The Artful Lodger Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
44 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Loved it!

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay with great food and conversation with other guest. Tim and Susan were fantastic hosts! I would recommend the Artful lodger to anyone considering a stay in Clinton, NY.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again!


Relaxing time in central New York

4,6 sur juin 17, 2014

Tim and Susan are wonderful hosts in this relaxing location. Beautiful architecture all round and looking straight out onto the village green. Easy to come and go. Highly recommended. Lindsay Oades, NSW, Australia.

Réponse du propriétaire
It was such a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for the review!


WOW

5 sur juin 01, 2014

This is an elegant, cheerful, and quiet B & B overlooking the village square in Historic Clinton, NY. Our stay was perfect...the room was beautifully appointed, the owner gracious, the towels luxurious, and the breakfast sumptuous. Need I say more? I would recommend this in a minute to everyone. You can't go wrong at the Artful Lodger.

Réponse du propriétaire
We really enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your next "performance"!


The Art of Hospitality!

4,6 sur mai 08, 2014

Our stay at the Artful Lodger was quite comfortable--a quiet respite where we could hang out and chat over a cup of coffee. Breakfasts were delicious and the conversations around the table were easy! We all appreciated the homemade cookies available daily!!

Réponse du propriétaire
We so appreciate your kind words. Have a wonderful summer!


Best nights sleep in ages!

4,6 sur avril 29, 2014

Lovely night's stay from great bed and delicious breakfast to thoughtfulness as to where we might find restaurants open on a holiday night. Easy to meet other guests and make new friends yet spacious enough to have room to yourself. Great spot to meet Hamilton parents and visiting students considering Hamilton if that's why you are in the area.

Réponse du propriétaire
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you return soon.


Lovely and gracious

4,8 sur avril 29, 2014

Stayed for one night and wish we could have stayed longer. The house is lovely, the owners are gracious, and the room was extremely comfortable.

Réponse du propriétaire
That is very nice to hear. Thank you!


Very nice weekend stay

3,6 sur avril 14, 2014

The house was beautiful, and the room we stayed in was comfortable, clean, and had a nice bathroom. Owners were friendly, and the breakfasts delicious. Right in downtown clinton, and convenient to Hamilton College, as well as Utica, New Hartford, Colgate, and Turning Stone. I would definitely stay here again

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!


Hamilton College spring break 2014

5 sur mars 17, 2014

Great breakfast and good morning conversation

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for sharing your experience. The breakfast conversation is often an unexpected bonus!


Great B&B choice for a few days stay

3,8 sur décembre 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during Christmas vacation. The proprietors were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and maintained. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and there was a good variety. The reading room was cozy. To anyone staying there, wear earplugs when you go to bed or expect to be awoken by the village's fire horn that blares when an emergency call comes in. They local gov't really needs to address this issue (I know they're constrained by state regulation regarding emergency signals) as I'm sure it makes a lot of people think twice about staying in the B&Bs in the center of town. I'm certainly not going to knock the AL for something that's out of their control.

Réponse du propriétaire
We're glad you enjoyed our hospitality, and hope you return to Clinton soon.


Autum Stay

5 sur octobre 21, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger Oct. 16-20, 2013 and found the location excellent and the Innkeepers most attentive and gracious. The autumn foliage was an added attraction. We recommend the Artful Lodger wholeheartedly. North Carolina visitors

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon!


Artful Lodger

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2013

Great stay!!!! REALLLLLY comfy beds!!! Great location! MUST go to cider mill!!!

Réponse du propriétaire
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the cider mill is a little slice of heaven (and a little slice of history!)


Lovely place on the green

5 sur octobre 06, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this inviting, immaculate B&B, conveniently located in the center of Clinton. We felt pampered but not overwhelmed with too much info and attention. Susan made wonderful gluten-free breakfasts so we could both enjoy our meal. We will definitely be back!

Réponse du propriétaire
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return. All the best,


Home Away from Home

5 sur septembre 23, 2013

The Artful Lodger is the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever found. Its proprietors, Tim and Susan Sweetland (a name that reflects their personalities), have become like members of the family over the last 5-years in which we stayed in the establishment literally a dozen times or more. While our daughter, Sara, attended nearby Hamilton College, we were lucky enough to win the B&B's lottery for in-demand weekends. Each room is beautifully decorated, affordable, and the housekeeping is meticulous. The location on the idealic Clinton village green makes each weekend magic with wonderful nearby restaurants and shops. Their breakfast table frequently includes elegant hot egg-based casseroles, breakfast meats, yogurt fruit/granola parfaits, and/or cereal, and juice, tea or coffee, and get this, fresh baked oatmeal bread and jam made the evening before (the smell of which wafts through the hallways). The breakfast table often includes friendly intelligent conversation with lumminaries from around the country (or the world) and their bright-eyed sons or daughters making college visitis or attending nearby Hamilton or Colgate. The owners offer a compiled book of local restaurant menus, recommendations and will do anything to make their guests feel at home, including placing fresh-baked cookies under a glass cover in the hallway. The walls frequently include beautiful new rotating exhibitions of paintings from local artists for sale and conversation. We hesitate to tout this small town nirvana any further for fear of shuting ourselves out of room availability for future fall Adirondack weekends now that Sara has graduated.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It has been such a pleasure getting to know you over the years. We wish you all the best in all your endeavors and look forward to your next visit.


Sanctuary in the heart of Clinton

4,2 sur septembre 02, 2013

Beautiful location in the middle of Clinton opposite the village green. Great service, excellent accomodation and delicious breakfast...Tim and Susan are charming hosts who run a top notch establishment-clean and inviting. My family stayed for only one night but will return if ever we are in the area. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family.


Lovely B&B in charming village

4,6 sur juillet 29, 2013

We stayed at the Artful Lodger for one night in July. The owners, Tim and Susan Sweetland, were gracious and welcoming. Our room was very clean and comfortable and was furnished with a double bed, large armoire, desk and chair, and a small couch. The bathroom was snug but adequate. The sink was located in the bedroom on the wall outside the bathroom. This was a bit odd at first but did not prove to be a bother. The village of Clinton is quite charming with many beautiful homes dating back to the 18th and 19th centuries. Hamilton College is a mile and a half up a hill and there are two excellent restaurants just a few steps away. We would recommend the Artful Lodger to anyone touring the area or on their way to or from the Adirondacks.


Boilermaker 2013

5 sur juillet 16, 2013

We were in the area for the first time for The Boilermaker. The Artful Lodger was a wonderful place to stay. The room was comfortable and the B&B beautiful. Food was excellent and they thought of everything to make your guest welcomed. Clinton is a great village and The Artful Lodger is right on the square. A great location. I am making plans to come back for next year.


Warm welcome

3,6 sur novembre 13, 2012

Warm welcome in a wonderfully restored house. Would definitely stay there again.


Comfortably appealing

5 sur novembre 04, 2012

We did a mother/daughter trip to upstate NY. Instead of a bland hotel-chain room, this lovely inn was warm and inviting. The room fee was very competitive with other choices. It shows that the house is very well maintained without being stuffy. The accommodations were comfortable for both of us. The owners were informative and helpful. Staying at such a pleasant place made the visit go so much smoother. Highly Recommended.


Hamilton College Visit

4,8 sur mai 30, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!

Réponse du propriétaire
It was our pleasure. We hope to see you again.


Great Stay!

5 sur mai 09, 2012

We had a wonderful two day stay at the Artful Lodger, and loved the Village of Clinton, NY. Sue and Tim do an absolutely fantastic job of making you feel welcome and at home. The breakfasts were gourmet and second to none we've experienced at any B&B !

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you! We hope you will visit us again!


Beautiful, homey B&B

4,6 sur mai 05, 2012

The Artful Lodger is a lovely old home in beautiful condition; the innkeepers are friendly and respectful of guests' privacy; the room was very comfortable and pretty.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you and have a wonderful summer!


very nice

3,8 sur mars 11, 2012

lovely home beautifully decorated and immaculate, warm enough and comfortable. Price seemed a little on the high side, given that the breakfast, while delicious, was not particularly bountiful, esp. compared w. other b&b in the area we have stayed at. location can't be beat.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for posting a review. We hope you find a reason to return soon. Future guests - never leave the table hungry! If you find our featured entree on the light side, just let us know. We aim to please!


Best sleep ever!

4,0 sur janvier 18, 2012

Spent a lovely cozy night -- sue and tim were helpful and welcoming. Really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.


Lovely and personal B&B

5 sur janvier 17, 2012

Susan and Tim are lovely hosts and made us immediately feel at home. The room was spacious and elegantly appointed and breakfast was not to be missed. We were visiting our daughter at Hamilton College -- perfect location.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon.


January 15, 2012 Visit to the Artful Lodger

4,0 sur janvier 17, 2012

Very comfortable place well maintained and operated by the proprietors.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for posting!


Very Pleasant Stay at Artful Lodger

4,0 sur janvier 08, 2012

Tim and Susan were extremely pleasant. We stay for one night as my daughter had an interview at Hamilton College. We had a room with two twin beds and our own bathroom. I believe all rooms have their own bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was hot a delicious. I hope to stay there again.


Art and Science

4,8 sur octobre 27, 2011

My night at the Artful Lodger was absolutely fabulous. The innkeepers' have B&B customer satisfaction down to a science. My every question was answered by a strategically placed note and I was pleasantly surprised by one thing after another: the tasteful decor and lighting, the art for sale on the bedroom walls, the delicious breakfast, and just the right tone of hospitality. Bravo!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you from one art lover to another!


a first vist of many!

4,4 sur septembre 17, 2011

This was a wonderful find for an overnight in clinton, lovely setting on the village green, great breakfust and lots of helpful hints for our stay. Search no further! we DID, and have found our spot!

Réponse du propriétaire
It was our pleasure! We look forward to your next visit.


In town for a wedding

5 sur juillet 11, 2011

As a wedding planner I was so excited to have the opportunity to plan & coordinate a wedding at Hamilton College for a client. Having never been to the area previously, I was delighted to learn just how sweet a place it is. The bride booked us a room at The Artful Lodger and it was simply a perfect location, accommodation and made us feel right at home. Susan was lovely to work with and have as an innkeeper. There was a lot of things going on throughout the weekend and she was happy to assist with any request from the bride, guests and us! The room was clean, beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious..still thinking about the yummy herbed cheese/eggs!! Thank you for a wonderful stay and visit...I would highly suggest The Artful Lodger for your visit to Clinton,NY!


Boilermaker Race weekend

3,8 sur juillet 11, 2011

My two sons and I found the Tim and Susan very welcoming and extremely helpful. The Artful Lodger is very comfortable, The Clinton Room had enough space for us with the washroom. The beds were very comfortable and A/C was perfect at night. Only one comment is the Fire dept horn across the green, woke up me twice. I guess the horn was to a call the alarm to local volunteer firefighters to the fire-hall, although.. it didn't wake my sons! Mark,Sam and Josh B Alexandria , Ontario, Canada.


enjoyable stay

3,4 sur août 13, 2010

Had a nice time- typical college town bed and breakfast experience- quiet inn, quiet guests, nice setting, well maintained, knowledgeable owners. The only unfortunately experience was the fire station alarm or warning sound between 1 and 2 am that woke us up. Certainly out of the innkeepers control. Did not have the opportunity to eat, was on a tight schedule, but food smelled good.


Beautiful inn in a charming town

4,6 sur août 12, 2010

We stayed only one night at The Artful Lodger, and enjoyed our stay immensely. The inn is richly appointed, with beautiful furniture and accessories and luxurious linens. There are so many fantastic touches of hospitality, from the cookies in the foyer to the shared journals in the rooms. The inn is on the town square, so it is walking distance from some nice cafes and restaurants. Most of the local shops and cafes close at 5:00, so there's not much variety of evening fare on the square. What is available after 5:00, though limited, is still wonderful. (And, if you're so inclined, there are plenty of other places within a short drive of the inn.)


Love the Artful Lodger!

5 sur février 07, 2010

We have stayed at the Artful Lodger off and on over the years but had not been for awhile. We returned over the Christmas holidays and were so happy to find that it was as wonderful as we remembered. Our room was comfortable, clean and beautiful, the food was delicious and the proprietors, Susan and Tim Sweetland, were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Exactly the kind of B&B experience you would want during the holidays or anytime. We remain big fans!


visit to clinton

5 sur janvier 28, 2010

We have stayed with Susan and Tim many times and enjoy their beautiful inn and warm hospitality ever so much!! They take the time to make suggestions of restaurants and activities that would interest us, and a visit to the Artful Lodger has now become much like a visit to see old friends.


Our Gold Standard

5 sur janvier 20, 2010

Our first visit to The Artful Lodger was also our first B&B experience. We have since become B&B converts and The Artful Lodger has become our gold standard. We originally chose this B&B because of it's proximity to Hamilton College, great locaton on the picturesque Clinton village green, and lovely exterior. We have returned again and again because of what we found inside the front door. We are always greeted by the wonderful aroma of bread baking for breakfast and a platter of delicious cookies. The rooms are charming and neat as a pin, the beds are wonderfully cozy, and breakfast (hot and cold options are offered) is consistently excellent. Innkeepers Susan and Tim are delightful and very knowledgable about all that the Clinton area has to offer. And, The Artful Lodger is a constantly changing art gallery, making for a visual feast. A visit to The Artful Lodger is always a refreshing escape for us.


Best in the area

5 sur janvier 19, 2010

Beautiful rooms,scenic locale,gracious hosts & Susan's breakfasts are always top-notch.


artful lodging

5 sur janvier 19, 2010

We have stayed at "The Artful Lodger" numerous times. It has always been a pleasurable experience. Susan and Tim are excellent hosts. And, we have met other nice interesting guests. It is in a nice location for walking to nearby places of interest and restaurants.


Artful Lodger

4,4 sur janvier 19, 2010

I've stayed at the Artful Lodger 20-30 times over the last 5 years. When I;m in the area, I make a point to stay there. The Artful Lodger is beautifully done and the Innkeepers are very friendly. Clinton is a quaint little town,


Will come back

4,4 sur janvier 16, 2010

Service, Location are fantastic. The size of the rooms and ambience are absolutely outstanding. There should be more information of local events, fairs, happenings, maps, etc. available.


An Authentic Inn on the Village Green

3,6 sur janvier 16, 2010

The Artful Lodger is the perfect 'home away from home' for folks visiting or delivering children to nearby Hamilton College. The historic village of Clinton is delightful. You can walk from this Inn to some shops, churches, bars, restaurants and the local Historic Society/Museum. Staying at the Artful Lodger is an authentic and pleasurable experience.


elegant, spacious, well appointed and exceptionally clean

4,0 sur janvier 16, 2010

The Artful Lodge is both charming and convenient. We walk to Hamilton College or across the little park for dinner or shopping. The rooms are elegant, spacious, well appointed and exceptionally clean. Original artwork by local artists hangs in the rooms and hallways. Professional innkeepers, Susan and Tim take good care of their guests – cookies at night, well stocked self serve beverage bar, comfy living room with lots of local publications. Breakfasts are superb with several delicious choices. Five stars for the Artful Lodger.


I love the Artful Lodger

4,6 sur janvier 15, 2010

I visit Hamilton College twice a year and my stay at the Artful Lodger makes the trip special. Susan is terrific and I always feel welcome and at home.


A great place to stay

5 sur janvier 10, 2010

We'll be back!


Nice B&B

3,2 sur septembre 29, 2009

Large second floor room very nice and comfortable. Bathroom is airy. Innkeeper offers a choice of breakfast items each day and choices are on the lighter side compared with overly heavy food at some B&Bs. Located off the town square with stores in easy walking distance. Note: most stores and some restaurants close by 5 or 6 p.m. Innkeepers maintained a low profile with minimal interaction with guests.


The Artful Lodger

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $109 - $179
  • Avis (44) 4,5
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-3158533672
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8885634377

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut