Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
29 Avis

Ecrire un avis

We came back . . . and it was better than before!

5 sur septembre 24, 2014

We promised ourselves a second vacation at Trout Point, and this year we did it! We were not disappointed, and in fact the staff and the food were better than last time. A much needed break fromthe madding crowds of everyday life!


5 star--excellent

5 sur septembre 01, 2014

Highlights of our stay included the guided astronomy, the sheer professionalism and genuine friendliness of the multitalented staff with a personal touch, the tranquillity, music, and very much the privacy.


Outstanding food

5 sur août 13, 2014

Both of us thought the food was outstanding. My husband has celiac disease and must eat gluten-free foods only. The chef was very accommodating. We ate both breakfast and dinner and thought the food was too good! Accommodation were extremely comfortable as well.


Le paradis

5 sur décembre 25, 2013

Un endroit de rêve, chambre, service, confort, riviere, forêt, tout parfait. L'environnement est exceptionnel avec des promenades revigorantes. Les plus: situation exceptionnelle, vue des chambres envoutantes, accès direct à la nature, service souriant et compétent, très bons concierges chambre confortables et bien équipées, la qualité de la nourriture dans un pays qui n'est pas réputé pour sa gastronomie!


Trout Point Lodge Review

5 sur octobre 25, 2013

This Lodge gives great service and provisions great food. It's not cheap, but well worth it for the unique experience--it's a great hideaway spot distinct from the Nova Scotia seacoast. The surrounding forest and river is gorgeous. We liked the food so much, we decided to stay an extra night. Shrimp gumbo--amazing! Trout almandine to die for! Desserts simple and delicious. Be aware that this place is isolated--not truly near any towns. You can get to the coast in about 40 minutes.


It Doesn't Get Much Better than This

5 sur octobre 16, 2013

We've travelled the world, lived in several countries, and have stayed in some truly world class hotels in our day. The Trout Point is one of the best.... if not THE best... places we've ever stayed at. A remarkable blend of outdoor ambience and luxury. If you're in the area, don't miss it. It's pretty remote, so I would want to allow at least 3 nights, preferably 5, to get the full impact. Congrats to the management and staff for creating this gem!


Super Lodge experience

5 sur août 24, 2013

Trout point provided the absolute best service and comfort of any inn we visited in the Atlantic Canada trip. Service, including before and at meal time was always superb, never stuffy. There was music before supper, including one night where a local Acadian musician played for an hour! Most entertaining! The kitchen was completely accommodating to a food allergy and this was the only true "cuisine" we sampled in Nova Scotia--perfectly cooked seafood, amazing soups, and mouth watering desserts. They also use lots of local and organic ingredients, including delicious homemade pastas featuring wild mushrooms like chanterelles. The rooms are very spacious and feature beautiful views of the rushing river outside the Lodge. Everything is done in a rustic style, but with immense taste--from the Tiffany and Craftsman lamps to the hand hewn log walls. A unique small luxury hotel.


Cannot say enough good about Trout Point

5 sur juillet 21, 2013

The accommodations were clean and comfortable. We had a full range of activities to pursue--kayaking, swimming, hiking, mountain biking. The cuisine, though, was the real standout. Amazing! We even went night time star gazing with Michael.


Gourmet nature retreat

5 sur mai 29, 2013

The lodge gave us a true respite from the madding crowds. This is not your average B&B--it's truly in the wilderness and truly a lodge. The food was a standout, served in the most elegant surroundings. Staff were friendly and not stuffy at all.


I wish I could give 6 stars to this place!!!

5 sur mai 04, 2013

This is one of those hotels where everything is really fantastic - rooms, service, meals, comfort, space - EVERYTHING!. We loved the night astronomy walk with Michael. We saw all kinds of galactic sights that we cannot see back in our light polluted sky at home. My wife and I really appreciated the graciousness of the staff. I surprised her with a trip to TPL for her birthday. We had an amazing time of canoeing, fishing, hiking, lounging in the hot tub, and sitting by the fire. The location is spectacular, it is completely peaceful and relaxing. We stayed in a Fireplace Junior Suite which is in the main lodge- very nice, clean, cozy, massive log walls. We really enjoyed the delicious meals, especially one evening when staff asked us if we would like to dine in a private room- Chez la Tousquet. It was stunning, with a lit fire and views of the river. At the end of our meal, a group of people including the chefs/owners sang happy birthday to my wife- such a lovely gesture. It was very nice to meet and talk to the owners, they were very welcoming. The staff were so friendly, especially Kara, she answered all of our questions. We cannot wait to go back! This is a true destination location. We look forward to returning.


Service parfait, nourriture excellente, personnel formidable et qualité/prix raisonable.

4,8 sur novembre 11, 2012

Depuis notre retraite de l'enseignement en 2009, mon épouse de 25 ans et moi sommes des réguliers de ce formidable hotel situé dans une monde d'eau à la convergence de deux fleuves, avec des lacs et des îles. C'est notre endroit préféré a la Nouvelle Ecosse. Le service est excellent, le personnel acceuillant fait toute la différence, la nourriture est excellente, les chambres et les suites sont toujours propres,propres,propres. Le rapport qualité/prix est raisonable. Nous recommandons fortement Trout Point Lodge, un endroit inégalé pour la relaxation et l'appréciation de la nature!


Met every expectation--exceeded most!

5 sur octobre 28, 2012

We researched our Nova Scotia vacation in depth, and had decided on Trout Point for 1 night, as a diversion from the coast. Everything was spectacular, from the warm welcome, to the informed advice, and the most comfortable and cavernous room! This is not your typical B&B, but truly a lodge. We decided to actually add on a day and cancel somewhere else it was so great. Food was the best we had on any vacation.


Trout Point Lodge: Magnificent!

5 sur octobre 14, 2012

The Lodge and its environs are superb. The quiet and solitude were magnificent. We loved the hot tub and kayaking the Tusket River. Nature at your doorstop combined with civilized luxury!


Truly a 5 star inn & lodge, a hidden gem in Nova Scotia

5 sur septembre 07, 2012

My husband and I needed a reinvigorating get away and this lodge was it! It's in a wilderness area, so it's quiet, beautiful and has plenty to do. We hiked, went fishing, swam and kayaked many times on two on-site winding rivers. Meals were spectacular. The food was excellent, which is a good thing when dinner is the main entertainment in the evening, though there is also night time star gazing with a guide. Breakfasts included homemade breads and pastries and the most delicious smoked salmon I've ever eaten. There was live music at cocktail time and the service was superior. We also spent time in the hot tub, reading on the deck and botanizing in the woods. One night we went on that guided walk to look at the stars, it was a memorable experience. We absolutely loved sitting around the fire pit after supper. Very romantic! Our room was filled with handmade wooden furniture so impressive I took photos of it. This place is a bit out of the way but worth it.


The choice for a Nova Scotia hideaway!!!

5 sur août 29, 2012

This true wilderness lodge is truly outstanding, for Nova Scotia and for Canada in general. What really sets a place apart is the service and the food, and Trout Point was hitting on all cylinders during our 3-day getaway. Highly recommended for honeymoons!


The most amazing suite experience

5 sur juin 06, 2012

We just returned from an incredible stay in one of the Fireplace suites at Trout Point Lodge. These rooms are spacious and really "lodgy" feeling, with massive log walls. We really enjoyed the outside sitting area and the fireplace. Food and service were both excellent--dinners are amazing.


Best stay ever

5 sur mai 24, 2012

This was hands down the best stay I've ever had. The food, rooms, activities, and staff were tremendous. I didn't want to leave. I really didn't. I'm still sad that I'm gone. Trout Point Lodge ruined me for all other places and restaurants. Hi to Charlie and Vaugh if they're reading this! Love, Dana


My Trout Point Lodge Review

5 sur avril 29, 2012

It was a fabulous Nova Scotia vacation! Everything excellent -- staff, room, public areas, food -- you name it, it was terrific. One small complaint -- the lighting in the room could have been a little brighter. The rooms were excellent. Highlights for me included the friendly and attentive staff, the beautiful surroundings the food, etc. We liked everything.


Outstanding!

5 sur avril 03, 2012

We just booked a third stay at this scenic spot in southwestern Nova Scotia. We return because of the comfortable rooms, the fantastic and authentically Canadian staff, and the great food. The chance to paddle, swim, and soak in the hot tub don't hurt either.


Planning on returning

4,8 sur décembre 29, 2011

This stay was the highlight of our Atlantic Canada summer vacation in 2011. Relaxation, great energy and great food just about sums it up. Don't expect a frilly B&B--this is really what you imagine a forest lodge is all about.


Authentic Canadian wilderness lodge

4,8 sur décembre 17, 2011

Saw Trout Point listed in Men's Journal for being the best in backwoods luxury--and it proved true. This is an authentic log lodge inserted into pristine river country. Great food and really, really friendly and helpful staff.


Hidden treasure!

5 sur novembre 25, 2011

It seems like few Nova Scotians have heard of this place, although it was full the night we stayed there. Trout Point Lodge offers a level of service, detail and setting that is glaringly absent in this province. For all the people who go to places like White Point or Oak Island or the Celtic Lodge, they'd be better off here. The food was lovingly prepared and presented; the employees were friendly, ever-present, and helpful. Trout Point Lodge deserves all the accolades it gets.


Best kept secret in Nova Scotia

4,0 sur octobre 25, 2010

Trout Point Lodge is a true "get-away". Located ~midway between Digby/Yarmouth, on a river, near a nature reserve. It's rustic, it's tranquil, it's superlative dining & it's probably the most subtle, understated bit of heaven around.


True maritime hospitality!!! A veritable Relais & Chateaux

5 sur septembre 04, 2010

We choose Trout Point for 3 days during a 10 day Maritime journey due to its accolades, including Relais & Chateaux. We were not disappointed. They're dog-friendly, too, which was a real plus for us. Staff were friendly and professional. The food was sophisticated, served in appropriate portions, and the wine list was fantastic.


Gourmet & sophisticated nature

4,8 sur août 30, 2010

We had heard a lot about Trout Point Lodge for the past couple of years, and just finished our first weekend stay. This is a true, relaxing hideaway--perfect for 2-5 nights. As Nova Scotians, we loved being able to get away to somewhere different--not your typical coastal location at all. We kayaked, hiked, and generally enjoyed the great food. The rooms was incredibly spacious and comfy. Be sure to let them know in advance if you are a vegetarian, and they'll be happy to vary the fixed menu.


Highly Over Rated!

2,6 sur août 26, 2010

We just returned from a two- night stay and although we had a nice getaway, we feel the property and food are highly over rated! There was no flexibility in dining choices - either eat it or leave it, and for some people with food sensitivities,this would have been a problem. We were shocked to discover that an 18% service charge was applied to everything including accommodations. When we arrived, we opened a bottle of wine in our room in the River Bend Lodge and discovered that there wasn't a glass of any kind, let alone a wine glass. I had to get in my car and go to the main lodge to get some glasses. We then decided to have our wine on the deck and had to retrieve grubby chairs from the other end of the building. It is a beautiful setting, but I could never recommend it to friends - the food is good, but certainly not gourmet and the rooms are average. Overall, it is highly overrated in tourist literature and overpriced.


A beautiful place in the wilderness

4,0 sur août 24, 2010

Trout Point Lodge is a delightful place to visit, and I would come back there at any time. It needs a bit of upkeep here and there, but it is truly a beautiful place. The staff was friendly and helpful.


Trout Point Lodge, Nova Scotia

2,0 sur août 23, 2010

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend. The dining was advertised as exceptional cuisine, however, we felt it was very ordinary and the seafood was not very well prepared. The room was spacious and okey. However, there was no proper lighting in the room if you wanted to read. In the bathroom, the tap for the bathtub/shower was connected backwards - the hot and cold water conections were crossed. Turning the tap toward the hot direction produced cold water and vice versa for the cold. Upon leaving our bill had a number of charges that were not related to our stay. Finally, the Lodge charges an automatic 18% Service charge to the total bill (accommodations & dining room). Taking this into consideration and the average quality of the experience, it is excessive. We would not recommend this lodge to anyone seeking an exceptional dining experience as it is promoted. The lodge is located in a very natural forest setting, which may be of interest to some people.


Relaxing & romantic

5 sur mars 03, 2009

We loved being able to relax away from the hustle and bustle of life, but my wife would say it was Josh (the lodge dog) that made the stay. The highlight was swimming and canoeing in the river and the marvelous candlelight dinner we had. All of the staff were so helpful and friendly--especially Kara, Claudia, and Nicholas. The hot tub was wonderful; overall, amazingly tranquil and beautifully done.


Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia

Détails

  • Prix par nuit CAD 169 - CAD 459
  • Avis (29) 4,7
  • Chambres 12
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9027612142
  • Fax 1-8009800713

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut