Gilded Cupid Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
66 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Amazing weekend getaway...

5 sur juillet 28, 2014

We cannot say enough about Bob and Sheila and their amazing home. you will not be disappointed, this place is the hidden gem of Jim Thorpe! And you will never have a breakfast as decadent and delicious as this one. Lisa and AJ, Delaware


Sheila and Bob are amazing!

5 sur juillet 14, 2014

All I can say is: If you want a nice Victorian style romantic experience, that is quiet, clean, and in a perfect location, stay here. Sheila and Bob are fantastic and the homemade breakfasts that are provided are amazing. W couldn't have asked for a better experience and I defiantly will be coming back! 10 stars! Cody + Ariel


a home away from Home

5 sur septembre 16, 2013

The Gilded Cupid is a home away from home. Friendly, clean, and wonderful food. I highly recommend this B & B. Bob and Shelia are super hosts. George and Wendy Sheaffer


Terrific Weekend Getaway

4,8 sur août 19, 2013

The Gilded Cupid will not disappoint you. Great accommodations, great host and hostess and a really cute town to explore and enjoy. Make your reservation now!


Wonderful in every way!

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

Everything about the Gilded Cupid is simply wonderful. From the time you arrive to the time you check out you can not ask for more. The room was beautiful and nothing short of luxurious. From the bedding to the towels in the spacious bathroom you can tell that every detail was given a special thought and touch. Breakfast was magnificent and that alone would be enough to make us visit again. Bob and Shelia are such gracious hosts and make you feel more than welcome. We can't wait for our next visit and would recommend anyone and everyone to go and enjoy this fabulous bed and breakfast!


A dreamy get away

5 sur juillet 07, 2013

Gilded Cupid is a little secret hidden from the main street because there is no sign or house number. That little adventure set the tone for our stay at Sheila's and Bob's. What delightful people. They really care about their guests and like that word-of-mouth advertising. From the period museum-quality antiques, to the generous, art-worthy breakfasts, our stay was such a delight. Our worries aside, we loved the spacious bathroom which was as big as the bedroom. Decorated for Sheila's sister, Bev, there were Cupids and hearts and love all around. Beautiful fabrics on bed and windows, lots of space to sit and read, glamorous touches with claw-foot tub and a small love seat to take pause while you luxuriate taking the time to get ready for your day. Breakfasts were prepared by Sheila who has such a love of baking and presentation of food that it was almost too pretty to eat. The 4th of July parfait made of vanilla yogurt and topped with organic huckleberries and fresh strawberries made an american flag. Eggs were fluffy and graced with fennel fronds. Cakes were topped with plums and had just the right amount of sweetness. Fresh coffee and green teas, Beautiful china and silverware. You'll feel as cared for inside as outside. We would highly recommend a getaway to the Gilded Cupid under the loving care of Bob and Sheila who will welcome you as a friend.


In love with the Gilded Cupid!

5 sur avril 23, 2013

What a special place for a romantic getaway. We spent one night at the Gilded Cupid in Ana's Room this past weekend, and can't say enough nice things about it. It was beautifully decorated, clean as can be, and incredibly comfortable. The owners, Sheila and Bob, welcomed us and made us feel like family. They recommended the perfect restaurant for dinner, and served us the most sumptuous home-cooked breakfast in the morning. The location was a stone's throw from the Opera House where we had show tickets in the evening, and was walking distance from everything else in town too, including a bike rental shop that we intend to take advantage of to explore the local beauty on our next stay at the Gilded Cupid. We highly recommend this B&B.


A wonderfully relaxing romantic getaway

5 sur janvier 27, 2013

Our getaway was long deserved and we could not have picked a more perfect place. Sheila and Bob are the perfect hosts and are so inviting to the guests that they welcome into their home. A perfectly wonderful time in great little town. We suggest you book the "couples massage" package done right at the house. Thank you again Amie and Chris

Réponse du propriétaire
Amie and Chris You made our job very easy! and I will tell Rose of the Massage complement. Best wishes for a great year. Sincerely Sheila and Bob


The Perfect Getaway

5 sur décembre 25, 2012

Our first stay ever at a bed and breakfast was at the Gilded Cupid and was simply wonderful. Bob & Sheila are the perfect hosts; from their warm welcome to the amazing food and entertaining conversation, their hospitality is unmatched. The Gilded Cupid is a true labor of love and definitely a favorite getaway for us; more and more with every visit. Thank you Bob & Sheila, you will always hold a special place in our hearts. We can't wait til our next visit! Love, Lance & Bella "The best love is the kind that awakens the soul and makes us reach for more, that plants a fire in our hearts and brings peace to our minds."


Didn't want to leave!!

5 sur septembre 28, 2012

Our trip was Sept. 14, 2012 For our anniversary I told my husband to pack and let me do the rest. We ended up at the Gildded Cupid and I am really happy we did. I looked at a lot of other B & B's but something kept drawing me back to this one. I am very happy we did. Meeting Sheila and Bob for the first time was like seeing old friends that you haven't seen in a long time. They are truely wonderful people. The food was out of this world! It was so pretty I had to take a picture of it before I could eat it. The room (Bev's room) was a lot bigger then it looked in the picture. And the bathroom was wonderful! ( soaking tub!). Everything you could want to see is in walking distance. There is something for everyone in this little town. My husband fell in love with the the Gildded Cupid and the town. Before our weekend was even over he was already making plans to bring friends back and guess where we will be staying! Thank you Bob and Sheila for a wonderful time we will never forget!!!

Réponse du propriétaire
The photos you took were FAB.. thank you and just so you know that special tea towel is hanging in the kitchen for all to view.. LOL


Bob and Sheila r the best.

5 sur septembre 11, 2012

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we lucked out. Everything was great, Bob and Sheila are the perfect couple to own a B&B, their charming, witty, and they know how to make you feel welcome. Sheila cooked up an awesome breakfast and we shared in great conversation and stories, we were sorry that we had to leave at the end of our stay, but we booked a weekend in October before we left. Bed and Breakfast ,com needs to add more stars to their rating system just for Bob and Sheila. Lance & Aspen

Réponse du propriétaire
Bella and Lance, what a treat to have you return before you could post another review. Celebrating Bella's birthday was a blast and all of you guests became family members. won't surprise us if the 2nd weekend in Oct. is filled with the same folks next year. Thank you for believing in the Gilded Cupid. Sheila and Bob


A Magical Experience

5 sur juillet 16, 2012

This was a completely refreshing and invigorating experience. We stayed here for our honeymoon and Bob & Sheila are hopeless romantics that did everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We can honestly say that this Bed&Breakfast was enchanting. Not to mention Sheila's amazing breakfasts!! THE BEST breakfast you will ever experience at a bed&breakfast anywhere. thank you Bob & Sheila!


Anniversary stay at The Gilded Cupid

5 sur avril 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Gilded Cupid for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary and have to say that we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Sheila and Bob were amazing with their hospitality, accomodations, attention, and excellent food. We definitely plan on visiting and staying at the Gilded Cupid again and see more historic sites ans shopping. They knew all of the wonderful places to see and visit, and recommended the most delicious restaurants. They made us feel at home and welcomed. Great for a romantic or vacation getaway.


They will make your weekend!

5 sur février 26, 2012

Bob and Sheila went beyond all expectations as hosts of the Gilded Cupid. Beautiful period accommodations, spacious, clean (loved those big towels) and a wonderful big breakfast. Ideally located near everything in Jim Thorpe. A short walk to all of the towns entertainment and restaurants. Looking forward to our next visit in the very near future. Dom and Lorraine.

Réponse du propriétaire
Lorraine and Dom, It is guests like you that keep the Innkeepers blood flowing. It is easy to get lost in the chores of the the day. Thank you for enjoying our dream with us. Sheila and Bob


Simply amazing

4,4 sur février 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our 3 year anniversary. We had a wonderful time. The rooms are amazing. The amount of detail spent on this house will shock you. Sheila is a wonderful woman, who was very attentive to us. We plan on going back when we can. We were both very please with our experience at the Gilded Cupid. Thank you Sheila and Bob!!!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Jen and Shane, Anniversaries are special to us. It is the only time of the year we get away, so we like to make that time for others extra special. So happy you had a good time. Hope to see you again. Sheila and Bob


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 sur décembre 29, 2011

My husband and I were given a gift to this wonderful place by my children and it was the best gift I received! Sheila and Bob were the perfect hosts. Whenever we needed a suggestion for dining or entertainment, Sheila's suggestions were always perfect. I don't even know where to start to describe the best breakfasts that I ever had. We just enjoyed talking to them and we now feel that we have friends in Jim Thorpe for our next visit.


most relaxing weekend

5 sur décembre 05, 2011

thank you sheila and bob for the most relaxing weekend we have had in a very long time. your home is lovely, and your food was fantastic. we dont think we can ever match a weekend like the one we spent at your bed and breakfast. thank you, thank you. hope you have a very happy and joyous holiday. jack and barb

Réponse du propriétaire
Jack and Barb, You picked one of our favorite times of the year to visit the Gilded Cupid. Having wonderful guest like you enjoy our vision, puts the star at the the top of the tree. Don't forget how beautiful the gardens are in the lighter weather. Sheila and Bob


Twice is the charm!

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

Had the opportunity to stay in mid-September for a second time and had a fantastic time. As usual, Sheila and Bob were the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious and the service was superior. We plan to go back again. The Gilded Cupid is in the Center of town and there are always things to do. Enjoy the fantastic breakfast!

Réponse du propriétaire
There is no better compliment than guests returning to the Gilded Cupid. We are grateful for the the new extended family we are creating. Thank you Sheila and Bob


There is no other place to stay in Jim Thorpe!

5 sur octobre 13, 2011

We have been to the Gilded Cupid on several occasions and would not consider staying anywhere else. Great innkeepers, great rooms, great time. The house is as historic as the town and transports you back to the second half of the 19th century. The restoration is superbly done with every attention to detail.

Réponse du propriétaire
You have turned the blisters on our fingers and plaster dust in our hair, into spun gold and fairie dust. We love our extended family members and keep striving to have something new for you to enjoy each time you return. Thank you Sheila and Bob


Twice is the Charm!

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

It's our second opportunity to stay in Jim Thorpe, PA with innkeepers Sheila and Bob. As before, they were the perfect hosts! The Gilded Cupid is in a perfect location in downtown Jim Thorpe with easy availability to all activities, stores and events. I'll go back again.


Lovely!

4,8 sur septembre 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gilded Cupid! Exquisite detail and wonderful rooms and charm. Sheila and Bob are very welcoming.. and the breakfast was delicious! Definitely recommended for a nice stay. We will be back :)


Spectacular!

5 sur mai 30, 2011

Bob and Sheila are two people who truly care. From their detailed decor to their obvious compassion, it was a true pleasure staying at the Gilded Cupid and getting to know them. We plan on returning again.


Loved every minute :-)

5 sur avril 02, 2011

After staying at a different (also wonderful) B&B this weekend we recalled that we never submitted a review for this fabulous place in Jim Thorpe. You won't be disappointed!


Another Wonderful Visit in Jim Thorpe

5 sur février 21, 2011

Once again we enjoyed a visit a the Gilded Cupid. Breakfast was a feast as always and our room was quite cozy on a very windy Winter Evening. Bob and Shelia always make everyone feel quite at home. We are very disappointed to not be able to be up for St. Patricks Day in Jim Thorpe which is an event not to be missed. The Inn is within easy walking distance of all of the town's attractions and we were able to do some enjoyable shopping and a very nice lunch at FLOW. If you haven't been to Jim Thorpe, check out the website. We still have to get to the Opera House which we have heard has fantastic shows. With an Inn like the Gilded Cupid less than a block away, we'll certainly be back. Melanie and Dennis Pease, Marlton, NJ


A True Gift for All Couples!

4,8 sur janvier 15, 2011

Don't bother looking for a better value, a more romantic ambiance, or more gracious hosts than Sheila and Bob. The day before our trip, I had to call and reschedule due to a cold. Sheila was so understood and moved our reservations to the following weekend without any problems. It was an experience worth waiting for. Walking into their home was like a trip back in time. Beautiful antiques and architecture greeted us, along with a beautiful room, decorated in rich gold and burgundy with cherubs all around. Beautiful stained glass surrounded us in our room, and the claw foot tub was classic! But more than anything, it was our hosts that will have us returning. Sheila and Bob are such gracious people. They take pride in their product. It's what they were born to do. And the food was unbelievable. The pear chutney yogurt parfait, apricot-almond breakfast cake, mushroom and cheese omelet with a side of Sheila's own potatoes were so good and so filling that we had no need for lunch! We couldn't have asked for a better time, a better value, or better hosts. Don't miss it! We will be back in the spring to enjoy the gardens!


Tumble Inn

4,6 sur août 22, 2010

The Inn was absolutely outstanding. Larry and Nancy (Inn keepers) made our stay on of the best ever. They made us feel so welcome, we will be goimg back and will certainly be telling all of our friends about our experience there.


OMG the best ever

4,8 sur août 14, 2010

Sheila and Bob are great hosts,and the house is beautiful. the breakfast utterly sumptuous,and cupids everywhere, even the little tiny spoons for the fruit cocktail (Freshly made!) at breakfast. Really adorable place,a nd I recommend all the time.


Wonderful Times with Wonderful Friends!

5 sur mai 14, 2010

My husband and I first went to the Guilded Cupid for our first summer vacation together back in 2006. The stay was absolutely the best ever! We never get away much but staying at the Guilded Cupid was the best thing we've ever done. Since then we've back two more times, once for our honeymoon in 2008 and then again for our 1st anniversary and "babymoon" in 2009. My husband and I look forward to making the Guilded Cupid a yearly get a way trip because of the wonderful hospitality and kindness from Sheila and Bob, and not to mention the wonderful food that even my picky husband looks forward to eating. Thanks so much Sheila and Bob for letting us know that kind hearted people still do exist!


Simply Marvelous!!!!

4,0 sur mars 07, 2010

With the aid of Sheila & Bob, we we're able to pull off a birthday celebration for my wonderful partner's special day. The accommodations were beyond our wildest dream. What Sheila & Bob have created in Jim Thorpe is nothing short of an amazing historical, romantic and magical museum to scintillate all one's senses...the event was a surprise and well worth the reservation. The amenities were simply delightful, the attention to detail and special needs were luscious and the morning was met w/wonderful treats by Sheila's loving talents consisting of a healthy and delicious breakfast. They both treated us as if we were family and their home was our home. This is certainly a magical and romantic facility that I would recommend over and over to anyone looking for a wonderful respite w/a loved one. Thanks Sheila & Bob for the fabulous time, we will be back...


Birthday Surprise

5 sur mars 07, 2010

I just could not wait to share the wonderful birthday surprise I experienced at the Gilded Cupid in Jim Thorpe. It was a magnificent Victorian home with plenty of charm, warmth and character, filled with great books and curiousities. The antiques and decor enhance the deja vu feeling of going back in time... "Have I been here before?" The energy in the home is other worldly, one could almost feel the conversations and intimacies, the graciousness and civility that were exchanged in these rooms over the the last century plus. Sheila and Bob are the perfect innkeepers, walking in balance between great conversation, being a great resource, making us feel like family and at the same time we felt as if we had the whole house to ourselves. If we had a need , Bob & Sheila would appear. Perfect balance. We are planning a rturn visit in the warmer weather to take advantage of the gardens and porches... so inviting. Check out the Mauch Chunk Opera house or Penns Peak for great shows and make it a weekend! Oh and the food was very well done, healthy, varied, well presented and served and unforgettable. A magical experience, transported in time...


will come back again

5 sur janvier 31, 2010

If you want a relaxed, casual and unpretentious stay this is it. Staying with Sheila and Bob is like visiting old freinds. They made excellent suggestions for dinner and their gourmet breakfast was wonderful and the coffee was good and plentiful. mary t.


anniversary stay

4,8 sur novembre 16, 2009

We wanted to see a show at Penns Peak and decided to stay overnight, The Gilded Cupid sounded like a chaming place to stay and we were right. From the minute we arrived Sheila and Bob made us feel right at home.They are truly lovely people and really do make you feel at home.I know I would return to the Gilded Cupid again. The breakfast was magnificent! and we really enjoyed having the chance to explore the rest of the house and talk to Bob about the History of the house. Thank you Sheila and Bob for a very nice stay.


An amazing spot

5 sur octobre 18, 2009

Do not expect a TV there but the warm welcome of your hosts and their home feeling old house. Jim Thorpe is a magnificient little town and Sheila and Bob are doing the best job at sharing their experience with you. From the set to the breakfast, everything here is perfect for a relaxing and enjoyable week-end outside of the city. I went there with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and would definitely go back anytime.


A perfect Getaway WE!

5 sur octobre 11, 2009

I was looking for a small place to enjoy a WE with my boyfriend. Picking this place was certainly the best decision I could have made. Everything was great. It is really a charming quiet place in a lovely little town, perfect to escape and relax. Sheila and Bob are wonderful people who know how to make you feel like family. Sheila's breakfast is uncomparable. Don't forget to enjoy the patio with a glass of wine, it can be the place for some lovely encounters.


a treasure in the mountains

5 sur octobre 06, 2009

The best experience at a bed and breakfast! Bob and Sheila are the ultimate innkeepers. The rooms were immaculate, spacious and Sheila's culinary skills left you want lunch and dinner as well. We plan to return for another "fun" weekend and highly recommend not only the inn, but the experience of meeting Bob and Sheila.


Fantastic!!

5 sur juin 23, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gilded Cupid for a romantic early anniversary getaway. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left it was spectacular. The hospitality that Sheila and Bob show is "one of a kind". We will continue to visit Jim Thorpe and stay only at the Gilded Cupid! Thank you so much!!!


The Ideal B&B

4,6 sur juin 10, 2009

I wanted to take my girlfriend away for an overnight trip to a nice out of the way location. Jim Thorpe fit my vision perfectly. I called and spoke to Sheila over the phone and she graciously answered all my questions that I had about the Jim Thorpe area and her bed and breakfast. Once arriving to the town, my girlfriend was in love with the ambiance of the small town and the charming feeling of the Gilded Cupid. Sheila and Bob greeted us at the door and showed us to our room. We stayed in Phil’s room. The room was delightful and full of character and we both loved the décor. Needless to say, the place was perfect and exactly what we had envisioned for a B&B. Sheila is one of the only places we could find that didn’t have the mandatory 2 night stay. We only had time for a one day get-a-way and the Gilded Cupid was the ideal location and place for us. I would definitely like to make this an annual trip. I will return! Mary and Jamaine


Atmosphere & service plus!

5 sur mai 20, 2009

As a first time experience staying in a Bed & Breakfast, the Gilded Cupid was a positive experience from many standpoints. Sheila has a recipe for buffalo sausage which was "to die for," and the eggs, salsa and tortilla were a nice touch for Jim Thorpe days, the china was immaculate, gleaming; everything transported one back to the Gilded age, the room was in character also, the library has old photographs of Jim Thorpe's history: the flood that swept through Old Mauch Chunk, Indian artifacts; yet the beds were soft and a blanket was given as a coverlet for our legs as we sat on the porch reading; I could've sworn I had reincarnated back in 1895 living in a pensione; the feeling of living back in the Gilded Age was so complete it was uncanny. Will come again!


a couples getaway

4,6 sur mai 11, 2009

My wife and I, along with our good friends, had a wonderful stay at the gilded cupid. Sheila and Bob were great hosts. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and we definitely enjoyed our stay. We stayed on a weekend night and many of the b and b's in the area wanted a 2 night stay min. Sheila and Bob were gracious and so willing to just have us stay for the one night. Definitely would recommend!


Great place

4,0 sur avril 14, 2009

I was able to do a photo shoot using the Gilded Cupid as a studio, the owner was friendly and her hospitality was well beyond compare. The house was filled with history and I would suggest The Gilded Cupid to anyone.


A step back in time with charm and hospitality

5 sur avril 08, 2009

It was my wife's birthday and I looked to surprise her with a 2 day / 1 night trip. Both of us have been moving so fast lately it was also an opportunity to slow things down. Jim Thorpe was the destination and the Gilded Cupid the B&B. Without question a perfect location right in the middle of town. Easy walk to the shops. All I can say is Bob and Sheila are exceptional hosts. They were so friendly, inviting and warm people. There sole purpose was to ensure our stay was enjoyable. They provided a perfect balance of conversation and separation. Meaning they were there for a casual talk and gave you your space all in the same visit. They provided suggestions on where to eat (Flow was great), some basic guidance on our walk through town, or as we were interested pointed us in the direction for a hike on a walking trail. The place is beautiful and only getting better (they are actively working on improvements and expansion - Don't take that to mean construction sounds or dust - the beauty of the 1st and 2nd floors is well established.) My wife already wants to go back and so do I.


Charming Place to Stay

4,4 sur février 23, 2009

Love the B&B and the service was wonderful. We sold my husband was when they offered to clean off our car because of the snow! You just don't get that type of service anywhere. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Free parking and within walking distance to the wonderful downtown. The breakfast was delicious! My only negative is the check in time. However, they are flexible. We showed up about 45 minutes early and there was no problems. They truly go out of their way to make sure you are happy! A+


A perfect getaway!!

4,0 sur février 01, 2009

What else can be said! The hosts, Sheila and Bob, Anna's Room, the breakfast, the location - not to mention, the robes, the towels - Perfect!!! 5 stars!!! A 'must' stay in a 'must see' town!


Unique place + special couple

5 sur janvier 30, 2009

My husband and I had a lovely weekend at Sheila and Bob's B+B. They are the sweetest couple with a kind heart. Their home is a Victorian gem and of course filled with cute cupids. Their personal touches everywhere makes this place extra special. We enjoyed a very relaxing weekend with the most amazing breakfast. The entire weekend was certainly a treat for us.


Our Halloween Wedding

4,0 sur janvier 04, 2009

My husband and I are lucky enough to live in Jim Thorpe, PA, and were looking for the perfect place to have our Halloween, 2008 wedding. The Gilded Cupid was more than perfect! The ceremony took place on their garden mezzanine, which was lit with hundreds of candles and white lights. The reception was held inside, where my guests shared stories at their marble-topped bar, warmed their toes in front of the fire, and boogied on the hardwood floors. They enjoyed the crisp air on the flagstone patio and marveled at the architecture of the mansion and its painstakingly restored amenities. Bob and Sheila were more than accommodating, and really bent over backwards to make sure all the details were covered. Bob even got into the spirit of things, and donned a fabulous ruffled shirt, top hat, and some spooky makeup! He was the perfect host to greet and mingle with our costumed guests. And Sheila is the consummate hostess and go-to person. She saw to all the needs of my wedding staff and still found time to have a little fun. Even though we did not spend the night, we were given the use of a suite to get ready for the ceremony. It was unbelievably gorgeous! Glistening wood floors, cozy fireplace, and sumptuous furnishings. And the bathroom boasts period-proper fixtures and decor, including a massive claw-footed tub that just begs for a fluffy robe, cup of tea, and a good book. I cannot recommend The Gilded Cupid highly enough. It's a beautiful place, and Bob and Sheila are amazing innkeepers. I look forward to seeing them again for the famous Jim Thorpe St. Patrick's Day Parade!


Honeymoon Stay

5 sur décembre 19, 2008

My brothers, sister and sister-in-law surprised us and booked us a night at the Gilded Cupid for our honeymoon night. It could not have been more lovely. Sheila greeted us at the door that evening and welcomed us in. The room was warmly done and immaculate. Best of all was Sheila's delicious home made breakfast in the morning. She took such care and delight in serving us our first breakfast as husband and wife. Additionally, she took the time to just chat with us. Even though I am a lifelong resident of Jim Thorpe, I was unfamiliar with the gem of a bed and breakfast that is located in my own back yard!


Luxury in the Poconoa

5 sur novembre 16, 2008

We stayed a weekend, and our room was Fabulous! The bed was so comfortable, the bath room and shower were amazing, I still think about this luxurious shower & can't wait to go back. Sheila is amazing in the kitchen, oh the breakfast we had, that alone we'd go back for. The b&b is so pretty, the downstairs is as if you've entered another time. The veranda on the 2nd floor is private and wonderful to sit and have a glass of wine. You have to check out the backyard, perfect for relaxing in a zen enviroment. Bob & Sheila are class act and we Highly recommend this bed and breakfast!


Exceeded expectations!

5 sur novembre 09, 2008

We chose this inn for our honeymoon, out of all the b&bs in Jim Thorpe. Beautiful Victorian inn with lovely innkeepers! Bob and Sheila provided a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We found Anna's Room a relaxing, comfortable room. Beauitful stained glass; warm colors & lots of cherubs. The flannel sheets were perfect! Bob and Sheila's hospitality and Sheila's pumpkin pancakes were delightful. Would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely, inviting, intimate bed & breakfast. We're looking forward to our next visit. Thanks, Bob & Sheila! -J & V


Wonderful Getaway

5 sur août 04, 2008

A lovely bed & breakfast cared for by two wonderful people who make you feel like family!


A memorable Memorial Day weekend !

5 sur juillet 13, 2008

My partner and I had a relaxing weekend in this work-in-progress B & B. Our hosts were delightful, knowledgable and very helpful. Like visiting old friends. We had a grand gourmet breakfast both days, and we were surprised by the quantity. So much so, we didn't do lunch on the town, we were that well-fed! We enjoyed sitting on the second story sleeping porch after a day's tour. We speculated about our huge room, it's original occupants, etc. If you want a truly welcoming, down home experience, and an excellent breakfast stay here at the Gilded Cupid in Jim Thorpe, PA.


Beautiful Place, Wonderful People

5 sur mai 21, 2008

Staying with Bob and Sheila at the Gilded Cupid is like staying with treasured friends or family who just happen to live in a beautiful Victorian home in an enchanting Victorian town. You're made to feel as if you've been invited to share a holiday with them and a few other guests who were invited especially because you were certain to have some things in common. While sharing a delicious and exquisitely presented breakfast (think poached fruit with fresh mint and nasturtium, followed by a hearty frittata with fresh grilled tomatoes and homemade hot peach salsa) it's as if you're catching up with old friends before venturing out to explore the town. Bob and Sheila know how to strike the perfect balance between creating a sense of community and letting you do your own thing. Their love for their community is obvious and they are always ready to share a bit of local lore along with recommendations for dinner and site seeing. For the most beautiful rooms, the best breakfasts, and the most gracious service, as well as that special ability Bob and Sheila have to make you feel like visiting family, don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Gilded Cupid.


Great Place To Stay

4,0 sur mai 12, 2008

I'm a native to the Jim Thorpe area and love to come back and visit my family a few times a year. My husband and I love the Gilded Cupid - it's very clean, affordable, and Bob and Sheila are great hosts! There are many things to do in the town also - whitewater rafting, biking, train rides, etc.


Fantastic Stay...Will You Adopt Me?

5 sur mars 05, 2008

I can safely say that Bob and Sheila are two of the nicest people I've ever met in my life. If you've never been to the Gilded Cupid, you owe it to yourself to find out why. If you've been there, you know exactly what I'm talking about. This is more than a place to sleep and eat...this is a place where your soul gets rekindled as well as your faith in humanity; Bob and Sheila are living examples of true friendship, non-flamboyance, and the goodness that we hope exists in all people. I cannot imagine them NOT being in the hospitality business. There is nothing feigned here, either. This is akin to visiting your favorite aunt and uncle's house when you were young, and having such a good time in their company, that you didn't want to go back home. Genuine, sincere innkeepers with a passion for life and people. Can't wait to go back. The rooms and food were great, the attention to detail in everything was absolutely superb. This is a don't miss!


Amazing Stay, with wonderful people

4,4 sur janvier 22, 2008

From the moment that I spoke with Shelia on the telephone to make our reservations, our experience was second to none! Jim Thorpe in January is a bit slow (a lot closed), but Bob and Shelia made great recommendation on things to do in town, including the first night opening at "Flow" which is one of their friends' new restaurant and art gallery. My only regret is not being able to stay another night. I would highly recommend staying at the Gilded Cupid should you have the chance.


Had the perfect time!

5 sur janvier 20, 2008

My wife and I arrived about 3:30 pm on Sat. 19th 2008. I was cold, about 30 degrees, and as I pulled into their off street parking, our host Bob was already out on the porch waiting to welcome us and give us a hand with our luggage. Once inside we met Sheila and I can tell you that Bob and Sheila are two of the nicest people you will ever have the pleasure of meeting! Our room was beautiful! The bedding was luxurious, the old time shower was fantastic, even the bath towells and robes were thick and plush. All rooms were occupied that night, yet we heard nothing. The next morning we went downstairs for plenty of hot coffee and a fantastic breakfast! While Sheila did the cooking, Bob took care of all our table needs and kept the coffee coming. We wouldn't change a thing and look forward to our next visit with our new friends Bob and Sheila.


gilded cupid was great

5 sur novembre 11, 2007

My husband and I found the Gilded Cupid somewhat by accident but what a stroke of luck it was. Bob and Sheila were the perfect hosts. The B&B was gorgeous, accommodating, and generally all around welcoming. The breakfasts were phenomenal, not only in presentation but taste as well complete with eggs from a local farmer and herbs from Sheila’s garden. As Sheila said ‘there is a difference between renovation and restoration’ and both the owners have restored their property by hand to recreate a truly Victorian experience with all the comforts of home. We will definitely be returning to Jim Thorpe and plan on many future stays at the Gilded Cupid.


A wonderful weekend

5 sur novembre 11, 2007

The meals were simply perfect. Shelia and Bob made you feel like one of the family. I was sad to leave. Our room was perfect. Shelia puts her heart into the meal she services you and you feel it. I enjoyed sharing our meals with other travelers and hearing about Shelia and Bob's experience. I will surely return and visit again and again


One Fantastic B&B

5 sur novembre 05, 2007

I've lodged at several excellent B&B's over the years but my recent stay at the Gilded Cupid in Jim Thorpe, PA will now reside in my memory as the "best". All the other reviewers do well to describe the wonderful accommodations and personable hosts of Sheila and Bob but I'd like to add that the presentation of the breakfast and use of organic components and their own garden herbs are not to be ignored. Nor can I thank Sheila enough for all her extra help in making my visit memorable in that she went the extra distance to work with me so that upon arrival my travel companion would be greeted with champagne on ice, flowers I had arranged for that day and sweets I sent in advance... Sheila was like an old friend working with me all week to put the finishing touches on a very romantic escape in a wonderful home in an enchanting place. Return visits are certain.


Comfort and Ease

5 sur novembre 03, 2007

The other reviews really say it all. I will only add that Bob and Sheila are masters at making people feel comfortable and easy. Staying at the Gilded Cupid is like staying with best friends you didn't know you had. They have a second sense of what each guest needs - whether it is lots of attention or to be left pretty much alone. The perfect Hosts.


Chris & Fran from Jersey

4,2 sur octobre 17, 2007

My wife and I discovered Jim Thorpe about six years ago. It is a town filled with an air of mystery, allure and charm that is unique for this part of the country. During our fist overnight at another B&B we met locals that recommended we consider staying at the Gilded Cupid in the future. We took their advice and never looked back. We have stayed at the Cupid at least two to three times a year ever since. Bob and Sheila are the quintessential hosts, and their home is an architectual gem that sets the stage for the perfect overnight or weekend getaway.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,0 sur octobre 06, 2007

Sheila and Bob made my stay in Jim Thorpe fantastic. Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast, off street parking, within walking distance of everything and the perfect hosts. What else can you ask for?


Always a treat

5 sur octobre 06, 2007

Bob and Shiela always go out of their way to please. They have a wonderfully appointed B&B and prepare delicious meals. I've never been disapointed! I've been there twice and will surely return when I can. I great place to unwind and a convenient base to explore the area.


A great secret

5 sur septembre 25, 2007

Bob and Shiela are the perfect hosts in a wonderful town. Great food, service and don't forget the parking. I can't wait to return.


Simply the Best B&B

5 sur septembre 16, 2007

Pops Walker here. My lady and I travel quite a bit because I'm a traveling musician. As you might imagine, we come across a variety of lodgings. They range from dismal to sublime. The Gilded Cupid, is on the top end of "sumblime". As do all good B&Bs, the house is full of charm. And as all good inns should have, the Cupid's food is superb. But it's the hosts, Bob and Sheila who make this place exceedingly special. A house can be charming; food can be delicious, but in order to reach "sublime", extraordinary hosts must be in the mix. The Gilded Cupid indeed, has that special mix. It's simply the best.


Always a Treat

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2007

We always enjoy returning to Jim Thorpe for a stay. We orginally came to Jim Thorpe several times as my Husband Dennis was taking part in driving a NASCAR over at Pocono Raceway. However, after meeting Bob and Shelia and having Shelia's wonderful breakfasts, we come back for the experience at the Inn. We are planning on coming back to see some of the Great talent that they are getting in the Opera House and of course some day for St. Patrick's Day. Melanie & Dennis Pease, Marlton, NJ


Birthday Stay

5 sur août 26, 2007

We spent the night at Gilded Cupid having never stayed in a B&B. The room was so romantically decorated, it gave us both such a warm feeling. We plan to return to the same place for another special occasion or maybe around the holidays to see how the town is decorated and the locals spend them. WE recommend the Gilded Cupid to anyone who needs a getaway or just passing through the area. You won't be disappointed. We plan to tell our family and friends about our visit.


Gilded Cupid

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $165 - $185
  • Avis (66) 4,8
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5703255453

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut