Oakwood Inn Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,3

Notation basée sur
35 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great Get-A-Way for the Money

4,6 sur avril 23, 2013

My wife and I were trying to get away for a few days and happened upon this place. It was costing us around the same price as hotels in the area, and it was still close to downtown Raleigh. We figured we would give it a try since we had never tried a Bed and Breakfast before. We loved it! We were in the Linden Room (which was great), and enjoyed the breakfast the following morning. The owners were very friendly, and knew a thing or two about food! All in all, it was a great stay! We'd gladly recommend it.


Great Raliegh Location -- Friendly Owners

4,4 sur avril 11, 2013

Historic location near all of downtown Raleigh. Owners were friendly but gave us privacy. When asked for places for dinner Gary was able to recommend many different local establishments. I recommend to a friend to stay.


One night in Raleigh...

4,2 sur septembre 06, 2011

We had a meeting early one Saturday morning in Raleigh and looked for a B & B to stay in. We liked the looks of Oakwood and booked for the Friday night before our meeting. Friends called Doris for a restaurant recommendation and she helped them out. They called her back and Doris had a nice 'invitation' waiting for us when we arrived with our dinner reservation printed on it for meeting our friends and she gave us directions. Breakfast was right on time and was very much a gourmet experience. We would stay here again! Mr. & Mrs. C, Concord, NC


Our first B & B experience

5 sur juin 17, 2011

Wonderful describes our room and the innkeepers! This was our first B&B experience and it has definately raised a high bar for everyone else! I don't have any complaints and would definately recommend them to anyone!


Pleasant Stay

4,0 sur mai 04, 2011

I am a seasoned B&B guest. The inn is withing walking distance of downtown shopping, restaurants and museums. Lovely home in historic neighborhood with other restored homes and carefully tended gardens. Room was pretty and very comfortable - decorated with antiques. Great bath towels, soaps. New TV in room which you don't often get in B&Bs and wireless which was great. Updated binder in the room with local shopping/restaurant info very helpful. Homebaked cookies and refrigerator with juices and sodas & water dispenser for refilling water bottles. Breakfasts were delicious and the front porch was perfect for reading/napping. Hosts are pleasant but busy people - they don't overwhelm you and are accessible by phone if you need them during the day. Helpful with printing boarding passes etc. Oakwood Inn rates up at the top for me.


A treasure in Raleigh

3,8 sur décembre 06, 2010

This grand old home is inviting, spacious, and a wonderful retreat in the historic district. The breakfast is hearty and the innkeeper was very accommodating to our dietary needs.


Wonderful,relaxing visit

5 sur septembre 05, 2010

very quiet, cozy, relaxing, close to things to do if you wish to go out, excellent strawberry pancakes with white chocolate, YUM!!!!!


Great place to stay!

5 sur août 12, 2010

Now that we're "empty nesters" my husband & I tend to stay in B&Bs. The Oakwood Inn ranks at the top of our list! It was quiet, comfortable, and very friendly. Gary & Doris provide a wonderful breakfast & snacks (including homemade cookies) are aways available. Our private balcony was very romantic and just the place to sit with a nice bottle of wine in the evening! The neighborhood is beautiful and a great place for a daytime or evening stroll. Can't wait to return! (from San Jose, California)


so cute

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2010

This is a splendid, historic and spacious house in Raleigh. Gary and Doris are so pleasant with their guests. the rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. A lovely place to stay for one or many days.


Beautiful house and neighborhood

4,2 sur juillet 09, 2010

We stayed in the Polk, which has an extremely comfortable king-size bed, and woke up to the sound of the fountain outside the window. This room has its own porch complete with swing. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit and the best pancakes ever. The owners were very friendly and helpful.


Best Bed & Breakfast Experience Ever!

5 sur juin 15, 2010

The Oakwood Inn was the nicest bed & breakfast I've stayed in to date. The accomodations were excellent. Gary & Doris were the perfect hosts and created an atmosphere that was friendly and relaxed. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were immaculate, the beds were very comfortable. The homemade cookies were an extra bonus! The Oakwood Inn is in a beautiful neighborhood and convenient to everything. Highly recommended. Would go back again.


Terrific base in Raleigh

5 sur juin 14, 2010

We had a great stay here, traveling with a friend. Our rooms (the Linden and the Pell) were spacious & nicely decorated; the beds were comfortable, yet supportive. Parking was easy in the lot behind the house. We appreciated the complimentary drinks & snacks, and really enjoyed the breakfast. As for location, the historic Oakwood neighborhood in downtown Raleigh is architecturally interesting and very walkable. Gary & Doris, the B&B hosts, gave us a walking-tour brochure that pointed out house-by-house highlights. All in all, a very enjoyable overnight stop on our way to the beach.


Lovely Place to stay

4,0 sur juin 13, 2010

We took an Amtrak from Charlotte to Raleigh and stayed overnight for the heck of it. This place is absolutely fabulous. The inn is built a hundred years ago and is a heritage site. The breakfast was mindblowing. Plus you get unlimited cookies, drinks and chips and dvd movies.


Great location

3,8 sur juin 13, 2010

Great location for exploring downtown Raleigh. Doris and Gary were kind and welcoming. We enjoyed the privacy of the Polk room---especially the side porch.


Fantastic Raleigh NC B&B

4,8 sur juin 13, 2010

The Polk Room was great, spacious, quiet and clean. The Inn was beautfully decorated, the hosts were top notch. Friendly, efficient, helpful and just nice people. The breakfasts were just too wonderful, not huge portions, thankfully, just enough. Fruit, juice, coffee and entree with meat. Perfect! The cookies in the afternoon were truly great.


Only B&Bs from now on!

5 sur mai 19, 2010

This was our first B&B experience, but after staying here I doubt we’ll ever stay in another chain hotel if we can help it. Gary and Doris really made the house feel like our home for two nights, and they gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities. They even invited us to join them out at one of their favorite places. We didn’t know what to expect from the rooms, but we found that they combined the best of hotels – well kept, secure, even with mini shampoos and bars of soap! – with the comforts and charms of home. All the rooms have a TV/DVD player and there is a DVD library downstairs that we were free to browse. Breakfasts were delicious – one featured white chocolate macadamia nut pancakes, another had feta and spinach quiche. The location was great as well – we walked to everything in the heart of Raleigh: the state capital, museums, governor’s mansion, city market, Oakwood Cemetery. The house is on the National Register of Historic Places, and other, similar Victorian-era houses surround it. We had a great time!


Great Location

3,2 sur mai 15, 2010

Oakwood Inn is in a great location. The homes in the area are beautiful. The rooms at Oakwood are large and roomy. Some of the bathrooms very small but living area is great.


Charming, homey and very comfortable

3,6 sur mai 15, 2010

Located in a wonderful, historic neighborhood. A quiet and lovely old house and within walking distance to local attractions. Gourmet, formal, full-service breakfast. (Note to those who are not morning people: you will be sitting at a big table with all your co-guests!). Beautiful rooms full of art and charm.


Historic Home in Old Raleigh

4,6 sur mai 13, 2010

We have stayed several times at the Oakwood and it has always given great service. Gary and Doris could not be more friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is wonderful - fresh fruit, juice, and an individual main course that is always unique and delicious. The rooms are immaculate and quiet.


accommodating and flexible

3,6 sur avril 26, 2010

They were very accommodating to my special requests which were late arrival time from the airport and special diet needs for breakfast. It was a lovely neighborhood and just a few minutes walk from downdown Raleigh and lots of historical sites, museums and shopping. Friendly folks!


Fun getaway

4,6 sur mars 23, 2010

Gary was a very nice innkeeper! He greeted us at the front door, gave us a little tour, and got us settled in our room. We stayed in the Linden room...beautiful! The bathroom was AMAZING! They had plenty of snacks, drink, and fresh baked cookies available. The breakfast was a bit light. We only got one slice of buttered toast. Other than that everything was wonderful!


What a wonderful place!

4,0 sur mars 12, 2010

My mom and I spent the night at the Oakwood B&B when we did a little 'gals roadtrip' to Raleigh. Not only was the room beautiful and spotless, but Doris and Gary were so helpful and the location can't be beat. We walked 3 blocks to the free bus that goes downtown when we went to see a play. I look forward to returning with my husband this summer.


I made thr the rright choice!!

5 sur mars 03, 2010

As seasoned travelers in England, staying at lots of B & B, we were very pleased with the accommodations. My 89 yr old mother and 14 yr old niece were impressed with the location, lovely neighborhood, welcoming innkeepers and helpful staff. I would highly recommend the Inn and we will stay there again. Maureen from Pittsburgh


Romantic stay

4,0 sur février 28, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful romantic night in our room with a fireplace and comfortable bed. The Oakwood Inn is in an historic neighborhood that is interesting to stroll through as well as close to museums and restaurants in downtown Raleigh. We'll be back to stay again.


We received individual attention

4,2 sur février 22, 2010

The inn was clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast was prepared and presented well. This is our second visit and the quality was as the first time.


Consistent Comfort and Creative Cuisine (breakfast)

5 sur janvier 04, 2010

I discovered this little gem of a B&B after getting some business in the Raleigh area, and as is my usual custom, began looking for alternates to staying at the large hotel chains. In a quiet neighborhood setting, this inn has everything you need for business stays - everything works, old lamps/locks/latches turn on or open with a satisfying "click", and the up to date technology (TV, A/C) is blended nicely with all the old-inn antiques and quirckiness that us inn enthusiasts appreciate. The innkeepers Gary and Doris are super friendly, and get to know you just enough to make your stay comfortable, but you feel like you have all the privacy of any hotel. Make sure you schedule your morning so as to leave enough time to enjoy the breakfast., it is fantastic and different every time Althrough I eat anything put in front of me, they always will ask about my breakfast preferences, allergies, etc. If you stay more than a couple nights, you must check out the DVD/VHS collection of classic movies old and new. All of the rooms are nice and unique, I've tried nearly all of them and you should too when you visit.


Highly recommended!

4,8 sur décembre 20, 2009

This is a very good b&b - comfortable Victorian rooms with modern bathrooms, central air conditioning, individual gas fireplaces, and high-speed wireless internet. Breakfast includes cooked and fresh goods that change daily, served in the dining room. Confortable living room and porch. Off-street parking. Located in the beautiful historic Oakwood district, near all downtown places and a short drive from NC State U. Innkeepers Gary and Doris are friendly and accommodating. It is a pleasure staying here.


Terrific Location with Wonderful Hosts

5 sur décembre 06, 2009

My wife and I found our room to be perfect, and, as the title suggests, the hosts as well. They were informative and helpful and gave us great guidance on what to do and see in Raleigh. The breakfast they served was excellent also. The location, just a few blocks from historic downtown Raleigh, was very convenient; we enjoyed our walk around the Victorian neighborhood. It was easy to get to and from the Oakwood coming from I-95, and well worth the half hour detour from that busy corridor into the peace and quiet.


nice pad

3,8 sur octobre 09, 2009

Great place to stay for business or pleasure. Very nice historic section of Raleigh--don't miss the unique governor's mansion nearby. The hosts are helpful but do not overdo it. They allow you your privacy. Nice snacks available, but they do need to add an icemaker to chill your champagne or whatever. Very tasty breakfast of baked turkey/egg/cream/cheese dish (I forget the name of it).


A Charming Visit to Raleigh

4,4 sur octobre 07, 2009

We only spent one night at the Oakwood Inn but it was charming. The Inn is in a great historic neighbor within easy walking distance of dowtown Raleigh restaurants, museums, etc. Great porches for reading or just sitting and talking. Breakfast was great and left us talking about shirred eggs and how we could have gone so long before discovering them. We look forward to our next visit.


Home Away from Home

5 sur octobre 05, 2009

We stayed in the newly remodeled Linden Room -- historic room, now bed and spa-like bathroom. Doris and Gary always make us feel like good friends.


One Word: Perfect

5 sur septembre 06, 2009

Was celebrating an anniversary and went to see a show in Raleigh. Wanted to treat the wife to something special and found this little gem. The word is perfect. Perfect room...clean, cozy, and great views. Perfect service...someone there to greet us, answer any questions, and helpful. Perfect value...the best for the price. Perfect breakfast...fruit, coffee, juice, milk, and this egg/potato/ham casserole the was superb. Perfect amenities...excellent views, little snacks/candies/cookies available to all, little fridge downstairs for beverages, WiFi, cable, and a great collection of DVDs. This place comes highly recommended.


nice stay

5 sur mars 11, 2009

nice stay


B&B stay

3,8 sur mars 03, 2009

A cozy and relaxing place to stay with very little to complain about. Breakfast was on the light side, though.


Great place ot stay

4,8 sur mars 03, 2009

I stayed at the Oakwood Inn on business. It's beautiful and convenient. There are porches and patios to enjoy the outside. Breakfasts are delicious!


Oakwood Inn Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $129 - $169
  • Avis (35) 4,5
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9198329712
  • Fax 1-9198369263
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8002679712
Haut