Porches Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
41 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Charming and Secluded, But Close to Everything!

4,6 sur août 21, 2013

We stayed here a few months ago as an overnight getaway and absolutely fell in love with the place and owners. We stayed in Room #1 in the Main House. It was exquisitely furnished, spacious, with a private bath. We even had our own private entry/exit door to a secluded back porch. The only downside of the room is that it is right off the dining room, so at breakfast, it can be a bit noisy (or if you're wanting to be "romantic," it's not exactly soundproof). Breakfast was homemade country deliciousness. I couldn't get enough of the pastries! We enjoyed staying here so much that we're planning to go again in September!


An impeccable and delightful experience!

5 sur octobre 05, 2012

We highly recommend Porches B&B ! Wanting to explore this part of the Delaware River Valley we hoped to find a comfortable B&B within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Our 4 day stay at Porches exceeded our expectations. Our hosts (including MeMe the ever present 4-legged one!) could not have been more accomodating. And receiving my left-behind earrings (despite having assured them I had "everything"! in the mail was a very nice surprise. Ava and Dave Little, CT


Heavenly Get-Away

4,0 sur août 31, 2012

My girlfriends and I found Porches B & B to be the perfect escape from our hectic lives. What a treat to enjoy John's beautifully decorated rooms - each different and unique. The morning breakfast was tasty and so enjoyable. The hospitality, wonderful. The location of the inn, perfect. You will love New Hope and you will love Porches!


A getaway

5 sur mai 19, 2012

We stayed in the upstairs yellow room with a door to the porch. It was sunny and charming, clean and completely met our needs. Even better were the inn keeper, John, and his darling Meme (the inn Jack Russell), who adopted us (and everyone else) immediately. We immensely enjoyed sitting around the breakfast table after a hearty breakfast (different each day) and chatting with other guests and with the inn keeper who also gave us an inside track to finding the things we were looking for in the antique and garden shops. He also steered us to the Monday night locals dinner restaurant—such a plus when you are new to a town. We loved New Hope and will come back for another stay at Porches, a visit with Meme, and a reprise to the wonderful arts, crafts and antique shops.


Pros and Cons

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2011

Upon arriving I was thrilled with the charming outdoor area and the look of the various buildings from the outside. I liked the overgrown outdoor area. It is clean and the proprietors were welcoming. The location for visiting New Hope and Lambertville and walking around is fantastic. However, I was more than ready to leave after 2 days. The sheets were clean but the bedspread worn and not something I wanted to cover myself with. The room was very damp and dark. The decor in the rooms clearly needs to be maintained better- lumpy chairs, drapes not completely hooked; no comfortable seating in the room. When we tried to sit in the parlor in the evening the musty smell was unpleasant and also no comfortable seating in there. There were only a couple of hangers available to use; the soap fell apart with first use; we had to ask for a hair dryer. Breakfast the first morning was tasty but there was no choice and my sister who is a vegetarian had basically nothing but a fruit cup to eat since the only food available other than the small fruit cup was an egg & sausage casserole. We were not asked if we wanted water or more juice. There was no 1/2 & 1/2 available for coffee and even though we expressed a desire for it there was still none available the second morning. Even though eating outside was an option, when we asked to do this the second morning it was evident that we were not making the hostess happy about it. Napkins were not ironed, linens clearly aged. Breakfast the second morning really bad - soggy baked french toast. And again, no other choice. No, I won't stay there again.


tom and I

5 sur août 21, 2011

loved Porches so much. so cozy and tucked away down a little road by the towpath. We loved the fact that we could open the doors and go right onto the porch with lots of chairs and tables and quiet!! John and Chrissie are great hostesses and are never in the way like some b and b's. They cooked the best breakfast each day, different from the day before and coffee was available early in morning for big coffee drinkers. We loved little Me Me, the Jack Russel. the overall feeling was I'M HOME! BUT NOT REALLY BEING HOME. We will be back soon. much love to you guys. joan and tom


A contradiction

3,2 sur avril 28, 2011

This was our first stay at Porches. Overall we loved the place - great friendly innkeepers, excellent location, and the rooms are clean and amongst the finest decor of any B&B I've ever been in (which is about 15). Excellent Bed! Rooms are decorated in a fashion that should appeal to both men & women. They're not all foo foo fluffy with pinks and lace and flowers all over the place. My only criticism that keeps me from giving cleanliness a 4 or 5 is the OUTSIDE - tables and chairs are very old, dirty and in need of replacement. I had a hard time finding a chair for breakfast that didn't almost tip over when I sat down. Exterior could use some fresh coats of paint and some sweeping. But overall, I'd much rather have clean rooms and a messy outside then visa versa. Oh, and one other very small note - get some better coffee ! That Maxwell House or whatever was in the pot just ain't cuttin' it. But overall we loved the place, liked the price, and would definitely go back again.


lovely place right off the main street

4,8 sur mars 25, 2011

Our stay at Porches was great. The décor of the room was fascinating. She showed us the other rooms when we checked out and each one is individually themed and interestingly decorated. The breakfast was very very tasty and was different both days. They were able to accommodate our food allergies. The other guests had all stayed there previously and knew the inn keepers. We all chatted at breakfast. The lady was very knowledgeable of the area and provided us maps. We have tried to stay there again 3 times, but there were booked, so it is best to make reservations far in advance. We can’t wait to stay again and we want to try each room!


First Time / Last Time

3,0 sur août 18, 2010

My wife and I selected Porches due to the many favorable reviews online. When we arrived and entered the property grounds, we first noted the "Grey Gardens" style of overgrown gardens and the buildings covered with trees that needed a good trimming. We parked, met John and went into town for a stroll until our room was ready. We returned at 3 pm and went to room 7, upstairs at the carriage house. The room was spacious but needed a good dusting. The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. Having the flatscreen TV was a nice touch as many B&B's don't offer one. Dinner in town and some shoping was relaxing and the town has much charm. The morning brought a trip to the main house for breakfast. Breakfast on the proch was nice but I was constantly distracted by the clutter, cat hair, and cobwebs. The gardens surrounding the main house have many beautiful (and expensive) garden statues and planters that could hardly be seen through the tangled overgrowth. Good experience, but attention to detail is missing!!


birthday weekend get away!

5 sur juin 10, 2010

As soon as we checked in we were greeted with happiness and a feeling of comfort, leaving all our stresses of NYC back at home!!! We loved the "Key West" kind of feeling of the hidden rooms nestled into the Garden and off the main Drag, of New Hope, yet close enough to walk and enjoy the restaraunts and shops. The Innkeepers were wonderful and attended to our every need, although we didn't need for anything once we checked in to our immaculate and cozy room. Just what we needed to Get away from it all and Celebrate my husbands 40th!!! We have found our new spot to sneak away too, just wonderful.


a great stay not far away

5 sur mai 25, 2010

i only live 45 min from porches and it is my favorite bed & breakfast. john & chris are wonderful host & hostess. the rooms are clean and the service for breakfast is always perfect. sitting on there porch makes it a lovely morning. also many shops & places to eat in walking distance no need to drive anywhere while staying at porches.


Porches in April 2010

3,6 sur avril 23, 2010

The best part about my stay was the atmosphere. John the proprietor and all of the people working with him made me feel right at home. He has done a phenomenal job renovating the property and it's exciting to see what he will come up with next. I will return for sure.


FAbulousness in New Hope!

5 sur février 24, 2010

Great Place! Location perfect, hidden away, but right in town, walk everywhere, wonderful rooms & host


The Best of The Best!

4,8 sur février 14, 2010

One cannot find a lovelier escape on the East coast. Truly a hidden jewel!


Smart Casual Imaginative Accomodation

5 sur septembre 17, 2009

Extremely comfortable and well looked after whilst remaining subtle and non intrusive. Visually a delight. Well situated in a lovely area with easy access to anywhere. Finally, Porches would not be porches without it's truly fantastic caring owner and innkeepers. Well done you are the best!


Always a nice time

4,4 sur août 26, 2009

You will not regret staying here. Love this place for a nice weekend getaway!


An ideal getaway!

5 sur juillet 22, 2009

We enjoyed a weekday two-night stay in early Spring and loved it. John, the owner, has an amazing family history that exceeds even the history of his tastefully decorated B&B and the area. He is himself simply delightful company and an encyclopedia of restaurants and activities. If you enjoy history, tasteful decor, good company, and reasonable prices, Porches is the perfect retreat.


happy choice

4,2 sur mai 07, 2009

best of all....within strolling distance from all New Hope and Lambertville attractions. A fun stay! FMM...Wilmington, DE


GREAT!

4,8 sur avril 09, 2009

The staff, the room and the location could not have been more enjoyable. I highly reccomend this Bed and Breakfast. Looking forward to the next vesit!


Incredible place to stay

4,8 sur mars 27, 2009

Fantastic hospitality, food, views. Close to a great little town with art galleries and fine dining. I love Porches!


Great time & location

5 sur mars 22, 2009

I was looking for a place for my wife and I to get away for the weekend besides going to the shore. I never stayed at a B&B before and was not disappointed. We stayed in room 5 which is at the top of the mainhouse. Rooms were clean, large clawed tub & stand up shower, nice big towels to dry off with and breakfast for both days were fantastic. The dining area looks small at night but wait untill the morning when the table is opened up and you won't be dissapointed. They couldn't do enough for you. If your looking for a place with a tv in the room look elsewhere. But if your looking for a place to relax and read a book, you won't be sorry. Other guest were very friendly. The main road in New Hope to shop is about 50' away. Lambertsville is a 15 minute walk and Lahaska 's Peddlers village is just minutes away


Elegant and Charming

5 sur février 04, 2009

I've stayed at Porches 2x and it is one of the loveliest B&B's I've ever seen. Both times I've stayed in a room in the Gatekeeper's Cottage and they are to die for. So convenient to the village of New Hope and across the bridge to Lambertbville. The staff is a delight and the setting is wonderful. Can't wait to come back.


A true Gem of a B&B

5 sur janvier 20, 2009

We spent a weekend at Porches and had a fabulous time. Owner John and manager Chrissy were warm and friendly and the accomodations far exceeded expectations. Located within walking distance to everything. Thanks for a great weekend!


Great getawat

4,8 sur décembre 27, 2008

Porches was the first and favorite in all our B&B experience.


A lovely oasis!

4,4 sur novembre 03, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Porches for the weekend, and what a lovely stay! The owners John and Chrissy were so nice and accommodating, and had no quams about telling the history of the building, and how it began as a granary, and now a B&B with a beautiful garden. If you stay, say hello to Spencer the cat and Maya the doberman. I would definitely return. Jennifer Y. Newark, Delaware


Quaint & Charming B&B.

4,2 sur juillet 28, 2008

Both the owner John & Chrissie the Innkeeper are very pleasant, ready to accommodate you, during your stay, very helpful and easy to speak to. The House is quaint giving a preveiw of life as you would imagine it was some 50 odd years ago.


A gem!

5 sur juillet 24, 2008

I like everything about Porches! I have stayed a couple of times with my husband and I am looking forward to our next visit -- maybe next year for our 25th wedding anniversary.


so much more!

5 sur juin 06, 2008

Spectacular! went for a girl's weekend for my mother-in-laws 80th, but also going for my 25 wedding anniversary. Decor is outstanding, food is memorable, and the hosts are gracious. Can't imagine a better B & B. Amy


Charming B&B

4,0 sur mai 29, 2008

My boyfriend and I went for a weekend getaway. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we took a chance and booked 2 nights. Location great...all we had to do was park our car. We never had to drive anywhere. Everything was walking distance within a few minutes. Chrissy and John were hospitable when we arrived. We stayed in Rm 6 which was a comfortable size for two. Bed was comfortable. Very quiet overall, heard some people downstairs in the morning. Only complaint was that it was really dark in the room..we got a chance to look at the other rooms which seemed much brighter. Hard to put makeup on. Room was clean. Rm 6 didn't have a door access to the porch which was accessed by walking downstairs and around the corner then upstairs which was annoying. So if you're looking for door access check before you book. Breakfast was decent. We had scrambled eggs and an omelette dish. Other bed and breakfast we've been to had refreshments(water/Tea) and some treats like cookies in the afternoon. They didn't offer that unless you had to ask. When we checked out, we were able to leave the car to stroll during the day and offered a key to freshen up before we headed home which was nice. Overall, we enjoyed our stay we would definately come back and try a different room.


Home away from Home!

5 sur mars 11, 2008

Porches is a place to get away, relax, party, romance, whatever you need at the time, but, John and Crissy, also make you feel like you are at home. We have stay several times and recommended Porches to many friends, who feel the same way. You don't get the feeling of being in someone elses home, or being in the way. We have had take out on the porch, drinks, watched t.v. in the living room, relaxed and enjoyed each and every stay. I highly recommend making the call and having the experience of a lifetime.


Extremely Friendly and Professional

5 sur janvier 09, 2008

We've been returning here for a couple of years now. Every time has been a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly and attentive. The location is perfect. It may be hard to find at first because it is located in an alleyway; but it's right in the middle of town, and not on the busy street like some of the other B&Bs. Book early though, they fill up quick.


Love this Place

5 sur novembre 02, 2007

The Innkeepers are wonderful. We absolutely love Porches, a must when staying in New Hope. Breakfast is always great and served with pride. Don't miss this.


Best B&B in New Hope!

5 sur novembre 01, 2007

This is my favorite B&B to stay at in New Hope! The innkeepers are friendly and helpful! It's right in the heart of all the shops and restaurants...what a terrific getaway!


A Wonderful Surprise

5 sur octobre 04, 2007

I went to Porches for a 2 day retreat from the world. The hosts were outstanding. They even let me work on a painting on the porch and brought me fresh water to clean my brushes!! I left there feeling rejuvenated and like I knew about something so wonderful that only a few lucky others get to experience. I only live 15 minutes from Porches but always feel like I have gone away. There is NOT a bad room in the house-trust me you will love it. ~enjoy~


A great find

4,4 sur octobre 02, 2007

Delightful rooms that will appeal to both men and women. It has become my "gold standard" in B&B's! The owners have kept the "Bucks County" charm and know how to make a room inviting, comfortable and elegant at the same time. The owners are curteous, and make you feel at home without being over-bearing. New Hope is a charming little town offering great antiquing, biking or hiking along the canal, touring historic sites and some great dining. You will not be disappointed with your stay here.


A delightful stay

5 sur juin 04, 2007

Porches is a beautiful setting in the heart of New Hope. The staff works hard to ensure that your visit is a wonderful respite from the cares of the world. Kudos.


an oasis in New Hope

5 sur mai 18, 2007

We love it here and have been staying for several years. The innkeepers are the best, very helpful but unobtrusive as well. Bring your bikes as the towpath is right at your back door. Lovely garden setting


Lady for a day

5 sur mars 13, 2007

The entire experience was exquiste. The room warm and romantic. The bath, a ladies dream. The breakfast, WONDERFUL. The Hosts, warm and friendly. The entire visit a dream come true. Can't wait to return , again and again.


Fantastic anniversary visit

4,0 sur mars 07, 2007

We really enjoyed our night at Porches. My husband and I were celebrating our engagement (which happened 15 yrs ago in New hope). Chrissie was a warm, considerate, welcoming hostess. The inn was very cozy, clean, relaxing, and very quiet which was exactly what we needed. At breakfast the next morning, we met the other wonderful guests who were sharing the inn with us. The entire weekend restored our energy. I actually got to speak to my husband for two days without any interruptions!


Lovely

4,8 sur janvier 13, 2007

We've stayed in rooms 9 and 10 and had a great experience. Breakfast was delicious, and each day of our stay, they cooked something different. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the location is ideal to downtown.


Incredible place!!

5 sur janvier 08, 2007

We had the most wonderfilled week-end at Porches. It was private, quiet, and elegant -- breakfast in our room was served within 5-10 minutes of our call. I can't recommend this highly enough. You will be pleased!


Porches Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $250
  • Avis (41) 4,7
  • Chambres 10

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2158623277
  • Fax 1-2158621833

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut