Home Hill Inn and Restaurant Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,4
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
38 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Home Hill Inn is the place to go in New Hampshire

4,4 sur août 02, 2013

I was looking for a nice place to stay in New England, near Hanover, for a weekend. I found Home Hill Inn on the Internet and the pictures convinced me to make my reservation, without any further reference. The place is just as awsome as you can see in the pictures, if not more. The atmosphere of the area is quiet but active, beautifully surrounded by green, farms and the river. You get no distractions or disturbances while at your room, and the service is kind and discreet; family-like but very respectful. And I have to mention the cooking service, with Peter in charge. They do an excellent job, both with products and with an exquisite preparation and presentation. Very European style when it comes to that- as in the salmon with "pepperonata"-, and with delicacy in the preparation of typical dishes like their amazing Eggs Benedict, or soft and tasteful breakfast pancakes. If you are in doubt, I hope you can stop there and enjoy the same great experience that I did.


Nice Escape with great food

4,0 sur mars 11, 2013

Quaint country inn with excellent food in a secluded place. Good for a rest and quiet get away. The dinners are wonderful and you must have the home made yogurt and granola in the morning.


Fantastic!!!

4,6 sur décembre 31, 2012

We spent two nights at the Home Hill Country Inn after Christmas and it was fantastic. Peter, Chef de Cuisine, is not only a very talented and skilled chef, he is so friendly and forthcoming as well. He prepared the best dinner we have had in a long time. The location of the Inn is great and there are nice trails just down the road.


Hidden gem

4,0 sur octobre 21, 2012

If you approach this inn from the Windsor side, you'll be driving on a dirt road for a bit. Thus the inn seems so remote that one might easily dismiss it as an unlikely site for the comforts, service and food that can be found within. The approach is stately- down a row of tall tress with horses grazing nearby. Inside, the atmosphere is warm and attractive, the staff eager to satisfy your every request. We were two couples staying in the main house of the inn, the St. Gaudens room and the Isadora Duncan room. The gas fireplaces worked very well, the rooms were clean, nicely laid out and decorated for comfort and rest. Due to our wanderings, we did not get to sample the dinner fare, but breakfast was very nice, elegantly done and served with style and care. Will definitely find a chance to stay again.


Exceptional!

4,8 sur septembre 11, 2012

The grounds, amenities, staff, food, activities were superb. We had package rate for 2 nights, dinner, and bikes. Very reasonable. Would definitely visit again and recommend.


Great English country inn feel, but don't expect internet

3,4 sur août 27, 2012

This inn feels like one in a turn-of-the-20th-century English novel, in which guests arrive for a weekend of shooting and riding. Quite charming, but internet and cell phone reception are unavailable.


Lovely Inn

4,0 sur août 25, 2012

Lovely getaway in a charming stately location. We have been here in the past, and were pleased to see that HH inn now offers more casual fare for dinner as well as true gourmet


Out of the Park

5 sur août 13, 2012

A superlative out-of-the-park meal, great service, great room, and great breakfast made our over-night get-away a truly memorable weekend to remember. You have to try this place!


Home Hill

5 sur juillet 24, 2012

Very Nice.


Home Hill is very Relaxing and Peaceful

4,4 sur juillet 10, 2012

Room was very beautiful, the spaciousness was appreciated after a long drive. So quiet, I could hear my heart beat! We will be sure to tell friends and visit again.


You should stay here!

4,4 sur juin 21, 2012

The maxfil Parrish suite is beautiful and spacious. The setting is quite beautiful. If you want rest, I highly recommend this place.


Great 25th Anniversary

5 sur juin 01, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Home Hill Inn for our 25th anniversary and it was great. The grounds were beautiful, the two room suite was luxurious, the food was as good as any top end restaurant we have eaten at in Boston, and the service was five star quality. We had dined there a couple times in the past, but had never stayed. We will definitely be going back and we'd recommend it to anyone looking to have a nice quiet getaway in northern New England.


Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

4,4 sur mai 07, 2012

My husband was a graduate student at Dartmouth when we got married. For our 10 year anniversary, we were looking for a quick getaway to a relaxing yet familiar place. Hanover seemed like just the escape we needed and the Home Hill Country Inn was the perfect place to stay. The rooms were elegant and historic yet comfortably up to date. Dinner was exquisite and the local cheeses, milks and creams were a real treat. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!


Short Notice Travel

5 sur mai 06, 2012

Family members recommended this B&B. We were very happy to have chosen this B&B. Staff was wonderful. Food was excellent. Room was awesome!


Great Stay!

4,0 sur avril 01, 2012

My husand and I stayed over night for his 50th birthday. The room was beautiful and the staff especially Meghan was friendly and accomodating! Theonly thing that was wrong was that the stay wasn't long enough!


Feel like royalty staying here

4,8 sur août 21, 2011

We agree with the previous reviewers. We felt like royalty staying here. It's very impressive looking, without being pretentious. The grounds are amazing...many acres with horses grazing, private in-ground pool, clay tennis court, and a small fitness center. The innkeepers, check-in staff, and restaurant staff were great and helpful. Everyone was down to earth, with a vibe that was classy yet relaxed...not stuffy at all. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and immaculate (no tvs in the room, but there was one in the common area). The room was super quiet, with individually controlled central air (not a window ac like some older b&bs). The common areas are spacious. There is a nice bar, the small breakfast room was sunny and bright, and the dining room was large and impressive, with high ceilings. Breakfast was great and made especially for us. Dinner was equally tasty and made for a memorable evening. There are complimentary soft drinks available 24 hours a day in the common area. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. I almost didn't want to write this review, because it truly is a hidden gem!


Valentine's Day

4,6 sur août 03, 2011

I spent a lovely Valentine's Day with my husband at Home Hill Inn for a wonderful romantic getaway. We felt welcomed and cared for. Home Hill Inn is perfect for couples


Perfect winter getaway

4,2 sur mars 06, 2011

My partner and I spent a night at the Home Hill Inn to celebrate our anniversary. Our room was comfortable, cozy and romantic. The food at the Inn's restaurant was superb and the service outstanding. We'll definitely be back to try a summer visit. Only downside was that the walls in the carriage house were thin so we could hear the family next door to us.


Home Hill in October

4,4 sur octobre 18, 2010

Beautiful location and surprisingly accessible. Awesome surroundings and if you're a runner, a wonderful location to train on hills, flats and/or trails.


No Praise High Enough!

5 sur septembre 13, 2010

We celebrated our daughter's wedding at Home Hill Inn on Labor Day week-end and there are not words to adequately thank the entire staff at Home Hill Inn for a more perfect experience. Each and every one of our guests agreed that it was magical. The help that the staff provided before the event was incredible. Over the week-end, every person working was cheerful, calm and accommodating. The setting was beautiful and the food was outstanding. There were 155 guests that actually received a warm and tasty dinner served in a tent on the property! That in itself is a feat. My husband and I stayed on property and thought the rooms were very comfortable and charming. All of our other guests who stayed on property agreed that it felt like they were staying at someone's magnificent country place for the week-end. It did not have a commercial feel to it. The breakfasts and private dinners that we had in the Inn's lovely dining room were delicious. We stayed for one night after the wedding party had departed and agreed that it was very much like the experiences we have had staying in country inns throughout Europe. I look forward to going back!


Home Hill Inn

3,2 sur août 02, 2010

Quaint. Charming. Casual elegance. Bathroom floor was dirty, otherwise well maintained. Amenities deteriorating: all 6 mountain bikes in disrepair and unusable. Putting green advertised, but no longer have it. 3 of 4 cardio equipment in Fitness center out of order. Pool nice - hope it is tested and clean.

Réponse du propriétaire
We very much appreciate your feedback, though we wish you had brought these concerns to us while you were on the property. That would have given us the chance to show you the putting green that we do have, right next to the pond by the horses. And we could have pumped up a tire or two on the bikes which are in good repair. We have updated our fitness equipment and have a brand new elliptical machine! Thank you for bringing the floor to our attention, we have made our housekeeping team aware. I do hope you will give us another chance to show you all we have to offer!


Lovely setting and Inn but .....

3,0 sur juin 21, 2010

The grounds are lovely. The main floor rooms are very nice athough as in many histoiric buildings it is dark inside. Perhaps a lighter color paint would open it up a bit especially in the dining room. Continental breakfast was fine. We didn't have time for dinner. The room was clean with nice amenities. However the biggest problem was a very soft lumpy mattress. Four other guests also complained of the same thing in their rooms. I had to sleep the second night on the floor. And I do not have a bad back as some others do. It was just so uncomfortable. Hopefully they can change the mattresses and then it would be alomost perfect.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your review! We have a plan in place to replace all of the mattresses at the inn within the next 6 months. No small task! We are constantly trying to upgrade to exceed expectations. Please come back and see us and tell us what you think! And don't miss the dining either! :)


Wedding Weekend

4,8 sur juin 07, 2010

We had our daughter's rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception at the Inn from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning for 70 guests and it was superb. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They really did all they could do to make our event come off smoothly and make our family and family-to-be comfortable. The food was excellent, including the breakfast pastries and quiches. The Inn is elegant, yet comfortable. The grounds are gorgeous and beautifully kept and private. We had a very lovely celebration in a very lovely place.


Last Minute Surprise

3,6 sur avril 15, 2010

Being a former innkeeper & chef, I have rarely spent a holiday out of the kitchen. To my surprise, I found a great rate at Home Hill Inn and the service was excellent. It was great to be "off" while eeryoen else was "on"! What a treat!


we'll be back!

5 sur avril 06, 2010

We travel often drive from Montreal to Boston to visit our children and like to drive about 3 hours then stop over somewhere close to highway access but still charming and restful. The White River Junction-Lebanon area is very convenient for us since it is only about 2-hours to Boston the next day. The Home Inn is a find. Charming, beautifully restored country manse and yet with all the modern conveniences. It is exactly as depicted on their web-site not always the case when booking from the web!! The added bonus of a wonderful dining room made the evening perfect. There is an excellent hand in the kitchen, everything is fresh & prepared in-house and a super wine list to boot! It will definitely be on our list to revisit. fr - Montreal Canada


Comfortable, quiet and inviting

4,2 sur février 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed overnight for V-day to get away from our, ahem, adorable 9 month old. The quiet was just what we needed. Dinner was excellent, the drinks were terrific. Breakfast could've had a bit more variety (yogurt, pastries, fruit and quiche), but the dining room almost makes up for any shortcomings there.


Romantic Stay

4,6 sur février 07, 2010

My wife wanted a weekend "winter wonderland" to relax and get away from it all. We booked a weekend in Jan. at Home Hill Inn. Our package included the room for two nights, breakfast on 2 mornings, 3 course dinner at the inn one night, and an hour long horse-drawn sleigh ride. Everything was great. The room with the gas fireplace was cozy and romantic. The dinner in the dining room was amazing. The food was inventive and delicious. All of the staff was helpful, attentive and courteous. We loved our stay and want to go back in the spring or summer or fall to see the inn and the grounds during all of the different seasons.


Perfect weekend away

4,0 sur janvier 05, 2010

I have stayed at many wonderful inns in years past, but because this was the first weekend away with my new and very special friend, I wanted this one to be perfect - and it was!! Home Hill Inn was everything I had hoped for in every way. Quiet, beautiful, and romantic. The keepers were pleasant and attentive. The meal was superb. The message for her was excellent (so I'm told). Access to skiing, snowshoeing and shopping/dining was very easy. The fireplace in the room made it just right! Couldn't be happier. It is wonderful that people make these accommodations available to those of us that don't have a place to get away to.


NE at its best

4,6 sur novembre 30, 2009

Rooms are very clean and inviting. A New England foliage delight tucked away to bring you a feeling of history. The inn lives up to its name. We felt right at home!


Home Hill Country Inn

4,0 sur novembre 24, 2009

Warm and inviting. Excellent accommodations. Well stocked bar. Good wine list. Food to die for - creative combinations and presentation. Delicious!!


Delightful Place, Good Value

4,0 sur novembre 03, 2009

Home Hill Inn is attractive and comfortable. Most of the staff were warm and welcoming. Some were just a little standoffish.


Heaven!

5 sur octobre 20, 2009

Beautiful property, great food and the best staff. Our trip was fantastic!


Quaint & Quiet

5 sur octobre 15, 2009

Charming new Enhland B&B near Dartmouth College -- a restful stay in the countryside.


Home Hill Country Inn

3,4 sur octobre 14, 2009

Sound-proofing of rooms needs improvement


Wedding Celebration

3,4 sur août 05, 2009

Room was very clean. Would have liked a TV. Personnel were all very friendly and helpful.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your feedback. Home Hill Inn was built in 1818 using horse hair plaster, we cannot place tv's in rooms as they would most likely disturb other guests. We do however provide tv's in the sitting room and fitness room, as well as board games and many other non tv activities.


Home Hill

3,6 sur juillet 15, 2009

I expected a lot of an inn when I do stay, so my ratings reflect a high standard.


The Best of New England

5 sur mars 13, 2009

Our favorite New England Inn -- we have visited there many times over the past 20+ yrs and gotten to know all of the past owners -- and we're happy to report that it IS BACK better than ever with a new executive chef and hotel manager. We especially love it for New Years Eve - the dining room is beautiful, food is outstanding, and the rooms are gorgeous. Doesn't get any better than this! We have had special birthdays and anniversary gatherings here and we have occupied the whole inn and it was a dream -- every time better than the next! Can't wait to return for the holidays!


Amazing in every way

4,0 sur mars 13, 2009

This is a fantastic country inn! Friendly staff, amazing food and very well appointed rooms. We had a romantic and wonderful time for a very affordable price. This is our new spot!


Home Hill Inn and Restaurant

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $250 - $313
  • Avis (38) 4,3
  • Chambres 11
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6036756165
  • Fax 1-6036755220
Haut