Captain Montague's Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
159 Avis

Ecrire un avis

The Perfect Get Away!!

5 sur octobre 02, 2014

We have stayed at Captain Montagues many times and were there again just this past weekend. We went with two other couples and it was so relaxing and we had such a good time!! The innkeeper, Judy is a wonderful hostess. The rooms are all so quaint and clean and the breakfast is very delicious!! Give this bed and breakfast a try. You will be so glad that you did!! Cheryl


Excellent B&B

5 sur septembre 08, 2014

Judy is one of the most friendly and gracious B& B owner we have ever stayed with. Her home is beautiful, immaculate and in a great location. We loved the pool area and the common areas of the house. Our room was tastefully decorated, and the Irish theme was prevalent throughout the house. What a great home and a truly wonderful experience. Sincerely, Aaron and Cheryl


Wish we could have stayed longer

4,8 sur août 19, 2014

Captain Montague's has location, history and a wonderful host. It is within easy walking distance to the Huron yacht basin and has easy access to the highway to reach the main attractions in the Lake Erie Vacationland area. Each of the rooms has it's own character and is spacious. The breakfasts are delicious and filling. The home originally belonged to a sea captain and the owner is a wealth of information not only on it but also the area. She truly makes you feel at home.


A wonderful Irish home in Huron, Ohio.

5 sur août 02, 2014

As experienced visitors to bed and breakfasts we were delighted to find a piece of Ireland in Huron. Captain Montagues is the most beautiful b and b we have ever visited. The hostess, Judy, is delightful and a great source of knowledge about the surrounding vacationland. The food was wonderful and the other guests very friendly.We are sure you will be as delighted as we were with the Captain's. Paul and Joan B.


A great place to stay

5 sur juin 05, 2014

We only had one night to spend at Captain Montague's B&B but it was awesome. We were warmly greeted by Judy when we arrived in the afternoon. After checking in we had a little tour and a bit of history. We asked for suggestions for places to eat, hike and shop. We followed her suggestions and were so happy that we did. Our room was just beautiful as was the rest of the house. It is such a peaceful and calm retreat. Breakfast was delicious. There were snacks available and a wonderful choice of teas. It was just so nice to get away to such a welcoming place. I can't think of anything else that Judy could have done to make it better. I highly recommend Captain Montague's, you will love it. Thank you, Judy for a great stay.


Anniversary

5 sur juin 02, 2014

What a great place to spend a special anniversary or event. Comfortable with lots of history and a great hostess. Thanks Judy!


Great getaway

5 sur mai 04, 2014

Was a getaway for our Anniversary and was perfect. Judy is an awesome hostess and breakfast was delicious!! Definitely would love to go back!!


A trip to remember

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

Our stay was absolutely perfect. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything exceeded expectations. Judy and Mike were so kind and welcoming and the home was gorgeous. Judy served up an amazing breakfast for us and her and Mike treated us so wonderfully. As first time B&Br's we were blown away by the hospitality and the accomodations. What a perfect place to celebrate our engagement. I look forward to our next visit and can't wait to go back! Thank you so much Judy and Mike for everything! Michael and the future Allison Cassandra


Excellent place to unwind and relax

5 sur septembre 15, 2013

We just returned from Captain Montagues. This was our sixth year in a row that we have gone to this wonderful B & B. We join three other couples each year to just relax and unwind. Judy and Mike are wonderful hosts and are very accommodating. They go out of their way to make sure that everyone is having a good time. The rooms are so comfy and immaculate and the breakfast is absolutely delicious. If you are looking for a place for a special occasion or just looking for a getaway this is your place. I highly recommend it!! Cheryl P.


A relaxing weekend

5 sur août 25, 2013

Our weekend was originally planned around a culinary excursion to Chez Francois in Vermilion, OH. We learned about Captain Montague's from the restaurant's website, & so we decided to stay there. We were not disappointed. Judy & Mike are marvelous hosts who made us feel welcome from the moment we entered their lovely home. Breakfast was such fun conversing with the other guests, & Judy whipped up some great treats. Highly recommended is her Peach French Toast...to die for!


Beautiful home with views and charm

3,8 sur août 25, 2013

We visited Huron for our wedding anniversary. We wanted something on the lake, but away from some of the hustle-and-bustle of Catawba/Put-in-Bay area. Captain Montague's was a wonderful find. The innkeepers are knowledgeable and so very helpful -- helping us find just the type of activities of interest and putting us in touch with wonderful places to eat and visit. The home is a showcase. That said, it's also approachable and welcoming, as are the innkeepers and guests. We'll be coming back here!


Just what we wanted

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Captain Montague's Bed & Breakfast. The hosts, Michael & Judy, were very welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay just what we wanted. Judy went out of her way to provide a somewhat specialized diet for me each morning, and one day when we wanted to get a very early start, she had a breakfast ready and waiting for us in the fridge. The hosts also went out of their way to provide information about the surrounding area and the attractions we would most likely want to see, based on information we provided about our interests. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The home is situated within easy walking distance of a city park, the lighthouse, library, and eating establishments. Judy provided us with a brochure describing the history of several homes in the historic district (their house is one of the homes on the tour) and we enjoyed an evening of walking in the neighborhood and reading about the homes we were seeing. All in all, this B&B was one of the most enjoyable we have stayed in, and we would definitely recommend it to others


Awesome!

5 sur juillet 01, 2013

This was the first stop on my retirement celebration and it was perfect! Mike and Judy were so friendly and fun! Relaxed by the pool, visited a local riverfront restaurant, walked to the lighthouse, but really enjoyed visiting with the other guests and our wonderful hosts. Huron is a great place to visit and Mike and Judy's B & B is beautiful and welcoming!


Decond stay

5 sur juillet 01, 2013

We just had our second stay at Captain Montague's and enjoyed another great time. The location is great for an after dinner walk. Live music at the amphitheater on the river is only a couple minutes away and Judy and Mike are great people. The house is lovely and breakfast is always a treat.


We'll be back!!

5 sur juin 23, 2013

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast. We were delighted with our beautiful room and the yummy breakfast. Judy and Mike made us feel right at home in their gorgeous home. We would definitely recommend Captain Montague's to anyone planning a visit to Lake Erie.


Great Lake Getaway

4,8 sur juin 22, 2013

What a wonderful experience at the "Captain". Our room, the Molly, was elegant and charming. The breakfast Judy and Mike prepared was absolutely delicious. The whole experience went beyond our expectations. Excellent!!!!!!


Simply Wonderful

5 sur juin 14, 2013

Captain Montague's Bed and Breakfast was the perfect way for my wife and Ito spend our second anniversary. Judy and Mike were such gracious hosts, so accommodating and friendly, and the home is just lovely. My wife and I were only away for one night and felt as though we had at least an extended weekend stay. I truly can't express how special our anniversary was made because of our choice to stay here. Simply wonderful!


Wonderful place for a girls' getaway weekend!

5 sur avril 22, 2013

We stayed at this lovely home for just one night and none of us wanted to leave. We have already booked our next 2-night stay. The home and grounds are gorgeous, the owners, Judy and Mike were wonderful, and the memories will last a lifetime. We had planned on going out to dinner in the evening, but once we got there, we decided to just order a pizza and hang out in the parlor all evening. The rooms were lovely, each with their own private bathroom. Just a really beautiful home with so much character. Thanks, Judy and Mike for welcoming us. We'll definitely be back!


Great Girls' Weekend

5 sur avril 18, 2013

Fabulous setting! Wonderful rooms and food. Innkeepers are very hospitable. Enjoyed a girls/ weekend celebrating a 60th birthday. Innkeepers were very helpful in suggesting and arranging activities. Couldn'g have asked for a better experience!


A "slam dunk" decision!

5 sur janvier 06, 2013

Perfect place to stay when enjoying the local sites and restaurants.


super great

5 sur décembre 14, 2012

great location, quiet and beautiful


Our season ending getaway by Herbie and the Alien

5 sur septembre 15, 2012

My first impression from the outside was "What an elegant place." When we got inside we were overwhelmed by the the 18th century charm . Try and miss the Celtic accents. I dare you . Magnificent! The sitting room was bright and elegantly furnished as well with beautiful period antiques. We stayed on the second floor in Edith's room, named after the daughter of the celebrity Captain. It was decked out in yellow which was her favorite colour. Furnishings included a nice comfortable double bed, reading chairs and other period appointments and furnishings. Our full bath was private with a walk in shower. Downstairs for the tour of the guest accessible areas which include a formal dining room, room on the left after the sitting room that can accomodate 16 comfortably. A fully equipped kitchen if you are in the mood to prepare meals other than the fantastic gourmet breakfasts offered by our wonderful hosts. Three coffee makers, One for tea, regular and decaf. (pay heed, our host likes her decaf nice and strong) the long hall which contains hundreds of books for reading, puzzels, games and the like to pass the time on those drearier days when exploring is not a good option. The drawing romm included cushy overstuffed sofas, chairs and other period furnishings with the exception of the television. LOL. All within 25 minutes nearby are the cities of Vermillion, Sandusky, Port Clinton and of course the islands. Each have their own pleasing attractions restaurants and shops. Of course we visited them all. We discovered that this was an excellent time of year to experience this part of Ohio. What a wonderfull B&B. What a pleasant stay. Lots to do or not. Leisure was the agenda this stay. We will be back .


Great Getaway!

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

Judy and Mike are wonderful hosts. We felt right at home as soon as we got to Captain Montague's. It's a very beautiful home in a great location close to some beaches, little towns, and Sandusky. Compared to other breakfasts we've had at other inns, Captain Montague's was top-notch! We would recommend it to anyone!


Super clean, delightful breakfasts and awesomely relaxing

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2012

Great B&B for Cedar Point stay, boating weekends or relaxing. Wife and I came to reconnect after long deployment. We throughly relaxed, enjoyed and explored Capt Monague, Huron, Toft's ice cream, Cedar Point, Tiffon Crystal Works and Tann's super hospitality, great Restraunt recommendations and conversations. Definate for future long weekends


Just like home - only better!

5 sur août 31, 2012

My sister and myself wanted a mini get away from the normal hustle and bustle of our everyday lives. We were so glad we chose Captain Montague's to do so. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were greeted by Mike and Judy who took the time to give us a little tour and some history of the Bed and Breakfast. The atmosphere and decoration took us to another time and place. We felt like we had been transported to a different era. We stayed in the Captain's room, which was so cozy. Even the roll away bed was comfortable. Mike and Judy are the perfect hosts. They were so friendly, yet also let us have our own space to make us comfortable. We felt quite at home as we went about our business, yet felt as though we belonged while we were able to play several card games in their spacious dining room. Judy was very accommodating as she inquired about special needs and had gluten free bread ready available for dietary needs. The only bad thing about Captain Montague's is that you don't want to leave when it is time to go! I am sure this will not be our last stay there. Thank you Mike and Judy for your kindness and hospitality. You were better than outstanding


Fun at the Captain's

5 sur juillet 06, 2012

Seven of us stayed as part of a 60th birthday celebration. What a grand time! It's hard to decide what was best: the rooms, the innkeepers, or the food. Regardless this is a great place that's close to lots of other fun stuff.


A Great Place to Celebrate a Special Occasion

5 sur juin 24, 2012

My wife and I spent our tenth anniversary here and were impressed with everything this B and B had to offer. Judy and Mike made us very welcome and it was clear that they pay attention to every detail. They are the perfect innkeepers!


Fun at the Captain's Home

4,8 sur juin 04, 2012

We came as guests and left as friends. What a great time we had at Captain Montague's. This place is top notch, food was delicious and hosts were outstanding. Make sure you ask about the scones and cinnamon chip pancakes!! You will love your stay here!!!


Lovely stay by the lake.

5 sur juin 03, 2012

We stayed 4 nights while visiting family in Huron. Was very well cared for by Mike and Judy. They were very informational of their home and the area. Really enjoyed the breakfasts with the other quest. Was able to meet interesting people and able to here their stories and the light hearted conversations. Would highly recommend to any traveling through Huron. We plan on returning when ever we can.


Wonderful place, Very nice People!

5 sur mai 20, 2012

We stayed at Captain Montague's in the bridal suite which is called "The Jenny" on our wedding night. We have driven by this place many of times and finally decided to give it a try for our special day. It turned out to be the best place that we've ever stayed. The room was extremely clean and spacious and had it's own private bath. The owners also keep the kitchen stocked with snacks and drinks in case you get hungry during the night. The breakfast that was served the following morning was excellent. We are still talking about the breakfast casserole!...We plan on staying here again on anniversaries or other special occasions even though we live in the same town. Highly recommended!


Cold and dreary outside but not inside

4,4 sur avril 26, 2012

Wish we'd had nicer weather outside but we couldn't have had a nicer stay. Enjoyed the Mrs. sharing the house history and they were very helpful in every way with area recommendations.. The only television is in a lovely sitting room for guests but there is only one sofa so it's not a great place to spend time if you are sharing it with other guests. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay and one I would recommend.


Great location for the lake and Chez Francois restaurant

3,6 sur décembre 21, 2011

Good location along lake Erie, close to Chez Francois restaurant in Vermillion,Ohio. Host was very friendly and helpful.


Spectacular!

4,8 sur décembre 15, 2011

You cannot ask for better innkeepers and hospitality! We happened across Captain Montaque's bed and breakfast and even though it was a Monday evening after a very busy weekend, Judy and Mike took us in as family. We spent time resting in the garden area and had a very leisurely visit. Our breakfast was home cooked and extremely nice. We were very pleased with our stay. Thanks Judy and Mike.


Very Pleased

5 sur novembre 06, 2011

Beautiful facility and grounds, very friendly and helpful host and hostess, look forward to visiting again in the near future.


Capt. Montague

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

Lovely, charming, and fabulous old home beautifully restored and cared for. Very relaxed atmosphere, wonderful breakfast. Best night's sleep we've had in ages...better than home! Hope we can go back one day.


A Perfect Getaway

5 sur octobre 17, 2011

The house is charming. The service & breakfast were outstanding but the best may be Judy & Mike. We had a great time. Kathy & Don


fantastic getaway in Ohio

5 sur septembre 25, 2011

Captain Montague's bed and breakfast is a delightful retreat just two blocks from Lake Erie. The innkeepers, Judy and Mike, welcomed us to share their home and did everything in their power to make our short visit a real treat. We will definitely be back!


Relaxing in Huron

4,0 sur septembre 17, 2011

We had a lovely stay: the innkeepers were very helpful; their home was spotlessly clean; and we felt very welcome.


A WONDERFUL Inn in an outstanding part of Ohio!

5 sur septembre 09, 2011

Thanks so much to Mike and Judy for a wonderful stay in Northern Ohio. Impeccably clean and unique atmosphere coupled with unbelievable breakfasts that took care of my huge sweet tooth. We will have to go back!


Our August 2011 visit

4,6 sur août 23, 2011

We stayed at Captain Montague's B&B in August 2011. We got to enjoy the hospitality of Judy and Mike and the very warm, welcoming and nicely decorated house, bedrooms and backyard. Judy and Mike are truly exceptional hosts and their house is a oasis of tranquility and comfort. Their backyard, patio, pool are so relaxing and comfortable. Their breakfast is excellent. If you are lucky, you may get to taste their irresistible brownies...


Highschool Classmates 70th birthday

4,8 sur août 18, 2011

We stayed for 5- nights and every day offered excellent service, warm and friendly proprietors who did everything possible to make everyone feel at home. The home showed genuine pride of ownership, and the breakfast were a delightful treat.


Perfect Weekend Getaway

5 sur août 15, 2011

This is a perfect place for a quick weekend getaway, very close to everthing you could want to do. This was our second stay, and it was perfect.


Stay was fabulous! Much better than other B&B's.

5 sur août 07, 2011

The hospitality and ambiance were top notch. The house was restored in such a manner as to evoke the beauty of the past so eloquently.


Everything a B&B should be...and more.

4,8 sur août 03, 2011

We spent three nights at the Captain's and can't wait to go back. Captain Montague's is a gem and Mike and Judy are the gem keepers. We would echo what other reviews have said and add a few of our favorite things: It's like visiting a beautiful historic 19th century home but not having to stay behind the ropes; breathtaking chandeliers; Irish Santas; the welcoming personality of each guest room; a whimsy on the dining room wall; sheleighlies in the Cranberry Parlor; swinging on the double glider; sweet treats at breakfast; and Mike and Judy who make the experience so special. Don't miss out on this!


Summer getaway

4,4 sur juillet 24, 2011

Nice turn of the century home. The decor gave it an authentic feel. The rooms were very comfortable and the Tanns were very pleasant. Quiet neighborhood with a lot of historic homes to view on a walking tour.


Perfect Anniversary Celebration

4,8 sur juillet 20, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed this inn and Mike and Judy's hospitality for our 49th wedding anniversary. The accommodations, the hospitility, the breakfasts, and the local attractions were all anyone could wish for. We relaxed at the pool, saw a musical at the local summer theater down the street, bicycled for miles, and ate at Chez Francois in nearby Vermillion. Judy made all necessary reservations and was a wealth of information on local directions. It was quite a "package" of enjoyment. We highly recommend a stay at this inn.


Fabulous Family Fun

5 sur juillet 12, 2011

We had 3 of the rooms for a family weekend in Huron / Vermilion. Captain Monague's exceeded our expectations. Judy was accommodating with a couple special requests for food as well. It's hard to believe that she and Mike do all the work on the house themselves. We definitely recommend to others visiting in the area!


One of the Best

4,8 sur juillet 01, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts and this is definitely one of our favorites. We have stayed in a couple of the rooms and were able to see all of them thanks to Judy's hospitality. They are wonderfully appointed and very comfortable, not always the same thing. The common areas offered the same combination. They were wonderful to look at and enjoy while still being comfortable--a place where you could spend time talking with the other guests or the hosts. There was plenty of reading material in case you run out. The breakfasts were outstanding. Captain Montague's epitomizes the best in bed and breakfasts and Mike and Judy are the perfect hosts. We have been there a number of times and are already planning our next visit.


A Pleasant Surprise

4,2 sur juin 23, 2011

My wife and I loved this place! We visited for our 43rd anniversary, and we had never been to the area before. Frankly, we didn't know what to expect. We were thrilled with the elegant surroundings and the stunning decor of this Victorian mansion. Highly recommended for a quiet and romantic getaway. We'll come here for all of our anniversaries.


Wonderful B&B

5 sur juin 19, 2011

Inn Keepers, Judy and Mike are great hosts. Judy provided all the local information one could want. She stayed in touch with us to be sure we had a good time during our stay. All the dining suggestions were excellant. Judy and Mike's breakfasts were delicious and different on each of the 3 mornings we were there. Only one minor issue: the WiFi connection was very weak and non-existent on the upper floor.


relax by the lake

4,0 sur juin 17, 2011

Lovely common rooms and bedrooms. Bathrooms could use some updating. Great service and great breakfast.I am planning another visit.


Escape tp Huron

4,4 sur juin 16, 2011

A wonderful site located in the history rich area of Huron. The Innkeeper was friendly and offerred great insite into the area and what to do. The breakfast was exceptional and was served in a relaxed and welcome atmosphere. We will definitely be returning to this Gem!


Perfect in every way

5 sur juin 12, 2011

We were in Huron for a family wedding and needed a place to stay for the night. Could have picked any number of chain hotels locally but we prefer the hominess and charm of B&Bs wherever we can. Captain Montague's did not disappoint. The hosts, Judy and Mike could not have been nicer or more helpful and the pride that they show in their home is justified. We are now looking for reasons to return. The food was yummy and the guest kitchen a very nice bonus that I have not seen before in any of the vast number of B&Bs I have frequented. Thanks so much for a great stay!


Southern hospitality on the North Coast

5 sur juin 07, 2011

In the midst of my 75 mile Lake Erie islands and shores bike trip, I had the good fortune to spend an evening and morning with congenial hosts, Mike and Judy Tann at this B&B gem. It is so convenient to so many of northern Ohio's recreational opportunities, that I wished I had stayed much longer. From the pillow top mattress and fluffy bathrobes, to the fabulous stuffed French toast and scones for breakfast, the Tann's provide an atmosphere where you are tempted to forget your plans and just spend the day relaxing there in this beautifully appointed home. Free Wi-Fi, off-street parking, fabulous gardens and a 24/7 snack kitchen put them in the upper echelon of B&B's I've ever experienced.


Excellent Stay

4,8 sur mai 31, 2011

We want to encourage travelers on Ohio's North Coast to try this excellent B&B. THis was our first stay and it will not be the last. The rooms are beautiful in this historic mansion a block from Lake Erie. There is lots of history in the house and the community and a really terrific French restaurant just minutes away. The Irish theme is a winner with us, but the friendliness of the inn keepers and the outstanduibng breakfast were icing on the scone!


Great Lake Erie Escape

5 sur décembre 11, 2010

My husband and I fully enjoyed our stay in the first floor room with a luxurious king sized bed and spacious private bathroom. The decor, with classic lace curtains, was homey, elegant and soothing. Our breakfast was so substantial that we didn't need lunch! It's a marvelous neighborhood for walking, too!


Priceless!

5 sur octobre 19, 2010

There are not enough words to describe this B&B! My husband and I had the most romantic stay! Judy and Mike have a special gift and share it with so much joy! Many memories will remain for our lifetime!


Exceptional B&B

5 sur octobre 07, 2010

My husband and I had a delightful and relaxing stay at Captain Montague's. The innkeepers, Judy and Mike, were knowledgeable and extremely helpful in guiding our planning for our daily excursions. Our room was tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. Surrounded by the warmth of the Irish decor, we felt comfortable and very much at home.Kudos, Judy and Mike! We will return!


Anniversary adventure

3,6 sur septembre 27, 2010

Loved relaxing in an easy-going atmosphere. So close to the beach, good food, and a great little town. Perfect for a weekend getaway, and very affordable. Judy was so friendly and charming.


Who knew, on beautiful Lake Erie

5 sur septembre 24, 2010

We were given a gift certificate to Captain Montague's, and let me tell you, it was the perfect gift. Judy's breakfasts spoiled us, each morning fresh fruit and a delicious hot main course. Our bed was so comfortable I wanted to take it home. Too bad it was during the warm weather season, those white fluffy robes looked very inviting. Judy and Mike were very helpful in answering all our questions and in directing us to the area's interesting attractions. We didn't want to leave. Thank you! Jeff and Wendy


Enjoy the history of the area and of the Inn

4,6 sur septembre 21, 2010

Judy and Mike were great and made you feel like you have known them for years. I will be coming back to enjoy the inn.


wonderful house, wonderful people

5 sur septembre 20, 2010

This was our first experience at a B&B and it was a very nice one. The house has been beautifully restored and is very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for people to be more friendly and helpful than Judy and Mike Tann. Their many little extra kindnesses were greatly appreciated.


Labor day stay

4,6 sur septembre 17, 2010

This is a wonderful historic Inn with great location - near the lake, restaurants and biking. Judy and Mike were great hosts who treated us like family. Their breakfast cuisine was so good that I had to ride extra miles on my bike so I could have seconds of the breakfast cakes and scones. They used local fresh fruits and natural ingredients. We enjoyed the company of the other guests at breakfast table, which was beautifully set with Irish linen and china and crystal dishes. I especially enjoyed the refreshing swim in the pool and a chance to bike 15 miles before breakfast. We will definitely plan another week-end at Captain Montague's.


beautiful, comfortable elegance and warmth

5 sur août 31, 2010

The innkeepers were very warm and welcoming. The house and property were beautiful, with very nice accommodations. The breakfast (served at poolside) was outstanding. I just wish I could have stayed longer and had the time to relax by the pool! I would definitely return if I am back in Ohio!


Wonderfuly Romantic Weekend

5 sur août 26, 2010

Judy and Mike not only have a warm and charming home with every possible amenity, but they are perfect hosts as well. We greatly enjoyed our room, the kitchen, sitting areas and the outdoor pool as well as the convenient walking distance between the downtown and waterfront areas. One evening we took a short walk to a nice restaurant and then on to an outdoor concert. I enjoy traveling to different places every time I vacation, but would like to visit Captain Montague's again soon!


A charming B&B with great food

5 sur août 25, 2010

We stayed two nights in Jenny's Suite, which is decorated with white lace and felt like an enchanted gat-a-way the minute we walked into the room. It was a hot weekend in August, and there was a powerful A/C unit in the room which kept us happy and cool. Other extras in the room included a cedar closet to hang our clothes, robes, and sweetly romantic artwork on the walls. The house itself is amazing, with lots of interesting history. Of special note is the fabulous collection of Irish Santa's. Huron is a lovely town, and there was an art + rib fest that weekend, so we walked a block to the park, where we ate ribs, listened to music, and looked out at the water. We stayed two nights and both breakfasts were memorably delicious, including egg souffle and blueberry lemon cake. Wow! At breakfast, we had the option of sitting alone or with other guests, and we appreciated the opportunity to chat with another interesting couple. Overall, we found Captain Montague's to be a perfect setting for a very romantic weekend.


Fantastic Getaway

5 sur août 23, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Captain Montague's and we would definitely visit again. The house is beautiful and rich in history. The Innkeepers are welcoming, kind and very hospitable. We stayed in the Captain's Room and it was comfortable and serene. Our breakfast was served pool-side and it was absolutely delicious. The location is just a short walk from Lake Erie and other community attractions. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast and look forward to our next visit. -Stacie & Dan


Best kep secret in Huron, Ohio

4,6 sur août 23, 2010

This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast in many many years. We stayed in Ediths room which was absolutely delightful. The building is magnificant, filled with all kinds of treasures, it is absolutely spotless, and the hospitality was second to none. The best part of our day was being served breakfast by the pool every morning, the food being all homemade and so delicious I am sure my husband gained five pounds. We will definately be back next year.


Anniversary getaway

5 sur août 18, 2010

My wife and I spent a night celebrating our 41st anniversary at Captain Montague's because it was near the restaurant we ate in on our 1st anniversary. We had a lovely time at the "old" restaruant and a lovlier time at Captain Monague's. Fantastic hospitality, beautiful home and rooms, quiet, romantic setting. And the breakfast was fit for a King and Queen. Thank you Judy and Mike. We will definitely plan on returning and recommend to our friends.


Quiche AND scones?

5 sur août 15, 2010

My husband and I could not have had a better experience for our first B&B...Judy & Mike have the knack of being good innkeepers...present without hovering, aware of their place in the larger history of the area and house proud... The breakfast table they set was a perfect beginning for the day and served by the pool, it made for a quiet, satisfying start...


We keep going back!

5 sur août 08, 2010

My husband and I been staying at Captain Montague's for over 15 yrs. We just stayed there again this past week and we know that we can always count on Judy and Mike for their wonderful hospitality. Captain Montague's was the first B&B we ever tried and we had such a positive experience, we rarely stay in hotels. Captain Montague's not only has beautiful rooms, but a relaxing pool area in the back. It is so easy to make a memorable weekend in the Huron/Sandusky area between the inn and all the available activities in the area. For more information on the activites, Judy and Mike can fill you in.


Our new favorite

5 sur août 07, 2010

We spent one night on our way to the islands and can't wait to go back. The Tanns are lovely, welcoming people and their house is beyond wonderful. The room we had was large, airy, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The breakfast, served poolside, was delicious. The Tanns have arranged their house with some unique amenities - the fully equipped kitchen, stocked with water, coffee, tea and snacks was a lovely surprise as was the refrigerator for our wine. The house is elegant top to bottom with beautiful woowork and carpets, tall, tall windows and soaring ceilings. I'm calling tomorrow to reserve a room for December - a birthday celebration this time!


Wonderful

4,0 sur août 07, 2010

Carol and I have been staying in BnB's for 5 years and Capt. M's is the nicest one we have stayed at. Mike & Judy met us and made us feel right at home. Our room was splendid. The finishes and detail of the entire house were excellent. If you're looking for a little escape from the hustle and bustle of your daily life, this is the place for you.


Birthday Weekend

4,8 sur juin 15, 2010

Judy and Mike took exceptioal care of us and the breakfast was outstanding. This is a very charming. Every room was immaculate and had a character of its own. We will return.


Can't be Beat!!

5 sur mai 23, 2010

We keep coming back for more! Mike and Judy Tann have opend their home and their hearts to us! Every time we have stayed there they have treated us like family. The cozy, celtic ambiance makes you feel like you're in a little corner of Ireland. The rooms were spotless, the food wonderful, and the host and hostess quickly make you feel like you're an old friend! Their knowledge of the area and events made it easy to plan our days. We had the opportunity to also enjoy the poolside gazebo on a beautiful spring afternoon! We will definitely make our way back to Captain Montague's! ~ Bob & Sandy Mullin


What a nice surprise

4,6 sur avril 29, 2010

Beautiful home, wonderful rooms, fabulous breakfast and very knowledgeable and friendly people. Would recommend it highly


Fabulous Inn

4,0 sur avril 15, 2010

I have visited Huron yearly for the past 15 years, usually staying with family.or at a nearby hotel. However, on this visit I chose to stay at Captain Montague's. Mike greeted me at the door when I arrived, promptly registered me and gave me a tour and history of the house. Later in the evening, I met Judy. She was able to accommodate my finicky diet for breakfast, to which I was greatly appreciative. The total visit was quite enjoyable. The accommodations were excellent wtih tastefully decorated rooms and tastey morsels for breakfast. I will definitely visit again. Patsy


Doing Huron Ohio Proud

5 sur novembre 26, 2009

Part of our work is to review interesting lodgings for our readers, and we give two thumbs up to Captain Montague's. Our review of this property will appear on Examiner.com and other online publications. Wayne and Judy Bayliff, www.the2writers.com


Wouldn't Change a Thing!

5 sur novembre 24, 2009

From the moment I walked in the door the hospitality made me feel like I was coming home to family. The decor is very elegant and yet you feel comfortable unlike some places where you are afraid to sit down. It would be hard to choose a room because they all are beautiful and have some many special touches! The white chocolate cranberry scones at breakfast will make you feel like you died and went to heaven. The history of the B&B that Judy and Mike shared with us was really interesting. The location being 1 block from Lake Erie was like the icing on the cake. You can't go wrong staying at Captain Montagues!


Captain Montague's

4,0 sur novembre 17, 2009

We recently enjoyed a beautiful weekend at Captain Montague's B and B. The host and hostess gave us a warm welcome. Our room was clean and nicely decorated as was the entire B and B. Judy is very knowledgeable of many activities and places of interest to visit in this and the surrounding areas. We have been yearly guests at this B and B for ten years and always find it relaxating and inviting. The morning breakfasts are unique and delicious. It is a must stay inn.


An Awesome weekend

5 sur octobre 27, 2009

Judy and Mike were wonderful hosts and even though we were with our teenage daughter it managed to be a very romantic weekend!


An Unexpected Treasure

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2009

Captain Montague's has become one of our favorite bed and breakfasts. We have stayed in quite a few in several states, so we have experienced a wide range of comfort, service and breakfasts. Who knew we would find this treasure just 1 1/2 hours away? Judy and Mike were attentive and provided a lot of information about the inn and the area. The rooms were updated, very clean and extremely comfortable. The breakfast we had was extraordinary - Creme Brulee French Toast with Brandied Peaches . . . it doesn't get any better than that. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!


Quaint ~ Beautiful ~ Welcoming

4,0 sur octobre 07, 2009

My husband and I needed a nice weekend get-away. When he told me we were going to HURON OHIO, I wasn't amused. I wanted to go to our own beach home in South Carolina. But time was an issue. We drove about 2 hours to Captain Montagues. When we pulled up, I commented, it's really nice, but it's not the ocean! Very soon after we checked in, my heart began to soften and I was right at home in this beautiful home, and the owners, Judy and Mike, are so gracious. I'm of Irish heritage so I fell in love immediately with all of the decorations. So classy - so Irish. Our stay was incredible. No the ocean wasn't in Huron, but the lake was a short walk down the street. We loved walking down and just watching the water. When we went 'downtown' I was even more surprised This sleepy little town has something for everyone. We had a romantic picnic in a downtown park and enjoyed the quaint little shops. I still love the ocean the most, but we are looking forward to our next 'quick and easy' get-a-way at Captain Montagues. Barb & Ken Columbus, Ohio


A touch of Ireland

4,0 sur septembre 17, 2009

My sister and I treated ourselves to a long weekend aware from home. The location was good, the room very pleasant and comfortable and the food very good. The Irish theme is what did it for me. Just two blocks from the lake and we used the pool. The company was simpatico


A great weekend

4,6 sur septembre 09, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a long weekend and a trip to Ceaderpoint. What a great experence! Close to the Huron harbor with great views. Also a quick trip to Ceaderpoint. I would stay agian.


Relaxation At It's Best

5 sur septembre 03, 2009

Although we were only there one night, our experience at Captain Montague's was outstanding. The common areas as well as our room were exceptionally clean and inviting. Judy and Mike are great hosts, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. I would highly reccommend staying here for anyone who wants a relaxing quiet getaway.


Weekend get-away for work and play

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2009

What a great gathering place for our committee planning an upcoming reunion. A time and place for work, followed by relaxation by the pool and playing games indoors as the evening wore on. Mike and Judy were most hospitable, and wandering around in the various rooms, admiring the decor was akin to being in a fascinating museum. The Irish influence abounds!


Anniverary Weekend Retreat

5 sur septembre 01, 2009

Judy and Mike are the most personable hosts.


A Special Anniversary

5 sur août 31, 2009

A cozy, comfortable and very special retreat for us. Judy and Mike made us feel right at home and shared the history of this beautiful and historic home and their remarkable restoration efforts. Our suite was very private, quiet and absolutely beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and served so beautifully. We had a wonderful experience and highly recommend this exceptional B&B and warm welcoming innkeepers.


What a wonderful weekend

5 sur août 30, 2009

We just returned from a weekend stay at Captain Montagues. We cannot say enough about this beautiful bed and breakfast and its wonderful hosts Judy and Mike. They definitely make you feel right at home. Judy makes the most wonderful breakfast and weather permitting you can sit right in the gazebo and enjoy your meal. We stayed in Mollys room which was very quaint. This was our third stay and we will definitely be back again. Thanks so much Judy and Mike for a wonderful weekend. Cheryl and Stan


A Quiet Qet-Away

4,8 sur août 28, 2009

From the moment we walked into the house we knew that this bed and breakfast was different. Judy and Mike take pride in the wonderful home that they have restored and decorated. Staying there is a unique experience. Judy is sensitive to dietary restrictions and serves delicious gourmet breakfasts. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We found the two days that we stayed there restful. Huron is close to many activities and Judy was very helpful in suggesting places to go and restaurants to try. The Tanns are truly wonderful hosts.


A nice treat!

3,6 sur août 26, 2009

Having only a few days for a vacation, we found Captain Montague"s. The inn was a good home base for some R&R. The history of the home is interesting. Judy and Mike have taken on the restoration and have done it well. It was quiet and private, close to the water and central to many other attractions. Judy was able to make good dinner suggestions. My sense is they will make your stay what you want it to be. We wanted quiet and we got quiet. We appreciated that. The food was yummy!!!!


Wonderful anniversary

4,8 sur août 23, 2009

If you want a weekend getaway to enjoy Lake Erie, then you must stay at Captain Montague's. Mike and Judy were wonderful hosts. They provided us everything we needed in addition to wonderful breakfasts each morning. The Inn is just a 2 block walk to the Lake and another 10 minute walk to the lighthouse. We cannot thank Mike and Judy enough for the wonderful time.


Irish Hospitality at It's Best

4,6 sur août 05, 2009

A friend and I booked a theater package and two extra nights. Judy and Mike were warm, welcoming hosts; the rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished; the pool, gazebo, Amish swing and lounge chairs provided total relaxation. Every day we saw something new in the beautiful Irish collections that donned the walls, tables and shelves. The home- cooked breakfasts were topped with fresh baked Irish scones. Although the bed was much too soft for me, the Molly room with the option of twin beds and a first floor location was a perfect choice for us. The theater was less than a block away and provided an entertaining rendition of "The Secret Garden." I'd love to come back again ------- perhaps for a "girls get-away" with some family or friends. Thanks for a great vacation!


Unexpected Oasis

5 sur août 05, 2009

My boyfriend and I came to Huron for a weekend away, his first experience at a B&B, and we will be back again soon! Judy and Mike are extremely gracious hosts with an exquiste home, and excellent location to many things to do (more than what we expected)! Rooms were extremely clean, large and comfortably equipped. Breakfast by the pool (during the summer) in the morning was wonderful, with coffee waiting first thing when you get up. We loved our stay and can't wait to come back again this fall! Stephanie and Kelly


Treasure on Lake Erie

5 sur août 03, 2009

Everything was truly outstanding about our stay. Judy and Mike were the perfect hosts and wonderful boosters for the many attractions in the area. The breakfasts were wonderful and the establishment was immaculate. The charm of a well run B&B such as this is the chance to meet some really nice people, both owners and fellow guests. This is why we prefer them over hotels. Captain Montague's did not disappoint and in fact, exceeded out expectations. Kathy and Rich


You won't regret staying at the Captain's

4,6 sur août 02, 2009

Great choice in a carefully maintained historical home for a getaway weekend or an extended stay. Judy and Mike are gracious hosts who know the little touches that make a B&B experience memorable. Our room (with the all-important comfortable mattress) was cozily elegant and very quiet at night, despite a houseful of guests. Wonderful breakfast at poolside (weather permitting) or in the magnificent dining room, and you can't beat the location, with a park and beach just three blocks away. Put us down as fans of the Captain's.


A restful experience

5 sur juillet 27, 2009

Our stay at Capt. Montague's was a wonderful experience. Mike and Judy just couldn't do enough for us, and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely plan on staying there again.


Very nice experience

4,8 sur juillet 26, 2009

Hosts Judy and Mike make you feel like one of the family. Rooms and Inn are very relaxing and inviting. The history of the place is very interesting and fun to explore. Very nice city with something close by to do for everyone. Would not think twice about staying there again.


Mimi's Review

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

I had a most delightful time at Captain Montague's. Our hosts, Judy and Mike were friendly, accomodating and welcoming. The food was delicious. The accomodations were superb! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!!!!!


B&A

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2009

We were well hosted by Judy and Mike. Room was wondeful, location to our activity was terrific and the breakfast was exceptional from both the quantity and quality. Really enjoyed our stay.


Rest and Relaxation!!

4,4 sur juin 24, 2009

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. Our stay at Captain Montague's was the most relaxing vacation we had ever taken. Judy and Mike were wonderful hosts and made us feel as if we were part of their family. Our room was beautiful as was the rest of the house. (And the breakfast was DELICIOUS!) The beach is close enough to walk to, and there were nature preserves close by to take a peaceful stroll while enjoying getting glimpses of the deer and other wildlife. (Not to mention the wineries within short driving distance.) We highly recommend Captain Montague's. We are looking forward to a time when we can visit Mike and Judy again.


Wonderful Irish Hospitality in a Beautiful Home

5 sur mai 29, 2009

Mike & Judy are gracious hosts who love to share the home's history and their kindness. The home is located in a quiet neighborhood. The breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend Capt. Montague's as a romantic getaway to celebrate any special occasion. Slainte!


Wonderful!

5 sur mai 24, 2009

Amazing stay! My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night after our reception and it was perfect. Better than we could have imagined! Food was wonderful and the service was great. If you're in the Huron area, definitely stay here!


Relaxing experience.

4,6 sur avril 26, 2009

Beautiful experience. A welcoming home and welcoming folks! The house has a rich, interesting history. Clost to the lake--just a two-block walk to a lovely park.


A treat!

4,4 sur avril 15, 2009

This charming home is a great! You are treated like family but given privacy. Judy and Mike have paid great attention to details to make the experience special!


Our 2nd home

5 sur avril 14, 2009

We looked back in the journal at other tributes written by guests and saw an entry on this day in Sept 2003 when we first stayed here. Huron, OH has become our second home, and we always enjoyed staying at the Captain's. Thanks for great hospitality!


Wedding Bliss

5 sur février 05, 2009

My husband and I can only say great things about Judy and Mike. In June of 2006 Ed and I eloped and used Captain Montague's for the setting. Judy helped with EVERYTHING from where to get flowers and rent a tux to getting a minister and photographer. We stayed in almost all the rooms that week, and each had it's own special charm. Ed and I are rollercoaster junkies so we knew this was where we had to be married! Would recommed this B & B to anyone anytime! They treat you like family and the coffee is always hot!


Captain Montague

5 sur décembre 10, 2008

Judy and Mike were very gracious, 'instant family'. We had a very relaxing stay, the inn is beautiful!


Exceptional charm and breakfast

5 sur novembre 25, 2008

The home is so welcoming, warm, and cozy. Beautiful common areas at the bedrooms are so spacious, charming. Everything was so clean and the food was delicious- fruit, pancakes or an egg puff, phenomenal scones, beverages. A great place for a group to stay- we really enjoyed our couple's getaway- just the two of us!


Wonderful hospitality!

3,8 sur novembre 08, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Captain Montague's and had a wonderful experience. The innkeepers, Judy and Mike, were so warm and hospitable we felt we were walking into a relative's lovely Victorian home. Judy welcomed us and even though it was late, gave us a tour of her lovely home. She offered homemade brownies but we were too full from dinner. Our room was clean and comfortable (Molly's Room) and the breakfrast Judy made was delicious and very filling. We stayed here after eating dinner at Chez Francois in Vermilion which is just a few miles east of the inn, and we'll definitely be back the next time we dine there. Thanks Judy and Mike for sharing your lovely home with us!


Nice Place

4,0 sur octobre 26, 2008

We stayed at Captain Montague's on October 23 while in the area visiting friends. Stayed in Molly's room. The room was very nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and we were seated in front of a bay window so had a nice view of the trees outside. The owner and his wife were warm and welcoming. We would stay there again and also recommend it to friends.


Relaxing Retreat

5 sur septembre 15, 2008

A delightful get away that exudes warmth and charm from the moment you arrive! The pictures of the rooms only serve to peak one's interest as each is filled with fascinating and unique touches that add to the ambience. The innkeepers are superb, offering knowledgeable suggestions for entertainment, touring, dining or relaxation! Captain Montague's proved to be the perfect "home base" for our three night summer vacation. The area offered more than enough museums,restaurants, lake vistas and hiking(both outdoors in preserves and underground in caves) to keep us busy on a very rainylong weekend! Wecould have stayed a week, but left refreshed and rejuvenated! Finally, not to be missed are the wonderful breakfasts, immaculate suroundings and delightful company provided by the incomparable innkeepers!! Kudos to you both!!! A definite destination, as well as not to be missed stay if you are anywhere near Ohio!!!


A Perfect Getaway

5 sur août 25, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay. Mike Judy the owners are so sweet, caring and insightful. Captain Montague's was a great experience. The location is superb and the breakfast was amazing. We just loved the history behind this establishment and the hospitality. We will be back!!!


Good Experience at the Captain's

5 sur août 23, 2008

My family and I were on a vacation for 3 days in North East Ohio. We stayed 2 night at Captain Montague's Bed and Breakfast and were extremely pleased with our stay. The Building was charming and rooms were extremely clean, and the Breakfasts were delicious. Just a short trip to Cedar Point. We highly recommend this bed and Breakfast for anyone planning a trip to the cedar Point area.


CP stay

3,6 sur août 19, 2008

a little pricey very very elegant


Stay Here for a Better Getaway

4,8 sur août 19, 2008

We have stayed at "The Captians" multiple times and each time have had an excellent experiance. The gazebo is a great place to eat breakfast or have a cool beer at the end of the day. Judy and Mike have plenty of recommendations of what to do, where to eat and who to meet in the Huron area. VERY IMPORTANT FEATURES: Outstanding coffee!, pool, spacious bathrooms, knowledge about things to do other than the basic Sandusky draws.


fabulous

4,6 sur août 18, 2008

Clean and comfortabe. Great location and great company. we will go back.


Superb!

5 sur août 18, 2008

This is a lovely, oldfashioned, elegant home. The quaint details, the cleanliness, the welcoming feel of the place! All of these will bring us back again and again. Thanks for having us.


Fishing and Cedar Point

5 sur août 07, 2008

Captain Montague's is amazingly clean and the grounds are very well kept. Judy is excellent at helping set up special activities such as chartering a boat for a day of fishing. (We sailed with Captain Rocky who was experienced, friendly and accomodating). We also went to Cedar Point and Judy was able to give us directions off the beaten path allowing us access without hassle. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and will rebook should I revisit the area. The only possible improvement would be to allow unloading prior to a tour of the establishment.


Fun with the Captain

3,2 sur août 04, 2008

We had a great time at Capt Montagues. The Tann's were wonderful and gracious hosts and both were a lot of fun.


A wonderful, relaxing time!

5 sur août 04, 2008

We had a wonderful time this weekend at Captain Montague's. Judy and Mike were wonderful hosts making everyone feel at home. Their home is gorgeous, food was amazing, and the pool couldn't be more perfect.


Wonderful time!

5 sur juillet 31, 2008

We stayed 3 nights with Judy and Mike, and we had a wonderful time! They made us feel welcome and at home. We stayed in Edith's room and really loved the bright, cheery colors and the sunlight in the morning. But all the rooms are so nice that we could have stayed in any of them. The breakfast is unbelievable. Judy is such a great cook. Wait until you try her sones. We loved sitting with the other guests around one table, as this is the best way to get to know people, talk and have a great time together. Our stay in the Captain Montague's made our 2 week round trip through the eastern US very memorable: If we come back next time from Germany to Lake Erie we will definitively stay there again!! Thanks Judy, thanks Mike for the wonderful time! Broitta & Dirk


Spectacular

4,8 sur juillet 30, 2008

Our stay at this bed and breakfast was spectacular. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home!!


BREATHTAKING

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2008

Our stay could not have been any better. The house is wonderful. So clean. You ask and you definately recieve. Eating breakfast in the gazebo just made our mornings. The house is so quiet. We have stayed in several B&B's but nothing like this one! Judy and Mike are so informative on where to go and what to see. And , they know the short cuts. I rate this one a 15. John & Donna


Captain Montague's

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2008

A great getaway - no phone or radio distractions. Peace & quiet prevailed. Wonderful Judy - can't say enough about her. She mad our stay perfect.


Great place to relax

4,0 sur juillet 25, 2008

Very nice. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy small town life.


Captain Montague's B&B awesome!!

5 sur juillet 14, 2008

I have never felt so pampered and comfortable as I did at this bed and breakfast. The home is beautiful and spotless with gorgeous antique furnishings and plush carpeting; beautiful woodwork. Bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable with beautiful furnishings and plush towels in the bathroom. Food is outstanding and sitting out in the gazebo to eat was a joy. Outdoor areas are beautiful and peaceful, very relaxing. The area is nice to walk in and lake is close. I really loved this place and hope to return soon. Thanks Mike and Judy for your wonderful hospitality!!! Deb L. Medina, Ohio


Perfect for our weekend in Sandusky

5 sur juillet 13, 2008

After reading reviews of various motels in the Sandusky area, we decided to look for a B&B instead! Captain Montague's turned out to be the perfect choice in accommodations while attending our niece's wedding. The rooms were immaculate and we loved the convenient, well-stocked galley kitchen available to all of the guests. Judy and Mike were gracious hosts and their home was well suited for relaxed conversations with family throughout the weekend.


Even better in person

4,6 sur juin 22, 2008

My wife and I needed a place to spend a few vacation hours for an annual anniversary getaway. Captain Montague's stuck out for its name, initially, then for its website, which listed charming details about each of the guestrooms. Of course, a skeptical shopper can't believe everything he/she reads. Imagine my pleasure when we arrived and found that the website and its pictures and text BARELY did the place justice. Our room was very comfortably sized, not tiny as I had expected. The interior decorating was creative and elegant. The common areas abound with books and nicknacks, both historical and novel, and at the same time appear quite tidy and clean. It's like a museum of Irish and Celtic lore, but you're invited to make yourself at-home among it all. I enjoyed a very peaceful evening in the Cranberry Parlor, feet up, enjoying a favorite beverage and a book. If you want, you can choose a book or a board game from the library. My only complaint - and I mean only - was that we only had one night to spend there. This is a place where the walls and the fixtures and the shelves and the chairs and tables all beg to be explored, to be appreciated for their contribution to the whole. In the morning, we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of specialty pancakes, delicious coffee, and their signature item, Irish scones. The breakfast, the delightful company of the other guests, and the "service with a smile" from Judy, our hostess made me want to stay longer, but alas, we had to go, but not before getting the "cook's tour" of the entire structure. I hope to stay there again, very soon.


I felt at home, only better!

4,6 sur juin 16, 2008

We recently stayed at Captain Montague's while attending a family wedding. Judy and Mike were not only wonderful hosts in the usual B&B manner (a beautifully restored place to stay and good food), but they also provided a wonderful welcoming atmosphere for us that felt as comfortable as home (but without the responsibilities). We even ended up back at the house with a number of relatives when the wedding reception had worn us down. We played cards, chatted, and wound down the evening in a most enjoyable way. I highly recommend Captain Montague's as a wonderful place to stay, Judy and Mike as wonderful people to stay with, and Huron as a quaint, quiet town to stay in.


HomeAwayFrom Home

5 sur juin 04, 2008

We have stayed at Captain Montagues on several ocassions over the years and keep returning to the wonderful hospitality of Mike and Judy Tann. Comfortable, clean, friendly and delicious breakfasts. A wonderful place to relax. A home away from home with no cares or worries. Very accomadating. We highly recommend.


Highly recommend

3,6 sur juin 02, 2008

Great location, lovely home, room clean, large, very comfortable. Hosts very friendly and breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Recommend highly.


A gem in Huron!

4,8 sur mai 30, 2008

We had a delighful stay! The historic house is well kept and very roomy. Lake Erie is only a short block or two away, within walking distance. Breakfast was a delight and Judy fixed some delicious homemade scones and banana/cinamon chip pancakes. We hope to visit again this summer/autumn. Thanks Mike & Judy for a wonderful stay!


A GREAT PLACE

5 sur mai 29, 2008

WE SPENT A WEEKEND FOR OUR NIECE'S GRADUATION AND THE INNKEEPERS JUST MADE IT SO MUCH MORE SPECIAL.


Wine and Relaxation

4,0 sur avril 28, 2008

We had a wonderful experience at Captain Montague's. Beautiful home, scrumptious breakfast and Judy & Mike are an adorable couple. Enjoyed walking around the historical neighborhood and visiting several area wineries.


Celtic Charm!

5 sur avril 20, 2008

Captain Montague’s was the perfect location for the celebration of our thirtieth wedding anniversary! We were as much delighted by the Irish ambiance permeating the historic manor, as we were by Mike and Judy’s tales of historic Huron in its shipbuilding years. Each room was impeccably and beautifully furnished. The “concierge service” was invaluable (Judy even “tabbed” some local brochures with sites she thought would be of interest to us). We loved the complete breakfasts of fruit, pancakes, bacon, warm scones, juice and coffee as we listened to Celtic strains. Most of all, we thoroughly enjoyed Mike and Judy’s company. We arrived as guests and felt we left as friends. We’ll be back!


A Little Slice of Heaven

5 sur janvier 07, 2008

Captain Montague's was a lovely experience. Judy and Mike welcomed me with open arms and made me feel right at home. It was an oasis of tranquility during a personally stressful time. After a hectic day, I came back to the Inn, took a hot shower, snuggled up in a bathrobe and tiptoed downstairs and grabbed a book from the downstairs library. In the morning, I dined on scrumptious (and I use this word sparingly) banana cinammon pancakes and homemade scones, topped off with the Inn's customized tea. Captain Montague's was distinctive and yet cozy and comfortable. I've already recommended that my parents stay at Captain Montague's the next time they are in town.


12 Years and Counting!

5 sur janvier 01, 2008

Our stay on New Year's Eve 2007 marked the 12th year that we have been guests at the Captain's. Mike and Judy are like family to us, and have always welcomed us with open arms. They pamper us like crazy while we are their guests, and the food and conversation are the true highlights of our stays. The Captain's has evolved into a "retreat" of sorts for us -- a place of refuge where we can leave everything behind and focus on us -- our relationship -- and relax to a point where we can return to our family and daily life with a fresh and renewed perspective. We cherish our stays at the Captain's, and have created once-in-a-lifetime memories there. Thank you, Mike and Judy, for becoming a part of the history of our family, and for many visits yet to come!


Surprise Birthday

5 sur novembre 12, 2007

Judy and Mike helped make my wife's surprise birthday truly a fun filled and nmost memorable weekend. The rooms were beautifully decorated in the Victorian period , the food was absolutely delish and the "family" hospitality unequalled, they're a stitch!. The murder mystery crew from "Random Acts" were a riot and put on an excellent show both nights, as well as getting our whole group into the act. Would gladly do it again any time!


Better than Home

5 sur novembre 08, 2007

Captain Montagues was a beautiful Bed and Breakfast convenient to several local attractions. The owners are top-notch with a knack for making you feel like your are there only guest. Impeccable service and food.


Captain Montagues.

5 sur octobre 17, 2007

1st time b&b stay and it could not have been better. The house and rooms were beautiful and comfortable. The food was yummmmy and the owners were lovely.


Like Family.

4,6 sur octobre 10, 2007

Delightful innkeepers have beautifully restored this historic home. Conversation was great, breakfast was even better.


Captain Montague's.

5 sur septembre 21, 2007

This Inn was outstanding.


We will see ya in 2008!

4,0 sur septembre 13, 2007

Mike and Judy welcomed my family with open arms. We had a wonderful time in their home. This was our first B&B experience and it certainly won’t be our last. We will see ya in 2008!


At home with family

4,2 sur août 21, 2007

For us this was a halfway-between meeting place for relatives. Judy and Mike are lovely people who made us feel like family and very much at home. Kitchen facilities were always fully available. Luscious home-made scones were the crowning touch for excellent breakfasts.


August 2007

5 sur août 18, 2007

This was our first time at this establishment. We were pleased with every aspect including the warm friendly manner of the host and hostess, the inviting decor of the inn, and the lovely surroundings.


Warm and Friendly

4,0 sur août 12, 2007

We chose Captain Montague's for its location and history. We enjoyed the Mike's informative tour of the house detailing its historical significance and the renovations made to the home. It is well-maintained and beautifully decorated. The warm and friendly hospitality made us feel right at home. Our breakfast served in the gazebo was delicious--the white chocolate cranberry scones are great! We will make a point to return again.


Enjoy Huron Playhouse, community theatre at its best

5 sur juillet 22, 2007

We enjoyed the ambiance of the Irish Bed and Breakfast immensely. Our Hosts were most cordial, enjoyed providing us with information about places to eat, and were terrific advocates for the community --especially the BGSU Theatre's lab - Huron Playhouse. In addition to walking to the theatre, we enjoyed walking to Lake Erie - so terrific location for our needs. Like others, we enjoyed the restored home, personal attention, and the quality of the nights' rest. Persons who enjoy theatre should consider this as their base when attending a play at the Huron Playhouse.


Rookies...

5 sur juillet 15, 2007

We had the most delightful experience at Captin Montague's. It was our first B&B experience and it won't be our last. Mike and Judy are wonderful hosts that helped us learn about Huron and it's surrounding areas. We will be back!!


A wonderful "home base"

4,2 sur juin 27, 2007

We celebrated our anniversary at the Captain's, and it was the perfect home base for our special Erie shore weekend. Our primary destination was Chez Francois in nearby Vermillion, a gourmet restaurant on the water that was a sublime experience! The Captain's was just two blocks from the Huron Boat Basin, so the next night we walked down for a free concert and beers along the river. Judy and Mike are very hospitable and although the house is very grand, it's easy to feel at home there. One of the unusual features is the large covered patio, and the pool; it was great to sit poolside and read or nap between outings. You'll get your money's worth and more. Have fun!


Murder Mystery Weekend

5 sur juin 22, 2007

We were here for a mystery weekend with 5 other couples. It was very well planned weekend. The rooms are all so beautifully decorated and the food was delicious. Mike and Judy are very gracious host & hostess. Actually we've only been to 3 inns or bed & breakfasts before & this was the best.


What fun!

5 sur juin 22, 2007

We had a great time! What fun. The rooms were done in beautiful colors. Everything was clean. The food was great. We felt very special. We were on a mystery weekend.


Perfect Weekend with Friends

5 sur juin 22, 2007

We did a mystery weekend here (2nd time here). It was fabulous - the hosts were wonderful - food was excellent - can't say enough good about them - the house is beautiful - perfect weekend with friends.


Most wonderful honeymoon

5 sur juin 11, 2007

My wife and I saw the website for Captain Montague's and were impressed. This B&B has exceeded all expectations. The innkeeper made us feel truly at home. The inside & outside of the establishment transformed our mood. We had the most wonderful honeymoon. We will be back God willing. p.s. The food was great!!!


Gracious Hosts

5 sur mai 24, 2007

Mike & Judy were very gracious hosts. They keep a beautiful home in a lovely community. They possess exceptional knowledge of the area and of the seasonal events. We would recommend Captain Montague's B&B to anyone wanting a casual, relaxing weekend.


Wonderful Mother/Daughter Review

4,4 sur mai 24, 2007

Charming with hometown hospitality and easy access to a variety of entertainment. Relaxing without a rush with a great deal to see and do. Would plan another trip soon later this year.


Irish Hospitality

5 sur mai 24, 2007

Thank you so much for your kind Irish hospitality. We had a wonderful time in your beautiful (and beautifully restored) home. We really enjoyed learning of the history of your home & Huron. Thank you also for great advice on where to get a perfect meal and for the delicious homecooked breakfast.


Exudes Charm

5 sur mai 22, 2007

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with the Tann's on the weekend of purchasing our new sailboat. This lovely B&B exudes the charm of it's owners and it's history. The full breakfast, which is included, greatly exceeded my expectations. Another stay will definitely be in our travel plans.


Captain Montague's

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $135 - $225
  • Avis (159) 4,7
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-4194334756
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8002764756

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut