Harlem Grand B&B Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas3,7

Notation basée sur
37 Avis

Ecrire un avis

WONDERFULL!!!!

5 sur novembre 11, 2014

We visited Harlem Grand for two nights. We really can assure every visitor: DO NOT HESITATE AND BOOK IMMEDIATELY. Even our kids age 18, 19 and 20 years, really enjoyed. We are sorry we could not stay longer. The rooms, the hospitality, everything was really really perfect. Thanks for all! Fam. Fitters, Holland


hurray for harlem

5 sur octobre 13, 2014

w/q podworniak finding this place is like finding a gold mine. I never would have thought that I would ever stay in harlem but sure am glad I did. Kellyn is a most gracious host and willing to go out of her way to help in every way even meeting you at the front door at 5 15 am to make sure you get your cab to the airport. Kellyn took us for a tour of the neighbourhood and gave us a very informative talk about the history of harlem and all the great places to eat.. the food in the area is some of the best you will find in ny. had a blast at the opollo theatre on a wednesday night and after took the A train express and were in times square in 13 minutes.. I am planning to be in ny again next year and guess where im going to stay. at the Harlem Grande in Harlem if Kellyn will have me


Enjoying NY

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2014

Stayed two nights and three days in a wonderful holiday spice scented room. The bed was very comfortable, I slept like a baby. The room was very clean and neat. Kellyn was amazing, she was very helpful with directions and must see attractions. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a pleasant and up close experience with New Yorkers. Really enjoyed my stay and planning to return.


Kellyn's Generosity Blows Me Away

5 sur août 11, 2014

My wife and I were to vacation in NYC the last week of August. She was unexpectedly diagnosed with cancer and we're now in the midst of many medical tests and procedures; having to cancel our vacation. Kellyn was extremely generous and refunded our full deposit. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH Kellyn.


Outstanding visit in Feb 2014

5 sur mars 09, 2014

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Harlem Grand--clean and quite environment. The innkeeper, Kellyn facilitated a valuable walking tour around the neighborhood during the very cold winter days of February 2014. The B&B is nestled in historic Harlem neighborhood near Columbia Univ, legendary Apollo Theater, a fantastic grocery store, bakery, restaurants, etc. The building is very convenient to subway and bus line. We will certainly return to this fabulous B&B!!


Great Location and Wonderful Host!

4,4 sur novembre 07, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Harlem Grand for several days in October for college visits. We found that we were in walking distance to Columbia University, the subway, and the Metro which were all necessary components of our trip. The room was large and comfortable. We loved the charm with which the room was maintained. Kellyn worked with our schedule rearrangements when our flight was changed, and took us on a tour that identified places to eat, landmarks to find our way back to the house, and modes of public transportation available to us. Her suggestions helped up keep to a budget, but still have a wonderful experience that really gave us a sense of what it would be like to live in New York. Personally, we found Kellyn, our host, to be informative, helpful, and kind. We would definitely stay at the Harlem Grand again!


Perfect stay...Thank you !

5 sur octobre 15, 2013

Perfect rooms, perfect bed, perfect neighborough, perfect Kellyn who give us very good address for show (Amateur Night Apollo Theater), breakfast (Max, Kitchenette) and church. The B&B is near a subway station and on a direct line to places of interest in Manhattan.


cosy place to stay/gezellig plek om te overnachten

3,6 sur octobre 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. The house is een old brown stoned house and looks really great and is very cosy. The neighbourhood is also very nice, nearby the subway (5 minutes walk), and lot’s of things to do and good places to eat. Kellyn gave a tour around the house, to tell what to see and what to do and where to eat. That was very handy and helpfull. She was a great hostess, use the information she gives. This bed and breakfast doesn’t include breakfast! Advantages: nice area, spacious and clean room, good and spacious bed, quiet neighbourhood, all the information Kellyn gives you. Disadvatages: We had a struggle with the shower because we only had warm water for about half a minute or just one minute, after that it got cold again. So it was impossible to get a proper shower. There was nothing that could be done about this at that time. The day we left, there was a new boiler coming so the problem should be solved now. We verbleven hier 5 nachten. Geweldig leuk oud huis en de wijk is ook erg leuk. Wij vonden het heerlijk om in Harlem te verblijven. Het huis is dichtbij de metro (zo’n 5 minuten lopen), en er is van alles te doen in de buurt en fijne gelegenheden om te eten. Kellyn gaf ons een tour in de omgeving zodat je weet waar je goed kunt eten en wat er allemaal te doen is. Ze was een vriendelijke gastvrouw, maak gebruik van alle infomatie die ze geeft. Dit bed and breakfast serveert ’s ochtends geen ontbijt! Voordelen: fijne omgeving, ruime en schone kamer, goed en groot bed, rustige wijk, alle informatie die Kellyn geeft. Nadelen: wij hadden ruzie met de douche omdat we maar voor een halve minuut of één minuut warm water hadden, daarna werd het koud. Dus het was onmogelijk om een goede douche te nemen. Daar was op dat moment niets aan te doen. De dag dat we vertrokken kwam er een nieuwe boiler, dus het probleem zou nu opgelost moeten zijn.


Harlem Grand, GRAND B&B!

4,0 sur septembre 26, 2013

Kellyn was a fantastic host, she showed us around in the neighborhood. Nice area to live in, close to several tube stations and also to Central Park, with some great places to dine and have drinks very close. The B&B itself was very beautiful, the room was spacious and the furniture very romantic.We definitely want to stay there again when we come back to NY next time!


Excellent B&B near Columbia

4,8 sur mars 26, 2013

I was looking for a B&B near the university as I had a business meeting and workshop to attend, and I don't like hotels. The Harlem Grand more than fit the bill. Quiet, large and beautiful room with an amazing bathroom in a grand old house in a walkable neighborhood, just minutes from the university, excellent dining, and public transportation. I will be back!


A vintage feel with outstanding hospitality

4,8 sur janvier 08, 2013

Ever since our 10 days long stay at the Harlem Grand in May 2012 we have been thinking that we really should write a review of this amazing place here - at the website where we found it - since we liked this place so much. We espacially loved the vintage feel of the brownstone building and our romantically furnished room. Kellyn was a lovely hostess and took us on a tour around the neighbourhood showing us where to go for some great food and telling some stories and history of Harlem. Among other things she also recommended one of the highlights of our stay - the amateur night at the Apollo Theatre - on walking distance from the Harlem Grand. The express A-train metrostation is just a few blocks away and takes you downtown in just a couple of stops (about 10 minutes). We can recommend Harlem Grand to anyone who wants to go to New York and is looking for a romantic and authentic feel. Best regards, Anneli and Glenn on a visit from Sweden


Fabulous time in the Harlem Grand!

5 sur décembre 20, 2012

This beautifully restored brownstone was my opportunity to revisit Harlem with new eyes. I absolutely loved my room and its amenities. Great customer service! Looking forward to staying there time and time again!


Beauty, Charm and Comfort

4,4 sur décembre 15, 2012

We stayed in early December 2012 for a friend's wedding. Kellyn, the owner, was a great host. The room was so beautiful and comfortable. We floated in and immediately fell into the romance of it all. The neighbourhood was very interesting to walk around and Kellyn helped to make it feel like home with her great tour. I've told all of my friends who both live in NYC and like to visit about how great the experience was. I can't wait to got back.


Honey moon 7 nights

3,2 sur octobre 22, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at Harlem Grand and it was a great experience. It's a cozy B&B, big room and the owner Kellyn knows how to welcome people. She gave us a small tour around the neighborhood which was very helpful. Very central, 2 blocks fom the subway station with express trains to downtown. For breakfast we loved Uptown Kitchenet, the pancakes are fantastic! The price is very nice for NYC.


Honeymoon in Harlem

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Harlem Grand B&B for six nights in September for our honeymoon. We wanted somewhere authentically New York and found this to be the perfect location for us. If you are looking for a real New York experience and are doing it on a budget this is perfect. The subway is literally a 5 minute walk from the front step. There is great dining all throughout the Harlem area (try Crazy Horse for some pizza). Time Square is a 15 minute ride from the B&B. The house itself is obviously an older Brownstone and decorated to match the era. This is what we were looking for - it's not 5 star hotel quality - but it is clean, fun, and quaint. It made for a phenomenal experience. The owner, Kellyn, makes the experience most memorable. She loves her community and is proud to show off the neighbourhood and share the history of Harlem on a welcome tour. If you're looking for a fun adventure in Harlem and New York this is the place to stay!


Great room in the heart of Harlem, lovely house, kind owner

4,8 sur septembre 12, 2012

We stayed 7 nights in Harlem Grand last July. Kellyn, the owner, is sweet and very helpful. She knows a lot about her lovely neighbourhood and talking with her is very interesting. Thanks Kellyn for your welcome and your kindness. If we come back to NY, we'll come back to your guest house. The rooms are located in an old brownstone house, very typical from Harlem. They are very weel decorated with old furniture and they are spacious. The place is quiet and safe. It is close to the metro (125th street station). There are different lines whic is really practical. You can also easily reach Central Park by foot. There are a lot of shops and restaurants in the neighbourhood. For instance, we really enjoyed having our breakfast at Kitchenette (or at Dunkin Dunuts when we wanted to save money !). Levain bakery's cookies are amazing too. We recommend Kellyn's guest house. Note that there is no dining in the guesthouse and that you'll have to tidy your room.


I’ve got the Harlem Blues - Grand Style

4,2 sur mai 09, 2012

A dear friend and I decided to go to New York at the last minute to celebrate the New Year. We wanted to stay in Harlem because we had some friends and family in the area. We were happy to discover the Harlem Grand.Nestled in Harlem very close to 125th Street this New York style renovated townhouse’s location was ideal for our needs. We were able to get back and forth into Manhattan to Rockefeller Center for ice skating, in to see the ball drop in Time Square, and to do some New York style shopping with a lot of ohhing and ahhing over the Macy’s window, and other New York delights. Perched at a corner on the second floor, our very large guest room had a wonderful queen size bed (more on that later), hard wood floors, and a faux fireplace was fabulous. We especially loved the en-suite private bathroom, which was huge and beautifully decorated with claw foot tub, Victorian style sink, lovely mirrors, and a tastefully selected collection of hat boxes. The owner Kellyn was great. She took the time to walk and talk with us in the neighborhood and made sure we were properly oriented to the city. With all this said, what I truly enjoyed the most was my sleep in the most comfortable bed ever. The queen bed I slept in had memory foam type mattress that lulled me into a deep restful sleep for the two nights that we stayed at the Harlem Grand. Usually I toss and turn to find a good spot hoping to drift off to sleep, especially when not at home, but this dream of a bed worked wonders for me since each morning I woke more refreshed than ever. So although, I am back home in Boston, my mind still recalls the amazing time I had in Harlem and I drift off to sleep at home these days with Harlem on my mind and the Harlem blues. I can’t wait to get back there. Ain’t Harlem Grand?


Elegant, Homey, and Historical - NYC Hospitality at it's finest!

4,8 sur mai 06, 2012

My 10 yr old son and I stayed at the Harlem Grand as a part of a week-long vacation aimed at introducing him (a Los Angeles native) to my hometown - particularly to the Columbia University area where I grew up. Kellyn was a wonderful host, like many other reviewers' comment. Her tour of the neighborhood was thorough and informative - even for someone who grew up nearby, she has a wealth of information about Harlem history, as well as the current restaurant and cultural scene. We never did watch the flat-screen TV (though if we had encountered a rainy day, I imagine we might have), but it was great to have wifi. Each of us got to take a bath in the claw foot tub - heaven. My son's favorite aspects of our stay were (in his words): 1) Kellyn's genuineness and hospitality; 2) the very comfy bed that prompted us to purchase the same micro-fiber topper; 3) the nearby pizza restaurant -"Bad Horse Pizza" where you can custom order your favorite gourmet/healthy toppings. He was so happy with our stay that he took an hour, on our last morning there, to make Kellyn a original artwork thank you card. We will definitely be back - next time with my husband!


One Week in NYC

3,8 sur mai 01, 2012

We are a german couple (26,27) and we stayed one week in the Harlem Grand B&B.It is located in a quiet and safe quarter. Kellyn was very friendly and helpful.The room was lovely furnished.The only small negativepoint was the temperature and the pressure of the shower.The description on this site does correspond to reality.All in all the house exceeded our expectations and we would stay again here. We can recommend the Harlem Grand without reservations. We didn´t had Dining(because of the 1 Star)


Great Place to stay

4,6 sur février 10, 2012

We had stayed during boxing day week and I did not know what to expect, but I was extremely surprised at how beautiful this place really was. The hospitality was great, and the room was amazing, so nice and clean and had alot of character. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in NYC without staying right downtown. The price is worth it and it is 5mins walk to the nearest subway stop. Great area with character. I enjoyed my stay. :)


New York revisit

4,0 sur janvier 03, 2012

We visited New York week after Christmas & I had not been for over a decade. We decided to stay at the Harlem Grand instead of a traditional hotel & we weren't disappointed! The host Kellyn was beyond helpful & always available if we had questions. She also had lots of suggestions on what to do & how to get there. The location of the B&B was great very close with easy subway access. The room was very cool, spacious, clean & the bed was super cozy! it was a great area to stay in, I would recommend it to others & definitely stay their again.


Highly recommend!

5 sur novembre 01, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights on our first visit to NYC and it was amazing! Kellyn was lovely and so knowledgeable of the area. Gave us a tour of the neighbourhood which was great - lots of tips on where to eat, drink & get good coffee! It is a beautiful building and the rooms are gorgeous - so was our bathroom! So many amazing places to eat at close by, with 125th St only three blocks away. The subway from 125th is express so could get to Times Square in 10 mins. Would highly recommend Harlem Grand B&B - great location and so reasonably priced. Cant wait to go back again! L&K


Excellent!! This is the best place i ever been in holidays!...

4,6 sur octobre 25, 2011

Everything was perfect, the bedroom was huge, it has a nice bed, large closet and tv and the bathroom was big and really comfortable, also everything was very clean. This B&B has an excellent location, just in the corner you can get a bus that takes you to the central park, museums mile, the shops of the fifth avenue and city center. The metro station its just two blocks from the B&B and there is two lines that takes you from city center to the station in 20 minutes!.. that is great, specially at night. The innkeeper, Kellyn, is really kind!!... she showed us all the places of interest near the B&B, like the farmacy, the supermarket, the metro station, nice bars, restaurants and made us some recommendations about where to eat and what to do!.. That was really usefull!... When i get back to NY i would definitely stay there again!!.. Thanks for everything Kellyn!!.. Ina


First 5 nights of Honeymoon

3,6 sur octobre 13, 2011

We spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon staying in Kellyn's lovely renovated Brownstone apartment building. This was our first trip to NYC and we were not sure what to expect. We couldn't recommend the Harlem Grand highly enough; great location close to the action of down-town but far enough away that you can escape the mayhem, comfortable, clean room and en-suite bathroom, great value for money in a city where accommodation costs are crazy and last but not least the personal tour of the neighbourhood that Kellyn gives on arrival! This made the world of difference to us and allowed us to walk out the door on our first day and feel a bit more confident about where we were going and how we were going to get there! Thank you Kellyn, we really appreciated this personal touch!


A perfect place to stay!

4,2 sur septembre 19, 2011

First time to NYC, and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Truly a beautiful B&B room, in a wonderful community. Excellent location for express subway and bus access, and close to some amazing restaurants. On this trip there were 4 women travelling, and we felt perfectly safe walking the picture perfect brownstone streets, even late a night. Kellyn is one of the nicest inkeepers I have ever met, and even took the time to show us around. If you want to feel like a local in the big city, this is the perfect place. Would definatly return, and would be disappointed if we couldn't stay here again.


GREAT I AM COMING BACK

4,0 sur juillet 25, 2011

I spend my birthday in 2010 there and coming back this year if Kelly has a room for me. SUPER great feel .... Sylvie


Great place to stay!

4,6 sur juin 22, 2011

We planned a trip to New York City and booked a stay at Harlem Grand. We were not familiar with the area, so we had no idea what to expect. Kellyn and the place itself totally exceeded our expectations. Kellyn was fabulous and even showed us around the area. The room was exactly like the picture, with a private bathroom and it was perfect for us. There is a metro station 2 blocks away, so there was NO problem getting around. ALSO, it was raining as we were leaving and Kellyn had someone help us hail a cab despite being unable to get ahold of a cab company (which Kellyn also tried to call for us) to make sure we made it to the airport on time! All in all the stay was GRAND! ;)


Lovely place! Loved it!

4,6 sur avril 27, 2011

I was referred to this bed and breakfast by a friend of mine. Kellyn's place was so wonderful! It's a beautful brownstone building and Kellyn herself was welcoming and very helpful. The room was quiet, clean, cosy and very beautiful. I felt like a princess in a castle :) The place looks exactly like you can see on the pictures in the web, which is not quite natural in NYC if you read reviews of other accommodations in NYC. I am highly recommending Harlem Grand to all my friends and to everyone else. Thanks for a lovely 11 days-stay Kellyn. I will for sure stay there again if I go to NYC next time.


nice room in west 122 Street

3,0 sur mars 12, 2011

I lived in Kellyn's cozy room when I travel in NYC last week,I stayed there for a week. the room is very nice and really more like a home other than a hotel for me. and it looks like exactly as the picture in the web and Kellyn was so nice she showed me around the whole neighborhood and told me where to have brunch and the routes to my destination in the city. I am very glad to spend the whole week in Harlem Grand as my first time travel to the city. I will definitely recommand her room to my friends who's gonna leave for NYC and I will for sure stay there again if I go to NYC next time.


Weekend away in NY

3,8 sur janvier 04, 2011

Went to the big apple for a spot of Christmas shopping with my wife in Dec. Couldn't afford the hotel prices for this time of year so looked into the B&b's after searching around I came across the Harlem Grand, Kellyn was very friendly and helpful as I had plenty of questions regarding our stay. The house was a delight and in a lovely area. Although no breakfast Kellyn provided us with plenty of ideas of where to go, not only that butsome really handy tips of how to get around NY and get the most out of our short stay. I'm sure we would not have got this service at a hotel. Harelm is great, I have to mention the Jazz Bar Showrooms as we had a great night there. Shopped plenty, ate at some lovely places and even had time to catch a show. Thanks for a lovely stay Kellyn, I will be recommending your place to anyone I know going to NY


Great weekend in Harlem!

4,0 sur décembre 18, 2010

Kellyn's place is absolutely wonderful! We came down to NYC for for a weekend of shopping and fun in December, and Harlem Grand really is perfect if you want to stay somewhere inexpensive, intimate, and not so "touristy"... especially during the holiday season! Unfortunately Kellyn was not feeling well so we weren't able to speak to her until we checked out. However, the room was beautiful, better than we expected. It had a candlelit fireplace (very romantic), large flat-screen TV, exquisite chandeliers, and a super comfortable bed. We knew that the Harlem Grand does not serve breakfast, but we were a little surprised no coffee or beverages were available for us. We spent the first night in the neighboorhood, which is quaint, quiet and safe. We started off the night at a hip wine bar just around the corner from the B&B, and followed that with a tasty dinner at the new restaurant/lounge Chocolat. Both were fantastic. The nearest subway station is about three blocks away, so when we ventured out for the day we were downtown in less than 20 minutes! Overall, Harlem Grand is a beautiful, immaculately kept inn that we will definitely stay at again. Thanks Kellyn!


Holiday visit to NYC

4,2 sur décembre 17, 2010

I stayed at the Harlem Grad on a recent trip to New York with my girlfriend. I initially contacted another B&B in Harlem that I was familiar with, but it did not have availability, so the owner recommended the Harlem Grand - and I'm very happy he did. Across the board, I was very pleased with our stay and the property. It's a beautful brownstone building and the room we stayed in was large, very nice, and comfortable. Also, it was within 3 blocks of the subway, which happened to be an express line and got us downtown in less than 10 mins. The only reason I gave it three stars/points in the Dining category was that did not offer breakfast. However, there are several excellent restaurants nearby that the owner directed us to (including Kitchenette, which you must visit for brunch).


French family 03/09 through 07/09

3,2 sur septembre 11, 2010

We really appreciated our stay in Harlem Grand; Kellyn did everything to please us. We had reserved another B&B which couldn't accept us at the last minute due to a water damage. She came to take us to Harlem Grand with her own car and gave us a tour of the neighborhood. She made us feel at home. The rooms are large with very nice furnitures, the house is clean and quiet. We will recommend to stay in harlem Grand with kellyn !


I love Harlem

3,8 sur mai 06, 2010

I've just come back for a wonderful ten-day trip to New York and we stayed at Harlem Grand in Harlem neighbourhood. I must confess if I had the slightest fear about being at Harlem, it vanished the moment Kellyn, the innkeeper took us for a beautiful over half- an -hour ride as soon as we got there. It was really helpful as she showed us every interesting place around from some lovely places to have breakfast, a brunch or lunch, nearby; to a place where we could have some delicious soul food or some sites to listen to really good music. Moreover, and to our surprise some neighbours were really kind and try to help us even on our last day when we were leaving and trying to look for a taxi, a charming old woman in a car offered herself to call for a taxi on her mobile. Although it would be great to be able to have breakfast in there, as a real bed ans breakfast, I definitely recommend staying here!


Excellent

5 sur mars 30, 2010

The Harlem Grand was located in a wonderful area and the room was exquisite. So beautful and quaint. The innkeeper was very accomodating.We received excellent recommendations for the area. Overall the stay was great and we will be returning next year. Thanks again.


Harlem's best kept secret

4,4 sur mars 12, 2010

I was referred to this bed and breakfast by a friend of mine. The place made me feel like I was a kid again in my old Victorian Home. The brick wall, fireplace, antique chairs and dressers, and Oriental Rugs brought back fond memories for me. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants an authentic and amazing stay in New York!


Loved it!

4,4 sur mars 09, 2010

We were referred to Harlem Grand through our favorite B&B Sugar Hill Harlem Inn and loved Kellyn's place. She was warm and welcoming and her brownstone was beautiful. Our room was an oasis of comfort and quiet and we loved the neighborhood. This place is surrounded by jazz clubs, art galleries, shopping and had street parking which made all of the difference. We enjoyed walking everywhere and especially liked the wine bar around the corner. We got a deal and it was a great value overall. Definitely recommend it.


Harlem Grand B&B

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $98 - $265
  • Avis (37) 4,4
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 646-8079789

Plus d'infos

Haut