Historic Smithton Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,9

Notation basée sur
194 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Best B&B EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 sur juillet 20, 2014

What can I say about Rebecca and David and the best B&B my husband and I have ever stayed in, where do I start. We found ourselves in Ephrata as a last minute decision. We were going to stay at a Hampton Inn but they were full so they referred us to the Smithton Inn. WOW!!!!! .... what we thought was bad luck on our part turned out to be the best bad luck we have ever had. We stayed in the red room. The bed was so comfy and the room was spacious and very charming. Rebecca and David were nice and hospitable, it was like going home to visit family. Rebecca told us that she likes to cook, and the proof was in her cooking, the best breakfast EVER!!!!!!!! We enjoyed the Smithton Inn so much we have planed to return in September for our birthdays.


WHAT AN ENJOYABLE STAY!

5 sur juillet 16, 2014

My mother and I visited the Smithton Inn during a visit to Ephrata for a bridal shower. I had seen the inn before on prior visits to the area, but staying there was such a wonderful experience. THE FOOD WAS AMAZING!!! Make sure that you come hungry to breakfast! The rooms are adorably decorated and very traditional to the area! Enjoy your stay, and the innkeepers can help you find any activities to do in the area!


Smithton Pefect

5 sur juillet 13, 2014

Great stay Breakfast was very special and home made. Rebecca and David were wonderful.


review tody -- 7/11/2014

3,8 sur juillet 11, 2014

Location convenient for sightseeing. Home is very meticulously furnished and cared for, loved the garden.


Historic yet convenient

4,8 sur juillet 09, 2014

I spent the past 4th of July weekend with my family(wife and a 6 year old son) in the Smithon Inn in Ephrata. We had very relaxing time in this historic yet beautifully restored and conveniently located inn. All rooms seem to have colored theme and ours was the "Red Room". The inn itself had a personal feeling of being in a neighbor's home with all the modern necessities and was immaculately clean. Breakfasts were well proportioned and high-level. The innkeeper and her colleague were both very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. They even setup a separate bed for my son sensibly during our absence. The location of the inn was an added plus. It's near the main road leading to both the country side and the downtown Lititz and Lancaster. I would repeat and recommend it to others without hesitation.


Best and most romantic Inn

4,8 sur juin 09, 2014

Rebecca and David are very nice, polite and helpful and will try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. Blue and chocolate room face the street so you might find red room more quiet. They put the second B into B&B at Smithton Inn, because your day will start with AMAZING breakfast. I would´t hesitate to stay there again!!


Historic Inn with Comfort and Charm

4,6 sur juin 06, 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our time at The Smithton Inn, which was our base as we explored Lancaster County. We would happily stay there again. A description from their website says it is a place “where historic charm combines with modern comfort and convenience” and we found this to be true. It has the interest and character of an inn that is 250 years old, but our room (The Yellow Room) had amenities we expect more from a hotel, such as a flat panel TV and a small fridge. Each room has a working fireplace with an engineered log provided each day. One cool evening we appreciated watching the fire as we sipped our wine. The bed was comfortable and the breakfasts delicious, enhanced with plenty of good conversation. Rebecca was a pleasant host who was readily available to provide guidance about the area. A few things that were fine with us, but some of you might want to know: The Inn is on a fairly busy street (small town busy), resulting in some traffic and noise. There are good restaurants within easy driving distance, but little within walking distance. They have a well-behaved dog, which for us was a bonus.


Cozy, Clean and Cute

4,4 sur juin 06, 2014

Very nice and relaxing stay and great amenities...even a movie collection! Very personable and comfortable place.


The English in Ephrata

4,0 sur juin 02, 2014

The accommodation and location are hidden gems for an uncommercialised and fascinating side of America. Great value, overwhelming breakfast and perfect base for travelling around Dutch county. Barbara & Colin


Great slice of history

5 sur mai 31, 2014

This inn was such a vital part of our country's early history. Built in 1763 at an important crossroad in Pennsylvania, it has greeted travelers for 251 years. Aside from the history aspect, the inn is owned & operated by such a delightful couple, Rebecca & Dave. The plain Amish-style decor in our yellow room was beautiful. Amenities included with the room were locally made treats. Such comfortable beds with microfiber sheets, too. Makes one want to stay in bed, but don't. A delicious breakfast awaits---very, very good breakfast! Try sitting on the front porch or in one of the various areas of the backyard or in the cozy parlor---so relaxing. This inn is one of our favorites & the owners are a large part of making this such a desirable inn. Bill & Molly from Kentucky


Outstanding Bed and Brewakfast

5 sur mai 19, 2014

Breakfast each day was exceptional.


Great experience!!

5 sur mai 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our "mini-moon" and it was such a wonderful experience! The innkeepers were so nice and helpful, and the inn itself was very clean, comfortable, and beautiful! And the breakfasts were soooooo good!


Wonderful B&B!

5 sur mai 12, 2014

We would definitely stay here again!


Wonderful experience!!

5 sur avril 30, 2014

Great Hosts! Lovely place!


Wonderful,cosy, historic inn

5 sur avril 23, 2014

Stayed in the red room. Very nice and cosy , with a fire in the fireplace in our room. Owner was very friendly and served a hot , delicious, banana bread pudding for breakfast. Would definitely stay there again


quaint, cute and historic

4,4 sur avril 11, 2014

Though the inn itself is wonderfully charming, interesting and cozy, the best part about staying at the Smithton are the fantastic innkeepers! Rebecca is so friendly and knowledgeable of the area, we felt instantly at home and armed with plenty of options for spending our weekend out and about. Plus, her breakfast menu was fantastic! All around, this was a relaxing and fun place to stay, with comfortable rooms and a warm, welcoming staff.


Last minute booking!

5 sur avril 02, 2014

I might need 2 pages for this place. We were there on May 28-30. We checked in with Rebecca who was absolutely sweet as can be. She had walked us to our room. All working fire places that are small with a small waxed log that went for about the 2-3 hrs & an extra log was $5. The room, oh man, it was very roomy & the bed was so comfy & the sheets were really nice to cuddle in. In the morning, breakfast does fill you & your hungry still, they made more for you. Breakfast included. The showers get cold quick but you got to realize, this house is 1760 that's 250 years old..keep that in mind. Got up & went to the Amish country which is only 30 min ride & if you take a scenic route if the gps takes you weird way, it is well worth it. You see all the horse & buggy & it is really interesting on how they live in those times but please please please, have a lot of respect for them on not taking there pics because that is the most rudest & not cool thing to do. I've had someone just take a pic of me with out asking which that was not cool. Amish people live there way & don't bother people so please, respect them! Well, we went to the kitchen kettle village. They have tours that has certain length of time, depends on what you want. We did the 50 min one which was only $16. If you buy some of the Amish blankets or pillow that's a small blanket which I had bought for $39, all the money goes to the farms which that is really cool. We will defi will return here for more events that goes on & try to leave tip even it says not expected. They clean our rooms so little tip is really nice. It's a way of saying "Thank you for keeping my room clean". Rebecca was really awesome & so is Dave. Very nice nice people & just remember, it's a b&b not some top notch hotel that people want full on service. Respect old historic b&b. this was a lovely place & we haven't got a chance to go into the village of ephrata. Thank you Rebecca & Dave!!


A great escape from the Winter of 2014!

4,0 sur avril 01, 2014

We booked a last minute getaway and were happy to find The Historic Smithton Inn. It has been restored with the right blend of 18th century décor and modern updates. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed our stay. Hope we will be able to come back.


60th Birthday Celebration

5 sur mars 24, 2014

Had a wonderful two nights stay in the Inn. Breakfasts were delicious. Rebecca had great recommendations for dining at night. Hope to return one day.


Holy Grail of Bed & Breakfasts

5 sur février 19, 2014

This was the most amazing, cleanly, beautiful Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed at! While The Historic Smithton Inn maintains its antiquated, beautiful look of a better time passed, it is updated with new amenities that make it an enjoyable stay. We will be back! Rebecca is the best!


Awesome Bed and Breakfast

4,8 sur janvier 30, 2014

My husband surprised me with a weekend getaway. We stayed at Historic Smithton inn and loved it. Fireplace was great, food was exceptional, and staff was awesome. We will definitely be coming back.


Great Weekend Getaway

4,4 sur décembre 11, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Smithton Inn for two nights and really loved it. Great location, a secluded getaway just close enough to surrounding towns, like Lititz! Rebecca's hospitality was wonderful, as were her homemade breakfasts! And, of course, Lucky the dog was an added bonus. I would gladly stay here again.


Beautiful B&B

5 sur novembre 27, 2013

The room was beautiful! the innkeepers were so very nice and the food was out of this world. Can't wait to go back!


Great spot in a great location

4,4 sur novembre 26, 2013

This is a charming, historic inn right in the heart of PA Dutch country. Rebecca and David are great hosts who really seem to enjoy what they do, and have lots of great tips on the best drives, shopping, restaurants, and activities. Breakfasts are hearty and delicious. Rooms are not luxurious, but very nice and well kept. Each has a unique personality to it.


A Great weekend

5 sur novembre 25, 2013

the richness of the room was matched by the fantastic breakfast unique, fresh and satisfying.


Great night away from home!

4,8 sur novembre 23, 2013

I wanted to take my husband out for a night away from home to celebrate his birthday! We loved it at the inn. We stayed in Taylor's Cottage, and it was cozy and relaxing...just what we needed! We had plenty of space and privacy. Breakfast was exceptional! We will definitely stay here again!


Thanks for the comfort on our wedding night!

4,6 sur novembre 21, 2013

The rooms and inn were fantastic and beautiful. We live historic things and it was right up our alley; even including the decor in the dining room with the antique maps! We spent our wedding night and it was very comfortable and luxurious without totally breaking the bank. The keepers were so great as welcoming and super willing to work with our schedule needs on check-in, etc. My husband and I will definitely be back! Thanks, Julia & Eric Moore!


Cozy B&B in Lancaster

5 sur novembre 21, 2013

We loved our stay in Historic Smithton Inn! The innkeeper is very friendly and helpful, the house is cozy, breakfast was amazing and the room was super-comfortable (fireplace, amazing bed, nicely decorated).


Great Choice In Every Way

5 sur novembre 20, 2013

I've stayed a few times at this B&B and it's really just about as good as it gets....prices are fair, the rooms are AUTHENTICALLY furnished with antiques etc BUT are COMFORTABLE and have all modern amenities, the owners are friendly but not intrusive and the breakfast is really delicious. Those factors add up to a perfect B&B in my book.


The best bed and breakfast is here!

5 sur novembre 16, 2013

Our 2 night stay was so enjoyable. I'm handicapped using a walker and had no difficulties staying in the "Sage" room on the first floor. It was roomy with a fireplace, a very comfortable bed with a beautiful hand carved headboard and an on suite with a shower which was so much easier for me. The room was down the hallway from the front sitting room and dining room which also made it easy for walking. There was a side entrance so I didn't have to use the few stairs in the front entrance so it was very convenient to get to our room. Rebecca and Dave are wonderful hosts and we loved their mellow and friendly dog "Lucky". Breakfast was divine and it was so nice to sit and chat with coffee with other guests in the cozy dining room. They made our Veterans Day a wonderful memory and we will definitely be going back. Not far at all from Amish touring and outlets.


Fabulous

5 sur novembre 01, 2013

Truly, one of the top two B&B's we have visited. . .and we've been to a lot.


Highly Recommend!

4,4 sur octobre 31, 2013

The room was lovely! The Inn keepers were extremely friendly and informative. They had great suggestions on where to eat and visit. The food was very good also. I would tell everyone to stay there! Jennifer


A B&B with lots of Charm!

5 sur octobre 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in The Smithton Inn. The Innkeepers Rebecca and David were very nice and helpful with suggestions on routes and things to do! Our room (6) was so nice a spacious. We loved having the sofa and fireplace to sit a relax. Ephrata was a great location as it was fairly close to surrounding towns. My only complaint is that we should have stayed longer. If we get back to PA we will plan on staying at the Smithton!


Fall Getaway

4,4 sur octobre 25, 2013

Comfortable, relaxed, accommodating. Love the handmade crocheted throws in each room.


Very Nice Anniversary Stay

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Smithton Inn for our 20th wedding anniversary. Everything was lovely and Rebecca is a very congenial and accomodating host. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a comfortable getaway.


Historic and lovely Smithton Inn

5 sur octobre 19, 2013

My husband and I just stayed two nights at the Smithton Inn and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. From the moment of arrival, Rebecca and Dave did everything to insure that we felt welcome and had everything we needed. The entire Inn is meticulously maintained with attention to detail in everything from soft linens to delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts. The hosts are also very knowledgable about the area and very helpful in steering us in the right direction to enjoy all that's available to see and do in our explorations of the countryside.


Right at home...

5 sur octobre 16, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Historic Smithton Inn - will definitely be back again!


XLNT

5 sur octobre 14, 2013

Lived up to all our expectations. The owner, Rebecca, was great, very accommodating. We told her what we wanted to do and see and the places and people she referred us to were spot-on. The food was xlnt. The room was clean and comfortable. We would liked to have stayed longer and would definitely come back.


A real gem

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

Our only regret is that we only booked one night. Rebecca and Dave are real naturals for this business - they made us feel absolutely at home. Spacious rom, supremely comfortable bed. DVD players in rooms with DVD library constituted an especially nice touch. Lavish and flavorful breakfast. Outstanding value for money overall.


Great Place

5 sur septembre 28, 2013

You'll like it.


Great place for a getaway

4,8 sur septembre 26, 2013

It was a wonderfully relaxing weekend! The room was beautiful and spotless. The jacuzzi and provided bath oils were great. Breakfast was fabulous - especially the homemaer granola ! Rebecca is a fabulous hostess and provided a lot of information about the area to help us decide where to go. Our only disappointment was that the fireplace in our room was not yet working for the season, even tho working fireplaces were advertised online and mentioned in our welcome booklet. Overall tho, great experience and we hope to return someday!


1st B&B stay, excellent weekend

5 sur septembre 13, 2013

First time we ever did a B&B and it was an excellent, relaxing weekend.


Relaxing B & B in Ephrata

5 sur septembre 03, 2013

We had a short but wonderful stay. The room was just like it was advertised. The Inn Keepers were very nice and took care of all our needs. Breakfast was perfect! What a charming inn to make a memorable moment in our travels. -Julie H. Atwater, California


Second Stay at Smithton Inn

5 sur septembre 02, 2013

This was our second stay at the Inn - this time accompanied by our daughter and her family. All aspects of the stay were perfect as they were when we vacationed at the Inn last year. Rebecca and David are gracious hosts. Rebecca's breakfasts are the best of any b&b at which we have stayed. The banana bread french toast is simply awesome. We will surely return to the Smithton Inn again.


First time experience with B&B, never again a hotel for us, Thank you

5 sur août 30, 2013

Warmly Welcomed, informative, privacy respected, exactly as illustrated. Wonderful experience.


a great weekend

4,8 sur août 28, 2013

This was the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.


Wonderful stay in Ephrata, PA

5 sur août 25, 2013

Excellent! Thanks to Lou and Gail!


Last minute Anniversery trip

5 sur août 22, 2013

My wife and I decided last minute that we wanted to get away for a last minute anniversary trip to Dutch Country. I searched the web for open rooms the day before we set to arrive. I fell in love with the red room at the Historic Smithton Inn and made the reservations. I contacted my wife and told here where we were going and she had the exact same room saved in her favorites. We arrived to a beautiful, well maintained and clean property, the sound of the fountain in the background was soothing. We went up to our room and it was everything we expected and more. Well appointed and comfortable and cozy. Each room has it's own fireplace. The décor was tastefully done and not over powering. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the sheets were luxurious. The breakfasts were delicious and unique. This very well could become an annual tradition.


A Hidden Gem

5 sur août 14, 2013

Outstanding, well kept, historic B&B. Friendly service, great breakfast, very accomodating. The rooms are large and have modern amenities. Great experience.


Amazing!!

5 sur août 13, 2013

The Chocolate room was very quiet despite being on the street side of the house. The innkeepers were lovely, giving us a recommendation for a nearby restaurant that was super, one of the best meals and service we have had in a long time. Rebecca also was the person who connected us with an Amish family where we had dinner in their kitchen, played with their beautiful boys ( 3 and 1) and learned many things about their lifestyle. Again, a memorable experience. The breakfasts were delicious, gourmet and plentiful. All in all, I would strongly recommend the Smithton Inn for anyone traveling through 'Amish Country'.


Pleasurable stay

4,8 sur août 08, 2013

Rebecca was an absolute delight as host of the B&B. The food she prepared each day was very delicious, and she always exuded a genuine excitement about the inn. The room was very clean. Because the building is very old, the floor of the bedroom did have a slight tilt. But that just added to the charm of the place. I would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in the area.


Nice stay, nice food

5 sur août 04, 2013

Room's clean and bed's very comfortable. The breakfast was awesome! I am definitely going back.


A Real Find

5 sur août 01, 2013

This historic inn does not sacrifice charm or modern amenities and comforts. My husband and I stayed one night halfway in between dropping our son off at camp and meeting my parents at the Jersey shore. I only regret we could not stay longer. The Red Rose room overlooks garden. My husband sat outside and read and I rolled out my yoga mat by the fountain and did some yoga. We were met with warm cookies when we arrived which were always available along with green tea for me and coffee for my husband. Breakfast was superb - bar none. The owners are incredibly genuine people, deservedly proud of their inn (they are only the 3rd family to own the inn in 250 years). They are helpful and friendly without being intrusive in any way. The living room is wonderful and comfortable with free wifi. The room was so clean, comfortable and charming. Owner's dinner recommendation was spot on (Lily's on Main). While I soaked in the amazing Jacuzzi tub (bath oil provided), they were able to recommend to my husband where to go for a nice walk in the area. Rebecca also helped with what to check out in the area. We stopped at Ten Thousand Villages in Ephrata. Even though there is one near our home, this is the original one and largest one. This place is a gem. We met such nice people and we do not stay in B & B's normally but I cannot wait to return here.


What a pleasant surprise!

4,6 sur juillet 17, 2013

This was my first time staying at a B and B, and I have to say, thanks to the amazing experience we had, it won't be my last. The owners couldn't have been better. The rooms were spotless. Breakfast was a treat. Will be returning in the near future.


Perfect stay

5 sur juillet 12, 2013

Everything was perfect


Friendly Elegance and Comfort

5 sur juillet 11, 2013

My wife and I took a long weekend trip recently and stayed with Rebecca and Dave at their wonderful property, the Historic Smithton Inn, in Ephrata, Pennsylvania – in the northern part of Lancaster County (Amish country). Our three night stay was marked with friendly conversation and assistance, delicious and elegant breakfasts, and a clean, well-kept and tastefully outfitted room on the first floor at the back of the Inn. We couldn’t have been more pleased with our visit. We would highly recommend the Historic Smithton Inn to anyone considering a visit to Lancaster County.


A wonderful experience

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

Our stay (two nights) was wonderful in every respect. The room was perfect, the breakfasts outstanding and the hospitality superb. We would definitely stay again if the occasion arose. Richard & Linda Peterson, Lincoln, NE


Very pleasant

3,8 sur juin 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our one night stopover, very comfortable and great breakfast.


Outstanding Breakfasts

4,0 sur juin 17, 2013

Great B&B in a very convenient location. Comfortable beds, in rooms snacks and wonderful breakfasts. Will be back again!


Historic Smithton Inn

5 sur juin 17, 2013

We stayed one night as we toured through Amish country. The Inn is very historic and beautiful and the breakfast was great! The owners also gave us very good suggestions for places to see and things to do in the surrounding area.


Super, super and more super!

5 sur juin 16, 2013

Wonderful staff and owners like staying at home. Food was excellent and we met other interesting people who were also staying there.


Best of the Best!

5 sur juin 12, 2013

This is an incredible bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, contain a mini-frig and snacks, and the breakfasts are delicious. The owners are friendly and welcoming. We look forward to a return trip.


Loved the Smithton Inn!

5 sur juin 10, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Historic Smithton Inn. It was lovely! We loved the antiques and Pennsylvania Dutch artwork. Our room was spacious and inviting, complete with a fireplace, four poster canopy bed, sofa, flat-screen TV, and Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The breakfast was delightful and our hosts, the Gallaghers, were very knowledgeable about the area. We would definitely recommend the Smithton Inn if you are visiting Lancaster county.


The Best Bed and Breakfast !

5 sur juin 08, 2013

When ever possible, we always find a way to stay at the Smithton Inn ! Everything about it is relaxing. Rebecca and David always have suggestion on where to go for what we are looking to do. We have stayed there several times and look forward to our next stay ! Patsy


50th bday

4,6 sur juin 06, 2013

I was looking for a nice place to relax for my 50th bday, and definitely found it here. The bed was very comfortable, towels plush and soft. The Inn Keepers were very helpful to suggest interesting things to do and knew where I could be accommodated for my gluten allergy. Would happily stay there again.


Thoughts from a professional world traveller

5 sur juin 05, 2013

A wonderful experience in an establishment that recognizes the meaning of the word SERVICE . On entering, the traveler realizes that at the Smithton the customer is truly the most important element and that providing a welcoming atmosphere is their main goal .


Excellent

5 sur mai 30, 2013

Everything was perfect!


Very good B&B

4,0 sur mai 30, 2013

Great place! There were a few minor repairs that they could make to the room, like loose tiles and some rattling noises. And it's a bit close to a busy road, but an excellent choice!


Getaway

4,8 sur mai 22, 2013

Smithton Inn was a very pleasant not-far-from-home overnight stay. The innkeepers and their sidekick, Lucky, welcomed us warmly.


Best B & B we have stayed at!

5 sur mai 07, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way home from a family event in CT back to our home in SW FL. We were thrilled with the quality of this Inn. The hosts and owners were so friendly that we immedialtely felt at home. The breakfasts were a gourmet delight and we did not need any sustenance until evening! Our room was wonderful as were the decorations. The linens on the bed were such a treat that I will be seeking them out for our home. I cannot imagine a better B & B anywhere in our great country. Dr. Harvey Goldstein


Super Super

5 sur mai 03, 2013

Super nice, super clean, beautiful historic inn and most importantly.....super nice hostess Rebecca who is also a SUPER chef who served us two SUPER large gourmet breakfasts...would highly recommend staying at Smithton if you are traveling in Ephrata, Lancaster, Adamstown, Denver area. We will definitely be back there next year! Dave and Holly Helmcamp-Baltimore, MD


Friendly comfortable stay - I'll be back

5 sur avril 29, 2013

We were looking for a nice B&B close to a half marathon race in a nearby town. The Historic Smithton Inn seemed to fit that bill. From our first contact with Rebecca, however, our expectations were exceeded. The Inn is a lovely historic building, the rooms are well appointed and quite comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and the service superb. Rebecca and her team made us feel welcomed and well pampered. We will definately be back.


Flawless

5 sur avril 21, 2013

Had a great experience at the Smithton Inn. Rebecca and David are friendly and helpful, the rooms great, the food great, etc. No complaints. My only warning to future visitors: it's on a busy corner, so don't plan to sleep in late on a weekday.


Beautiful, historic atmosphere with great service!

5 sur avril 02, 2013

Beautifully restored inn, with the perfect innkeepers! The rooms are filled with local, art, antiques and quilts and are so charming. Breakfasts are thoughtfully prepared and delicious (especially the apple puff pancakes), The innkeepers made outstanding suggestions for sightseeing and dining, and are clearly passionate about their beautiful, historic inn. I loved this inn! I highly recommend.


Great Lancaster County B&B

4,8 sur mars 28, 2013

Even before we arrived in Ephrata we knew we were going to have a great experience at the Smithton Inn. We had a conflict come up after we booked our trip, and Rebecca was very accommodating in helping us reschedule. We also did an early check-in and it was no problem. The sweet dog greeted us upon check-in and we were able to get settled even though we were early and Rebecca and Dave weren't available to meet us. Our room (the Sage Room) was large and beautifully decorated. The best part of the Inn is that every room has its own fireplace. Everything we needed during our stay was right at our fingertips, as if our needs had already been anticipated. We loved the extensive DVD collection and watching a movie in our room with the cozy fireplace going and curled up in the gorgeous quilt. In the morning, we woke up to the smell of a delicious breakfast, and the taste did not disappoint. The meal was fabulous, and there were lots of options for breads and juices. The coffee was also delicious, an important feature according to my girlfriend. We had delightful conversations during our stay with our breakfast table companions, and Rebecca and Dave, the innkeepers. The price of the room was worth every penny, even without all the extras along the way, like the fresh baked cookies at check-in, fully stocked self-serve Keurig machine in the foyer, snacks and water in our room, and Foursquare check-in special. We will definitely be back!


Quiet getaway

5 sur mars 25, 2013

Charming, lots of history, quiet and very clean. The owners are extremely pleasant and very accommodating. They directed us to many places of interests and offered us coupons for dinner. Breakfast and coffee was delicious. Would definitely return and recommend to my friends and family.


Wonderful and comfortable inn

5 sur mars 21, 2013

Our stay at the Historic Smithton Inn was just what we needed. A weekend away from busy life to go to an interesting area of our beautiful country and to stay in a piece of history with all the comforts we could ask for. A working (real, not electric) fireplace, a small refrigerator, a jet tub, and the most comfortable sheets that we have ever slept on. We stayed in the "Red Room" and loved it. We had the opportunity to see all of the rooms in the inn, and all are beautiful, offer different amenities, but all have a great deal of attention to detail. The inn itself is beautiful and shows the history without being "over modernized" and Dave gave us a "behind the scenes" tour and explained a lot of the history of the inn. Rebecca, always welcoming and helpful offered up a delicious breakfast along with great conversation and excellent recommendations for our visit in Lancaster County. We will definitely return to the Historic Smithton Inn. Thanks Rebecca and David!


Excellent B&B

5 sur mars 21, 2013

Very nice and cozy B&B, highly recommend staying there and looking forward to future stays there!


Relaxing stay

4,4 sur mars 19, 2013

We had a very comfortable 2-night stay at the Inn. We end up staying in the Red room, but took a peek at all others and it was not an easy decision. All rooms are beautifully decorated, have fire place and private bathrooms. Red room had a jacuzzi tab and was facing the back garden - that determined our choice. We felt very welcomed at the Inn; the innkeepers and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful with individual attention (there were not many guests at the time). The common area living room also had a fireplace and even a grand piano. It was neat to be in an old house that was an Inn since its beginning 250 years ago. There was more history to view in the nearby Cloister. Overall, it was a great stay.


Would sleep there again!!!!!

3,8 sur mars 18, 2013

Breakfast was awsome, very clean rooms and very friendly hostess


A wonderful Escape

5 sur mars 14, 2013

Had the pleasure spending the weekennd at Smithton Inn. Our weekend started with a greeting you only get from a best friend you havent seen in years. Check-in was painless and quick and soon we were wisked away to our room (Sage Room) The room was impeccably clean with a nice large bathroom. In the morning we were greeted with a smile and Rebecca was accomodating with my no cheesse request. We look forward to going back during the summer months and hopefully have an oppurtunity for an extended stay.


One Night Getaway

3,8 sur mars 13, 2013

Service was great, the room were super clean, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. No real complaints - except our room was right by a fairly busy street. We heard a lot of street traffic during the evening, but it was completely gone by nighttime. Recommended.


Smithton Inn Review

5 sur mars 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Smithton Inn. The room was spotless! Rebecca is a friendly and informative hostess. The breakfasts provided plenty of delicious food. We are looking forward to staying at Smithton again.


Weekend Escape

5 sur mars 07, 2013

Absolutely wonderful! Very relaxing weekend!


Marvelous!

5 sur mars 05, 2013

We loved returning to Smithton for the first time since Rebecca and Dave took it over several years ago. They are charming, great hosts, and we will return soon. They also have poured a ton of care and improvements into the beautiful, historic old inn. It still has working fireplaces in every room, and now each room has a private bath. Among other major projects, they have a new roof, all-new windows, gutters, redone brickwork, and a wisely placed new first-floor back door and restroom. The garden and yard area is much larger and beautiful. Inside there are many upgrades, including new flat-screen TV's and wifi. Tasty cookies and your choice of hot beverage from a k-cup carousel is always available on the first floor, too. It still feels like the historic old inn, but one we were much more comfortable in. The breakfasts are delicious. The price is just right. We highly recommend it!


Go there...as soon as you can!

5 sur février 28, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed a weekend at the Smithton every year since the Gallagher's re-opened the Inn 3 years ago. They are always wonderful hosts and Rebecca is a fabulous cook! (You must try her crispy french toast!) The Smithton is a wonderful location for a weekend getaway...I highly recommend it!


Beautiful Inn, great service

5 sur février 27, 2013

Beautiful Inn, very clean. The owners did a wonderful job on the inn. Very friendly, great breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.


We love this place

5 sur février 23, 2013

We stay here every time we come to Lancaster. The innkeepers are fantastic and very knowledgeable about the area. Love the rooms!


Winter Wonderland

4,2 sur janvier 30, 2013

We visited the Historic Smithton Inn at the height of winter and enjoyed ourselves more than we had even anticipated. With snow on the ground, the building and surround area are beautiful. Try as they might the photographs don't do the property justice. Perhaps this is most pronounced in the room - we stayed in the Chocolate Room, and the appearance was dreamlike. A fireplace, warm earth tones, heavy curtains, and a lovely view made me feel blessed to have found such accommodations. Numerous lamps were a pleasant bonus as well. The staff was wonderful, as has been my experience at each bed and breakfast I've visited; something must draw kind hosts to this career. The Keurig coffee-maker in the foyer was a plus for me as a coffee-fanatic - there were always mugs and coffee available. Similarly, a wide variety of books and DVDs are available in a library on the ground floor to be borrowed during your stay, so even a lone traveler would not find himself or herself bored here. Breakfast was top-notch, and Rebecca (one of the proprietors) discussed it with us upon arrival to double-check special requests and our desired time of meal. It exceeded our hopes, and was the perfect conclusion to a pleasant one-night visit to Ephrata, Pennsylvania. You won't be disappointed staying here!


Anniversary Getaway at the Smithton Inn

4,6 sur janvier 26, 2013

The Crimson Dove Suite was perfect for an anniversary getaway weekend. The bed was comfortable(amazingly soft, white sheets), fireplace very cheery and the jaccuzzi a delightful treat! Breakfasts were delicious and my dietary restrictions were no problem. Our hosts, Dave and Rebecca were welcoming (even though we were late arriving), enthusiastic about their inn and very helpful. We were looking for a special restaurant for dinner and they gave us several excellent suggestions. Rebecca provided us with directions and we spent a lovely day exploring the countryside and checking out covered bridges. All in all, it was a perfect weekend escape.


Enjoyable inn

4,6 sur janvier 19, 2013

We had a very good time at Smithton Inn. It's room is historic and spacious, and staff is so kind to us. Also we enjoyed breakfast .


Smithton Inn Taylors Cottage

4,6 sur janvier 12, 2013

We are a family of 5. We stayed in Taylors Cottage attached to the main building. It is very hard to fault our stay. I could not recommend this Bed and Breakfast highly enough. Everything was better than expected. The breakfast made by the hosts was fantastic each morning. They were happy to cook other things when confronted with fussy children. Recommend to anyone that this is a great place to stay.


smithton inn review

4,4 sur décembre 16, 2012

I could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. Everything was wonderful.


Enjoy Down-Home Hospitality At This Charming B&B.

5 sur décembre 11, 2012

Incredible inn with a couple of terrific hosts. The Crimsom Room was very comfortable and kept spotless every day of our 4-night stay. Amenities abounded from the gourmet breakfasts to the coffee, hot chocolate and homemade cookies that greeted us every day in the lobby. Sitting by the cozy fire on cool nights in our room was the utmost in relaxation. Thank you Rebecca, Dave and Lucky - we're planning our return visit next year to help you celebrate the inn's 250th Anniversary.


Weekend Stay

5 sur décembre 05, 2012

Historic Smithton Inn far exceeded our expectations. The room was delightful and the innkeepers were extremely accommodating. I would definitely recommend it as an excellent place to stay.


Almost Heaven

5 sur décembre 05, 2012

gorgeous room, lots of cool details like bottled water and snacks provided every day, heated bathroom floor, delicious filling breakfasts, printed directions to the local harley davidson dealers when we didnt have them, good dinner recommendations, nice dog, electronic medium chargers right on the desk for easy access, genuinely nice inn keepers, fountain outside, plenty of easy access parking, early morning coffee, fireplace in our room, discounted price for our late fall stay--i have nothing of any negative consequence to say--nothing--we plan on returning to the very same room next year!!


Happy Anniversary

5 sur novembre 25, 2012

Can't wait to go back to this lovely inn!! Great room , wonderful hospitality and excellent food. Close to everything!!


Lovely Week's Stay at Smithton Inn

4,4 sur novembre 13, 2012

Charming B&B. Stayed a week in October to enjoy PA foliage and explore Amish country. Nicely landscaped property. Comfortable room and amenities. We stayed in the Chocolate room, however traffic from the main road was heard (unavoidable) due to the room's location at the corner of two streets. Other rooms at the inn are just as nice and most likely quieter since they do not overlook the main road. Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious with the menu changing everyday. Something I noticed, breakfast always seemed to contain locally produced sausage either in the main or side dish- more meat variety would have been nice, that said the food was great! All in all, a wonderful stay. We will return in the future.


Great B&B!

4,0 sur novembre 08, 2012

A great place to stay. The breakfast is outstanding.! Owners are very personable and a great help with knowing and making suggestions of the attractions in the area.


What a find!

5 sur novembre 03, 2012

We enjoyed everything about this inn. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. The room was large, beautifully decorated, and had all the little amenities such as an iPod dock, charging station, and good light to read by. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the dining room small and intimate. The location was a great place to day trip from and the owners were knowledgable about restaurants and sights in the area. This will definitely be a place we will stay again and again.


All around every thing was great

5 sur novembre 02, 2012

One quick night? Would stay longer next time.


A Perfect Retreat

5 sur novembre 01, 2012

My wife and I escape the city to the Smithton Inn every year for our anniversary. Never once has it disappointed. Rebecca and David run a top notch bed and breakfast, paying attention to all of the small details that make for a truly carefree and relaxing experience. On top of it all, the breakfasts are absolutely delicious and filling. I cannot recommend the Smithton Inn highly enough.


The Greatest!

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

If you are traveling anywhere within 50 miles of Ephrata and need lodging, this is the place; worth any distance. Not far from the Pennsylvania Turnpike. This was our third visit with many more to come. If you like GREAT food, rooms and "hostessing" this is the place. Lighted off-street parking is a huge plus. We are coast-to-coast B&B converts and find the Smithton Inn one of the USA's best. Wendell and Jean from Indiana


Fall in PA October 2012

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

Do NOT MISS this B&B - we just returned from a weekend stay and everything from our delicious breakfasts, to the beautiful spacious rooms to our friendly and accommodating host and hostess were first rate! Thank you Rebecca and Dave....we wish you many successful years to come and hope to return again soon!


A beyond outstanding visit!

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

A real highlight of our trip! Everything was beyond outstanding! Rebecca and Dave were friendly and attentive to our individual needs. The food was superb. The room was large and comfortable. We'd go back in a minute.


A gorgeous B&B- Hosts Rebecca & David just lovely:)

4,6 sur octobre 09, 2012

We would like to recommend Smithton Inn B&B as it has a wonderful old charm, very warm and welcoming... Rebecca & David -Thanks for a wonderful stay. Regards from the Australian Visitors Downunder!!


Antique extravaganza in Adamstown

4,4 sur octobre 05, 2012

we stayed one night in ephrata to attend the Antiques extravaganxa in Adamstown. We enjoyed the Smithton Inn. Spacious room, plenty of movies to choose from. Grat location. Excellent breakfast, quality and quantity excellent french toast yogurt strawberries, coffee, juice etc. Great place for antiquing.


Great Getaway!

4,8 sur octobre 01, 2012

We stayed a the Smithton Inn for two nights. I can say that I would love to return to the Smithton Inn. Complete with comfortable robes and wonderful breakfasts, the Inn Keeper is very welcoming and full of wonderful information about the surrounding area. If you want a real treat in Lancaster County, stay at the Smithton Inn!


Wedding at the Inn

5 sur septembre 25, 2012

My daughter chose the Smithton for her wedding, and I could not be happier with the arrangements and all of the work Rebecca and her staff did. All the details were handled, and when it had to move inside it was seamless. If I return to the Amish or Gettysburg area, I will definitely stay at the Inn!


Exceeded our expectations

5 sur septembre 20, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Smithton, a perfect location for exploring Lancaster county. Rebecca and Dave were wonderful hosts, the accommodations were impeccable and the food was fantastic. A wonderful stay, we will definitely look forward to returning.


very well done

3,8 sur septembre 06, 2012

I enjoyed reading the history of this Inn, truly has historic significance to the town and area. Extremly well maintained and clean. The owners had tons of info of local resterants and activities all put into binders to look through. The owners were away for there first vacation in many years and our host Stephanie was gracious, extremly knowledgeable about the Inn and local resterants. Steph also whipped up a fantasic breakfast. Coffee was available early to bring back up to the room so my wife could function before her shower.


We will return great B&B

5 sur septembre 03, 2012

loved the porch in the morning, add a ceiling fan and it would be perfect


A Memorable Stay

5 sur août 31, 2012

We selected Smithton based on the wonderful reviews, and found it didn't disappoint. From the moment we walked in the front door, we were treated like royalty. Lots of very nice "little touches," in addition to the important touches like cleanliness and accommodation. We had a lovely stay, and plan to return, especially as they are approaching their 250th anniversary!


Smithton Inn

4,2 sur août 23, 2012

Loved this inn. This is the third Inn I have visited and by far the best. Stephanie was wonderful. Friendly without being intrusive. Her breakfasts were delish... Room was just right. We like to antique in Adamstown and try to visit a few times a year and we hope to get back again soon. I am a hotel professional and I can be overly critical but I would definitely recommend the Smithton Inn .


Wonderful Inn

4,8 sur août 22, 2012

Stayed in the first floor room (Sage?). It was nice having an option to stay in a first floor room and not have to haul luggage up steps. Breakfast was outstanding, including the tricks provided by the sweet dog, Lucky.


We Absolutely Love the Smithton Inn!

5 sur août 19, 2012

We love everything about the Smithton Inn! We loved our first stay (March 2012) so much that we decided to book the entire Inn for our wedding celebration and will be getting married on the grounds. This visit was to obtain our marriage license and work out some of the final details for the wedding - we cannot wait to visit again in September 2012 for our wedding! We would recommend the Smithton Inn to anyone!


Exceeded our expectations

4,0 sur août 15, 2012

Delightful host and beautifully appointed inn. My husband and I would recommend it highly.


Owners Try Hard To Make Your Stay Enjoyable

4,6 sur août 15, 2012

I loved my stay right down to the lotion provided which was a private branding of Smithton - a nice touch. The local attractions are interesting, too.


Outstanding B&B Experience

5 sur août 14, 2012

Our stay at the Historic Smithton Inn was among our best B&B experiences. The rooms are well decorated and spotless. Rebecca and Dave are super hosts and Rebecca is a superb cook. Breakfasts are truly special -the banana bread French toast is delicious as is the home made granola. We are looking forward to a return stay at the Inn.


Outstanding and relaxing

5 sur août 13, 2012

The history envelopes you and takes you back to a time of elegant simplicity. The local dining uses organic locally grown vegetables and local seafood. People are pleasant and accommodating. If you like to relax , get away from technology, and seek romance then this is the place for you.


We love the Smithton Inn and Rebecca and David!

5 sur août 05, 2012

Rebecca and David are the perfect hosts! They were friendly, knowledgeable, and outstanding breakfast chefs! We plan to return as soon as we are able :)


Smithton is Special

4,0 sur juillet 31, 2012

Appreciated the early check in. The yellow room was well appointed. Rebecca was happy, informative and helpful. Love the fresh cookies under glass at the front desk.


Even more wonderful than the first time.

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2012

I first stayed at the Smithton Inn almost 20 years ago and I must say, this was even better than before. Rebecca and David are the perfect hosts. The room and inn have been updated to good effect and the breakfast was wonderful.


Simply Perfect!!

5 sur juillet 27, 2012

1st stay at this beautiful B&B, and it won't be our last!! Had an absolutlely wonderful weekend! The room was very clean and had every amenity we would want, i.e., robes, snacks, hair dryer, etc.! The breakfasts were superb and very plentiful!! The innkeepers were very informative and helpful in assisting us with our plans!!! truly, 5 stars!!


Smithon Inn

5 sur juillet 26, 2012

Our stay at the Smithton Inn was as we expected. Comfortable beds, great food and friendly service. The Smithon is located centrally in Lancaster County for us to get to all of the istes we wanted to see that weekend.


Very enjoyable stay!

5 sur juillet 17, 2012

Our room was roomy and comfortable. Rebecca was so very helpful and friendly. We loved her breakfast! We will definitely stay at the Smithton Inn again in the future. Ann from Houston, Texas


Worth the stay!

3,6 sur juillet 14, 2012

This inn was quaint and cozy. The best aspect of the experience was the extreme friendliness and helpfulness of the hostess/owner, Rebecca. I would definitely stay here again!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

Everything 5 Star. We just want to keep coming back and we do. Glad we do not live in Ephrata as if we did, we would not have need to stay at Smithton. .Donna & Charles


ou can actually believe all you read and see on their website!

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

7-2-12 We just got home from the Historic Smithton Inn yesterday. It was our very first stay at a Bed & Breakfast establishment and I don't believe there is another B&B that can exceed, or even come close to meeting, this amazing inn. Rebecca, Dave, (and, of course Lucky) have thought of everything. Our room (The Crimson Dove) was exactly as it appears in the website photo (I understand some other sites have been photoshopped or taken years ago). You won't believe the softness of the bed linens...just like 600 thread ones. Rebecca's culinary abilities are up there with the very best restaurants. Yum! Every room has it's own private bathroom (fully "stocked" and always immaculate, thanks to Judy). You simply can not go wrong and will be so glad you chose the Smithton Inn!


Beautifully kept inn with service to match

4,6 sur juin 30, 2012

All rooms are wonderfully decorated - honoring the history of the inn with the right balance of antiquity and simplicity. Guests can expect comfort, cleanliness, luxurious bedding, a delicious breakfast, and a delightful hostess. The grounds are lovely, too!


Great friends retreat

4,8 sur juin 27, 2012

Wonderful area, wonderful location, wonderful hosts, great food. Much more traffic and ambulance noise than we anticipated. Ear plugs would have made our stay paradise.


Great location for a wonderful getaway

5 sur juin 18, 2012

The Historic Smithton Inn was a wonderful place to stay. Warm inviting rooms with a kind and gratious host. We were greeted at the door and given a great tour of the inn. OUr room was far beyond our expectations with an even better breakfast in the morning. You could not ask for a better place to stay. I will certainly return soon.


Excellent B & B

4,6 sur juin 16, 2012

Very nice stay for those who want to visit Lancaster County. The hosts were very helpful, the rooms charming and comfortable, and the breakfast sensational. We highly recommend the Smithton Inn.


Great place and great food!

5 sur juin 08, 2012

Wonderful food and service and the house was beautiful! We had a great stay!


Lovely Inn with many nice features

3,6 sur juin 01, 2012

Excellent B&B with many modern features in the room, including a flat screen TV. The sheets were super comfortable - so much so that we bought a set and now use them on our own bed.


like cominghome

5 sur mai 22, 2012

we have enjoy our stay at the Inn, enthouisiasme and kindness . Very nice rooms with anything on in. a nice fireplace. A place you feel at home.


Our Stay at the Smithton Inn "Fantastic!"

5 sur mai 04, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Smithton Inn. The history of the Inn was available to us along with a nice tour since we arrived earily on Friday. The food, the homey feeling, and being waited on was truely a treat to all!. We stayed in the Red Room and just loved the cozyness. My husband had never stayed in a B & B before and was a bit hesitant, but after our stay would like to reserve a room for a yearly visit. Thank you again! it was a fantastic time... and give Lucky the Dog a piece of sausage for me! we truely became "bud's"


Our second stay

4,8 sur avril 30, 2012

The Smithton Inn is fabulous. Magnificent gourmet breakfasts. Rebecca is a delight. Most importantly, she makes you feel comfortable. M & M, Belfast, Maine.


inviting and friendly

5 sur avril 30, 2012

Beds and pillows were comfortable. Loved the garden and the rabbit. More modern architect on the outside walls were beautiful and conformed to the colonial era. Lucky, the dog, was so cute.


Charming Inn

5 sur avril 26, 2012

We will be back! What a beautiful place. The room was very comfortable and great attention was paid to every detail. I wish we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend this B&B.


Exceptional Inn and Innkeepers

4,8 sur avril 19, 2012

We were searching ideas for a nearby mini-vacation and came upon a wine and cheese tour from Lancaster County Tours. At this website, several different tours are offered and are the result of a brilliant collaboration of the innkeepers at 3 local inns. After visiting their website, we chose the Historic Smithton Inn for our stay and booked a room for three in my family and booked a second room for my daughter and her husband. The pictures on the website accurately represent the inn and the rooms, but until you actually stay there, you have no idea how warm and welcoming the Innkeepers, Rebecca and Dave, truly are. Rebecca is a wonderful host, cook and caretaker. I have never met anyone more energetic, accommodating or enthusiastic than she is, and she made our stay both memorable and enjoyable. My son is a very picky eater and Rebecca made certain he had what he likes at breakfast even though it meant preparing and providing something entirely different for him. She is both interested and interesting and even went with us on the wine and cheese tour! If you're thinking of a visit to Lancaster County, I highly recommend a stay here along with any of the tours offered.


A true gem in the Lancaster area!

5 sur avril 18, 2012

The best B&B we have stayed in. The hosts, Rebecca and David, are wonderful and make you feel right at home. They are a wealth of information and provide the lttle extras that show that they enjoy what they do. The Crimson Dove room is very nice with a jacuzzi, bathroom with heated floor and fireplace. Accomodations are very comfortable and the sheets are very soft. Breakfast is a feast of homemade items and includes a beautifully presented hot entree that will not only be delicious but will also fill you. This historic building is a true gem in the Lancaster area!


Smithton Inn

4,6 sur mars 15, 2012

The Smithton Inn was a nice getaway. We particularly enjoyed the history of the house and how no nails were used to build it.


feb. 17-19

4,4 sur février 26, 2012

Very pleased with this inn. The hosts were pleasant and helpful. Room was spotless. Hope it is available on our next visit to the area.


Great weekend getaway

4,6 sur février 23, 2012

Rebecca and David have captured the historic atmosphere of the Inn while still offering the luxuries that people seek when trying to escape from everyday life. The warm and welcome feeling permeates the Inn. We enjoyed the movie library and the Whirlpool tub was assume.


Nice Location

5 sur février 20, 2012

Had a great time at the Smithton. The owners are very friendly and accomomodating. They were most helpful in restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was excellent! The bed was comfortable. The only issue I had is that the sheets on the bed were 100% polyester not 100% cotton, whick I'm rather picky about. Other than that this is an excellent place to stay when in the area.


Overnight Get Away

5 sur février 18, 2012

We spent one night at the Historic Smithton Inn and we very pleased. The room was very clean with comfortable bedding. The breakfast was delicious. Snacks and beverages were also available.


The Smithton Inn - Graduate Class Work

5 sur février 14, 2012

Our first visit was 24 years ago on our 25th anniversary. Last week was our 49th and the Inn is nicer by far, the Inn Keepers are mega-grand. Whenever we now go back (this was our 4th visit in about one year) as we leave we start to talk about our next visit. The breakfast is a banquet of really awesomely prepared great foods and I think a candidate for Diners, Drive-ins and Dives... maybe Guy would consider doing a B&B? Thank you Rebecca and David!!


Amish countryside, Snow Geese, History from Historic Smithton Inn base

4,6 sur février 14, 2012

My husband and I had a very pleasant stay in the Sage Room at the Historic Smithton Inn in early February 2012. We really appreciated the old building, our spacious room and bathroom, easy Wi-Fi access, the working fireplace (not gas), the delicious breakfasts, and several spot-on recommendations from the innkeepers (where to see snow geese, dining at Black Horse). The location near the historic Ephrata Cloister would be great for anyone wishing to visit (not on this trip for us). We would be very happy to return.


Wonderful visit

4,8 sur février 01, 2012

We were in Ephrata for a family function and were familiar with the Inn from passing by it. Litle did we know what a delightful experiece it would be with a winning combination of historic character and up to date amenities. Our hosts Rebecca and Dave were delighful and perfectly suited for their positions as innkeepers. The breakfast (not my favorite meal of the day) was delightful and situated in a beautiful sunlit room. All in all a 5 star experience and we would be more than happy to return.


Beautiful Historic Inn

4,6 sur janvier 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Historic Smithton Inn and enjoyed every moment. David and Rebecca are a warm and enjoyable couple. Rebecca's breakfasts were fabulous and the Inn is beautifully maintained. We would highly recommend a stay at the Smithton!


Historic Smithton Inn

5 sur janvier 13, 2012

I had a brief, but wonderful stay at the Historic Smithton Inn. The tailor's quarters were extremely cozy with a fireplace, fluffy bedding and lots of room for a family. The place was immaculate and appropriately decorated to reflect the history of the Inn. Rebecca, the innkeeper, was extremely accomodating to my dietary needs for breakfast and prepared a special tomato stuffed egg. The presentation and taste of the food was excellent. I felt as if I were queen for a day! I highly recommend this Inn to anyone passing through the area, as it provides comfort, history and hospitality at a five star level!


Beautiful Restored Inn

4,0 sur janvier 05, 2012

The loveliest innkeepers - enjoyed the casual conversations and the beautiful restorations of this inn over the last 2 years - Becky knows the area and gave us ideas of sites and restaurants to suit our style and interests that we couldn't have found on the internet


Weekend Gateway

4,8 sur décembre 19, 2011

A very relaxing, pleasant experience. My husband and I stayed in the Crismson room, very spacious, clean and comfortable to say the least. Rebecca and her husband were friendly, warm and welcomed us as if we were old friends meeting again for the first time after many years away. Anyone wishing to experience a bed and breakfast with all the charm and character should consider a stay at the Smithton Inn.


Great 2nd Anniversary!!

4,4 sur décembre 09, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Historic Smithton Inn. David was an exceptional host. He made sure we were as comfortable as could be and was a great assistance with dinner plans and local events. Our bed in the Crimson Dove Suite was so comfortable (we miss it!!!). And breakfast was phenomenal (crunchy french toast..yum!)! We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.


A Must when in the Area

4,8 sur décembre 08, 2011

The Count down Christmas clock was a unique way to be greeted to the Inn. Check in made us feel like we were home. The only thing missing was Rebecca who was away for the weekend, but have no fear Dave did an outstanding job. From showing us our room, the Chocolate Suite which was as homey and comfy as could be, to suggesting Restaurants and giving directions that were right on the money. The chair next to the fire place in the room is so comfy you just sink in and can easily take a nap. The bed is the best kept secret, such a good nights sleep is not something that is usual when away from home, but here it was just that. Breakfast was fruit salad, and Crunchy French Toast that Dave served Hot from the oven to our table. We did not feel like guests at all but part of the family, even meeting Judy. The book of the Inn from the Gallagher's beginning was very interesting to see and showed how much they cared for the place and the people that they employee at times . Quite a delightful place . We plan on visiting again to see all the new changes. Good luck you are doing a terrific job.


Smithton stay

5 sur novembre 29, 2011

The rooms were great and also roomy The fireplace was an added touch. The inkeepers were terrific . Very friendly. We certainly enjoyed our stay Thanks


Lancaster Get Away

5 sur novembre 20, 2011

Great innkeepers, lovely rooms. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate going back.


Simply Amazing

4,8 sur octobre 22, 2011

Our stay was so wonderful, I don't know where to begin. The inn itself is gorgeous. Rebecca, David, and Lucky Dog were such gracious hosts (Lucky even hung out in our room for a bit while we packed). The breakfast was so stellar that I may fly back from California just for some more of that Amish bread. The fellow guests were endlessly entertaining (We entered as quietly as we could because it was almost midnight, only to find most the other guests playing Trivial Pursuit and watching the Yankees game in the common room). I only wish we were able to stay more than one night. There's always next time.


Wonderful

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2011

Stayed for two nights. Beds comfortable - breakfasts delicious!


WARM WELLCOME, COZY HOUSE, GEORGOUS BREAKFAST

4,8 sur septembre 28, 2011

Thank you Rebeca for everthing. We liked your lovely house very much. It was cozy and plenty of very good taste. Your homemade breakfast were abosolutely delicious and the best way to start the day getting around The Dutch Count. Even you give away us some delicious homemade muffins to go on our travel. Thank you very much Rebeca. Warm greetings from Spain!


A Sure Bet

4,4 sur septembre 16, 2011

I stayed in "Guest Room One" (see 2nd down on the right - picture) From the extra comfy sheets to the marvelous breakfast (I also had Rebecca's Peach-Stuffed French Toast and local sage-sausage), you can't go wrong. The room I had on the ground floor was twice the size of the one I had stayed in the night before in downtown Philadelphia, had a couple of nice leather-(ish!) armchairs, a refrigerator, and a wee little fireplace that was unnecessary in early September but which (I thought) was a nice touch. Anything you might need in an inn is there and much you might not expect, such as a baby grand piano in the parlor. The grounds are nice with off-street parking, a small koi pond, a gazebo, and Adirondack chairs scatterd here and there. Honestly, why would you stay in a soulless, sterile hotel when you could stay here? Room Tip: Not actually sure about the pets, but the Inn boasts a friendly, if rather elderly, dog named "Lucky" (who inexplicably seems to have all of his limbs, eyes, etc.). This may be of some small concern if you are allergic to dogs. I had little trouble, though I am indeed allergic to them.


Wonderful stay!!!

4,0 sur août 15, 2011

We needed a place to stay overnight in Ephrata, and had toured the Smithton Inn a year or so earlier during a "Tulip Tour" (home tour of homes and such in town). The place looked nice, so I booked us there for a stay - same day. The owner was very accommodating, and we had a VERY nice room, very clean, well-appointed, very comfortable bed, and the breakfast the next morning was MUCH better than I had expected!!! Peach stuffed French Toast with whipped cream and other goodies, excellent coffee.... Yum!!! Fortunately, I decided to ignore my diet (my will power vanished when I saw what the other tables were eating when we joined them for breakfast) - well worth the exercise to work it off!!! I will definitely stay there again on a future visit - and the price was about the same as a chain hotel (which wouldn't have had the super food!). Very quiet and friendly house dog present, very unobtrusive and I think it added to the ambiance. Didn't "nose around" us as guests, which was nice as I have allergies (most dogs don't bother me, but it wasn't an issue anyway as the dog was just present, not a nuisance in any way).


WONDERFUL STAY IN A HISTORIC HOUSE IN AMISH COUNTRY

5 sur février 08, 2011

always a wonderful stay in this great bed and breakfast.......all the amenities you could ask for and then some....nothing left to chance...... so very scrumptious breakfasts....always delicious afternoon snacks...... coffee, tea, hot chocolate always available in the winter and lemonade and ice tea in the summer....logs provided for your working fireplaces.......the inn keepers so very accommodating.....a superior bed and breakfast thats so very well appointed.......none better.......always our place to stay when we are anywhere near ephrata.....a historic inn with up to date accomodations....one that i so highly recommend


Saying it was the best just doesn't do it !

5 sur décembre 14, 2010

My wife and I were in Ephrata for my sons wedding, and it was our first time at a B&B. After this visit, we will NEVER stay in a hotel again. Rebecca and Dave treat you more like family then most families treat each other. My wife had forgotten her earrings and necklace, but then came Rebecca to the rescue! Dave treatet me like I was his brother, showing me the improvements they had made to the building and what they want to do in the future. The food was absolutely fantastic ( Rebeccas' Italian Quiche made even me like spinach...wow! ), and with Lucky as your Maitre'd no one has to wait for anything. All in all, we couldn't have hoped for a better stay and will definately be returning there every time we visit the area.


Nov. 19-20, 2010 visit

5 sur décembre 03, 2010

At a recent two-day stay at the Inn with another couple, we had one of the best B&B experiences my husband and I ever had. Rebeccal and David were wonderful hosts and went above and beyond to share their knowledge of Lancaster Country with us. The Inn was decorated tastefully and was unelievable clean. Rebecca prepared two wonderful homemade breakfasts which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend anyone to try this wonderful B&B.


Great place to relax

5 sur novembre 03, 2010

We just returned from our vacation to PA. We loved the Smithton Inn, our nice room, the wonderful breakfast, and all the help and useful advice from the innkeepers. They told us about restaurants and things to do that worked out perfectly. we also loved the friendly dog Lucky and her acrobatics. We miss her now.


Love this Bed & Breakfast

5 sur octobre 29, 2010

After a long afternoon of driving we were greated by Rebecca and given a tour of the house by her husband Dave. The Red Room was inviting and cozy and even had a fireplace. We enjoyed the jacuzzi bath, lit a fire, and relaxed in our robes while watching a DVD from their library. The bed was wonderful and the sheets, well I ended up buying a set for our home. Rebecca's breakfast exceeded our expectations and Dave was kind enough to highlight a map and create a day's worth of activities around the county. Our second night we took their recommendation and had a fantastic meal at the Black Horse Tavern. Batteries recharged, the drive home on Sunday was a breeze. Look forward to a return visit and will recommend to our friends.


Lovely Inn, lovely Innkeepers!

5 sur septembre 11, 2010

What a lovely Inn! Everything from the website right down to the jam on the homemade bread each morning was well done. I so enjoyed the sunny, "yellow" room and slept-like-a-baby on fabulous linens and high quality mattress...must talk to Rebecca and order those sheets!! Rebecca and Dave are very gracious hosts, well suited to running an Inn. Folks...don't stay in a chain hotel when you have the opportunity to experience the Historic Smithton Inn! I'll be back for sure!


A Slice of Lancaster Heaven

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2010

The Smithton Inn was amazing. Dave and Rebecca are terrific hosts. When we checked in Dave greeted us and gave us a wonderful tour of the Inn. The room, the Red Room, was very comfortable. The tub is huge and since my husband and I are both tall we did not have any problems climbing in and out. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets that they have on the beds are super soft! They have a wonderful DVD library which we took advantage of in the evenings after a very busy day of sight seeing. Breakfast the first day was cooked by Dave and breakfast the second day was cooked by Rebecca, both days the food was very good and it was wonderful to talk to Dave and Rebecca. Rebecca even took our picture and emailed us a copy of it as a memento from our trip. Dave gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner when we arrived and we ended up going to both of his suggestions each evening. Lucky their dog is so sweet, since we have two dogs and had not seen them in days it was so nice to pet her and visit with her too. Thank you to Rebecca, Dave, Judy and Lucky for the wonderful memories and the relaxing visit.


Warm reception

5 sur mai 16, 2010

We stayed with Rebecca and David in February seeking a restspite from the northern cold. We certianly found that in the warm hospitality sitting around the fireplace in the evening talking with our hosts and playing with Lucky the dog, climbing into the bed (literally as the bed is 5 feet off the floor) and snuggling down under the covers, and waking up to great hot coffee and a delicious breakfast of waffles covered in a banana-rum sauce, strawberries and whipped cream. We continued our journey south refeshed and well warmed from the great hospitality and terrific accomodations at the Historic Smithton Inn.


Exceeded Expectations

5 sur mai 15, 2010

Let me be succinct in stating why I've decided to take the time to write this review of Smithton Inn in Ephrata Pa: 1. THE INNKEEPER (Rebecca), when I spoke to her on the phone, immediately put me at ease by her enthusiasm which far exceeded any feeling of officiousness. We all know this is a business for profit, but we cling to the hope that we can still feel relaxed and WELCOME upon arrival, and this I felt. 2. THE INN. It is GORGEOUS. All the antiques are AUTHENTIC, it's not some hokey recreation. The beds are supremely comfortable (tempur pedic just like I have at home), the towels thick, the water pressure high, wide screen TVs, WORKING fireplaces. Do I REALLY need to continue? I had a fire burning all evening, as well as an IN ROOM massage. All this while keeping in tact the feeling of being liberated from the city and immersed into a relaxing Pa town with Amish roots. 3. BREAKFAST. Rebecca loves cooking, and as I saw my reservation go from one day to two to three, I will say that the thought of getting up from my comfortable bed was made easier by knowing that chicken hash with poached eggs, raspberry pancakes, asparagus and cheese quiche were waiting for me. She actually SEASONS her food as I would, I remember thinking that were I to criticize it would be that some guests might find this not to their taste, especially if they prefer eggos for breakfast but for me, someone who uses herbs and spices, it was a pleasure. SAGE in my hash! Of COURSE! 4. PRICE. Prices are bargains, that's all there is to say. I'm not rich nor poor, but it's within my price range and I'll be back as soon as I need another does of R and R, and that will be SOON.


One of the best I've stayed in

4,6 sur avril 26, 2010

This is a great Inn. Its rooms are beautifully appointed with antiques and Amish quilts - but also with modern amenities such as spa baths, plasma tvs and ipod rechargers. We met Rebecca and her brilliant housekeeper Judy, not to mention Lucky the dog who made an occassional appearance. All were very welcoming, and (with the exception perhaps, of Lucky) extremely knowledgable about where to go and what to see. We enjoyed visiting the local Ephrata cloisters, Hannahs quilt shop (good value) and, further afield, the Andrew Wyeth collection at the Brandywine Rive Museum.


Valentine Weekend

5 sur mars 05, 2010

We spent Valentine's weekend at the inn and absolutely loved the experience. As stated in other reviews Rebecca and David make you feel so welcome it's like you belong at the inn and I wanted to stay forever. The rooms are fantastic (roomy, clean, comfortable) and I especially enjoyed the fireplace. Breakfast was delicious and my husband appreciated the always available home made cookies. I highly recommend the Smithton Inn, in fact I recommend it to myself and I'll be back.


Back Again... Returning Soon

4,8 sur février 22, 2010

My bride and I were here 22 years ago for our 25th anniversary celebration. We lived back in Hatboro Pa then. We now live in Lititz but wanted to have another anniversary celebration without a lot of travel so I went online and rediscovered the Historic Smithton Inn. With new owners this was an awesome experience. The Inn keepers are real folks and just fun to be around. If they have the time ask to see some photos of years past and the inn. They have made the inn a wonderful spot to stay and with new upgrades that in no way take away from the historic feel. We highly recommend the Purple Room (room 6), it has everything. And sparkle clean too, if my wife says it's clean then it's super clean. Last, but by no means least was the fabulous breakfast prepared by our hostess... it is more like a banquet than a breakfast and served fresh. Everything was top drawer and we will be revisiting again this year, for any reason. PS - ask them where to go for dinner and follow their advice...


Peaceful and Perfect

5 sur février 22, 2010

The Smithton Inn is a beautiful building. The innkeepers are most gracious. We had a terrific breakfast, the room was large with nice ammenities: heated bathroom floor, working fireplace, and flat screen TV and DVD player. Lucky, the innkeeper's dog is a sweetheart - welcoming the guests without being intrusive.


FABULOUS B&B!

5 sur février 22, 2010

We spent Valentine's Day at The Smithton Inn, and what a GREAT place to be! Each room has an original Amish (handmade) quilt, each room has a fireplace, each room has a bathroom. Eggs Benedict for breakfast! WOW! The place is immaculate, the proprietors are gracious, and the ambience is unique. We're ready to go back now!


Perfect Local Getaway

4,0 sur février 15, 2010

We appreciated the warm, friendly atmosphere. A relaxing getaway yet close to home & kids. Thanks for the comfy beds as this can be a challenge when we travel. Food was delicious, too.


Gorgeous, historic place to stay in PA Dutch Country

5 sur février 14, 2010

I live in Lancaster, but ended up spending 2 nights at the Smithton Inn after being snowed in near work in Ephrata during the Feb. 2010 blizzard. I have never walked in to an unfamiliar place and felt so instantly comfortable and at home. Rebecca (the innkeeper) and her family are incredibly kind and welcoming. She showed me around the whole inn (which was built in 1763). All of the rooms are beautiful, unique, and filled with antiques. Each also has a working fireplace, flat screen TV, and free wifi internet. I slept in the Sage Room on some fantastic sheets, underneath a beautifully crafted distelfink headboard! Rebecca is a fantastic cook. So bring your appetite to breakfast! This B&B is exactly what comes to mind when thinking about a cozy, historic place to stay in Pennsylvania dutch country.


The best of every world!

5 sur février 13, 2010

It was everything you could want in a bed and breakfast and more! Beautiful, clean, comfortable, and peaceful...plus Rebecca and David were fabulous hosts!! So friendly and helpful, it's very obvious they care about their guests and making every stay a personal experience. Not to mention, Rebecca's breakfasts are great!!


WE DIDN'T WANT TO LEAVE!

5 sur janvier 27, 2010

We arrived around happy hour on a rainy, chilly night in January. The owners, Rebecca and Dave, greeted us with a delicious glass of red wine. We sat in the living room with fireplace blazing and chatted with the owners, who are delightful. It was a warm experience from the minute we walked into the Inn. We stayed in the Red Room, which was so quiet and cozy all night long. Eggs Benedict in the morning for breakfast....the best I've ever had. Slow moving morning with lots of coffee and plenty of time to wake up and get started on our day. We can't wait to come back and will highly recommend The Smithton Inn. Bernard & Kristin


You're gonna love it!

4,8 sur janvier 17, 2010

I took a shot in the blue when I chose the Smithton Inn, and I'm really glad I did. I took my wife for her birthday celebration, and we both fell in love with the inn. Rebecca and David were really gracious hosts, and Rebecca's breakfasts were simply great! The room we stayed in had a Jacuzzi, which was wonderful each night after touring, as well as the fireplace and sitting area in our room. The Gallaghers gave us a tour of the house, a truly historic home yet with a homey, comfortable atmosphere. And the Gallagher family was really warm and friendly. I hope we can return again one day, and the sooner the better.


One of our best stays ever!

4,8 sur décembre 26, 2009

Everything was near perfect... great room, amazing breakfasts, hospitality, personal recommendations for dining out and local sites, tour of the beautiful & historic property. We feel we have new friends that we want to visit again soon!


"We Loved It"

5 sur décembre 12, 2009

We have stayed in some of the Bed and Breakfast Inns in the immediate Lancaster area. We decided this time to stay in a different, but close by location. The Smithton Inn's website caught our attention. We booked one of the rooms with a Jacuzzi. We could not have been more pleased. The Inn itself is beautiful, the Innkeepers were extremely friendly, and breakfast was wonderful. We definitely will return!!!!


A true jewel

4,6 sur décembre 05, 2009

The innkeepers are among the most sociable and helpful we've ever met. They make genuine effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our room had little touches in it, like packets of trail mix, and bathrobes, that made the visit special. Towels were the softest we've ever used. breakfast included fresh fruit, custom cooked waffels, eggs, and probably anything else we might have asked for. Fresh made bread, too! A wonderful experience. Our only regret is that we stayed but one night.


AWESOME B & B

4,0 sur novembre 16, 2009

We celebrated our 20th year of marriage at The Smithton Inn. The room was clean. The breakfast was out of this world - you won't leave hungry. We would go back in a heart-beat. The owners are friendly and love to serve you to make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you Rebecca & Dave.


Set high expectations

5 sur novembre 09, 2009

My husband and I went to the Smithton Inn to celebrate our first year of marriage. We had never been to a bed and breakfast before, so we weren't sure what to expect. When we got there we were met with warmth and friendliness. The room was so cozy and warm. The owners thought of everything, even the towels in the room were clean, fluffy, and soft. There were even warm bathrobes in the room to stay warm in front of the fireplace. The breakfast was worthy of a five star restaurant and every morning we were awaken with the smell of fresh warm bread. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone and we are planning to return in the spring. The owners set high expectations for when we go to other bed and breakfasts in the country. Everything was excellent.


Terrific stay!

5 sur novembre 04, 2009

Enjoyed everything about our stay here: the food, the hosts, the room, etc. Highly recommend this inn; and we would definitely return.


The Best!!

5 sur octobre 03, 2009

We had a wonderful stay last July at The Smithton Inn! We were in Ephrata for our son’s wedding, and actually extended the number of nights we had planned to be there, as we were so enjoying our time at the Inn. Other family also stayed there, and everyone enjoyed the uniqueness of their homey rooms, the delicious breakfasts, happy hour, and lounge area. I appreciated that they had one room that allowed a dog (that didn’t bother other guests), since my parents brought their pup along. The owners, Rebecca and Dave, took over the Inn this past summer and are renovating parts of it, so I expect next time we are in PA, we’ll notice some changes! Thank you for making a special time even more wonderful! Gayle and Dan


I would highly recommend this B&B.

4,8 sur août 23, 2009

The owners are lovely. It was like staying with family. We stayed in the purple room, which was gorgeous ... a two-person jacuzzi tub, luxurious bed, flat-screen TV and a fireplace. The inn was clean (although undergoing renovations). Breakfast was wonderful, healthy but hearty. These new owners are going to be very successful, and we wish them the best of luck. We plan to visit as often as possible.


Wonderful Inn!

5 sur août 04, 2009

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Smithton. What a great place! The staff are amazing and so caring, down to the littlest detail. Dave, you were a great cook! Thanx! We cannot wait to come back! In fact, we've already booked a return visit! Thanx again


What a wonderful Inn

5 sur juillet 05, 2009

I will definatly return to this Inn, we stayed 2 nights and just loved it. A very charming and peaceful Inn, we felt very much at home. Breakfast was great. Thanks for a wonderful stay.


Excellent!

4,2 sur juin 30, 2009

My husband and I just celebrated our first anniversary at the Smithton Inn. We were very pleased with the new ownership. The inn-keepers were very friendly, welcoming, and down-to-earth. The food was excellent and the new beds were extremely comfortable! We loved learning about the history of this 18th century tavern, complete with antique reproductions, as well authentic period furniture. The inn also includes modern ammenities such as cable TV, internet, and modern bathrooms, so you don't feel like you're ACTUALLY living in the 18th century. We would highly reccommend this location!


We'll be back again soon!

4,8 sur juin 29, 2009

What a beautiful Inn (and there is work being done so it will only get better)!!! Comfortable and surprisingly large rooms with private baths.... not what I expected in such an old home. If you enjoy history, this is a great place to vist.... it was built before the Declaration of Independence was written. I can't say enough about the Inn Keepers. They are friendly and accomodating, know the local attractions and are fantastic cooks!!! This is a great area to visit and the perfect place if you are looking for a relaxing retreat!!!


Historic Smithton Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $199
  • Avis (194) 4,8
  • Chambres 7
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7177336094
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8777554590

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut