what we hoped for

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2012

Our host was great, thoughtful, interesting and helpful. The location was excellent for us but is not convenient for anyone visting Philadelphia as a tourist. That said, it is an interesting neighborhood and a quick drive to beautiful Chestnut Hill and the Morris Arboreteum (where we went to a wedding). The home is lovely with a spacious new bath and n ice bedrooms. I think we should have been told there were cats in the house. But I was suprised to find that they didn't cause the usual allergic reaction, maybe because of the cleanliness.


Pleasant stay in Philadelphia

3,8 sur septembre 13, 2012

In our opinion, this was a positive experience. The host had asked us to let her know in advance when we would be arriving. We did, and since we were arriving rather late, the host left a key for us, so we could let ourselves in. When she arrived, she came up to the room so we could talk about expectations of the stay. She gave us a lot of information of places we could visit in Philadelphia. We wouldn't be having breakfast the next day, because we didn't sleep in a very long time, so we let her know this and this was not a problem. The mornings that we did have breakfast we were plesantly surprised. A lot of fresh fruits, different types of bread, cereals, tea, coffee, milk... We also liked the room very much. The host made us feel very welcome and we had a lot of interesting converstations. We also liked not being in the center of the city and making the metro trip every morning. There are some cats, they are very used to people, so if you don't have a problem with cats, then you will probably not have problems with these cuties. We were very pleased with our stay, but we do have an advice for possible guests: if you are looking for a super professional big B&B with hotel trained personal, don't go to this B&B. You might feel better in a hotel. Are you looking for a B&B in the original style: a person who has some spare rooms and offers them to guests with hospitality and kindness, then you are in the right place.


Superior Value for charming B&B

4,4 sur septembre 12, 2012

Marney Hague, the owner, was particularly helpful, charming and knowledgeable about the Germantown area of Philadelphia. Her Victorian house was filled with her personal treasures. She personalized the experience by joining her guests at breakfast every morning.


Friendly Place to Stay

3,4 sur juillet 26, 2012

I stayed at Burbridge Street Bed and Breakfast because it was close to the place where I was attending a training for work and the price was right. It is a historical house in the middle of a neighborhood. It was a bit difficult to find because there was no sign out front, but I had the exact address so that wasn't that big of a deal. Marney, the innkeeper, is very friendly and hospitable and provides a light breakfast every morning as well as breakfast table conversation It is located just a few blocks from the train station where you can catch a 15 min ride to center city to see the sights. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to experience Philly.


Easy access to city train.

4,2 sur juillet 07, 2012

This B & B is only 4 blocks from the train depot. No need to drive into the city, which made our stay relaxing.


pleasant innkeeper

3,2 sur juin 20, 2012

Free on-street parking; nice variety of cold items for breakfast. House is full of antiques. Bed was very comfortable, and the street is quiet. Pleasant to hear birds when I woke up. The bathroom was shared, but it was not a problem. The bathroom looks brand new & renovated; the shower was really nice. But the floor mat in the bathroom seemed dirty to me. Also, no sign out front, which worried me. Room had both a ceiling fan and a window air conditioner. I was also taken aback because the outside of the house has peeling paint. Also, there is a wall inside which has scratches on it, needing paint. I don't mean to be superficial, and I know the owner is still in the middle of renovations, but it didn't look good. Overall, I would stay again if I am in town for business, but I wouldn't come for a romantic weekend getaway.


See the real Philly!

4,2 sur avril 23, 2012

I grew up in Philly but had not visited the City in many years. I wanted to stay in a neighborhood, immerse myself, rather than spend time in a chain-hotel, tourist bubble. The Burbridge Street B&B and fascinating innkeeper Ms.Marney Hague were simply perfect! The Germantown neighborhood is a diverse architectural gem and rich in history. The B&B is a short walk to the Tulpehocken Train Station and only four stops to downtown Philadelphia. I stayed for a week and felt comfortable and right at home in the lovely old Germantown mansion. Expect home improvement projects to be in progress… The place is a work in constant progress. I would highly recommend a stay on Burbridge Street for folks who want to experience the real Philly. I had a blast!


Not a "Getaway" B&B, just a place to crash

3,0 sur mars 13, 2012

House is unmarked and owner is somewhat annoying rather than homely/welcoming. Not a great B&B, buying guess what I paid for. House is rather run down for a B&B. Ok for a one night crash alone, but don't except anything nice or romantic.


pleasant and comfortable

4,0 sur janvier 29, 2012

Marney is a gracious host and has a very nice ambiance to her turn of the century victorian, filled with interesting art and furniture from the era of the home. her friendly cats also add to charm and character to your stay and the delicious fresh fruit and Amish bread in all varieties as well as fresh coffee makes for a nice way to start your day.


Great Stay!

4,0 sur décembre 13, 2011

Marni was very accommodating & helpful. Burbridge street was comfortable, clean and very homey. I felt like I was staying at a friend's house.


Positive (?) Sandwich

3,0 sur novembre 29, 2011

Marney, the owner was very pleasant and knowledgeable about all things Philadelphia. The neighborhood was quiet and quaint and we loved the old-fashioned train stations closest to the B&B. As for the B&B itself - others have described it pretty well. It doesn't look at all like the website pictures (they must have been airbrushed!). Although it seemed clean enough, it was very cluttered (boxes, peeling paint, old paint tape still stuck around things that seem to have been painted (or not?) years ago, way too much artwork on the walls, not very healthy looking plants, etc.) Two features stand out that would prevent us from coming back until they are dealt with: (1) front porch flooring has no railings which was frightening to my 83 year-old traveling partner (I am amazed that this is even allowed by code, as the drop is easily 6 feet). (2) The bathroom (seems to be only one for 3 bedrooms) hasn't ever been renovated - tiles and ceramic are cracked, look dirty, sink has two faucets with water running so close to the back of the sink you can't even get your hands under the water to catch it, tub is claw-foot with hand-held shower pointing towards the back of the shower curtain so you can hardly get wet...also nothing to hold on to getting into or out of the tub - too dangerous for elderly travelers with stability problems (to the point where my companion couldn't shower for 3 days). Cat litter box and scratch pad between tub and sink were really disconcerting to say the least. The breakfast coffee and breads were good (fruit was kept from day to day in the fridge and didn't seem very fresh), and bed in our room was extremely comfortable. The place has so much potential - We wish Marney good luck with her renovations and thank her for the interesting (!) memories.


Nice Way to See Philly

3,2 sur octobre 07, 2011

The hostess was very friendly and helpful, and the location was very convenient: close to the trains and a safe, friendly neighborhood. The only thing that could stand improvement would be the general level of cleanliness. Some may object to the cats being and getting everywhere, too.


Good service - but facility needs improvement

2,8 sur août 23, 2011

We found inkeeper Marney very helpful and friendly. Attention needed to facilities: the 2nd floor shared bathroom was cramped, cat box shouldn't be in bath, owner's stuff all over, and it needed cleaning. Octagon Room was comfortable, but needs blinds or shades - neighbor's security light shines in window and lace curtains give little privacy. Facility is a "work in progress" but still below standard for most B&Bs I've stayed in past 30 years. Breakfast was good with variety of fruit, juice, cereals, breads, etc. We might stay here again though, since Marney's heart is in right place and she seems to be working to improve. Was great location for us.


Would go back

4,0 sur juillet 13, 2011

This was exactly what I was hoping for in a B&B. Very cozy feel, clean, tasteful, interesting host and historical neighborhood.


Philly visit

4,0 sur juin 27, 2011

Spent two nights. Enjoyed walking the eclectic neighborhood. Leisurely visit. B and B is a work in progress. Friendly innkeeper.


Pleasant surprise

4,0 sur mai 11, 2011

I originally booked my room at Burbridge St. B & B due to its proximity to Germantown Friends School. I was in town to celebrate my 45th class reunion and didn't want to do a lot of driving over the weekend. I really didn't think too much about anything but a convenient location. However, the B & B was much more than convenient! Marney, my gracious hostess served wonderful fresh fruit and amish breads at breakfast and was a fount of information about Philadelphia and Germantown history. She and her kitties, Queen Bess and Cleopatra were wonderful company and made the weekend most memorable. BTW, my bedroom was nicely furnished and I slept like a rock. I'll definitely be back someday!


Fantastic!

5 sur mai 02, 2011

The place was wonderful. Marney does a wonderful job. I would highly recommend the place.


Charming Inn

5 sur avril 13, 2011

Beautiful vintage home; very comfortable accommodations & Marney was very friendly and welcoming!


A trip to Europe without leaving the country!

5 sur avril 03, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by our experience at the Burbridge Street Bed & Breakfast. Though some say it is hard to locate, my daughter and I had no problem finding the charming, old home on foot. It's only a ten minute walk from the Tulpehocken Station. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by Marney, the innkeeper. After getting us settled into our spacious, but cozy room, it was dinner time, so she directed us to several local restaurants in the area that were within our budget. In the morning, we awoke to a fresh, delicious and beautifully displayed breakfast including several types of tea, coffee, cereals, fruits, fresh baked local breads, local honey and even your choice of soy, almond or regular milk! We had an appointment to visit a nearby college, but we weren't sure of the best way to get there. Marney took time out of her busy schedule to map us out a route using the local transit system. Our room was wonderfully comfortable and also had an array of teas and coffee at our disposal. The bathroom is conveniently located next to our room and was clean and well lit. Our favorite part of the experience was the friendly, cuddly kitties! Both of them were at ease with us made us feel at home. Marney is so incredibly hospitable and such a giving, caring person, that I felt as though I met a long lost friend. She opened her home and kitchen to us. Staying at the Burbridge Street B & B was like staying in a European pension, with a built in historian tour guide! She knows so much about Philly and not only saved us a bunch of money, but she made our stay in Philadelphia a pleasurable one we will not forget. When I return to Philly, it's Burbridge for me! I highly recommend it unless you are super fussy and don't like cats.. If that's the case, then it's the Holiday Inn for you... Enjoy! Teresa & Angelique


homey place to stay on a budget

3,6 sur mars 31, 2011

If you really love antiques you will enjoy your surroundings here. The house is over-filled, with every surface having something collectible. Hospitality and friendliness are wonderful, with lovely breakfast available early enough for me to get an early start. Get directions ahead of time, if you find your way from Broad St. you might find the intermediate neighborhoods scary. Private room not lockable when out, but the hostess makes it seem totally secure. A good deal if you are comfortable in the big city. Easy train commute to downtown or airport.


Best Rate in Town, A Little Awkward

3,6 sur mars 28, 2011

My family and I stayed here for three nights because it was by far the best deal in town for our dates (especially with a January $50 off per room special on BedandBreakfast.com). We booked both the Parlor Bedroom and the Octagon Room, which share a bathroom with each other and with Marni. I would recommend the Parlor room, as it is spacious and somewhat isolated. The Octagon room, however, is awkwardly situated with 2 locked doors on either side (one to the bathroom, one to Marni's room). You can not only hear what's going on in the bathroom (which would have been really awkward if it wasn't my family) but we could hear Marni snoring one night (she was sick, so nothing against the snoring, it's just a testament to the thin walls/poor sound barrier caused by the doors). In other words, staying in the Octagon room is a bit awkward if you don't know the guests in the other room, and if you are concerned about making noise for Marni. Pros: plenty of parking on the street, beds are comfy, the neighborhood felt safe (mostly families), drive into Philly easy, close to trains, neat neighborhood. Cons: awkward bathroom (the tub's shower curtain also does a poor job of covering the entire tub/seems poorly installed, the water has low pressure and the shower head is hard to manuever, I felt cold and a bit rushed the whole time), very little window coverings so you get light in the morning, and my parents mentioned that one of the neighbors had a bright green light on that faced right into their room (Parlor) in the middle of the night. Breakfast was simple--good fruit and lots of bread choices, although we did have to wait on it almost every morning. Ultimately it was a good deal for us and the awkward factor was reduced by us having people in both rooms (the upstairs is rented by a full time tenant now). Would recommend the Parlor room over the Octagon room.


Unclean, unwelcome & unsatisfactory

1,0 sur mars 18, 2011

We stayed at Burbridge from March 9th through March 13th. I called the owner, Marney on the 9th to let her know that traffice through DC was making our arrival later than we'd anticipated. We'd been driving for hours and were exhausted. Marney talked for at least twenty minutes straight once we got there when all that we wanted to do was use the restroom and lay down. We finally just had to walk away. There is indeed a catbox in the bathroom right outside of the shower. Litter does get onto the floor - you will probably get some on your bare feet. 3 cats roam the house freely - and by freely, I mean that they sleep on the guest beds. If you have even a slight cat allergy, you'll be feeling it. I like cats and the cats are cute, but I am allergic. We came back in the evenings to find Marney laying on the couch in the main sitting area to which the front door opens watching television, sometimes asleep. We had to tiptoe past her and up the stairs to our room and felt like teenagers sneaking past our great aunt. She was very informative and knowledgeable about local history and politics, but was also very forceful about this information, not sensing when she'd been talking for too long and we wanted to go. Breakfast consisted of cereal & fruit. This was fine. But knocking on your door in the morning to tell you that it was ready felt very intrusive. You are expected to be at the table at a certain pre-arranged time & if you're not, it's very awkward. The house smells of cats thinly veiled by Lysol and other cleaners. The layer of dust and grime on the nick nacks in the bathroom was thick. A previous review from December 2010 notes painter's tape in the bathroom around the pink paint-chipped radiotor - it's still there. Had we had more money, we would have gone elsewhere, but I'd already paid for the stay.


Good value

3,6 sur décembre 14, 2010

We stayed recently at Burbridge Street, and found it very charming and comfortable. The innkeeper was tremendously helpful, and gave us lots of good advice on places to eat and tourist attractions around the city. The location is a little out of the way, but convenient to public transit. I would definitely stay there again!


Share bathroom with cats, expired milk, get accused of stealing

1,4 sur décembre 06, 2010

I was astonished at my experience here. While Marney seemed very friendly, I can not say that she runs her amateur enterprise with any amount of professionalism. I was astounded that there were three cats that roam the house freely-- and even worse that the bathroom we were to use also included the litter box, the mess of which was not easily avoided when entering or exiting the shower. The breakfast on our first morning included milk which was two weeks expired and rancid. Twice fail. The kicker was that the day after we had checked out she called and accused me (or, she claimed, my 6 year old son) of stealing $60 worth of quarters she had in a bowl, and claimed that we were the only people in the house when in fact she had two other residents aside from herself. I have yet to receive an apology. I cannot recommend this experience to anyone.


A Great Stay!

3,6 sur août 24, 2010

Marney is very kind and knowledgeable about the area. She is also very good with upkeep on the B&B. And if you are kind to her cat, Bess, and invite her to sleep with you, you may find a furry little body next to you at night. Awwhhh.


Visitors from MN

3,6 sur mai 30, 2010

Enjoyed our visit at this B & B, friendly and personable. Nice walk to train station. Had info for out of towners on various places to site see, and how to get around.


Keep looking...

1,8 sur décembre 01, 2009

The porch floor mentioned by others has been replaced. Large flowerpots stand in for railing on the narrow section adjacent to the door; approaching the entrance with luggage is disconcerting (there is a 5’ drop). Take care as well with the steep top step. Breakfast begins with a generous plate of cut-up fresh fruit and berries, and a large selection of breads, jams, and cereals, some from 2007 & 2008. Good coffee, and a large selection of teas. The 3rd floor rooms are not cluttered and look clean; the 3rd floor bathroom is large and tidy - as is the 3rd floor kitchen, for use by extended-stay guests. The 2nd floor Parlor room's many decorative touches, however, are dusty - as are many artworks and flower arrangements around the B&B. The Parlor room has an inaccessible bureau tight behind the love seat, making the room feel crowded - as does having to climb over the radiator to exit the far side of the bed. There is, however, an Ikea-style closet for hanging up clothes. The torn folder exploding with (old) tourist brochures adds to a sense of untidiness more than utility - too much to sort through, and little free space to sort the flyers. There is in-room coffee and tea; when asked, owner was happy to wash the greasy drinking glass and water carafe. I noticed bottles of Poland Spring water on a third-floor bureau. The 2nd floor bathroom is shared with a litter box. Though emptied twice daily the room smells, as does the hair dryer living on the floor behind the cat box; having absorbed the odor, using it is extremely unpleasant. The cluttered bathroom is mid-renovation, with dirty painter's tape peeling up around the radiator. The slow toilet backed up our first night. The shower is rigged over a claw foot tub with a nice shower head, but it’s hard to get under the water due to its placement – with bits of cat litter on the floor, who wants to shower anyway? Used towels and washcloths (some pre-dating our visit) stayed put for 3 days. We left ASAP.


Nice and confortable B&B

4,0 sur septembre 30, 2009

My wife and myself had accomodation in this B&B for 6 days and I must say that it was wonderful the way we have been received Marney Hague, the Innkeeper.


Excellent and Unique

3,8 sur septembre 08, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here! The owner (Marnie) will make you feel very welcome and opens the place up for you, making you feel at home. I found the service outstanding due to the knowledge Marnie provides. If in Philadelphia again I would have no hesitation staying here. Darren, Perth Western Australia


The beauty of a house

4,0 sur août 13, 2009

We have found Burbridge B&B by chance looking for a B&B in Baltimore and we chose it also on the basis of price. We found a very friendly home hospitality. We needed two rooms for three nights in a journey between Washington and Newark flight Back Home and we have found that the rooms were so confortable and goodlooking with their warm and coloured forniture. The proprietress, Marnie Hague, is a warm, generous, and knowledgeable hostess who made our stay in her lovely home very special. We are cat lovers and were delighted to have "Queen Bess" (such a love!) greet us as we entered our room. She (Marnie not Queen Bess) is very gentle and hospital. Very helpful with us expecially when it was so hard to find a car to rent for a not so expensive rate. The breakfast was very tasteful and the conversation very interesting for us that for the first time were visitins USA coming from Italy. Everything was really beyond our expectation. The location were the Burbridge B&B is located is a wonderful quartier The neighborhood is lovely - nice residential location and an easy trip into the city. The train stop to the city is not far. The train that brings you in the center is cheap and convenient. We spent a wonderful time By Marnie maybe too short. We hope we can return here one more time in our lifetime.


Looking forward to our next stay!

4,0 sur août 10, 2009

We were most pleased with the hospitality, accommodations, and location of the Burbridge B&B. Our host, Marney, is very knowledgeable of her city and has inspired us look forward to our next visit to Philly. Our room exceeded our expectations as did the quiet street and available parking. We have already picked out the room we want to stay in on our next trip.


Not for us

2,0 sur juillet 25, 2009

When we arrived at the B&B we had to call to verify that we were in the right location! There are no signs stating that this is a B&B. Upon arrival we were not sure if we wanted to stay. We decided to stay because it was only for one night. We spent the evening out. This evening was a night away from the kids, and some quiet alone time. It was very quiet as we were the only guest for the evening. Too quiet if you ask me, we were afraid to even move. The bed creaked with every movement! We were well rested in the morning, and ready for breakfast. We awoke to the aroma of bacon and eggs. When we arrived for breakfast there was fresh fruit, toast, and cereal. No bacon and eggs!!! We left ASAP picked up our children and went to breakfast. This is a very nice historic house, but we will not be back. The innkeeper is knowledgable and pleasant.


A special experience

4,0 sur mai 25, 2009

My husband and I live in nearby northern DE and were looking for a special way to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. We were fortunate to find just the place: Burbridge St. B&B. The proprietress, Marnie Hague, is a warm, generous, and knowledgeable hostess who made our stay in her lovely home extra-special. We are cat lovers and were delighted to have "Queen Bess" (such a love!) greet us as we entered our room. The B&B is a work-in-progress and a labor of love, as Marnie brings her special touch to renovating this beautiful stone house. Free street parking (and basement bike parking) and the delicious Amish fruit breads are added features, and the close proximity to the biking/hiking paths in Fairmount Park guarantees a return visit from us in the near future!!


Its own charme...

3,0 sur avril 28, 2009

The overall conclusion is that I can recommend to stay in the Burbridge B&B. Rooms are clean, uniquely furnished and mostly well renovated. The service by Marney is outstanding. The tourist information cannot provide as much information as she does. Besides that, she took good care of me, when I got sick during my stay. For the money you pay, you will get a well tended B&B place in a quite neighborhood with street parking. Due to some minor renovations still going on the place could be a cleaner, but over time this issues should be solved easily. Breakfast was - for American standards - really good, with fresh fruits, juices, coffee or tea. Several types of cereal, jams and fresh breads. Some cheese & coldcuts could be a future improvement. I hope this helps. :-)


What a pleasure

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2007

After being on the road for 2 weeks and staying in various generic motels, Burbridge St. was a wonderful treat. The neighborhood is lovely - nice residential location and an easy trip into the city. The house itself is a work in progress but not lacking for charm or beauty in its current state. My room was clean, bright, and comfortable, it was an absolute pleasure to go to sleep at night with my 3 windows open and wake up in the morning with the sunlight streaming in. Though I know the cats would be a concern for some, due to allergies or personal preference, I was delighted to have them about. There was no issue of fur on furniture or carpets, or litterbox odors. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with Marney over breakfasts - she was exceedingly helpful in providing information on Philadelphia and how to navigate it - and overall a great host. It's clear that she loves what she it doing and is meeting the challenges of renovating a beautiful old home in the only way one can: with flexibility, patience, and good humor. I will, without doubt, be staying here again on my next trip to Philly.


What a pleasure...

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2007

After being on the road for 2 weeks and staying in various generic motels, Burbridge St. was a wonderful treat. The neighborhood is lovely - nice residential location and an easy trip into the city. The house itself is a work in progress but not lacking for charm or beauty in its current state. My room was clean, bright, and comfortable, it was an absolute pleasure to go to sleep at night with my 3 windows open and wake up in the morning with the sunlight streaming in. Though I know the cats would be a concern for some, due to allergies or personal preference, I was delighted to have them about. There was no issue of fur on furniture or carpets, or litterbox odors. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with Marney over breakfasts - she was exceedingly helpful in providing information on Philadelphia and how to navigate it - and overall a great host. It's clear that she loves what she it doing and is meeting the challenges of renovating a beautiful old home in the only way one can: with flexibility, patience, and good humor. I will, without doubt, be staying here again on my next trip to Philly.


oh come on! It's fun!!

4,2 sur août 30, 2007

Yes, it was like being in my grandmothers house (in France), the ceiling needs repair, the paine has cracks but that's all part of the charm!!!! Marney is delighful and puts on a great spread. She is a delight and I'd go back in a heart beat. Kath and Tom Hynds


It was like taking a step back in time.

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2007

Marney was a superb hostess! She was very knowledegable about the area and shared a great deal of history. She provided maps and offered suggestions of charming venues to visit! I had no idea that Germantown held such such great treasures! Thanks Marney for such a wonderful visit.


My ballet weekend!

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2007

The entire neiborhood is being reclaimed to it's original beauty. The home is a work in progress, but well worth my visit. I plan to visit again next year to enjoy another performance of Broad St.


It will be a beautiful place after renovations, but in the meantime...

2,6 sur juillet 16, 2007

The inkeeper is a wonderful host. She was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, warm and just a gem of a lady. She loves what she does and once the renovations are complete, it will be a lovely place to stay. But, at the time we stayed the porch steps and porch itself was in great need of repair. The steps were coming lose and there were rusty nails sticking up in the banister. The site I saw mentioned an outdoor pool. There is a "wading" pool that the inn-keeper will blow up, but not a "true" pool. There are two cats on the property not one. I'm sensitive to cats, but I was able to stay there with minimal medication For someone who has more severe allergies...you may not want to risk it because the cats do roam freely. At the time of our arrival there was a huge hole in the kitchen ceiling and was leaking all over the floor. The room we had was okay. But I think it might be worth an investment to get a mattress that fits the 4-poster bed. I think the frame is queen size and the mattress is standard. There was cat hair in the room which means to me, it may not be "serviced" as throughly as it should. The verdict is still out on the oriental carpet that was in our room. I have to believe it was clean, but there were some courious white spots and dark areas that I couldn't explain. The TV in the room is exactly what you see. There was no cable in the room. The other good thing about the place was that the Breakfast was outstanding!!! It was the best part of our stay. You may be reading this and saying "if there was so much wrong...why stay?" Well, it was air conditioned and it was close to were we needed to be. So, while I was not impressed with the property.....there were things that were a tad more important.


Don't Stay Here

1,0 sur mai 23, 2007

The porch is falling down, there were buckets to collect the rain water in each room, the room did not have a door that could be closed or locked for privacy and saftey.


cozy and quaint

3,2 sur mai 20, 2007

Marney is very helpful, providing info on dining choices, sites in Philadelphia, directions to anywhere. As with any house, things are constantly being improved and refurbished-great poofy beds and furnishings and art are right in period. Great breads, cereals and fruit choices for breakfast and owner goes above and beyod to accomodates individual schedules - I will definitely come here again.


Can't recommend more highly!

5 sur avril 22, 2007

The owner is wonderfully warm, the rooms are cosy and very private. The breakfast is excellent, multiple kinds of cereal, fruits and fresh bread. I would recommend this B&B to anyone!


You can find something better

2,0 sur avril 18, 2007

I think you can do better than this B&B. The owner is not a licensed B&B operator. The breakfast was expired/moldy. The rooms are quaint, the beds comfortable, and the owner is nice. It's a little far from Center City, so spend the extra $10-20 and find a closer B&B or hotel.


Great Value

3,4 sur avril 03, 2007

Our stay was very pleasant. Very comfortable beds and rooms. Innkeeper is very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful in assisting in any way with one's visit. On a nice, quiet street, but very easy to get to Center City. There is a cat in residence, so those with allergies beware. I'd recommend this B&B to friends.


This is not a B&B

1,4 sur janvier 01, 2007

I appreciate the innkeper's will and ideas, but I think that she should close the house, restructure the bathroom an insulate better the windows of the bedrooms and THEN open it as a B&B. The bathroom was dirty and the last day of my stay the toilet would not flush. I only had breakfast once on my two days and half stay in the house, because my first experience was terrible: the bread that the innkeper offered was moldy or even worse had a terrible smell.


Burbridge St. B&B

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $90 - $135
  • Avis (84) 3,8
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2158430886

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut