The Inn at Ragged Edge Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,8
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
121 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Excellent weekend at the Ragged Edge!!

5 sur avril 09, 2014

This was our first stay at a B and B and we must say it was fantastic. Lew and Fran have a wonderful Inn and treated us greatly. the Inn was beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. the food was great too...we will be back!! Bill and Shelly N.


Ragged Inn

5 sur mars 30, 2014

What a fabulous establishment. You can see the love the owners have for the Inn in the work they put into this Inn. The wood work is wonderfully restored. The fire places well stocked. The breakfast is fabulous! The Innkeepers were so friendly and knowledgeable about the area and proud of their Inn and it shows. Thank you again so much for allowing us to stay at your residence. A&JClark


Great Place To Stay near Gettysburg.

5 sur mars 27, 2014

We absolutely loved this place. The house is beautiful and the breakfasts were fabulous! We would like to come back during better weather to have a chance to wander around the property.


Will return

5 sur mars 01, 2014

Beautiful spacious room, gorgeous grounds, wonderful service. Planning to make this a repeat destination.


Very Nice Place

4,4 sur février 19, 2014

This is a beautiful place. A fire was going in the main room the whole time during our stay. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The breakfast was very well done. I would stay here again. Great place.


A wonderful experience!

5 sur janvier 23, 2014

Our stay was a delight! As parents of three young children, we were after a much needed moment of calm. We were not dissappointed. Time slowed in it's passing as we were pampered and attended. Body and soul rejoyced in the friendly atmosphere, delicious food and stark glory of winter clad wooded glade which nestled our room. Worth every penny. We shall be returning with all possible haste.


Beautiful & Relaxing B&B

4,8 sur janvier 20, 2014

We had a lovely room with a fireplace (wood burning, not gas) that was very romantic. The sitting room downstairs had a roaring fire going all day and evening long, which was very cozy and made it so easy to relax. Our breakfast each day was amazing! Lew & Fran are so warm and welcoming. Easily one of the best B&B's we have ever been too!


What a wonderful place to stay

5 sur janvier 08, 2014

The Inn at Ragged Edge took us back in time to the grand inns of the past….stately, refined, and majestic. Lew and Fran have done a meticulous job in bringing their inn back to life and it shows in every detail. We awoke to an amazing breakfast that rivaled any we have had at an upscale restaurant. The time spent with the other guests over breakfast was a delight. We will definitely make reservations with them in the future.


our stay at The Inn at Ragged Edge

5 sur décembre 18, 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed for a few nights, and were very satisfied! The house and surroundings are beautiful, and the atmosphere is warm and pleasant. Lew and Fran are wonderful hosts!


Absolutely loved the Inn at Ragged Edge

5 sur décembre 10, 2013

We were so happy to finally get to experience this little gem. Being from Chambersburg we always wanted to stay but have never had a chance to. This was such an enjoyable experience. The owners were so nice and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We cannot wait to stay again!


The Inn at Ragged Edge

5 sur décembre 03, 2013

Wonderful experience, beautiful Inn. Highly recommend.


Beautiful place!

5 sur novembre 29, 2013

This was an amazing place to spend two days!


Great Inn

5 sur octobre 31, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Ragged Edge during a trip to Gettysburg and can't speak highly enough about our stay there. The owners were very friendly and helpful; the breakfast was outstanding; and the room was the cleanest room I have ever stayed in outside of home! Highly recommended and will stay there again next year!


Lovely home. Great food. Convienent location

5 sur octobre 20, 2013

This is one of the most comfortable B & B's I have ever been to. The rooms are very spacious and the house is gorgeous. I really hope to stay here again


A wonderful B & B!

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2013

A wonderful surprise! We loved the Inn at Ragged Edge. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and it was very private and quiet. We also enjoyed walking the nature trail. A great place to stay.


Nicest B&B in the entire state of PA

5 sur septembre 28, 2013

I travel quite often and look for interesting places to stay. The Inn at Ragged Edge exceeded all my expectations, it's quiet at night, immaculate, has wonderful food and a short nature trail. This historic home is full of interesting features like pocket doors and hand carved stair rails. I will definately stay here again.


First B & B experience

4,8 sur septembre 26, 2013

This was my first time to stay at a B & B and I loved it. I will definetly do this again. Since my stay, I have spent the night at several other places on this trip and this was the best so far. May stay there again on the way home. Lou and Fran the owners are just wonderful and very gracious!


Good Choice!

4,6 sur septembre 15, 2013

We wanted a B&B close to Gettysburg but not right in the midst of things there. The Ragged Edge Inn proved to be an excellent choice. It's close enough to Gettysburg but not so close that you don't feel like you can relax and breath. The grounds and home are gorgeous! The food was delicious. Lew was very helpful and friendly. The room was good-sized, clean and comfortable. The room we had was The Lodge. It had a small kitchenette with a little fridge. Nice! The common area was well-stocked with coffee and snacks. The soaps and such were/are high quality. We've stayed in many B&B's. Although the room furnishings were not lavish, dollar for dollar, this one will not disappoint.


You won't regret this one!

5 sur septembre 10, 2013

This b&b is gorgeous, super clean, friendly owners and amazing food! It made for a romantic weekend but could also just be a relaxing getaway! Highly recommended!


The Inn at Ragged Edge

5 sur septembre 06, 2013

The house is majestic and the owner very attentive and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely go back if I need to stay somewhere in the area ever again.


what a treat!

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

We really enjoyed our night there, a luxurious yet welcoming location. The owners and guests alike were warm and friendly. I only wish we had stayed longer!


Fine and refined peaceful respite.

5 sur août 23, 2013

This Inn was an unexpectedly charming respite. It has understated elegance in the finest sense. Very pleasing to all the senses. It is calm, peaceful and pretty. I am already planning to return. I have recommended it highly to my family and friends.


An awesome weekend!

4,6 sur août 14, 2013

This house was stunning and the setting amongst the trees and forrest was so beautiful. In the first 30 minutes of our arrival we were walking the nature trail on the back of the property down by the creek! Our room was decorated and setup very nicely and I thought the layout was perfect, with the bathroom in between the bedroom and sitting room. We only indulged in breakfast one morning but it was deliciously fresh and homemade. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The entire weekend was perfect and I really can't think of anything negative to say about our experience here! I didn't want to leave! ~Bonnie Oistad, Rockville, MD


Simply charming peaceful refuge.

5 sur août 12, 2013

The Inn at Ragged Edge is a gentle, quiet and beautiful refuge. Very clean and simply charming in all respects. The location is lovely, the décor is understated and elegant. The owners are kind, unobtrusive and elegant.


Could not have wished for bettter...

5 sur août 06, 2013

My wife and I took our belated Honeymoon here. It was everything we had hoped for. A true 1900 Victorian home with many rooms. It was elegant, tastefully decorated and furnished without being overdone or tacky. The bed was comfortable and the house perfectly clean. The view from just about anywhere was relaxing and pleasant breezes in the shade of large locust trees covering the porch could make anyone want to nap. We were greeted at the front door by our host. Lew and Fran were most kind and accommodating to anything anyone requested. My wife and I loved the breakfast. She raved about the blueberries, I enjoyed the light music being played in the morning. Overall a fantastic stay for the money, pictures don't do it justice and I wouldn't change a thing. We truly look forward to our next stay there.


Sprawling old house

3,4 sur juillet 30, 2013

It's worth it to stay at the Inn at Ragged Edge just to see the mansion and wander the property. It's a grand old home, well-restored, with more public areas than I've ever seen at a B&B - practically the entire spacious first floor. We had afternoon cocktails (which we brought with us) on the terrace out back, where there's a table and also some lounger chairs, with a few of the creek below and woods beyond. Quite lovely. There's also a "Nature Trail" along the creek that will take you about 15 minutes, plus dawdling time (it does require navigating a grassy hill down and back up). Our room was huge, with a dedicated A/C unit and decent bathroom (although the shower is a bit larger than a coffin). The room was clean, bright and nice, if lacking in much charm or character. The breakfast buffet was ample, generous, various and delicious. We were visiting Gettysburg and opted for the Inn because it seemed nicer than a motel and was the same price as motels closer to the battlefield. The Inn is about 25 minutes from Gettysburg, but it's an easy drive and a straight shot - no complicated navigation (take Ragged Edge road to the highway, turn left, drive until you get to the battlefield and/or downtown Gettysburg). The Inn did not "exceed" my expectations, because I have high expectations, but it met my expectations and I would recommend it. (And if you're sensitive to that sort of thing, the Inn seems to have no ghosts. Peaceful and quiet at age 113.)


LOVED IT

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2013

We had a short but wonderful stay. The décor is beautiful, the grounds are so peaceful. Coming from Phoenix, AZ, we were more than excited about this Inn. Our 2 rooms were charming, HUGE bathrooms, comfortable beds. If you are planning a trip to Gettysburg stay here.


A Quick Getaway

5 sur juillet 18, 2013

The Inn at Ragged Edge was a lovely surprise for a quick getaway to Chambersburg. The Inn has been restored beautifully and the owners Fran and Lew were hospitable and kind. We had a relaxing night in the Hearthside room and enjoyed the landscaping around the property. We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend it to others.


We wished we could stay more than one night!

5 sur juillet 13, 2013

Lovely property and accommodations, welcoming hosts, delicious and bountiful breakfast--we would definitely recommend this inn to other travelers.


Magical place to stay

4,6 sur juillet 10, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly, picturesque place to stay the Inn at Ragged Edge is the place to be. The owners Lew and Fran could not be more helpful especially when we had difficulties with transport, helping with making our stay so enjoyable. Nothing was a problem. The breakfasts are amazing, and there are other extras included - much more than other B&B's offer. The gardens were great to wander around, especially the lower garden with its nature walk along a stream, and dont miss being outside when dusk comes and the fire flies come out to play - just like fairies flying around in the bushes.


Delightful place to stay

5 sur juillet 06, 2013

One night in the Honeymoon Suite at the Inn at Ragged Edge was a wedding gift for me and my brand new husband for our wedding night. It was an absolute delight for us to be there! Lew Martin greeted us with a friendly smile and graciously helped us to our room. The room was cozy, the bed soft, the décor inviting, breakfast the next morning was scrumptious. Our one regret was only being able to stay one night. We could not have asked for a better place to spend the first night of our honeymoon!


Great place near Gettysburg

4,2 sur juillet 01, 2013

Great hosts. Beautiful mansion. Peaceful setting. Highly recommend this B&B


Second stay at the Inn

4,8 sur juillet 01, 2013

Went back for a second stay just for some peace and relaxation by myself. I'll keep going back. It is a wonderful, tranquil sanctuary.


cannot say enough good things about this place!

5 sur juin 27, 2013

This is my second stay. I stayed 2 years ago, not long after they first opened. I thought they were pretty perfect then, but they are even more perfect now! The cleanliness beats all. The breakfasts are outstanding and they accommodate food allergies as if it were no bother at all. Although I couldn't eat it, I watched my boy eat 2 large stuffed french toasts. I thing he still dreams of that breakfast :-) The Inn is gorgeous, the landscape beautiful, sitting out back over the ravine is lovely. Another great thing about this inn is the location. They are only about 22 minutes from Gettysburg, about an hour from Hershey, PA and an hour from D.C. A good location to spend a week and see all kinds of places.


Best B&B we have stayed in!

5 sur juin 16, 2013

We loved our "Nest" room and the Inn was so beautiful, warm and welcoming. I had told them ahead of time that I needed to eat gluten free and dairy free and they went beyond the B&B norm to make my breakfast as beautiful & delicious as everyone else's. One word to gluten free people planning to visit the Inn. They made me oat flour scones that were GF and DF (and looked delicious), but I don't tolerate oats. I had failed to tell them before because NO B&B, that we have been to, have attempted anything beyond eggs, fruit, bacon, sausage and (maybe) some dry shelf GF bread. Please let them know about ALL of you intolerances before you go! They are amazing people and I can't wait to go again!


Elegant old home filled with beautiful woodwork and classy details

4,4 sur juin 12, 2013

The outdoor patio and porch areas are just gorgeous, with a view of the stream below. Service was exceptional, with a scrumptious breakfast each morning at nine.


Beautiful Inn on a lovely spot

4,2 sur juin 03, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The Inn is lovely. The room is very pretty and clean with a nice view. The bed was too soft for us so my husband slept on the couch. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. The innkeeper Lewis is very sweet and was helpful with his suggestion of a place to eat dinner.


Fantastic, relaxing weekend. Fabulous breakfasts, wonderful hosts!

4,8 sur mai 22, 2013

We spent a weekend at this charming B&B to kick back and unwind. The grounds are exquisite to explore. Lew and Fran are wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend this Inn.


Love Nest

4,4 sur avril 01, 2013

We stayed in the Nest and had a great time. The house is beautiful and the hosts are very nice.


A wonderful way to celbrate our 46th anniversary

5 sur mars 15, 2013

Great hosts, great room, a beautiful old mansion, great food and interesting fellow guests made for an unforgetable experience for our 46th anniversay. Roy & Peg Hoffman


Not a Ragged Edge to be Found

5 sur mars 13, 2013

A beautiful and welcoming Inn. !!!!


Wonderful!

5 sur février 19, 2013

We wanted a quick getaway for the weekend and found the Inn at Ragged Edge. The entire stay was amazing with lots to do with local wineries, breweries, and Gettysburg all close by! The room was amazing and our stay was very quiet and romantic! Breakfast was even better! Delicious!


Amazing getaway!!

5 sur février 19, 2013

I plan to stay here again soon. The owners are fabulous so hospitable, friendly and make an amazing breakfast. The place is spotless, each room is charming and cozy in its own way. The views are amazing get a glass of OJ and cup of coffee go sit at a window and take it in. We found love, peace and relaxation and thank you!!


The Inn at Ragged Edge

3,8 sur février 13, 2013

The Inn at Ragged Edge is rich in history and beautiful wood work. The owners are very pleasant and friendly and easy to become friends with. Our stay was very relaxing (except during a 3 hour private party during on 2nd night at the inn). I would recommend this B&B to everyone! We hope to go back in the spring or summer to enjoy the outside of the property and sit on the huge wrap around porch and walk on the nature trail. There is also lots to do in the area - Gettysburg, antique stores, state parks.


Ingredients for a wonderful anniversary!

5 sur février 07, 2013

Couldn't have been happier! Took my wife here for our anniversary and was very pleased. Owners are very pleasant, service was outstanding, home was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. All this at a very reasonable price. Do yourself a favor and book a room you won't regret it! Ian


Log fires and lovely countryside

4,0 sur février 03, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Inn - a beautiful old 19th century building. The back outside area was particularly lovely, and would be especially nice for sitting out in the summer. We enjoyed the nice log fires for sitting inside out of the cold! The coffee (always an important component) was veyr good, as was the served breakfast. We'd definitely like to go back!


A great stay!

5 sur janvier 09, 2013

The Inn is lovely and the owners are delightful. Very clean and breakfast was great.


Adorable Getaway

5 sur janvier 02, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in a B&B that was very cozy and felt like home. We were referred to this Inn through some friends and once we checked it out we were sold. The food was absolutely amazing. Gourmet breakfast and wonderful service. As soon as we sat down we were served with delightful and delicious food. The owners are outstanding and make you feel like you're close friends of theirs. The room we stayed in was newly renovated, but still had the classic B&B feel and was not expensive at all. My boyfriend and I don't have a large budget for these adventures so this Inn fit perfectly. I HIGHLY recommend this Inn to anyone, especially if you are wanting somewhere to stay if you are visiting Gettysburg.


Beautiful Escape

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2012

Great service, beautiful home - gorgeous wood detail, wonderful food...wish we could have stayed longer!


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur novembre 06, 2012

Lynne and Dave Haney


Beautiful accommodations!

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

This lovely bed and breakfast was so home like, the owners were wonderful to us. Our room was large and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!


Peaceful setting - charming room in an absolutely beautiful mansion

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay - what a great getaway weekend, even if only for one night. Host was kind and non-intrusive. Absolutely beautiful property and charming room. Only advice to other travelers would be that if you plan to you a B&B gift card, make that known when you make your reservation.


Our Stay at the Inn at Ragged Edge

4,8 sur octobre 15, 2012

My wife and I had a very nice time at this Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in Rae's Creek room and despite some slightly negative previous reviews, we found it to be quite comfortable! We wouldn't change a thing. The owner (Lew) was very gracious and helpful. Because of his suggestions we went to a nearby apple festival and had an excellebt dinner in Chambersburg. But the best for us -- was sitting down by the creek and just kicking back and chilling out!! Thank you for a more than pleasant stay!


Best Getaway Ever!

5 sur octobre 04, 2012

Absolutely a gorgeous place to relax. The room was luxurious, the breakfast and coffee were delicious, it was everything we hoped for and more. We will definitely make this our go to place to relax and unwind!


Excellent Time

5 sur septembre 25, 2012

This place is GORGEOUS! And CLEAN! Just lovely beyond words. The outdoor setting as well as the inn itself are both amazing! Go to this B & B just half an hour from Gettysburg!


Best Getaway Ever

5 sur septembre 16, 2012

The Ragged Edge Inn exceeded our best expectations by miles. The Inn was stunning from the 1st look- Lew greeted us at the front door and made us feel right at home. Our room was spectacularly inviting, clean and charming..... Woke up to the smells of a gourmet breakfast being served.... Would recommend this Inn to anybody, anytime. We are already planning our next visit. Thank you Lew and Fran for a wonderful stay..........


What a stay!

5 sur septembre 04, 2012

This inn is the best I've ever stayed at! The food was fantastic and the service was amazing! I stayed two nights and I know I will want to stay again in the future!


GREAT STAY AT THE INN AT RAGGED EDGE

5 sur août 13, 2012

My wife and I had a very nice stay, we enjoyed the beautiful home and property, good food and wonderful hospitality. Lew and Fran are great innkeepers!


A delightfully unexpected surprise!

5 sur juillet 30, 2012

We chose the inn as a stopover on a road trip for a short visit to Gettysburg which is about 1/2 hr. away. What a surprise! Beautiful building, gardens, rooms and the innkeepers are wonderful people. They have done extensive renovations to the building to bring it back to it's glory and they hit their mark. They love their home and you feel it as soon as you walk in. I would recommend this inn to everyone.


wonderful place

4,6 sur juillet 22, 2012

I would gladly stay at the Inn again and would confidently recommend it to friends. Majestic big house, very neat, owners very friendly and accommodating.


A hidden gem

5 sur juillet 14, 2012

We stumbled upon the Inn by accident while searching for lodging in Chambersburg. The stay exceeded our expectations, and we recommend the Inn to all visiting Chambersburg, Gettysburg and its surroundings. We felt us very welcome by the family running the Inn, had very delightful breakfasts, and our room, the Lodge was spacious, and had very comfortable beds (our daughter wanted to bring the beds back with us to Norway). A Norwegian family


Truly a pleasure

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

I consider myself blessed to have found this Inn. Fran and Lew have done a superb job of providing a peaceful place to rest and relax. The sumptious breakfasts are the icing on the cake. Their attention to detail is noteworthy--I noted that I couldn't eat eggs and they graciously provided another breakfast for me - inspite of the fact they served eggs to all other guests that morning. I was dutifully impressed - you will be too.


Wedding Anniversary

5 sur juillet 06, 2012

Stayed here for our 16th wedding anniversary. We had a great time. The place is very laid back and refreshing. The owners treated us like family. When we were there we forgot about everything and could enjoy us. The breakfast was great and we would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a couples retreat.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast! The Inn at Ragged Edge

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

Traveling from Missouri to New England, I knew I couldn't drive it all in one day, so I searched for a place that had a private whirlpool tub room that was a reasonable price within an hour or so of Harrisburg. The Inn at Ragged Edge is a place you'll want to come back to again and again. Lew and Fran were warm and welcoming hosts that genuinely enjoyed their guests company. The accommodations were beautifully furnished with just the right "little" touches. (Stemware in the guest rooms, chocolates, Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, spa robes, WiFi, flat panel tv, climate control via remote!) Breakfast was a lovely gathering of all Ragged Edge guests. Lively conversation across generations, and delicious food.


The Inn at Ragged Edge is wonderful.

5 sur juillet 02, 2012

The Inn at Ragged Edge is a wonderful place to stay. The owners, Lew and Fran Martin, could not be more gracious hosts. I'll go back there for my next visit.


Perfect!!! Would not stay anywhere else when in the area!!!

5 sur juin 27, 2012

We thought the Inn was the perfect place to stay when visiting Gettysburg!! Just 20 minutes away but in a beautiful country setting!!!


Our trip to Gettysburg

4,6 sur juin 18, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at the Inn. The house is beautiful and the grounds are so calm and serene. unfortunately our stay was short so I did not get to speak much with the owners. I know they do mission work in India and I would have loved to hear some of their stories. We will go back.


Great B&B

5 sur juin 06, 2012

Stayed for two nights in the late spring at this wonderful B&B. The house was designed by Frank Furness, a great Philadelphia architect. It's been beautifully restored by the resident innkeepers. They are both accomplished and gracious. The accomodations were perfectly maintained, clean as a whistle, and very comfortable. Breakfast was made-from-scratch and used locally sourced ingredients. The setting was just a short drive from Route 81, but completely shielded from everything by the beautiful grounds. This is one of the best B&Bs I've ever experienced.


Beautiful!

5 sur juin 02, 2012

The house was beautiful and very spacious. The house is very old but all the renovations make it look brand new. Our room was very comfortable with great climate control and a very nice warm bed. The breakfast may have been the best part. The owners are wonderful cooks and they are very nice and helpful. This place is really a great value! Stay here


Absolutely the BEST B&B in Chambersburg!

5 sur mai 30, 2012

The Inn at Ragged Edge is a wonderful family atmosphere. You always feel welcomed and part of their family. In all the years I have traveled staying at the Inn has been the most amazing and memorable experience. Thank you Fran & Lew.


An oasis of calm

4,6 sur mai 02, 2012

I had a room on the top floor of the inn. It was blissfully quite. Everything was impeccably clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was a pleasant, sociable affair, with all the guests around one table. Lovely fruit salad and veggie frittata. A wonderful place to stay the night if you are in or around Chambersburg.


Felt like home but without the work

4,8 sur mai 01, 2012

Our hosts were friendly & relaxed, offering any services they could to make our stay enjoyable. There were snacks & drinks plus a bottomless coffee pot. The breakfast was spectacular - fresh & beautifully presented.


An Amazing charm in an amazing city

5 sur mai 01, 2012

My sister and I booked a room for a "girls night in" with the girls night in package and enjoyed EVERY second. the owners greeted us, took our bags, showed us the room, and in the morning had an AMAZING breakfast waiting for us! Top notch, 5 stars, Grade A!!! I highly recommend this Inn for everyone to stay at. amazing.


Outstanding

5 sur avril 26, 2012

The room, the setting, the people, everything was perfect!


PEACEFUL SERENITY

5 sur avril 25, 2012

Wonderful weekend stay with warm hospitable hosts and delicious breakfasts. Listening to the birds in the morning was so relaxing. Hope to visit again in the near future. It was not very far away from home but transported us to a very peaceful place in time. Thanks so much Lew and Fran. God Bless.


An Outstanding weekend !

5 sur avril 18, 2012

This B&B is the most memorable one we've visited. The mansion is so beautiful, the grounds lovely and the food delicious. They provide snacks all day also. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating, and the other guests were also a delight. It's close enough to Gettysburg to visit, but far enough to avoid the crowds of tourists. I would definitley return!


Girls' Night

4,8 sur avril 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The house is beautiful and the owners are very accommodating. We were surprised how quiet it was because even though there were other guests in the house, we hardly heard any other noises. The "common" area had snacks and drinks available. (I would suggest adding some diet soda to the fridge.)


Beautiful and relaxing

5 sur mars 18, 2012

We spent one night and had a really wonderful experience. The property is so beautiful and peaceful, the owners are friendly and welcoming, and breakfast was delicious. The bed we slept in (Hearth Room) was probably the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced. There is a stream and trails behind the property, perfect for exploring. We will definitely go back if we are in the area again.


Absolutely Lovely! You will LOVE THIS PLACE!

4,0 sur février 28, 2012

The Inn at Ragged Edge is one of those places that reminded my husband and I of the surprise you experience when you find an unexpected $20 in your jean or coat pocket....this bed and breakfast is a winner. The new proprietors, Lew and Fran are absolutely lovely, charming and accommodating and over the last 18 months, they've done an incredible job of renovating the property and grounds, bringing this B&B to a standard that you would expect. Each room is tastefully decorated with comfy beds, lovely linens, expansive views of the "estate" -- plus if you ask, Lew and Fran will give you a guided tour, complete with the history of the property. The breakfast food is wonderful -- just what you'd expect from a bed and breakfast and the room rates are more than reasonable. Again, this place is a jewel and if you're traveling through the area and need a place to refresh, make a reservation. (You'll get WAY more than staying at a conventional travel hotel.) The Inn at Ragged Edge has stunning architectural details, the kind of which we just don't see in today's building. The front porch is wide, lengthy and perfect for sitting with a glass of whatever refreshment you want and watching the sunset. The grounds are expansive and there's plenty of nooks and crannies to settle in with a good book or good conversation. if you want to run away, go here. This place exceeded our expectations and we'll definitely be coming back again soon!


New Years Getaway

4,6 sur janvier 06, 2012

I booked The Nest for one night as a quiet "getaway" opportunity on New Year's Eve for my fiance and I and couldn't have been happier to stay here. Lovely room, impressive estate, and Fran and Lew were extremely friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended to anyone who wishes to stay on some amazing premises!


Peaceful Weekend at Ragged Edge

4,2 sur novembre 21, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by Lew with a welcoming smile. The charm of the house and the warmth of friendship abounded our entire stay. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed the view from inside, especially through the marvelous window at the landing in the stairwell. Exploring the grounds was also pleasant. Fran's cooking and quiet warmth also created a cozy atmosphere, far beyond that of any hotel. Would highly recommend the Inn at Ragged Edge to anyone seeking a getaway. -cm & jm


Wonderful place

5 sur novembre 20, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed a one night stay at the Inn. Very impressive building, wonderfully restored, with a pleasant walking area in the back. We look forward to a return trip.


My Wedding Night

5 sur novembre 14, 2011

Growing up only a mile down the street and always wanting to live in this big house as a little girl, I had no hesitation on where I wanted to stay on my wedding night. The Inn keepers were very accommodating with letting me check in early. Our honeymoon suit was very warm and comforting and the Jacuzzi tub built for 2 couldn't be more relaxing after a busy wedding day.


Outstanding Bed and Breakfast

5 sur novembre 09, 2011

The Inn at Ragged Edge exceeded our expectations! It is one of the most beautiful Inns that we have stayed in and we will definitely be back! The meals and the service at the Inn were exceptional! Thank you Lew and Fran for a memorable experience!


Loved the Inn at Ragged Edge

4,2 sur octobre 31, 2011

Our hosts were wonderful! We stayed in the Kennedy Room and the bed was very comfortable. The Inn is immaculate and so beautiful!! Definitely recommend and would stay here again.


Going to Gettysburg? Don't stay anywhere else!

5 sur octobre 27, 2011

This restored home is meticulously decorated. They have kept the decor true to the period from which the house was built. Everything is spotless. The innkeepers will make you feel like you're part of the family visiting for a few days. The breakfasts surpass any upscale restaurant. Truly an amazing place to stay. Only about 20 minutes west of Gettysburg!


Our Fall foliage getaway

4,6 sur octobre 26, 2011

Impeccably kept majestic historic home on lovely grounds with stream running through property. Our room was clean, cozy, and quiet. I loved the efficiency of the heating unit for the room. The breakfast was unbelieveably delicious, generous, and we were even offered seconds! The blueberry/cream cheese stuffed french toast was to die for. The innkeepers made us feel like we were family and even hugged us when we were leaving. Definitely a good value and would recommend staying here.


Beautiful place - we'll be back!

4,4 sur octobre 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Ragged Edge to celebrate our anniversary weekend. We were very impressed by the warm, welcoming atmosphere; the impeccably clean space; the grandeur of the restored architecture; the friendliness of the innkeepers, Fran and Lew; and the delicious food! Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time there -- we spent a lot of time sightseeing in the area and only ate breakfast and slept there. Next time, we'll plan a day just to hang out at the Inn and enjoy the space.


Awesome

5 sur octobre 17, 2011

This was the best weekend we had in a long time. The b&b was so clean and everyone was so nice, we can't wait to stat there again!!


Highly Recommend The Inn at Ragged Edge

4,2 sur octobre 12, 2011

The Inn at Ragged Edge was the best bed and breakfast facility we've ever stayed in. The house itself is breathtaking -- wide and expansive halls, staircases and common rooms. Bigger and better than most b&b's. The owner gave us a tour of all but one guest room in the house. EVERY room was impeccably decorated, updated with every modern convenience (e.g. soaker tubs, flat screen tv's), very tidy and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was superb. The grounds were tastefully landscaped (it is on a cliff -- "the ragged edge") and there was much to explore right outside the front door. It's also conveniently located to Gettysburg, Arendtsville (apple country like you've never seen before!), wineries, and Chambersburg. We were able to take advantage of all of these places in 2 days time because of the close proximity. The best part of the Inn, however, is its owners. They are sincere and helpful, hospitable and available, lovely conversationalists and down-to-earth people. We could not have had better hosts. If you want to explore our nation's history, or find the cheapest yet tastiest apples on the planet, or get married, or have a quiet weekend of wine-tasting, The Inn at Ragged Edge will not disappoint!


Beautiful place, awesome experience!

4,2 sur septembre 19, 2011

This is a beautiful place -- the house, the location, and the grounds it sits on. The room was excellent, and a good value for the price. Wonderful breakfast too.


Great service and hospitality

4,8 sur septembre 14, 2011

The house was beautiful and spacious. Our room, Honeymoon suite, was great. Our hosts were so helpful with the area attractions and the history of the house. Would go back in a heartbeat or recommend to friends.


Beautiful B&B

4,8 sur août 09, 2011

This is an incredibly beautiful bed & breakfast run by accommodating innkeepers. My partner and I stayed here one night during a cross-country move, and Fran and Lew had no problem with us checking in around 9:30 at night after a long day of driving. They planned breakfast with my egg intolerance in mind, and it was delicious. They also have a common room for guests where they keep refreshments and a microwave and mini fridge, which is nice for people who have special diets and have to sometimes bring food along. My only complaint is that our bathroom had no door (Azalea room). We weren't bothered enough to ask for a room change, but we did find it very strange and would have much preferred for there to be a door.


The Inn at Ragged Edge

4,0 sur août 07, 2011

Arrieved Friday afternoon and was greeted by a smile from Fran. We were welcomed straight away and settled into our room within minutes. We chilled out and read a book overlooking the babbling stream, toured downtown, and ate some fine dinner at a local restaurant. All and all it was a very pleasant and restful stay.


4Start Accommodations....

5 sur août 01, 2011

Outstanding B&B... Absolutely beautiful place to stay... We were greated at the door by the innkeepers.. and felt a loved the personal attention we got. The room was perfect.. and extremely clean... the jacuzzi tub was relaxing.. and lots of room for your traveling supplies in the bathroom.. The bed was so comfy, and the room was very relaxing.. Breakfast served on time.. and nice mingling with other guests.. No pressure to leave, or when to pay the bill.. very pleasant innkeepers.. and gorgeous house..! Recommend to anyone in the Chambersburg area.. Don't miss this place!


Chambersburg best kept secret

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2011

What a wonderful, relaxing and quiet property. The owners, Fran and Lew,are two of the best people you will ever meet. They are very proud of their home and should be, because it is beautiful. My wife and I had a delightful two night stay there. It is a wonderful place to go to Gettysburg. Though the weather was extremely hot outside, the house was always comfortably cool. I have and would recommend this place to others. Bill


Incredible B&B- would return again

5 sur juillet 27, 2011

Really awesome place. Pictures don't do it justice. Absolutely beautiful. Back yard (looking over the "Ragged Edge" is breath-taking. Breakfast was beautifully prepared and delicious. Would be a great place for reception or other social occasion. Highly recommend.


One fo the Best

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2011

Fran and Lew were great hosts! The room we stayed in was wonderfully clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet. We enjoyed our little walk by the creek and sitting out on the patio. The breakfast prepared was absolutely delicious and we also enjoyed the company of other guests, as well as, more time with the hosts.


Wonderful stay on the edge of a creek

4,8 sur juillet 09, 2011

The Inn at the Ragged Edge is just off the main road through Chambersburg, PA, but when you're sitting on the back patio you'd swear you were miles from anyone else. The back patio is above a steep drop-off with a creek bubbling below, and there's nothing better after a busy day than to sit back there with a beer and watch the fireflies come out. The owners are friendly but not intrusive, willing to help in any way they can, even going above and beyond to help us find a last minute place for a pet, as the Gettysburg battle reenactments don't allow pets. Breakfast was different every morning and delicious, eggs and bacon with homemade cinnamon rolls one morning, a baked french toast with cream cheese dish the next, and a delicious sausage, egg, and hash brown quiche on the third. We had one of the smaller rooms but it was still very clean, well kept, and beautifully furnished. My one critique is that we REALLY would've liked a door on the bathroom. So far as I could tell the Azalea room is the only one without one. The house itself was built around 1900 and beautifully maintained, with plenty of parking, lovely landscaping, a porch that wraps around from front to back, and a truly gorgeous interior. It's one of the most stunning sets of stairs I've ever seen (carved, wooden, with ornate banisters) and the wood paneling in the dining and common areas was beautiful. We plan to go back for the 2013 reenactments and if we can, stay in this B&B again. Perfect, peaceful, everything you could possibly want.


Great House, good innkeepers...a definite!

4,6 sur juillet 06, 2011

Our first stay at the Inn at Ragged Edge and would recommend it to anyone. Rooms were great and the food was delicious. It's an easy drive to Gettysburg and keeps you out of the downtown area congestion. Entrance to the Inn is a little tough at a curve in the road and a light on the sign would help at night.


Warm and friendly

4,0 sur juillet 05, 2011

We traveled with 2 children (over 7 years old) and we all felt like we were staying at a relatives house for the night. The owners were very friendly and accomdating to our entire family!


Will return!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2011

This place was so lovely. The old building had such charm and was decorated very nicely. The owners were friendly, recommending nice places for us to visit and making dinner reservations on our behalf. Breakfast was good. We have been disappointed in our last few B&Bs, so this place was a welcome change. We travelled here from Washington, D.C. and it was worth the trip. We will visit again. The price can't be beat. As to be expected of a quaint B&B in PA, there was a subtle Christian tone. A bible was on top of our bedside table and there was mission work flyers near to local area info. We're thinking of getting my sister a weekend stay for Christmas.


Wonderful inn Wonderful hosts!

5 sur juin 27, 2011

We stayed at the inn before heading to Gettysburg. It's only a 15 minute drive and it was well worth a short drive to have such an amazing stay. The Martins were kind, generous hosts who have put so much love into their inn. The rooms were spacious and having your own bathroom was a great bonus. The breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful room. The beautiful landscape and the beautiful restoration to the property really push it above expectations. We are looking for excuses to visit PA again just so we can stay at the inn!


Definitely Recommend!

5 sur juin 22, 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Ragged Edge when we visited Gettysburg. The Inn was in a nice neighborhood and Fran and Lew (the hosts) were very friendly and helpful. The house was beautiful and beautifully decorated and upheld. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms (Azelea) and were pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for our short stay. We would definitely recommend it to anyone and I would love to stay there again. I also want to add they were very accommodating with my food allergy.


Charming, Elegant, Peaceful

5 sur juin 12, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. Lew & Fran are the sweetest, most accommodating Innkeeps! They found I was gluten intolerant and made me the most scrumptious, gluten free breakfasts. I was awed by the house and love the history behind it. Most of all, I've never seen such a clean place, not even a speck of dust could be found and there is a LOT of wood in that house! Attention to detail also impressed me in every way, in the decor and in the service.


A lovely visit!

5 sur mai 31, 2011

We visited in the fall and had a wonderful time. The owners are so warm and friendly, the room was beautifully decorated, and the house has such a rich history!


WOW!!!

5 sur mai 09, 2011

My husband and I stayed at several bed and breakfast inns while on a recent road trip. This, by far, was our favorite. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The owners were lovely people. They were friendly and always cautious not to intrude. The view and the home was amazing. The breakfast was the best that I have ever had. We brought back brochures to give to all of our family and friends! I just can't say enough nice things about it. We stayed in the cheaper room and it was still great!


Fabulous B&B with great hosts

5 sur avril 21, 2011

This B&B is not only beautiful on the outside, but equally impressive on the inside. All of the bedrooms are unique and charming. The owners are delightful and most accommodating.


Phenomenal!!

5 sur avril 01, 2011

This Inn was everything and then some! It was immaculately clean, the decor tasteful and simple, the food outstanding and the Innkeepers, Lew & Fran delightful! The Inn at Ragged Edge is "top notch!" Lori & Brian, NJ


Completely amazing

4,8 sur mars 30, 2011

The Inn at Ragged Edge is an amazing B&B. Everything about our experience here was perfect. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming. They thought of every detail of our stay. When we arrived there was water and two chocolates in our room. While we got settled in, the innkeepers made us tea and warmed cookies for us. The house was so clean and beautifully decorated. The bed and pillows were so cozy... and the fireplace in our room was the perfect touch to an amazing stay. The breakfast was by far the best I have had at any B&B. They even have their own blend of coffee which is so yummy! You will not be disappointed :)


Presha's stay at Ragged Edge

5 sur mars 12, 2011

The house is fantastic and the owners are really nice people. I went to relax and did just that! The breakfasts were great! I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit Gettysburg, Amish or just to get away!


Wonderful, Relaxing Weekend at the Ragged Edge Inn

4,6 sur mars 09, 2011

This was the perfect getaway for us... We stayed in the Hearthside Room... loved the fireplace, big king bed, and whirlpool tub... no detail was overlooked... everything was so well done... we hope to be back!


A wonderful place to stay

5 sur mars 08, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this Inn. Lew and Fran were great hosts and have a way to make one feel at home in an unhurried way. We will visit again.


Cookies to Die For!

4,8 sur janvier 09, 2011

Our stay at the Inn at Ragged Edge surpassed our expectations! We felt like we were staying with family. The owners were some of the most hospitable we have ever experienced. The Inn is beautiful and rich with history that you can read about in binders the owners put together. The location is excellent, close to the historic town of Chambersburg, and only about 40 minutes from either Liberty or Whitetail ski resorts. Beautiful view at the rear of the house with an active stream and wooded scenery. And, I have to mention the fabulous raspberry filled sugar cookies, out of this world! My fiancee and I highly recommend this B&B. Outstanding in every way.


A great choice!

5 sur janvier 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed here this weekend, and we loved it! This is a fabulous B&B! We loved the home and all it's history, the high ceilings and beautiful hardwood floors. Fran and Lew were wonderful hosts and we felt very comfortable in this classy home! Our room was great, the breakfasts were great; we hope to be back again!


An impressive historic house with welcoming hosts

4,6 sur janvier 01, 2011

The current hosts of the Inn at Ragged Edge are new to the B&B trade but have clearly read up on and following best practices. From the warm welcome to the wonderful breakfast, Fran and Lew went out of their way to make the stay great. The Inn has been beautifully restored by the new owners, who have also spent the time to learn the history of the huge Furness designed house built for a railroad tycoon. My room, though small, was among the least expensive offered, yet still had a whirlpool bath, flat screen TV and a super comfy bed. I saw one of the larger rooms and it was outstanding. If I'm back in the area, this is where I would stay. Outstanding job and thank you for creating such a wonderful place.


Business traveler's review

4,8 sur décembre 24, 2010

The Inn Keepers could not be better hostesses. This is an historic property that has been well restored with amenities added to meet the needs of today's travelers. Well worth the visit.


Great accommodations and Flexibility

3,6 sur décembre 08, 2010

First, with B&B's viewed over the internet, you never know what reality will bring... (IE, the pictures always look perfect.) With the Inn at Ragged Edge, we were very pleasantly surprised that reality exceeded our expectations. the Inn is a beautiful, large old home. Wood panelling and floor throughout... Lew and Fran were great. Fran even made us breakfast to go so we could on the hiking trail near the crack of dawn... The working wood fireplace in our room was a excellent benefit which we took advantage of both evenings. We highly recommend a visit! Dave & Linda


The Hidden Gem at Chambersburg

4,8 sur novembre 29, 2010

I have wanted to stay at this inn for years, since I pass it on the way to my sister's house. Finally made it. The current innkeepers are very pleasant and helpful. The bedrooms and public spaces are beautiful. The windows and bathrooms are new and the entire building is in wonderful condition. To top it off, the breakfast was excellent and had a lot of variety.


Impressive property with wonderful owners

4,8 sur novembre 20, 2010

We spent one night with Fran and Lew when their B&B was full, so we saw them at their busiest. They never broke a sweat! Our room included a sittting room w/fireplace and a private bath--VERY comfortable, with a good night's sleep. The breakfast was great, with tasty food delivered with excellent pacing. It was always the correct temperature, and no one left hungry. Did I mention they were full that day? The property has been renovated with wonderful touches, and it sits on a bluff overlooking woods and a creek. The owners have provided multuitple paths tow alk through the woods and an outdoor sittng area on the bluff itself. This is a great place that is well run. You ought to try it--you'll certainly want to go back!


Absolutely Perfect

5 sur novembre 15, 2010

My 2-night stay was absolutely perfect. The inn is spotless, cheerful and welcoming. The owners made me instantly feel at home. Every room is simply beautiful. The breakfasts were wonderful as well. I am already planning and looking forward to my next visit.


The Inn at Ragged Edge

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $179
  • Avis (121) 4,8
  • Chambres 9
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 717-4968372
  • Portable 301-6677819

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut