J Palen House Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
110 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Peaceful stay

4,6 sur novembre 09, 2014

We just got back from a night at the Inn. We stayed in the retreat in the loft. The room was beautiful and immaculate. We did not get up for breakfast and did not meet the Innkeepers. We were on out own and really didn't require any extra attention. We were able to get into our room early and we were greeted by a wonderfully pleasant woman showed us to our room down the street to the separate home called the Loft. it was a simple stay and we were in walking distance to wonderful restaurants,bars and markets. We look forward to returning very soon.


Two night stay - City B&B

5 sur juin 10, 2014

Everything was as stated. Very comfortable - accommodating, friendly and helpful hosts. Very nice rooms, excellent food. Appreciated the complimentary soft drinks and snacks.


Wonderful Weekend!

5 sur mai 22, 2014

Our son and daughter in law treated us to a weekend in Ohio City for our wedding anniversary including dinner, a play, and tickets to the Indians game. The J Palen house was our “home” for the weekend. And it really felt like home. The rooms were clean, well decorated, and comfortable. The West Side Market, shops, and many good restaurants are within walking distance. Diane (the owner) was like family. She treated the guests to an upscale breakfast each morning. And she always made time to sit and visit. It felt like we were saying goodbye to a friend the day we checked out. We are already talking about a return visit and will definitely be staying at the J Palen house! –Brad and Beckey


Cleveland Weekend

4,6 sur septembre 28, 2013

Great place to stay. Clean with attention to detail. Vibrant neighbourhood with great restaurants. Everything is within walking distance. Will definitely come back. Love the market.


Great Experience in Ohio City!

5 sur juillet 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the J Palen House. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent and our hosts were gracious and welcoming. We loved that we could walk a short 3 blocks and get to interesting shops and great restaurants as well as easy access to transportation to downtown Cleveland and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Ohio City is a fantastic vacation spot! You can't go wrong vacationing in Cleveland and staying at the J Palen House.


Exceptional Experience!

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful experience staying at the J Palen House and we are already looking forward to a return visit! I highly recommend this exceptional B&B. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable, with both the charm of its 19th Century origins as well as all the amenities one hopes to find in modern accommodations. A picture is worth 1000 words and the expectations set by the website are perfectly realized when you arrive. The location is perfect - within a couple blocks of all the attractions of the area, including the West Side Market, Great Lakes Brewery and many other shops and restaurants. Finally, we had wonderful hosts. Our acquaintance began with a cheerful and welcoming greeting from Diane, followed by a quick but thorough tour of our accommodations, and lots of great information about the area - both its history and current attractions. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious, all homemade with fresh and local ingredients, in a wonderfully elegant and relaxed atmosphere, encouraging warm conversation with our mutual guests as well as Diane. It is obvious that Diane and Jeff love what they do - and they do a terrific job! Don't miss this one!! J Rochel & A Spaulding


What memories are made of

5 sur mars 31, 2013

we both thoroughly enjoy the personal welcome from Diane, the staff attention to detail & the warm atmosphere of the J. Palen House B&B (The Webster RM). we will certainly speak highly of our stay to friends & family and would recommend it to those seeking commendations with turn-of-the-century charm with updated comforts. The location offered may options for shopping & restaurants within minutes of the front door an easy drive to all of the Cleveland Metro area activities & venues..... Bill & Mark Pittsburgh PA 3/2013


A hidden gem!

5 sur février 05, 2013

We went here for our two day honeymoon but I wish we could have stayed a week! We stayed in the Miller Suite and fell in love from the moment we walked in! The entire space was gorgeous and decorated adorably. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the shower could put you in a trans. Everything was so clean too! I even have to comment about the free bath products I took with us - INCREDIBLE! I went home and googled them to buy them myself! We enjoyed breakfast our first morning and it was divine!! Thank you J. Palen house - we WILL be back!!


Amazing Weekend!

4,6 sur février 05, 2013

Clean, comfortable, relaxing! Great food, walking distance to fun market, bars and restaurants. Breakfast was outstanding,homemade, and different both days! We will be back!


Great Place to stay for a weekend in Cleveland

4,6 sur février 04, 2013

We celebrated an anniversary in Cleveland and enjoyed the great location and many restaurants and shops in Ohio City. Owners were spot on with advice on dining and drinks. Main house is lovely and we loved the upscale linens and oh so comfy bed.


This B&B is a Must Visit

5 sur janvier 29, 2013

The J Palen House was the perfect location for our overnight stay having plans to visit the Cleveland Boat Show in mid-January at the I-X Center and the West Side Market on Cleveland's west side. From our arrival until our departure, Diane was no ordinary host as she tuned in to your interests and reasons for visiting. Her suggestions on restaurants, night life and shopping were spot on and we had nothing but great experiences. All within a few blocks walking distance from the J. Palen, we enjoyed quenching our thirsts with a variety of beers from several, yes several, of their local breweries. Before we turned in for the night in the Webster Room, a plateful of melt-in-your-mouth homemade chocolate chip cookes were waiting for us in the lobby, but with some will power we left a few for the other guests. Diane and Jim served a yummy breakfast before we headed to the West Side Market which was an unbelievable shopping experience with many vendors offering fresh meats, baked goods, seafood, fruits and vegetables, cheeses and ethnic foods. Before heading back to Buffalo, we enjoyed an awesome burger and fries at Bar Cento and picked up some napoleons from Farkas Bakery and Pastries as suggested by Diane and strongly recommended by us.


Great Time in Cleveland

5 sur décembre 21, 2012

We had a great time at this bed and breakfast. We stayed in The Studio which is a few blocks away from the main house. It was spotless and very homey. The Studio has a full kitchen, but we did not use it for anything except tea because the location has so many dining options to choose from. The breakfast the next day was delicious, and Diane and Jeff made a point to talk to all of the guests. The Studio is great if you want to have your own private entrance. I would definitely recommend this place (especially if you want to check out Great Lakes Brewing Company, Bar Centro, or Market Gardens).


Webster room

5 sur décembre 07, 2012

My husband and I are world wide travelers staying mostly at Marriott hotels. Loved our stay at J Palen House. Diane was great as was our room and breakfast . Thank you !


I'm recommending it to all of my friends

4,6 sur novembre 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here when we were in Cleveland to visit the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. We loved this charming B & B and found the location to be super! I accidentally left a book in our room and when I called Diane to locate it, she was quick to mail it back to me. We will definitely be back!


The Miller Suite at J Palen House

5 sur octobre 18, 2012

I needed a place to stay while visiting Cleveland for a day trip and didn't want to stay in a boring hotel. Luckily the J Palen House had a room available. It is located in the Ohio City neighborhood of Cleveland just a short walk to the historic West Side Market and very close to downton. The Miller Suite takes up the entire top floor. It was probably more space than I needed, but it was very comfortable and charming. The breakfast was fabulous as was the conversation with the other guests. The J Palen House is an excellent choice for a stay in Cleveland.


I LOVE SCOTT!

5 sur octobre 08, 2012

I had never been to a Bed& Breakfast before, I wanted this night to be special for my husband. Scott helped me set the room up to be a romantic love nest. He made me these beautiful dipped strawberries. Champagne on ice, Grapes, Cheese, in a beautiful set up , With rose petals in the bath tub. Scott also put Happy birthday Kevin on the chalk board to the room. Scott has a great sense of holiday decor the home was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was sooo good that I had to call and ask for the recipe, so I could make this delicious cliche at home(spelling). Scott made it so much more fabulous. Sending a shot out to you Scott, Its that time again, but I am always looking for something different to do. But I would definitely recommend this to anyone, Teresa and Kevin....


Stay - it's a nice place.

5 sur juillet 31, 2012

My wife & I and another couple stayed for a long weekend and had a truly wonderful visit. The rooms were super clean and very comfortable; and the atmosphere was relaxed. The west side market is nearby and downtown is only a five minute drive away. Cleveland really is America's best-kept-secret; there are so many neat places from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame to the museums and Little Italy. Prices are very reasonable too. Go... you will enjoy.


Unpleasant experience

2,4 sur juillet 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in May 2012. The room we stayed in was as we had expected it but the service was unsatisfactory. Different bed and breakfasts handle their breakfasts differently, and here they failed to specify how they handle it. Apparantly you better get there on time or you will be made to feel stupid for not knowing how they do breakfast. In the end my boyfriend and I refused to go ro breakfast if it meant we were going to be made to feel that way. It was unfortunate. And they iffered to give us a coupon book when we arrived for dining and site seeing in the area. They never did.


Not perfect, but darn close.

4,2 sur juillet 06, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend with a night at the J Palen house on 4th of July, partly to celebrate her being accepted into graduate school for teaching and me just coming back from the Navy where i was station in Pensacola, FL for a year, and to relax for a little bit before I take my graduate exam for grad school. Upon arriving we were met by Diane, who was exceptional and very friendly, who took us to our room. We stayed in the Webster room. The room itself was amazing, in every possible way. The only gripe I had with it was the website shows the room set up with a bottle of wine, so I didn't bring one. In reality the room didn't include this feature. But the room was extremely clean, the jacuzzi and shower were both amazing, and the balcony was really fun. Breakfast was... wow! I NEED the poppy seed muffin recipe. It was incredible, as was everything else. There wasn't a single crumb left on either of our plates. However, the website says it's a three course meal, and we were only served two. Regardless, we had an excellent time and we will come again, maybe around christmastime depending on how the roads are.


Once "Our Little Secret"

5 sur juillet 03, 2012

My travel companion and I discovered this fabulous place four years ago and return 3-4 times a year. What a treat close to home, Stark County, Oh but far enough away to be relaxing. Diane and her staff make you feel right at home from the time you walk in the door. Once "Our Little Secret' ,now is becoming a destination for travelers. We have falled in love with the Ohio City and Tremont neighborhoods, so many places to "Wine and Dine" within walking distance. I promise you will not be dissappointed. On our last visit we stayed in the new Kabat House, this 2 bedroom house had lots of room but, very private. Includes a galley kitchen if you would want to cook and dine in but, why would you with Momocho's, Light Bistro, Crop, Flying fig and many more to choose from.


GREAT TIME

5 sur mai 22, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the J Palen house,,,the accommodations were wonderful--beds were comfortable; facilities were great! The breakfast was terrific and very delicious. The owner did everything possible to make sure we had an enjoyable time. I HIGHLY recommend this establishment!


Staycation!

5 sur mai 20, 2012

Four old friends(two from out of town) spent a lovely evening at the J Palen House. We went to Playhouse Square for a concert and decided to do something different and stay at this wonderful B&B. It is a charming place run by a very hospitable staff and it is close to many outstanding local attractions. I highly recommend it.


Great place to stay at a great location

5 sur mai 20, 2012

We stayed here in the early spring when the weather was great for walking around. We stayed in the webster room which has gotten a face lift recently and looks much better than the flowery stuff in the picture. The room was nice and clean with a lovely balcony and a comfortable bed. Staying here and being within walking distance of Great Lakes and another brewery and the market was just the icing on the cake and gave us plenty to do for the night.


Another outstanding stay.

5 sur mai 07, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Webster Room on 5/5/12, and the service, room, and amenities just couldn't have been any better. This is the second time I've stayed at the J Palen House, and I honestly look forward to my next visit. Everything was outstanding!!


Go to Cleveland just to stay here

5 sur avril 25, 2012

What a fabulous B&B. It is attractive, comfortable, clean, friendly, and conveniently located. The shower alone is reason to make the trip to Cleveland. Can't say enough good. Don't miss it.


Wonderful!

5 sur mars 29, 2012

We stayed in the "Retreat" and had a wonderful time visiting Ohio City on a Saturday/Sunday stay. To say that the J. Palen accommodations were clean would be an understatement. Our room had a double jacuzzi in the bathroom. It was immaculate, not just the jacuzzi, the entire bathroom and suite. Our hostess was wonderful and very helpful. We will definitely stay here again!


Fantastic get away close to home

4,8 sur mars 15, 2012

What a beautiful space! The accommodations were fantastic and incredibly comfortable. Diane was so warm and welcoming and breakfast WAS DELICIOUS!! I would absolutely return in a heartbeat!


Outstanding

4,0 sur janvier 04, 2012

Spent a wonderful New Years weekend a the J Palen Bed and Breakfast. We were overwhelmed by the attention to detail, party favors on our bed on New years eve, and delicious breakfasts. It was a perfect way to end the holidays in the charming Ohio City neighborhood of Cleveland. We will be back. Thank you!


Girls weekend

5 sur décembre 02, 2011

We could not have been happier with the room, the food & the attention to EVERY detail. Diane, the host was nice, knew what & where to recommend! Our stay was PERFECT!! We both plan to go back and take our husbands! Palen House will always be my favorite!!


Our stay at the J. Palen house was perfect!

5 sur novembre 26, 2011

Our stay at the J. Palen house was the best experience with overnight accommodations that we've ever had. The room that we stayed in (Webster Room) was beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The surrounding area is full of restaurants and things to do. Finally, the three course breakfast was fantastic! Will definitely be staying there again!


Incredible find

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2011

Perfect in every way, located in a convenient quaint area with lots to do within walking distance. house is perfection and decorated with tasteful antiques, rooms are warm and cozy, hospitality was outstanding and helpful, breakfast was perfection..couldnt have asked for a nicer B&B..cant wait to return. Dont hesitiate, this is a true find!


J. Palen House

5 sur octobre 24, 2011

The hosts of the J. Palen House are extremely gracious and hospitable. We informed them that our arrival would be later than their check in time and they were very accommodating to this alteration. The rooms are impeccably clean and spacious. The decor is very comfortable. The breakfasts are scrumptious! The hosts were quite accommodating to our dietary preferences. We plan to visit Cleveland, again, and will make our reservations at the J. Palen House.


Wonderful

5 sur octobre 23, 2011

What a great B&B. Everything was perfect. Diane and Jeff made us feel right at home. Super place to stay while in Cleveland.


Nice little hideway!

5 sur juin 27, 2011

My boyfriend didn't what the big deal was until we checked in that afternoon. We were in the Webster room. It was wonderful. Service was superb! Thanks so much!


Delightful Experience

5 sur mai 30, 2011

A weekend away from our children brought us to the J.Palen House. We were not disappointed. It felt like a little piece of heaven as we sat outside in the little garden sipping wine by candle light. My husband enjoyed a tour of Great Lakes Brewery only 1.5 blocks away. So many things close to the house that walking the neighborhood was a delight. The rooms at this B and B are delicious!


Rocking Inn

5 sur avril 24, 2011

Our trip to Cleveland was enhanced by this beautiful Inn. Not only were the rooms spacious and every detail looked after, but the Innkeeper made us feel like we were the only guests inn the House. But, the best part was the location, so close to everything you might want to see in Cleveland and you WALK to fabulous restaurants. How can you bet that! I guarantee you will enjoy your stay. Thanks to the owners for this lovely property.


Perfect Romantic Wedding Night!

5 sur mars 28, 2011

My husband and I spent our wedding night at J Palen house and it was beyond percfect. It was quiet, memorable, and most of all special. I know hotels are nice, but this place has intimacey that cannot be put into a hotel. The tub was perfect for two and everything was so comfortable. I high reccommend this place for a quiet get-away, romantic evening, or anything else where you would just want a romantic night wih you loved one.


Steelers Get-Away in Cleveland

3,8 sur janvier 30, 2011

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful stay at the J Palen House! From beginning to end, we were more than satisfied with our room (the Roost), the wonderful service (thanks to Scott!), and the proximity to our interests in Cleveland. One of the BEST bed and breakfast experiences to date!


December stay at J Palen House

4,8 sur décembre 07, 2010

Stayed in the Miller Room. Just lovely place to stay, it was our anniversary. It is located in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping, very close to the city. Certainly will be coming back in the future!


The Perfect Getaway!

5 sur novembre 09, 2010

My husband and I had the opportunity to spend our 1st wedding anniversary at the J Palen House for a weekend. It was the perfect getaway. We had amazing accomodations and the breakfast each morning was beyond expectations. I would sincerely reccommend this as a great place to escape the hustle bustle of life. We're looking forward to returning!


Visit to Cleveland and the JPalen house.

4,4 sur octobre 19, 2010

My spouse and I, along with another couple, visited Cleveland and the JPalen House for a Fall weekend. After checking out the reviews of several hotels and found them to be not up to par, I found the JPalen House. Scott, our host, was excellent. The little extras like the cupcakes, snacks and drinks was unexpected and very thoughtful. The nicest thing he did was providing plates and forks in the evening. We had told him that we had visited the West End Market and had purchased desserts for the evening. We did not even think of how we were going to eat them. What a nice surprise! The inn was very comfortable and nicely furnished. We were able to use the common areas such as the parlor and the dining room when we wanted. All in all, a great Fall weekend. Peg Modl


An Outstanding B & B

4,0 sur septembre 15, 2010

From the moment we were welcomed by the innkeeper, Scott West, til the time we had to bid adieu, our visit to J. Palen House was outstanding. This is a B & B where every expectation is met with style, ambience and courtesy. Scott helped us to carry our luggage in and out, presented us with a tour of this historic home and showed us where we could help ourselves to snacks, where we could find DVDs for our room, and the location of a nearby restaurant where we could have supper with a 10% discount. Breakfast was presented beautifully and was fresh and delicious. This is a B & B that shouldn't be missed.


Lovely service, accomodation and close to everything

4,8 sur août 03, 2010

We were only in Cleveland for a night for a birthday weekend. I lived near Cleveland for 5 years and have visited often, staying with friends. The J. Palen House is a gem with gorgeously appointed rooms, an attentive (but not intrusive) host, and delicious breakfast (plus sweets and drinks at night). Options for DVD's, glasses and corkscrews, and freshly laundered robes were all unexpected plusses that made the stay that much more special. No more expensive than a hotel room plus breakfast, but well worth it, easy parking, and right around the corner from the Great Lakes Brewery and many fine establishments. Stay here if you have a chance. We will again.


Wonderful getaway, great walkable area

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2010

We've stayed in the Landis Suite twice and actually built the second trip around availability at J Palen. It's an amazingly comfortable place - the rooms aren't on top of one another, so there's great privacy. The bed is incredibly comfortable, and the suite is a wonderful place to come back to for a movie or a board game after wandering and eating in the quiet, treed, safe neighborhood. Great restaurants nearby. Scott's very personable, and the rooms are incredibly clean - no dust anywhere on the fun, old, high-quality decor. The bathroom is as big as my bedroom at home! Also loved the unique touches like the motion-sensor clock, flameless candles and vintage teddy bears.


Hall of Fame

5 sur juillet 21, 2010

Visiting Cleveland for R&R Hall of Fame and found candidate for B& B Hallof Fame.


J Palen House Rocks!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2010

Just 1 mile from Quicken Loans, Jacobs Field, and Tower City Mall, J. Palen House is a quaint 1800s home with the modern amenities you would want. We needed a "home" base for 2 days in Cleveland, and J Palen House was a great find. It quickly felt like home. Our room was immaculate with a spacious jacuzzi tub, big flat screen TV, and shaded balcony. Breakfast was restaurant-quality. It is situated in a quiet neighborhood that we could walk in the evenings and take in some charming houses/gardens. Nearby were several streets laden with outdoor cafes and bakeries. The guests ahead of us were from California and after us were from Toronto, Canada, so the word is out.


Wonderful, perfect weekend

4,0 sur mai 20, 2010

Spent a girl's weekend at J. Palen House - everything about it was perfect - the rooms, the home, breakfast, the location, the innkeeper - Scott. The beds were completely comfortable, snacks were provided - they even ordered us perfect sunny weather. It could not have been nicer.


excellent trip

4,8 sur avril 22, 2010

We were here mid-week and it was a beautiful, quiet fun place to stay. The inn-keeper was a terrific to talk to and very informative about the area. And the food was fantastic!


Way bettter than cookie cutter hotel chains

4,0 sur avril 20, 2010

We only stayed one night, but it was great. We were traveling with our 18-month-old son and it was perfect. Having access to the little kitchen in The Loft room was a lifesaver when he decided not to eat dinner. The "room" (it was more like a small apartment) was beautiful. It offered everything we could have possibly needed even for a much longer stay. The neighborhood is nice and the location is within walking distance of some great restaurants and the West Side Market. Scott is very friendly and handles breakfast very well. I would recommend J Palen House to anyone staying in Cleveland.


Great Place

5 sur mars 22, 2010

We just spent our second anniversary at the J Palen House. What a great Bed and Breakfast with a great owner. The location was perfect and was within walking distance to great restaurants and night life. We had a blast and will definitely be back to visit.


great stay in the heart of Cleveland

4,4 sur février 22, 2010

The place was a victorian manse right in downtown cleveland close to many unique attractions and a great deal. The room we had was the miller room( attic of the house) which was a spacious 2 room suite. Scott does a great job and the inn was very clean. We will stay there again.


Everything you could want a B&B to be!

5 sur décembre 07, 2009

Before I had ever stayed at a B&B, the picture I had in my mind was exactly what we received at J Palen House! The house was beautiful and had lovely holiday decorations. Scott was lovely and was around and available exactly when we wanted him to be, without being the least bit intrusive. The food was delicious, and the amenities were perfect. My favorite B&B, and I've stayed in many!


Could not be more pampered

5 sur novembre 30, 2009

We booked into the J Palen house for the weekend following Thanksgiving. We were warmly welcomed by Scott West, the resident innkeeper, who showed us to our room. We stayed in the Landis suite - 3 rooms on the second floor of this perfectly restored Victorian on a quiet corner in West Cleveland. Our rooms seemed to be from a decorator's showcase. The sitting room was furnished with a small desk, two comfortable chairs, table and lamp, ottoman and a large hutch containing a television and DVD player. The bedroom had a queen size bed, dressing table, side table and a large trunk at the foot of the bed containing extra blankets and pillows. The bed provided wonderful comfort with the additional memory foam topper atop a delightfully firm mattress. My husband's chronic hip pain left while we were there. The bathroom was enormous and comfortably furnished with a huge walk in shower and fluffy towels. LIghting was more than adequate. Scott serves 3 course breakfasts at your choice of 8:30 or 9:30. We had a variety of muffins, baked fruit, quiche one day and sausage and blueberry french toast the next. Coffee is available at 7 am and he provides a dessert in the evening. There is a wine cooler with water and a variety of sodas available in the hallway. Our only complaint was that the rooms were a bit chilly but Scott provided an electric heater that made the bedroom toasty. We loved our stay and plan to return again.


Home in the city

4,4 sur novembre 17, 2009

Staying 3 nights with toddler and teenager along side mom from Florida and sister's family from Texas we found the best accomodations in the J. Palen House. The lovely ground floor living and dining rooms were great for our gatherings and playing board games (some provided at the house), the private rooms were very comfy, well appointed and spacous, and breakfast was better than mom ever made (Thanks Scott)!


The best B & B experience yet

5 sur octobre 25, 2009

Everything was perfect. Scott was extremely accommodating, even going out and picking up a special wine we requested to be in room upon our arrival.


All around fantastic!

5 sur octobre 19, 2009

The J. Palen House was a great experience! Our stay was extremely enjoyable...very clean room, delicious breakfast, restaurants and attractions close by...couldn't have asked for anything more!


Well worth it

4,2 sur octobre 15, 2009

A wonderfully relaxing experience with a very kind host.


well worth it

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2009

Wonderful B&B. Scott is a great host. Accomodations were all we expected. Within walking distance of great places to dine. Minutes drive to downtown entertainment. Much better alternative than a hotel.


Like a storybook...

5 sur octobre 06, 2009

My wife and I visitted for a night out (from the kids) and had an amazing time. Relaxing, clean, comfortable, quiet, charming...just a few things that come to mind. I will tell all my friends to stay here, when in need of a little R&R or even a little TLC. Scott is such a gentleman and the nearby restaurants (with a 10% discount) are a great bonus.


Loved everything!

5 sur septembre 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our Anniversary and found everything to be absolute perfection. The inn- clean and romantic. The innkeeper Scott- sweet, helpful, and even handsome. The neighborhood- charming and accessible. We WILL be back.


Gave as gift - they loved it!!

5 sur septembre 14, 2009

I reserved the Webster room for my parents' 30th anniversary. After looking at several B&B websites I kept getting drawn back to J Palen House. My parents absolutely loved the facility, the staff, and the location- they said they would highly recommend it to anyone.


Great Memories

4,6 sur septembre 14, 2009

Our stay at the J.Palen House was wonderful! Scott was kind, helpful and available. The room was spotless, large and very homey! Location is convenient to restaraunts, and other things to do! We will definately stay again and recommend the J. Palen House to our friends!


A very beautiful room and stay!

5 sur septembre 08, 2009

The J Palen House in Cleveland was by far the Best bed and breakfast we have stayed in, and I thought the others were wonderful. The rooms were very beautiful and comfortable.


Wonderful Find!

5 sur août 17, 2009

We stayed at J Palen House three nights in August, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Innkeeper Scott is very hospitable, and had many suggestions for the area. His restaurant tips were right on. Rooms are extremely comfortable, breakfast was delicious, and the location is very convenient.


Home Run!

5 sur août 10, 2009

You just can't beat the J Palen House if you're looking for friendly, comfortable and clean urban accomodations with convenient access to downtown Cleveland and surrounding neighborhoods. Scott is the best and will make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. He's there when you need him and stays out of your way when you don't. My wife and I have stayed there twice and will absolutely return again.


Hated to Leave!!!

4,8 sur août 09, 2009

My stay at the J. Palen House was nothing less than amazing! My husband brought me here for our anniversary and we stayed in the Webster room complete with a jacuzzi, walk out balcony and the most comfortable king sized bed that you basically just melt into. The breakfasts made by Scott were delicious...the perfect start to each morning. The location made it easy to walk to several places we wanted to visit and felt extremely safe even so close to downtown. I can't even describe how talented Scott is as an innkeeper. He was helpful, made us feel so special, and made himself available. We left feeling like we made a new friend. Please stay at the J. Palen house if you are in Cleveland! You will not regret it!


Easy Living

5 sur août 06, 2009

We had a great time during our stay, the Inn Keeper, Scott was most hospitable. What a fabulous way to spend a couple of summer days, dining at the many restaurants in the area and knowing you don't have to drive home.


Everything a B & B should be

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2009

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the J Palen House. We were in town for a family wedding and wanted a cozier experience vs. the room block at the Marriott. Our expectations were far exceeded. What a gem of a B&B in a historic section of Cleveland. The inn is well-kept, clean and with just the right touch of antiques and an old world feel. Convenient to much of the city, we loved our room, our private balcony and the wonderful ammenities (to include a fabulous breakfast). We are quite discriminating when it comes to B&Bs and travel accomodations but the J Palen House rates right up there for us. Our host, Scott, was exceptional. If you like the typical B&B experience you will not be disappointed.


Lighthouse seekers

4,6 sur juillet 27, 2009

We loved "The Loft." It was like having our own place away from home. Very comfy, a place for everything, and a beautiful courtyard.


Our wonderful stay at the J Palen House

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

We have stayed at many 4 or 5 star bed and breakfast during our travels and consider the J Palen House to be of that level of quality. The accomodations are lovely, comfortable and very clean. The 3 course breakfast was fabulous. We stayed in the Loft and just hated to leave. We cannot wait until we can rteturn for our next visit. Scot, the Innkeeper is just faboulus. He is so helpful, caring and tries to do all he can to make your stay a wonderful one. My hat is off to Scot and to this absolutely fabulous Inn. The Miller family, Freehold, New Jersey


Ohio City Oasis

4,0 sur juillet 14, 2009

This B&B offers all the charm you'd expect from an old B&B but all the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. We stayed in the Landis Suite and LOVED it - a separate sitting area with very comfortable chairs, a TV & DVD player, and a desk w/ wifi access; an enormous private bathroom with a large, open marble shower and 4 shower heads (!), and plush 'his and hers' robes; and a big comfortable bed and a vanity in the bedroom. Scott (the caretaker) was pleasant and helpful, but never intrusive. Breakfast, which included fresh-squeezed juice, was scrumptious and tailored to our personal diets. Every day, we were given a 10% coupon for one of the great local restaurants. Kitty-corner from the B&B is Light Bistro - yum. Around the corner is The Flying Fig - double yum. And it's also right around the corner from The Great Lake Brewing Company, Beer MRKT, and Bar Cento - all great. And it's two streets away from the indoor farmer's market that is open every other day - got great picnic fixings there one day, which we supplemented with crackers and water from Dave's Supermarket that is just across the street from the B&B. And that's just what we did in Ohio City! Ohio City is also very close to downtown - so it's easy to get to places like the FREE (and amazing) art museum, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Little Italy, . . . you name it. And best of all? The B&B price was so reasonable. Whenever we're back in the Cleveland area, we WILL stay at this place again.


sweet neighborhood, sweet place to stay

5 sur juillet 08, 2009

Should business or family bring you to Cleveland, you might consider the oasis Ohio City instead of the Heights areas. Safe to walk, active on weekends, suave food and wine, and the J Palen House has four good sleeping options including an apartment with a kitchen. Innkeeper Scott is sensitive to the needs of his guests, and will work to prepare a nest just as you desire. My date and I shared a suite there in June 2009 and were delighted!


the loft at J Palen House

4,2 sur juillet 08, 2009

J Palen House is special in several ways: attention to detail, comfort, unique decor, creative delicious breakfasts, eclectic neighborhood, and a truly outstanding innkeeper - Scott West. I've stayed in the loft twice and will definitely return!


A wonderful place to stay

4,8 sur juin 10, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. It is such a great location. The J Palen house is beautiful. Scott pays so much attention to detail. The house is spotless. Our room was so comfortable. The bed was wonderful. The sheets were so soft. The bathroom is beautiful. We also had a small balcony that was cute. Our breakfast was so good. We will definately be back, hopefully soon!


A REAL GEM!

5 sur mai 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Scott at J Palen House. The decor is beautiful, the rooms are very decadent and the breakfast is outstanding. Scott is a warm, friendly and gracious host. This was a work trip but felt more like a vacation. Thank you. Hope to be back again!


a great experience

4,2 sur mai 12, 2009

Property is within safe and comfortable walking distance of all our favorite Ohio City destinations. Accommodations are warm and cozy. Innkeeper, Scott West, is cheerful, welcoming, and professional. A great experience and we will return!


Perfect

4,0 sur mai 11, 2009

We come down once a year for Tigers/Indians games and will never stay anywhere else. This house is beautiful, the area is eclectic and wonderfully clean, and the innkeeper Scott is a delightful host, and wonderful cook. We couldn't be happier.


Unhappy customer

4,0 sur avril 23, 2009

After making reservations for an overnight stay with my girlfriend on 3/7/09, I was informed that if I cancelled within 7 days of the reservation, I would loose my "deposit". This was reasonable and acceptable. Three days before the reservation my girlfriend got sick and I needed to cancel my reservation, expecting to forfeit an appropriate deposit. To my surprise, the "deposit" that I was loosing was $149 for the room plus both state and county taxes. The entire amount of $167.25! Attempts to negotiate this loss with the owners failed and I am out $167.25. Needless to say I am not happy and wanted to warn other customers about J Palen's definition of a "deposit".

Réponse du propriétaire
This guest cancelled his reservation the FIRST time 3 days prior to his arrival date (within cancellation penalty). We allowed him to rebook an alternate date at that time. He then cancelled for the SECOND time 3 days prior to arrival date. The THIRD time we told him that we would allow him to use his original night with the purchase of a second night. Each time he cancelled he received verbal and written confirmation, including a statement of our published cancellation policy. We are sorry he has chosen not to experience the J. Palen House, but we believe we have made a positive effort to help him with his situation.


Can't wait to return!

5 sur avril 14, 2009

Our stay was from April 5-8 2009 in the Loft suite. It's located in the back of another house about a block away from the main house, but don't let that fact sway your decision to choose this particular room. It's like an efficiency apartment, complete with fully equipped kitchen with new and clean appliances, cute dishware, assorted teas, snacks and drinks. When Scott the Innkeeper walked us to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find it lit by candlelight and music was softly playing from the in suite stereo system. We couldn't have asked for more. It was the perfect place for a romantic 3 night stay. My husband uses a cane, and was able to navigate the stairs to the bedroom thanks to hand rails on both sides. And the large shower stall was a perfect small step up for him. Breakfasts were wonderful! We have stayed in many B&B's and this is now at the top of our list as one of our favorites. The location of the Palen house is in "Ohio City"- walking distance to the West Side Market, Great Lakes Brewery, and many trendy restaurants. We will return!!!


We loved our stay.

4,6 sur mars 08, 2009

We stayed in the Miller Suite, which was very cozy, quiet, and relaxing. The bed was extremely comfortable and the place was very clean. Scott the Innkeeper did a wonderful job at making us feel welcomed.


Scammed and saddened

4,0 sur mars 04, 2009

I am saddened and anguished to point of seeking legal remedies after my recent stay at JPalen house. The visit and facilities were lovely, the inn keeper Scott one the the best. When we returned home after a short weekend stay we received notice that we were being charged $150 for "extra cleaning". The owner informed us that a smell of cigar smoke was detected and required extreme cleaning of the entire unit to include curtains, furniture, and linens. Neither my boyfriend or I smoke. No candles were burned, no matches lit. We perceive this as a horrible scam by the inn owners and will have to pursue our claim in court. A terrible end to what was a good visit.

Réponse du propriétaire
The guests smoked CIGARS in the suite, an odor that is undeniable. For the comfort and health of our guests we do not permit smoking in the Inn. he suite required professional cleaning and deodorizing to remove the CIGAR smoke so future guests would not be affected.


I Could Have Danced All Night!

5 sur février 27, 2009

Well - that's why we went to Cleveland in the dead of January. To see Dancing With the Stars. I thought that would be my most fond memory, but I was wrong. My husband surprised me with a stay at the J Palen House and we occupied the entire third floor suite. It was absolutely wonderful. Scott worked with my husband to set up a wonderful birthday getaway for me. Scott arranged for a massage for me within a short walk from the B&B. While we were out for the evening, Scott set up candles, roses and wine that my husband brought along and had our music playing softly in our suite upon our return. He went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our two nights there. It was tastefully decorated and so clean and Scott prepared such wonderful breakfasts! If you want comfort and quiet and a refreshing change, do yourself a favor and stay here.


JPalenHouse

4,0 sur février 18, 2009

We were very pleased with our overnight stay at JPalen House. Stayed in the Landis Suite. Very roomy with the sitting room and large bathroom. We liked all the nice touches that were added to make our stay memorable (the sugar dipped fresh strawberries, chocolate and bottle of champagne just to mention a few). Very clean and great decor.


We will be back!

4,6 sur février 16, 2009

Very well decorated and furnished --- Incredibly clean --- Delicious breakfast --- Very close to several great restaurants and within a short cab ride to all downtown activities! Scott goes out of his way to make sure you have everything that you need during your stay (dinner reservations, champagne, etc.). Make sure you try his cupcakes! Thanks again for everything Scott!


Our perfect Get-A-Way

5 sur février 01, 2009

Perfectly wonderful accommodations! Gorgeous, sumptuous, and with such an attention to detail that you are left feeling it was all done for you! Scott, the innkeeper was above and beyond helping us find our way around Cleveland. Walking distance to many fine dining experiences made our evenings heavenly.


Delight in the City, Ohio City

5 sur janvier 29, 2009

What a delightful time we had! Scott, the Innkeeper, was a fantastic host. This is a must see and stay when you want to get out and just relax for a day or two!


Perfect Cleveland Getaway!

4,4 sur janvier 28, 2009

We loved our overnight stay at the J. Palen House as it was within walking distance to Great Lakes Brewery, the rooms were clean, and the house was quiet. The warm, homey atmosphere was lovely and breakfast was outstanding! Our room was incredible and as Scott said, the bed was like being wrapped up in a big hug! I hope to return soon.


A great time

4,6 sur janvier 19, 2009

A marvelous and joyful experience. The breakfasts were great and the entire Ohio City atmosphere was fantastic. The service at J Palen House was top notch. I will make this a regular part of my vacation plans each year.


Wonderful

5 sur janvier 10, 2009

Couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting or perfect stay. Breakfast was superb and Scott the best. Can't wait to return. Thanks, Mike and Kelly Joy


An Evening Well Spent

4,4 sur janvier 05, 2009

A fantastic B&B. Lovely House. Great Breakfast. Close to many fine places to eat.


Sweet Getaway

4,8 sur décembre 15, 2008

A diamond in the ruff. Beautiful old home with an extremely kind and helpful innkeeper. Close to downtown, quiet and well appointed. We would certainly stay again.


J Palen House in Ohio City Cleveland Ohio

4,0 sur décembre 06, 2008

Scott was a gracious caring In Keeper and very capable cook ! He was attentive to our needs during a weeks stay in september of 2008 We would recommend J Palen House and would certainly stay there again.


Great Place To Stay

4,8 sur novembre 12, 2008

Try the Loft as it is unique and has the comforts of your own little home in the city. Scott is an awsome host and has an excellent breakfast. Also the Flying Fig is within walking distance with great food and wines!


Comfort in Cleveland

5 sur octobre 24, 2008

Excellent place to stay - very warm, helpful service and amazing breakfast. The bed is super comfortable and the place is fully equipped.


Better Than Advertised!

5 sur octobre 22, 2008

In planning "the big weekend" for the Summer of 2008, J. Palen House found its way into our plans as the most suitable lodging option. Staying for two nights, our accommodations were superb, and experience was perfect. Each morning's breakfast consisted of three courses, and was completely satisfying! The Innkeeper (Scott) was accessible, but we always had a feeling of complete privacy. All of my questions were answered beforehand, and we felt welcome at all times. I will be back, and I highly recommend J. Palen House if ever in Cleveland.


Scott was great!

5 sur octobre 13, 2008

I have never been more impressed with a B&B. Everything was so comfortable, very nicely decorated, plenty of room and the 3 course breakfast was outstanding. Scott is so pleasant, friendly and helpful, it was like staying with an old friend, rather than a new one! I will definitely go back and the only difficulty I would have is deciding which room to stay in. Sandy - MI


Like staying at a friend's house

5 sur septembre 24, 2008

I'm not normally a fan of B&Bs, but this one was great. It had modern amenities, like flat screen TVs and state-of-the-art showers, but also that cozy furniture and Victorian-styled decor that made it feel homey. Best of all? A great location! (walking distance from West Side Market, Great Lakes Brewing Company and less than 5 minute from downtown). Jamie B., Chicago, IL


One night at J Palen House

5 sur septembre 03, 2008

We stayed one night at J Palen House and it was fabulous! The room was breath-taking and wonderfully peaceful making for the perfect relaxing night away from home. The innkeeper was extremely friendly and made us feel at home instantly. Breakfast was delicious and beautifuly presented. Overall, an amazing experience and we will definitely be back!


July Vacation

5 sur août 12, 2008

My family and I were vacationing and decided on a B&B as we were visiting family in Cleveland. We were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and wonderfully decorated rooms. The food was outstanding and location was great to access Cleveland and surroundings.


Awesome Experience

5 sur août 11, 2008

This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. Everything was outstanding and I couldn't have asked for more. Scott is an excellent host. The home was decorated beautifully. My standards have been set for future Bed & Breakfast stays and will always be compared to my experience at J. Palen House.


Can't Say Enough...

5 sur juillet 28, 2008

About our stay. Scott was a wonderful innkeeper and we had a really good time. Food was delicious, house was spotless and comfortable and lacked excessive floral patterns. We were hoping for a more private stay than can be expected in some inns, and were very pleased. Scott was gracious and helpful without being invasive, and he goes the extra mile to make sure you have a great time. We stayed in the Landis Suite, which was spacious and modern, perfect for our needs. Location can't be beat. We can't possibly recommend it enough!


Lovely getaway

5 sur avril 29, 2008

The house is gorgeous - filled with beautiful antiques yet with all the modern amenities. The location couldn't be better for seeing the sites of the city. Scott is a gracious host who makes you feel right at home.


BEAUTIFUL

4,6 sur avril 17, 2008

As one who has avoided B&B stays because of privacy, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted with this, my first experience. We had all the privacy we could wish for, plus a courteous and helpful innkeeper and great food. But the real draw is the comfort and beauty of the place! I would stay here again and again, and only wish my own home could aspire to such gracious elegance.


A Wonderful Experience

5 sur avril 17, 2008

The house was luxurious, elegant and comfy. Our host was friendly, accomodating and cheerful, even after having to wait up half the night for us to arrive (We were sitting in stalled traffic on the Ohio turnpike for 2 hours). The breakfasts were sumptuous, and when he found out there was something we didn't like, he came up with something else. I would highly recommend this B&B, and plan to go back as soon as possible!


an amazing place!

5 sur février 18, 2008

The location was perfect, lots of restaurants within walking distance. The house was decorated really wonderfully, and the innkeeper was pleasant and a good cook! There is even "someone" to keep you company while you avail yourself of the complimentary high speed internet connection.


A treasure in a perfect Location!

5 sur février 06, 2008

This is the perfect place to enjoy a special weekend. The house is beautifully decorated, spotless and the Innkeeper makes you feel welcome. I wish I could have taken the beds home with us, they were so comfortable and cozy. There are fabulous restaurants in walking distance and we were 3 minutes from the theater district and the sports arena. I can't wait to stay again!


beautiful

5 sur octobre 01, 2007

what a nice place to stay in such a fun city. there is a quaint and very good resturant across the street...the street itself is filled with historic houses. great romantic getaway for us! we will be back to this clean and beautiful house!


WHAT A TREAT!!

5 sur septembre 24, 2007

Staying overnight at this B&B was simply a wonderful experience for my husband and myself. The inn was beautifully decorated, clean, and had that "at home" feel. Conveniently located in the city ~ close to just about everything! The innkeeper, Scott, was friendly, informative and helped to make our stay enjoyable! We put this B&B at the top of our list! Thank You


What a Find!

5 sur septembre 24, 2007

What a pleasant surprise to find. It was a wonderful and enjoyable experience in both the decor and service. Thank you for a pleasant stay.


Elegant and Wonderful Location!

4,0 sur septembre 23, 2007

What a beautiful home in the perfect location for dining, sightseeing, Jacob's Field and unfortunately..business downtown. It is an oasis for work or pleasure and their are so many restaurants you can walk to. We recommend it to anyone visiting Cleveland! Roger & Annie M


J Palen House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $259
  • Avis (110) 4,7
  • Chambres 7

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2166640813

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut