German Village Guesthouse Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
111 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Best room in Columbus

5 sur juin 10, 2014

While visiting our daughter we discovered this guesthouse. It is so much nicer than any hotel room. It also also next door to a great deli and Jeni's ice-cream!


German Village Guesthouse

4,4 sur mai 19, 2014

This is more than we expected comfortable and clean.


Incredible stay on our wedding night

5 sur avril 17, 2014

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was. We just booked two nights to celebrate our 1-year anniversary and I just can't wait, I've been fortunate enough to have stayed in some wonderful bed-and-breakfasts (and hotels) and I feel that the night we spent in the Whittier Suite topped them all (and then some)! We didn't want to leave! We lived in German Village for the first year and a half of our relationship and it brought back so many wonderful memories for us. In my opinion, it is by far the most romantic place to stay in Columbus, Ohio. I was born and raised here and did quite a bit of research to find the best place for our wedding night. I'm confident that the German Village Guest House is it!


Great room in a great location

4,2 sur mars 24, 2014

We loved the location. Room was beautiful and very well-appointed. Great selection for breakfast.


Worth the money!

5 sur février 27, 2014

My fiance & I arrived on Sat, Feb 22nd & stayed until Mon, Feb 24th. Check-in at 4pm. We stayed in Room 1, which is on the 1st floor & off the kitchen. In the kitchen was a pitcher of fresh iced tea & a tray of cookies. The kitchen is well-stocked, including homemade yogurt, cereal, teas, K-cups for the Keurig, & more. The kitchen is spacious, clean, & modern. While we stayed in Room 1, we had the chance to look at the other 2 after the other couples left on Sunday, & I can say that all 3 rooms are worth the price. Our room was nice, & a bottle of San Pelligrino was on a tray with 2 glasses. I planned ahead for 2 cream puffs from Schmidt's (a local German restaurant) to be waiting for us. A handwritten note wished my fiance a Happy Birthday, & directed us to the fridge to find our desserts. The house isn't noisy. I barely heard the other house guests when they were there, and the street traffic was barely noticeable. The area is safe & peaceful. If you go up during nice weather, use the fire place on the patio in the backyard. Even in the German Village, this B&B has a spacious backyard to enjoy. The owners supply all the necessities for smores. Also, the fireplace in the living room is available for use. Our breakfasts included hardboiled eggs, bread w/ butter & jellies, sliced fresh honeydew, grapes, mixed berries, a delicious crumb cake, pineapple, berries, & a baked nut bread. If you wish to stay in for meals, you can use the kitchen to cook, pick up a burger to go at The Thurman Cafe, or get food delivered from Plank's Cafe. There is street parking all down the block, & we were parked right infront of the house. A keycode unlocks the front door, & all doors leading outside have a deadbolt. The 3 guest rooms have 2 deadbolts each, & you have your own key (not keycard) to your room. I felt our experience was well worth the money. The cozyness of a home, mixed with the amazing amentities, made our trip wonderful. I would absolutely stay here again.


Refreshing

4,8 sur novembre 22, 2013

This was a wonderful alternative to a hotel. I was made to feel very welcome. The house is beautiful; the room and bath were great. Whenever I'm in Columbus for business again, this is where I will stay.


We have decided that we are going to live in this guest house some day!

5 sur novembre 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Whittier Suite #1 for our anniversary. The suite was absolutely gorgeous - nice living room, beautiful kitchen, spacious bedroom, and stunning slate shower in the bathroom. The owners had an unexpected bottle of champagne, strawberries, and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived. The kitchen was stocked with every snack you can imagine including fresh cookies, coffee cake, cereal, and oatmeal. The refrigerator was stocked with several bottles of water and juice as well as fresh fruit, milk, soy milk, and boiled eggs. The location cannot be beat. We walked to The Book Loft, G. Michaels, Lindeys, Kolache Republic, German Village Coffee House, and Schiller Park. Many other shops and restaurants are within a short walk. We had a great weekend being tourists in our own city and hope to be back again soon.


perfect place in Columbus

5 sur novembre 12, 2013

My husband and I took a chance on this web find. It could not have been a more lovely overnight. From the easy online booking to the upbeat artful, relaxing design to the delicious and beautifully presented continental breakfast. We enjoyed learning of the history of German Village from the DVD in our room, then hiking the narrow brick-paved streets. We are recommending to our friends. Wish we'd had another day to enjoy the fireplace in the garden. John, the proprietor, is a natural. We enjoyed our visit.


Getaway

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

Best place to take your spouse anywhere in Ohio


excellent choice

4,6 sur septembre 10, 2013

we stayed there for our 8th wedding anniversary. It was a cozy and pleasant stay. Excellent choice.


Attentive Comfort

4,6 sur août 30, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay as we traveled through Columbus. All of our possible needs were met. The room was quiet and comfortable, and the location was perfect for walking arouind the German Village area. It was very easy to get to the location, and it would be a perfect base for visiting around Columbus.


The Top!

4,6 sur août 08, 2013

This was the absolute best place I have ever stayed. I would recommend it to everyone. Service, food, rooms, cleanliness, atmosphere, everything was extremely good.


Great service.

4,8 sur juillet 16, 2013

We stayed at the German Village Guesthouse when our son swam in a swim meet at Ohio State University. Based on the great reviews we read prior to booking, we were excited to experience something different than hotels. I am a physician and both my wife and I are very type A personalities. Our stay was great and met all our expectations. My wife enjoyed the stay over hotels. Food and snacks were great, location was great, and historic area was great. Our pull out bed was not made (not a big deal), but when we called to inquire about sheets for the pull out, John was very apologetic and adjusted our bill. Top of the line service and we will stay again when in the area.


Great place to stay!

4,4 sur juillet 14, 2013

One of the best, most impressive B&B at which we have ever stayed. The home is exquisite and the furnishings, yard and rooms are great. Breakfast is good and light, just doesn't keep up with the rest of the experience.


Great Place!

5 sur juillet 06, 2013

The Guest House is wonderful. The room was very nice and very comfortable. The kitchen facilities and the breakfast were excellent. The location was very convenient to everything in the German village. We were disappointed that most of the restaurants in the German Village were close on July 4th but that is not a reflection on the Guest House. We will be back.


Hidden Treasure

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

In our opinion, travel accommodation does not get any better. From the soft downy bathrobes, to a fully stocked kitchen that allowed us to have breakfast on our own time in our own way, to the magnificent rain shower and the WiFi that allowed my husband to participate in 3 remote meetings. What a wonderful little treasure, complimented by many great dining experiences only a few steps away including TWO farm to fork organic options (our preference) and a gourmet coffee shop. Nope, doesn't get any better....


Columbus OH

4,2 sur juin 24, 2013

My first trip to Columbus OH and what an amazing journey. The city is immaculately clean; people exceptionally friendly and absolutely beautiful weather. My stay at the German Village Guest House was fantastic. The accommodations are spectacular! Great little garden out back to relax and catch up on your iPad or check e-mails. Room very clean and comfortable. The German Village itself is worth a walk about. Beautiful cobblestone streets and friendly neighbors. Super little pub Beck's Tavern. Great food at Lindy's. Definitely a place that makes you feel like home. I look forward to my next visit.


Birthday extravaganza!

5 sur juin 10, 2013

I got lucky and had a last minute cancellation and we were able to to stay here. We came to Columbus for the Art Fair and to walk around the German Village. It was a surprise for my on her birthday. This place is unbelievable. We will be back soon.


Outstanding B and B!!!!

5 sur juin 10, 2013

What a fantastic B and B. Great location, outstanding suite. We were well taken care of. Even had Champagne waiting for us. We will be back.


Generally quite good with only a few areas for improvement

4,6 sur juin 03, 2013

Exceptional fresh fruit and banana nut bread left for us each day as well as high quality Greek yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Tastefully decorated. A call to the posted number about an unusual water leak was promptly dealt with by a work person, although the closet carpet itself remained wet. Only two negative areas for comment: The house is located on a very heavily trafficked street. The bedroom faces the street. Thankfully, the double paned windows and air conditioning helped mitigate the noise--plus there were fewer buses and cars at night. While the bathroom had a gorgeous shower, it lacked any safety bars for entering or holding near the shower heads. These are quite important with a pebbled flooring and a small step upon entry. Also, a serious lack of shelves to place personal items was annoying. The bath sink did not drain well. Overall, we enjoyed the spaciousness and pleasant décor as well as the well stocked fridge.


Perfect In-Town Getaway

4,8 sur mai 03, 2013

We were looking for something different for our anniversary. We have stayed in other bed and breakfast but wanted something with a bit more privacy. German Village Guest House was perfect. The details in the house were amazing, especially the kitchen. My wife loved the flowers, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. Some great dinning and sites within walking distance. We had a wonderful time.


Perfect

4,6 sur avril 07, 2013

Quiet location, great rooms, lots of privacy. We will definitely stay again.


Getaway

4,4 sur mars 26, 2013

A great overnight getaway that was so much more comfortable than a hotel stay.


Great Early Valentines Surprise

4,8 sur février 11, 2013

My husband and I got to stay at the Bed and Breakfast a year ago that our kids got us for Christmas. To my surprise my husband got us the same room again for a short Valentines get away. Even tho it was and early Valentines we had a great time and we are looking forword to coming back in the future, hoping to try a stay down by High St.at the other location, because we love walking the shops. If you ever want a nice weekend get away, this is a really nice one with lots of attractions to see.


warm feelings

5 sur décembre 26, 2012

This was our second time at GVGH. We have stayed in both Whittier suites, and other than the second floor being up a rather steep flight of outdoor steps both suites are equally lovely. You feel comfortable and cared for without a sense of invasiveness. The B&B experience begins with a welcoming pitcher of tea and cookies. In the morning you select from a tasty array of breakfast foods available in the kitchen of your suite; even the table is set and ready for you. After a day of exploring German Village (galleries, gift shops, restaurants) you come home to a cozy living room, well appointed spa bath and a very comfortable bed. When you leave, and unfortunately you eventually must, you take with you a sense that you have just visited a friend who knows you well.


Wonderful Expereince

5 sur octobre 24, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful experience at the German Village Guest House. We loved our stay with you and thank you for allowing our Polish Lowland Sheepdog to stay with us. The suite was very clean and comfortable and the goodies were a nice, needed touch for tired travelers. We had a ncie peaceful walk in the park and sleep sloundly. The rooms of our suite were very comfortable and we had a very nice stay. Thank you so much.


35th Anniversary get a way celebration!

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

Excellent suite, with fresh flowers, fruit, and chocolate chip cookies to greet us! Wonderful restaurants, interesting, friendly people, stores galore to browse,.. You won't find a much better place than this for a week end stay! LIke another world, filled with enchantement and magical findings! WE plan on returning and enjoying another beautiful suite and all its lovely surroundings! THank you so much for all the special touches! Patty Teufel and Ross Shriver, from Perrysburg, Ohio.


Enjoyable Experience

5 sur septembre 18, 2012

The GVGH is a wonderful find. It was very clean, organized, inviting, and comfortable. I would definately stay here again.


Amazing; Hidden Gem!

5 sur septembre 14, 2012

The GVG is amazing. It was our second stay. The location is perfect. The owner has all of the right touches. Value is excellent. Enough said!


Wonderful first time experience

5 sur septembre 11, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at a "Bed and Breakfast" type place. We really enjoyed ourselves and felt very at home! Thank you for a great night!


Anniversary Weekend

3,8 sur septembre 11, 2012

Our stay at the German Village Guesthouse was amazing! They left no detail out. The bed was fantastic, as well as the shower. They pampered us with fresh-brewed iced tea and chocolate chip cookies every day! Very neat & clean.


Guest House was Great

4,0 sur août 13, 2012

The German Village Guest House was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was simple with lots of fresh fruit. Good location for sightseeing in Columbus.


The Best B&B. I Loved it Here!

5 sur août 12, 2012

For a reasonable price, this B&B was one of the Nicest places we've ever stayed at. Anything you needed they had here. Fancy, modern furnishings in quaint German Village surroundings.


Fantastic B&B

5 sur août 12, 2012

We stayed at German Village Guest House for our anniversary. The room was beautiful, modern, and clean. Location was perfect, we could walk to Park St. restaurants. Complimentary breakfast was amazing! Fresh berries, breads, eggs, juices, and local coffee! Check in & out was a breeze. We will be returning in the future and recommending German Village Guest House to our friends.


Just the right place to stay and enjoy German Village

4,2 sur août 11, 2012

This place was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The garden was lovely. We met some wonderful fellow travelers and explored the historic neighborhood. The German Village Guest House was a great place to relax and unwind. We will be recommending it to our friends and plan to stay again.


German Village Guesthouse

5 sur juillet 27, 2012

I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Nice decor, quiet, nice neighborhood. Very relaxing.


Five-Star Accommodations

5 sur juin 04, 2012

For our annual visit to Columbus in June we always stay at German Village Guesthouse because it is consistently the best B&B in the area. Always comfortable and welcoming, our rooms are our "second home" and the fresh fruit and baked goods (plus many other selections) laid out for our create-your-own breakfasts are delightful. We would not consider staying anywhere else.


Urban Sanctuary

5 sur mai 29, 2012

My husband and I went to Columbus on business and stayed at GVG. Very quiet, clean rooms and wonderful garden. Worth every penny.


Best Bed & Breakfast

5 sur mai 06, 2012

Tucked away off a cobblestone tree-lined street in Columbus's German Village, The Guest House is chic, modern, clean, and caters to the traveler.


Wonderful!

5 sur mai 06, 2012

Could not ask for anything else. Clean! Lots of little extras!


Great Place. Great Location.

4,8 sur février 18, 2012

Highly recommend a stay with GVGH! The location is super convenient, suite was great (bathroom is gorgeous!) and can't wait to visit in the Spring/Summer to utilize the cute little patio out back!


Charming little getaway

3,6 sur janvier 31, 2012

This is a nice little getaway place. Located in a quaint part of Columbus. It has nice places to eat within walking distance, even in the winter.


German Village Perfection

5 sur janvier 29, 2012

This place exceeded every expectation we had. A true perfect trip. We will return.


My favorite B&B

4,0 sur janvier 13, 2012

Not only are the facilities and atmosphere of the German Village Guesthouse absolutely superb, but the helpfulness and service provided by their staff are among the best I've ever seen. I reserved the Whittaker Suite at the Guesthouse for two nights for my girlfriend and myself, as a romantic anniversary getaway. The suite is out of this world: Gorgeous bedroom, living room, kitchen and bath, with all of the amenities one could want for a weekend to remember. Unfortunately, I discovered just as we were heading to the guesthouse that I had mistakenly reserved room #2 rather than Suite #2 when I signed up online. The guesthouse owner was incredibly helpful at helping make the best of things: The suite wasn't available Friday night, but they had it free on Saturday. She even offered to help move our luggage from one to the other while we were out Saturday, and gave us a late checkout on Sunday morning to help make up for the disappointing mistake. There was champagne and strawberries waiting in the suite when we arrived. It was even more wonderful than I had remembered. And a few days after I got home, a package arrived from the guesthouse containing a necklace and iphone plug that I had left in the suite--they had sent it back to me without even asking. One can find other top-of-the-line, beautiful B&Bs with great amenities several places around the country, in the middle of delightful neighborhoods filled with shops and beautiful buildings...but service like the German Village Guesthouse's is very hard to come by. This place stands out in every way. Come and visit--I guarantee you won't regret it!


Very classy place

3,6 sur décembre 31, 2011

A very classy place - breakfast was great, and we enjoyed the garden. A bit pricy, but worth it!


A "must" for Columbus, Ohio visitors

4,0 sur décembre 06, 2011

My wife and I found this B&B to exceed our expectations in virtually every way. Well kept, clean, updated with every amenity. Wonderful surroundings. I would highly recommend it to everyone. We will most certainly return.


Sbdued elegance

5 sur décembre 04, 2011

A large private garden, well-appointed room, pristine bathroom, comfortable sitting area, and a generous healthy and tasty breakfast. All this in a clean, quaint village. What's not to like?


11-17-11

4,0 sur novembre 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a great time in the Village. The accomodations were more than we expected. Our stay was wonderful. Centrally located. We were able to walk everywhere.


German Guest House Great Value

5 sur novembre 16, 2011

This is the perfect place to enjoy an extraordinary community with wonderful shopping, dining, and wandering opportunities. It was perfect for my visit to the La Grange Insurance Audubon Center. A wonderful blend of city and wild.


By far the best B&B!

5 sur novembre 01, 2011

My rooms were secluded and personal. From the moment I walked in, warmth and hospitality greeted me. My fiance and I spent the night here before he shipped off to Afghanistan and anything we could possibly need was provided. In the morning we were able to spend time in the kitchen making each other breakfast and enjoying the ambiance ... it was even better than being home! :) We are planning to make this a yearly tradition. I cannot wait til we can stay here again.


October 22, 2011

4,4 sur octobre 24, 2011

Business trip/overnight. This B & B was the cleanest, most comfortable and beautiful lodging I have ever experienced - better than the Columbus Hilton by far and less expensive. Definately will come back when in Columbus - and maybe even just for a getaway weekend


Fantastic!!

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2011

This my wife and I's first time in Columbus and also our first time at a B & B. We will probably never stay at a hotel again. The house is gorgeous and the room we stayed in was modern, clean, and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with anything we could need. And we made use of the wonderful outdoor fireplace. We recommend and we will definitely be back. Additionally the German Village is beautiful place to roam.


Awesome Honeymoon Spot!

4,0 sur octobre 10, 2011

I reserved a room here for my best friend's wedding night and they LOVED it! Amazing location and totally secluded and cozy. I highly recommend!


German village

4,6 sur octobre 03, 2011

What a wonderful place to have a restful break on a long trip. Everything from the tasteful appoinments to the stress-less checkin/out seems intended to let the guest relax and enjoy the surroundings.


Perfection

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

Fantastic service, surroundings, gardens and rooms. One of the best B&B experiences around -- thank you!


39th Anniversary Celebration

4,2 sur septembre 28, 2011

We arrived in the late afternoon and got refreshed before strolling around German Village. I had called earlier and staff was very helpful in suggesting places that might be special and suitable to dine at for a special occasion. Their suggestions were excellent. Room was VERY clean and spacious (we had the king bed room). Patio was peaceful and relaxing for just hanging out in the morning. Was a little surprised that breakfast had no hot choices but perhaps I had not read the literature closely enough. King bed is made up of two single mattresses (I am sure due to limitation in bringing up a king size) and I did find it a bit uncomfortable with the crack in the middle. I certainly however would recommend it and next time will ask for a queen. :-)


Restful, gorgeous place in German Village

4,6 sur septembre 06, 2011

We spent 1 night at the GVGH over Labor Day weekend, in Room 1 on the first floor, and I really wish we could have stayed longer. We felt welcomed from the moment we walked through the front door: jazz music played softly in the common area, a tray with iced tea was set out, cupcakes and plenty of other snacks were ours for the taking, our room and bathroom were comfortable, and everything was beautifully decorated and immaculate. We were enjoying the common sitting area when Darci, the proprietor, stopped in to drop off some extra fruit. She introduced herself and was very nice but didn't hover, which I liked. The backyard garden area is also lovely, with an outdoor fireplace and 2 sitting areas. We ended up relaxing in our room watching a video on the German Village and then a movie from the selection of DVDs right outside our door. We got a great night's sleep and walked out of the room the next morning to find a delicious selection of fruits, banana-nut bread, hard-boiled eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, milk and juice all set up in the kitchen. The bathroom shower was spa-like with its tiled floor and stone-tiled wall and bench, nice towels and 2 robes hanging on the door. We didn't feel at all rushed to leave. All in all, it was a perfect stay; my only disappointment was that we didn't get a visit from the owners' dog, Cookie! If we get to return, hopefully we'll get to meet her next time. :-)


Comfortable and unpretentious

4,8 sur août 07, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the German Village Guest House. It was as if invisible hands were keeping everything beautiful while giving us plenty of privacy. The room was comfortable and spacious, and we really enjoyed the breakfast of coffee cake and fresh fruit. Overall, it was a pleasant experience and I'll recommend it to my friends.


Best place to stay in Columbus

5 sur juillet 26, 2011

Amazing accommodations. beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, gorgeous gardens, tasty treats -- in the heart of German Village. Love it!


I'll be back

5 sur juillet 15, 2011

Waling distant of restaurants, grocery store and bars in a historical area. Enjoyed breakfast. Nice garden but it rained the day we stayed.


Awesome stopover

4,2 sur juillet 12, 2011

Traveling from Springfield, IL to Philadelphia, PA we decided to stop in Columbus, OH to explore the area for one night. After deciding upon visiting the German Village, I researched places to stay and found the German Village Guest House with rave reviews. It has definitely earned them! Extremely clean, immaculately kept and beautifully decorated the GVGH will not disappoint. The garden is serene and beautiful. A nice feature of the place is that the owner is on hand next door but check-in and out are done remotely so there is no possible awkwardness "staying" in someone else's house as some B&B's can feel. Great restaurants are a near-by walk as it is a residential neighborhood with a lot of pride and community feel. We stayed one night as planned but I would like to stay over longer next time. BTW, we were in Room 3 which has a private bath and very roomy quarters overlooking the garden. Enjoy!


A Sunday in German Village

4,4 sur juillet 02, 2011

By chance, we booked our one-night stay at the German Village Guesthouse on the same day as the German Village Haus und Garten Tour event. What a tremendous way to spend the day in German Village, touring the amazing homes and beautiful gardens and ending up at the equally amazing and beautiful German Village Guesthouse in the heart of it all! It was our first stay (but won't be our last!) and we were extremely impressed by the decor and comfort of our room. We rested up after a long day of standing in line to view the tour stops and then walked a few blocks down Jaeger to the wonderful Barcelona restaurant. (Insider tip - Sunday nights they feature the entire wine list at wholesale price plus a small mark-up). After an excellent dinner we walked back to the Guesthouse and sat under the stars in the beautiful back yard garden, sipping a final glass of wine. In the morning, the breakfast choices were filling and healthy and then we moved on with fond memories of our stay. Put this spot on your list to stay when you come to Central Ohio!


So nice we had to stay again on our return home!

5 sur juin 30, 2011

We learned of this B&B from a lady at the Ohio I-70 Welcome Center. She highly recommended it to us. Luckily, one room was still available so we booked it. What a wonderful experience. We especially enjoyed meeting the Superintendent of Grounds, a black lab named Cookie. We were impressed by the quality of everything from the furniture, fixtures, food, and fun that we had during our short stay. In fact, we loved it so much, we returned a week later on our way home to Illinois. This time we had time to build a fire in the outdoor fireplace and relax and enjoy the beautiful back yard. We highly recommend the German Village Guest House to anyone looking for a wonderful alternative to the typical hotel room.


A great place to stay

4,8 sur juin 22, 2011

Out visit at GVGH was outstanding. The amenities were great; they thought of everything! We only wish we could have had a chance to enjoy the patio/garden but it was rainy.


a must stay

4,8 sur juin 18, 2011

If you are going to Columbus for any reason at all, you must stay at the GVGH. If you aren't, then find a reason. While the website photos might adequately capture the quality of the rooms, they dont fully reflect how incredible the backyard garden/grotto/patio area is. Try to go when it still gets cool enough at night to enjoy the outdoor fireplace.


A welcome respite in a wild weekend

5 sur juin 13, 2011

We were fortunate to be able to rent the entire guest house for a famiy graduation. It was a beautiful and relaxing place to pause and count our blessings. We were able to entertain guests in the garden and simply enjoy the beautiful surroundings of German Village. It was such a pleasure NOT to stay in a hotel for this weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will be back!


This place is amazing

5 sur juin 08, 2011

The GVGH has thought of every detail. Clean, beautifully decorated, in a great location, with all of the touches of home, without the awkwardness of staying with a stranger! This place is perfect!


Very unique B and B

5 sur mai 23, 2011

We very much liked the style of this bed and breakfast. We were given a key code to get in the door and a room key for our room. There were lots of snacks available in the kitchen and a nice dining table and sofa and fireplace available. The next morning breakfast was laid out for us. We very much liked the privacy, amenities and location. We will definitely be staying again!


german village guest house

4,0 sur mai 03, 2011

If you like relaxation and quiet this is the place for you. Kitchen was well appointed and good background music.


Just about perfect

4,4 sur mai 03, 2011

We were visiting our daughter at OSU and wanted a restful change from a hotel. We definitely got exactly what we wanted; the property is immaculate as well as being convenient. We stayed in room 3; it had a beautiful garden view with dogwoods blossoming outside and a restful modern decor. The house has a kitchen with fantastic loose teas--such a nice touch for a tea drinker. We were all exhausted, and sitting in the lovely garden drinking tea was just what the doctor ordered. Just the right combination of privacy and openness--one of the best B & B's I've ever stayed in.


awesome!!!

5 sur avril 18, 2011

This place was absolutely stunning! It exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for an awesome getaway. It was extremely clean and a great walking distance to the wonderful little German Village town. We will def. be back again!


EXCELLENT Hidden GEM

4,2 sur avril 12, 2011

We have stayed in all the locations available for this owner. Always everything is perfect. This is our first choice for any business or vacation in the area.


German Village Guest House (not a "B&B")

2,8 sur mars 23, 2011

All was great with our stay in the German Village neighborhood of Columbus, Ohio. Beautiful area and location, wonderful living space, bed/bath, and gardens. The only slight disappointment was the "continental" breakfast of bagels, fruits, coffee and juice. For the price, we would have expected a full, hot, homemade breakfast.


Wedding Surprise

5 sur mars 20, 2011

I surprised my new bride with an overnight stay in Suite #1. We could not have been happier. The place was amazing and quite!!! I loved the ease of access and the kitchen was well stocked. The staff provided champaign with chocolate and strawberries on our wedding night, very nice. The bed was very comfortable and the decor was beautiful. The shower was unbelieveable and nice touch with the duck!!!! The staff was very friendly and made everything convenient. German Villiage has a lot to see and do, day or night. I would recommend this place to anyone. In fact, we are hoping to make this a yearly event on our anniversary.


Beautiful. Quiet. Perfect get-away.

4,2 sur mars 08, 2011

Superb B&B. Great service and beautiful rooms. Would stay there again in an instant.


Tremendous change of pace

4,0 sur mars 04, 2011

I usually stay at chain hotels and this was quite a departure for me. But, it was like a breadth of fresh air! What a wonderful place and I will stay there every time I come to Columbus!


German Village Guesthouse Review

4,8 sur février 28, 2011

Great get-away! Hospitality un-matched--a little piece of heaven close to home. Quiet and peaceful, and within walking distance to great restaurants, shoppes, and historical landmarks.


clean, comfortable, and convenient

4,8 sur février 07, 2011

The guesthouse is fabulously clean, very well appointed, and conveniently located in the heart of German Village - a very cool historic neighborhood. Our every need was anticipated. It is at the top of my list!


Great weekend getaway

4,2 sur janvier 10, 2011

Loved our weekend experience at your charming in. very clean, well decorated, and we felt right at home. We wish there was more counter space in the bathroom, but otherwise loved our stay.


Great place to stay

4,8 sur novembre 08, 2010

Very well decorated interior, very clean and inviting. I found myself content to hang out in the living room in spite of the fireplace being temporarily out of commission. John met us at the door and we didn't see him again - there was no need. Breakfast was very tasty with fresh berries, the best pumpkin donuts I have had, great coffee, homed bread, melons and hard-boiled eggs. We recommend this place and hope to come back. For those who love chocolate and/or coffe, a visit to Pistacia Vera is a must


If they were booked...

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2010

...I'd rearrange MY schedule in order to stay there. It's the most perfect B&B. Ever. If I lived in the general area I'd book a stay on a regular basis; who needs a reason?


Supurb B&B

5 sur septembre 25, 2010

Everything was perfect!! Very relaxing. Be assured you will enjoy your stay.


Stay was very pleasant!

4,0 sur août 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the house this summer and enjoyed it very much. It was walking distance to many shops and restaurants and the room was delightful!


Perfect Stop in the Columbus Area

4,8 sur juillet 25, 2010

The German Village Guesthouse and Whittier Suites was the perfect stop during a trip through Ohio. The suite was spacious and very clean. The attention to detail, from iced tea with cookies set out for arrival, the wide assortment of continental breakfast options, Wi-Fi, helped to make the stay convenient. The German Village area of Columbus also provided quaint restaurants and stores.


Home away from home

4,8 sur juillet 22, 2010

Lovely! Chic but comfortable. Had the guesthouse to ourselves the first day, which was a nice surprise. No detail has been overlooked - beautiful furnishings, comfortable bed, lovely garden in the back, yummy cookies, wonderful breakfasts, fridge stocked with water and juices, fresh flowers,a nice collection of books and DVDs. The innkeepers are not intrusive, which is appreciated when one just needs a little quiet and privacy. Perfect location for visiting German Village and exploring Columbus. A gem!


Quick Getaway

4,4 sur juillet 21, 2010

Booked from the Internet & was very pleased. Charming, complete privacy, great location, easy to find. Breakfast was great!


amazing get-away!

5 sur juillet 20, 2010

We had a great time at the German Village! We could walk/bike to some special resturaunts. We went to the Guest House and that was really cool there! It was a wonderful time in Columbus, Oh.


Great Place

5 sur juillet 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the German Village Guesthouse in June, 2010 and were very pleased with our accomodations. This was our first visit to a B & B, and were surprised to find out that we had the entire house to ourselves for the first two days. The owners who run the Guesthouse live next door. We enjoyed the privacy and the service was superb. Breakfast was excellent, with fresh fruit, tasty bread loaves, good coffee and more! We ate breakfast outdoors on the back patio. The backyard is landscaped beautifully and is very serene. Staying at the Guesthouse allowed us to explore all of German Village. We found several interesting shops and restaurants. We had a wonderful time and would happily recommend the German Village Guesthouse to anyone who is planning a visit to Columbus, Ohio.


Clean and Modern B&B

3,6 sur juillet 19, 2010

We enjoyed our one year anniversary here. The room was nice and clean. They had great food in the refrigerator for us to enjoy and an enjoyable breakfast in the morning. The only slight downside was privacy. We were in the first floor room, so we could often hear other guests in the kitchen. This is to be expected though in a bed and breakfast. Overall, it was a great stay.


Contemporary comfort and style

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2010

Comfortable bed, quiet neighborhood overlooking a wonderful garden within walking distance of many good restaurants and pubs. Home away from home atmosphere with a fully stocked pantry that invited you to have a late night snack or sit outside by the fire and make smores. Way above average continental breakfast.


Delighted

5 sur juin 24, 2010

Very comfortable accommodations. Generous breakfast. We liked being able to do our own! Great location in an interesting city. Felt very pampered.


Wonderful!

4,0 sur juin 07, 2010

What a find! I was visiting friends in German Village and decided to stay close by at the GV Guesthouse. I loved coming back here at the end of the day and unwinding in the perfection of this place. The gardens, my room, the great chocolate chip cookies--loved it all! I will definitely be back.


Great, Relaxing Stay!

4,0 sur juin 03, 2010

Guesthouse was very clean. We enjoyed the patio. Nice, quiet location. We felt right at home.


GV Guest House

4,4 sur mai 27, 2010

We enjoyed the room overlooking the beautiful garden. The room itself was very clean and welcoming. The fresh flowers were a nice touch. It was our first time at a B & B and we were impressed with the room, and the breakfast. We felt there could have been another easy chair in the room. One of us had to sit on the bed to see the TV.


Fantastic, enjoyable and relaxing

5 sur mai 16, 2010

The chocolate chip cookies and ice tea were a welcome treat as we arrived. The bathroom was terrific, loved the pebble floor and slate at the Whittier Suites. Felt relaxed, bed was very comfortable(pillows were too).The fresh cut fruit and stock of food went beyond our expectations and we very much enjoyed location and comfort. Fresh cut flowers made us feel welcome!


Rated Best Hotel for a Reason

4,6 sur mai 08, 2010

This is such a charming, trendy and perfect B&B in a great neighborhood. If you want to enjoy a nice, romantic weekend, this is the place to be. Plenty within walking distance for a nice walk and incredible food, or if you want to party, you can easily make your way to the great bars Columbus has to offer. You're missing out if you don't stay here - try the banana bread!


Best B&B Yet

4,2 sur janvier 25, 2010

I've never stayed anywhere so quiet and pretty. This home accomdates any need a guest could have and is immaculate and beautiful.


Fantastic Urban Getaway

4,4 sur janvier 11, 2010

Classy rooms, chocolate chip cookies, wonderful outdoor fireplace, and fantastic setting makes this one of our favorite B&B's so far.


Refreshing B & B

4,8 sur novembre 22, 2009

What an amazing B&B. There were 3 couples and we had the German Village Guesthouse to ourselves. Of course we shared with Cookie, the property dog. This place exceeded our expectations. What a clean, inviting, homey atmosphere. We truly enjoyed our stay! The owners & other support staff were very friendly and accomodating. The Guesthouse felt like home. We will definitely come back so we can take advantage of the fireplace in the backyard. Keep up the good work with an amazing B&B.


German Village Guesthouse

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2009

A 19th century gem of a house, a beautiful garden, most gracious hosts and a friendly dog named Cookie are waiting in Columbus, Ohio's German Village. Be prepared for a magnificent continental breakfast and a neighborhood worth investigation.


Gorgeous Modern Luxury at its best

4,2 sur septembre 18, 2009

We came to Columbus to visit friends and they recommended that we stayed here for 3 nights. On entering, you are welcomed into the most lovely and intimate guest house, it feels like a home from home. The decor and furniture is gorgeous and modern and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in whilst away. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and having tea was a real touch! We had a room facing the road but had no problems with noise whatsoever. Gardens were also beautiful and we were greeted by Cookie, the lovely friendly black lab. It was a very relaxing and comfortable stay and we would thoroughly recommend.


Whittier Suite #2 - Relaxing getaway

4,8 sur août 15, 2009

We stayed at the Whittier Suite #2 on a Friday evening in August. My husband surprised me with this stay. We walked into the suite and I was amazed on the cleanliness and modern feel. I am a chef and loved all the details in the kitchen. The breakfast foods that were supplied were fantastic. We look forward to a return visit and hope to bring friends next time. P.S. the restaurant selection within walking distance was ideal!


Loved it, but...

3,8 sur août 06, 2009

Great house, all the amenities, modern, but hated the shower- no door and the water went everywhere, a bit pricey, too!


Romantic German Village getaway

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2009

GVGH has a charming exterior, right at home in brick-paved GV. Completely modern interior suitable for Architectural Digest, every furnishing and material chosen for beauty and comfort. Lots of 'oohs' and 'ahhs' at every turn! The garden is a must see!


Great B&B Experience

4,0 sur mai 26, 2009

My wife and I spent the night recently for our anniversary. The rooms are lovely and the home itself is lovely with modern furnishings and a beautiful garden out in back. The food was simple, but very fresh. The whole place was very clean and very intimate. We'd recommend it to anyone staying in Columbus.


Beautiful!

5 sur mai 19, 2009

Just a beautiful B & B! So comfortable and spotlessly clean. The attention to detail was superb. If your in Columbus and are looking for a B & B...this is the place to stay.


Beautiful and Relaxing

5 sur mai 17, 2009

I enthusiastically recommend the German Village Guesthouse. My stay was during the Village Valuables sale, a community-wide yard sale that I like to come to every May. The innkeepers made this home welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. I had a large room with a little den area and a beautiful view of the backyard garden.


Fall foliage fix

4,0 sur octobre 25, 2008

Good e-mail communications made reservations easy to negotiate. Property was easy to find, there was ample parking, easy access, and good security. This traditional home with eclectic furnishingd was immaculate. Beautiful garden was delightful spot for enjoying a glass of wine. We will definitely go again.


Modern with a Twist

5 sur octobre 14, 2008

My husband and I were on a motorcycle trip through Ohio. The German Village in Columbus was on our list of must see's and we had done some research on B&B's in the area before we left but had made no reservations. Late one afternoon we called the German Village Guesthouse to see if they had any rooms available. Luckily they did and by the time we arrived there was fresh brewed tea and cookies waiting for us on the counter. The outside of the house was beautiful and very much what you would expect in a historical area, but the inside was very modern and chic. Everything was very clean and we were most impressed with the personal touches such as fresh flowers, water in the bedrooms, robes, candy dishes and supplies for making smores in the romantic outside fireplace! Simply gorgeous! Very convenient to all shops and restaraunts in German Village. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see. I would defintely stay here again.


Outstanding Historical Guesthouse

5 sur mai 15, 2008

As an Innkeeper myself I am very particular about the B & B's I stay at. The pics of the German Village Guesthouse looked wonderful and it was located in the middle of historical German Village so I decided to stay there. And I am glad I did as it is a beautiful and nicely appointed Inn. It reminded me of a European boutique lodging facility. The continous offering of refreshments was much appreciated. The garden area is very peaceful. And even though my room faced the street on the first floor it was very quiet as it is primarily a residential street. And importantly it was located in the center of German Village and allowed me to walk to the shops and view the magnificent homes in this National Landmark. If you haven't visited German Village then do so, and stay at this very comfortable guesthouse. I have paid more for less so it is clearly a good value. And the Ohio State students who assist in running the guesthouse are a bright group of welcoming helpers.


Jaw-dropping

4,8 sur avril 20, 2008

My husband and I wanted to visit some friends in Columbus, after having moved away from the city (German Village, specifically) a few years prior. We wanted to stay in GV because the area is so quiet, historical, and attractive. When I stumbled upon the GVGH, I took one look at the photographs and was sold on booking a room with them. Upon arrival, our jaws instantly dropped. The entire house was clean (yes, sparkling!), so organized, and every time we turned around we noticed different novelty things about the decorations in the house. I would recommend the Guesthouse to anyone.


German Village Guesthouse

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $175 - $275
  • Avis (111) 4,6
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6144379712
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8665872738

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut