Pennsbury Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
102 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful!!

5 sur août 31, 2014

Love this place! Would stay here again, wonderful gardens, great breakfast lovely hosts. The room was clean and cozy, the house is very historical and the hosts are always willing to give you a tour and answer any questions about it. The dog Tucker was also a delight to have around! :)

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We'd certainly love to see you again and Tucker is always eager for friends to come back. After all you can never have too much petting!!


Great stay!

5 sur juin 28, 2014

A charming inn with beautiful--waterfalls, pond, and perennials abound with many places to sit and enjoy. The rooms are delightful, and the bathrooms are well appointed with wonderful products. There are many options for breakfast and a flexible timeframe. The innkeepers could not be more accommodating and helpful--making dinner reservations, providing directions and local information. This is my second stay in three months. There is also a lovely, homey parlor that can be reserved for a group of family or friends.


my stay

3,4 sur mai 25, 2014

Very cozy, welcoming and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again. The inn keeper was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend that they improve the signage. It was difficult to see from one direction. We missed it, but then saw it when coming from the other direction.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. You are absolutely right about the signage, but we have exactly what the township allows. In fact our sign is actually, a little larger than allowed-believe it or not. That is why we give very specific directions, including mileage and landmarks on our confirmations.


Very friendly

3,0 sur avril 30, 2014

I was a bit disappointed with the location as it sits on a very busy road. The backyard was very nice though and I forgot where I was. I love old houses and this one did not disappoint. The breakfast was not the best I have had (only eggs served which I do not eat).

Réponse du propriétaire
I apologize for not responding sooner, but somehow I missed this review. Most people find that 4 acres of gardens compensates for being on a highway, as you did. Of course any house built 300 years ago, by people of means, would be on the major thoroughfare of the time. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't like the breakfast. As we do not have a commercial kitchen and do not have a restaurant, we always ask on our confirmation and on our registration form about eating differences. I'm so sorry that this guest did not communicate her needs so that we could have made her happier.


Great Time

5 sur octobre 08, 2013

Even the proximity to the road didn't bother our stay. We had a wonderful room overlooking the beautiful garden. Everything in the room was tasteful and clean.The breakfasts were outstanding. We walked through the garden. Directions and information about local restaurants and attractions was appreciated. We had a wonderful time.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Pennsbury Inn and for your kind words. We strive to accommodate all of our guest’s needs and treat all as part of our family, so it’s nice to hear that we’ve hit our mark.


Loved Every Minute!

5 sur septembre 08, 2013

This is truly the best bed and breakfast I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Chip and Cheryl go above and beyond to make the stay an unforgettable and pleasurable one. Every detail is paid attention to and nothing goes overlooked. I was astounded at everything. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!!!


Enjoyable experience in Chadd's Ford.

3,6 sur août 17, 2013

We spent a pleasant two days at the Pennsbury Inn. Our hosts were gracious and helpful, our room comfortable and pleasant, and the gardens were beautiful. I would definitely return if ever in that part of PA again.


Great Stay at Pennsbury Inn

4,4 sur août 05, 2013

The Pennsbury Inn is in a perfect location for viewing the Brandywine River Valley. So close to the gardens, homes and art of the area. The hosts are most welcoming and there are so many great details in the home and the beautiful garden.


Outstanding bed and breakfast!

5 sur juin 27, 2013

My husband gets up early in the morning and he loved walking in the garden.


Pennsbury Inn

5 sur mai 21, 2013

What a wonderful inn with gorgeous grounds. The innkeepers are very helpful and welcoming. We had a wonderful stay and plan to return.


Historic delight

5 sur mars 28, 2013

I've stayed at Pennsbury Inn twice and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The food is original and delicious (and abundant!) and the rooms are comfortable. My favorite is Winterthur for the luxurious size and the lovely garden view. Rooms in the back are much quieter than those in the front - I've stayed in both. The innkeepers are wonderful about giving good local recommendations. Can't wait to go again!

Réponse du propriétaire
It's so nice to have a guest return, now as friends!! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to make them.


Back in time to 1751!

4,6 sur février 24, 2013

Super place -- comfortable & welcoming, but feels like hasn't changed since 1750, so a great place for touring Brandywine area.


Loved our time there.

5 sur septembre 09, 2012

Everything was perfect. A nice, convenient, friendly place to stay......you should come visit the area and stay at the Pennsbury.


You should stay at the Pennsbury Inn!

5 sur août 28, 2012

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at the Pennsbury Inn, in Chadds Ford, PA. It was a wonderful visit. Comfortable, good food, relaxing and the innkeepers were available at any time to offer suggestions, directions and assistance in meeting all of our needs. We considered spending our anniversary at a multitude of possible locations throughout the USA and chose this one.....you should too!


Pennsbury Inn

3,8 sur juin 20, 2012

The Innkeepers were hospitable and very helpful. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and our breakfast was delicious. The grounds and gardens were spectacular. One tip, the reception area was dark and cluttered and didn't give a good first impression, however, our overall stay was enjoyable.


Wonderful, wonderful inn

5 sur mai 16, 2012

Our second stay and it was every bit as wonderful as the first! Chip and Cheryl are wonderful hosts, and delightful to be around. The inn is lovely and welcoming, the lawns and gardens beautiful. It was my granddaughter's 10th birthday and they went above and beyond to make is a special time for her. She didn't want leave - neither did I!


A lovely getaway, even in winter!

4,6 sur mars 16, 2012

Our hosts, Chip and Cheryl, were interesting, knowledgeable, & fun. The inn was so comfortable, with lots of history as it was built in the 19th century. Loved our room, the Lafayette, with a private stair, fireplace, king-size bed. Will go back!


First time ever

4,6 sur janvier 24, 2012

We were impressed with the history of the inn, quaintness of rooms and overall service & meals. However we thought the common areas were a little cluttered.

Réponse du propriétaire
Every single room in the inn is decorated for Christmas and most guests are delighted to come see all of its festive nature, without having done the work. Of course one guest's delight may not be another guest's cup of tea. We've won awards for our decorating for the holidays, but I'm sorry that it was too much for these guests. I'm very glad that they had an enjoyable time otherwise and hope that they will continue to enjoy the B&B experience in the future as we're all very unique.


Excellent B&B

4,4 sur janvier 21, 2012

We spent one mid-week night in order to visit a museum in Wilmington. The inn is a beautiful old (some of it 18th century) house with extensive grounds. The room was nice (I cannot say it EXCEEDED my expectations), the bathroom adequate, and the bed very very comfortable. The room was up a steep narrow staircase (it is, after all, an old house), which was not a problem for us to negotiate, but would be for some people. The most outstanding feature of our stay was the service and friendliness of our host and hostess, Chip and Cheryl. We really felt as if we were guests in a private home. Lots of little touches. Chip cooked an outstanding breakfast. Their website suggested half a dozen restaurants for dinner. We chose one and Cheryl made a reservation for us (a week before we made our trip). It was first rate. We would definitely stay at Pennsbury again.


Beautiful grounds!

4,0 sur décembre 16, 2011

We visited 2 weekdays nights in early December. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped and Cheryl and Chip eager to share information about the area and local mushroom retailer! The Inn is close to highway #1.


Pennsbury Inn

4,8 sur octobre 24, 2011

I stay often when in Philadelphia. Very nice, comfortable, good food. Beautiful location.


Friendly owners

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2011

Way too many knick knacks around the public areas. Less in bedroom. Gave the house a feel of dirtiness. A slight smell of mustiness. Possibly because it is a 250+ year old home or possibly because there are too many things around. Can't appreciate the decor with so much around. Needs to be picked up. On the other hand, the innkeepers were VERY nice and helpful about the area restaurants and sites. Also, they really thought of every last detail. For example, extra tray tables in the room closet and little notes around the room to make us comfortable. Also, loved hearing a history about the house itself.

Réponse du propriétaire
You’ve pointed out the innkeeper's dilemma. One guest’s clutter, is another guest’s delight. I have people who literally spend hours, looking around and asking questions about the objects in each room. So how do I please everyone? What's the happy medium? You believe you couldn't see the decor, others believe that the objects make the décor and are what makes the inn special. Think about it there's not a lot of difference from one hotel to the next, when it comes to decor, but every bed-and-breakfast is completely unique. You're right about the mustiness. It's a constant battle in a 250+-year-old house. There’s old stone, brick, wooden floors, fireplace chimneys that whenever it rains, bring in dampness and wash a little soot off the chimney walls, and a porous basement where the rain comes in and has to be channeled out again. Due to many guest’s sensitivity to scents, we have to use low or unscented, cleaning products and antibacterial sprays. I love this time of year when the doors and windows can be opened, because there's no better room freshener than good old fresh air. I am delighted that there was much that you liked about the Pennsbury Inn and that you were willing to share that. We learn a lot from reviews on how to make our guests even more comfortable. The complete comfort of our guests is our most important goal.


True to Inn's History

4,2 sur octobre 07, 2011

We were passing through Chadd's Ford on a vacation north and wanted to visit Longwood Gardens. We appreciated the history of the house and enjoyed the grounds before the rain came. The dinner recommendation by Cheryl was spot on, perfect for our road weariness. The artichoke feta soufflé was outstanding, as was breakfast conversation with the four sisters having a getaway.


Exquisite inn & hospitality

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

Exquisitely appointed rooms in authentic style furnishings and the hospitality of the hosts exceeded the surroundings. Every need & desire was met in advance by careful planning. The breakfast was fresh, local and wholesome. A wonderful stay for two seasonal B&B travelers. Its hard to express the excellence here. Extra-exquisite.


A Wonderful Discovery

5 sur août 28, 2011

We chose the Pennsbury Inn based on information we read on several websites including the Brandywine Valley site. We were delighted to see that it exceeded our expectations in a number of ways. Our hosts, Chip and Cheryl, were informative, welcoming and full of great tips about the area. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. Last but not least, the Inn has one of the loveliest gardens we have ever seen in a Bed and Breakfast. We will be back! Claudine and Richard Rosenthal West Hempstead, New York


Wonderful Historical Bed & Breakfast

5 sur juillet 29, 2011

My best friend and I were pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little bed and breakfast. Every detail is impeccable -- the gorgeous grounds, the little historical backstory provided by the innkeeper, the interior design, the lovely breakfast. We stayed in the Winterthur Suite and would recommend it to absolutely anyone.


A beautiful respite from the heat in June

5 sur juillet 05, 2011

We had a delightful stay despite an awkward schedule working around athletic tournament game times. Our host and hostess flexed with us effortlessly and we enjoyed our stay very much. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it! The gardens are beautiful and very relaxing!!


Lovely people, wonderful place

4,2 sur juin 20, 2011

This was the first time that I've stayed at a B&B, and it was a wonderful experience for both my girlfriend and myself. We were canoeing on the Brandywine River on Saturday and stopped in to the Longwood Gardens down the road that Sunday. Chip and his wife are wonderful hosts, they made sure that our stay was a great experience, I would definitely stay here again in the future.


may longwood winterthur visit

3,6 sur mai 17, 2011

had a good stay - lots of stink bugs to catch - service and food were very good.


The Enjoyable Pennsbury Inn

4,2 sur mars 31, 2011

The owners were extremely nice and very helpful. We had a great time and would do it again. Not a complaint, but we enjoy breakfast, regular breakfast. Some of the food that was made was a little fancy for our taste, give us some eggs. bacon and toast and we are happy. Still it was a great place to stay and would do it again, we would ask for the menu to be simple......


Like being home!

5 sur février 25, 2011

The accomodations and food and of course hospitality were outstanding - thank you for a wonderful stay and making things feel as though I were home again.


Bonbons and Brownies in the Bedroom!

5 sur février 22, 2011

Anyone who provides us with a soft, comfy bed…and chocolate on the nightstand to boot is on the fast track to becoming a friend for life! Innkeeper Cheryl’s decadent bedtime treat of homemade brownies and bonbons provided good dreams aplenty. So how did we end up in chocoholic bliss in Chadds Ford? Luck! Rather than make two back-to-back long-distance business trips, my husband and I decided to look for overnight accommodations in the Chester County, Pa. area. Through a special promotion, we found Pennsbury Manor Bed and Breakfast in Chadds Ford, Pa. A great find! Chip and Cheryl were lovely hosts. They have taken a very old, historical manor, dated circa 1714, and made it into a comfortable, cozy home away from home for the weary traveler -- the perfect blend, as the brochure says, of “colonial heritage and country elegance.” While we had to miss the first day’s full breakfast, Chip provided a “brown bag” to go of freshly made breads and jams, strawberry smoothies, fruit, and coffee. The second day we sat down to a delicious egg salsa, homemade apple sauce, homemade breads, and fresh fruit. Almost as an afterthought, I spied what appeared to be granola. It was, but what granola – not your grocery-bought item, but instead, Cheryl’s own homemade version. Yum! We dined alongside a wonderful fire in the 17th century fireplace. With a wall of windows overlooking the vast gardens (eight acres in all), it was heaven on earth. While the current scenery is a delightful winter wonderland, one can only imagine what the view would look like in a blaze of color in the coming months or the shades of autumn this fall. Our room was cozy and delightful, the bed fluffy and comfortable. Chip gave us the grand tour – if you love history, you’ll enjoy hearing the story of those who walked the halls centuries before us. We’ve stayed in numerous “4-star” B&Bs and we’re picky. This one ranks right alongside the best. We’ll be back!


Great house and hospitality

4,6 sur décembre 15, 2010

Chip and Cheryl have a great place and were very accommodating, informative, and helpful. We really enjoyed our 2-night stay there.


Almost Perfect

3,4 sur novembre 29, 2010

Our hosts, Cheryl & Chip could not have been more accommodating, the room was clean, comfortable and cozy, and the breakfast was great. If only the clutter of the office and common rooms were cleared and cleaned this B&B would have been perfect.

Réponse du propriétaire
I couldn't agree more and I wish I could truly attain perfection. However, over the years I've learned that there are times that guests like to be with others and times that they like to be alone together. Therefore rather than take up one of our parlors as an office to close off the typical office chaos, the office is in the open and our guests have four parlors to lounge in and for those who want to spend time with us, room to lounge in our office as well. I've also learned that guests like seasonal decorations, which create clutter till they're arranged. It's true that I would have more time if I was not making breads, cookies and other baked goods, tending my all-season gardens, keeping up with the latest information on our area attractions to advise my guests etc., but those types of things and a comfy, cozy ambiance seem to be what the majoity are looking for. So I will continue to strive for that perfection, and maybe someday I'll reach it.


Pennsbury Inn

4,0 sur novembre 26, 2010

Chip gave us a tour of the historic inn. We really were madrto feel at home.


Girlfriends Weekend Getaway

4,2 sur novembre 11, 2010

Our group of 7 girlfriends had a blast staying at Pennsbury Inn for a much anticipated and much needed weekend away. We truly enjoyed the character of the Inn and all it's stories & charm. We felt comfortable "taking over" the kitchen for staying in our first night and making our own dinner & loved having our own space in the Lafeyette Parlor & adjoining rooms. Even though we locked ourselves out of our rooms (several times) & blew a fuse getting our selves primped for dinner, the innkeepers never made us feel as though we were a bother. It was the perfect weekend for bonding with friends! We also loved Cheryl's breakfasts...very elegantly set up and also homey & delicious. Our only negative was that we didn't get much sleep due to the noise factor of the busy road just outside our windows. However it did not damper our ability to have a good time & enjoy our lovely stay.


Wonderful Stay!!

4,4 sur novembre 08, 2010

The inn is beautiful set amidst a lovely garden setting. What made it special was its history and the most personal service imaginable, from arranging slightly complicated accommodations, (Cheryl) to gourmet breakfasts, (Chip) to suggesting intersting places to visit. We will certainly rebook if ever revisiting the beautiful area.. No question about that. The innkeeper, Chip, could not have done enough for us and really added to our visit to the area. Hurrah for the Pennsbury!


AMAZING

5 sur octobre 25, 2010

Our stay was great!! Breakfast was beyond what I had expected, the grounds were neat and clean and the room as very comfortable. The Police and Military discount was also a plus. This is the only place that I found that gives back to those protecting and serving. We will stay again.


Great location for touring the area, and a home away from home

4,0 sur octobre 19, 2010

I particularly appreciated having parlors available to chat with my friends and to sit cozily on a cold, rainy night! The breakfasts were amazing, and Cheryl and Chip made every effort to make the stay warm and relaxing.


Road Noise Caused Sleepless Nights

1,8 sur octobre 11, 2010

Route 1, a major road with 55 MPH speed limit, is without exaggeration about 50 feet from the rooms on the south side of the inn. The inn sits immediately adjacent to the road separated by a 6' stone or brick wall. All three adults in our party could not sleep thru the night due to the excessive traffic noise - I went to bed around 11:30 and was fully awake again by 1:15, drifting in and out of sleep for the remainder of the night as the cars and trucks sped by. I indicated "unsatisfactory" for rooms, service, and value, because of course the primary reason for visiting a B&B is to spend the night, and if one can't even sleep, what is the point of staying there! The inn was sufficiently charming, but an honest innkeeper should be more forthcoming to potential guests about the actual sleeping environment, and offer rooms away from the road for those who might be troubled by all of the traffic noise. Since this innkeeper seems more concerned with booking the rooms than the comfort of guests, I would never recommend this inn for anyone planning to spend the night.

Réponse du propriétaire
Rte 1, known as Baltimore Pike and in colonial times as the ”road to Baltimore”,saw Washington's troops march down it towards the Battle of the Brandywine. Built c.1714 as a wealthy land agent's home,in 1860,it became the Lancaster Inn due to its proximity to this major thoroughfare. We’re proud to be able to use and restore this beautiful home and share its history. We try to provide a comfy environment for sleeping, a special breakfast and the amenities that a typical hotel charges for, free. We have 4 acres of gardens and 5 parlors inside with comfortable seating, fireplaces, and books, games etc. to relax and enjoy. My guests’ comfort is my primary concern or why would I do this? It's difficult to just break even. We make no secret of the fact that we are on a major highway. In fact if a guest indicates in any way that traffic noise might be a problem, we suggest a room in the back of the inn. We point out to all guests where our quarters are so they can always find us. We have sound machines & ear plugs for light sleepers as well, to ensure their comfort. If a guest does not indicate a problem, we cannot solve it. It was easy to figure out whom these guests were as we have only 1 room where 3 can stay.These ladies stayed for 3 nights. I checked with my husband & the house keeper (our only indoor staff) and neither heard anyone in that party indicate over the 3 night stay that there was a problem with traffic noise, or anything else. I try to ask guests at breakfast if they’ve slept well & I heard no complaints. I'm so sorry that this was a problem, I know how much a poor night’s sleep can ruin one’s day but I cannot offer a solution to a problem if I'm not told that there is one. I do hope in future stays at a b&b or hotel that they will right away let someone know if there are problems, as I hate to think of anyone staying where their needs are not met. I do wish them good experiences in any future stays, anywhere.


Wonderful food, thoughtfully chosen

4,2 sur octobre 03, 2010

The trick to finding the driveway, going south on Rt 1, is that it is only 1000 feet beyond the stoplight. So slow down, go 1000 feet, turn right at the flag.


Nice surprise

4,6 sur septembre 27, 2010

My husband & I stayed at Pennsbury because we had a wedding a few miles away. We were pleasantly surprised. The gardens were beautiful. Fantastic breakfast & the hosts were extremely nice & helpful. I would definiately stay there again!


Back in Time

4,0 sur septembre 26, 2010

Visiting the Brandywine Valley for the first time, my friend and I experienced the feeling of yesteryear. This feeling was enhanced by our stay at the Pennsbury Inn. It was amazing to know we were in accomodations that dated back to 1714! The Innkeepers bent over backwards (well almost) to make sure that every detail was taken care of for us. This included gourmet breakfasts and dinner reservations and, oh yes, directions. Thank you Cheryl and Chip for making our visit memorable!


My stay at the Pennsbury

4,2 sur septembre 13, 2010

A great find! Chip was so friendly and informative about the Inn. I would go back again for sure. It is a beautiful Inn!


A delight

5 sur septembre 06, 2010

We were very pleased to find this charming inn near one of our favorite places to visit, the magnificent Brandywine Museum. A warm welcome and an exquisite garden refreshed us after a long day. Our room was lovely. Breakfast was delicious. The house's history is fascinating. The innkeepers were exceptionally helpful and flexible. A pleasure!


One nice night, Aug. 20, 2010

3,8 sur août 22, 2010

Room was described as the " Oohs and Awes " choice, and it was !! Very nicely appointed, great bed, nice view and very clean !! Inn was close to historic Kennet Square, Longwood Gardens, etc. Breakfast was good and the check-in/check-out process was accomodating !! Would go back !!


Beautiful Historical Inn

3,8 sur août 21, 2010

The Pennsbury Inn is a lovely old Inn with over 300 years of history. The owners have tried to maintain its authentic feel, while continuing its tradition of modern additions which mix old style with modern convenience. The gardens are stunning, with a beautiful swing overlooking a peaceful pond. Their breakfast food selections were slightly non-traditional and seemed somewhat experimental, but the owners are delightful and will make sure to take care of you.


A magical weekend!

5 sur mai 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Pennsbury Inn more than we can ever express in writing. Our favorite memory of our too short visit was the hours we spent lazing in the gardens, just taking in the birdsong and flowers and sunshine. It is a magical place! We were both totally overwhelmed by Pennsbury and felt like we were visiting old dear friends for a couple of days... plus I really liked the breakfast pizza! Also, the tip on visiting Nemours was spot on... it was amazing and now we want to come back and visit other DuPont homes and gardens. We have told everybody who has asked about our weekend away that your place is the best B&B ever, so don't be surprised if you get some more visitors from south of the Mason-Dixon line. We can't wait to come back ourselves, we just need to figure out when we can get away again. Thanks again for a wonderful unforgettably lovely visit.


Outstanding

5 sur mars 29, 2010

We were very pleased with the charm, the room and view, and surroundings. Cheryl and Chip were very gracious and helpful. The breakfasts were outstanding and we were happy with the entire experience and hope to return.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm sure that I can guess who this reviewer is and thank you for your kind words. I know that in "50" years of marriage, you've shared many memories and I'm glad that you chose the Pennsbury Inn to celebrate this momentous occasion. We look forward to seeing you again.


Feel At Home Away From Home

4,6 sur février 24, 2010

A beautiful historic inn, rich in interesting history, which the innkeepers are happy to spend time informing you of. Gorgeous, wonderfull decorated rooms. Scrumptious homecooked meals with special attention paid to the dietary needs of the guests. Cozy couches by a crackling fire with views of the lovely grounds (even when covered in snow!). The innkeepers were very courteous, friendly, accomodating and patient with even the most demanding guests.


Lovely accommodations with excellent service

4,6 sur décembre 11, 2009

Beautiful rooms and comfortable beds! I especially loved the dining area with the huge fireplace and the view of the gardens. Also, the hosts were helpful and welcoming. I hope to return in the summer!


home away from home

5 sur novembre 19, 2009

As artists, we especially loved the creative ambiance at this beautiful inn, surrounded by exquisite gardens and filled with heavenly aromas from Cheryl's amazing culinary skills! Her attention to detail and genuine dedication to being a very caring hostess were special additions to our visit. We only wish we lived closer for more relaxing get-aways! Four days were not quite enough to absorb all the flavors of this charming area.


Beautiful B&B

5 sur novembre 08, 2009

Wonderful B&B.... Delicious breakfasts.....Delightful rooms... Innkeepers Cheryl and Chip did everything possible to make our visit a memorable one...We were a group of 7 women.. Friends going back some 60 years... We all had a great time!!! Hope to visit again....


Awesome!

5 sur septembre 01, 2009

We've stayed at B&B's across the country 7 this is the most authentic, comfortable one we've ever stayed in. Total attention to detail and guests' comfort.

Réponse du propriétaire
Wow, just 2 sentences and you've explained the essence of what I've tried to accomplish!! Thank you.


Beautiful, historic B&B

4,6 sur août 26, 2009

Great find in convenient location. Innkeepers very accommodating and helpful. Room was cozy and comfortable. Breakfasts delicious and especially appreciated the little bed-time treats! Hope to return and highly recommend.


De-stress therapy

4,6 sur août 06, 2009

My stay was a perfect way to de-stress. The innkeepers, Cheryl and Chip , provided a perfect combination of hospitality and helpfulness. I enjoyed Cheryl's home.-baked goodies for breakfast and appreciated Chip's recommendations to get to my next destination.


wonderful place

5 sur juillet 13, 2009

Exceeds its billing - highly recommend it


Historic Inn

3,4 sur juillet 07, 2009

If you love historic homes this is the place. Uneven floors, crooked doorways and the vast history provided by Chet complete the appeal and make for a pleasant stay. Gardens are wonderful with breakfast by the reflecting pool. Webster room was comfy with a large shower. Would stay again.


Pennsbury Inn

5 sur mai 13, 2009

Pennsbury is a warm, friendly home with an interesting couple offering great conversation, wonderful homemade breakfasts, and comfortable surroundings. Definitely a place to return to!

Réponse du propriétaire
You've described to a "T" what I feel that guests want, so glad that you appreciated my efforts.


Pennsbury Inn

5 sur mai 08, 2009

Outstanding


Wonderful and Pleasant Stay

5 sur avril 28, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Pennsbury Inn. Cheryl and her husband treated us as a king and queen! We will definitely be back!


Wonderful choice!

4,4 sur avril 19, 2009

We love historic places and beautiful gardens. The B&B and surrounding area provided both. What was an added bonus was the attentiveness of our Inn Keepers and the wonderful service they provided us. We met many lovely folks as well, who all agreed with our appraisal of the facilities. We had such a wonderful time we added an extra day to our stay. We will definitely return. Cheryl has a gift with her attention to detail and personal touches. She also knows the area very well and is willing to share her knowledge.


Let the Traveler Beware

1,4 sur avril 14, 2009

Messy, bugs on walls and in bed.Breakfast 1st day barely warm. Use the same napkin for the length of your stay.............what?? Yes, this was the sign on the table. Doors don't shut, then when they are, can't get them open. Wife thinks this is her baliwick, husband can't stand the business. Only plus, Teddy, your doggy greeter is cute.

Réponse du propriétaire
I’m sorry that I was not notified earlier about this review, when I could have responded in a timely manner, but better late than ever. For anyone who has encountered “stink” bugs, you’ll know that this was peak season. Every other year we’ve had an invasion of lady bugs coming out of hibernation (a much more pleasant situation). This was our first year with this insect, and despite as frequent as safety allowed visits from the exterminator and my thrice daily bug hunts, they apparently got ahead of me and I was not made aware. I pride myself on the quality and variety of my breakfasts and serve on warmed plates, so it’s very disheartening to hear about a lukewarm breakfast, knowing that I could have easily remedied the situation, if I’d only been told. As far as the napkins are concerned, the standard green policy on linens is change every three days, unless soiled or change is requested. This is the first complaint I’ve received and instead am very frequently applauded for following the recommendations. I will apologize for all else, except for doors that will not shut or stick, which along with the uneven floor boards, winder staircases and slanted doorways is part of the charm of an inn built in c.1714, with additions in 1749, 1859 and 1969. I am so glad that this guest at least enjoyed our charmer, “Teddy”.


overnight stay - longwood gardens sightseeing

5 sur mars 28, 2009

friendly personable service


innkeepers who care about your needs

4,8 sur mars 19, 2009

Cheryl and Chip really pay attention to details. My family and I enjoyed comfort, great food, lovely surroundings, and congeniality at this B&B.


Winterthur Room

4,8 sur mars 06, 2009

Enjoyed the excellent details and personal attention. Quiet, clean and good breakfast. We would love to return in Spring to see their gardens in bloom.


Valentine's Day 1714 style!

4,8 sur mars 03, 2009

Pennsbury Inn was my first experience staying at a B&B. Innkeeper, Cheryl, is the epitome of the perfect host: warm, welcoming, down-to-Earth, organized, and extremely detail-oriented. This B&B had every amenity I could have ever dreamed of....and more!!!


Pennsbury Inn

5 sur février 23, 2009

The comfort level is eleven out of ten! The innkeeper, Cheryl, provides the best in breakfast and that comfy feeling of a quaint historic setting with the most spectacular accommodations.


Great for Special Needs

4,8 sur janvier 27, 2009

My wife has various and sundry allergies and Cheryl wen tout of her way to adjust recipes and make special dishes just for her. Similarly, adjustments were made to the sleeping accommodations. We will happily visit there again at some time in the future.


a nice getaway in PA

3,8 sur janvier 13, 2009

Pleasant staff, nice rooms, excellent food and location. Only downside: setting room old fireplace fumes (dirty chimney?); hard to breathe. Also, owner and employee there on computers.


very nice

3,0 sur décembre 18, 2008

We enjoyed staying at Pennsbury Inn. it was decorated very nicely.


Charming and Convenient

4,0 sur décembre 08, 2008

We learned about the Pennsbury Inn when we bought a Brandywine Valley package at my grandson's pre-school auction. The Inn was absolutely excellent, Cheryl and Chip most friendly, the food was good and it was convenient to everything we wanted to see on our visit. To sum it up: Great location, friendly proprieters, good food. We would stay there again if we were to make a return visit to the area.


Pennsbury Inn

5 sur décembre 03, 2008

The owner wowed us with outstanding service and comfort. I could have stayed indefinitely!


A good place to go

4,2 sur novembre 25, 2008

The inn is romantic and yes, haunted. Furnishings are lovely as are the grounds. The 'Romantic' package was indeed romantic. The Lafayette Room was fabulous!


Pennsbury Inn

3,4 sur novembre 20, 2008

Charming B&B if you like the ambiance of an old house (originally built in 1714 and there are two later additions, both quite old). The innkeepers are quite pleasant and have thought of every detail, down to ever robe in the closet.


Perfect for my Grand-Baby Shower!

4,8 sur novembre 11, 2008

Innkeeper, Cheryl was the icing on the cake in this cozy, expansive inn. Steeped in history, it lured and allured my baby shower guests with ambiance and room to spare for mom-to-be and our guests. She was extremely helpful in arranging those out-of-town details that challenged me, and I would recommend this Inn to anyone seeking memorable bridal & baby showers, and other adult birthday parties and get togethers. The area is also ripe and seductive for history and wildlife adventure - seeking travelers, or overnight guests who want a romantic hideaway. Breakfast is yummy, and day events can be catered according to personal peferences, which worked out very well for me.


Charming Getaway for us and our DOG!

3,8 sur novembre 07, 2008

This 1714 inn is certainly charming but the added bonus of being able to have our dog, Holly, stay with us, was definitely a treat. She, of course needed to be well behaved and was throughout our visit. She even like the little one-eyed white dog that is a residence of the inn. The grounds gave us an outlet to play with her and explore. One early morning we even saw 2 deer in the forest behind the inn. The evening treats that were left in our room even included to dog treats. Cheryl and Chip thank you for making us feel so welcome. Woof!


Historic Country Inn

4,0 sur novembre 04, 2008

This historic home has many homey touches. It is conveniently located near Longwood Gardens. Inn keepers are attentive and kind. The grounds are fantastic!


great time

4,6 sur novembre 04, 2008

Lovely innkeepers, fabulous cook, gorgeous grounds. great place!


Relaxing in 'PA'

5 sur octobre 29, 2008

Pennsbury Inn is absolutely one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed at. Relaxing is the key to beauty! Cheryl and Chip, the innkeepers, have the detail to make it great!


old world charm, modern comfort

5 sur octobre 27, 2008

relaxed, homely atmosphere. comfortable. hosts - welcoming, informative, and non-intrusive. breakfast sensational. tea and coffee with snacks available.


Charming historic property

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2008

Pennsbury is a very historic property, part of the underground railway. The rooms are lovely, and the extensive gardens are charming. The entrance/office is too cluttered with papers piled on a desk and too much 'stuff' around.


The Pennsbury Inn

3,8 sur octobre 22, 2008

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The grounds around the inn were enjoyable. Our only complaint was the traffic noise on Route 1.


Disappointed

2,0 sur octobre 15, 2008

Over-rated and over-priced. Rooms could have been cleaner. Mr. was always uptight. Mrs. was not especially friendly nor accomodating. We would not recommend this Inn. There are better. Nice try though.


Relaxing escape

4,4 sur octobre 09, 2008

Beautiful, historic home and lovely, relaxing gardens. Breakfast was excellent! Good location for Longwood Gardens, wineries, Brandywine River Museum, Brandywine Battlefield, Winterthur, Kennett Square, etc. Lovely retreat to a beautiful area of Pennsylvania!


Best B&B Ever

4,6 sur octobre 03, 2008

Lovely Inn, fabulous garden really nice innkeepers and great breakfasts. Highly recommended.


Daniel Webster Stayed Here

3,4 sur septembre 23, 2008

Daniel Webster recovered from a horse racing accident in this historic house. The Inn is conveniently located near Brandywine River Valley attractions. Cheryl arranged restaurant reservations for our group and provided discount ticket books.


Wonderful Girls Night Out

5 sur septembre 22, 2008

Three of my friends recently stayed at the Inn for a Girls Night out and it was fantastic! Our soon to be bride received an in room massage while the rest of us relaxed in the gardens with our tea and coffee. After a local dinner at Hanks we settled into the Winterthur Suite for a night of movies and girl talk. Cheryl and Chip could not have been more helpful and gracious with their hospitality, even after we were asked to tone it down well after 11pm (the old walls are thin and our chatter was disturbing another guest! oops!) Thin walls aside the Inn was remarkable, the grounds beautiful in their late summer bloom. We discovered frogs in the reflecting pool and numerous birds at the feeder. The next time I visit I will be sure to bring my husband along to visit the local wineries, and take Chip up on the extended tour of the house! Thank you so much for such a wonderful weekend!


Pennsbury Inn

3,8 sur août 20, 2008

Wonderful visit to a lovely country inn. Inn keepers were extremely helpful. Breakfast was exceptional. Incredible backdoor garden made the experiance all the more wonderful.


A peaceful getaway not faraway!

4,4 sur août 19, 2008

My husband and I needed a short break from our hectic life with three children under 4. We opted to spend a quiet evening, close to home, and what a great choice! Cheryl and Chip were excellent hosts and made our night very special and relaxing. From the wonderful and beautiful room and surrounding to the delicious breakfast...we enjoyed every minute. The innkeepers even made the extra effort of having a birthday cake ready in our room upon our return from dinner. My husband was both surprised and thrilled. You will not regret choosing the Pennsbury Inn and all it has to offer!


An Anniversary Made Memorable

5 sur août 05, 2008

Excellent! We had a great time at the Pennsbury Inn. Cheryl and Chip are informative, kind and very genuine people. They make your stay very memorable and special. Beds are very comfortable, rooms unique and cute, and Inn is historic and well decorated.


Longwood Gardens Getaway

3,6 sur juillet 24, 2008

Very beautiful and relaxing inn - superb garden. Extremely friendly innkeepers - our toddler was with us and they made us feel right at home, down to making Mickey Mouse waffles for my child! We enjoyed our visit very much!


a dream come true

5 sur juin 05, 2008

this place has provided the best weekend getaway i've ever taken! the rooms are wonderful, the house perfectly charming, the landscaping of the grounds is beautiful! all creating the most peaceful experience my boyfriend and i ever had. Cheryl and Chip are very hospitable and knowledgeable innkeepers

Réponse du propriétaire
Wow!! It's so nice to know that our efforts are appreciated. Please come back often and be sure to tell all of your friends about us.


Excellent historic b & b

5 sur mai 30, 2008

We enjoyed two comfortable nights in this historic inn, facinated by its history. Two great breakfasts, accomodating individual tastes and dietary needs. Beautiful grounds, and very close to numerous sites of interest. Innkeepers helped with reservations and tickets. Definitely worth a return visit.


Pleasant service

4,0 sur mai 30, 2008

Lovely place--nicely furnished-great landscaping. Pleasant service. Enjoyed our stay.


A dream come true

5 sur mai 06, 2008

The Pennsbury Inn has provided the best weekend getaway I've ever taken! The rooms are wonderful, the house perfectly charming and the landscaping of the grounds are beautiful-all creating the most peaceful experience my boyfriend and I ever had. Cheryl and Chip are very hospitable and knowledgeable innkeepers. We will definitely return very soon!!!! It's the best!


The Perfect Getaway!

5 sur avril 25, 2008

This is a wonderfully historic home! The house is beautiful, the gardens and property are gorgeous, and the food/service is fantastic! Multiple attractions and restaurants are within a very short distance. Would definitely recommend - we'll be back!


Heart of Brandywine River Valley

4,0 sur février 06, 2008

Located in an excellent area of the Brandywine River Valley, close to interesting sites. Innkeepers very warm and welcoming. Food very good. The building retains its historic heritage. Definitely recommended.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to comment on your stay. With reviews, we can pinpoint how to continually improve our guests' experience.


Great Getaway

4,4 sur octobre 23, 2007

A warm and charming atmosphere in this beautiful historic inn run by Cheryl and Chip who are welcoming and hospitable. The location can not be beat and the area is full of wonderful things to do. Besides Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and the Brandywine River Museum, make sure you travel the back roads to see some bucolic countryside.


A wonderful blend of history and modern convienence

5 sur octobre 22, 2007

We spent 3 nights in the Daniel Webster room. We were very comfortable and I can not find one thing that I would change. The bed was perfect, the shower had great pressure, the breakfasts were imaginative and delicious. There was a tiny bit of street noice since we were on the front of the house but not enough to disturb our sleep. The grounds are beautiful and certainly worth taking a walk in. Parking was easy. The hosts are very helpful but never intrusive. They will give you suggestions if you ask for them and then will be interested in how your day or evening went. I would not hesitiate to recommend the Pennsbury Inn and I hope to be able to return someday.


Romantic Getaway

5 sur octobre 17, 2007

My husband and I took a romantic getaway for our anniversary at the Pennsbury Inn Bed & Breakfast located in Chadds Ford Pennsylvania. We were in the Lafayette Room a with a romantic four poster, King size bed and fireplace. The bed is too die for, with extra down padding on top of the mattress, like sleeping on a marshmallow. The Inn is located minutes from Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Battlefield & Museum, and many Wineries and other attractions. The owners Cheryl and Chip were excellent hosts and provided all the ammenities. They will even customize your package to make it extra special. . . . like they did with ours, with champagne awaiting us in our room, and a couples massage the following day. The breakfasts were excellent as were conversations with other travelers. The turndown of our rooms each evening, as were the sweet treat left on the end table before settling in, was a great touch. The Inn is a historic 1714 stone two story with beautiful antique furnishings that take you back in time to the period. Each room provides a different view of their garden landscape which surrounds the Inn with many acres. The stone walls provide the buffer from the modern world outside the property.


Absolutely recommend!

3,6 sur avril 02, 2007

Exceptionally friendly innkeepers! The house is charming and has a very interesting history and the grounds are lovely. Breakfast was fabulous, and the after dinner treat left for us in our room was wonderful! We look forward to returning and trying out all the rooms!

Réponse du propriétaire
How sweet of you to take the time out of your busy lives to review your stay at our inn. We'll certainly look forward to your return(s, whomever you are, and strive to do better each time!!!


Pennsbury Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $100 - $235
  • Avis (102) 4,4
  • Chambres 7
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6103881435
  • Fax 1-6103881436
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8883881435

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut