Locust Brook Lodge Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
96 Avis

Ecrire un avis

one night stay

3,8 sur septembre 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently. We were attending a wedding in Butler and most of the hotels were booked. Our choices were the days inn or the lodge and we were so glad we choose Locust Brook! Nice rooms, great breakfast, pool table and sncks provided. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area!


Locust Brook Lodge

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2014

We stayed in the Trout Room and it was very nice and convenient since we were traveling with a small dog. I really enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests at the dining table--it was a very pleasant atmosphere. We saw deer, chickens, cows, and horses. I would definitely stay there again.


Comfy Bed and Breakfast

4,2 sur août 10, 2014

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Great hospitality. Like staying at a friends house.


Anniversary Getaway

4,0 sur avril 20, 2014

Quiet and peaceful. Cleanliness was outstanding , and it had a sort of country charm. Breakfast left a little to desire, but also in the hosts' defense all guests had very different schedules. I will definately stay again in the future.


Wonderful place to stay in Butler County and the only place worth staying that accepts pets!

4,8 sur mars 20, 2014

She has 6 rooms total, but two rooms in the back with direct access to a patio and private driveway for people with pets along! We had a need for one that accepted pets and before we could only find Super 8 and Days Inn in Butler that accepted them. Now I found this place! The area is wooded, so plenty of things for your dog to sniff. We stayed in the "trout room" and it was worth every penny of $80/night which makes it particularly attractive because of the no pet fee. Super 8 is $65 per night + $15 per pet per night. There is one other pet welcome room at this B&B and it is a bit more in price because of a jacuzzi tub. The house and grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The rooms are spacious and comfortable in a "this is a home, not a hotel" way. Snacks and breakfast are provided. The only niggling small complaint if I had to find one is that breakfast on the final day was a little "light" compared to all the other mornings when she served eggs, sausage, quiche and the like. We only wish the last morning was just as "hearty". It's a minor quibble in that our expectation that was set on previous mornings didn't quite match. Regardless, it was a much better experience that you will get at a "continental breakfast" and B&B's in Butler, PA are not very common. We definitely will stay again if we are back for family!


President's Day Weekend Getaway

4,4 sur février 26, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted do some hiking locally and just relax over the President's day weekend. We found the Locust Brook Lodge on a whim and made a last minute reservation. Carol was wonderful - she knows a lot about the area and it was so nice to hear the history of how she became a bed and breakfast owner. Great little find - we will be back.


Quiet & Relaxing

4,8 sur décembre 20, 2013

I stayed a week at the Lodge. Very quiet & relaxing. Inventive excellent breakfasts. Knowledgeable host with superior recommendation.


Great Place to Stay

4,6 sur octobre 09, 2013

My wife and I had dropped in Locust Brook Lodge in a rainy Saturday night on our regular trip between Michigan and DC. Heavy rain and numerous road construction slowed us down, and Carol waited for us well past 11pm. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Carol for her hospitality.


Nice place!

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2013

Wonderful people, great breakfast, beautiful spot.


Excellent Stay!

5 sur septembre 24, 2013

Completely accommodating. Private location. Highly recommend.


Weekend Stay

4,2 sur septembre 18, 2013

This is our fourth stay - feels like home.


First- timers

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

This was our first time at any bed&breakfast but it will not be our last. We are a family of 4 adults so we had the suite, and it was wonderful - comfy and quiet. I only wish we could have spent a few more hours there.


Fantastic Place to Stay

5 sur juillet 19, 2013

We loved the location, room, food and host. We traveled from the location ti Smicksburg, Pittsburg and Punxsatawney for a great weekend


Stay here when in Butler, PA!

5 sur juillet 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Locust Brook Lodge. Carol, the owner, is a wonderful host and cooked an amazing breakfast each of the 5 days of our stay. Room was very nice. Grounds are nice and the lodge is in a very peaceful setting. I also appreciated the value - most hotel rooms in Butler run around $140 a night. I highly recommend the Locust Brook Lodge!


Veteran's Day Free!

4,2 sur juillet 10, 2013

Carol supports the military and offered a wonderful overnight to my husband and me. The host and house are warm. Thank you!


Lovely stay

4,4 sur juillet 08, 2013

Locust Brook B&B was a wonderful experience. The rooms were lovely, the breakfasts were abundant and delicious and the hostess was warm and informative. Excellent choice!


A Beautiful Distraction

3,8 sur juin 14, 2013

I had to have a "corneal transplant" over 100 miles from home; so my husband, myself, and "Mr. Fancy Pants" our Old English sheepdog rented this B&B - a beautiful comfy room, buckwheat pancakes & bacon - A very large sitting room - with large screen tv - microwave, pool table, etc. - WE ALL LOVED IT!


Our first B&B.

5 sur mai 22, 2013

It was much more enjoyable than the cold, cookie cutter motels we were use to. Calm, quiet and relaxing. And CLEAN, let's not forget that!!! No scum on the shower floor or walls. No bugs, burns or holes in the bedding. No busted crack pipe in the drawer. Found one of those at a motel in Hershey!!! Carol was a most gracious hostess who let us be ourselves. There wiil be return trips in the future!!!


Not what is once was, very disappoitning.

1,8 sur mai 06, 2013

This was our second stay at this B & B. We reserved the entire facility. Sadly, Carol (innkeeper) has changed drastically and she was distraught and overwhelmed during our entire visit. When we arrived, she never welcomed us. She sat and ate pizza with her adult daughter, practically ignoring us. She did not welcome us or even stand up to say, "hello." We were early, but we had cleared that with her previous to our arrival. As the weekend progressed she spoke less and less. Never saying, "Good-Morning" and at times, mumbling under her breathing and stomping around the facility. The rooms are beautifully decorated, but unclean. There was an orange mold growing along the entire bottom of the shower door and the garden tub jets did not work. She also had a bug problem where we killed dozens of stink bugs over the course of the weekend. The scenery is gorgeous, but boxes filled the front porch and dead plants were all along the patios and patio tables leftover from last summer! The breakfast was tasty but not enough and very simple. For example, a casserole and bananas was the menu one morning. Pancakes and fruit...not breakfast meats, yogurts or cereals included except the first morning of three. She never provided coffee or tea except in the AM and one evening when we asked for coffee she became angry and frustrated. To the point that I finally asked her politely," Are we upsetting you?" She answered that it was not us it was her saying, "because I am 70 years old and it is too hard". Lastly, some evenings we would come home to a dark home. No lights left on in the hallway or any of the rooms. We had to fumble around looking for lights. Even a basic hotel will leave lights on for their guests to feel welcomed. Carol was honestly anything but welcoming. She was very cross and unwelcoming. A disappointing weekend.

Réponse du propriétaire
This reviewer and family members have posted numerous negative reviews on every web venue they can think of. I have been responding with utmost restraint. Their refusal to allow this incident to die a natural death, I feel entitles me to respond to tell my side. Thier repeated statement that they had reserved the entire facility is untrue in that one room was already reserved for the last night of their stay and besides being a BnB, it is also my home. On the last day of their stay I had to lead the other guests through a common area that was littered with this family's belongings. As to lights not being on, if that is the case members of their group turned them out because even when I am the only one here I never turn all the lights off and some outside lights come on automatically at dusk. I did alert them to the stink bug situation, which anyone from this area is familiar with. My reluctance is to poison the whole atmosphere of my home in hopes of getting rid of bugs that do not bite or carry disease. The group consisted of 7 adults and 7 children, only 1 of whom was a "little one", as this reviewer has referred to them. An impartial observer would have concluded that the children were traveling alone for all the supervision they had. The food I threw away from the table that the children occupied would have easily fed another family.


Wonderful place to stay

5 sur mars 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed two nights while visiting Slippery Rock University. It is a wonderful, comfortable place to stay, even in the middle of winter (and I imagine fantastic when the weather is warmer). Carol is a warm and inviting innkeeper who makes great breakfast casserole.


A hidden treasure in Western Pennsylvania

4,8 sur mars 04, 2013

Carol, the proprietor of Locust Brook Lodge, is a wonderful host. Her attention to detail, concern for guest comfort and satisfaction, and charming demeanor make every visit a gem! This was our second visit and certainly not our last! The Rock Family


Nice and quiet.

5 sur février 02, 2013

I would definitely stay again!!


very homey

5 sur décembre 29, 2012

My stay here is with 7 other woman so we take up the whole house! This is our 4th year staying with Carol - she is a very sweet woman Her house is very comfortable and the breakfast are fun and filling - The B&B is about 20 miles from where the purpose of our trip is but worth the extra drive. I would recommend staying here to everyone!


Wonderful Country Getaway

4,4 sur décembre 07, 2012

When we first drove up to the property and met Carol, we were in love. The quaint country getaway was just what we were looking for. Carol made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. The common areas were very clean and cozy. We stayed three nights in the Native American room and it was very well-stocked, comfortable, and soothing. The breakfasts were amazing, home-cooked meals that quickly took the edge off the cool PA mornings around Thanksgiving. The location was extremely convenient as well. Three miles from major shopping areas and only a half mile off a major roadway, getting to Butler, Moraine State Park, McConnell's Mill, and New Castle was extremely easy. We will definitely be staying at Locust Brook again next time we visit Butler! The Rock Family - 2012


Nice grounds

3,2 sur novembre 26, 2012

This B&B has woods and pastures that you can walk and explore. It has cows and chickens and horses. It's very clean. It's a little hard to find (as others have indicated), but there is a sign on the main road. You have to drive down a very long gravel drive, but you'll go past the animals on your way, so it's fun.


Utterly Charming

4,8 sur octobre 31, 2012

Beautiful setting, cozy room, wonderful 2-person Jacuzzi. tub. Had fun playing pool and air hockey in the common room. Carol was very friendly and accommodated my food allergies. Would definitely stay here again.


Peaceful Stay

3,4 sur septembre 23, 2012

Wonderful place to stay over the alternative cookie cutter hotel. Great grounds to walk and explore and your hostess is a like a visit with an old friend......an old friend, that knows how to cook :) Breakfast was the highlight with warm company and tasty food. I'd stay again.


Lovely Little Place

4,4 sur septembre 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, room was very cozy. The breakfast was excellent and we had the best Peach Cobbler we have ever eaten. Loved the farm with the animals. Innkeeper was pleasant and warm.


Get away, but still be close

4,6 sur septembre 06, 2012

feels like out in the middle of no where, but you're still only 15 min from whatever you need, great place


Just lovely

5 sur août 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our overnight at Locust Brook Lodge. It was the perfect one night romantic getaway!


wonderful place!

5 sur août 15, 2012

Carrol, the owner cooks wonderful breakfast daily and the rooms are warm and homey. Loved every second of it!


Wonderful Accommodations

5 sur août 10, 2012

We so much enjoyed our stay at the Locust brook Lodge. Not only are the rooms very clean, they are also comfortable and tastefully decorated.


Worth the price

5 sur juillet 18, 2012

Our room was terrific and breakfast was very good. We were out on the road for three nights staying at country inns and B and B's and this was far and away the best value and experience.


Peaceful, friendly, nice but not too fancy, rural but short drive to town

4,2 sur juillet 02, 2012

We stayed here to be near our extended family in the city. Nice buffet style breakfast with country style made ahead treats like baked french toast and breakfast meats. If you don't care to induldge lots of cereal choices. Our room had its own bathroom and a chair for sitting. It was nice to sip coffee on the front porch. The hostess would engage us in local color when we showed interest but also gave us pleanty of space. One reviewer notes that it was a bit hard to find. The directions are simple but at night it is hard to see the turn onto their road. Maybe a small reflective sign would be helpful. Although we are still able to stay with family for most visits, when that isn't possible this is my current top choice.


Great place for a Pittsburgh trip

4,8 sur mai 29, 2012

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay. We went to the Pirates game by day and stayed the Locust Brook Lodge at night. Although it did not look special outside, the house was beautifully decorated with period furniture inside. Carol was a wonderful host, and accommodating to my special diet request. If you don't expect a five-star hotel breakfast extravaganza, this place is a perfect place for a Pittsburgh gateway stay.


Classy stay!

4,6 sur mai 29, 2012

Locust Brook Lodge was a very relaxing and clean place. Rooms were nice, classy, and beds were comfortable. A very home feeling. Easy to get to and from places. The chickens were interesting to watch. I recommend staying here than a hotel. Carol was very accommodating and friendly.


A beautiful and peaceful home

4,8 sur mai 25, 2012

My kids and I felt so comfortable when we stayed here. The entire house and surroundings were beautiful and very peaceful. The host was very accommodating to our early schedules also.


Tucked Away and Quiet

4,6 sur mai 23, 2012

Nice, quiet, and tucked away in Butler, PA. There was a surprising amount of food/ necessities nearby, despite feeling much further removed from everything. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic! Would definitely stay there again, if we're ever in the area.


Quaint, and adequate

3,8 sur mai 09, 2012

While tricky to find (do not trust GPS or Google Maps!), it was beautifully secluded with a remarkable view. It perfectly suited our needs, and Carol was simply lovely to deal with. Thank you!


Highly Recommend!

5 sur avril 12, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Locust Brook Lodge and it is the ONLY place I will stay when I visit Butler, PA in the future. The accomodations are excellent, the food is wonderful and the location/view is spectacular! Carol, the inkeeper, is a dear. She is committed to making her guests feel at home. Thanks, Carol, for another great visit! Debby


great value and a good place to stay.

4,6 sur mars 12, 2012

We were on a hauling trip and the out of the way location was just what we were looking for. It was quite and affordable. We were met by a great host and breakfast was more than we expected. If we are back in the area we will book again from Norman and Elaine. thanks Carol.


Honeymoon Night

4,0 sur mars 07, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful B&B in Butler PA the night of our wedding. We were given a free upgrade to a wonderful room and greatly enjoyed our time there.


Great, quiet Bed and Breakfast

4,2 sur décembre 20, 2011

Absolutely, great bed and breakfast. Friendly hostess. Beautiful rooms. Set back off the road and very quiet.


Going Home

5 sur novembre 23, 2011

I missplaced my card to write my review in Oct. That is when I visited Locust Brook Lodge. I grew up in western Pennsylvania but, I have lived away from there for over thirty years now.Now that my childhood home has been sold,I stay at the lodge when I visit my family.How lucky that is! My reservations are often last minute so, I take any room that is open.So far I have stayed in five of them and would not be able to choose a favorite.Carol has always made me feel at home, in fact, better than home.Clean, comfortable rooms, lots of nature, and a breakfast that can be the main meal of the day.I look forward to my next visit and, wouldn't stay anywhere else.


Country comfort

4,0 sur novembre 09, 2011

This is my 3rd time staying with Carol who is a very sweet woman. The house is warm and welcoming in a beautiful quiet setting. The food, as always a was delicious variety each day and I will add it has never been the same from any of my visits! I look forward to my next stay!


Butler, PA

4,0 sur octobre 26, 2011

The room was very nice, and the bathroom facilities were excellent. Breakfast was very special with the quiche, bacon, juices, and pudding.


Everything nice but a couple small issues

2,8 sur octobre 16, 2011

The owner was pleasant. The room was simple, nothing fancy, but clean. The bed was very comfortable. The blue towels had faded, bleached spots on them and smelled faintly of what seemed like cigarette smoke when I went to dry my face with them. That was a turnoff. The room didn't smell like that, but the towels did. Breakfast was simple, but good. The country location was beautiful and it was quiet. Compared to what hotels cost, this was reasonable. Would probably stay there again.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm very sorry that your stay with us was less than expected. We do not allow smoking indoors,so i'm not sure what the oder was, but I sincerely apologise. When we opened I started with all ivory towels and later decided to try some colors for interest, not knowing that some grooming aids effect the dyes. Those towels will be retired. I hope to have addressed all your issues if you decide to give us another try.


El mejor alojamiento estadounidense en el que hemos estado

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2011

Mis padres y yo hicimos una visita a diversos lugares de los Estados de Nueva York y Pensilvania y una de esas paradas fue en el Locust Brook Lodge de Carol. LLegamos al atardecer y el GPS nos indicó mal la situación de la casa, pero preguntamos a un vecino y todo se solucionó. Carol nos habilitó una segunda cama para que en la habitación pudiéramos dormir los tres y nos dio todas las indicaciones que les pedimos para compras que teníamos que hacer y también para cenar. En Butler y muy cerquita de la casa de Carol, hay un área comercial bastante completo. La habitación era amplia, así como el baño. Todo perfecto; descansamos bien gracias a las camas y la tranquilidad que hay en la casa y los alrededores. También el desayuno nos gustó mucho, así que nos dio mucha pena cuando tuvimos que despedir a Carol para seguir con nuestro viaje. Lo recomendamos sin lugar a dudas. Un saludo desde Castilla, España.


2nd stay just as nice as the first!

5 sur septembre 25, 2011

It was our second stay at Locust Brook Lodge and it was just as good as the first. Carol is always so pleasant and the house is beautiful. I'm sure we will be spending many more long weekends at Locust Brook!


Peacefull B & B

4,8 sur septembre 19, 2011

We just spent 7 days at Locust Brook. I'm not a big fan of B & B but this may have changed my mind. The location seems very isolated but is in fact only 5 minutes from eating and shopping. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. Carol served us something different and home cooked each morning. I never left the table hungry. We plan to stay there again next year.


Great place! Highly recommend.

4,6 sur août 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time! Carol is great! Wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you!


Nice Place

4,0 sur août 18, 2011

Very nice and quite. Comfortable bed and huge, clean rooms. Reasonably priced. A little hard to find. Entrance sign was partially block by some weeds. Don't go by your GPS, it will mislead you.


How nice!

3,8 sur août 02, 2011

This is what we had expected of a B&B. Very welcoming & homey!


Great stay!

4,0 sur juillet 31, 2011

We loved our stay at the Locust Brook Lodge! We are a family of four. The Hunt room worked out perfect for us and the price was great! We loved how quiet it is here. We loved seeing the deer. The breakfast was our favorite. We will stay here again if in the area. Thanks!


You must stay here!

5 sur juillet 23, 2011

The owner, Carol, is so wonderful and kind! My husband and I had a fabulous night. The room was perfect; breakfast was delicious; and the grounds were so peaceful. We would definitely stay again!


Lovely weekend

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

Our family came to town for a wedding and had four rooms at Locust Brook Lodge. All of them were very clean, tubs and showers were great, comfy mattresses. Carol cooks a delicious, hot breakfast, homemade nut bread, fresh fruit. Skip the cheap motels in Butler, and drive a few minutes out to the country to Locust Brook.


Great escape

5 sur juillet 02, 2011

Beautiful home and property. A feeling of out in the middle of nowhere but only a short drive to just about anything you would need in Butler. A very relaxing escape from the real world.


Comfortable Stay!

5 sur juin 23, 2011

I have never stayed at a bed and breakfast but I read reviews and chose the Locust Brook Lodge. I was met at the door by Carol who showed me to my room. She was very courteous and helpful, I appreciated that! I felt so comfortable! It was like staying at home! The next morning Carol cooked a great breakfast! The Locust Brook Lodge costed less than any hotel in the area but the environment certainly exceeded any hotel I would have stayed at!


Marathon Weekend

3,6 sur juin 18, 2011

Stayed here for a quick overnight visit to the Pittsburgh area. Didn't realize that 30 miles north of Pittsburgh meant an hour of travel time, but it was worth the drive. Much quicker time back by taking the highway instead of Rt. 8. Little hard to find in the dark even with GPS. A light on the sign at the end of the road would have been helpful. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and Carol was a lovely hostess.


Wedding Visit

4,4 sur juin 01, 2011

We needed to be in Butler for a family wedding and all the hotels were booked by the time we attempted to schedule (lucky for us!!). I hadn't even thought of a bed and breakfast until I was trying to figure out other possibilities. We are so happy we found Carol's wonderful home. We wish we had more time to spend at the B&B because it was so peaceful. We had never stayed at a B&B before and didn't know what to expect - so it was far beyond our expectations. The breakfasts were fantastic - you walked out of your room and you could smell the wonderful scent of the coffee and food wafting through the air. Carol is a great hostess and makes you feel very welcome. We hope to return for a longer stay instead of just a week-end. We highly recommend Locust Brook Lodge.


Visit to Butler for Wedding

5 sur mai 12, 2011

We stayed in the Provencal room and it is beautiful. Very comfortable with a great view from the window. Carol is a very gracious hostess and we thouroughly enjoyed breakfast both mornings we were there. What a wonderful weekend getaway!


A nice getaway!

4,4 sur mars 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to get out of town for 2 days and never been to a B&B before. I have to say we had no idea what to expect. The whole experience was definetly worth the amazing price. Carol was very nice and the breakfast was amazing. We went at an odd time and had the whole place to ourselves. We stayed in the bird room and i have to say it exceeded our expectations. It was a very clean and delightful room. We had our own bathroom and TV with satellite cable. Carol provided us with some snacks we were provided with the use of a microwave and refrigerator if we needed to store away leftovers. I will say thought the entrance to the lodge was tricky and the road is all gravel which was a bit unusual. The lodge is near a lot of sites for things to do and offers beautiful scenery. I totally recomment the Locust Brook Lodge for any reason for a stay or just to get away. Carol is a very nice lady that hosts a great B&B and cooks up an amazing breakfast. I will definetely go back sometime.


above expectation

4,0 sur mars 25, 2011

The locust brook lodge far exceeded any expectations I had for my over night stay. It is a very relaxing and serene setting far away from any congestion of day to day life. Overall an awesome bed and breakfast and hope to have an opportunity to stay in the future for more nights.


Wonderful place to stay!

5 sur février 21, 2011

Everything about our stay here was great! I would definitely recommend this place to my family and friends. The breakfast was spectacular and Carol was the best hostess.


Had a great time.

4,4 sur février 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Locust Brook Lodge over Valentine's Day. Carol was wonderful and our stay was pleasant. You will love her stuffed french toast!


Great Survice

3,8 sur février 18, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was wonderful. We had our privacy but were able to enjoy the time with other guests after breakfast over coffee. Crystal S


A Wonderful Getaway

4,6 sur janvier 03, 2011

We spent a wonderful week here at Locust Brook. Carol was an excellent host. She made sure all of our needs were met and outdid herself with breakfasts. She was also very knowledgeable of the area and helped us enjoy, not only our stay at the Lodge, but the area as well. I would return to this b&b and recommend it to others.


great place to stay

4,6 sur décembre 13, 2010

Needed a place for one night on short notice. Reserrvation process was fast and easy. The Lodge and our room were great. Unfortunately, we could not enjoy the grounds because there were several inches of snow on the ground. Looking forward to staying there again.


Relaxed country inn

5 sur décembre 11, 2010

This is a great location. Country feel, near the city. Relax in the caring hands of owners Carol & Ed. Great breakfast!


We LOVED our stay!!!

5 sur décembre 08, 2010

I wasn't exactly sure what to expect from the Butler area as we were visiting my boyfriend's family but from the first contact, Carol made us feel welcome! I have a dog that is usually precluded from travelling with me because of his size. Carol was more than accomodating in allowing my dog to come with us so that added an extra bonus to our trip. Our room was comfortable with a lovely view and provided us the opportunity to either interact with the other guests or spend some time alone. Carol was there to answer any questions we had, she was fantastic to talk to, and the food she prepared was wonderful. This was my boyfriend's first time saying in a B&B. Our trip was so nice and comfortable that he's now hooked on B&B's and we're already planning on staying at Locust Brook Lodge again, whenever we're in that area. I would highly recommend Locust Brook Lodge as a place to stay!


Great Friendly Place in Butler

4,2 sur décembre 04, 2010

Thanks to Carol, the owner and manager and her husband. I did enjoy my two weeks stay during my apartment search after moving to Butler, PA. Great place and Great people. I am sure that I will be staying in this B&B again.


A wonderful experience

4,2 sur novembre 27, 2010

Where to begin? I enjoyed every aspect of Locust Brook Lodge. Carol and Ed obviously put a lot of thought and work into making this a lovely place to stay. The lodge offers 2 indoor public areas: one allows for quiet reading, conversation, contemplation while the second accommodates TV/movie watching and playing games. My room was very nicely decorated and had a tub that was grand for soaking in. The only drawback was that the walls could have used a bit more soundproofing; unfortunately, the guest in the adjacent room snored quite loudly. I have relatives in the area who invited me to join them for breakfast. Pity, because the breakfast spread that Carol put out looked absolutely delicious. My only regret is that my visit was short. I am looking forward to future visits to Locust Brook Lodge.


Cannot wait to return!

5 sur octobre 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Locust Brook Lodge, it was exactly what we were looking for! The property is beautiful, and the details put into the house are amazing! We had a great time exploring with our German Shepherd Mix, who did not require a deposit. Our room was beautiful with an entrance right onto the patio, and the other right into the homey and spacious entertainment room. We loved relaxing in our whirlpool tub and then playing a couple of games of pool before watching a movie on the big screen tv. Breakfast in the morning was just outstanding, we have not stopped telling people about those pancakes! It is such a nice and close drive from Pittsburgh, but it's such a whole new relaxing world. We cannot wait for our next visit!


Perfect Birthday Gift

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2010

Greeted by deer arriving at the Lodge. Very quiet and relaxing night stay on my Birthday. Stayed in the accessible room which met our needs perfectly. Carol is a gracious host.


A Must Repeat B&B

5 sur septembre 21, 2010

Although we had booked the most economical room we were upgraded to a larger room at no additional expense. We did tour the second floor bedrooms which are probably 50% bigger than the basement rooms, but only slightly more expensive. When we return we will ante up the extra few dollars and take advantage of a really special stay on the second floor. The second floor family suite was just great for a family of four. The breakfast of stuffed French Toast with a berry sauce was truly gourmet. Our delightful hostess was glad to share the recipe with me. Yummmy! This was such a wonderful B&B in such an unexpected rural area. TRY IT!


What a treasure

4,8 sur août 30, 2010

I was very pleased with my choice of accommodations and decision to stay at the Locust Brook Lodge. As a world traveler, I have come to appreciate the quiet comfort of a B and B and made a good decision choosing this one. The location is central to the area, Carol the owner, is extremely accommodating and the grounds, rooms, breakfast and other guests provided a memorable experience and the desire to return again soon.


Very Nice, Relaxing Stay!

3,8 sur août 13, 2010

Carol, the Innkeeper, was very friendly! She was very helpful in giving directions around town and telling us good places to eat and things to do. Would recommend this place to anyone!


An exceptional experience!

5 sur novembre 06, 2009

We really enjoyed our weekend getaway at Locust Brook Lodge. The lodge was very homey with a beautiful kitchen and sitting area. Carol, the innkeeper, cooked up some delicious breakfasts! We were located very close to Mcconnell's Mill and Morane Parks, where we did lots of hiking


Locust Brook Lodge

4,0 sur septembre 11, 2009

This is one stay that could have really gone south for us, but it didn't. The starter died in my truck right in the parking lot, but we were saved by the grace of another guest who drove me to pickup a new one. I replaced it in under an hour and we were on our way for dinner. You're gonna love the view from the front of the house overlooking the valley. There are dozens of deer grazing around in the early evening so drive up the dirt road slowly. They'll run across the road when they see your headlights coming.


Our stay at Locust Brook Lodge

3,6 sur juillet 05, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Serenity Room. Carol and her daughter greeted us when we arrived and were very friendly. We were in Butler (visiting from out of state) for a family reunion and celebration. We loved that Locust Brook Lodge was outside of Butler proper, since my family live just a couple miles away, which made it extremely convenient for us. Carol and her husband actually knew my family in Butler. The room was quiet and peaceful. The grounds were nestled on a country road surrounded by beautiful lush green hills. We enjoyed seeing the animals and taking in the nature. Carol prepared fresh baked biscuits, fresh fruit, and a polenta and sausage dish for breakfast. I failed to mention to Carol that I was vegetarian when I made the reservation, she told me if she had known she would've prepared a more veggie friendly breakfast. If you are vegetarian or vegan just let Carol know when you make the reservation and I have no doubt she'll make something delicious for you. Not only was Carol friendly and gracious, she was also flexible. Due to our evening flight out of Pittsburgh we asked Carol if we could visit with family and come to check out in the afternoon rather than the morning. Since our room wasn't reserved for another visitor that night she was able to accommodate our request for a later check out. We couldn't have been happier with our experience with Locust Brook Lodge. Thanks so much Carol and Ed!


My new home

4,0 sur juillet 04, 2009

A gem of a B & B. In an area where nice lodging is hard to find, the Locust Brook Lodge was a nice surprise. The rooms are very nice and there are many options to fit your needs. Even a two bedroom suite. There is a common room with a TV and pool table which is great for kids. The inn is located amidst farmland and there is an abundance of wildlife around. Very peaceful! Carol was so accommodating. I enjoyed conversation with her. She was like a second mom. The breakfasts were truly wonderful and were probably the highlight of my stay. You have to try her banana bread! A wonderful place if you want a homey environment. I would not stay anywhere else when I am in the area


My pets and I couldn't have found a better place

5 sur mai 31, 2009

On my return from Michigan with my new 8 week old lab and 9 year old sheltie I could not have been more suprised to find this gem in the country. The walks the wildlife the rooms the peace and quiet. Outstanding. Carol the owner was most accomodating to my mother myself and my two four legged friends. The house is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms tastefully designed. The property beautiful and expansive. A 10 mile drive to Moraine State park. I highly recommend staying at Locust Brook Lodge. The breakfasts are great too. Carol even got up early and had a pot of coffee ready for me at 5 AM......We are already planning our return visit...


Outstanding location, restful facility.

4,4 sur avril 24, 2009

Although a little hard to find, I got lost, the setting, was really pleasing to the eye as I approached. My hostess couldn't have been more accomodating and the rooms very peaceful and comfortable. Breakfasts were tops. I plan to return.


good value for the money

4,0 sur septembre 26, 2008

It was very quiet and accommodating.


Our First Bed and Breakfast

4,0 sur août 12, 2008

This was our first stay at a B&B and frankly before we got there we were a little scared. But the stay was wonderful. The room was tidy and spacious, with its own bathroom. The location is pretty and convenient, on a secluded farm, but only about 5 minutes or so from shopping. This stay has opened our eyes to a new means of travel!!


Good Value

3,2 sur août 04, 2008

Nice B&B Nice owners good Value nice area


Son's first stay

3,6 sur juillet 21, 2008

This was the first time we took my son to a B&B with us and he loved it. We all had a nice time and loved all about the B&B.


Home Away From Home

3,8 sur juillet 21, 2008

We live in the country, so staying at the Locust Brook Lodge made us feel like we were at home. We even seen a flock of turkeys in the morning (just like home).


Gracious Country

5 sur juin 27, 2008

Upon arrival we were greeted by Carol and the smell of freshly baked bread. After a short tour and noting the time for breakfast was 9 AM, we were escorted to the Songbird Room. Very neat and tidy. There were 12 of us at breakfast each morning. Great company! The location means no traffic noise and beautiful countryside to view. A wonderful place to stay.


Close to Pittsburgh

3,2 sur mai 02, 2008

Modern country get away on real farm and lots of wildlife


Peaceful & Friendly

5 sur février 19, 2008

I have never felt safer or more welcomed when traveling alone. From the tranquil surroundings to Carol's wonderful breakfasts made this a 5 star accommodation. Loved the lovely wooded surroundings, private entrance & bath and WiFi too! - Recommend highly!


I would highly recommend

5 sur février 11, 2008

This B&B is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The Innkeepers warm and charming. Outstanding breakfast. Very quiet and relaxing. I would definitely recommend the Locust Brook Lodge


Would Stay Again -- and I'm a Local!

5 sur décembre 16, 2007

I was a guest at the lodge for a Christmas party and took a tour. I was so impressed with the beautiful rooms and the food at the party, I inquired about availability for the following week. I made a reservation for an overnight stay with my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. Because the date fell just before the Christmas crunch, we had the "run of the place". We stayed in the Trout Room - because it was outdoorsy, masculine, and right off of the large recreation room. We played pool and air hockey, drank wine, watched DVDs, and thoroughly enjoyed the homey atmosphere. The bed was comfortable and the shower was HUGE! The next morning, our hostess Carol prepared one of the most delicious breakfasts we've ever had -- what a treat! Our stay couldn't have been more memorable -- a welcome getaway only ten minutes from home!


Pleasant Get-a-way

4,4 sur octobre 26, 2007

This was a nice, down-to-earth B&B. The breakfast was wonderful and the rooms clean and pleasant.


gracious hosts

4,2 sur octobre 12, 2007

We had out of town guests stay here and they praised the accommodations and inn keepers, Carol and Bob. Some months later the lodge hosted a rehearsal dinner for our son's marriage and we couldn't have been more pleased. It was such a lovely, relaxed evening and the food was wonderful.


serenity room

3,6 sur septembre 09, 2007

The owner and the room I stayed in made my first stay in an B&B wonderful..


Locust Brook Lodge

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $80 - $150
  • Avis (96) 4,4
  • Chambres 7

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7242838453

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut