The Columbian Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
114 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful weekend in PA

5 sur février 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Columbian B&B. We checked in on Valentines Day and met the owner Karen, who showed us the inn and our room. I had requested a gift basket of Wine and Cheese for us to enjoy, and the one that Karen put together was great, filled with yummy cheese and a great local wine. There were some sweet extras in their too! After returning for the evening we tried out the Hot Tub which we found very relaxing and refreshing. Our breakfasts each morning were delicious and we found the Inn convenient to the attractions we were visiting in the area. It is not centrally located in PA Dutch country, but halfway between York and Lancaster, which suited us great! Columbia itself is a cute little town with a few attractions and many shops. On Sunday morning, my girlfriend got a massage from Karen at the Inn which she is still raving about days later. We look forward to our next visit!


We will never use a traditional hotel again

5 sur décembre 01, 2013

We stayed at the Columbian Inn Bed and Breakfast and it was delightful. We were visiting family for Thanksgiving so did not eat at the Inn but the service, room and hospitality were excellent. There are several nice little things in the room that were a treat. There are two fluffy bath robes in the bathroom and a complimentary wine sampler with two glasses in the room. The price was great and we are spoiled by the experience. Will never stay in a regular hotel again.


Pa Historic

4,6 sur août 09, 2013

Nice lodgings in an interesting and historic Pennsylvania town.Very comfortable rooms well furnished and in top shape.Service friendly but not intrusive. Breakfast OK with no options offered for those who prefer food on the plain side.


Beautiful Facility

5 sur juillet 23, 2013

Lovely post-colonial building. Very well appointed. Karen is very easy to work with. I had a few changes to make. Made a simple request and fixed with no problem. I also needed early check. Again - No problem. Easy check in. Awesome breakfast. Very nice time. Will stay again.


Great Value with Fantastic Breakfast

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

This was our first stay at the Columbian Bed & Breakfast. The home is elegant ... the breakfast inspiring and refreshing.


My stay at The Columbian.

4,8 sur avril 10, 2013

The location and space of the rooms at the Columbian was wonderful. The linens, bed, TV were all excellent. I certainly plan to stay here when I return next to this area of Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for your friendliness!! Jane


A delight in Columbia, PA

4,4 sur janvier 31, 2013

The Columbian Inn and Retreat is an excellent choice for a stay in or near Columbia. It is conveniently located off Route 30 and close to many of Lancaster County’s attractions. But that is not why I stay. I stay because of the gorgeous entrance, the comfortable and quiet rooms and the excellent breakfasts provided by the innkeeper. Karen, the innkeeper is also a massage therapist and has recently teamed up with a yoga instructor who offers 2 yoga classes a week. These added perks make any stay at the Inn one to relish. I would recommend this Inn for a longer stay while touring Lancaster County, a weekend retreat, or an overnight when driving through this area on Route 30.


Excellent and Unique

5 sur septembre 17, 2012

Wonderful place with service that ensures you an enjoyable stay.


Bargain rates!

5 sur juin 18, 2012

Private, personalized service, especially breakfast. Economical, yet cozy!


Best B&B

5 sur avril 09, 2012

Karen Umlauf is a very caring and helpful host. Everything was great!


Great Thanksgiving Stay

4,0 sur décembre 15, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Columbian Inn and once again we had a great time. Karen is a great B&B hostess and makes marvelous breakfasts. We are both vegetarians and that did not hinder her creativity. We plan to stay at the Inn again when we visit family in the area. Joan and Laird Lorenz


Great Event at the Columbian Inn

5 sur août 15, 2011

To celebrate my mother's 70th birthday, we recently held a special dinner at the Columbian Bed & Breakfast in Lancaster County, PA. Innkeeper Karen Umlauf did a wonderful job for us! She thought of everything - the varied menu, the fancy cake, the flower centerpieces and more. My family loved the intimate setting, the personal service and the delicious food. Family members also spent the night at Karen's B&B and raved about the beautiful rooms and apple pancakes Karen made for them the next morning. Karen helped us create a fantastic event that everyone - especially my mom - will long remember. I would highly recommend The Columbian Bed & Breakfast in Lancaster, PA for a special event or a weekend getaway.


A wonderful B+B experience!

5 sur juin 29, 2011

Everything about our 2 night stay was exceptional. Beautiful older home and room, lovely and serene garden area, great location, and the best part was the amazing breakfast each day. This was our first B+B stay in the U.S. and it set a standard that will be hard to match. Vicki & Dan New Jersey


The Excellent Columbian Inn

5 sur avril 04, 2011

The Inn feels like home away from home with many additional comforts and elegance. This was our 5th stay at the Inn and each time there are additional nicities. The rooms are so beautifully appointed, the breakfasts are delicious, etc. But, most of all the innkeeper Karen makes you feel so welcome and at ease.


Wonderful experience....what a B&B should be

4,8 sur février 23, 2011

We recently had the pleasure staying at the Columbian Inn. It was perfect. Karen was extremely nice and the breakfast was superb (especially the fresh baked bread). Our room was perfect from the linens to stove which warmed it on a cold night. The value can't be beat and there are a plethora of things to do in the area. Definitely head up to Chickie's Rock for an amazing view.


We will visit again

4,8 sur janvier 28, 2011

This was a very lovely place to stay and we will be back again. This was our third visit. A very fine breakfast and Karen is a great hostess.


Hospitality

4,2 sur novembre 09, 2010

The Columbian Bed & Breakfast was like stepping back into another era. We liked the decor. The location was close to many unique shops. Our hostess was very interested in maling our stay pleasant.


Best B&B in Lancaster area

5 sur novembre 01, 2010

The accomodations were beautiful, and the attention to detail really shows. The food was wonderful. I love the innkeeper!


Great Destination!

4,6 sur octobre 31, 2010

What every bed and breakfast and Innkeeper should be! Gorgeous home and services at an extremely reasonable price!


Very nice place to stay

3,6 sur octobre 18, 2010

This was my first trip back to this B&B after more than a decade, and I was pleasantly surprised. The present owner / Innkeeper Karen has done a superb upgrade throughout. During my October 2010 3-night visit with two others in my group, we found the guest rooms, parlor and dining room exceedingly well-appointed and very comfortable. Once inside the 1898 structure, the Inn now exudes an elegant and quiet ambiance, in contrast to the busy and somewhat noisy city environment outside (if you are a very light sleeper, then consider some packing some earlplugs). Well-thought out and appreciated amenities include the complimentary wine and the wireless capability. The breakfasts were savory and ample, and Karen graciously honored our request for an earlier breakfast time so we could make our event commitments. She also suggested several restaurants in the area, and the two we sampled (Bullys and John Wright) were very enjoyable with well-prepared food. As the weather was rainy and/or cool during our stay, we did not take advantage of the the garden patio tables, or rockers on the porch - though inviting! Having experienced dozens of B&Bs over the years, the Columbian certainly rates among the nicer ones and I look forward to returning!


Relaxing Weekend

4,2 sur septembre 25, 2010

This 1898 home is charming and quiet. Decorated with a tasteful blend of antiques and some modern pieces. Food was wonderful!


Friendly, comfortable, inviting B&B

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2010

Lovely B&B in western Lancaster county. Great location (2 blocks away) from the Watch and Clock Museum, antique shops and touring the rivertowns of Lancaster county.


We would definitely recommend this -- even to my mother!

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2010

Lovely atmosphere, very accommodating, warm, welcoming, and comfortable!


Very Nice B & B

4,8 sur juin 28, 2010

My wife and I only spent one night at the Columbian B & B but we enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Karen provided us a wonderful breakfast that included a large omlet, fresh fruit with granola and yogurt plus juice, coffee and array of tea choices. The town of Columbia is filled with many historical buildings and homes that are beautifully restored and well preserved. it is a very nice area and I would recommend visiting both the Columbian B & B and the town of Columbia. They are both charming.


best B&B I have ever stayed in, bar none

5 sur mai 30, 2010

I recently took a one week workshop and needed a hotel near the facility. This inn, along with the exceptional rates and exceptional lady (Karen) who is the proprietor, made the entire stay a great pleasure. I would recommend this inn most highly, and would stay there again in a heartbeat! Bill Lockyer


Mike and Gwen Szafranski rate The Columbian Bed and Breakfast, Columbia, PA

5 sur mai 26, 2010

When a recent family event was scheduled for the weekend of May 22, 2010 in Columbia, PA, there was no question as to where my husband and I would stay. We had stayed at the Columbian Bed and Breakfast two years ago when we attended a family reunion event then. Since so many relatives from out of town were in Columbia for the event, staying with family was not an option. However, the hospitality of the innkeeper, Karen Umlauf, and the Victorian ambiance of the Columbian B&B made us feel right at home. Karen was so accommodating to our arrival and departure times, leaving us a key to let ourselves in when we arrived. We were on quite a schedule, so she served us the complimentary gourmet breakfasts at earlier times ( 8 a.m.) than normally offered (9 a.m.). -- and what delicious breakfasts Karen served. We found everything just as cozy and hospitable on this last trip as we did our first. I would highly recommend this B&B to any traveler!


This place is awesome

5 sur mai 24, 2010

There are so many great things to say about the Columbian Inn. The room was so clean and the bed was so comfortable, we almost wanted to stay another night but we had plans already made for the rest of our honeymoon. Breakfast was delicious; French toast topped with fresh fruit and the best orange juice my wife and I have ever tasted. Karen was very hospitable and genuinely friendly, I could tell she loves what she does there and it shows in the care she puts into all the details. We will probably stay there again if we randomly decide to go on a getaway vacation.


The Columbian Bed and Breakfast was great.

5 sur mars 16, 2010

It is always quiet and clean and friendly at the Columbian. A great place to stay, particularily if you are working at the Watch and Clock School of NAWCC. Thanks Columbian!


Victorian charm

3,8 sur mars 15, 2010

Good place to stay if you have things to do in the area. Conveniently located between Lancaster and York. Chock full of antiques and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Ladies Parlor. It was very nice but had no closet or anyplace to hang up clothes. Food was very good and the innkeeper very attentive.


awesome, best we have stayed at.

4,6 sur janvier 18, 2010

very much liked the room & the breafast. great old building.


A peaceful getaway

4,0 sur décembre 27, 2009

We enoyed our stay at the Columbian Inn very much. Karen is a wonderful host and made us feel at home. Lovely home and great breakfast. We will be returning. My wife enjoyed the massage and really relaxed. Mr. and Mrs. Di


Lovely B&B and historic town

5 sur novembre 16, 2009

My friend & I greatly enjoyed our one night stay here. The house is just lovely and Karen was so nice and helpful. She has makes a great breakfast with apple spice pancakes. We also recommend walking or driving around the town a bit. There are some nice antique stores and lots of history!!


Good value

3,8 sur octobre 22, 2009

We have stayed 2 times at Columbian B&B, in the Parlor Room. It is decorated with antiques and the Parlor Room is very comfortable. It is strange to have a mini refrig in the room, but very helpful. The small bottle of wine and chocolate are a nice additions. The robes are luscious and the lip balm is a different touch. We enjoyed our stay and will probably return again, since it is close to York where we need to be twice a year.


A delightful stay

4,4 sur octobre 18, 2009

I stayed for 6 nights while attending a class. The rooms were very comfortable and allowed me to work in the evenings. The service was excellent and value outstanding.


Wonderful B&B experience

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2009

This was our first stay at a B & B for us. Our host was very nice and helpful during our stay. She made our weekend getaway celebration special.


Excellent Stay

5 sur octobre 04, 2009

Our host was terrific. She was cordial and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a wonderful stay.


The columbian B & B

4,6 sur septembre 28, 2009

This was a wonderful experience, especially for my first time at a B&B. It was comfy, clean, and cozy. The service and food was great, and I would definitely come back again!


An Amazing Stay

5 sur septembre 25, 2009

Karen made our stay very peaceful, relaxing, and romantic. We both had massages and a romantic dinner for two. The food was the most amazing and delicious and well presented. Karen also upgraded our room for us, we over looked the garden on our own private balcony. Our room was extremley clean! Our stay definatley made our 1st year wedding anniversary the best!


Columbian Inn Bed & Breakfast

5 sur juillet 02, 2009

This was our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast. It was clean, attractive and the furnishings were everything you would expect to see in a Victorian home. It was superb! The hospitality was outstanding and Karen, the owner and operator made us feel right at home. We slept better at the Columbian Inn than at home! I plan to tell everyone about it and I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a getaway or extended stay. You will not be disappointed!


Anniversary getaway

5 sur juin 29, 2009

The above ratings don't say enough about this inn. Complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates for our anniversary. The proprietor made a dinner reservation for us, too! Would gladly return.


Best Breakfast in town!

4,4 sur juin 27, 2009

Great place to have easy access to all the Lancaster county sites, but away from the tourist traps. Best breakfast I have had since Ireland.


Excellent B&B

5 sur juin 01, 2009

Beautifully decorated rooms, relaxing backyard and patio, fabulous food. We look forward to a return visit!


My Weekend

3,6 sur mai 18, 2009

Our weekend was enhanced by staying at the Columbia Inn. It is a beautiful old building wonderfully restored and cared for. We felt like we were staying in a family bedroom. Everything was clean. Breakfast was beautiful,plenty and delicious. Enjoyed checking out the town of Columbia.


Just lovely.

4,2 sur mai 16, 2009

You will be thoroughly pleased with this beautiful home and professional service. We stayed in the Bishop Room and enjoyed the spotless, ample bathroom and plush robes. We plan to return when in the Columbia area.


Cannot say enough!

5 sur mai 11, 2009

about how great our stay was! Karen made us feel at home from start to finish, but while we felt "at home" we were constantly impressed with little details of the house and her amazing breakfasts. The town is also fun, as well as exploring up and down the river. We had a wonderful time!


The Best B&B

5 sur mai 04, 2009

We have stayed here on nine occasions over a 10 year period. This is the best B&B in the Lancaster PA area.


beautifully kept historic villa

4,2 sur avril 29, 2009

This villa is in furnished as close to the time it was built as possible, and not overdone with modern efforts to create an "antique" atmosphere. The house and garden are relaxing and peaceful, close to everythng, but create a quiet oasis in spite of being in the middle of a busy town. We loved it! Also excited about the efforts made to upgrade the town of Columbia.


Pennsylvanian Hospitality

4,8 sur avril 27, 2009

The staff at The Columbian could not have been better. The rooms were wonderful and what a beautiful neighborhood.


Lovely house surrounding area not so much

3,6 sur mars 29, 2009

I don't know what exactly I was expecting but I wasn't expecting to be right next door to a gas station and on a busy road. The Inn was a very neat old house, I loved the pocket doors and the stained glass. I wasn't too happy with the dogs barking all night. My husband and I went for a walk but were hard pressed to find walking trails. If we were expecting to stay in a town it would have been fine but we were expecting to stay in the country. Also if you stay in the Ladies Parlor, you are RIGHT next to the front door and you can hear everyone and everyone can hear you.


Columbian Bed and Breakfast

5 sur mars 23, 2009

The inn is absolutely beautiful and clean.


Amazing stay for such a great price!

5 sur mars 16, 2009

This was our first time staying in a B&B, and now we never want to stay in a hotel again! Everything was totally amazing! We were able to stay with our 3-yr old son, which was great because most B&Bs in the area did not allow children under 10. We were able to get a room with an additional bedroom for our son for a price that was actually CHEAPER than any hotel! The rooms were beautiful and very romantic. We didn't want to leave! The innkeeper was totally sweet and the breakfast was outstanding. I will recommend this place to everyone I know.


Girls' Weekend Getaway

5 sur mars 01, 2009

What a wonderful, charming Bed and Breakfast. Being able to have a massage and facial REALLY made our stay that much more enjoyable. Also, the hot tub was an added bonus. Our "Girls' Weekend" was a blast!


Set your watch back 100 years!

5 sur février 24, 2009

Great place to stay!


a quaint inn

3,8 sur février 16, 2009

Great hot-tub, fantastic breakfast, the area is more to be desired


Wonderful!!

4,6 sur janvier 12, 2009

This house is gorgeous and the room so cozy. The innkeeper has truly thought of everything to make a stay here comfortable. We will definately visit again soon!


We will be back again!!

4,6 sur janvier 01, 2009

Awesome service! Great room rates.Very charming rooms. Karen is a Great cook. Be back for years to come.


They're too humble

5 sur décembre 15, 2008

The Columbian is simply incredible. Their website does not do them justice. Karen is a gracious host and outstanding innkeeper and cook. We had the German pancakes and they were divine. Note: Rooms are much larger in real life than they appear on the website. EVERYTHING about the inn is above expectations. We'll definitely return!


A Victorian experience

5 sur décembre 08, 2008

A very relaxing place to stay. The Breakfast was outstanding.


elegant,comfortable

4,0 sur novembre 17, 2008

Personalized service, yet maintained privacy, as a getaway weekend, we felt stress "float away."


An incredible B&B in every way!

5 sur novembre 04, 2008

Everything about our stay was impeccable - room, breakfast, cleanliness, ammenities, etc. and our hostess was charming. Would love to be able to stay more than one night and do the romantic get-away.


Columbian Bed & Breakfast in PA

5 sur octobre 28, 2008

This was my first "stay" at a bed and breakfast and I loved it! Everything was wonderful and the house was beautiful (antique victorian). The extras like the wine and clocolates were so nice. The morning breakfast was exceptional and beautifully served. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and hope to return again in the future. Carol and Rob


Columbian B&B-lovely and affordable

4,0 sur octobre 25, 2008

We loved our rooms and the comfy beds, the charming decor (antiques galore and stained glass windows). The food was good, everything was spotless, and the price was surprisingly low. Thanks, Karen, for a great experience.


Outstanding B&B

5 sur octobre 21, 2008

The Columbian B&B was a wonderful getaway for us. It was a quiet, romantic, and overall wonderful place to stay! Karen was welcoming and accomendating.


Good ambiance

5 sur octobre 19, 2008

Our stay at Columbian Bad and Breakfast was wonderful. The room was spacious and bed so comfortable. I loved the soft robes, and the complimentary chocolate and wine. Breakfast on both days was very good.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2008

We stayed at the Columbian for our 2nd anniversary. Karen was such a wonderful host! The Inn is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. My husband and I really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. It was our first experience at a B&B and it won't be the last! Heather Mast


Could Not Have Asked for More

5 sur octobre 13, 2008

The house and room were beautiful.Karen and the dogs were great.The food was delicious.We were just as comfortable as if we were in our own home.We would recommend the Columbian Inn to everyone.


Great place to stay!

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2008

This was our first time staying at Bed and Breakfast. We both really enjoyed the accomodations and service provided during our stay. We plan to return really soon!


An Excellent Getaway

5 sur octobre 06, 2008

A very clean, beautiful room. Outstanding food. Unbelieveable service. A great massage. All done by the most down-to-Earth Innkeeper. Karen, obviously, loves what she does.


columbian inn

5 sur octobre 02, 2008

This is a lovely place and a homey atmosphere. We only could stay one night, but it was a lovely experience.


First Class Value

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2008

We've stayed in other B and B's in the area, all fine, but this will be our new "first call" when we come back to the area. Karen is welcoming and helpful. The inn has a nice comfortable feel, and the meal was lovely. Looking forward to a return.


our time in pennsylvania

5 sur septembre 21, 2008

we had a warm welcome and we felt very comfortable during our stay at the columbian bed and breakfast.


Wonderful Weekend

4,0 sur septembre 09, 2008

We had a great, relaxing vacation. Too short. Inn was beautiful. Hot tub was great feature at the end of a long day. Hope to be back soon.


Great attention to detail

5 sur septembre 08, 2008

Our room was impeccably clean, Karen was a great hostess, and the inn was beautiful. We plan on coming back again with guests.


comfortable and spacious

4,8 sur août 26, 2008

We stayed in the butler suite. It was nicely decorated and had the convience of a refregerator, two rooms and a balcony which overlooked a garden. The breakfast was delicious and elegantly served.


8/23/08

5 sur août 25, 2008

We stayed at the Columbian with 2 other couples while attending the Nissley Lawn Concert on Aug23. The house is beautiful, and we especially liked relaxing in the back courtyard after we returned from the concert. P.S. We also loved Meryl and Layla!


Exceedingly beautiful & affordable!

5 sur août 17, 2008

A gorgeous Victorian home with beautiful gardens, 2 sweet dogs & a delicious breakfast! Suprisingly affordable! Felt right at home! Loved it & wish we could have stayed lomger!


Amazing weekend

5 sur août 16, 2008

This is the best B&B experience I have ever had. Started my stay with a wonderful massage on the premises. You feel as is you have truly stepped in to a victorian family home as soon as you come thru the door. Wonderful energy, peace, quiet in all areas. Lovely sitting room and cool patio area with plenty of choices for seating, walking thru garden or jumping in the hot tub. Breakfast was beautiful and delicious. This will definitely be one of my regular getaways. Thank you , Karen!


Great visit on 45th aniversary

5 sur août 11, 2008

Karen could not have been nicer, and the property was very clean and tidy. Will go back again and visit the town of Columbia in the near future.


LOVE IT!!!!

5 sur août 04, 2008

Karen is a gracious & accomodating hostess. Her rooms are lovely & extremely comfortable! The amenities she provides are awesome. Breakfast is always delish! We've stayed at The Columbian several times and always look forward to returning. This B&B is my #1 recommendation in the area.


Our stay was too short!

4,0 sur août 01, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Columbian tremendously. Our room was comfortable and Karen is most welcoming. Breakfast was very good, (we skipped lunch.) The Columbian B & B is conveniently located for the antiquing we had come to the area for. We found good local restraunts and will return for a longer stay.


Wonderful!

5 sur juillet 28, 2008

We had a wonderful, relaxing evening at The Columbian B&B! Everything exceeded our expectations! The bed was comfortable, the bath immaculate, and the food was delicious! The Inn Keeper, Karen, was welcoming, friendly and professional. We wish we could have stayed longer and we will return!


Beautiful House!

5 sur juillet 25, 2008

This house was beautiful and the food was delicious! My husband and I are planning to come back again.


What a B&B should be.

5 sur juillet 21, 2008

We booked the Columbian on-line so had no idea what it would really be like. It exceeded our expectations on every level! The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and the rates were very reasonable. We will definitely return.


Fabulous 1st Time Experience

5 sur juillet 18, 2008

Found this B&B on-line while looking for another one in the area (turns out it is up for sale and out of business!). So glad we found the Columbian! Location was perfect for our plans and we were very pleasantly pleased with the rooms and the house is beautiful! This was our first B&B experience and it won't be our last! Thank you!


Columbian Inn

5 sur juillet 05, 2008

Karen greeted us at the door and was a huge help getting around town. Breakfast was amazing and we met some very nice people staying with us.


Romantic Delight

4,8 sur juin 30, 2008

This was by far the most romantic B&B my fiance and I have ever stayed in. We felt like it was our honeymoon! Our room (The Yost Room) was absolutely enchanting. The window seat gave it a dreamy old fashioned feel. The view of the garden instilled a tranquil loveliness. We especially enjoyed the small bottle of wine waiting for us. Aside from the gorgeous decor and architecture the best part was the hot tub out back in the gazebo. We used it first thing in the morning and it was unbelievably relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and Karen is an absolute sweetheart. She has a wonderful energy and makes you feel at home. I highly recommend staying here. Next time, I think we'll indulge in the spa package!


Charming B&B

5 sur juin 03, 2008

The romantic getaway package made our stay all the more special.


charming and relaxing

5 sur mai 30, 2008

The house is in outstanding condition with great decor. The innkeeper, Karen, is a wonderful host and chef; breakfast was light fare, healthy and delicious. The exterior, including wrap around porch and jacuzzi, was perfect. I highly recommend this B&B.


Best B&B in Lancaster County!

4,6 sur mai 29, 2008

We stayed there for one night in the Bishop’s room. I loved the front porch with rocking chairs the most...great place for relaxing with a glass of wine (complimentary) at twilight. Another plus point is the nice outdoor hot tub that Karen keeps heated up even late in the evening. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the Readers digest book collections on the side table are so inviting! I was particularly impressed with the way every thing seemed to fit into the ambiance rather than look pseudo antique. I felt like I had traveled in time to live as a house guest in a wealthy 18th century home. Karen is a gracious host and is very accommodating. Woke up late and would like to have late breakfast...no problem! Would like to have lunch or dinner arrangements also made...no problem! Except the fact that the breakfast didn’t make it to my A+ list, it was a wonderful experience.


Great Getaway!

4,2 sur mai 23, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast was absolutely beautiful. Very historic, cozy, and quaint. Karen keeps her rooms and home immacculatly clean, and is such a friendly and gracious host! The general area/ town leaves a bit to be desired but stepping into the Columbian takes you "away from it all". I had a wonderful stay, and anyone who goes there must go to The Accomac Inn, located nearby; for the most delicious, upscale, classy dining experience! P.S. Be prepared for an exceptionally healthy breakfast while staying. I hope you like berries and wheat germ.


Pleasant surprise

4,2 sur mai 19, 2008

Driving in through town, my wife was concerned, because our only other experience with a B&B was out in the country. But, when we arrived and met Karen, and saw the inside of the house and the grounds, her anxiety about the location was quickly replaced with an appreciation of the expression " you can't judge a book by it's cover". In this case it was " you can't judge a B&B by its surroundings. The house was beautiful, the meals were great, and Karen was a delight. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Karen left us a note and a small gift in our room and also congratulated us in person when we saw her the next day. The room was comfortable. The only thing I would change would be to add a desk to sit at. The drinks and snacks were a nice touch. As we were leaving, my wife asked for a "baby" off one of the plants, and our host was gracious enough to grant her request. The antique furnishings and the modern conveniences blend very well together. We enjoyed our stay immensely. R&B


great place

4,6 sur mai 07, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful three day Valentine's Day holiday. Great rooms, scrumptious breakfasts, friendly proprietor, perfect location for enjoying Lancaster and York counties. The "package" included serious discounts at two local restaurants that offered wonderful fare as well. We have recommended this place to our friends and will be returning.


Outstanding B&B

4,6 sur avril 22, 2008

This is an absolutely wonderful placde to stay. Infact, we have stayed here eight times over the last eight years. Highly recommended and a great value.


Wonderful stay!

3,8 sur avril 21, 2008

We will return!


Perfect

5 sur avril 19, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was perfect for a romantic getaway.


Comfortable

4,2 sur avril 11, 2008

Very nice place, clean and quaint. Karen was very gracious and pleasant. The food was great as was the hospitality


B & B in Columbia, PA

3,2 sur avril 04, 2008

We had stayed at this b & b before so knew what to expect. This time we went with 2 other couples, and we were all pleased with our rooms and the innkeeper's hospitality.


A Serendipity Experience

3,8 sur mars 08, 2008

The house is lovely and very historic. (Wish there had been time for the innkeeper to share the history with us.) It is very conveniently located to the museum, historic places, and restaurants. Also it was easy to get to Pennsylvania Dutch country and antique stores.


Warm, comfortable, romantic!

5 sur février 24, 2008

The Bishop Room is lovely, and the private candlelit dinner for two was delicious and incredibly romantic! One thing that inn-goers should know is that this B&B is on a relatively busy street near the downtown area of a small town. It doesn't feel pastoral, although the Susquehanna River is right down the street and is beautiful, and there's lots of pretty farmland nearby.


Wonderful!

4,2 sur janvier 25, 2008

Beauftiful Inn, Service was outstanding...Would go back in a heartbeat! Sleepy little town...be sure to visit the Moondancer winery... Jan. 2008


Charming B&B

5 sur janvier 14, 2008

The candlelight dinner was very delicious and romantic. The room,atmosphere,service and breakfast were tops.It was every thing we could of asked for. Karen is a great host. We will be back.


"What a B&B should B"

5 sur janvier 06, 2008

Top quality, refreshing and uplifting. We appreciate the friendly welcoming atmosphere. See you again; GG


The Columbian Bed & Breakfast

4,2 sur décembre 31, 2007

Last minute reservation during te Christmas Holidays. They were very accomidating and we enjoyed the stay.


A Night in Paradise

3,4 sur décembre 30, 2007

It was very comfortable and cozy. Nice spacious room and clean. Very hospitable host that Karen is!


1st anniversary stay

4,0 sur décembre 02, 2007

Great place to stay for our first anniversary. We had a wonderful time. We arrived late and it was great to see a very nice note on the door waiting for us. The room was spectacular. The only downfall was the breakfast. It could have been a better portion. Seemed almost like an appetizer. Other than that, a truly wonderful place to stay!


Weekend getaway with friends

5 sur novembre 26, 2007

This place is even more impressive than its pictures. The innkeeper, Karen, is a true delight. She was completely hospitable and did everything she could to make sure our stay was as perfect as possible. We'll be back time and again.


The Columbian Bed and Breakfast

3,8 sur novembre 26, 2007

What a wonderful stay. Karen was a very hospitable host who has done a fantastic job with the decorating. Truly an enjoyable stay.


Thank you for everything

4,8 sur novembre 13, 2007

The inn is beautiful. The rooms are absolutely lovely. Thank you so much for the warmth, friendliness and beauty of your inn. It was wonderful to be there for our 35th wedding anniversary.


Great B&B!!!

4,4 sur novembre 13, 2007

This was a great place to stay. We loved the room and the breakfast was fantastic!!!


Highly Recommended!

5 sur novembre 08, 2007

Everything was most delightful down to the last detail. Innkeeper Karen couldn't have been more personable and did everything she could to see that our stay was comfortable. She provided information on area attractions and activities that we enjoyed immensely. I would have to say that the breakfasts were the highlight, though! Beautifully presented and everything was absolutely delicious! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!


Couldn't love it more!

5 sur novembre 05, 2007

We stay there every time we go to Lancaster. It is a very cozy, luxurious place to stay. The extra touches like wine, chocolate, water etc. in the fridge, and those robes!!! make it A+++.


First time B&B stay...pearfect!

5 sur octobre 31, 2007

You have got to try this. Our first time in a B&B and everything was perfect. Breakfafst...OUTSTANDING!! Also, Karen is a licensed massage therapist....What a way to start or end your day. We will definitely return. Velma & Bill Young, Norwalk CT


A great get-away.

4,4 sur octobre 28, 2007

Karen made sure that all 3 of our rooms were available 4 hrs. prior to check-in, to allow us to change before the wedding we were attending.


Time of Relaxing!

5 sur avril 07, 2007

The Columbia is elegant. The breakfast is gourmet and absolutely delicious. The innkeeper is gracious and kind. You feel at home there. It is one of the finest B&B in the Lancaster Area.Thank you for a delightful stay.


The Columbian Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $79 - $169
  • Avis (114) 4,7
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7176845869
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8004225869

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut