Seneca Lake Watch Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
21 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Beautiful Seneca Lake Watch Bed & Breakfast

5 sur septembre 22, 2014

If you are going to Watkins Glen this is the place that you are going to want to stay. The Innkeepers- Julie and George will make you feel right at home, serve fresh delicious feasts for breakfast, and make fabulous suggestions of where to go and what to do- if you wish. Should you prefer to remain solitary you will have that as well. The Inn itself is a large Victorian house filled with charm and clean as a whistle. The rooms are comfy and cozy and the views of the lake are glorious. The wraparound porch is a great place to view the lake or you can sit on the deck in the back. I liked sitting in the gazebo and strumming my guitar- you can do that if you like as well.


Perfect place to stay!

5 sur août 31, 2014

Stayed July 2014 for two nights while our daughter attended orientation at Ithaca College 30 minutes away. The house itself has a lot of charm and is quiet. Our room and bathroom were very clean. Full Breakfast both mornings was excellent and obvious the innkeepers put thought and effort into it. I would highly recommend it,


Fantastic Bed & Breakfast in Watkins Glen

5 sur août 20, 2014

I HIGHLY recommend Seneca Lake Watch Bed & Breakfast! It was obvious that George and Julie love people and love running their B&B. Everything they do is first class. After they establish the dietary requirements of their guests, a wonderful 3-course breakfast in a beautiful dining room can be expected. The pastry was served warm from the oven as Julie bakes something new every day. George is never without a smile whether he's preparing breakfast, making dinner reservations for guests, talking about the local wines or cleaning the beautiful Victorian house which is meticulously clean. The location is perfect and within walking distance from town. Staying at Seneca Lake Watch B&B felt like being in the home of your favorite relatives!


Beautiful, welcoming Bed & Breakfast with a view of Seneca Lake

4,8 sur août 16, 2014

The Seneca Lake Watch Bed & Breakfast is exactly what you hope for when you decide you want to stay in a B & B. Large lovely rooms, all with private baths. Wonderful owners who make every effort to make their guests comfortable, including having a guest living area and well equipped guest kitchen And wonderful breakfasts prepared and served by the hosts. My room was the Cayuga. A large room, good closet space, lots of drawers in the chest, two windows with a view of the lake. The private bath was immediately outside of the door of the room. The hosts provide a large comfy terry cloth robe for guests in the two rooms whose private bath is not inside of their room All of the rooms are on the second floor of the house and up stairs typical for these older homes. Parking is on the street. Two of the rooms have large attached decks with views of the lake. Cayuga has a portico right next to the room with a view of the lake. One room does not have a lake view (and has to walk a bit down the hall for their private bath). The 5th room shares the portico with Cayuga but it did have their private bath inside the room. Breakfast is served in two sittings when the property is full– at 8:15 and 9:15. The food was excellent and substantial. 3 courses, usually a fruit followed by a bakery item and then the main course The main courses when I was there were Belgian Waffles with fruit, a baked egg dish and apple pancakes, all served with sausage. As with most bed & breakfasts, the hosts are a large part of what makes or breaks the experience. George & Julie do a wonderful job making you feel as though you are a guest in their home (which technically you are). However the property is for sale so if George and Julie are not still the owners I can’t guarantee that you’ll have the same wonderful experience I did.


Best Place to Stay in Watkins Glen!

5 sur juillet 22, 2014

The Seneca Lake Watch bed and breakfast was our first ever bed and breakfast and no other has compared. My wife and I first stayed back in 2008 and just recently (July 2014) stayed again to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. George and Julie are top notch B&B proprietors. The house and rooms are always impeccably clean. Our favorite room is the Seneca room with its views of Seneca Lake and morning sunrises. This year we brought friends with us who stayed as well (and also loved it). Breakfast is always a multi-course meal and the food is incredible. George and/or Julie personally hit up the local farmers markets to purchase the freshest ingredients for their breakfasts. For this most recent stay, since it was our 10th wedding anniversary, we had ordered a cake at a Wegmans grocery store in Corning, NY. Julie personally went and picked it up for us so that it was at the B&B when we arrived. On our last day there, George and Julie, knowing that we were going to have a small anniversary celebration at the B&B with our friends, provided wine glasses to use for our celebration and gave us a complementary bottle of champagne as an anniversary gift. These guys go out of their way to make their guests feel at home and appreciated. After breakfast each day I sat on many of the outdoor decks taking in the beautiful scenery and even sat in their gazebo out in their backyard. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Seneca Lake Watch bed and breakfast to ANYONE who is in the Watkins Glen, NY area. The only thing better than this place in Watkins Glen is the gorge trail at the Watkins Glen State Park nearby (because of its beauty).


The only B&B I've ever really loved

5 sur juillet 08, 2014

George and Julie are just terrific, they really make this place great. It's a wonderful location, just a short walk from town. We've stayed there twice and have been very pleased. The rooms are large and clean and the breakfast is delicious. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone, even those like me who are always wary of the B&B experience.


Our "Home away from Home" - long time guests . . .

5 sur février 13, 2013

We have gone to the Seneca Lake Watch B&B every August since 1997 (or sooner, not sure) and we LOVE it there. It is our one, annual, getaway. George and Julie (Conway) have become family to us so it's like going "home" but to a much more relaxing pace! Their breakfasts are second to none and rooms are exquisitely furnished and clean. The central air is also welcome in the sometimes hot August days/nights. We especially love sitting on the beautiful large front porch and looking out onto Seneca Lake. There are not enough "stars" to rate this B&B what it deserves!


Outstanding B&B!!!!

5 sur juillet 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently visited Watkins Glen and stayed with the Conways in the Cayuga Room. It was my boyfriend's birthday weekend and with the wonderful help and amazing service, George was able to prepare a surprise birthday package including a birthday cake, a bottle of Cabernet (from one of the local wineries) and some balloons in the room before our arrival. It definitely made our stay extra special. Location: The location of the B&B is very convenient. A less than 10 minute drive to Watkins Glen State Park and local restaurants and eateries. Another plus was the short driving distances to the wineries along Seneca Lake (we were able to make it to 5 wineries in one day coming back to the B&B in between one of the times to drop off some wine in our room). Parking was very convenient and was always available right in front of the B&B. Room: The Cayuga room was a good size room overlooking the Seneca Lake. It was very well-kept, clean and comfortable. Breakfast: The 3 course breakfast was amazing!!! I am a foodie and loved the different creations Julie came up with. She is a wonderful cook and baker. The baked eggs with bacon was definitely my favorite. Innkeepers: George and Julie were very friendly and accommodating. George was able to give us wonderful recommendations on where to eat and even offered to help us make reservations. Overall I would definitely recommend this B&B if you are visting Watkins Glen!! Everything was amazing. Thank you George and Julie! --mabel & jeff


Another "excellent adventue"

5 sur septembre 12, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights mid August with the Conways in Watkins Glen. There were 4 couples, each with our own bath which was one of our prerequisites (you do need to bring a hairdryer). We took over the entire second floor which also consisted of a small kitchen with a refrigerator - bonus! Breakfast each morning was delicious and the hospitality was fun-loving and gracious. We had two guests one who is wheat-free and the other gluten-free. George and Julie were extremely accommodating and altered recipes to fit each of their diets accordingly. The location was awesome as it sits up on a hill with some views of the lake, and just a short walk into town (with sidewalks). We enjoyed relaxing on the front porch, the back deck and the gazebo. We felt right at home. I would highly recommend the Seneca Lake Watch B&B. When back in the Watkins Glen area, you can be sure we will be giving George and Julie a call.


Outstanding B&B

5 sur août 01, 2011

If you are visiting Watkins Glen, NY, and enjoy B&B accommodations, this B&B is excellent. George and Julie are fabulous hosts, the accommodations are immaculate and beautiful, the location is perfect, and the views from the home are stunning. Breakfasts are wonderfully prepared and ample, and they have the best coffee ever. Wish I could give it more than 5 stars. Thank you George and Julie for a great weekend. Dianne and Bill


Fantastic B & B

4,4 sur juillet 25, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights with George and Julie in their wonderful B&B. It was our girls weekend and the hospitality shown us was exceptional. Our rooms were cozy and comfortable and the breakfasts were out of this world! If we ever pass through Watkins Glen again, we will make sure to stay at Seneca Lake Watch!


everything we wanted

4,4 sur juillet 07, 2010

Beautiful, quiet and convenient. This Victorian home overlooks Seneca Lake in Watkins Glen. The giant porch and other balconies are excellent for relaxing and watching the boats on the lake. The gourmet breakfast is fabulous and keeps you full long into the day. The price was much less than some other B&Bs in the area. I would definitely return here.


A real vacation!!

4,4 sur août 19, 2009

We stayed at the Seneca Lake Watch for 4 nights in August 2009. WOW! What a relaxing vacation. The Lake Watch played a large part in us enjoying ourselves the entire time. Not only was the food great & the room clean and spacious, but we felt like we had the place to ourselves. We had use of our own kitchen, run of the deck, gazeebo & front porch, and a bathroom to ourselves. George offered great dining suggestions & even offered to make reservations for us! Very close to downtown, but not to too close to get annoyed by other vacationers. We highly recommend & would stay there again!


A great place to stay

4,4 sur juillet 05, 2009

I stayed at the Seneca lake watch B&B for a long weekend and loved it. George and Julie were helpful throughout our weekend and gave great recommendations for places to visit and dining options. the location was ideal, rooms were clean and comfortable, and the three course breakfast was tasty and kept us full till dinner time. I'd be happy to stay here again.


Wonderful getaway!

4,6 sur mars 31, 2009

We stayed there in August of 2007. My (now husband) proposed to me that weekend. George was very helpful in giving my husband ideas on where to propose (Watkins Glen state park). We are going back to stay for our 2 yr wedding anniversary in August and are anxious to stay there again. The B&B was wonderful, hosts were great, and the breakfast was excellent!


Met my needs but overall not my thing

3,0 sur octobre 05, 2008

We stayed in the Cayuga Room August 2008. Our group took up the entire home. I really enjoyed the guest kitchen. I guess I am just not a B & B kind of person, always feel like I am intruding at breakfast and feel like I am at my grandma's at night. Just not my cup of tea.


Beautiful Property, Good Value

4,4 sur septembre 29, 2008

This BB is gorgeous! Our private balcony offered beautiful views of the lake and the hills beyond. Breakfast was delicious and George was a gracious and helpful host. Being a very light sleeper, I also appreciated how quiet our room was. Even though all of the other rooms were full on the nights we stayed, I never heard the other guests. Our room was comfortable but the bathroom could use some updating.


Very pleasant stay

4,4 sur août 06, 2008

The accomodations were excellent, the location was terrific, the breakfasts were charming (and at a reasonable hour for vacationers), and the price was affordable. Overall a very pleasant experience, and we will look forward to staying there again and encouraging friends to do the same.


Top Notch!

4,0 sur août 04, 2008

We have stayed with George and Julie for at least the last eight years or so. When I say "with George and Julie" it is because when we go there we truly feel we are "home". They treat us like part of the family! They are gracious hosts and wonderful cooks. The Seneca Watch B & B is immaculate in every detail. The furnishings are exquisite; the breakfasts, unbelievable. You can sit in the gazebo, or on rocking chairs on the HUGE front porch. OR time alone on many of the private balconies - lounging on the secluded back deck - whatever you wish! There is even a wonderful guest kitchen where you can make hot tea, or keep bottles of wine chilled (from the many local wineries) - or food items you've brought with you. Truly a home away from home - we love it! They're stuck with us - annual visitors!!


Warm & Cozy

4,8 sur juillet 30, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at George & Julie's Senecal Lake Watch B&B. The rooms were large and decorated beautifully. We felt comfortable immediately. Breaksfast was fabulous and then conversations friendly. George made great recommendations for activites throughout our stay. We plan on going back again next year and taking my parents.


Excellence to the "T"

5 sur juillet 09, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary this July. The place was amazingly clean and George and Julie were excellent hosts. George personally greeted us when we arrived and gave us a tour of many of the rooms. The house is a huge 100+ year old home on the west side of Seneca Lake overlooking the lake. Excellent views to wake up to in the morning. The yard is beautifully decorated with colorful flowers and lovely gardens. The Conways add their personal touches to everything from the old antique irons that work as door stops to the decorations throughout the house. Each morning we were served a gourmet breakfast. It was like eating at a fine dining restaurant. When you sat down there was juice, water, coffee, and hot tea. It started with a fruit plate consisting of a variety of fruits, then on to a breakfast desert. Our first morning it was coffee cake; second morning it was pumpkin bread. Then it's on to the main course, which is nothing you could get at a hotel. The first morning we had crescent rolls that were made into French toast and had broiled apples on top; the second morning we had waffles with strawberries on top. The second morning my wife and I saw a deer out in the yard while brushing our teeth. We also saw a woodchuck out in the yard while eating breakfast. You get to know the other guests during breakfast. This was our fist time at a bead and breakfast and it got us hooked. I'm sure there is no other bead and breakfast of this quality in Watkins Glen. George was full of helpful information on the sites in the town. He pointed us to the relatively unknown Havana Glen just south of town on Rt. 14. I would highly recommend this place and it's very reasonable for the location. Whatever brings you to Watkins Glen, pay the $7 a car and go to the Watkins Glen State Park. It's the most beautiful place I've ever seen. It's a breathtaking experience (as is a stay at this B+B).


Seneca Lake Watch Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $110 - $170
  • Avis (21) 4,6
  • Chambres 5

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6075354490

Plus d'infos

Haut