Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté5,0
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
98 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Lovely Bed & Breakfast

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2014

We stayed only one night but enjoyed it very much. Spotless and beautifully decorated, and the food was excellent. We highly recommend this property!


Beautiful Place

5 sur octobre 16, 2014

Only minutes from the campus and was lovely. Immaculate, peaceful and breakfast was home made and lovely. Would definitely book again.


Penn State Move In

5 sur août 26, 2014

Excellent B&B! Very clean, accommodating, and friendly host.


We always enjoy our stay!

4,2 sur août 09, 2014

This B&B always looks brand new; so clean, freshly painted and great sheets and towels. The breakfast is always delicious. The only telling sign of age is the gardens grow more mature every year.


The Rock Garden, Beautiful!

5 sur juillet 23, 2014

We stay at the Rock garden about 6 times a year. It is always perfect, the food, the facility, the setting. Joe the owner and chef is so down to earth and friendly he does everything possible to make your stay perfect. We consider Joe a wonderful friend. Absolutely love this place.


Second great stay

5 sur juillet 16, 2014

We enjoyed our second great stay with Joe and Laura at The Rock Garden during the Central PA Arts Festival. Not only are their rooms beautiful, but the B&B is easy to find and close to State College. We enjoy the country setting and the laid back pace. Breakfast is outstanding!


Excellent B&B experience

5 sur juin 25, 2014

Joe and Laura were very nice and have an outstanding property.


A gem in Boalsburg

4,8 sur juin 18, 2014

Just minutes from State College, this beautiful B&B is perfect for a visit to the area. The entire place is attractively decorated-- and everything is clean, bright and new. The breakfasts are plentiful. With advance notice, they can accommodate early morning service for breakfast.


Love B&B at the Rock Garden!!

5 sur juin 12, 2014

Have stayed at this B&B several times. Beautiful, well maintained, Joe is a great host and excellent cook! Rooms are spacious with wonderful mountain views. Every little detail is taken care of and it's just an enjoyable stay any time we've been there.


The best Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur mai 06, 2014

We stayed last weekend for a concert and from the moment we arrived everything was wonderful. The pancake breakfast we had was delicious, the serviced was very personal and nice. The room and the property was gorgeous, the photos truly do it no justice. It was a very well priced bed and breakfast, and we would love to stay again!


What a wonderful Birthday weekend! Thank you Joe!

5 sur avril 30, 2014

We were so surprised and so impressed with The Rock Garden!! We were celebrating my 30th birthday by going to many of the wineries on the winetrail and stayed at the Rock Garden. The B&B was very clean and very cozy. The rooms were great: spacious, private, cozy and each with a private bath. The gardens were beautiful and the location is great! Off the road, lots of land, and a beautiful garden makes it feel so private and luxurious but you're only 5 minutes away from State College and Boalsburg! Joe made it feel like home from the moment we arrived! Acting as a short order cook, he made whatever we wanted for breakfast and it was delicious! He gave us great tips on the area and places to go to get the most of our weekend. He was very friendly, hospitable and helpful. Joe and the Rock Garden made my birthday weekend unforgettable! Thanks Joe!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur avril 22, 2014

My daughter and I were visiting Penn State on our college tour. We found the Rock Garden to be a wonderful home away from home. After a long journey in from California, Joe welcomed us at the door, showed us around, and gave us helpful tips of the local area. The food was excellent and Joe is the best host. He even gave us umbrellas to use on Monday! This is the best bed and breakfast that I have ever stayed in.


Excellent choice - a little country hospitality close to Penn State!

4,6 sur mars 26, 2014

This was an incredible find - a lovely home - built to serve the needs of the customers - each bedroom with it's own bathrooms! Lovely communal area with leather couches and wood burning fireplace. Joe, the owner, is a hospitable and attentive host. Definitely recommend this B & B for couples wishing a nice getaway....not cheap, but worth it!!!


Wonderful time!

4,8 sur février 27, 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed staying here while visiting PSU nearby. The owners gave great information about getting to/from campus, The house is beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the wood-burning fireplace that kept us warm on those chilly nights! We'll definitely be coming back!


Wow!!

4,6 sur février 26, 2014

Joe does it all, runs the B&B, Cooks breakfast & cleans the rooms - all with a smile on his face!!


We Always Stay at the Rock Garden when in State College

5 sur janvier 10, 2014

Very warm and friendly owners. Great breakfasts. You will not leave hungry. Rooms are spotless and with very comfortable beds. Surroundings are very quiet also. We enjoyed watching the birds and other animals at breakfast from the beautiful dinning room. We will stay here again next time we are back in State College.


Would like to go back!

5 sur novembre 18, 2013

Very friendly, casual and comfortable atmosphere. One of the cleanest places we have ever stayed! The room had a great view, very comfortable bed, and drinks and snacks were available at all times. Breakfast was delicious with strata, baked goods, fruit, and yogurt. We hope to get back here whenever we are visiting Penn State.


Absolutely perfect!

5 sur novembre 07, 2013

my girlfriend and I stated this lovely home while attending a Penn State football game. it was the highlight of our trip. We couldn't have asked for more!


The best!

5 sur novembre 01, 2013

Beyond pristine! Great room, great food, beautiful location and views. Very warm and friendly welcome. Sandie & Ann


Outstanding B&B

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

We usually stay in a hotel but based on my inlaws recommendation, we stayed at this B&B. What a wonderful experience! The rooms were clean, and the breakfast was extremely tasty. The innkeeper was talkative and knowledgeable about the area and current events. Thank you for an outstanding venture. We need to come more often.


Outstanding B&B!

5 sur septembre 23, 2013

Everything was perfect! The rooms and grounds were beautiful! And the people were wonderful!


Mountain splendor at it's finest!

5 sur septembre 23, 2013

Revisiting Happy Valley for the first time in decades, we lucked out upon finding this jewel. My wife was taken by it's immaculate cleanliness. Every detail from design, painting to floor cover appeared to have fresh professional attention. Enjoyed a wonderful stuffed French toast breakfast with all the fresh fruit I could eat. Joe's knowledge of the area made for great breakfast conversation. The nearby winery is another draw we enjoyed. Well worth the trip from North Carolina!


Love this B&B

5 sur septembre 08, 2013

A wonderful relaxing place to stay


Worth a detour

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2013

It was excellent in every way. Nearby village of Boalburg was fascinating and had a great pub.


Our first time at Rock Garden

5 sur septembre 07, 2013

This was an outstanding B & B. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, the beds really comfy and the breakfast was great. We also enjoyed sitting on the porch and just enjoying the view and checking out the greenhouse. Wonderful!!! Hope to be able to return soon.


trip across PA

4,6 sur septembre 01, 2013

The rooms were lovely, gorgeous. Service wonderful. The B and B is in a suburb of state college, so it is a serious football town! It is in a beautiful area and the property is surrounded by birds. Really peaceful. The only caution I have is that when we went for an early morning walk one neighbor allowed their dogs to roam free and they charged us. The staff at the bed and breakfast quickly got me the police department and all is well. I would definitely return, maybe in the winter.


Enjoyed our stay

4,8 sur août 09, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the rock garden b&b. we loved the beautiful house and grounds and liked checking out the perennials at the garden shop. We also enjoyed sitting on the front porch watching the hummingbirds. Owners were friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and comfortable. We hope to stay again.


Doing it right!

5 sur juin 24, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights here at Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden. We have stayed at many B&B's over the years and we would rate this facility as one of the best. Joe and Laura, the innkeepers, make you feel at home the moment you walk through the door. Their home is warm and welcoming. The breakfast served both mornings were delicious. The setting is beautiful. Our stay here was the highlight of our stay in Pennsylvania. Joe and Laura are doing it right! Oliver & Melinda from Georgia


Great Experience

4,4 sur juin 13, 2013

Plan to stay there again.


Extremely enjoyable stay

5 sur mai 30, 2013

Everything was just perfect!


Kind Owners - Excellent Facility

4,4 sur mai 27, 2013

Was only able to stay one night, but had excellent stay in very clean and comfortable house. Owners very freindly and kind.


Beautiful, friendly, quiet

5 sur mai 15, 2013

The location is beautiful and quiet, the bed was unbelievably comfortable, the host friendly and informative, and the food was utterly fantastic. It's only a few minutes drive to State College, yet seems worlds removed.


Penn State Graduation Stay

5 sur mai 09, 2013

We've now stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden twice. Both times the service, cleanliness and breakfast were outstanding. It is very quiet in the rooms - no young kids running at 3 am over top of you. Even the bed was comfortable, not being rock hard as in most hotel/motel chains but it wasn't soft either. As Goldilocks would say, it was just right. And I usually take at least 3 nights in a hotel bed to get any sleep and never a good night's sleep. At this B&B, I got a good night's sleep the first night both times. The surrounding countryside is also beautiful and the air is clean. It was a delight staying there both times.


Great place for a quiet getaway or a Penn State football game.

5 sur mai 01, 2013

I went up to Happy Valley for my annual trip with several high school friends. This was my second stay here and it was every bit as good as the first. Joe is very welcoming and goes out of his way to make you feel at home. It was built specifically as a bed and breakfast so the layout is great. We had stuffed french toast the first day and a three egg cheese omlet the second both days included fruit, yogurt, breakfast meat, etc. The place sits at the bottom of Mt. Nittany which is a great hike for views of the valley. I highly recommend.


We'll be Back!!

4,6 sur avril 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Rock Garden B&B twice now and we will be returning again in the near future. The hosts are very friendly and work hard to make your stay the best that it can be. The rooms are very nice and the house is cozy and comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the weekend, the perfect way to start the day!! The Inn is very convenient to the Penn State University campus and is an easy drive. Looking forward to returning again soon.


Awesome b&b in State College

5 sur avril 24, 2013

This was a great place for a weekend at Penn State. It was clean, comfortable, and our host made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. I would recommend it to anyone.


A Relaxing Weekend at a Beautiful Location

4,8 sur avril 24, 2013

The Rock Garden is lovely to the eye, both inside and out. We were greeted by the innkeeper with warmth and good conversation. Our room was very clean and attractive with a gorgeous view of the grounds. The evenings were capped off with a warm fire and a glass of wine (BYO) Breakfast was delicious and hearty. We stayed for two evenings and plan to return again.


A Lovely Place to Stay

5 sur avril 21, 2013

This B & B is lovely! The house is beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. The proprietors are helpful and friendly. It is our preferred accommodation in the State College area.


A lovely last minute surprise...

4,8 sur février 24, 2013

I made plans to attend a conference at the Penn Stater, and neglected to book a room. Once I discovered my error, it was too late, as there were a number of competing events at the college. What a wonderful surprise to find a cancellation at this daring B&B! The host was very accommodating to our early schedule, cheerful and helpful. The rooms VERY clean, house-wide Wifi made it all the better. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again..


Wonderful Stay, Welcoming and Warm Atmosphere

4,8 sur février 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Easy to find and close to the Penn State Campus. This is a very clean and tastefully decorated B&B. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. Joe the Inn Keeper is very welcome and attentive. Breakfast was freshly prepared by Joe. The grounds are beauttiful. We will definately stay there again; and we recommend it without hesitation.


Love the Rock Garden!

5 sur février 21, 2013

This was my second stay at the Rock Garden, and it's always a pleasure! We even had some odd requirements (like needing breakfast at 5:45 am and coming and going at all hours) that Joe took on with batting an eye -- being as accommodating as possible. I would definitely recommend it!


Rock Garden Thon

4,6 sur février 20, 2013

Great location, very clean and warm.


Exceeded Expectations

4,0 sur février 13, 2013

Great location, beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable, gracious owners. Would highly recommend. I'll be back.


Great place to stay close to State College

4,4 sur février 12, 2013

Rooms were well appointed. Location is close to State College, but provides a quiet setting. Joe was a great host and made us feel very welcome.


We'll Be Back!

4,8 sur janvier 23, 2013

The Rock Garden B & B could not have been more lovely. Knowing nothing of State College, we picked it off the web site, and could not have been more pleased. Joe and Laura were exceedingly welcoming, giving us directions to good food and great hikes. Their great room had a roaring fire, and the sun room was comfortable for mountain gazing or star gazing. They provided us with fruit, snacks, and beverages on a help-yourself basis. The grounds and views were lovely, the home spotless and conveniently located. We will absolutely return here when we visit State College again.


wonderful weekend respite

4,8 sur novembre 14, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful weekend together, warmed by the cozy fire, comfortable beds, delicious food! Would highly recommend this B&B to all!


Heaven

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

It is absolutely gorgeous inside & out. The homeowners are very friendly, excellent cooks. They do everthing to make your stay welcoming & caring to us.


Love the Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden

5 sur novembre 05, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden on a random Thursday night visit to PSU. We could not have been more pleased! The place was immaculate, warm and inviting. Joe was a great host. The room was adorable. The views were spectacular and I am sure they are breathtaking when the leaves are in full color. I strongly recommend the Inn. We are looking for a reason to come back and visit the area just to stay there again!


Fantastic Stay at the Rock Garden !!!

4,6 sur octobre 22, 2012

As a young couple (considering room costs) and passing through the state college area and looking for a quiet place to unwind, we found the Rock Garden. Staying at another inn around the area, we found good accommodation, but Joe and Laura made us feel right at home. Joe really did establish himself as a fantastic host, going above and beyond what's generally required of an inn keeper. He's extremely friendly, a good conversationalist, but above all, welcoming. Considering the Rock Garden: it's a beautiful and open house, with a wonderful wrap around porch. The rooms are open and they suit my needs, but most importantly they are refreshingly clean. I don't need much, but my girlfriend was thrilled that the room and the house and every square inch of it was pristine. For me, I was only worried about location. Considering everything, you're in close approximation to: 1. The Mt. Nittany Vineyard: Wine Tasting and a beautiful vineyard (2 min. away) 2. The village of Lemont - awesome cafe (cafe lemont) and art galleries (5min.) 3. The village of Boalsburg - high end shopping (for the ladies, spending someone else's money of course!) and Duffy's Tavern for the men (with great craft beers, food,etc.) (8min.) 4. Mt. Nittany - Great Trails and Hiking! (5min.) 5. State College - (10 min.) Between price and location you really can't find better value out of any of the B&B's in the area. Do yourself a favor and check out the Rock Garden!


Our First Parents Weekend

5 sur octobre 15, 2012

We discovered The Rock Garden through an internet search and decided to try it. It was truly one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in. It was beautiful, clean, perfectly located near Penn State, and the service was wonderful. We will always stay there when visiting our daughter at Penn State!


Outstanding B&B

5 sur octobre 14, 2012

I've always been a fan of B&Bs and try to stay at them when I can while traveling. The Rock Garden was an absolutely wonderful experience. While at Penn State for Families Weekend, my daughter and I stayed at The Rock Garden. It was meticulously clean and our host, Joe, was extremely accommodating. I had car trouble while there and he made several recommendations for service repairs. Our breakfasts were completely homemade, incredibly delicious and filling. Hot chocolate chip cookies awaited us in the evenings and there were always snacks and drinks available in the kitchen for our access. It was an absolutely wonderful stay and we would stay there again.


The Best

5 sur septembre 24, 2012

Joe, the innkeeper & owner is outstanding with service & friendship & an excellent host & cook


relaxing and peaceful bed and breakfast

5 sur septembre 13, 2012

My husband and I booked our stay at the Rock Garden as part of my birthday celebration. I was raised and went to school in the area and wanted to make a return visit. We could not have chosen a more peaceful and relaxing place to spend the night. Waking up early to have coffee on the porch and walk the grounds while the dew was still on the grass was a fabulous way to start the day. Breakfast was amazing and Joe was a wonderful host and conversationalist. We would definitely return for another stay, which hopefully can be for a longer period of time next visit.


A beautiful place to relax and enjoy your surroundings, inside and outside

5 sur septembre 11, 2012

Joe and Laura are lovely people who do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. Our room was very comfortable and all the common areas have amazing views of the surrounding countryside. I want to experience this B&B in every season of the year. Our breakfast was outstanding and the conversation with other guests added to the experience.


A Country Treasure

4,2 sur août 12, 2012

We had the ADA room on the first floor, and found it to be spacious, comfortable, and quiet. Everything about the B&B at The Rock Garden is beautiful, clean and peaceful. I especially enjoyed having a quiet cup of coffee early in the morning while sitting in the alcove overlooking the pergola and back yard. It was a bit drizzly and nasty outside, but it was just so cozy and nice to sit there and enjoy a quiet cup of coffee.


Fabulous find in Happy Valley

4,8 sur août 09, 2012

The Rock Garden B and B is a wonderful retreat minutes from PSU.


Clean, quiet, spacious, and convenient B&B

4,6 sur août 09, 2012

Joe was very accomadating, the room was spotless and comfortable. I plan on revisiting this delightfull B&B on future trips to that area.


Home Away from Home!

5 sur août 06, 2012

We will always stay with Joe at The Rock Garden when visiting State College It is our State College home away from home!


Great stay

5 sur août 01, 2012

I stumbled upon this B&B by accident and I'm so happy I did. It is the perfect setting and accommodations for a relaxing overnight. I purchased flowers at the garden and wished I'd planned to stay a week instead of just one night. I can't wait to go back! Thank you Joe and Laura Sincerely, Debbie Mattison


Nice and quiet, but nothing special

3,2 sur juillet 13, 2012

The rooms are very lovely and spacious. The property is in a quiet location, and we were the only guests that night, which made it all the more quiet. We enjoyed cocktails (that we brought with us) on the back patio. Breakfast was okay, but I've had better at most other B&Bs of the same value. The proprietor (Joe) was very friendly and helpful but perhaps a bit too chatty -- he never seemed to want to stop talking. To me, a B&B proprietor should be friendly without being intrusive.


The Rock Garden - A Thoroughly Enjoyable B&B

5 sur mai 31, 2012

Where to start....perfect location - quiet, wooded area, but very close to Penn State which was a real plus. Owners, Joe & his wife - AMAZING people. Very gracious hosts, and Joe is an incredible cook! I wanted to take him home with us. Stuffed French Toast out of this world, homemade pastries, and much, much more. Greeted with warm cookies and funny stories. Bed was super comfy, as were the fluffy bathroom towels. Very clean! House was kept nice and cool, with low humidity. Met a lot of really nice people! Give this place a try - you won't regret it. The Wilkersons


We R Penn State

5 sur mai 31, 2012

What a great way to enjoy my down time in State College. Totally relaxed and enjoying myself at the B & B!


A bit hard to find but well worth the trouble

5 sur mai 28, 2012

I expected a remodeled farmhouse from the photos but this B and B was designed and built from the ground up as a commercial Bed and Breakfast and the workmanship and attention to detail is just amazing! I am used to staying in bed and breakfasts with antiques but everything I saw here was obviously from Joe and Laura's personal collection and of very high quality. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever in the area.


Wonderful get away experience

4,8 sur mai 28, 2012

The hosts were wonderfully gracious and the house was beautiful.


Best Bed & Breakfast Ever!

5 sur mai 09, 2012

We were so lucky to get a room at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast on graduation weekend. We just wish we had known about it sooner!!


The Rock Garden

5 sur mai 04, 2012

We loved, loved, loved THE ROCK GARDEN! We have never been more pleased with a B&B - and we have stayed at a number of them over the years!!!!! Give the Rock Garden an A+++.


Best of the Best

5 sur avril 24, 2012

This is probably the nicest place we have ever stayed. The rooms were very comfortable and the hosts were excellent. The building is beautiful as were the view. The grounds were very nicely kept and loved the people we met. We will DEFINITELY stay there again.


First visit but definately won't be the last!!

5 sur mars 24, 2012

I am not sure where to start, so I'll just say you will not be disappointed!! I spent two nights at the inn while my daughter was visiting PSU, and it was a wonderful experience. The inn is absolutely beautiful, impeccably maintained and unbelievably comfortable. I am sure I have never slept in a more comfortable bed, the towels and linens were of the highest quality, and attention has clearly been given to every detail. The Inn Keepers, Joe & Linda, are very friendly, and they made me feel right at home. Joe was very attentive and genuinly seemed to enjoy everything he does at the inn. He took time to learn a little about my interests, and was more than happy to provided a map he highlighted to indicate places he thought I'd enjoy. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and I will most definately be staying again any chance I get in the future!


Great place for a couples weekend away!

5 sur février 12, 2012

We wanted a place with great views, cozy rooms and close to downtown State College. We got it all at The Rock Garden! The house is beautiful. Lots of windows with views of Mt. Nittany. A fireplace with lots of comfortable sitting to keep us warm during our snowy weekend. The bedrooms were wonderful! Very comfortable with modern amenities; the bathrooms were great. The innkeeper did a great job of making sure we were well taken care of during our stay. And it was such a short and easy ride into State College. We are so glad that we stayed here and not a chain hotel.


Gorgeous and Spotless B & B minutes from State Colleg, PA

4,8 sur février 08, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Rock Garden several times over a six-year period. The hosts are more than helpful. The rooms are beautiful. The decor is casual yet traditional and the facility is just a few years old. The beds are very comfortable. We love this B & B and highly recommend i!.


Better than home away from home!

5 sur février 05, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place to stay!!!! Joe and Laura are wonderful hosts, with a gorgeous, extremely comfortable home, delicious meals, and exquisite gardens. We love it!


A Great Weekend

5 sur octobre 17, 2011

My hotel/motel days are over. Bed & Breakfast at the Rock Garden is the only way I'm staying


Best Place in State College PA

5 sur octobre 12, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Rock Garden. We have stayed at many places in State College, including a friend's home, but nothing compares. We are hoping to stay there for our daughter's graduation but they are booked far in advance. I know why now because they are the best. Joe and Laura are very kind, enjoyable people. Joe is adorable in his apron!


Five stars

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2011

Extremely clean & pleasant. Food was good. Innkeeper was very personable.


Perfect in every way!

5 sur septembre 04, 2011

Anxious and in an unfamiliar area, about to leave our only child at Penn State, The Rock Garden and its proprietors were the perfect antidote to our concerns. Spending the time to make sure we knew where we were headed, providing a lovely breakfast each day to fortify us, Joe settled us in beautifully. The quiet and private setting, clean and spacious rooms, and genuine expressions of concern were absolutely what we needed and we will plan to stay again.


Best B&B!!!

5 sur août 31, 2011

We had a 1 night stay planned for the Boalsburg/State College area and we decided to go with the Rock Garden. Stayed in the Nittany Room. This place was built to be a B&B! Not a conversion. Everything is super clean and brand new! Joe and Laura were fantastic hosts and Sunday morning's blueberry blitz was awesome! We will definitely stay there again, as it's only a short trip from Harrisburg, and you can't beat value and welcome you get there.


Simply Awesome!

5 sur août 24, 2011

I don't know where to begin to describe my experience at The Rock Garden! It was simply awesome! The property is amazing! The accomodations are luxurious! And what can I say about Joe and Laura's hospitality? I can't wait to go back! Unfortunately they're booked for my next trip but I'm going to keep my fingers crossed that something opens up!! Regardless, I plan on staying there again for sure...


Great B&B!

4,6 sur août 23, 2011

Another great stay at Joe's B&B! I hate to give it such glowing reviews because Happy Valley's best kept secret will be out! Great food, nice people and soooo clean. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.


Outstanding stay at the Rock Garden

5 sur juillet 30, 2011

Great breakfast, beautiful room with a view. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed the conversation with Joe. Good tips and help with reservations for dinner. Plan to stay there again.


Awesome experience!

5 sur juillet 22, 2011

If I ever go back to St. College Penn, this is where would definitely stay. Absolutely NO complaints. Everything was truly lovely. Didn't rent a car and should have.


Rock Garden

3,8 sur juillet 22, 2011

looking for a clean, relaxing place close to the Penn State Campus


The Rock Garden

4,0 sur juillet 06, 2011

The innkeepers are friendly and hospitable. The rooms are country elegantly decorated. The rooms & baths are kept spotlessly clean with fresh, clean towels everyday. The breakfasts are prepared with fresh, home cooked foods with your preferences asked by the innkeeper; the breakfasts are plentiful with a number of dishes served. The inn is beautiful inside and outside with gardens and views of Mt. Nittany and Tussey Mountain, and a front porch to sit on in a rocking chair.


Beautiful place to stay!

4,8 sur mai 17, 2011

My husband and I just needed a night away to ourselves and we found the B&B at the Rock Garden was very nice. Beautiful location, good food, and great host! We would definitely come back!


Nite away

4,6 sur mars 29, 2011

It was beautiful. The owner was friendly. The food was great.


Great BnB in the State College area!

4,4 sur février 07, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay there for one night so we could catch up with some friends. As the owner, Joe, explained to us, the house was built specifically as a bed and breakfast and it showed. The downstairs is open with a nice warm fire and comfortable leather couch. We enjoyed this after taking a walk around their 17 acre property in sub freezing temperatures. The Nittany Room was spacious and very comfortable. The bed had sheets on it (can't remember the name) that were SO comfortable. They are only available through a dealer. The breakfast was a fantastic dish of stuffed french toast and sausage. We will most definitely be back during the summer months when we can enjoy all the gardens and outside amenities when the weather is nice.


Rock Garden B&B Thanksgiving 2010

4,8 sur décembre 01, 2010

Outstanding hospitality. Very nice rooms. Amazing breakfasts and tasty coffee.


A lovely place!

5 sur octobre 20, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for our second time. I'm glad that we found this gem where we could stay while visiting our son at Penn State. The inn is new and beautiful. We arrived to a roaring fire in the fireplace, and brownies baking in the oven. The inn is in the country, surrounded by gorgeous scenery and landscaping. Joe, the innkeeper, is gracious and very helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Couldn't ask for anything more!


August stay

4,0 sur août 22, 2010

A very nice place to stay. Peaceful setting yet close to the Penn State campus. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the innkeeper was very helpful with information regarding the area.


A Made to Order B&B

5 sur juillet 08, 2010

The Rock Garden, a 9 room B&B, where I recently stayed while attending my neice's wedding, was designed & built to the specifications of the Innkeeper owners 5 years ago. Their outstanding planning & forethought resulted in a B&B that is incomparable. Besides the splendid quarters, the delicious breakfasts were prepared by the Host, Joe Thomas - a true gourmet, whom Julia Childs would be envious of, prepared to individual requirements if necessary! The marvelous nursery, Laura's domain, also on the property - is a 'must' visit. It has a huge variety in everything plants, trees & more of which we bought many before heading back home in VA! One must try the 'guest' status in order to truly understand and experience my tributes to The Rock Garden and its owners. The nursery may be visited at any time! Mary O. Fitzgerald, RN (ret)


Great PSU getaway

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2009

My wife and I had a perfect weekend getaway. Joe and Laura supplied an outstanding house, complimented with a fabulous breakfast. They also went out of their way to make you feel welcome


Rock Garden Rocks

5 sur juillet 09, 2008

Not being a newcomer to a Bed and Breakfast I had an idea of what I should be expecting in my stay. All of those expectations were surpassed and blown out of the water. The Rock Garden was beautifully situated at the base of Mt. Nittany and Tussey Mtns. Joe was absolutely fantastic as an innkeeper, tending to our every need. The breakfasts that he created for us were unreal and filling. I don't have enough space to tell you how great the room was and quiet and peaceful the house actually is. Great place and can't wait to go back.


So Nice.

4,6 sur juillet 03, 2008

My wife and I stayed over at the Rock Garden for one night in June (we needed a place to crash after a wedding). So nice. Joe was very helpful, cooked us an amazing breakfast, even though we were the only guests there, and was very accommodating when we needed to check in early. My wife and I ate breakfast for two hours just relaxing before we left. Two hours! I'll be back next time.


Just Like Home

5 sur juin 18, 2008

Our adult children, coming from NJ, SC & AK joined us for our last PSU grad. We all felt as though we were truly "at home." Wonderful atmosphere, outstanding food.


One night at the Rock Garden

4,2 sur juin 16, 2008

My girlfriend and I spent one evening in this beautiful house just 5 miles south of State College. We were on a motorcycle trip and passing through, so our visit was brief. However, the house was spacious, clean, very accommodating whether lazing about on the deck outside complete with stunning views and Adirondack chairs or inside in various comfortable rooms. Our host was a bit talkative for my taste and I would have preferred someone more succinct and able to read when you want to engage in long conversation or not (and weirdly read us as young and cheap? gaging by his restaurant recommendations); but to be fair he was an extremely accommodating fellow and made an outstanding breakfast spread which we both enjoyed very, very much . I recommend the B&B at the Rock Garden for anyone in the area. Cheers~


Lovely place

5 sur juin 06, 2008

Great place to stay. Would recommend to anyone, you won't be disapointed.


Excellent

5 sur juin 06, 2008

Outstanding Inn


Read this only if you want to enjoy a great place

4,6 sur mai 27, 2008

I met Joe and his family over Memorial day weekend. Very accomodating and pleasant folks. The property is fresh and very clean. The view is just what you'd dream of in a small town mountain B&B. A person can sit on the porch and take in all the views overseeing the nursery in complete relaxation. It's quiet, great views, modern features, a complete departure from the corporate lodging industry. A welcome change. Joe was attentive and very interested in seeing we got anything we needed. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone that likes to be well tended. I liked the no smoking rules as any smokers fumes lingers and degrades a place in my book.


Above and Beyond

5 sur mai 17, 2008

This place was sensational in all respects, especially the warmth and congeniality of the hosts. A true great experience in travel. Don't miss it if you need a place in Central Pa.


Bed and Breakfast at The Rock Garden

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $229
  • Avis (98) 4,8
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8144666100
  • Fax 1-8144662038
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8886207625

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut