The Lily Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
145 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A Burlington gem close to Philadelphia

4,6 sur octobre 31, 2014

We were unable to get a B&B room in Philly due to a convention occurring at the same time we wanted to travel there, so we found the Lily Inn, which was about 20min from Philly. What we found in Burlington was a gem with two superb owners. The Lily Inn is in an historic building that is more than 300 years old - although it has been upgraded to modern standards, it maintains its colonial charm and original features. We would definitely stay at the Lily Inn again!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey guys.. Thanks for the wonderful review ... It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again. HUGS! Murray, Gene & Harold the dog


Beautiful, Carefree, Dog Friendly!

5 sur octobre 24, 2014

Wonderful place, great food, and super friendly hosts! Our dog was at home with theirs and even spend time watching TV with the hosts and other guests!

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey Guys and your dog as well... Thanks for the wonderful review and the kind words. Hope to see you again sometime in the future... Hugs, Murray, Gene and Harold the Dog


Great Stay

5 sur octobre 22, 2014

Comfortable, pleasant, and super location. Enjoyed every minute!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the wonderful review ... we are pleased you had a good time and we're looking forward to seeing you again. Hugs, Murray, Genie and Harold the dog


A Hidden Treasure

4,8 sur septembre 24, 2014

My wife and I spent an evening at the Lily for our anniversary. We were very pleased with the accommodations and could only find very small blemishes in the physical structure. What made the experience unique are the owners -- Murray and Gene. They are full of personality, warmth and charm. The breakfast was delicious -- french toast should not be missed and the breakfast bread (pumpkin I think) was moist and tasty. We will come back and use the location as a place to stay while visiting Philly.

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey Guys ... Thanks for the kind words.. if you could, please tell us about the small blemishes so we can corrector fix them. HUGS!!! Murray, Genie and Harold the Dog.


very personally support

4,2 sur septembre 20, 2014

very warm and supporting atmosphere sophisticated contact, humour, oriented toward well-educated people

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for your kind words ..however you felt we weren't up to snuff ..you gave us fours for Rooms, Value, Cleanliness and dining. We would be most grateful if you could tell us what you meant and what you think we could do to improve. Hugs, Murray, Gene, and Harold the dog


Another Great Stay at the Lily Inn

5 sur septembre 16, 2014

My Mom and I have been fortunate to find such a great place to stay when visiting family. Murray and Gene are very kind and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and clean. And the breakfast is always delicious!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for your great revue, thoughts, and kind words. HUGS! Murray, Gene & Harold the dog


Most Certainly a Home Away from Home

4,8 sur septembre 02, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, great hosts, they make you feel part of their family. Decor and history of the place is facinating. Hugs from across the pond. UK & Holland

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey Guys... Thanks for your thoughts and kind words. HUGS... Murray, Gene & Harold the dog.


A great place to stay, we will return!

5 sur août 24, 2014

Charming rooms and charming hosts.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the Kind Words!!! Hoping to see you again...


Believe me, you want to stay here.

4,6 sur août 22, 2014

The proprietors of The Lily Inn have made their historic property a truly wonderful haven of calm and welcome. The rooms are beautifully furnished, with great care and attention to the details of guests' comfort and ease. The innkeepers are knowledgeable about the history of the inn, the town, and the area. And the breakfast is wonderful - choose the French toast.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the very kind words. It was a privilege to meet and have you as guests. Thank again, Murray, Gene & Harold HUGS!!!


So much history packed into such a small charming town!!

5 sur juillet 30, 2014

The building is old, the people are great! Lots of history in such a small place! About 40min drive to New Hope PA. Lots of wineries. NJ is 5mins. The rooms are great... lots of modern amenities in such and old house. Perfect blend! Will Defiantly be back! Thank you, Chad & Bec

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the kind words. It was a privilege to have you as guests. HUGS!!! Murray, Gene & Harold


Wonderful Weekend

5 sur juillet 23, 2014

We booked the Lily Inn because it looked nice online, and was in a great location for our needs. We had several family events to attend, and wanted a comfortable and clean place to stay- close to those events. The Lily Inn exceeded our expectations, from the room we stayed in, to the comfortable bed, the great garden area, with its warmth and charm, to the Inn keepers, Murray and Eugenia- we felt as welcome as family, and as comfortable as being home. Wayne and Margie Vogel

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey Guys... ... thanks for the kind words. It's always nice to add to our family, and thanks for accepting us into yours. Hopefully will get to see you in the near future .. Murray, Gene & Harold ... HUGS!!!


WIsh I could have stayed longer

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2014

I was greeted enthusiastically when I walked in. The initial tour was informational, fun, and entertaining. The building is beautiful and I wished that I could have explored the area more before heading home. I had to leave early the following morning so I was unable to enjoy breakfast - but I'm sure I would have been pleased with it if I could have stayed. The room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and the mattress on the bed gave me the best nights sleep of my trip. I will be back. Thank you again!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for the kind words and the good review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again. HUGS!!!


Recent Stay at The Lily Inn

5 sur juillet 13, 2014

We recently returned (July 13) from the Lily Inn and I had to write this review. Gene and Murray are the consummate hosts. Their both historical and lovely home is truly a home away from home. Our beautiful room was on the top floor with every amenity you would want for both comfort and convenience. Breakfast was one of sustenance and simply delicious. I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful historic B&B in Burlington, NJ. I plan to stay there the next time we are in the area. Thanks for sharing your lovely home and making our journey one of comfort and happiness!

Réponse du propriétaire
We want to thank you for the review and the wonderful words and the nice and thoughtful things you posted. Looking forward to seeing you again ... HUGS!!!!


amazing place, wonderful people

5 sur juillet 10, 2014

It's like a throwback 300 years ago, the place is gorgeous. Murray and Genie were great, the warm hugs of Murray will make you feel very welcome. Genie fed us with not just nutritious breakfast but shared her knowledge on the history of Burlington and nearby towns, just perfect for our 4th of July weekend.

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey Guys... Thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you and come on back for ...HUGE HUGS!!!


Great place to stay!!!!

5 sur juillet 07, 2014

The charm and history of Burlington is enhanced by the wonderful hospitality of The Lily Inn. Murray and Genie are perfect hosts that make you feel like family! Enjoy a glass of wine on the back patio in the serene setting. Take in the history of the Burlington area! This is a real gem! Best B&B I've ever stayed at, hands down!!! Ask for the famous French Toast! With much affection, R. Boylan

Réponse du propriétaire
Het Ron ... Thanks for the kind review ...Big Hugs.. an hope to sing along together again


The Best Darn B&B in the universe, known and unknown.

5 sur juin 25, 2014

If heaven has a B&B this would be it. From the second we arrived at the Lilly Inn Jean and Murray made us feel like family. The rooms are the cleanest we've seen anywhere, the breakfast was outstanding and our hosts were extremely accommodating. Whenever we return to the Philly area you can be sure that the Lilly Inn will be our only choice to rest our heads and fill our stomachs and most of all visit our new best friends, Jean and Murray.

Réponse du propriétaire
Once again ... THANKS for you kind words. We are grateful to be admitted into your circle of friends. Looking forward to your next visit ..Genie,Harold and myself send you HUGS!!!


Friendly Folks at Lily Inn

4,0 sur juin 22, 2014

The Sonsteins were exceptionally friendly and helpful in providing information about the area. Also enjoyed meeting Harold, the adorable Yorkie.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for posting the nice review HUGS, Murray, Gene and Harold


Outsatnding B&B

5 sur juin 21, 2014

Beautiful Inn and a beautiful location. Murray was a walking history book and a fantastic cook. Learned much about the town and didn't have to take a test. We will be back!

Réponse du propriétaire
Genie and I want to thank you for your wonderful review ...it was a pleasure meeting you. Oh.. Harold sends a Hug as we do. HUGS!!


Immaculate B&B in fascinating town

4,6 sur juin 20, 2014

I cannot recommend this inn highly enough. Burlington is a fascinating, incredibly historic town, and this B&B is in the heart of the historic district, within walking distance of restaurants, bars, beautifully maintained houses and churches, and the Delaware River. The B&B building itself has been meticulously restored inside and out, with none of the kitchy aesthetic you often see with B&Bs. The room I stayed in was gorgeous and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The innkeepers are fantastic -- very knowledgeable about the history of the town, and really easy to talk to. They're also great in that they're happy to chat if you want to chat, but also happy to leave you alone if you want a more solitary stay. I also appreciated the fact that you don't feel like you're staying in someone's private home, which is always awkward. The town of Burlington is relatively close to both Philly and Princeton, and this inn would be a great place to stay if you want to save a little money and avoid the noise and traffic of Philly. This inn ranks among the top of all the places I've ever stayed in. I'll definitely be back.

Réponse du propriétaire
Genie and I want to thank you for the wonderful review. We are more than pleased that you liked our fair town, and the kind personal words you had to say about us. HUGS!! Murray, Gene and Harold


Burlington NJ Treasure

5 sur mai 22, 2014

While in Burlington for a wedding, we hoped to find a convenient location in the Historic District for overnight. The Lily Inn was perfect. We were warmly welcomed into this meticulously restored historic house with a beautiful private garden. The room and bath were spacious, well appointed and comfortable, with good light for reading. Breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend the Lily Inn and would happily return.

Réponse du propriétaire
Never too late ...sorry it took us a while to respond to your review ... and thank you for your wonderful recommendation. Looking forward to seeing you again.. HUGS... Murray, Gene & Harold (the dog)


Historic and friendly

4,0 sur avril 17, 2014

Everything was perfect; exceptionally delicious French Toast. but one small suggestion allow an egg too!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks for posting your kind review ...I can send to a egg via FedEx, or you can come back and I will make sure you get the proper amount of eggs. :-) HUG! Murray, Gene & Harold


1 Night, 2 outstanding owners!

4,6 sur avril 04, 2014

Apart from all the nice things that others have already mentioned please listen to this: Early in the morning I left the hotel for a business meeting in Bordentown. I am from Germany so I had no knowledge of the area. I found out that my GPS was out of power and I did not realise that the day before since the GPS had just enougth battery power to bring me to Burlington from Newark Aiport. Without GPS I was not able to find my business contact, not to think of finding my way to to the airport in time to catch my flight back to Europe. I told Murray that I was in jeopardy and after some calls he drove with me to Philadelphia airport to get a new rental, and GPS. He totally saved my day and my flight home! Thanky you again for everything :)

Réponse du propriétaire
Gotten Tag.. Thanks for the wonderful review ...it was our pleasure to help you with you car and the trip to the airport. That's what we're here for. To make you comfortable and hel[p those in need. HUGS Murray & Gene


Awesome Place!

5 sur mars 17, 2014

This was the first time me and my boyfriend stayed at the Lily Inn and we will definitely be back. Murray and Eugenia were excellent hosts and made us feel like we were home. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We did not have much time to explore around the area, but we plan on doing that in the future and will stay at the Lily Inn! I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!


perfect!

5 sur février 22, 2014

We stayed with Murray and Gene this past week en route north from the DC area. They welcomed us with open arms (literally--Murray has a plaque on the wall declaring him a "hugger"!) and we felt like we were catching up with old friends. The building was gorgeous--beautiful refurbished floors and decor, but it was the innkeepers that made all the difference. We traveled with our pre-teen son and our little dog and felt so comfortable that we allowed them to hang out in the living room the next morning while my husband and I took a quick jaunt through the antique shop down the road. We'll be back!


Lovely stay

4,8 sur février 22, 2014

The innkeepers Virginia & Murray were very hospitable! We were very impressed by the charm of the Lily Inn! Take the time to drive along the Delaware river along the very scenic Routes 29 in NJ & 32 in PA.


Eclectic Charm and Elegance

5 sur février 20, 2014

The Lily Inn was gracious enough to donate a nights stay at the inn to be auctioned off by a local charity group benefitting the South Jersey Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. My husband and I were lucky enough to be the winners of this stay. The Lily Inn was warm and inviting on a snowy Saturday in February. We were met by Murray and Harold the resident pooch! Murray gave us a tour of the historic inn and it is beyond gorgeous. The inn is fully remodeled with modern conveniences but still keeps it’s period charm. The furnishings are antique and beautiful. Our room was very private with a comfortable bed and spa-like shower. Murray provided us with a walking map of the historic city of Burlington. We enjoyed touring around on foot as all of the sites and attractions, including the Delaware Riverfront, are nearby. The next morning we dined on a breakfast of French Toast and bacon which was delicious! The French Toast is a must-order. My husband and I have stayed at Bed & Breakfasts throughout the United States and abroad and the Lily Inn is by far one of the finest! If you are ever in the area, skip the big chain hotels and be welcomed like family at The Lily Inn. -The Humphries / Feb. 2014


5 stars all the way!

5 sur janvier 27, 2014

Stayed at the Lily Inn this past Saturday night. Simply fabulous! The Inn is warm and inviting as are the innkeepers, Murray and Gene. And the décor is outstanding...a feast for the eyes in every direction. Breakfast was delish...Murray's French Toast is very yummy! Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the kind words .. it was our pleasure, and looking forward to seeing you again


Unique and Surprising B&B !

4,0 sur janvier 03, 2014

The Lily Inn hosts are unique and surprising at every turn! You will not be disappointed in this beautifully restored historical gem in Burlington, NJ. Very memorable stay at the Lily Inn!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thanks ... our aim is and was to make you comfortable and welcome ..apparently we succeeded. I hope you were speaking about the building being an historical gen and not me. Hope to see you again


Historical Charm

5 sur décembre 02, 2013

We only stayed one night and wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay there again should we get up that way. Our hosts were perfect and very knowledgeable about the history of the house and the surrounding area. You have to try Murray's french toast for breakfast!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are happy you had a great time ..look9ng forward to seeing you again


Vows at the Inn that will last forever!!

4,8 sur décembre 01, 2013

My wife and I held my only son's wedding here at the Lily Inn about three weeks ago, WHAT AN INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! The hosts, Murray and Jean were the most hospitable and accommodating hosts anyone could ask for, providing incredible service, from assisting with setting up and display of all of the reception right inside the beautiful dining room, parlor room and kitchen to their immaculate and considerate decorating of the patio and back yard areas where the wedding was held! Whether it was a request from the bride, groom, or the fussy parents (us,) all was done so professionally and tastefully that it makes you blush with a huge smile! The rooms were immaculate, food was incredible, all guests couldn't stop raving of the fairy tale wedding "we" put together, All wanted to stay the night themselves, all promised to return to do just that!! The Groom and bride are lost in a fairy tale wedding complete with the honey-moon overnight stay, they just called me and don't want to leave!! I know I can't stop raving, but seriously,....If you're considering ANY type of event, or just want to experience the perfect intimate getaway, THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO BE!!!!! The Lily Inn, the new-found jewel of South Jersey, the place that will remain in our hearts and our memories forever!! Can't wait to come back!!

Réponse du propriétaire
Hey guys... Your review was thrilling to see. We could not be more pleased that it met your expectations. From your words, it was beyond even that. Once again thanks ,, your thoughts are heart warming. Sorry it took so ,late to reply to them


Perfect romantic getaway

4,0 sur décembre 01, 2013

Great room with a wood burning fireplace...perfect for a very cold night. Excellent romantic getaway.


Best B&B Ever

5 sur novembre 28, 2013

Lily Inn is by far the nicest, friendliest and most interesting B&B we have ever stayed in. The building is over 300 years old, appointed beautifully and well maintained. Moreover, our hosts, Murray and Eugenia, were gracious and treated us like family! The pictures on the web site are nice and representative but don't do the property full justice, as the rooms are more spacious than the photos would suggest and there is quite a bit of common area space inside. We stayed in the Lydia Richie room, which is all the way at the top of the stairs and found it very comfortable and quiet. I suppose the ultimate recommendation is that we will certainly stay at the Lily In again the next time we are in town. Highly recommended!


CONTINUED.... I'm typically not a review writer, but anything for The Lily Inn :)

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

In the morning, we went down for breakfast at around 8:30 and had the choice of eggs (any way you want), pancakes, or French toast in addition to sausage or bacon. There was toast with a scrumptious strawberry jelly spread with actual chunks of strawberry in it--that was a big treat for my boyfriend. We also had a delicious mix of yogurt with strawberries and blueberries and any drink of your choice. We had a great conversation with Murray while eating and it was just like chatting with a close friend. He has a lot of knowledge on the historical city of Burlington and just about life in general. Murray truly is quite a guy and I wish we could've spent more time with him and his sweetheart of a wife, Gene. The couple also have the cutest Yorkie named Harold--the same dog I have home--which gave me even more of a sense of that homey, comfortable feeling and will snuggle right up next to you, no problem. I also thought that it was great that this place was Pet Friendly. Heck, they're Everyone Friendly! Overall, The Lily Inn truly is a lovely getaway with a wonderful atmosphere and even more fantastic people. Clean, comfortable, friendly, non-intrusive, and worth it. I kid you not, you will not be disappointed with this choice for a B&B. We decided that we will take this trip annually, and hopefully be able to stay for more than one night. Murray and Gene, we will see you sooner than later and we thank you so much for such a memorable experience. You truly made our anniversary more special than we could've ever imagined and exceeded our expectations of a bed and breakfast. We can't thank you enough!!!!! Until next time :)


I'm typically not a review writer, but I just HAD TO for The Lily Inn :)

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

NOVEMBER 10th-11th STAY: My boyfriend and I just celebrated our one year anniversary and wanted to do something different, so we decided on a B&B. We live in northern Jersey (Bayonne) and after Googling a number of places, I had my heart set on The Lily Inn since the minute I saw it. Let me just tell you, if you want to get away, feel like you're staying with family (family that you actually like!), and experience a little bit of history while relaxing and soaking in some natural beauty--GO TO THE LILY INN. I GUARANTEE, you will not be disappointed!!!! The inn is on High Street in Burlington, NJ where a bunch of Mom and Pop shops are also located and the area just has a very welcoming feel. There is parking literally right outside and by the look of the building you would never realize this place's immensity. Upon arriving, we were greeted by Murray, who just might be one of the friendliest and coolest guys I know. He gave us a tour of the place, which is over 300 years old, but a lot of work went into the house and it shows. The hard wood floors remained and they are absolutely beautiful. The kitchen is to die for and the vast backyard makes you feel like you're in a majestic wonderland. We were able to see the inn's entirety, which included a number of different and VERY CLEAN rooms for all groups of people--young, old, families, couples, you name it. My boyfriend and I stayed on the third floor suite and couldn't have been more pleased. The bed was one of the top three comfiest beds I've ever slept in and the shower is a vacation in itself! What more can you ask for. You also control the temperature in the room with an easy-to-use central heating/air conditioning thermostat which was perfect for my boyfriend and I because we HATE being hot. There are also two fans with multiple speeds in the spacious suite as well as a lovely fireplace located right next to the bed.


"Just Loved the Lily Inn!" XO

5 sur novembre 07, 2013

October 2013 This truly was a dream come true for me and my son. The Lily Inn is full of hugs & warmth & Angels & Fairies. We were welcomed warmly with hugs from Jean, Murray, Harald, and the girls! The Lily Inn is a magical place. It's beautiful, clean, & cosy! The French Toast is awesome! It was great to have the Delaware River and Antique shops so close by to walk to every day. Being here the week of Halloween was fun with all the scary decorations. Happy Birthday Harold. Xo. I just loved everything about staying at "The Lily Inn". I am so grateful to have found you! Thank you! Love & Hugs, Nancy & Peter


Estatic & Overwhelmed!

5 sur novembre 03, 2013

My wife and I held my only son's wedding here at the Lily Inn, WHAT AN INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! The hosts, Murray and Jean were the most hospitable and accommodating hosts anyone could ask for, providing incredible service, from assisting with setting up and display of all of the reception right inside the beautiful dining room, parlor room and kitchen to their immaculate and considerate decorating of the patio and back yard areas where the wedding was held! Whether it was a request from the bride, groom, or the fussy parents (us,) all was done so professionally and tastefully that it makes you blush with a huge smile! The rooms were immaculate, food was incredible, all guests couldn't stop raving of the fairy tale wedding "we" put together, All wanted to stay the night themselves, all promised to return to do just that!! The Groom and bride are lost in a fairy tale wedding complete with the honey-moon overnight stay, they just called me and don't want to leave!! I know I can't stop raving, but seriously,....If you're considering ANY type of event, or just want to experience the perfect intimate getaway, THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO BE!!!!! The Lily Inn, the new-found jewel of South Jersey, the place that will remain in our hearts and our memories forever!! Can't wait to come back!!


Great Lodging, Historic Area

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

We stumbled upon this treasure because we wanted to stay closer to the restaurant in Bristol PA where we celebrated my mom's 75th birthday. We will not stay anywhere else when we visit the area in the future (provided there is room). The accommodations are clean and filled with old world charm, and the innkeepers, husband and wife team Murray and Jeannie, are generous, welcoming and friendly. If I could I would give this place more stars.


Fun time at the Lily Inn

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

We had a great stay. You get a small history tour inside too. It was a fun time with great hosts. Thanks guys!


You have to try the french toast

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

We stayed in the Lily Inn for two nights as our base to visit Philadelphia. Murray and Eugenia made this an extremly pleasant experience. Muray, the certified hugger, gave us a tour of the house to explain everything to us. He also introduced us to Harold, the Hong Kong watchdog with british roots. If you want to find out more you have to visit the Lily Inn. Also, don't miss out on the French Toast. Murray will advertise it anyway. The house is some 300 years old. The furniture, although not original, fits the setting very well. The beds was extremly high but also extremly comfortable. In essence, I can only recommend this place. You will not regret it.


Stay at the Lily Inn

4,6 sur septembre 24, 2013

Our stay at the Lily Inn was wonderful. Genie and Murray are excellent hosts and the breakfast was delicious! If you're looking for a quiet, quaint place to get away, this is the perfect place. The area is full of unique history and a block away from the Delaware River. The Inn is very warm and inviting. The rooms are nice and clean but old and full of antique furniture. It's a beautiful touch but beds, floors, doors, etc. squeak and creak all night. Better suited for older bed and breakfast goers.


An Oasis in NJ

5 sur septembre 23, 2013

From the time we arrived till the time we left, it felt like we were visiting old friends. The owners are friendly, helpful and yet gave you the space you needed. The inn itself was quaint, yet modern. The breakfast (Murrary's famous french toast). was incredible. The best part was spending time in the backyard with the other guests on Saturday afternoon. Everyone had a chance to talk about their day, what they had seen and recommendations for dinner. Since I live in NJ, this would certainly be my oasis for a relaxing weekend. I am so glad I found it.


A true gem

5 sur septembre 19, 2013

Murray and Eugenia are the most wonderful hosts, you feel at home the moment you enter this beautiful Inn. Charming rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, we had un unforgettable stay and will definitely come back. Barbara and Robert


Inn Credible!

5 sur septembre 12, 2013

Wonderful Inn with very friendly innkeepers. I stay there frequently.


Second time here

5 sur septembre 04, 2013

I have really enjoyed the Lily Inn. It is a clean, comfortable, and inviting place to stay. Jean and Murray are always friendly and accommodating. It is also a great place for my toddler and I to rest after a busy day at Sesame Street. It is an incredible value and I would recommend to anyone travelling to the Burlington area.


Personality abounds at The Lily Inn

4,6 sur août 04, 2013

The Inn has its own history in a town that has fascinating stories to tell. Some history and stories are shared upon arrival. Great food and hospitality make this B&B my first choice in Burlington.


lily inn

5 sur août 04, 2013

The hospitality was second to none and the breakfast was perfect!


Home from home!

3,6 sur août 02, 2013

After the long haul from Sweden, we were pleasantly surprised by our accommodation and its location. A friendly and helpful atmosphere helped us relax, with an added bonus of meeting Harold Dog!


Wonderful!

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

Murray & Eugenia were an absolute pleasure! The Inn was tastefully decorated, no cost was spared with renovating this beautiful property. The atmosphere was relaxed, you felt "at home" immediately! The room was spacious, clean, luxurious and comforting. We will be back again & again, not only for the beautiful accommodation's, but to visit our new old friends, Murray, Eugenia & Harry the dog.


Relaxing!!

5 sur juillet 10, 2013

Stayed at Lily Inn for a few days. Murry & Eugenia are wonderful hosts.The Inn feels just like home, warm & inviting. Great historic area with a short walk to the Delaware River. Great garden with lots of song birds. Stayed in the top floor suite which was warm and relaxing with a great modern shower. The morning breakfast table is very charming with guests from all over the world. The conversations over breakfast were very nice. Loved the French Toast. This is my Bed & Breakfast of choice when I visit my Daughter & Granddaughter.


An oasis

3,4 sur juillet 04, 2013

We stayed two nights. On arrival the hosts seem confused about our confirmed reservation. We were given a street side room instead of the garden view we had reserved.


Amazing

5 sur juillet 01, 2013

My stay at the Lily Inn was great. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The showers were fantastic. The breakfast was delicious. The service was 5 stra all the way. The river is seconds away from to walk along. I would reccomed this Bed and Breakfast to anyone.


Fabulous place!

5 sur juin 08, 2013

We stayed at the Lily Inn for 4 nights and had a great time! It was so warm and inviting. The room was beautiful and spacious. I can't say enough about the breakfast! Wow! No matter what you get it's delicious but the french toast is incredible!!! Mmmm


A friendly, charming B & B

4,8 sur mai 30, 2013

It felt like visiting friends to return to the Lily Inn. This is a historic building in the oldest part of Burlington, within a short walk to the river promenade and wonderful restaurants. Each room is charming and comfortable, and the ambiance is intimate and homey--a huge change from the large soulless hotels that are the alternative. The innkeepers, Murray and Genie, are warm and welcoming. This was my third visit, and I look forward to future stays.


Fantastic stay

5 sur mai 27, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Murray ws incredibly welcoming and knowledgable about the area. Learned a lot and had a great stay. The grounds were beautiful and very conveniently located.


first time visiting and iy wont be the last time

4,6 sur mai 19, 2013

When I thought about a bed a breakfast I thought I was going to be confined to my room because of lack of things to do or lack or interaction. When I made my made my initial visit to tour Lily Inn I wasn't sure if it were for me. I was glad to be wrong. The owners Jean and Murray made me feel welcomed. I wasn't just "another potential customer". They took time to ask about what I wanted to get out of my stay and what were things that I liked to do and it made me feel like I was at home, with people I have known for years. All of the other guests were friendly and we hosts Jean and Murray made sure to incorporate everyone at breakfast. It was a fabulous experience and I plan on making it a twice a year a trip. Three if I can push it. Thanks forever for making my birthday one to remember -Shaina Wiley


Very Pleasant accommodations.

4,6 sur mai 04, 2013

Hosts are very pleasant. Interesting history Exellent overall experience highly recommended


Loved It!

5 sur avril 29, 2013

My fiance & I went to the Lily Inn to celebrate our 6 year anniversary. Our stay was perfect. The owners/operators were very nice and inviting. The Inn was very peaceful and private. I would HIGHLY recommend it to everyone.


Delighted at The Lily Inn

4,8 sur avril 07, 2013

My wife and I recently took a business trip to Burlington, and our client put us up at The Lily Inn. We had been expecting a generic hotel chain. Instead we got warm personal service, gorgeous and classy surroundings, a quiet, comfortable and spacious suite, and a delicious breakfast complete with a history lesson. We highly recommend the Inn and look forward to going back.


Expect The Best!

5 sur mars 04, 2013

First and foremost our stay at the Lily Inn was absolutely fantastic. Murry and Jean made our trip begin with a hug and end with an experience that cannot be recreated by anything other than a lovely family who opens their home to travelers passing through. As promised Murry, I have done my research and the reason the the binary system ends with 8 is because if it where to use a base 10 you would lose the capacity to use the numbers below 10. http://www.kerryr.net/pioneers/binary.htm check out that link to see a bit more. I couldn't find anything about the number 9 though. But back to the review... I highly recommend anyone who is interested in an excellent experience in historical Burlington to consider the Lily Inn as their destination. My fiance and I will be returning, very soon hopefully! -Sam & Jeanne


Great time at the Lily Inn - historic Burlington, NJ

5 sur février 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this beautifully restored home. You feel like you stepped back in time from the moment you enter. Murray and Eugenia are gracious hosts and really go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We highly recommend the french toast for breakfast! This is a great way to experience historic Burlington.


A little bit of home in Burlington, NJ

4,0 sur février 18, 2013

The Lily Inn was a hidden gem. Murray, Eugenia, & Harold were delightful hosts. A quick getaway for holiday/birthday wkend, wanting nothing more than to relax. Princeton, Philly, or a # of towns is available, but we chose to stay local. The inn itself is wonderful: music room downstairs, where I parked myself, reading materials, fresh Keurig cocoa, next to the fireplace; amazingly modernized kitchen, w/o looking it. There are snacks, a Keurig, a small fridge w/ drinks, & an ice dispenser. The weather wasn't appropriate for outdoors, however, the garden looked lovely. Location is great: the end of High St., quietly 1 block from the water. Breakfasts were delightful (Murray's French toast, specifically) and the company was enjoyable as well. We stayed in the J. Howard Pugh Suite for the fireplace & "car wash" shower. Our room was fantastic, spacious, & toasty-bed & bedding-super soft down & down-alt. pillows w/ really warm comforter. Small workout rm with a bike & treadmill on the same floor, & 2nd floor has a cozy library with TV (2nd floor rooms do not have TV's). Lastly, an email regarding my husband's bd- no request, just a mention- garnered cupcakes & "Happy Birthday" (from all the guests) at breakfast Sunday morning. A thoughtful and generous touch!


Lovely historic charmer

5 sur janvier 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lilly Inn for an evening while visiting my family in the Philadelphia area. Our hosts were gracious and we felt right at home from the moment we walked in. The fantastic artwork and historic charm of the 1700's bed and breakfast comforted us during our visit and the location was extremely convenient. We enjoyed a stroll along the river and popped into a few restaurants and antique shops within walking distance. There is a lot of history in the area and we will surely be back for an extended stay. The bed we slept in was so comfortable I wanted to just lay there all afternoon! Thanks to the proprietors for their engaging conversation regarding history and their hospitality.


A night at the Lily Inn.

5 sur décembre 30, 2012

I had to be in Burlington for one night the day after Christmas and chose to treat myself with a stay at the Lily Inn. I was not disappointed. This beautiful historic inn has wonderful and comfortable rooms, is sparkling clean, well appointed with antiques and so very welcoming. The proprieters were friendly, helpful and even got up very early to prepare me breakfast before I left for work. I would definitely return and highly recommend a stay to others.


A British Quality B&B

5 sur décembre 22, 2012

A stupendously good b&b in a town that will become a great destination in the very near future -- character, history, and charm. The owners are very welcoming and informative. This B&B is a must visit!


Best B&B I have ever been too

5 sur décembre 19, 2012

From the history and comfort of the rooms to the couple that owns it, it is going to be hard to Find a better bed and breakfast to go to with my wife


Hidden treasure!

5 sur décembre 19, 2012

Hmmm, where to begin? The owners of the Lily are wonderful! You feel welcome the minute you step foot in the door. The inn is warm and inviting, the rooms are spacious yet cozy. This little gem is not to be missed.


Weekend getaway

5 sur décembre 18, 2012

We had a lovely weekend getaway...the innkeepers are very helpful and friendly.... and lets don't for get our little friend Harold...he is so cute. Breakfast was great. J & K


Really nice B&B in a very unexpected location.

5 sur décembre 13, 2012

My daughter is going to UPenn and I was looking for somewhere we could stay in the area, while making a bit of a vacation. The B&B was less than half an hour from her dorm, was absolutely charming and cost the same or less than staying in something much more impersonal in Philadelphia. The hosts were great and the rooms really lovely.


Getaway

5 sur décembre 03, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent the night at this B&B we found on the web. If your looking for a quiet cozy getaway with a warm staff and great breakfast this is the place to stay.


The best B&B experience we've ever had.

5 sur décembre 03, 2012

We needed a place to stay overnight in Philadelphia and we found The Lily Inn while searching online. For the same price as a two star hotel in Philly, we drove across the river and found a 5-star B&B. The house itself is lovely and the furnishings are of the best quality, even to the down pillows and comforters on the bed. Our hosts were genuinely warm and welcoming and made us feel at home right away. We loved that there were snacks and drinks available all the time, but the full breakfast was amazing. Cooked to order and every bite a delight. The french toast is especially good. We plan to stay again next time we're in the area and take some time to explore the charming town, as well.


What a great time!

5 sur novembre 27, 2012

The Lily Inn was a wonderful experience for me. It was the first B&B I have stayed at and it was so warm and welcoming and gracious. Having the amenities of internet and snacks and a full breakfast was wonderful. Thanks so much.


Excellent

5 sur novembre 14, 2012

The Lily Inn is a great place to stay. Murray and Genie are the definition of perfect hosts, warm, gracious and genuine. The Inn itself is a great old house, and the rooms are fantastic. If you ever have the chance to stay there, do so, you won't be disappointed. We are definately going back to visit. Go for the French Toast breakfast, you will love it.


All I can say is WONDERFUL

5 sur novembre 13, 2012

I came up for a meeting in PA and stayed here due to the hotels being booked up from the hurricane Sandy aftermath and man was I surprised. I was greeted at the door with a big hug from Murray "The Town Hugger." He even has an award on the wall for being the "Town Hugger". From the hospitality of the Sonsteins, to the amazing breakfast, to the "to die for" beds and pillows, the entire stay was wonderful. You also have to also try the local tavern called "Legends Tap". Great sandwiches, pizza and drinks at a great price. I would recommend this B&B to any and all travelers who want to have a great time in a small beautiful historic town. Five stars all the way. Don't forget to ask Murray about the history of the B&B and the town. You will be drawn in if you like history like me. See you guys soon, luv, your NC boy GT.


First Time in a B&B-the result....OUSTANDING!!!

5 sur novembre 13, 2012

I was in town for some training at a nearby hotel but chose to stay at The Lily Inn. WOW pretty much sums it up!! Murray and Jeanie were the most gracious hosts you could ask for! From the moment I walked in, until the moment I regretfully had to leave, I was treated like family! I even got an invite to come back for Thanksgiving dinner if I was in town!! Make sure to take the time and talk to the Sonsteins about the local history. You will be amazed at the wealth of knowledge that you will be given access to in delightful conversation. But most importantly, don't miss out on Murray's French toast!! Both it and The Lily Inn are a little slice of heaven!!


Welcoming owners / Beautiful home.

5 sur novembre 05, 2012

The owners were very welcoming and the home was beautiful with easy access to connect with others if desired.


Outstanding stay!

5 sur octobre 30, 2012

Just had a wonderful stay at The Lily Inn. The Sonstein's were absolutely fantastic, the breakfast conversation was like a Thanksgiving dinner with friends with good food and good conversation. We will be back and take advantage of the sights in Burlington! Thanks for such a beautiful time, I would highly recommend The Lily Inn!!!!!


Lovely and Wonderful!

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

We were on a museum trip to Philadelphia and preferred to stay in a quieter area that offered some natural beauty. We chose the Lily Inn (the Lydia Richie Room on the 3rd floor) in part because it was just 30 miles from Philadelphia, and yet only one block from the beautiful Delaware River and its 2.2 mile river walk. The inn itself is lovely, immaculate, and graced with an extensive and beautiful backyard where I happily read the paper and drank coffee in peace and quiet at the end of my first day there. Our room was large and just right, and overlooked the very pretty streetscape. We love wood floors, and the wood floors here were gleaming. Our bathroom was so large that it almost felt suite-like. The innkeepers, Eugenia and Murray, were so wonderfully hospitable and interesting that we found ourselves enjoying them as much as the inn itself! They also provided a great selection of help-yourself snacks and Keurig coffee and sodas on a 24-hour basis - and we loved that! We also loved the bed linens, the especially fluffy towels, and the special soaps, shampoo and conditioner - these little touches told us a lot about the care the innkeepers take. We are eager to return to this very special inn and spend several days there again, exploring Philadelphia and enjoying the river walk morning and evening, before sinking into our very comfortable bed. Highly, highly recommended! (Sheila and Marvin)


A very nice B&B in a surprisingly cool town

5 sur octobre 28, 2012

My wife and I found this Bed and Breakfast online and crossed our fingers in hopes that it would be good. I guess crossing your fingers can work sometimes because this place was awesome. We stayed in the "Samuel Allinson Room" and it was beautiful. Everything was so clean, the bedding was very nice, the bathroom was amazing and the decor was just perfect. The town itself was so quite and full of some really neat history. We had never heard about Burlington before but once we started learning we were kind of embarrassed that we hadn't, some amazing people and events happened there. The innkeepers were also super nice and could not have been more helpful. They were able to tell us about some cool places to check out in the area and also knew so much about the town. The food was also very good, I had the french toast (which might just be the "best in the unknown universe"). Overall our experience staying at the Lily Inn has left us feeling like we will return again soon.


A Wonderful Find

4,2 sur octobre 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in B&Bs from one end of the US to the other and The Lily Inn ranks as one of the most amazing we've ever experienced. It truly is a journey back in time. Innkeepers Eugenia and Murray were gracious and welcoming from the moment we stepped through the door and we immediately felt at home. From walks along historic tree lined High Street to early morning jogging along the Delaware River to gourmet breakfasts prepared completely to order, this is truly what vacations are all about. At breakfast the first morning we met little four legged Harold and it quickly became obvious that he really was the one in charge. Small and furry, always attentive (especially at breakfast time) but never intrusive, he infuses the Lily Inn with a special feeling of warmth and comfort and is one of the most amazing fellows we have ever met. He has taught Jeanie and Murray well and one gets the feeling that they would be quite competent in running the Inn on their own should the need arise! By the final morning we were very sad to leave and travel back to reality but heartfelt hugs at the door from our new friends sent us on our way. This was our first stay at The Lily Inn but we made a promise to each other to make sure it is not our last.


A wonderful getaway

5 sur octobre 18, 2012

A friend put my husband and me up in the Lily Inn as an anniversary present. We both love B & Bs and frequent them when we travel. The Lily Inn was honestly the best B & B experience I've had. The owner, Murray, and his wife both have a deep knowledge of the area and of the building. The work they have done on this historic building is quite impressive, as is their knowledge of local history and the place of the community in the history of the area. They are both warm and inviting, allowing guests space if they so desire, but also wonderful stories and hilarious conversation. Guests are given a lot of freedom, including limited usage of the (amazing) kitchen if needed. There is a lovely garden and yard behind the house as well. The rooms are wonderfully appointed with comfortable beds and luxurious showers. Our room did not have a television (which we were fine with - some other rooms do) but the second floor den had an impressive television for our viewing pleasure. The food was wonderful - there were snacks in the kitchen 24/7 and breakfast was cooked to order - something I have rarely experienced in a B&B. I can not more strongly recommend this lovely riverside Bed and Breakfast as a stopping point on a trip or a short escape away from home.


The Lily Inn is a lovely get-a-way!

5 sur septembre 12, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous time here. The Inn is warm and welcome. The J. Howard Pugh Suite was a perfect place to stay.


Best hidden treasure in Burlington, NJ

5 sur septembre 12, 2012

My husband, my daughter and I, had the pleasure to stay at this amazing B&B, which is more like a passage through uncle Sam history :) very interesting. The owners are great with chindren and pets, considering that We took our 5Y old child with us and she cannot stop talking about the experience! I could say more, but anyone would only understand what I'm trying to put into words if you pay them a visit! Gotta love the "French Toast" :-)


Awesome Experience

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with Murry and his wife. They make you feel very welcomed, and the rooms are just beautiful. If you want to stay in a historic area and have a friend help you find interesting things to do in the area, then the Lilly Inn is the place for you. The Inn itself is rich with history and art. The location next to the river is excellent, and you'll enjoy the breakfast. My wife and I had an amazing time, and I'm sure you will too.


Best B&B Experience

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2012

You will compare the rest of your B&B experiences with the Lily Inn after you've stayed here. Jean and Murray are the most welcoming owners, and their service and sense of humor will keep you entertained and at home. The inn itself is beautiful, with the right amount of ambience and design. I was lucky enough to snag a deal on LivingSocial, and we received an incredible deal. And unlike many other places, we were not treated as second class customers just because we didn't pay full price, which is exactly the reason we'll be staying here again. Hoooah.


Lily Inn Delight

5 sur août 31, 2012

Very friendly atmosphere, and friendly people. Would stay there again


Don't miss this place!!

5 sur août 27, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this lovely B&B on August the 10th and 11th. It is by far the best B&B I have ever stayed in and the owners are two of the nicest people I have been fortunate enough to meet. Aside from having a great location and being decorated beautifully you are welcomed with open arms and treated like family. We actually hosted an intimate affair on the Saturday evening of our stay. Murray and Eugenia couldn't have been more accommodating with our request. I can't say enough. This place is wonderful for an event or simple overnight stay. You won't regret it! DD- Austin, TX


Great Stay

5 sur août 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the inn. The rooms were just a pictured and the inn keepers were more then welcoming. The breakfast was great, and they were able to provide (on short notice) one of the best gulten free meals I have ever had. Will stay there again.


Best place ever

5 sur juillet 29, 2012

By far this is the best B & B that I have stayed in. Place is beautiful – quaint town, rich in history, host and hostess absolutely make you feel like family. Would I stay there again – without hesitation. It is a place that you will always remember and you will find yourself comparing your future stays at other B & B's to this one – alas – all others will come up short.


LOVED The Lily Inn - Friendly & Helpful Owners, Precious Pet!!

5 sur juillet 17, 2012

I recent spent two days at The Lily Inn and used the location for a photoshoot, which featured 16 models! This bed and breakfast is absolutely beautiful and there is so much scenery both inside of the decorated rooms and outside, in the rustic and beautifully decorated backyard! The owners, Mr. and Mrs. Sonstein were amazingly helpful and friendly - they even took us around the surrounding neighborhoods to find even more locations for our shoot!! I was so grateful to have found such a beautiful bed and breakfast in my local vicinity, and it's honestly a very historic area filled with a great ambience & nice people!! I loved Mr. and Mrs. Sonstein and their cute Yorkie, Harold!! Please do stop by the bed and breakfast!! Reasonable prices at a remarkable location and owners who do everything they can to make their guests feel special, whether relaxing on location or, running back and forth taking pictures!! Thank you so much, I loved everything, see you soon Mr. and Mrs. Sonstein!!


Going back in time with the conveniences of today

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

Take a trip back in time when America was still in its infancy, with period furniture and a Burlington history lesson thrown in and you have not only a place to cleanup, eat & sleep but a warm inviting atmosphere that no Hotel/Motel chain could compete with. From the hug you get as you walk out the door to the one you get going out, I can honestly say I never felt so at home as I did at the Lily Inn. My girlfriend and I will be frequent visitors in the future. Murray & Eugenia will make your stay a memorable one like they did ours.


Such a Wonderful Pick!

5 sur juillet 08, 2012

I stayed at this bed and breakfast on the night of July 7th for just one night. The owners are so nice. This was the first bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in (I am 26 years old) and I definitely will be checking into them more when I travel. The owners showed a bit of history about the building and the rooms were outstanding. They were all very pretty and clean and were very homey. The garden was very pretty and they keep snacks available when you have a late night craving. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to wake up on Sunday morning to leave. I would definitely recommend staying here because the place is so beautiful and the owners are so welcoming and kind people.


Dawn Marie and Christopher

5 sur juin 28, 2012

The owners of The Lily Inn are incredible hosts and so welcoming. This was our second visit and each time we leave with the expectation of coming back. The ambiance of the building is breathtaking and feels like you have stepped back into another time. The breakfast in the morning is a gourmet feast and the conversation so enjoyable. My husband and I would highly recommend The Lily Inn.


A gem in a true historic city.

5 sur juin 27, 2012

Friendliness, the perfect bed and breakfast experience, and Murray's sense of humor await you. This town offers history dating from the 1700s. The architecture and famous people from our country's rich history can be found in Burlington. This couple is very knowledgeable about this community. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is worth the trip.


Best B&B ever!!!

5 sur juin 18, 2012

My college roommate from Princeton came to visit me last week and she stayed at The Lily Inn. Everything was wonderful from the time I booked the room until the time she left. In fact, it couldn't have been nicer! The rooms were even more charming than they appeared in the photos, the service was great and the breakfast was delicious. Upon leaving my friend (who has travelled the world and stayed in many places) said that it was the nicest B&B she ever stayed at!


A Place that feels like home!

5 sur juin 15, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Lily Inn. Our hosts, Murray and Jean, were very warm and welcoming. Our room was decorated quite lovely and was totally spotless, not to mention romantic and comfortable. The house is very historic with beautiful antiques and a lovely garden. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay! Phil and Marla of NYC


B&B GEM

5 sur juin 14, 2012

Burlington, New Jersey is the birthplace of James Fenimore Cooper and safe haven for General Grant's family during the Civil War. He was on his way there to celebrate Easter the night Abraham Lincoln was assassinated. It is also the location of one of the nicest bed & breakfasts one can find. Your hosts become instant friends and the surroundings take you back to more tranquil times. Steps from the waterfront the site provides a relaxing setting regardless of the circumstances of your visit. I would live there if possible, Suggest you visit nearby St. Mary's Episcopal Church first parish of New Jersey while there.


A Trip Into New York City

5 sur mai 15, 2012

Considering a trip into New York City? This was the perfect solution. My son and I planned our trip to the City around the comfort of a Bed and Breakfast;, and chose Lily Inn in the historic town of Burlington, N.J. It was everything and more than we expected. A gorgeous Federalist home, a charming room with lush comfortable beds, a breakfast to remember, and especially the pleasure of two delightful Innkeepers. We took the train into the City via Hamilton Station, only a few miles away. How perfect, and trains run every thirty minutes. We retuned to the comfort of a "real home", treats and snacks available in a charming kitchen, and filled with memories that will linger far into the years ahead. You will approach the Inn on High Street...where homes are a moment in time, Murray will greet you with a smile and hug, and with pride give you a tour through history. You will love it. Eugenia will be in the background, planning breakfast for the next day. and try the French Toast....ummm good.. Grounds are beautiful and tempting...you will want to relaxe and explore. Thank you again, Murray and Eugenia....you are amazing. Patricia


Meeting the town hugger

5 sur avril 29, 2012

The Lily Inn is a darling bed and breakfast that has a lot of history that the owners will share with you on your tour of the Inn. The owners have done a wonderful job renovating the Inn and they were very warm and gracious


Doesn't get any better

5 sur avril 11, 2012

We were made to feel possibly more comfortable than in our own homes. Lots of hugs hospitality and history. Loved it all. Linda, Steve, Martin and Rhoda


Where do I begin???

5 sur février 15, 2012

We came to Burlington to attend a funeral. We were very stressed and not feeling well at all. The moment we walked in the door we were greeted by Murray and Genie Sonstein and their ever gracious Harold. They were so kind and wonderful to us. And even though it was chilly outside it was so warm and cozy inside. We were told that breakfast, the following morning, began when we came down and not to rush it. We are sorry we missed the wonderful breakfast that everyone has talked so fondly about...but our stomachs were tied in knots. Murray and Genie didn't want us to leave with nothing to eat so Murray toasted bagels (the freshest and best I've EVER had) and made fresh coffee and juice was available....THANK YOU MURRAY for insisting we have at least that....don't know if we would have made it through the day otherwise. I do promise this...WE WILL BE BACK to enjoy more of your "northern hospitality"! OH, and let me just say this, NOW I know what it is like to sleep on a very comfortable cloud. Our beds were SO comfortable! There are so many other wonderful things I would like to say, like their beautiful library, our room, the beautifully decorated parlor and dining room and, well, just the overall experience. Thank you from the bottom or our hearts.


Wow - what an amazing stay

4,0 sur janvier 26, 2012

I travel through hotels throughout the world and have never felt as welcomed or as rested as the Lily Inn. The house itself is beautiful and incredibly well appointed and my room was perfect. It was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with plenty of character. I was made to feel completely at home and welcome by the owners who joined me for breakfast and engaged me in a broad ranging and warm discussion. The local restaurants and bars, all recommended by the hosts, were exceptional as was the antiques markets just up the road. I truly hope I have the opportunity to return to Burlington and stay again at the Lily Inn. I really do recommend this place to anybody who is tired of soulless hotels and wants a place with character, vibrancy, comfort and exceptional hospitality.


Fantastic experience, great price

4,0 sur décembre 28, 2011

I needed a place to stay at the last minute for a great price without compromising quality. Murray and Jean did an excellent job in making this B and B place very welcoming and with a lot of history not only in the area but the house itself made my stay very enriching. i was very fortunate to have met my fellow guests and traded stories while having breakfast. i will come back to sign the guest book next time!


Wonderful B&B, wonderful hosts

4,0 sur décembre 23, 2011

Historic, comfortable, gracious B&B, set close to the river walk in Burlington. Good shared places to sit & be cozy. Interesting rooms with good beds and seriously good bathrooms. Tasty snacks available in the kitchen. Good breakfast and kind hosts. We'll be back.


A hidden treasure

4,8 sur décembre 07, 2011

The Lily Inn is an unassuming place in the middle of Burlington. Walking down the street you may or may not notice the sign, and if you google search for hotels in the area you will be presented with a few options. Initially I was thinking more about just someplace with a bed. After all, I would just be staying there with my girlfriend. After looking at what's available although I wanted something on the ultra-cheap side, I wasn't willing to risk my health or safety for it, so I opt'ed for the Lily Inn. I'm glad I did. First off, even the booking communication was personal and friendly. I almost found myself wanting to exchange more emails with them on a personal level. They were friendly. Once I arrived I was pleasantly greeted by the Mayor appointed "Town Hugger", with a hug. it was great. Then we were given a tour and we had no idea what we were getting into. What seemed to be a "nice" bed and breakfast was actually a huge piece of history in the middle of this town. The owner was not only friendly but he knew his stuff. This place is a huge piece of american history hidden away on this street. In addition, they have woven themselves into the town and had a deal with the very nice restaurant across the street. Because I chose this, and not some shady motor lodge, I got in touch with a friend of mine and his wife, and we had dinner across the street. So, not only did staying there give us more options and a tour of history, it enabled a night with friends and a great dinner. Afterwards we were greeted by the owner who happened to be up, offered us a drink and started a small fire in a fire pit outside. My friends and I sat around the fire and swapped stories. They even provided the firewood. All they ask is that you act as if you were staying with relatives that you liked. I'm a military officer that is stationed nearby. Any time I have a need to stay in Burlington and wont be staying at the Armory, I will be staying at the lily inn.


Very Pleasant Experience

4,0 sur décembre 04, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the decor and atmosphere of the Inn. A convenient location for a trip into Philly; and the warmth and hospitality of the innkeepers was truly appreciated. The breakfast was supurb! An outstanding experience.


A Real Gem

5 sur novembre 30, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a weekend away that included a visit with my mother at the Masonic Home of New Jersey and stays at two different B and Bs. The Lily Inn was the second and best of the B and Bs! The rooms photograph well but are even lovelier in person. The feel is old world elegance but with modern fixtures. The hosts are thoughtful-they have stocked the rooms with conveniences guests appreciate, knowledgeable-they know the area and its history, and so hospitable-they prepared a delicious, gourmet breakfast for each guest. Our anniversary was a special milestone and we wanted to celebrate it with a stay in a place that would also be special, we could not have chosen better.


"Simply wonderful"

5 sur novembre 20, 2011

Beautiful, Simply warm cozy feeling w/ ambiance , fine dining at it's best across street w/ a beautiful view day or night all year round. The history of the Lilly Inn. A map w/ the history of the town all in walking distance. We will be back, We highly recommend because we know you will love it. Thank you again.


Everything we hoped for and more!

4,8 sur octobre 28, 2011

The rooms of the Lilly Inn are stunning and so comfortable, the breakfast outstanding and the hospitality unmatched. The Sonsteins do all those extras that make a stay here exceptional and ever so relaxing. We also enjoyed stout and great conversation down the street at Legends and a great walk about town before we left to see tree lined streets and historic homes.


Im glad we stayed in Burlington!

5 sur octobre 21, 2011

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfast, but The Lilly Inn truly was one of our best. The owners Murray and Eugenia made us feel welcome and showed a genuine iterest in who we are. This town is quaint and comfortable. We would highly recommend The Lilly Inn as this was a great way to begin our vacation. Murray even took us to the Philadeplphia train station with a tour through the City of Philadelphia. Customer service as its BEST!


A Nice Change

5 sur octobre 16, 2011

We stayed here on a business trip and was surprised how nice the inn was. It was like staying with family.


Lovely Inn by the Delaware River

4,8 sur octobre 11, 2011

After a long drive, the Lily Inn was a welcome respite. The rooms are beautiful and the innkeepers Murray and Eugenia were delightful. We enjoyed a sunset walk with our dog along the river. The beds were extremely comfortable. We may well visit again. My only minor complaint was the pedestrian quality of the restaurant's food across the street from the Inn.


Very nice place to stay in an interesting historic area

4,6 sur octobre 02, 2011

The hosts in this attractive and comfortable historic building are welcoming and accommodating, and have lovingly restored their property. We chose the town for an overnight due to its convenience during a trip from New Hampshire to DC, and were very pleasantly surprised by its charm and historic importance.


Just like Family

5 sur septembre 27, 2011

We were met with a hug even though we arrived at 1:00 AM in the morning. They accomodated our schedule for breakfasts. The room and bed were very comfordable for a big guy. The shared stories and history of the area were wonderful to listen to. Murray and Genie are warm fabulous hosts. There is no pretence, just an enjoyable experience. We have stayed at many B&B's across the country in our travels, many run like hotel/ motels, but this warm, friendly place was like being at home. Thanks for your caring and lots of head scratches for Harold. Oh, by the way, the last thing we got, a good bye HUG !!


Great Stay! Highly Recommend the Lily Inn!

5 sur septembre 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Lily Inn because we were attending a wedding in the area. Murray & Jean were absolutely fabulous hosts, and of course, Harold too! The room was very clean and spacious. Atmosphere was wonderful. Truly enjoyed our time at the Lily Inn and intend to go back with our daughter, who would get along great with Murray as they are both history buffs :)


Delightful

4,8 sur septembre 21, 2011

The lily inn is a real piece of Americana. The hosts were informative and ready to help in any way. We really enjoyed our stay.


Highly Recommend! Excellent Place to stay!

5 sur septembre 06, 2011

We previously toured this home built in 1709 and liked it so much we decided to have a weekend there during Burlington's Annual Festival of Lights. My mother is a resident of Burlington and I live in Texas and this was my gift to her because this home really caught her interest. First class renovations have been done while preserving much of the original charm of this 300 year old home. My mother and I had a lovely weekend and really enjoyed the owners and their gracious hospitality. We also enjoyed dining and conversing with the other guests. I would definitely return. Even though we can stay at Mom's house in Burlington, if we are in for the holidays, my husband and I just might leave room at her house for other family members while we stay at the Lily Inn!


Beautiful Inn and Warm Hospitality

5 sur août 31, 2011

My family filled the inn and were treated like royalty. No change in plans was too much for these warm and welcoming innkeepers. The location is in the heart of a National Historic District with a two mile Delaware Riverfront promenade for walking and enjoying the sunset. A great place for a romantic getaway or a big gathering. Every room (all with spectacular private baths) is an event in itself.


Highly Recommended

5 sur août 31, 2011

The rooms are lovely and we felt so at home. The in room baths are very clean and very pretty. The breakfast was delicious. But I appreciate most the attention given to my family and friends when we were having services for my uncle and the hurricane was interfering. Murray went out of his way to be helpful. Terry Barnaby


Beautiful renovated townhouse

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2011

Great welcome by the owners - very personable, and they have done a wonderful job renovating the old townhouse from the early 1700's.


A really great place & neighborhood!

3,6 sur juin 21, 2011

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming or more well informed. They did not tire of our constant questions. We are seniors and they took constant care to be sure we were OK. What a lovely evening time in the garden! What a wonderful garden dinner complete with fireflies at the cafe across the street. Breakfast was great. Just wish we could have stayed a week and wandered around this graceful historic town. And taken one of Jean's tours. We will be back for sure.


A night in Burlington

3,8 sur mai 07, 2011

We arrived early for a 3:00 p.m. check-in, but were allowed to leave our bags until then. Even though the Innkeepers were busy with other guests, they took the time to welcome us and send us on our way with a map of the town. When we returned to our room, we found that the bed was very comfortable, the decor was outstanding and the bath new and sparkling. We had lunch at a restaurant across the street, which has a great view of the Delaware River but the food was not up to the appearance of the place. The Innkeepers recommended a restaurant in Bordentown a little north of Burlington for dinner which was very good. We chose French Toast for Breakfast based upon another guest's recommendation. It was indeed outstanding! Being interested in historic architecture we were captivated with the age of many of the buldings in town and the potential for a first rate tourist attraction. St. Mary's Church is the crown jewel of Burlington. We have recommended The Lily Inn to friends.


excellent

5 sur mai 04, 2011

Had a great time. the place was better than I expected. Friendly atmosphere, great location and a comfortable room.


The Hosts made me feel at Home

5 sur avril 15, 2011

I was in Burlington on Business and spent the night at the Lily Inn with my wife. The minute I walked in Murray greeted us and made us comfortable. He is very interesting and knowlegable about local history which enhanced the experience. The Inn itself is very comfortable, clean and well constructed and decorated. The gas fireplace in our room was great. I look forward to my next business trip.


worth a visit

4,0 sur avril 05, 2011

Beautifully historic. It combines comfort with a sense of colonial New Jersey. You will also appreciate your hosts. They are engaging and Murray makes a mean french toast!


Great getaway

4,4 sur février 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I have never been to a bed and breakfast before. The Lilly in set a high bar for what the experience should be. Murray's hospitality was great and the entire building was beautiful and full of history. The only drawback was the room we stayed in smelled a little smokey. Most likely from a previous guest who smoked in the room. Other than that everything was great.


Simply Amazing!

5 sur février 07, 2011

We wanted a unique, relaxing, place to stay to enjoy time with a family member visiting Ft Dix for training. A last minute trip for us, I had not planned ahead to reserve a room. I found The Lily Inn while enroute on the iPad and called within hours of our arrival. Murray answered the phone and I knew right away this was it. He was accommodating and very pleased to invite us to his home. Upon arrival, Murray provided a tour of the over 300 year old home. It was restored to original beauty and Murray was beaming as he showed it off. Being Super Bowl Sunday, Murray recommended Legends for pizza and drinks just a block away. In the evening, I found Murray playing piano and enjoyed listening to a variety of songs. A great night sleep in a beautiful room was followed by a delicious breakfast made especially for us by Eugenia. Mmmm....French Toast, bacon and a fresh fruit parfait. YUM! We would recommend this B&B to any traveler in the Ft Dix/McGuire AFB area! It's reasonably priced and just a delight. No more hotels for us!


nice and friendly

4,2 sur janvier 26, 2011

It's a very nice b&b place. The owner turned out to be the huger of Burlington and very nice and friendly. I like the place.


Long weekend at THE LILY INN

5 sur janvier 15, 2011

Although it was cold and snowy for several days of our stay, the LILY INN was warm. We were greeted warmly by the host Murray and later by Gene. This is a beautifully restored in, in a perfect location, in Burlington only about 25 minutes from Philadelphia by car or train. We highly recommend this INN to anyone who wants to stay at a wonderful B&B.


Lovely Inn, Gracious Innkeepers, Best French Toast!!

5 sur janvier 14, 2011

We just spent 4 days over Christmas at the Lily Inn and it was a superb experience! We have family in the area. My husband and I travel frequently and I plan conferences and events for a living. Keeping this in mind, our expectations were high. We can certainly say this little Inn was a pleasant surprise. It was such a pleasure to arrive and find such a lovely, clean and well appointed facility and it was decorated beautifully for Christmas. The Innkeepers, Genie and Murray were simply the most gracious and lovely people!! The french toast is insatiable! We will certainly stay at the Lily Inn again when we are in the Burlington, NJ area. Hands down the BEST!! Thank you!


Fairy Tale Wedding

5 sur janvier 07, 2011

We held our December wedding and reception at the Lily Inn. Our guests are still raving about what a beautiful event it was. Murray and Eugenia treated us as if we were family, helping us create a dream-come-true evening. The inn was beautifully decorated for the holidays, and my caterer, photographer and harpist loved working with the Sonsteins because they were so gracious and accommodating. My husband and I and Alex our cat, who was our ring bearer, spent our wedding night at the Inn. Alex really enjoyed jumping on an off the high bed and sleeping in front of the fireplace. Our pictures are extraordinarily beautiful. We will have a hard time selecting the ones to go in our album because the setting was so spectacularly beautiful. Guests have referred to the evening as glamorous, elegant, sophisticated, spectacular, and it was definitely all of those things. The following morning we had a wonderful breakfast (Harold was available for some tummy rubs) before returning home. Oh, yes our caterer also loved working at the facility. This house has been incredibly refurbished to maintain the historical charm of the building while incorporating conveniences and luxuries of the twenty-first century, and once again, Murray and Eugenia were a big part of what made the evening so unforgetable.


Great Place

5 sur novembre 22, 2010

As a business traveller, I stay in lots of different chain hotels. The Lily Inn was a FANTASTIC surprise and change of pace. We received 5 start treatment. It was nice to have a home away from home. If you are in the area on business, stay there!


Gorgeous and Comfortable

4,6 sur novembre 16, 2010

What a gorgeous renovation and lovely inn in this 1705 historic building. As a bonus, it's right next to a long cycle path along the river, and one block from the frequent river train service connecting Trenton and Philadelphia. Usually the presence of beautiful fabrics and antiques makes me feel awkward about actually using the furniture in an Inn. Things are different at the Lily Inn. The owners take you into the kitchen to show you how to make your own tea/coffee, welcome you to use the refrigerator, provide two lounges 'completely for guest use,' and even allow small dogs. They have their own separate quarters which makes it feel more like your own home than staying in someone else's space (which sometimes happens in a B&B). The Lily Inn is a wonderful place created by two locals who wanted to preserve a historic house and contribute to the revitalization of charming downtown Burlington. We will definitely be back!


The Best French Toast!!!

4,0 sur novembre 02, 2010

I stayed at the Inn with my mom the weekend of 10/22-10/24. The Inn is super clean, beautifully restored and full of character. Murray and Genie were fantastic! Murray gave us a tour of the Inn, lots of interesting information about Burlington, and even made dinner reservations for us at a great restaurant across the street. He also watched the MLB playoff game Saturday with us, which was great fun! Even Harold (the cute little dog) was a doll. But the best part - the french toast. Don't even think about skipping breakfast! Stay here - you'll feel like you're home!


Lovely, Lovely

4,8 sur octobre 20, 2010

I stayed at the Inn with my sister last weekend. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Our bathroom had an old clawfoot tub which was beautiful. breakfast was wonderful, we relaxed in the library Saturday night to watch the ball game, Murray and Genie were fun and comfortable to be with. I will go back!


A New Tradition!!!

4,8 sur octobre 09, 2010

Murray and Gene were the absolute best!! They were very warm and welcoming...We couldn't have asked for more at The Lily Inn!! We will definatley be returning for our HUGS and to give Harold his bacon.....Thank you so much... The history and architecture was remarkable


Lovely stay in the Bird Room

4,4 sur août 21, 2010

The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. Loved the casual atmosphere with easy access to fruit and drinks anytime. Nice town with pleasant river walk.


wedding weekend

4,8 sur juin 11, 2010

Our entire wedding party took over this wonderful B&B for 3 nights, and it could not have been more memorable and perfect!!! Thank you so much Murray and Gene (and Harold, of course) ! -Tony & Sara


Friendly Lily Inn

5 sur mai 27, 2010

We arrived at the Inn road weary. We brought my mom along to see the Inn and Murray greeted us with smiles and hugs. Murray is the official greeter there. His friendly, welcoming personality was infectious and put us at ease immediately. We were all impressed with the beauty and authenticity of the Inn. Murray and Genie are understandably proud of the history of their town of Burlington. It is rich with stories of it's heritage. Murray suggested we eat at the Cafe Grill across the street and we had a fine dinner there. After we took mom back to her apartment, we relaxed in our "Bird room" which was surrounded by pictures of hummingbirds. Just looking at the beds was relaxing and we slept like babies. We were given a choice of breakfast meals and each was delicious and satisfying. A great way to start the day and a wonderful place to visit and lay down our weary heads. Genie and I had fun talking "cats". They have two sweet kitties that were a bit shy but I did get a glimpse of one of them. We are grateful to have found the Lily Inn and hope to enjoy it amenities again in the future. Thank you Genie and Murray for a sweet retreat.


Enjoyed our Stay

4,0 sur mai 17, 2010

Out of the 3 B&B’s we stay, this was by far the best. Having environmental issues, the hosts were very accommodating to our needs. The location, the food, and the hospitality, made for such an enjoyable stay. We were there on business, but hope to return for just to enjoy the area.


Superb!

5 sur mai 15, 2010

Genie and Murray are the most gracious hosts. Our every need was accomodated- from a history of the Inn and surrounding area to organizing an elegant tea for our friends; and just plain good fellowship. We felt we were a guest in a home of good friends, which we have become. The rooms and grounds are unique and true to the historical period. There are many common areas to simply just lounge. Genie and Murray's attention to detail is evident in every aspect - from Genie's comfortable beds & linens to Murray's made to order breakfasts. Simply a joy ! Ruth Anne & Evelyn Montana


loved this spot

5 sur avril 21, 2010

We just thought this place was so wonderful. Clean and spacious. Innkeepers warm and friendly. Breakfast was also wonderful-cooked to order which was a refreshing change for us.


The Best!!!

5 sur février 26, 2010

This place is an awesome experience! The rooms and building is great, the proprietors are top notch people! I would highly recommend this place to all of my friends and family.


Such a gem!

4,6 sur février 03, 2010

We stayed at The Lily Inn in October 2009 which was awhile ago but we had such a great time! Murray and Eugenia were such great hosts and Harold was adorable! This area has a lot of history and it was a joy walking around the streets. Around this time each place had a scarecrow outside so it was neat to walk around and see how each place decorated them. The Lily Inn was beautiful though. I don't recall the name of the room we stayed in, I just remember it was green and overlooked High St. The room was wonderful, the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. My boyfriend and I still talk about it to this day. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. It literally felt like we were staying with family. Props to Murray and Eugenia for making this place feel like a home away from home. We hope to be visiting again in March!


A Charm in Burlington

4,8 sur janvier 04, 2010

I very much enjoyed my stay at The Lily Inn (New Years) The innkeepers, Murray and Eugenia could not have been more friendly! Harold was also very sweet. The rooms were very quaint- well decorated and clean , the food was excellent! It was a very nice experience and I will stay there again and I would highly recommend a stay at this Inn for anyone!


You feel at home at the lily inn

4,6 sur octobre 13, 2009

Our stay was incredible,we so enjoyed being there and we felt like we were home!Very clean and homey.We wanted for nothing,and breakfast in the morning delightful.We can`t wait to come back!!!You can feel the history all around you,its great!


The Lily Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $189
  • Avis (145) 4,8
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone (609) 526-7900

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut