Big Oak B&B Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
62 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast

5 sur août 01, 2014

This is a great bed and breakfast. Beautiful location and its run by a lovely couple. By far the best B&B I have ever been to.


Lovely B&B

5 sur décembre 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our short but sweet stay at the Big Oak. Everything was great!


The perfect stay!

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

The entire stay was an entirely utterly enjoyable experience. We would suggest these rooms to even our worst enemies. That's how great this place is. We don't have enemies though!


Made our vacation spectacular!

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2013

We came to Sandusky for a family wedding, but wanted to make it special for our daughter as well. We stayed in the Silhouette room and loved how warm and inviting it felt. We had our own bathroom, a king sized bed, a small dinette, a television, and a walk out patio (small, but a very nice view over the gardens). Breakfast was delicious! Jeanne and Jim went out of their way to make our mornings wonderful. They even brought out cereal for our daughter in case she wanted that instead. After breakfast each morning we went out the gardens. I don't know how Jeanne takes care of it all (I could never do it!) but the gardens are FANTASTIC! They just keep going, and going, and going! There is a small swing set for the little ones, and a garden with veggies and fruit in it as well. It was magical. They also sell garden figurines, which are placed throughout the garden and in the front yard, so make sure to pick up a memento on your way out. Jeanne and Jim are very knowledgeable about the area, and can help you find something to do if you have a free day (and you can pull yourself away from the gardens). We hope to come back to The Big Oak soon! (I still have my parting gift hanging from my review mirror in my car, Thank you Jeanne and Jim!)


A MUST STAY

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

We so enjoyed our say with Jim and Jeanne at the Big Oak. We felt so comfortable, like staying with family. The gardens are beautiful and enchanting. We'll be back.


Big Oak

3,8 sur septembre 12, 2012

We loved our stay. Very welcoming and the breakfast was great.


Big oak

4,0 sur septembre 11, 2012

Nice, homey atmosphere. Slept very well. Comfortable rooms.


Big Oak

5 sur septembre 11, 2012

Staying at the Big Oak was a great experience... Great food, great conversation, great company.


Wonderful Stay

5 sur septembre 11, 2012

Excellent B&B. Innkeepers warm and friendly. Inn was clean. Breakfast was wonderful.


Home Away from Home...

5 sur septembre 09, 2012

Very friendly B&B! You won't find any other place that makes you feel like home like the Big Oak. Loved my room and very satisfied!


Warm and Comfortable

5 sur septembre 07, 2012

Such a nice place. We were there only one night, but so impressing. Lovely.


Home Away From Home

5 sur août 14, 2012

From the moment I was greeted by Jim to hugs for both him and his wife, Jeanne, I felt comfortable. The stories, ambiance, breakfasts were excellent. Would come back in a heartbeat!


You'll be house guests!

3,6 sur août 09, 2012

We had a recent stay with Jeanne and Jim in their home and enjoyed their company and conversation very much. Having stayed in a number of B&B's I was a little surprised by the accommodations. I felt very much as if I was staying with my in-laws--and sleeping in my husbands' childhood bedroom. It had a very personal feel, complete with hand crocheted afghans and framed prints on the wall. Most B&B's are less personal.


Getaway we needed

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I were celebrating her 30th and I wanted to plan something special. She was surprised and loved what I had chosen over a big hotel.


Convenient, quaint and a great value!

4,4 sur août 21, 2011

Kindly innkeepers, allowed us to show up late in the evening, great history to the house, interesting property with some lovely gardens to explore... Best place to stay in Sandusky!


Excellent B&B for you and your Family

5 sur août 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on Aug 13th. Hosts Jeanne and Jim are very very nice people. Felt comfortable and welcome at once. We had the Silhouette room with private bath. Great room and very comfortable. Nice balcony overlooking the gardens. You must walk the gardens, unreal how large and beautiful they are. After dinner we stopped in the main living room to chat with Jim and Jeanne. Would up playing cards for over an hour and had a nice visit. Breakfast was very good! Jeanne gave us a tour of the house, if your into antique glass you will be impressed with the collection. They even own a concrete lawn decor company, you can leave with a statue at a good price if desired. The location is close to Cedar point but NOT too close. Its quiet and peaceful here. We will be back.


Great Place!

4,6 sur août 10, 2011

The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and very welcoming. They were also very flexible in accommodating our needs. They made my wife very happy with helping me surprise her with flowers and oatmeal raisin cookies for our anniversary! Lastly, the breakfasts were out of this world! We would definitely recommend this to friends and family in the future.


Our Thanks

5 sur août 09, 2011

We stayed at The Big Oak B & B from July 27th till July 31st, 2011. We had stayed there two times before. Upon our arrival we were greeted very warmly, just like Family. Jeanne and Jim are very special and we hold them very close to our Hearts. We were treated very well, always asking us if we needed anything. We attended the Supermodifed Races right behind their home. Jim waited up till we got in and never said we were late (as one night we were, as the Races kept being delayed) He just asked if we had fun. The Breakfast's were very tasty and Room's clean. Jeanne even had Fruit out for us everyday. We would stay there for sure if we return to Sandusky. Thank you Jeanne & Jim for your great hospitality.


Lovely B&B

5 sur août 07, 2011

The hospitality, rooms and antiques were wonderful!


Stepping back in time

5 sur juillet 26, 2011

As comforting as staying at Grandma's, Jeanne & Jim welcome you into their home and warmly provide tips, hints, wonderful breakfast & conversation! We'll visit again!


Kids Review

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2011

I'm 11 years old and I came here with my dad. We thought the food was great, and they were very nice and we enjoyed the beautiful rooms, which were very comfortable. I loved Big Oak B&B, I will definitely come again!


Fantastic

4,6 sur août 20, 2010

Jim & Jeanne are very welcoming and gracious hosts. The rooms are in their house so it could be awkward except that you are immediately made to feel like a member of their family. The next time I travel to Sandusky, my first choice will be to stay with Jim & Jeanne again.


Big Oak

5 sur août 16, 2010

Enjoyed our visit. Great inn, friendly couple and son!


great catch

5 sur août 11, 2010

The couple running this place is charming, the rooms are comfy, the food is great. Awesome choice.


Big Oak is Great

3,8 sur août 02, 2010

From the minute we arrived at Big Oak B&B, we felt like we were one of the family. Jeanne and Jim are warm and gracious hosts. Jeanne's breakfast menus are delicious. We loved it.


It worked for what we wanted

2,6 sur juillet 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Before booking this B&B I did extensive research on the Sandusky area and was very worried about the safety/cleanliness of less costly alternative motels. For the area this B&B is in, I think it is definitely overpriced, but there aren't really great alternatives either. The innkeepers are definitely friendly, but the house is old and our room had trouble cooling and we did see some spiders and other insects which made the stay less desirable than we had hoped. I would say if my friends were heading to Cedar Point this would still be a decent choice, but if I did it again, I would opt to stay further out of town at a nicer place and make the drive.

Réponse du propriétaire
As many of our guests will attest, I make every attempt to keep the inn very clean, some actually ask how I do it. I have only had a couple compain of bugs, I found the door slightly ajar to our balcony and even though I stress no smoking allowed, there was a cigarette butt on the balcony table. If a light is left on to go out to the balcony ,yes bugs will come in if door is not closed . As for the inn being very old, yes indeed it is, my first line states thus, my husband and I have gone through our home and fixed it up and put on additions for our families comfort. We have raised our own children plus others totaling 11. They all love their home. Hope others do too!


Great Stay

5 sur juillet 23, 2010

From the moment I arrived and Jim greeted me as I was pulling in, my stay was very enjoyable. The breakfast was fantastic. The value can't be beat.


Feels Like Home

5 sur juillet 22, 2010

Wouldn't you like to stay somewhere where you feel like you are one of the family and you are at home? Big Oak is that place.


Country Charm

4,2 sur juillet 22, 2010

Jim and Jeanne were exceptional hosts! You could tell they shared a genuine love of people and took great care of us. I would recommend Big Oak to anyone looking for a peaceful down home experience.


Excellent hospitality, very accomodating hosts

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2010

Very good value just minutes from Cedar Point (Jim even provided a map of the "back" way to get there - very quick). Breakfasts were delicious. As there are only 3 guest rooms, Jeanne was able to accomodate our schedule and prepare breakfast at our convenience. Room was clean and comfortable. One drawback - if the wind is blowing the wrong way on race nights (Jeanne says this is rare), the race cars can be quite noisy. The wind was blowing the right way our first night and early the 2nd, but then shifted. We were able to drown out most of the noise with the air conditioner and ceiling fan.


Wonderful

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2010

It was a wonderful day/night. The were nice and helpful with anything we needed. The room was beautiful, pretty decorated room. House was big and great. Do it all over again.


Felt like one of the family

4,0 sur septembre 16, 2009

Incredibly enjoyable stay. The owners immediately made you feel like you were a family member, and not a complete stranger. Rooms were clean and well-kept, and breakfast was delicious.


Return visit

4,2 sur septembre 11, 2009

We stayed at The Big Oak B&B lastyear and are going back to races in Sandusky and did not hesitate to book with Jim & Jeanne again. Everything was great and they are wonderful people. Just like being at home. "a home away from home"


Wonderful

5 sur août 19, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary. Our children had set this up. We were welcomed warmly. Our room was adorable, very clean and comfortable. We were welcomed so warmly


Big Oak B&B

5 sur août 19, 2009

Excellent! Delightful inn and owners. felt like visiting home. Will stay again.


Our home away from home

4,6 sur août 07, 2009

the warm welcome we received was better than we've ever had! Jim and Jeanne make sure your stay is enjoyable, help you find your way everywhere. we left with new friends in Ohio!


fun at the Point!

4,8 sur août 06, 2009

The Big Oak is a great place to stay while in town for Cedar Point.


Feels like home

4,4 sur juillet 30, 2009

We immediately felt welcome at The Big Oak. The rooms were appropriatelty priced & accommodations were exactly as anticipated. We had a lovely stay.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 sur juillet 30, 2009

Stayed at our first B&B. Innkeepers are very friendly, hospitable. We felt very welcome and they made us feel as if their home was our home. Rooms are very clean. Breakfast was delicious. Truly enjoyed our conversations and our stay at the Big Oak.


like family

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2009

There is nothing like the warmth and personal attention you receive at a B&B. A great stay for a great price!


home away from home

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2009

Very comfortable stay in a private room. Owners were very helpful and friendly.


Sandusky Escape

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

Big Oak is a delightful and retreat into the past. This lovely old home is filled with heirloom treasures and the hosts are very kind. Ms Jeanne's breakfasts are delicious!


charming!

5 sur juillet 16, 2009

Jeanne and Jim were delightful and gracious hosts! We so enjoyed our time with them!


comfortable stay

5 sur juillet 15, 2009

The Big Oak is very comfortable- Jeannie and Jim provided the warmest welcome.


Sandusky visit

4,6 sur juillet 10, 2009

Very quaint and pleasant! Excellent breakfast!


very nice

3,8 sur juin 30, 2009

Homey, comfortable with great breakfast. Innkeepers were personable and helpful. Nice place to stay.


A great place to stay in Sandusky

4,8 sur juin 15, 2009

I had a great time in this couple's home, and the breakfast was outstanding. I am not a garden person, but thoroughly enjoyed walking in them during my stay. They also helped out with finding us a movie theater and on information taking the boats out on Lake Erie. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I am in the Sandusky area.


Mother's Day getaway

5 sur juin 08, 2009

We had a very nice stay. it was good to talk and learn about the family of the innkeepers. Also, knowledgeable about the city and surrounding islands.


It's Like Visting Grandma's House

3,0 sur août 21, 2008

A cozy home to lay your head down for a comfortable night's sleep. It is a true "Bed and Breakfast" as the owner's have opened their home to you. For the Professional B&B person, whom enjoys the character and charm of an Inn or B&B where you are not mingled with the owner this would not fit your appetite. For a short stay, a good breakfast and a warm smile you have found your place.


Big Oak B&B

5 sur août 20, 2008

our stay was outstanding


Big Oak B&B

4,4 sur août 20, 2008

Our stay exceeded our expectations


Big Oak B&B

4,4 sur août 20, 2008

Great place to stay, they are nice people.


Big Oak B&B

4,6 sur août 20, 2008

Felt as if we were right at home !


Big Oak B&B

4,0 sur août 19, 2008

Everything was great! thank you!


Nice stay

4,0 sur août 15, 2008

The Big Oak was a nice place to stay. It was a little hard to find as the sign out front was not very big and partially hidden. It is an older house but the rooms were very clean. The Innkeepers were exceptionally friendly and helpful. the Bed was very soft and for me very comfortable. They also included a bowl of fruit in your room which was very nice. Breakfast was outstanding.


Weekend Getaway

5 sur août 08, 2008

The stay was outstanding.


Wonderful Experience!

5 sur août 08, 2008

Excellent stay, owners were very accomodating and very friendly. Recommended very strongly.


"...years of loving care..."

5 sur août 08, 2008

The hosts are very personable and their home, garden demonstrates years of loving care.


Cozy and comfortable

5 sur août 04, 2008

Love the garden.


Welcoming

5 sur juillet 31, 2008

We were made very welcome and treated like part of a big family. Everything was great!


"...felt very much at home..."

5 sur juillet 31, 2008

We had a lovely time at this B&B. Jeanne and her husband took good care of us. They gave us suggestions of what to do. The breakfasts were delicious! Very hospitable. I felt very much at home and welcome here.


Big Oak B&B

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2008

What can be more delightful than to stay at a charming older home with a family that has a big heart for making people comfortable and welcomed. We greatly enjoyed our one night stay and wished we had time to stay longer.


Big Oak B&B

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $75 - $145
  • Avis (62) 4,6
  • Chambres 4
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4196270329

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut