Bed and breakfast at Mallard Bay Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,9
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
50 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Thoroughly pleasant experience!

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2014

My husband and teenage daughter stayed at B&B at Mallard Bay over Labor Day weekend. It was a great value but the best part was meeting our hostess. She truly loves and knows the area and welcomes you into her home. We started each day with a relaxing and delicious cooked breakfast and delightful conversation. Our daughter loved staying with her and enjoyed checking crab traps. Highly recommended - just a short drive to Topsail Island and beach activities!


The Right Place to Stay

4,2 sur juillet 24, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here. It's away from the crowds for peaceful nights and beautiful mornings -with delicious breakfasts, and close enough to beaches, water activities, sight-seeing trips and Wilmington tourist attractions. Phoebe is a very charming and gracious hostess.


A wonderful place near Wilmington

5 sur juillet 23, 2014

Phoebe and her place are just wonderful. She is thoughtful about details, makes an incredible breakfast (tailored reasonably to your wants and needs) and knows where to go for good food, beaches… She has chairs and umbrellas for the beach, kayaks for the waterway out back and other things you might need. The bed is very comfortable and on the firm side. The separate sitting room with TV allows for some individual privacy as well. Add the sun porch overlooking the water and this is a real bargain.


Spring 2014 getaway

5 sur avril 07, 2014

Had a fabulous stay at the Bed and Breakfast at Mallard Bay. We took our two young children with us and it was just a wonderful time. Phoebe was very accommodating and had toys for the kids to play with at the house and toys for them to take to the beach too! and of course the breakfasts were wonderful as well! Will definitely go back again!

Réponse du propriétaire
thanks so much. Having you and the girls here was delightful.


Veteran's Day Get Away--2013

5 sur décembre 08, 2013

We visited the B&B for a short get away for Veteran's day 2013. Phoebe was an oustanding host. She has everything imaginable that you need for a great get away. I could imagine even staying for a week there. Her breakfast were outstanding and her coffee is yummie! She knows the area well and is very willing to help you with questions you may have about where to dine, what to do, etc. She is very personable and nice to sit and talk with. You will be very please you visited I am sure as we were! The Holeman's, Raleigh, NC

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. That helps so much when others check out the website. I enjoyed having you here and hope you come back.


Great Beachy B&B

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at the Mallard Bay B&B and it was great! Phoebe is delightful, the room is nice & clean, & it's close to great beaches. Breakfast was delicious both days, and Phoebe accommodated our needs for gluten free meals.


Get Away Weekend

4,6 sur juin 18, 2013

Recently had a get-away weekend, early June, and what a wonderful time was had. Breakfast w/ fresh fruit and eggs to order was great! Enjoyed the kayaking experience and the peacefulness of the home. Will definitely visit again!


Birthday week

5 sur mai 27, 2013

My husband and I spent my birthday week at Mallard Bay Bed and Breakfast and couldn't have wished for anything more. After warm greetings from the owner, beautiful accomadations, at a beautiful location, Mallard Bay became our home away from home. The owner became our guide to help us choose what was available to do in the area. Thank you, Ms. Phoebe, for making my birthday a memorable and special time. Perfect and highly recommened. I guarantee anyone they will enjoy Mallard Bay and will never forget the special breakfasts and wonderful conversation provided by Ms. Phoebe.


Third time's a charm

5 sur novembre 17, 2012

Our 3rd visit to Mallard Bay was even better than the first two but only because the weather was PERFECT! The B&B just gets better & better with the addition of a small TV in the bedroom to make checking the news & weather easy as p ie. We love spending time with Phoebe Hood, who makes us feel so much at home in her home that we can hardly wait until the next time!


My second trip in a month.

5 sur novembre 09, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our getaway weekend and I came back for a buiness trip. This won't be our last. Phoebe is delightful company / host and the area is quite compelling. Already looking forward to another trip.


Truly unique and one of a kind!

5 sur juillet 19, 2012

This was an amazing find! Being the only guest means you have undivided attention when you need something, but don't think that means Phoebe is always around. When we walked in the door she told us to make ourselves right at home and she meant it! It was the most relaxing weekend my husband and I have had in a very long time. Her breakfasts were very filling.. you have to try her pancakes!!! We will definitely be going back!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much. It means a lot to me to get a good review, and I enjoyed having you here so much.


Best Kept Secret in Hampstead, NC June 2012

5 sur juin 20, 2012

We can't say enough good things about Phoebe, The Inn at Mallard Bay and the awesome breakfasts. Bob & I felt right at home the minute we met Phoebe. Can't wait to stay there again. Kathy & Bob


Mallard Bay IS the ONLY choice!!!

5 sur juin 12, 2012

Stop right here. YOU just found where you are staying. Waking to gorgeous sunrises and delicious home cooked breakfasts, Mallard Bay IS the decision. Her home became ours with the lovely decorated bright and airy rooms and was amazingly accommodating for our two special needs sons. This bright, crisp, clean oasis will over exceed all of your expectations. Phoebe who could not have been more gracious was so helpful in planning our daily outings and our best time was joining her on the beach to help the turtles find their way back to the sea after hatching. We love Phoebe and can't wait to book again soon!!!!


Our favorite B&B!

5 sur mars 19, 2012

My husband's sister and brother-in-law live 4 houses up from Phoebe's wonderful B&B, so we've stayed with her many times. She is not only a wonderfully warm, genial, and very interesting hostess, she makes one crazy wonderful breakfast! Phoebe knows all the good restaurants and local activities, and she has all sorts of neat stuff to entertain you and any kids you might have with you. It's a great place to learn how to kayak in the easy-going ICC waterway in front of all the Mallard Bay homes. The living room part of the upstairs Suite has a fold out Queen-sized bed, and if you have kids who are not about to share a bed (i.e., boy/girl), she has roll cots too. It's one of the very best B & B's we've ever stayed at. And being 20 year verterans of staying in B&B's, that's really saying something!


Many wonderful stays.

5 sur février 23, 2012

We have loved coming here from the very first time. Phoebe is warm hearted and gracious, opening her beautiful home to us with great food, good conversation and lots of room. Just perfect for our needs. I am an artist and husband is a writer...this is just the space we need to give us new visions for our work and nurturing time for our relationship.


Wonderful stay at the Bed and Breakfast at Mallard Bay

5 sur octobre 28, 2011

My friend and I took our 34th trip together and stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at Mallard Bay in late September. We had such a good time! This B & B was well appointed, the breakfasts were perfect and what a lovely setting. Phoebe was a wonderful hostess and gave us valuable information on nature, parks and restaurants in the area. One morning I looked out through the sun porch windows and saw a porpoise! That is a great room for birdwatching. We could look out over the sound and watch the V's of migrating ducks. We put the kayak off the B & B dock and really enjoyed paddling in the sound and creek. We will certainly go back again and have been recommending this B & B at Mallard Bay to our friends.


A jewel on the North Carolina coast!

4,8 sur octobre 01, 2011

What can I say... if you find yourself visiting this area of the North Carolina coast, do not hesitate to stay in this wonderful bed & breakfast. Starting with the gracious innkeeper, Phoebe... what a kind soul! Being our first visit to the coast, she guided us with precision to all the places within the surrounding areas. Situated in a tranquil setting, the place is impeccably clean, tastefully decorated, with all the amenities for a comfortable stay. Furthermore, not only is the breakfast delectable, but the interesting conversations with Phoebe were quite fascinating. All in all, a memorable experience, and I will definitely plan to stay again.


Feels like home!

4,4 sur septembre 25, 2011

I've stayed in many B&B's, but this was the first time I felt truly at home. Phoebe is warm, welcoming, and generous, and she knows the area well. She was full of ideas about where I might go on little day trips, and loaned me whatever I might need. Her beach umbrella is super, and it was so nice not to have to bring any equipment of my own. I loved being on the waterway, and went out in the kayak every morning. When I felt hot or tired, I could put my feet up on her air-conditioned porch. I had a restful, rejuvenating time, and left having found a new friend.


Thanks for our babymoon

4,2 sur mai 26, 2011

Friends gave the gift of a weekend at Mallard Bay to us and we chose to use it for our babymoon. Phoebe was helpful and warm and made a great breakfast! She helped us to find a Friday night activity (we recommend the concert series at Airlie Gardens), a good restaurant- (Beauchaine's) and even a blueberry patch (so we could put her great recipe to use). Thank you forhelping us make great memories!


Mallard Bay, 11-13 March 2011

5 sur mars 23, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast has everything you would want. It is quiet, clean, comfortable with everything you might need; TV, WiFi, and extras. The two breakfasts that I had were delicious and the coffee excellent; blue berry pancakes with Maple Syrup for one and the other was eggs on muffins with bacon. Bacon at both breakfasts with orange juice, milk and coffee. You are on the intercoastal canal and boating is available. Highly recommended. SWH


Peaceful Get-A-Way!

4,0 sur février 27, 2011

My husband and I went to the Bed and Breakfast at Mallard Bay for our anniversary/my birthday. This was our first B&B experience and I have to say that we found the most amazing treasure in the B&B at Mallard Bay. Our stay was so relaxing and peaceful and Phoebe was the most amazing host. Her home is beautiful and the sun room that looks over the ICW is stunning. We had such an enjoyable stay, and plan to go back very soon. For you breakfast lovers you will be in for a treat with Phoebe's wonderful homemade French Toast and Pancakes. She also took into consideration the fact that I had special dietary needs. We appreciate this wonderful get away to Phoebe's home.My husband I highly recomend you experiencing this special nook. See you soon, Phoebe!


Remarkable experience

5 sur janvier 08, 2011

Having 2 very pleasant rooms, plus access to a sunroom with a refreshing view of the ICW and huge marsh made our week long end of the year retreat memorable. Excellent breakfasts, and appreciated her flexibility. Very quiet. Easy access to the beach, restaurants and Wilmington. We will be back and will recommend to family.


Better than Home Away From Home

5 sur novembre 29, 2010

We just returned from a three day stay at the Bed and Breakfast At Mallard Bay. It's as comfortable as home but so much, much nicer with water views, delicious homemade blueberry pancakes and a gracious innkeeper. This was our second stay but hopefully NOT our last!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much. I enjoy having repeat guests who become friends. Phoebe


The Perfect Combination

4,4 sur octobre 15, 2010

This was our first B&B experience so I was a little worried about whether or not it would be awkward being the only guests in someone's house. That was not the case at all with Phoebe. She was very hospitable but also gave us our space which we really appreciated since we were there to relax. She was also extremely accommodating when it came to our child. She included him in her meal planning and had many fun toys for him as well as other baby accessories it was nice to not have to bring along. You can tell she is a grandmother. Her yard is beautiful. The landscaping was very thoughtful but not overdone and the grass was the softest grass I have ever walked on. We enjoyed hanging out on the hammock and eating lunch out there too. The only negative thing I can say is I wish we had stayed a little longer.


A wonderful oasis at the shore

5 sur août 14, 2010

I wanted to help my parents celebrate their 56th anniversary with a short get-away vacation at the shore. This was an ideal place to stay--a home away from home, in a lovely, restful residence and beautiful natural surroundings. The lay-out of the suite worked really well for us. Phoebe is a terrific hostess who went out of her way to make my parents (senior citizens) feel comfortable, and her home accessible. She even recommended handicap-access ramps at the beach and looked into beach wheelchair availability for us. The breakfasts she served were wonderful--we felt pampered by the quality ingredients and the beautiful presentation of each meal, and we were well-fortified for the day's excursion. This is a wonderful oasis to return to after spending time at the beach and in Wilmington. Highly, highly recommended for restorative purposes!


Great Visit at Mallard Bay for our Family!!!

5 sur juillet 05, 2010

We spent the July 4th weekend at the B&B with our 3 children, ages 3 - 15. There was something for all of us to enjoy! Phoebe, the innkeeper, is such a wonderful person with a beautiful spirit. Our 3 year old just loved it there,,,he did not want to come home! Being a grandmother, Phoebe sure does have those little ones figured out! As soon as we arrived,,,which was not until 10:00 pm, our 3 yr. old son went straight to the closet full of books & toys that Phoebe has collected over the years,,,and we practically didn't see him again until he dropped into the bed at midnight. We had a very late check-in, which Phoebe graciously accomodated, so we missed our "real" first day,,,so since there were no guests checking in on Sunday, the day we had planned to leave, Phoebe allowed us to stay later than usual check-out time so that we could enjoy ourselves a little longer that day and told us "no hurry,,,leave whatever time we'd like". We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves kayaking, fishing, socializing with her great neighbors, trips to the beach, some great dining, and shopping on the island,,,but not to forget the best of all,,,talking with Phoebe. The photos posted online do not do the B&B any justice,,,,it is a really beautiful place. We really love Phoebe's ecclectic decorating style and enjoyed looking at all of her art pieces and trinkets she has collected from places all over. We can't wait to go back!!!


Wonderful Experience

4,8 sur juin 21, 2010

We felt fortunate to find this B&B so convenient to our family living in this area. The accomodations and atmosphere were delightful. This B&B is a perfect spot for anyone looking to relax and enjoy the many various land and water attractions in the Wilmington, TopSail Beach area. Our hostess could not have more accomadating.


Wonderful stay with two young children

5 sur juin 13, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our too-short stay with Phoebe at Mallard Bay. The house is on a beautiful, large lot with an enormous back yard large enough that we were able to fly a kite from it. The bright sunroom had great views of the adjacent waterways which we went kayaking in. Phoebe was extremely friendly and suggested a great outing for our family. She was very accommodating in allowing us to eat dinners at the house due to our infant and toddler. We look forward to returning in the near future. Many thanks!


coastal carolina at it's most peaceful

5 sur mai 15, 2010

a beautiful respite, incredibly beautiful views of the ICW and coastal birds, kayaking after breakfast and the most hospitable innkeeper you could find anywhere...phoebe is the best!


a home away from home

5 sur mai 12, 2010

its always hard to feel at home when you are on vacation, but i felt at ease and at home immediately while staying here. Pheobe is a wonderful hostess who constantly went out of her way to make us comfortable and found ways to integrate our lives into her home. Thank you so much for a memorable stay...we can't wait to come back again!


Wonderful & Relaxing

5 sur avril 29, 2010

This was our first time to stay at a bed & breakfast. Phoebe was very knowledgeable regarding area dining and services. She was a wonderful hostess. The breakfasts were amazing and the view was spectacular. The accommodations will make you feel right at home. We plan to go back again.


Awesome Weekend!!!

5 sur avril 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend so we decided to stay here. It was so great! It exceeded both of our expectations. Phoebe was so nice and the cooking was great. It felt like being at home. The suite was beautiful and everything was so clean. Phoebe was very helpful and able to give us tips on where to eat and what to do while we were there. We will be going back as soon as possible. Phoebe was even let in on the secret by my boyfriend that he was going to propose and helped. You will not be dissapointed if you stay here. :)


Berta

5 sur mars 16, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. I love your glassed-in porch. Comfortable while watching the boats go by or counting the birds at your feeders. Thanks for another great time.


Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

5 sur février 04, 2010

I was looking for a weekend getaway and this was the perfect place! The location, rooms, and hostess were outstanding. I plan to visit this place again!


Best B-n-B By Far

5 sur octobre 04, 2009

Accommodations prestine and the breakfasts were deliciously prepared and more than one could possibly eat. The suggested restaurants were excellent plus a planned days outing that could not have turned out better. Many thanks to our hostess for a most enjoyable week-end anniversary.


Heaven on Earth

5 sur septembre 11, 2009

Cannot say enough about Mallard Bay. The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous, the furniture comfortable, so beautiful and carefully chosen. Our hostess, Phoebe makes you feel as if her home were yours. She is multi-talented, from the decorating of her home with such warm colors and furnishings to her ultimate gourmet breakfasts. Baked French toast with fresh blueberries and apples, breakfast pizza, PLENTY of bacon and the best coffee anywhere around. And who can forget Miss Melba - our newly found pal! Can't wait to go back again!


August 09 stay

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2009

We had a very nice stay here. We have 2 kids--one a toddler--so I was a bit nervous but Phoebe made us very welcome. Breakfast was wonderful (Milan loved it!!!) and the weather was great too. Thanks for a lovely time!


Wonderful B&B

5 sur août 26, 2009

We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary at Mallard Bay the last weekend in May. It was a lovely B&B and Phoebe was an excellent host. Breakfast meals were so delicious and she had such a beautiful presentation with her meals. We really enjoyed our kayaking to Topsail Island and we had a wonderful dinner over at Sears Landing Grill at Surf City. Anyone would enjoy the peace and tranquility of Mallard Bay.


Another wonder visit

5 sur juillet 20, 2009

We just got back from our second stay at Mallard Bay. Phoebe was a gracious host and the breakfasts were wonderful. Having access to her kayaks is a real benefit. We spend several hours poking around the creeks and islands.


Relaxing Getaway

4,0 sur juin 29, 2009

We had such a wonderful time! We never expected to find such a peaceful hideaway. The suite was immaculate and very cozy. Leisurely hours spent just looking at the water from the sunroom. We cant say enough about Phoebe. She is such a gracious and engaging hostess and what a chef! The blueberry pancakes were divine!! We loved it so much we are already planning a return trip and hope to make this our "peaceful journey" for years to come. Thanks again Phoebe.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much for enjoying the rainy day in the sunroom with good books. Nice way to get a restful weekend.


wedding night

5 sur juin 16, 2009

we got married in topsail and used this as our wedding night away from the crowd. what a delightful experience!!! your place was very inviting and comfortable and very very clean!!! Your hospitalilty made our stay as great as it was. The food was incredible and we did take advantage of using the kayacks in the moring what a treat!! You don't get that at any other bed and breakfast! You made our wedding night very memorable! thank you so much !!!

Réponse du propriétaire
thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am so glad it worked out well for your wedding and wedding night. Hope you will come back to see me.


wonderful weekend

4,8 sur juin 08, 2009

As an older couple, my husband and I celebrated our first anniversity at Phoebe's home and we could not have made a better choice. She was absolutely the most gracious hostess we could have asked for. Her home is beautiful and she made us feel more like family than paying guests in her home. She shared her knowledge of the area with us so we were able to have a terrific time just roaming around. We are already planning another few days with her.


Great Place!

5 sur avril 06, 2009

We stayed at the bed and breakfast while visiting friends at the nearby marina. Phoebe is a great hostess and made delicious breakfast. The home was very neat and well kept. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I hope you will come again to visit during better boating weather. Phoebe


Sunset to sunrise

5 sur mars 28, 2009

Mallard Bay's accomodations were wonderful. The moon was full and Phobe made sure I watched it rise over the water. The sunrise was incredible. I wish I could have stayed longer and I intend to go back. I have food allergies and Phobe was great about helping me eat the foods that I needed. Highly recommend you try this little piece of paradise!


Wonderful Anniversary

5 sur mars 23, 2009

We really had a wonderful time here! Phoebe was very hospitable and tended to our needs. She was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us. We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone. We definitely will be going back! Thanks for everything, Phoebe!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks so much. You were really fun guests and I enjoyed sharing part of your anniversary with you both.


Mallard Bay is wonderful!

4,0 sur mars 09, 2009

We had such a wonderful, relaxing weekend with Phoebe. She is such a lovely person. It rained most of the weekend, so we had lots of time to decompress. I just love the sun room! Phoebe, thanks for everything.


Five Stars Plus

5 sur février 25, 2009

Expected a nice room - got a beautiful sleeping room and a sitting room equipped with a couch, wing back chair, CD player, TV and WiFi. Phoebe keeps her charming home immaculate. The apple/blueberry french toast in the morning was superb. My wife is the coffee expert, and she rates Phoebe's as among the best she ever gotten at a B&B. It's along way from New York to Hampstead, but we intend to return for a longer stay and will highly recommend to our children and their spouses that stay here when they travel anywhere near here.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much: that was a great review. I do hope you come back sometime. Phoebe


Beautiful!

5 sur janvier 03, 2009

We arrived around early evening on 12/29 and slept in the east facing bedroom so the morning sun was glistening on the water like diamonds as we opened our eyes. Pat allowed us to luxuriate and leisurely come down for what turned out to be brunch of scrumptious French toast, potatoes, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit..cantaloupe, mango, grapes, grapefruit..juice..the meal was lush and abundant as well as delicious. Pat was interesting to talk with and we met the red tailed hawk that lives there as well as the very friendly and well behaved dogs. It was a lovely environment and one I would love to share with the rest of my family as well next time. Highly recommended! Beautiful artwork every where..lovely furnishings, great books to explore and stunning natural beauty all around outside. One suggestion would be a door at the top of the stairs for more privacy for the guests..otherwise 5 star all the way!


my review

3,8 sur octobre 01, 2008

the only reason we gave it a ok was because we were expecting a private suite with no access to the main part of the house. Because this was our first anniversary, we probably would not have booked it if we had known that we would not have full privacy. It all worked out though because of the circumstances with our host. The house and view were great and it was very clean and cozy. It was also a great deal!


Is there a name for paradise?

5 sur septembre 22, 2008

Wow. I was not expecting a secret nook tucked away on the waterway to be my escape for the weekend. Mallard Bay is brimming with peace, tranquility, and an amazing energy that fills you back up. Practicing yoga on the deck, kayaking through Salt Marsh Channels, and eating the best breakfast are just a few of the treasures I discovered in this North Wilmington town.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much. That is a terrific review. Phoebe


Bed and breakfast at Mallard Bay

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $110
  • Avis (50) 4,8
  • Chambres 2
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9102703363
  • Portable 1-9106199686

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut