Bancroft Manor Bed & Breakfast, Inc. Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
58 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A GREAT STAY

5 sur juin 29, 2014

Bancroft Manor is a great b&b. it is clean, friendly, relaxing and affordable. we spent many hours on the front porch which proved to be an added benefit of staying here. it is within walking distance of the town making that another plus.


bed and dinner deal

4,4 sur avril 08, 2014

lovely and comfortable room. If available get the package room and dinner, meal was very well prepared and the wait staff is excellent.


Excelent Location and nostalgia

4,6 sur mars 29, 2014

Great location in town with excellent service and atmosphere from the past. The place is spotless and a lot of the antiquities are quite wonderful. Mike was an excellent host and very knowledgeable about the Brandy-wine region. Would stay there again and hopefully a little longer. Thanks for a great job.


Perfect Girls Getaway'

5 sur mars 04, 2014

We spent an amazing girls getaway weekend at the Bancroft. We had three of the four very comfortable, absolutely clean rooms. The decor is comfortably old-fashioned, sturdy and attractive but not at all fussy. The beds are amazingly comfortable, the rooms easy to adjust to your preferred temperature with space heaters or air conditioning. The innkeeper Mike was welcoming and helpful, not at all obtrusive, and was so thoughtful. He even made us brownies! We had a lovely evening enjoying the local restraint the Half Moon, and conversation in the sitting room by the fire. A super positive experience for our first time bed and breakfast attendees!


Kennett Square

3,0 sur décembre 22, 2013

The B&B was cold, including our room, despite having a space heater.

Réponse du propriétaire
As the resident owner and innkeeper. I always have encouraged my guest to let me know if they are uncomfortable, unhappy, and/or need anything and at any time while staying at the B&B. I make myself available at all times and if I cannot be reached directly at any moment then I tell my guests that I can then be reached by cell phone and that number is posted on the information sheet in each of the rooms. I also have guezt review sheets in each of the rooms and I have not found any consistent with this review nor any comments indicating a problem with the temperature within any rooms or areas of the house. Nor are the ratings for the other areas on this review consistent - only a comment was made on this review about the B&B being "cold". I certainly would have first made amends with this guest prior to finding this post. Thank you.


Great weekend at Bancroft

4,6 sur décembre 10, 2013

Mike is a most gracious host and made us very comfortable. Longwood Gardens a must!


Great Stay

5 sur décembre 04, 2013

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful night away in the mushroom capital of the world! Mike was very hospitable and the breakfast was great. Really got a chance to unplug and return refreshed.


Okay B&B

2,6 sur novembre 15, 2013

First off, the Innkeeper, Mike, is a very nice person and very personable and so are his associates. But the B&B is in decline due to the operation of this beautiful place, Cheap, Cheap and Cheap sum it up. First red flag, the Innkeeper does not want to pay the credit card fees, so it is operated as an all cash business, credit cards are seriously discouraged. Second, it was a hot weekend, and although there was air conditioning, you have no control over the temperature setting, thankfully there was an overhead fan in the room. Lastly, half of a B&B, is the Breakfast, which were sorely lacking in choices, I believe in order to control the food costs. In my opinion, the use of egg quiche (day 1) and french toast (day 2) allowed all 6 of us to be fed for about $20 the first day, which did include orange juice, and for about $10, the second day, only hot tea. Have read reviews of the other B&B just up the road, and they describe the Breakfasts as gourmet, that's where I will be staying next time!!

Réponse du propriétaire
First, all guests do have the option to first pay by credit card which is how I price my rates. I have not had a rate increase in nearly four years. If the guests so chooses to pay the balance on the room(s) by cash or check at the time of check in, I offer a $15 discount (plus 9% tax) on their second night of stay. This is approximately a 10% savings and that correclates to a savings passed on directly to the guest. I am unsure how it was determine that "the place is in decline." Next, I make it very clear to all my guests that they must let me know when they are uncomfortable, unhappy, and/or in need of something. All my A/C units work very well and they are also set to 70 degrees (the units are near the 9' celings and that would make it cooler below). This posting showed up on 11/15/13 and I really wonder what "hot weekend" this guest is referring to. I really wished I had found about this much sooner and not during this much cooler time of year. Finally, how $20 for breakfast is derived I am unsure. Often, I purchase items from a local dairy, meat from a local butcher, fresh baked bread from a bakery, and also produce from local farms and produce markets and all for a higher price but better and fresher quality. Besides, there is much effort and care in time for shopping and preparation of breakfasts at the B&B. And, always served for breakfast is the finest in coffee and teas, according to the guests' wishes. And, I do not recollect ever serving six guests hot tea. I only wish I know in person of such displeasure and not find out such things months later.


Repeat Visiters

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

We have stayed with Mike twice now. He hasn't led us astray yet. Whether it is food, events or a place to spend the day he has hit a home run each time. We love the Kennett Square Area and visit every year but he keeps recommending new stuff for us to do.


Kennett Square Mushroom Festival Stay

2,4 sur septembre 23, 2013

Private bedrooms are OK, though not all have en suite bathrooms. The public rooms were very stuffy as air conditioning and ceiling fans are kept off unless specially requested to be on (this also included AC in the bedrooms) . A three night stay found repetitions at breakfast and the overall meal was below average. Off breakfast hour snacks and amenities were minimal and well below my experience at other B&Bs. Location is quiet and extremely convenient, walking distance to most shopping, dining and area attractions. The host-owner (Mike) was very nice and considerate, but has a full time day job, so he was frequently not available and relied upon his part time help or friends for assistance with the operation.

Réponse du propriétaire
This B&B has one two-bedroom suite and it has a Jack-and-Jill bathroom ensuite. The second bedroom has an en-suite bathroom. And, only the third bedroom does not have an en-suite bathroom - it is located directly next to and back in from the main hall. There are plans to convert this to an en-suire bathroom. The A/C unit is periodically turned on during "hotter" times via a thermostat and if I know anyone ever to feel uncomfortable then I will make it right. I am an easy person to get along and my guests' comforts are of utmost importance. I always tell my guests that if they are uncomfortable, unhappy, or need something to tell me directly or just call me/text me via my cell (business) phone. There is never any repetition of what is served for breakfast. Every day something else is served. Therefore, I am unclear about this statement because no specifics had been provided by this guest. Yes, I do have a full time job, however during the time of this guest's stay I had a innkeeper/helper who prepared and served breakfasts, able to assist the guest, and cleaned and made up the room. As a B&B operator I have always relied on help. I almost always am available for check-in and I this is also my home so I am always here in the evenings too and overnight, and early mornings. I am also here every weekend while I have guests, mornings, evenings, and nights.


A real gem in Kennett Square

5 sur septembre 10, 2013

We have stayed at Bancroft Manor twice. This Edwardian house is a delightful place to spend the weekend. It is super clean, well-maintained, and cheerfully decorated. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms spacious. The friendly innkeeper, Mike, is very attentive to his guests' needs. The breakfasts were not heavy, and quite delicious. The proximity of the B&B to Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, and other area attractions is excellent. The house is located on a quiet street with plenty of curbside parking.


A very nice place to stay

4,2 sur août 25, 2013

Very comfortable beds and a very accommodating host. A unique home that made you feel at home.


Great weekend of 9-11 AUG 2013

5 sur août 14, 2013

Would highly recommend the Bancroft Manor B & B if you're traveling to the Brandywine area. Mike made me and my husband feel right at home for my husband's birthday weekend and the homemade breakfasts were nutritionally balanced, generous, and most importantly, delicious! Gina is a great cook and keeps the place neat and tidy. Bancroft Manor is within a reasonable walking distance to several great restaurants, shops, a great ice cream shop, and the library. Northbrook Canoe Company is just down the road not even 30 minutes away. Most importantly, we had a nice QUIET stay, which is what we needed to decompress from the craziness of DC. Great place for child-free couples for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Amish Room, which was very nice and had a neato sun porch. We'll definitely be coming back again. :-)


Great Service, Fascinating and comfortable house

4,2 sur août 03, 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed at Bancroft Manor for 2 nights. We had planned to arrive at mid-to late afternoon, and he carefully arranged for someone to meet us. She was helpful and informative, and we spent the remainder of the afternoon in the comfortable living room reading and catching up email. The bedroom was very comfortable; we had arranged to have a single bed added to the room because my mother doesn't like to share beds. This was fortunate: the king bed in the room was too high for her to climb into. Unfortunately, also, the addition of the single meant that there was no room for a comfortable chair, but we adapted, and the lower bed for my mom, which was no casual roll away bed, but a full on single bed with a terrific mattress, meant that she was safer getting up in the night, and she didn't have to wake me to help her. Michael's assistant is chatty and fun, and a good cook. The meals were tasty, made to order, and sufficient, without over doing the amounts; I'm allergic to oranges, and she found a different kind of juice for me.


Sisters' Weekend

4,6 sur juillet 09, 2013

Michael and Gina both went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. We would highly recommend Bancroft Manor to anyone visiting the Kennet Square, PA area.


Late June Stay

3,8 sur juillet 08, 2013

Mike is very pleasant & helpful, with advice & local details. The front porch is ideal for rocking & relaxing, with a nice breeze. It is very "home-y". The other guests were an unexpected bonus: charming, educated people. The location is handy to the downtown restaurants (excellent!) and to both Longwood Gardens & Winterthur.


Great Place-Great Service!

4,8 sur juillet 02, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Bancroft. Mike is a very gracious and accommodating innkeeper. The rooms, service, the location-the entire experience was wonderful. We expect that we will return when we come back in the area for a trip. Well done, Mike!


Bancroft manor

4,2 sur juin 22, 2013

Very clean. Staff extremely helpful. Would have liked to have more homemade dishes for breakfast.


Home like stay in Kennett Square

3,4 sur juin 12, 2013

The host at Bancroft Manor B&B is really what makes this place stand out from the rest. He is friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The house is located within walking distance of restaurants and shops. I would definitely stay there again if traveling to this area.


Very Please!

4,6 sur juin 06, 2013

Mike was very friendly and gave us lots of information about the surrounding area, and things to do and see. The proximity to Longwood Gardens was good. Breakfast on the covered porch the next morning was the perfect setting. The homemade muffin, yogurt/fruit/granola parfait, and portabello egg dish were so delicious that I ate far too much!


my impressions

4,2 sur mai 13, 2013

Room size and bed are good. Breakfast is adequate, staff is pleasant.


Impressed with their hospitality

5 sur avril 06, 2013

The owner kindly responded to my inquiry about the local transportion in advance. Even though my arrival at the airport was almost midnight, I was able to take a shattle bus to the place without any trouble, thanks to him.


Bancroft B&B in Kennett Square

4,4 sur janvier 31, 2013

Stayed on a weeknight for a dining event at Talula's Table. Mike, the inn keeper was very knowledgeable of area, very friendly, and extremely accommodating. HIghly recommend.


Bancroft Manor B&B

5 sur janvier 17, 2013

We visit my numerous family in Kennett Square several times a year and over the years have tried several local hostelries. Now, however, we always stay at Bancroft Manor because we are always happy there. Mike Snyder has made Bancroft Manor our home away from home. We love the convenient location to the whole Brandywine valley; we love the woodwork and antique furniture in the fine old house; we love meeting interesting people around the family-style breakfast table; and, most of all, we love Mike's friendliness, consideration, and desire to please. On this most recent visit over the holidays, we even found a bag of homemade cookies on our bedroom doorknob -- such a kind gesture. Bancroft Manor is highly recommended by this couple!


Needs help

2,0 sur janvier 06, 2013

The house was pretty but accommodations were less than adequate. I'm not sure how this particular place has received good reviews; something has clearly changed in the last year. There was a name mentioned in the room books not present so potentially one owner is gone now. Kitchen was dirty when we went in for glasses. The breakfast was more than just underwhelming; it was inadequate and areas such as old cookies and spoiled milk were frightening. It is not economically priced in any way to justify offering benefit of the doubt. Owner seemed completely unprepared despite us being only two guests in entire house.


Pleasant Stay in Kennett Square

3,4 sur janvier 02, 2013

Recently stayed at Bancroft for an overnight visit to Longwood Gardens and Kennett Square. Bancroft Manor is 1 of 2 B&Bs in Kennett Square. We only wanted to stay for a Saturday Night - the other B&B did not allow this. For a nominal upcharge, Bancroft allowed us to stay for Saturday only. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and if we are to come back to the Gardens in the spring, we would stay at Bancroft again. Pro's - Service - Mike the innkeeper is excellent. He allowed us to check in early, gave us suggestions for downtown Kennett Square, offered discounted tickets to Longwood Gardens (50% savings) and had numerous coupons at the inn. Location - 5 minute drive to Longwood Gardens. 3 block walk to downtown Kennett Square which is a great town with shops and restaurants. Inn - very clean. This is a very old house with lovely antiques. Snacks - Mike had delicious brownies, coffee and tea available at all times. Cons- Breakfast - we have stayed at 100's of B&Bs - from gourmet 5 course breakfast to continental in the room. The breakfast at Bancroft was average at best. It consisted of fresh fruit (the plus), and muffins heated in the microwave. The quiche was not very good and it certainly didn't feel like homeade. HOWEVER - if you are planning on a trip to Longwood Gardens and service is important, I would recommend the Bancroft Manor.


Fantastic in every way possible

4,6 sur novembre 16, 2012

The rooms are clean, the house is extremely well kept. There are no broken doors or floors, the bathrooms are perfectly clean. Mike throws in some awesome touches that make you feel at home. I really enjoyed the yogurt he left for me at night, this really hit the spot right before bed. The banana muffins he left for me in the morning seemed home made to me, i have never had a better banana muffin in my life! It's just a few blocks away from the center of town, no need to drive for food or drink. There is no doubt I will stay here again.


Great!

5 sur novembre 08, 2012

The room was cozy and warm...it was an especially cold ,dreary weekend and this B & B made the weekend nice....food was good and fresh!


Great Value and Innkeeper

4,2 sur octobre 23, 2012

Great night's stay; wonderful breakfast; friendly Innkeeper; easy walk to restaurants and shops. Super value.


Top Notch Stay

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

I had a wonderful visit. Our host, Mike, was fabulous. He was very accommodating and even baked brownies for our ride home! Will definitely plan on staying there again.


Lovely!!

5 sur octobre 17, 2012

We really felt at home. Mike made sure to making us feel relaxed and free to move around the Manor. We felt the warmth of a real home. We loved the experience!


Great stay at Bancroft Manor B&B

5 sur octobre 16, 2012

Wonderful B&B located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Our room was quite clean and comfortable and breakfast was very good. Charming house and very friendly owner...hope to return again soon!


Mike made the weekend special

5 sur octobre 01, 2012

We enjoyed Mike's stories, his familiarity with the area. He went out of his way to give us discount coupons for events and the wineries. He is also a great ambassador for the whole region. We will be back!


Don't pass this one by!

5 sur octobre 01, 2012

Our stay at Bancroft Manor really exceeded our expectations. The house is located on a quiet street within walking distance of Kennett Square. The house is extremely well kept, clean, and very nicely appointed. Mike was a great host and was happy to share some of the history of the house and the work that he put into it. The breakfast was very good and he even asked upfront about any dietary restrictions. Mike, if you read these reviews, keep up the great work!


Best Place to Stay in Brandywine Valley

5 sur septembre 10, 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Kennett Square/Brandywine area and we stayed at the Bancroft Manor B & B for five nights. The home was beautiful, the stay was restful and the breakfasts were delicious!!!! Mike, the inn keeper is very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. He is very helpful with information/recommendations on the local restaurants, museums, and all sorts of goings-on that made our time in the Brandywine area loads of fun and quite interesting. We highly recommend Brancroft Manor to anyone planning a visit to the area!!!


Enchanting Victorian

5 sur juillet 20, 2012

Mike was congenial and accommodating. The porch swing was a special delight. Our teenager loved the Turkish robe.


A charming B&B in a charming town

5 sur mai 29, 2012

The well-restored home is more than 100 years old. Mike, the innkeeper, is a great host who was very accommodating. The Longwood room was very comfortable and quiet with a great bed. The breakfasts were delicious as well. Bancroft Manor is on a neatly maintained side street convenient to the town. We hope to return.


Delightful stay in a lovely home away from home!

4,2 sur mai 19, 2012

We arrived as a group and couldn't have had a more welcome reception. All our needs were met and exceeded. Breakfasts were delicious, atmosphere friendly and staff most helpful. We appreciated the brochures and menus available to help us with our choice of activities and meals. Exce;;ent value in a lovely area.


Lovely spring stay at Bancroft Manor B&B

5 sur avril 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 comfortable evenings at Bancroft Manor. Our king sized bed was very comfortable, and our room was large and adjoined our own private bathroom. The inn is very quiet--so no problem sleeping at all. Mike Snyder is a warm and laid back host who serves his guests a nice hot breakfast every morning. I especially enjoyed the portobello mushroom with eggs! One of the best things about staying at Bancroft Manor is its central location. We easily walked just a few blocks to the restaurants in town, and it is just a hop and a skip to Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, and the Hagley Museum. Lots to do in this lovely area. We look forward to a return visit!


Bancroft Manor Dec 2011

5 sur janvier 02, 2012

A quaint weekend getaway in a meticulously appointed bed and breakfast. The innkeeper, Mike, was a gracious host. The breakfasts were delicious, and the house was tastefully decorated for Christmas.W e'll be back


Bancroft Manor Dec 2011

5 sur décembre 31, 2011

We spent a lovely holiday weekend at the well-appointed and warm atmosphere of Bancroft Manor. Tastefully decorated for Christmas, and just steps away from charming Kennett Square shops and restaurants. We'll be back..


Charm, relaxation and friendliness

5 sur septembre 07, 2011

Charm, relaxation and friendliness are all thoughts that come to mind regarding our stay at the Bancroft. The manor has many glorious architectural treasures to admire, plenty of common areas for relaxation and reading, and Mike, the innkeeper, was most accommodating and friendly. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and Mike did show us the other rooms before guests arrived to check-in, and likewise, they were just as clean and cozy. Mike was also very helpful with suggestions about area attractions and restaurants. We also got some educational facts about Kennett Square from Mike. We had a very enjoyable stay and hope to return soon. Cheers, Ric & Nic


A great, convenient place to stay!

4,8 sur août 29, 2011

A beautiful house with beautifully appointed rooms. More than enough space in the Longwood room. Good breakfast, VERY convenient location for walking to town, going to Longwood Gardens, Nemours, Brandywine Valley, etc. Mike was a very accomodating host.


Review of Bancroft Manor

5 sur juillet 29, 2011

I have stayed at this Bed and Breakfast several times and can give it the highest ratings with no qualms. The Innkeeper is very professional, the rooms lovely and the breakfast delicious.


A lovely B&B

5 sur juillet 11, 2011

This B&B matches the town of Kennett Square for charm and style. My room was clean and thoughtfully laid out: it even had its own private sun porch. The innkeeper is thoughtful and helpful. Breakfast was delicious.


A classic home with a friendly host

4,8 sur juin 26, 2011

Mike has done an excellent job of managing this classic home as a B&B. Strategically located near Longwood Gardens, Chadds Ford (Andrew Wyeth Museum) and other attractions. Excellent service by a friendly host.


Best deal, best meal!

5 sur juin 11, 2011

This is a home, warm and inviting with all the amenities - TV, internet (if you really need them). The Longwood room is beautiful and the breakfasts are exceptional. We really enjoyed our stay. Ed and Barbara Garczewski


Pleasant repeat stay at Bancroft Manor

5 sur mai 15, 2011

In May 2010, my wife and I stayed at Bancroft Manor B & B while visiting Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. We enjoyed our stay, and repeated it in May 2011. Our stay in May 2011 was as good as our stay in May 2010. The innkeeper, Mike, was very pleasant and very helpful both times.


Bancroft Manor Bed & Breakfast

5 sur avril 10, 2011

Beautiful Victorian home. Extremely comfortable accomodations. Serene atmosphere. Scrumptious breakfast. Try this B&B out!


Charming B&B

5 sur février 15, 2011

We have stayed here many times. Love the rooms with private baths. Very conveniently located to many Chester County attractions.


Great Overnight Stay

5 sur février 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed 1 night in the Longwood Suite. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of food. Mike was very friendly and helpful, even making us a pot of coffee late at night when the automatic coffee maker in the dining room was not working. I would definitely recommend staying here and would consider staying again if we visit Kennett Square in the future.


Enjoyed Our Stay

4,4 sur juin 06, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at the Bancroft Manor B&B. Room was very nice, clean, and cool on a 90 degree afternoon. Bed was comfy and the sitting room was quaint with a mural that reminded me of Longwood Gardens. Speaking of Longwood Gardens, the B&B is right down the road, town of Kennett Square is a short walk with charming shops and restaurant. Street is quiet--which is a plus as State Street in town can be a bit noisy. Mike is wonderful and very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay-wish it could have been for more than one night!


Great Experience

5 sur mars 31, 2010

We really appreciated the great hospitality and the "Bancroft Manor" way of life.


Great Hospitality!

5 sur janvier 31, 2010

Mike's hospitality was fantastic! He checked to make sure everything we experienced was fine. We will stay there the next time we come to Kennett Square!


Great place to visit!

5 sur décembre 28, 2009

We had a wonderful time and hope Bancroft Manor is available our next visit.


Great place to stay...will be back !!

4,8 sur septembre 28, 2009

There wasn't anything about the b&b that I didn't like. Mike is a great host, and he makes you feel very comfortable and welcome. The house is beautiful and the grounds are well maintained. Good location as well. I would definetely stay there again.


From the UK

4,0 sur juin 21, 2009

I found the hole place so clean it was a delight to stay there, even the street out side was clean and very quite, would recomend


Our stay at Bancroft Manor

3,4 sur juin 20, 2009

Mike was a wonderful host and his B&B was filled with love in all he does to make it so special. Thanks Mike for a lovely stay. We will return for sure!


Bancroft Manor Bed & Breakfast, Inc.

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $145 - $190
  • Avis (58) 4,5
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6104704297

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut