Ascot House Avis

Ensemble
4,9

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services5,0
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
119 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Our third visit

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

We keep coming back for our time away from a stressful life because we can relax in a peaceful setting. Wendy is not only a exceptional hostess but a caring and delightful person to be with. We love the atmosphere that she creates with all her guests and the opportunity to socialize with them. We will be back again often.


A Delighful Experience

5 sur octobre 08, 2014

We are not b&b aficionados, but we do recognize warm hospitality amidst elegant ambiance when we experience it! Wendy offers not only these, but also beautifully-served appetizers and delicious breakfasts, which always include a hearty taste of her expert baking skill. She is the ideal hostess: ready to meet any need and sensitive to her guests' preferences for company, yet always ready to entertain with many an interesting account from her life and interests. Every guest must surely leave as her friend, blessed by her gift of hospitality, just as we did! Ron and Barb


A quiet get-away with outstanding service.

3,6 sur août 26, 2014

Beautifully decorated rooms. Lovely garden. A delightful cheese/cracker/fresh fruit tray and ice cold lemonade delivered right to our door! Friendly staff who made us feel at home the minute we walked in the door.


A Truly Memorable Birthday Surprise

5 sur août 01, 2014

My husband Jeff hit the jackpot when he surprised me with a getaway weekend at Ascot House in charming Marietta, PA. Jeff and I had visited Marietta 15 years prior, but this recent visit was by far the best. The Ascot House is reminiscent of a New England B & B with its inviting entrance, dramatic stairway, and 7 guest suites each uniquely decorated. Jeff worked with Wendy Codd, proprietor and hostess extraordinaire. Upon arrival, Wendy greeted us as family. She arranged to have a fruit basket and birthday balloons waiting in our room. We relaxed on the beautiful deck overlooking her gardens with wine, cheese and fruit. Wendy recommended a lovely Irish restaurant for dinner that night. The next morning, we woke up to enjoy a delicious breakfast to include home made peach cake and eggs benedict. She recommended sightseeing the quaint town of Lititz to spend several hours there taking in the unique shops as well as an art show in the park. For the evening, Jeff had worked with Wendy to arrange a picnic dinner for us to take to Nissely Vineyards. She personally prepared a full menu to include gazpacho soup, chicken salad and home made brownies. We enjoyed an evening of wine and dining under the stars listening to a Big Band concert and dancing as well. I was sad to leave Ascot House and Wendy but back to reality. We plan to visit again.


June weekend at the Ascot House

5 sur juillet 05, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Ascot house. It was our first stay at a B&B and from the time we made our reservations, Wendy was helpful sending us info regarding restaurants in the area. Wendy was the consummate host from the time we stepped foot in the door. The house was beautiful, as was the garden out back. We enjoyed wine and cheese both evenings with the option to be ourselves if we wished or enjoy the company of the other guests, as well as Wendy who is a most gracious host. We were greeted both mornings with a beautiful breakfast starting with fresh squeezed, juice, coffee, fresh fruit and as well as a beautiful served breakfast. It was one of the most enjoyable weekends we have had in a long time!


Worth Going Back!

5 sur juin 28, 2014

My wife and I arrived to find Wendy (owner and consummate hostess) and some of the other guests for the weekend enjoying the Spring evening together on the back deck. The hospitality and socializing was refreshing! The room was very nice and the building and garden beautiful. Breakfasts were excellent, as was afternoon/evening wine and cheese that grew into a small party with Wendy, ourselves, and a number of the other guests sharing wine and stories for hours into the night on the deck. Wendy can tell you all about local places to see and things to do, and even wandering the streets of Mechanicsville itself was enjoyable. We've stayed in a number of B&Bs over the years, but Wendy and Ascot House is the first that I really would like to go back to and visit again and again.


Wedding Weekend

4,0 sur juin 19, 2014

We spent a lovely weekend at Ascot House when we were in Pennsylvania for my grandson's wedding. The house is stunning, and Wendy is a terrific hostess. Breakfast is a feast. We were impressed to find that all the other guests were visitors who had been there before. We sincerely recommend Ascot House.


Great town, great house, great hostess!

4,6 sur juin 15, 2014

We were thoroughly impressed with the Ascot House. Wendy, the hostess, was incredibly kind, generous, and pleasant. Our room was beautiful and very clean. We will definitely be recommending this place to our family and friends!

Réponse du propriétaire
thank you so much for such a nice review


Escape Weekend

5 sur juin 11, 2014

By far, The Ascot House is the most relaxing B&B you could ever escape to. Wendy, the proprietor and most gracious and elegant hostess welcomes you with wine and cheeses on the patio overlooking a beautiful garden. The house has a welcoming and homey atmosphere from the minute you enter till the time you leave!! The rooms are all different and have their own personality. There isn't one you wouldn't enjoy! Wendy is at your beck and call and has the best stories and recommendations for dining, places to go, wineries, etc. We stayed for two nights, but it is never enough time to fit everything in. That's why we will DEFINITELY be going back!! Thanks for everything Wendy! We love you!! Ann, Marianne, Chris, and Nancy


A quaint little town with a genuine hostess

5 sur juin 07, 2014

Have you ever thought of staying in a little 'post card perfect' town off the beaten path? Tree lined streets, well manicured old homes with a great inn and nice restaurants. And top it off with the most genuine hostess you will ever meet. Wendy, innkeeper and professional hostess makes you feel as if you are the most important person in her life. You can find great inns all across this country, but you will always remember and yearn to come back to that great hostess.


Awesome- Wendy is the best!

4,8 sur juin 05, 2014

We felt so immediately welcomed by Wendy. Despite a misunderstanding in the room we got and whether or not we could bring our dog, she did not hesitate to accommodate us (and Chico!) as soon as we arrived. The house is beautifully maintained, the outside yard was impeccable. Thank you!!! Love, Kelly and Ted from NJ


Wonderful Mid-week Overnight

5 sur mai 27, 2014

What a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and our room was large, comfortable and exactly suited to our needs. We rolled into Marietta early evening, and after checking-in, walked to a local tavern for an excellent dinner. Upon returning to Ascot House, we had a very nice chat with Wendy in the parlor, before turning-in for the evening. I had an early morning phone-meeting, which I did from the parlor, and Wendy was so kind as to bring coffee while I worked. Breakfast was excellent, and we had to depart far too soon. We will be sure to return, and stay longer next time!


A charming home and an even more charming hostess!

4,6 sur mai 23, 2014

I just enjoyed a two weeknight stay at the Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in Marietta, PA and it was LOVELY. The hostess Wendy is a wonderful English lady, happy to regale you with great stories or listen to your own tales over wine and cheese in the evenings before retiring. She has a wonderful touch for romance and encouragement. Make sure you are ready to climb some stairs to get to your room--the building is 5 or 6 stories tall. I stayed in the Suffolk room and I was SO excited for the Jacuzzi in front of the gas fireplace--it did not disappoint. I also went on a Living Social deal (that made it more affordable) which included a gift certificate to the Accomac Inn nearby in York, and Wendy was happy to make lunch reservations for us. She also surprised us by letting the Inn know in advance that my husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we got some surprise chocolate covered strawberries with whipped cream at the end of our meal. I really felt sad as I hugged Wendy goodbye after having the run of her beautiful home for two days. Make sure to check out the room descriptions on their website, and check availability for the room that sounds most appealing to you! I would highly recommend the Suffolk room for both couples and individuals. And--some nights the train goes by really loud. Look in the bathroom for the disposable ear plugs!


Fabulous!

4,6 sur mai 14, 2014

My husband and I celebrated his 50th birthday here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the breakfast delicious! Wendy is a wonderful hostess who truly loves her job. A lot of interesting area attractions to explore. A great experience all around


Very best B&B!

5 sur mai 04, 2014

My husband and I were married here and return every year on our anniversary. Ascot House is absolutely gorgeous and the gardens are incredibly beautiful. The very best part of Ascot House is Wendy. She's attentive, funny, informative, a fantastic cook and the perfect hostess. We always enjoy sharing wine, cheese, and conversation with her in the parlor and her breakfasts are always outstanding. Staying with Wendy is like staying with family and there is no other B&B that compares.


Lovely and Charming Bed and Breakfast

4,2 sur avril 30, 2014

The hospitality and service were phenomenal; the food was exceptional and the room was just lovely for the proper engagement setting...I would highly recommend staying at this fabulous bed and breakfast.


Great B&B

4,8 sur avril 21, 2014

Very nice B&B. Manager and cook were very helpful and the breakfast and late tea were exceptional. I plan to return for another stay


An Amazing Experience!!!

5 sur avril 20, 2014

I was looking for something to do with friend in Dec of 2013. I read reviews about Ascot house and decided to book it. My friends and I had the most amazing time with Wendy the owner. She makes you feel like family. Before I left that weekend I booked another weekend in March so I could go with my husband. He loved it so much we booked again for April and we brought our kids who are 16 and 20. They loved her and want to go back again. My husband and I booked again for Sept. Going there is like visiting with your favorite relative who makes you feel so at home that you just want to keep going back!


Great Weekend Getaway

5 sur mars 19, 2014

This was our first time at Ascot House. It was highly recommended by friends who stayed there last year, so we went with them this year. It couldn't have been nicer or more comfortable. The B&B was immaculate and everything was in perfect working order. Wendy was the perfect hostess - she went out of her way to make sure we were happy with our room and everything about her beautiful 'home'. She set out wine and cheese for us when we arrived and made sure her breakfast menu's were to our liking. She was very interesting to talk to, and also gave us private time to enjoy our friends and her other guests. She made good recommendations about restaurants and things to do, and provided information about many of the attractions in the area. We had a GREAT and relaxing weekend getaway - it couldn't have been better!


Everything wonderful - would return

5 sur janvier 19, 2014

Bob


a lovely weekend getaway

5 sur décembre 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend our mini-honeymoon. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and had a great little gas fireplace that made it nice and warm (and it was cold out!). Just after arriving, we were offered all sorts of wine, local cheeses, and fruit in one of the sitting rooms, and were joined by some of the other guests arriving that day. We stayed two nights, and breakfast was both plentiful and varied between the two mornings we ate here. What really made the house unique and memorable was the attention from our hostess, and her great and knowledgeable suggestions. With her help, we were able to plan our day trip to hit all the things that were most important and interesting to us, which was especially important since the weather was a bit iffy. We're excited to come back in the future, hopefully with our dog, since certain rooms are allotted to allow dogs to tag along. Also, Wendy is just highly personable and hilarious, and made us really feel at home. This is definitely somewhere we will recommend to friends and family.


Worth The Trip

5 sur décembre 05, 2013

This is a excellent b&b. The owner and host, Wendy, is very pleasant, fun loving, and above all an excellent host. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here. This was for the Christmas House Tour. We really enjoyed ourselves. We liked this b&b so much we have already booked for next year for the Christmas House Tour. You will never regret staying here. The decor and breakfast is way above average.


A wonderful and relaxing time

5 sur novembre 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ascot B & B for three nights in November and had a wonderful time. Wendy is a warm and welcoming hostess; she made us feel relaxed and welcome the minute we walked in the door. Our room was immaculate and very large. Wendy went above and beyond what she needed to do in order to make us feel comfortable. We were unfamiliar with the area, but all the recommendations on restaurants and activities were spot on! I would certainly recommend the B & B.


Great experience! Can't wait to go back!

5 sur novembre 18, 2013

The Ascot House was absolutely wonderful. We are locals and went for a weekend getaway. The house is beautiful and you couldn't ask for a better hostess than Wendy. She knew alot about the area and restaurants and had great recommendations. The afternoon tea and wine/cheese in the evening made our stay even nicer. The breakfasts were delicious. We are definitely planning to go back.


Best Stay at a B&B

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2013

The ASCOT HOUSE is a awesome place to stay. Wendy is a amazing host, she greeted us every night and again in the morning. The room was clean and the entire house was amazing. I will visit the Ascot House again.


Great place to BB in historic Lancaster, PA area

5 sur novembre 09, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice, once in January and once in May and we plan to revisit soon. Our first time we did not know what to expect since it was our first time going to a B&B. We were pleasantly surprised and had such a wonderful time despite it being so cold. Wendy is such a wonderful person and made the stay really nice. She is a great resource in the local attractions and we took advantage of her knowledge of the area both times. We stayed in the Bedford the first time and the Suffolk the second time. Both rooms were very clean and well kept. If you are interested in antique furniture and look of antique/old houses, you will not be disappointed here. The bathrooms were wonderful. Breakfast was great and fresh. Wendy really knows how to treat her guests well. We felt very much at home and welcomed in her home. The house is beautiful with a lot of character and Wendy has done a great job keeping it in good and original shape while updating it for modern amenities. We would gladly reccommend Ascot house to anyone thinking of going to Lancaster but doesn't want to have the hotel stay experience.


The perfect weekend getaway!

5 sur novembre 06, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing weekend away, exceedingly comfortable accommodations, and an incredibly warm and engaging hostess, look no farther than Ascot house. Nestled in picturesque Lancaster county, this bed and breakfast meets and exceeds all expectations. The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms (especially those with double tubs) are luxurious, and the house itself is brimming with fascinating history and comfortable nooks to relax in. Bookshelves filled to bursting (and Wendy has read them all), kooky UK board games stacked alongside classic favorites, and gorgeous Georgian interiors are some of the things you’ll encounter while walking the halls. Outside, an inviting patio gives you a wonderful view of Wendy’s beautifully landscaped garden, where four legged friends and their owners can throw a tennis ball or relax on lawn chairs. The kitchen is fully equipped and open for use between meals, which is a plus for twenty-somethings like myself looking to heat up a late night snack. The rooms offered a great deal of space and privacy so we were able to meet in one place and chat through the night without disturbing the other guests. The evening wine and cheese was the perfect way to end a long day of travelling, and Marietta and the nearby towns offered anything we needed insofar as groceries within a ten minute ride. The best part of our stay, as you’ll hear repeated in many reviews, was our hostess: Wendy. Wendy is a truly remarkable individual with a wealth of stories about the house, the surrounding area, and her own fascinating personal life. As a “concierge” she was incredibly helpful, steering us away from some of the local gimmicks and providing us information on an event that ended up being the surprise hit of the weekend: The Falmouth Goat Races! Between the rooms and Wendy’s constant attention to our needs, we felt as comfortable as if we were among family.


Outstanding Stay

5 sur novembre 03, 2013

Exceeded expectations in all respects. Wendy is the perfect hostess. Excellent rooms and property. Large and superb breakfast. True English afternoon tea service. I can't think of any possible improvements.


Amazing Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 30, 2013

It was the First time and my husband and I were able to get away for a weekend and it just an amazing experience. We really enjoy one another and sparked up our marriage.


Wonderful!

5 sur octobre 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ascot House this past week and it was just great. It's a beautiful bed and breakfast with great character. We stayed in the "Surrey" room which was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was very large and comfortable for two. Wendy was a wonderful host who is very welcoming and friendly.. also extremely helpful in informing us about the area. I definitely recommend this B&B!


Best B&B in Marietta, PA

5 sur octobre 09, 2013

I have stayed at the Ascot House several times over the last few years and I've always had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are elegantly appointed, yet the overall ambience is one of relaxation and comfort. The owner and her staff are attentive to the needs of all of their guests, making everyone feel welcomed and eager to return in the future.


Lovely

4,4 sur octobre 09, 2013

nice place


Perfect getaway, only too short...

5 sur octobre 06, 2013

Wendy is the perfect hostess. She is warm , knowledgeable, funny, attentive and most of all, she makes you feel special and at home. The house is beautiful, with a lot of attention to detail and the garden and a wonderful place to read, sip wine or just contemplate. We stayed 2 nights and were left with the yearning to go back. Luisa and Anthony


Ascot house

4,8 sur septembre 29, 2013

Excellent stay. Host Wendy does a fine job.


Lovely quiet get away

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

What made the trip was Wendy. She was so attentive to our needs. She made us feel so welcome. She has such a wealth of knowledge of the city's history as well as the local attractions. Though my friend and I were there for a girl's weekend and could not stay as long as we would have liked, we will definitely be going back to Ascot House to enjoy Wendy's company and the attractions she suggested. Thank you Wendy and can't wait to stay with you again!!!


Relaxing, warm and friendly

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

This was our first B&B experience and loved it. Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and gave great tips on area attractions. Our room was lovely and we felt welcomed as soon as we walked in the door. The food was perfect and the afternoon tea and snacks were a nice touch.


Awesome stay!

4,6 sur août 24, 2013

We felt very welcomed the whole weekend. Food was excellent.


Ascot B&B - a true gem

4,6 sur août 22, 2013

The Ascot is a wonderful B&B. Not only is It beautiful inside and out, the history of this over 200 year old building is extensive. Wendy, the owner, is a jewel of a hostess. She is so warm and friendly and filled with more information than I knew about the area. We would highly recommend this B&B


Beautiful respite

4,8 sur août 16, 2013

What a wonderful experience it was to stay in this elegant, lovely inn as we traveled to the Nissley Vineyard for a night of wine and music with friends. The Ascot House provided the perfect get-away from the road and allowed us to sleep in beauty and comfort in a gorgeous centuries old building. The gardens are soem of the most beautiful I have ever seen on private property. Wendy was the perfect hostess.


A charming home away from home

5 sur août 07, 2013

What a lovely treasure to discover. We were in the area for a wedding and the bride recommended the Ascot. It is a warm and charming home with a warm and lovely hostess. Wendy makes you fell like this is your home and you are her family. The rooms are large and well appointed with lovely pieces, antiques and photos. There is a large English garden in back with nice seating areas and a large variety of plants and herbs. I have already recommended to friends who visit that area on a more regular basis. If I'm in the area again, Wendy's in would be my first and only choice.


Wedding at Ascot House B&B

5 sur juillet 24, 2013

We had our wedding at Ascot House B&B and it beautiful! The owner, Wendy did a fantastic job making our wedding memorable. We also spent our wedding night here and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous! The food was very delicious, especially her cheesy scrambled eggs! We are so happy to have had our wedding at Ascot House B&B. Thank you again Wendy for everything we will definitely be back!


Wonderful B&B experience!

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

Wendy is a greatest hostess, very proper, warm and accomodating British lady. We bought a two night package for a family of 4 via Groupon. Due to personal reason, we had to reschedule the trip twice, finally we got a time slot on July 8-9. Ascot B&B does not accept children, and with a few email exchanges, Wendy agreed to admit my girls 12 and 14. After the stay, she hugged them and said "You could come any time, you're not children, you are young ladies". When we arrived, she told us we had the whole house to ourselves, because the cozy room adjacent to our reserved room was not occupied, Wendy said the girls could use it free of charge. The rooms were very clean, organized with a British flair. Delicious and generous breakfast was served on each day on Wedgewood chinaware with five choices of juice drinks, fresh fruit, blueberry muffin or apple turnover and either scrambled egg with bacon or waffle over strawberries, and of course coffee and tea. Our picky children were looking forward to breakfast because we know they will be pampered. Since we were the only guests at the time, we had Wendy with us the whole two mornings. At our request, she took the time to give us the history of Ascot B&B, to share her experiences running it, to hightlight the small town of Marietta and the vicinity (where to eat, what to do). We took up on her suggestion and they turned out to be all great. In all, we had a great time and promised the kids we will come back again. At first, I was apprehensive about coming to small town on a Monday-Tuesday for fear there is nothing to do. At the end we were glad, we did. We had quiet and relaxing moments at the house. In the morning, we had Wendy to ourselves to relish on her amusing stories all cutely told in a charming British accent. Our girls will remember the experience and the stories for life. Thank you Wendy for your hospitality and thoughtfulness. Overall, an unforgettable trip and wonderful B&B experience for the whole family!


Weekend Stay in Amish Country

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Ascot House. Wendy is fantastic and we will definitely be staying again!


Exceptional Welcoming Comfort!

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

Highly recommend this Inn to anyone. First real experience at a true B&B. Wendy and her staff went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. The Suffolk room was exceptional and quite comfortable. Totally enjoyed the jetted tub in the room to relax those feet after all the walking/shopping all over the Amish Country. Definitely going to make this trip again sometime soon!


Fantastic weekend!

5 sur juin 05, 2013

My husband and I scheduled a weekend at the Ascot House last weekend, for our 15th wedding anniversary. We found it on Groupon, and since Groupon is hit or miss, we absolutely pleasantly surprised as soon as we drove up. The house is beyond beautiful. The owner, Wendy was an absolute delight. We haven't had so much fun in awhile! We stayed in the Essex room. It has its own outside entrance through the beautiful English garden that you can tell Wendy spent much time and love creating and tirelessly tending. The room was immaculate. Warm, cozy and bright and airy. We opted for the 3pm "tea" on Saturday afternoon. The tea was fantastic. The food was plentiful, delish and home made. It was such a delight we cannot say enough about this beautiful place and innkeeper. Breakfasts were all fresh, homemade and Wendy took special effort to make sure we all were taken care of and satisfied. One f us being a vegetarian, she took special strides to make sure we had all we needed or could ask for. It was a sad morning when we checked out. I cannot wait to go back, and am already planning when we can get away again. Thanks so much for making a beautiful weekend for us and opening up your home!


Best Weekend Ever!!

5 sur mai 29, 2013

There is only one word that can sum up our stay at the Ascot Bed and Breakfast.....FANTASTIC!! I can not say enough about the service. Wendy, the Inn Keeper was super helpful and such a graceous host. We have stayed at a lot of Bed and Breakfast in the past, but nothing tops this one!!


More than just a B&B!!!

5 sur mai 28, 2013

Firstly, I have to compliment Wendy, the owner, on what a terrific job she's done preserving the history and charm of this 200+ year old home. She herself was probably the best part of the stay! My girlfriend and I felt immediately welcome in our beautiful "Norfolk" room, overlooking Main street. We just so happened to come down during "Marietta Day", where the whole town was out and about with their goodies and treasures to sell. Wendy is very knowledgable about all of the Winerys, restaraunts, and brewerys in the area. Her suggestions were awesome! I would absolutely love to visit again!


Great B&B

4,4 sur mai 22, 2013

The innkeeper is very sweet, house is well kept, and service is excellent.


Our Best Bed and Breakfast experience

5 sur mai 21, 2013

What a delight! The town of Marietta,Pa, the beautifully restored and decorated early 1800's bed and breakfast, and the most gracious hostess ,owner and operator- Wendy. Our experience was everything we had hoped for - and more. We certainly look forward to a return trip.


How many great things can I fit into one review?

5 sur mai 17, 2013

Ascot House B&B was the best we've stayed in! Wendy made our weekend even more outstanding! I wanted to stay somewhere special after picking up my love from his deployment and we were not disappointed. The only recommendation we would make is for everyone to pack a pair of earplugs. The trains made sleep fleeting at times but earplugs worked wonders. Everything from moment one made us feel very welcome. Wendy, we can't wait to get back!!!!! Kelsi & Mike


A truly outstanding stay

5 sur mai 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ascot House for two days and couldn't have been more pleased. The house was lovely and Wendy made sure that everything we needed was made available. You can't miss staying here. Highly recommend.


just as we had hoped for - a wonderful stay. you won't be disappointed!

5 sur avril 22, 2013

I have to say that all of the reviews I read were absolutely correct! Wendy was so helpful and accommodating, and the house is gorgeous. It really has to be seen in person to be fully appreciated. This was our first bed & breakfast stay, and it certainly set the bar high for anywhere else we ever stay! What a wonderful experience. Wendy also knows a lot about the area and has great recommendations for places to go and things to do. Thank you so much, Wendy! Paige & Matt


Lovely weekend

4,2 sur avril 17, 2013

Our children gave us a weekend at the Ascot House and we couldn't be more pleased with the gift. The innkeeper, Wendy, is delightful and a charming hostess with extensive knowledge of local restaurants and attractions. The house is clean with a variety of seating choices and the beds are very comfortable! The cheese and wine offered in the evening was a pleasant surprise and the breakfast room was lovely. An extra floor or table lamp in our room would not have been unwelcome. A perfect weekend for us!


Felt at home as soon as we arrived

5 sur avril 10, 2013

Wendy is so welcoming and friendly and makes you feel like she has know you forever. What a great and relaxing weekend!


Best B&B We've ever Stayed In

5 sur avril 06, 2013

The Ascott House is a beautifully restored home built in the early 1800's. We really appreciated all the little details that Wendy added to retain the charm and beauty of a colonial period home. The bedroom had a 4 post bed and the bathroom was formerly a bedroom and came complete with 2 person soaking tub, walk-in shower, double sinks and a working gas fireplace. Wendy's breakfasts were excellent and we spent several hours just talking about the house and sharing stories. We discovered the Ascott House through a coupon promotion, but will make it a regular stop on our travels south from our home in Maine. It was the best B&B we have ever been in!


The perfect weekend!

5 sur mars 29, 2013

I really don't know where to begin. The experience at Ascot House was perfect from beginning to end! Wendy attends to your every need. She is the quintessential hostess. She engages you in conversation and tells such great stories. Our room was perfect and the breakfasts.....oh the breakfasts! Too much delicious food! What a nice complaint! Wendy is full of information about what to do in the area. We tried lots of the local establishments and were not disappointed. The only disappointment was that the weekend came to an end and we had to rejoin reality!


A great place

5 sur mars 23, 2013

We had purchased two nights at the Ascot House from Groupon in August, 2011, just before my brother and his wide were to visit from Holland. We thought it would be a nice break on our way from Philly to State College. Well, the Ascot House was full that weekend so Wendy, the inn keeper, was gracious enough to allow us to use the Groupon at this much later date. So now we used our reservation to recharge after a busy week of travel and ahead of a conference in Philadelphia.What a fantastic place and what a great hostess. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate, but since there is so much to do in the area, we spend quite a bit of leisure time in nearby Lancaster County. Wendy is a joy. She welcomes you when you return, she spends time talking to the guests, serves a great breakfast, makes time for tea in the afternoon, and sherry bin the evening. The woman who helped out in the morning is also a real to have around, with just the right mixture of reserve, familiarity, and charm. We stayed in the Essex Suite, which is in the upstairs section in the back of this old house. There are balconies everywhere and the garden looks well maintained. The Essex room could use some upgrades (like more lighting options), but overall this was a wonderful stay and very much worth our money. And I did not even talk about our dinner at the nearby Accomac Inn. Don't miss that opportunity.

Réponse du propriétaire
Hi thanks for the review, noted your comments about lighting and immediately went out and bought another lamp! I am not sure what other upgrade you had in mind, but would appreciate your feedback. I usually ask guests if there is anything that I could do to improve their stay as I want the visit to be the best possible experience. Any other ideas ideas you have, please e-mail. thanks Wendy


A wonderful weekend getaway.

5 sur mars 20, 2013

We were the first to arrive on Friday and Wendy welcomed us in with open arms. We felt like family! Since we were the first in, we had time to talk and get to know Wendy. She is a charming and delightful lady and a great hostess. She knows all about the area and eateries. She told us of a WONDERFUL restaurant and was not wrong. The house was warm and cozy all weekend. Her staff is cheerful and friendly. Wendy bent over backwards to make us feel at home. I DEFINATELY will stay here again and again.

Réponse du propriétaire
So pleased everything pleased you, and I really appreciate your review. Wendy


Wonderful weekend away

5 sur mars 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for the weekend at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast. We had a wonderful time and Wendy was incredibly kind and helpful. Her knowledge about the area and things to do made finding activities and getting around very easy. We would definitely stay again.

Réponse du propriétaire
I shall look forward to seeing you again, thanks for the great review. Wendy


Exceptional Inn and Host

5 sur mars 12, 2013

We have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast Inns,but I feel the Ascot House was exceptional. Wendy,as a host, goes out of her way to make her guests comfortable. I would liken my stay to being with a favorite aunt.


One of our best B&B experiences ever

5 sur mars 07, 2013

Although we arrived prior to check-in, Wendy did not miss a beat. She invited us in and welcomed us with open arms, including our dog. That set the tone for the entire weekend. She escorted us to our lovely and spacious suite and showed us around her amazing home. After we were settled and had a short exploration of Marietta, we returned for the evening wine and cheese. What made it special was chatting with Wendy and hearing about the history of the town and the home that she renovated. We awoke to the first of two beautifully presented and delicious breakfasts. Afterwards she gave suggestions for a day trip which included interesting information about the area we were going to see. When we got back mid-afternoon, we found a wonderful Engish tea awaiting. She was a great hostess in that she was happy to sit down and chat with her guests if they wanted, or left them alone if that was what they preferred. Our last day found us having difficulty leaving as we not only had enjoyed our stay, but felt we had made a friend of our gracious hostess. Having stayed in many B&Bs around the world, we have to say that this was one of our best experiences ever. We are already trying to plan our return.


One word-Amazing

5 sur mars 03, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Ascot house and to say that we had a blast would be an understatement. The Ascot House is located in a very charming town, which is alive with history. The owner/inn keeper, Wendy, was as charming as the town. She actually cared about our experience and was extremely helpful every step away. We could have talked to her for hours and not run out of things to say. The rooms were amazing, with very cozy fire places. Oh! and how could I forget about the food. Please come with an appetite because you will definitely be leaving the Ascot House without one. I have told all my friends about this place and will definitely be coming back in the future. Well done Wendy and well done Ascot House!


Great place to stay and get away

5 sur février 22, 2013

My wife and I just recently stayed at the Ascot House. We had a wonderful time. You could not ask for any better service. The rooms are great and you are treated like family. Look forward to visiting again.


A Wonderful Escape

5 sur février 20, 2013

We visited this beautiful house for 2 nights in February for Valentine's Day. The accomodations are beautiful and extremely comfortable, combining the old with the new with fireplaces, modern bathrooms, beautiful beds and much more. The breakfasts consisted of 3 courses including freshly baked hot muffins and cakes, assorted fruit and juices, bacon and eggs, eggs benedict and more, all prepared by the award winning hostess and chef, Wendy. And while Wendy may have won awards for cooking, she should win an award for her hospitality, story telling and her genuine warmth. She loves what she does and it shows. We had friends visit us one night and they were welcomed as if they were guests. Can't say enough about what a great place it is and how wonderful Wendy was. Try it, you'll see for yourself.


Treasure in Marietta

5 sur février 19, 2013

Since my husband and I love traveling to beautiful places and staying at B&Bs, our family gave us a gift certificate for two nights at the Ascot House. We choose to use this gift in February for our anniversary. What a treat it was to stay in this beautifully restored B&B and to have Wendy Codd as our host. We were treated royally and dined with many interesting people. Even though we stayed during the week in the middle of winter, there was so much to see and do...thanks to the wealth of information from Wendy. We look forward to returning to the Ascot House in late spring to see its beautiful gardens and to learn more about the history of the Marietta area. The Ascot House is now our favorite B&B!


A Relaxing Weekend

5 sur février 09, 2013

I spent a snowy weekend in February at Ascot House with my two Golden Retrievers. The girls loved playing freely in the fenced garden while I enjoyed Wendy's hospitality inside. The food was absolutely delicious and tea each afternoon was a meal in itself. We felt so much at home during our stay that I booked a mid-week stay for early June. This was the best present I've ever given myself. Thank you again, Wendy! See you in June!


Perfect B&B host!

4,6 sur janvier 24, 2013

Wendy treated us like family. The house, bedroom, surroundings (esp. the yard), breakfast, pre-dinner snacks, conversation with host & other guests, topped off by Wendy's true desire to dog-sit our pup while we went to dinner made our one-night stay at this B&B memorable (and too short).


We plan to go again

5 sur janvier 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I just spent last weekend there in January. We stayed in the Norfolk room and loved every minute. This was her first bed and breakfast, our first together, and we enjoyed it so much we plan to return in the spring or summer. Even in the winter, Wendy the owner had tons of suggestions for us to do during the days, as well as dinner options for us at night. Breakfast was fantastic both days. Not only is Wendy the nicest woman we've ever met, she cooks unbelievably great. We would recommend Ascot House to anyone.


Spent a weekend at this gem of a property ...

5 sur janvier 09, 2013

Spent a weekend at this gem of a property with my daughter and mom before the hustle and bustle of the holiday season and was so impressed from the first phone call to inquire about availability to the final hug goodbye with promises to return in the summer to enjoy the beautiful gardens.


B & B that feels like home.

4,8 sur janvier 06, 2013

Having stayed in B&B's before, I was hesitant to do it again. I never felt comfortable in someone else's home. This was not the case at Ascot. Within the first minute of meeting Wendy I felt perfectly welcome and at home. The rooms offer total privacy and relaxation. The house was spectacular with the Christmas decorations and the breakfasts were wonderful. Wendy is a brillant hostess with a very good knowledge of the area. The location of this house is another plus. Not only is it in a quaint, quiet small town, but it is centrally located to so many great areas that it is impossible not to find something of interest for everyone. If you have any interest in B&B's, this one is a must see. You won't be disappointed.


Nourishing Christmas Holiday Weekend in the Country

5 sur décembre 26, 2012

My two friends and I decided we needed a break from our hectic lives in New York City and decided a weekend infusion of the Christmas holiday in Lancaster Co. just may do the trick. By chance we came upon the Ascot House B&B and from the get go the Spirit of Christmas Present was smiling favorably upon us. Situated one block from the meandering Susquehanna River, in the historically quaint and architecturally charming town of Marietta, the Ascot House is a shining gem. Built in 1801, the house has been meticulously restored, exquisitely decorated, and updated with modern conveniences by its owner, Wendy who hails from Ascot England. Upon arrival, she welcomed us with much charm, graciousness, ease, humor and a twinkle in her eye, in addition to glasses of sherry, the warmth of a fire in the hearth, and engaging conversations. During our stay, she was an enthusiastic resource of information, making terrific recommendations as to where to eat, places to go sightseeing, and where we could do some antiquing. Our room was immaculately beautiful, very large, with a fireplace, and full bathroom with Jacuzzi. The bottle of wine in our room was a lovely touch. And, the breakfasts were freshly prepared, tasty and delicious, and plentiful. We left feeling happy and refreshed because we were well taken care of … and we very much look forward to our return.


Incredible hospitality and comfort

5 sur décembre 12, 2012

My jaw dropped a little bit when we walked through the front door. As its the Christmas season, we were greeted by not only the friendly 'welcome' of the owner/operator Wendy, but by no less than three gorgeously decorated Christmas trees and other decorations. A hardwood fire awakened the senses as we lounged in the library and heard one of many stories Wendy would share that weekend. So many nooks and crannies to explore (and books!). Clean, luxurious rooms, excellent breakfast on wedgwood china, and just the right distance from Lancaster to avoid the hustle and bustle (only about 15 min). We got a Groupon rate but would have gladly paid full price for such an extraordinary stay.


Charming B & B

5 sur novembre 25, 2012

Knowing we like to visit the Amish Country, our children surprised us with a two night stay at Ascot House. Upon our arrival, Wendy, our hostess greeted us at the door and gave us a very warm welcome. Right then I knew we were at a great place. After showing us all around, we went to our large, beautifully decorated room. Wendy was full of knowledge and helped us alot with where to eat that night..to where is best attractions were.. Breakfast was set up beautifully and was delicious! Looking forward to going back!! Thanks for a great relaxing time Wendy!


Best B & B I've Visited So Far!

5 sur novembre 18, 2012

The service was outstanding. The host was a breath of fresh air. The room, service, and food was excellent. I would stay there again and recommend this to anyone.


Great Experience

4,6 sur novembre 18, 2012

November 13-14, 2012. Rooms are extremely spacious and nicely decorated. Wendy, the owner and host, is very engaging and made our stay even more special. The breakfast was superb.


Our first B & B!

5 sur novembre 15, 2012

We planned a girl's weekend away from Central New York in Amish country, not knowing what a gem we were going to experience! From the moment I booked our stay, everything was perfect. Meeting Wendy Codd was our first 5 star rating. She was more than accommodating to make our party of 4 comfortable. She was informative about everything including where to go for dinner, shop and visit. The rooms are fabulous, including any amenity we might possibly need (including q-tips)! The breakfasts were heavenly, homemade and plentiful. The house itself is absolutely gorgeous, including the lovely gardens in back that would be perfect for a small wedding or celebration. Our second night we chose to spend at the house, sipping wine with Wendy and listening to her life stories. That was possibly the best part of our trip! We are already planning many future adventures in Marietta, Pennsylvania!


Magnificent tea!

5 sur novembre 15, 2012

Ascot House is an absolutely lovely B&B. Wendy, our host, was very charming and served the most wonderful tea upon our arrival. We were very comfortable from the first moment. I had my large Lab with me and Wendy checked with each guest about their comfort level with dogs, luckily Boz was able to have the run of the garden and even was allowed in the main house except during breakfast. I can not imagine anything that could have made our stay better!


Top Notch!

5 sur novembre 13, 2012

Everything was wonderful. Easy parking. Beautiful house. Big, comfortable room. Wendy was most accommodating and a pleasure to talk with and made delicious breakfasts. Looking forward to going back. Plenty to do in the area, and I will feel like I am going back to visit a friend.


Unique Bed & Breakfast....looking forward to next time!

5 sur novembre 07, 2012

Great experience! we enjoyed it tremendously...this was a first time for us together and found the host, Wendy, a true jewel. The breakfast each day was outstanding and the atomosphere...great! We will definitely come back here when we are in the area!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

5 sur novembre 02, 2012

I have only good things to say about our stay in the Ascot house, the house is beautiful and Wendy the owner is an amazing host. I would love to come back and stay again sometime.


Inviting, charming, and comfortable!

5 sur octobre 30, 2012

We were looking for a get-away close to home where we could enjoy the fall colors. We found Ascot House on groupon.com offering a discounted rate for an overnight stay. We were very pleased with our accommodations, and the owner is a lovely lady who is extremely interesting and hospitable! It was a delightful stay - just not long enough!!


Charming historic home with equally charming inkeeper.

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

Wendy is a wonderful inkeeper with lots of personal touch. We were fortunate to be her only guests and were treated with exceptional hospitality. Our breakfast was the best we have ever experienced at a Bed and Breakfast. Wendy is very knowlegeable about the area and pointed us to a great Antique Warehouse where we found some treasured items at very reasonable prices. I particularly enjoyed my walk about town observing wonderful old homes with so much history.


First Experience at a Bed and Breakfast

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

The Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in Marietta, PA. was a wonderful first time experience for me. From the moment we entered the historic home until our departure, my girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wendy, the hostess and proprietor, was very personable and made us feel very comfortable. We stayed in the "Surrey". The bedroom and extra large bathroom, with hot tub, shower, and two sinks was very well maintained and stocked with plently of towels. The Ascot House and grounds are also very well maintained and beautiful. In the morning we were seated in the nicely furnished dining room and treated to a great breakfast with friendly and warm service. The food was well prepared and delicious. The only negative being that we only stayed one night for our 4 hour drive, but that was my fault. We'll be seeing the Ascot and Wendy again. Wendy, thank you again for everything.


Great 1st Time Experience at a B&B

5 sur octobre 16, 2012

This is our first stay at a B&B. It was a gift from our daughters for our anniversary. Wendy welcomed us into her "home" as if we had known her for many years. She is a gracious host and shares her knowledge of the area. We stayed in the Essex Suite that has its own entrance in the rear and looks just like the photo. We would definitely stay here again.


A girls get a way.

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2012

Wendy was very welcoming right from the start. She helped us plan our days in Amish country where we had never visited. Even had a glass of wine with us on our arrival. Everything was very nice but would suggest throwing away the used bars of soap that were in the decoration with the washcloths! Very comfortable bed and accomadtions! The area didnt look to welcoming on our drive in but she assured us we could walk around at night without any worries. We did walk to a local public house for dinner and was never concerned about our safety being two ladies out at night. Saw a couple of others who were staying at our B & B there as well! Would stay again!


Lovely B& B

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely getaway weekend in Lancaster, Co and loved staying at the Ascot House. Wendy was warm, helpful and accommodating in every way. A bottle of wine greeted us in the room and the fireplace in the bedroom was perfect for escaping the cold, Autumn day. The house is beautiful and historic, expertly designed and maintained. We plan on going back again.


Charming B&B

5 sur octobre 07, 2012

The most interesting and beautifully decorated home with lavish gardens and porches to relax. Wendy truely, takes time to welcome you into her home and provide each guest with whatever they have come to the area to enjoy. We look forward to visiting again! Lenny and Pat


All That a B&B Should Be--and Then Some

4,8 sur octobre 07, 2012

We had a lovely time in this beautiful 200-year-old home. Note that it is a “home,” not just a “house,” because the owner, Wendy, makes it feel so comfortable and welcoming. She has done a wonderful job of remodeling the original house without losing its character (and it has quite a history). She has thought of everything—from sumptuous breakfasts in the morning to a “welcome back” when you return from a day of exploring Amish country. Yes, there’s a train track nearby and there are some steps to climb, but you really won’t care!


The Perfect Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

This was a fabulous bed and breakfast with an exceptional hostess, Wendy, who has an unique ability to make you feel as if you have known her your entire life! The house was beautiful and spacious. The rooms were lovely and clean. The breakfast was tastefully presented with lots of variety and absolutely delicious! Wendy gave us great advice on restaurants in the area and places to visit. Our weekend was everything I hoped it to be. Thank you, Wendy, for everything. Hope to see you again soon! Suzanne


Hated to leave

4,8 sur septembre 16, 2012

Visiting Wendy's Codd's Ascot B & B was a treat indeed! We started our visit with an afternoon tea, an indugence you might consider adding to your own visit, so worth the extra cost. The food was beyond wonderful and just a hint of the best breakfasts waiting for us each morning of our stay. Wendy truly makes you feel like the most welcome part of your family, a long lost relative whom she has been waiting all her life to meet. The rooms are spacious, with all the comforts of home. Hope we can get back again soon.


Great getaway

5 sur septembre 15, 2012

As soon as we walked into the door we felt like we were at our cousins home.. Wendy couldn't have been more like family.. The nearby train brought back memories from mine and my wifes youth.. The rooms were very clean and neat and homey.. Thanks Wendy from Jim & Delma


Fine Hospitality

4,6 sur août 17, 2012

Huge breakfast - you won't leave hungry to start your day. Large cozy rooms. Wendy is a lovely hostess. Occasional train nose heard during the night if you are a light sleeper. Would return without a second thought!


Best B&B I've ever stayed in!

5 sur août 09, 2012

From the moment you walk through the door, and welcomed by Wendy, you feel like you're home. I liken it visiting a relative you haven't seen in a while and you're very happy to be in the company of both the relative and the house they live in. The accommodations are top notch and the hospitality is very warm and heartfelt. Highly recommend staying here if you're in this part of Pennsylvania, regardless of what you might have planned. You'll be more than happy to just hang out in one of the sitting rooms and enjoy the welcoming atmosphere. Definitely returning again soon!!


Sister's Getaway 7/21/12

5 sur juillet 27, 2012

This was my first experience staying at a B&B. From the moment we walked in the front door, Wendy Codd made us feel like family. The rooms are spacious, the grounds are beautiful, the food was amazing and Wendy is a delightful hostess. We are planning a trip back and are taking our husband's with us!


Our 11th Wedding Anniversary, 5/26/2012

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

We arrived at the Ascot House as guests, and left feeling like family. Mrs. Wendy Codd made every moment warm and welcoming; she has the gift of knowing & providing just the right amount of attention you wish. The breakfast was abundant and delicious. Staying in the Bedford Suite was a dream - more spacious, beautiful & affordable than a certain historic hotel in the land of Chocolate just 45 min north. What fantastic conversations we had with our hostess and other guests! Had a fab time visiting local wineries, restaurants, shops, & found great spot to kayak too! Planning to make this an annual destination, if not more often!


Wonderful Stay with Wendy

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Ascot House in early July. The house is wonderful, lots of nooks and cranies to explore. A beautiful garden, comfortable furniture. Our bed was perfect for a great night's sleep. You cannot ask for a better host than Wendy. She was fun to talk to, a great cook, and listened to all our stories and had fabulous ones of her own. Plus, we got to see wonderful fireworks in Marietta, and found an Irish bar that pulls a great black & tan. We very much enjoyed our time with Wendy. And being Disney fans, it was not lost on us, that she is English, was married to Peter, and her last name is Codd (Hook being a codfish, you know), so we had a great story for the grandkids when we got back. You really can't beat the Ascot House.


Lovely B&B - and dog friendly

4,4 sur juillet 01, 2012

My wife, beagle, and I had a great time at Ascot House. The house and yard are fantastic and the owner Wendy is both informative and friendly. She definitely makes you feel at home...and what a home! Highly recommended, particularly for those traveling with their dogs (if you can get one of the rooms in which they're allowed). The yard is securely closed off for all but the smallest of dogs, and it is possible for these points of egress to be closed as well with a well placed obstacle near one of the fence doors. Would definitely go back.


A Wonderful Place

5 sur juin 02, 2012

Just a wonderful innkeeper operating a wonderful inn. When my wife and I want to 'run away' for awhile, we go see Wendy. Very, very nice!


What a lovey weekend!

5 sur avril 30, 2012

I have returned to the workforce refresed and ready for the week! Wendy Codd is the English proprietor of Ascot House who welcomed me on Friday with the perfect assortment of hors d'oeuvres and beverages. My accommodations were spacious and luxurious, the service was outstanding, and the town of Marietta was just what I was looking for. I was not about to leave this B&B without making reservations to come back at Christmas time! I can't wait!


Great Stay

5 sur avril 27, 2012

This B&B is perfectly charming, and so is the Innkeep! Would definitely stay here again.


Amazing Home and Hospitality!

5 sur février 22, 2012

This huge gorgeous historic house is amazing! It is grand and yet welcoming at the same time. The rooms are elegant and romanti, spotless and with every amenity. The bathrooms are luxurious and pampering to the guests. The food was delicious, hot and cooked to perfection. The serice was 5 star. Mrs. Codd, the innkeeper, is warm, friendly, knowledablel, and so enjoyable! This B&B is in the heart of Lancaster County, PA. There was so much to do and see there we're already planning our next stay. Ascot House is the perfect distance from the Baltimore / Washington D.C. area for a get away. If you can possibly stay here, DO: you will LOVE IT!


back for the third time

5 sur juin 08, 2009

We just spent our third visit at the Ascot House. Just as lovely as we rembered, and the hospitality is just wonderful. we have decided to work our way through the house enjoying each of the rooms in turn. we have now enjoyed staying in three rooms, each one just wonderful, cant wait to go back for our 4th visit in December. Maggie & Chuck


Wonderful weekend

5 sur mai 04, 2009

My husband and I just celebrated out 20th wedding anniversary at the Ascot House. It was fantastic! I cannot wait to go back and stay there again. We are already planning our next anniversary to be at this wonderful B & B.


Just what we needed

5 sur octobre 27, 2008

Excellent all around. All I can do is echo what the other folks are saying here. Wendy is an amazing host. We are looking forward to staying again.


Elegant and Comfortable, Best B&B / Inn stay ever!

5 sur octobre 01, 2008

Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in historic Marietta PA is OUTSTANDING!! We had the best experience ever and have already booked to go back in December for the Candlelight House Tour! Ascot House was featured on the tour last year I think , and this year the English garden will be on the tour. The gorgeous home is so elegant and yet comfortable. Utterly romantic getaway! Parking is easy right in front. After check in we shared wine and cheese with our hostess. Mrs. Codd is the quintessential hostess - personable, available, anticipated our ever desire, and ensured our comfort. Her cooking is amazing! WOW! Worth the trip just for the food. Speaking of food there was a great French restaurant just walking distance from Ascot House. It's a great stroll. Our room was huge and comfortable and had a lovely 4 poster bed and an enormous brand new jacuzzi tub bathroom complete with fireplaces. Every room we saw was gorgeous, so you can't go wrong. This is by far the best B&B we've experienced in the USA or abroad. Everything was "Just Right", Elegant, Relaxing, and Comfortable. We were central to so much and yet felt so cocooned. I thoroughly recommend this B&B to you, even if you've never stayed in a B&B. Ascot House is great for Business travel, or for a vacation or getaway. It's even pet friendly! We're going to be regulars!


The perfect place for a getaway

5 sur mars 15, 2008

From the second my boyfriend and I walked in the door, we were treated not only like royalty, but as if the place was ours. From beginning to end, everything was incredible. Our suite was clean and fresh, the food was INCREDIBLE (I think I gained weight over two days), and Wendy had a lot of suggestions for interesting things to do both in Marietta and the surrounding area.


Ascot House -- Perhaps The Best B & B Ever

5 sur janvier 30, 2008

I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts throughout Europe and the United States and, without a doubt, the Ascot House must be placed at the top of the list. I recently stayed there for four days in a VERY large room with Queen bed that had an even larger bathroom (with a two person whirlpool and a working fireplace). The place is spotless throughout, and guests are treated to nice little extras like Gilchrist and Soames toiletries, bathrobes, and afternoon tea (or a glass or two of wine if desired). The common areas are equally spectacular -- from the large comfortable sitting room to the beautiful dining room. And, there will soon be a new wine cellar that looks to be a real show-stopper. Weather precluded a walk through the gardens outside, but they would appear to be like everything else at Ascot House -- without compare. Breakfasts were delicious and, like my travels in Ireland, entirely removed the need for lunch. During my time there, we were served Eggs Benedict, Cheese Scrambled Eggs and Hash Browns, Pancakes, ample fruit plates and (don't forget to ask for these) some of the best sticky buns I've ever had. Also, many of the jams and jellies are homemade. Finally, any review of this B and B would be a disservice if it did not make mention of our Hostess, Wendy. A delightful English woman, she is so warm, friendly and inviting that, in a matter of minutes, one feels as though they have known her for years. I cannot recommend Ascot House more highly!!!


GREAT FIND

5 sur août 31, 2007

My husband found this place on a website. What an unexpected find. Ms Wendy is a fabulous hostess. (Good cook, too). I would go again just to sit and talk to her. But, she has a wealth of info for anything you would like to do in the area. If she doesn't, she will do her best to find the info for you on a specific place or activity. We would definitely stay there again. She let us park our motorcycles in the back so we didn't have to worry about them. Next time I will bring my dog. She doesn't mind them (as long as they are not barkers).


A romantic weekend

5 sur août 07, 2007

My wife and I spent a romantic weekend at Wendy Codd's terrific B&B recently. She is a marvelous host and made us feel more welcome than any other B&B owner ever has before. Our room had an enormous bathroom complete with a "bubble tub" and separate shower. When we arrived, Wendy served us a selection of amazing cheeses along with a glass of wine. We then left for dinner at Josephine's (a recommendation of Wendy's). Our meal was outstanding and we plan on returning another time. After a comfortable night's sleep, we were treated to a huge breakfast and delightful conversation from our host. Thanks Wendy for making our joint birthday weekend so special!


Wonderful place

5 sur août 06, 2007

I can't say enough nice things about the Ascot house. The place is beautiful, the food amazing and Wendy, your host, will make you feel like you belong there. Restful, peaceful place!


Great B&B

5 sur juin 18, 2007

We had booked the house for the whole weekend for my son's third b'day. We had a great time. Wendy went out of the way to make our stay enjoyable. She loves dogs that helped since we had pets with us. It was beautiful house and everything was just perfect. We will definately go again.


Wow!

5 sur mai 16, 2007

I have stayed at B & B's around the world and this was the best overall experience I have ever had, customer service, attention to detail, charm and value and an innkeeper who gives new meaning to the word "class".


A Wonderful Getaway Weekend at Ascot House!

5 sur mai 15, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend get-away last week at Ascot House. The recently-renovated and decorated house has an interesting history and is beautiful, elegant, and comfortable but it was our charming hostess, Wendy Codd, who made our visit so delightful. Warm and gracious, she made us feel so welcome and at ease in her home from the minute we arrived. We slept in a wonderfully comfortable bed in our spacious, bright room with even larger bathroom. We enjoyed a hearty, delicious breakfast in one of the prettiest dining rooms I've seen, complete with fresh roses on the table and a fire in the fireplace - just perfect on the chilly mornings we had during our visit there. Wendy's exceptional hospitality and her delight in sharing her lovely home with her guests shows in every detail; from the several homemade jams she makes herself and serves at her sumptuous breakfast to the grand English tea she treated us to in the afternoon. Wendy was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area, assisting us and offering helpful suggestions with our sightseeing in charming Marietta, our excursions into the surrounding beautiful farmland and making (practically unnecessary!) reservations at local restaurants. We so much enjoyed our conversations with Wendy and her delightful, fascinating stories but she is also thoughtful and considerate of guests who want quiet and privacy - a perfect hostess. We felt pampered all weekend! What a gem we've found in Ascot House - we'll hurry back as soon as we can!


Two day stay

4,6 sur mai 11, 2007

Due to reconstruction, the bathroom had some dust in the shower area, but we found the stay delightful, the breakfast was fabulous and the innkeeper a real jewel!


A heavenly get-a-way

5 sur mai 07, 2007

The moment my husband and I arrived at Ascot House we were treated like royalty! Wendy Codd the proprietress is an absolute delight, and nothing was too much trouble. Every room is so tastefully decorated in period yet comfortable and spacious. The food was so temptingly delicious from afternoon tea on the deck with silver service, to a full British breakfast served in the magnificent dining room. If you haven't discovered this gem of a Bed and Breakfast you are missing out. We are planning our next "weekend escape to heaven", and it will be very soon!


A Lovely Visit

5 sur avril 25, 2007

We spent two nights at Ascot House. It was by far our most pleasant visit to a B&B. It is beautiful and comfortable. But the best of all is Innkeeper Wendy Codd. She did everything that made our stay so fun. I spent a day there while my husband attended a conference. It was truly a pleasant day.


Wonderful Wedding Weekend!!

5 sur avril 23, 2007

Wow, that is about the best way to start! What a wonderful home! It is just beautiful! Wendy really makes you feel at home and part of her family. The food is outstanding and the service even better. Wendy puts her heart and soul into this B&B and it shows, it is the best around. We had a beautiful setting for our small wedding in her garden. She went above and beyond or my wife and I. It was just wonderful. We will be back for weekend get a ways, anniversaries, and just to say Hello. We have and will recommend to everyone! Thanks Again Wendy, you personally helped make our weekend more memorable.


Highly Recommended

5 sur mars 19, 2007

Wendy is a fascinating woman and a gracious, generous host. Though we only stayed one night (and were practically snowed in), we enjoyed our stay at the Ascot House immensely. One hardly needs to leave for meals as Wendy provides a full tea upon arrival, wine and cheese in the evening and a full-course breakfast in the morning with offers of dinner, if you'd like. Meals were wonderful and the rooms and bathrooms are huge and very clean. It is obvious that Wendy absolutely loves running the Ascot House and we would recommend her establishment to anyone looking for something more in accommodations in the Lancaster area.


Best B&B Experience EVER!

5 sur février 23, 2007

Ascot House B&B in Marietta PA is the BEST B&B we've ever experienced. The building is gorgeous and elegant. Bedrooms are huge, comfy, beautifully decorated, and romantic.The Bathrooms are enormous, have jacuzzi tubs, and are outfitted with true English toiletries and really soft robes and towels. The Innkeeper "made" our stay; she's warm, helpful, and a fabulous cook. The tea and the breakfast were the best we've had - we're going back again as soon as we can!


Ascot House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $145 - $205
  • Avis (119) 4,9
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7174262518

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut