Idlwilde Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
144 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Lovely place to stay

4,6 sur novembre 12, 2013

We had a wonderful time. Grounds are beautiful, and the Inn is amazing. Highly recommended, and we would definitely stay again.


Our late summer visit

5 sur novembre 07, 2013

We spent several nights at the Idlwilde and it was lovely. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are pretty and the breakfasts were delicious. Be sure to take the time to sit on the porch and enjoy the quiet. We had a wonderful time! Check out the photo book in the living room for a history of the renovation of this spectacular house. Tom and Wendy Mullin


Rooms 3 and 4

4,6 sur octobre 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed in rooms 3 and 4, they were a little small, however it was a good price. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay there again!


Idlewilde Inn

4,0 sur octobre 23, 2013

The room was very lovely. Just wish our bathroom would have been in our room. We also had to wait for breakfast because there were not enough seats for all the guests in the house. Overall a nice experience.


Idlwild Inn

3,2 sur octobre 20, 2013

The innkeeper, Maria, was very helpful with wonderful dinner choices (Suzanne's). The house is beautiful and spotless. The weekend we were there, the water system was being flushed and all of the water was undrinkable for most of our stay because it was brown - and really not able to shower with it either. We had our own water supply but it would have been nice if they would have given a bit of a discount or at least offered bottled water in light of the problem. The food was nothing special. Coffee was not very good. If you are looking for a gourmet breakfast, this is not the place for you. Rooms do not have TV's if you are looking for that. The location is very good - nearby many restaurants and wineries. The porch is a wonderful place to sit and unwind. There are no extra touches in this inn- no afternoon tea, cookies, etc. so bring your own supplies if you want anything extra. Given all of these things, I must say it is a beautiful inn but just know that you are paying for the room and a very plain, basic breakfast - that's pretty much it. Probably would stay in another place if I were to visit again.


Beautiful

5 sur octobre 20, 2013

This was a last minute vacation for us and we were fortunate to find a vacancy at this Inn. From the time we walked in the door to the day we left, Marie could not have done any more to make us feel at home. The Inn was centrally located but well off the main road. The quietest night sleep we have had in a long time. Can't wait to return and have our wine and cheese, with other great guests, on the expansive front porch.


Nice Rustic B&B

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2013

This is a very nice B&B in a location that is convenient to Watkins Glen, the wineries and the state parks. The only complaint I had was that the beds are very firm. Other than that, the food was great, the owners were nice and provided many good tips on the wineries to visit and the local attractions. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend it for a nice weekend getaway.


Amazing Anniversary Weekend

5 sur octobre 16, 2013

Never before having visited Watkins Glen, we did not know what to expect. The memories created with our stay at Idlwilde Inn will remain with us forever! Upon arriving we were warmly greeted and given a little tour of the property as well as information on the area. The tiny details found around the beautifully kept home was breathtaking. From the details in the woodwork, to the original pictures of the home lining the stairs. The cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff and the guests was great! The views of the lake and the property from our room and the front wrap-around porch were breathtaking. The leaves were turning and the atmosphere was beyond belief. Breakfast was simple and the taste was like being at home, surrounded by family. After eating, relax on the front porch with a cup of coffee, wander the grounds and explore the house.


A Lovely Inn

3,4 sur octobre 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Idlwilde Inn and had a wonderful time. The rooms were comfortable and the house was quiet. Carlo, Nancy, John and Maria were excellent hosts. They were quick to provide information that helped us maximize our stay in New York and they sure know how to make a good breakfast! Thank you for your hospitality.


Idlwilde Inn

3,2 sur octobre 13, 2013

Nice place


Fall visit to finger lakes

4,6 sur octobre 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at idelewild inn. Maria was a super host and very accommodating. The house was beautiful and the wrap around porch was very nice. We would definitely stay here again. Our trip was not long enough and we should have stayed An other night.


4 night stay

5 sur octobre 11, 2013

You couldn't ask for more. Everything 1st class. Had a wonder time!


GREAT STAY WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND

5 sur octobre 11, 2013

Great Experience- We spent our first wedding anniversary here. Breakfast was great! Staff was incredibly nice and knowledgeable of the area. They made lovely suggestions for lunch and things to do. Great location on Seneca Lake!


Awesome stay

4,2 sur octobre 10, 2013

Fantastic, welcoming hosts. Spectacular food. Beautiful wraparound porch to relax and converse. Very clean. Should have a wastepaper basket and rest room on main floor. Our room was on third floor and it is a hike just to throw away a tissue. Very friendly and homey atmoshere. Breathtaking view. Would certainly recommend.


quality owner operator.

4,4 sur octobre 09, 2013

We had a great experience, very clean and well maintained


recent stay - very nice!

4,0 sur octobre 08, 2013

The owners, amenities, and hospitality is great! the rooms are clean, comfortable, and in a very relaxing atmosphere. recommended!


September 2013

3,4 sur septembre 30, 2013

This is a charming house with lots of common space to feel right at home. Our host were very pleasant and held good conversations. The breakfast was spot on with no complaints. The house is several blocks off the main road which provided us a quiet stay but within easy walk of downtown. We would stay here again.


Idlwilde Inn in September

4,0 sur septembre 26, 2013

Lovely home and restful, quiet vist. Just what my husband and I needed


Relaxing stay at an Enchanting castle in the Finger Lakes

3,6 sur septembre 25, 2013

If you want to live a little like Gatsby, come stay at the Idlwilde Inn at Watkins Glen! The owners definitely make you feel welcome and you will have a peaceful time in this beautiful old mansion high above scenic Seneca Lake. Enjoy!


Beautiful, impeccable Victorian inn

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

We spent an absolutely delightful few days at the Idlwilde Inn. The house and grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained. In addition, the innkeepers were lovely people and not only served delicious breakfasts but were great sources of information on the wineries, hiking, and waterfalls in the area. I'd highly recommend a stay here.


lovely setting, beautiful property

3,0 sur septembre 22, 2013

Beautiful old building, very nice proprietors. We would stay there again.


Early September 2013

4,4 sur septembre 22, 2013

The house was beautiful - well restored and well maintained. The grounds were lovely, with a great big porch to relax and sip wine and enjoy the views. The short walk to the main street in town was steeper than I imagined, but I managed. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Watkins Glen and the Finger Lakes.


Fantastic Idlwilde INN!

4,6 sur septembre 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this beautiful mansion - well decorated. Rooms were very clean and service was fantastic! It was a pleasant home-like experience. Innkeepers were super courteous and inviting.


Farm Sanctuary Conference

4,4 sur septembre 18, 2013

Comfortable safe and helpful


Anniversary get away

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2013

An absolutely beautiful piece of property with very welcoming hosts.


An A+ place for a romantic get-away with your spose.

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2013

Beautifully kept mansion with extremely friendly hosts.


Nice

3,2 sur septembre 08, 2013

Very nice place


Lovely stay at Idlwilde

4,0 sur août 29, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend to visit the wineries and gorges. The rooms are comfortable, and one of our rooms had a balcony with a lovely view of the lake. It was a great place to sit and enjoy some local wine and cheese. Both Nancy and Maria were extremely helpful. Maria provided some useful directions for visiting Watkins Glen, and also suggestions for places to see along Keuka Lake and Taughannock falls, all of which made for a pleasant weekend.


Very quaint, prim and proper

3,4 sur août 17, 2013

-Clean -Beautiful -Needs more room amenities, very basic needs met (soap, shampoo and towels)


Enjoyed Idlwilde

5 sur août 17, 2013

Scenic views enjoyed from room and front porch. Felt like a princess in the lovely common rooms. A very special place with wonderful hospitality.


A wonderful surprise

4,8 sur août 15, 2013

A lovely surprise, delightful hosts and a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. We will be back.


wonderful mid-week stay

3,6 sur août 11, 2013

The Idlwilde Inn was a pleasant surprise. We arrived on a Tuesday and stayed until Thursday. It was a great time to be there and was a great chance to really spend some time with John and Maria. The pride of ownership and of the work they have done restoring this historic property is evident in everything they do. We stayed in the old servants quarters and the rooms were smaller with a shared bathroom which worked out fine for us because we took my mother on the trip with us and spent most of our time on the wine tasting trail. The bed was a little hard for our tastes but the price was right compared to other properties in the area with a lot less quality. John and Maria are gracious hosts and will do everything in there power to make your stay the very best. The front porch over looking Senaca Lake and the manicured lawns was our favorite place on the property and was great place to have a glass of New York's finest wines. The breakfast was different everyday and Maria went out of her way to assure that everyone was taken care of. The last day we were there the menu was french toast with a nice apple crisp. There were two other couples one had a food allergy and another was a vegan. Everyone had french toast and Maria prepared each dish with different ingredients so everyone could partake in the meal, you will not find that kind of service everyday! Finally we were treated to a private tour of the Idlwilde Inn and the grounds by John who has done most of the restoration by himself. All I have to say about the property is WOW and the pride shown by John is obvious when you talk to him about Idlwilde. Thanks John and Maria for a great stay. Tim and Karen


Finger Lakes Wine Tour

4,4 sur août 10, 2013

Amazingly beautiful rooms in an incredible Victorian mansion overlooking Seneca Lake. We loved our room, the view, the service, and the short, steep walk to town. Breakfast was not on par with the quality of our overall stay, but was good, simple BnB fare. Go early- to mid-week for less traffic.


Watkins Glen Relaxing Weekend

5 sur août 08, 2013

Our stay was the best yet and we have been there four times before! Maria, John, Nancy and Carlo are the nicest people in the world. The Inn is beautiful, comfortable, and inviting. A must for anyone visiting The Glen!


Idlwilde inn b&b

4,8 sur août 06, 2013

Wonderful peaceful setting, warm gracious hosts.


Idlwilde Inn

4,2 sur août 05, 2013

Lovely rooms and genuinely nice hosts!


What a room...

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2013

The only negative was the shower head released a weak and wimpy flow of water.


100% Satisfied

5 sur juillet 24, 2013

This is a tremendous B&B in a beautiful area. It was our home base for visiting the vineyards of the NY State Fingerlakes region. Seneca Lake arguably has the best vineyards in the region, and the Idlwilde Inn is the perfect 'home base' for exploring the region. Concerning the B&B, the property is immaculate, the breakfasts are sublime, and the company is wonderful!


A wonderful place!

5 sur juillet 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights in July. The owners are wonderful, the property is grand and immaculate, the breakfasts were of gourmet caliber. The location is within blocks of the downtown district. Really a great way to get away from it all!


WOW!

5 sur juillet 20, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Idlwilde Inn, and could not have been more pleased. The place was beautiful, the staff was so friendly and accommodating, and the breakfasts were amazing. We can't wait to come back again in the fall. We highly recommend this Inn, especially if you love antiques like we do. Terry and Russ Plotkin


Our Wine Vacation

4,8 sur juillet 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time. We met some wonderful people and our hosts were amazing. Our stay was everything that we expected to be. We would recommend going here to everyone.


Many days at Idlewilde

4,0 sur juillet 18, 2013

This is our second stay at Idlewilde and it's as great as ever. The hostess, Maria, is a true gem. Breakfast is always wonderful and we look forward to returning next year assuming the race we attend will be run up at The racetrack. Wilson F Harris


Idlwilde for the 2nd time

4,0 sur juillet 15, 2013

As always we greatly enjoyed our stay. Marie was a great hostess and took care of all our needs.


Another great stay!

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2013

Maria and Carlo are exquisite hosts! We've met several couples, over breakfast, who've become friends. A great place to relax, deer in the yard, fabulous sunrises, panoramic views, what more could you ask for? Stan Bigford


Warm and inviting

5 sur juillet 11, 2013

The Mansion is an incredible property with a very friendly family that brings a Smile to your soul.


Great place to stay!

4,2 sur juillet 09, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B&B. The innkeeper was amazing and willing to help with our needs. House is beautiful! This will be our first choice next time staying in the area.


Staff truly helps you enjoy your Finger Lake stay

4,4 sur juillet 09, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Idlwilde Inn over the Independence Day weekend. As it was a holiday weekend, all 12 rooms were full. However the B&B did not feel crowded or seem to lose any privacy. The first thing you'll notice is that the home is amazing. It was formerly a wealthy family's summer home, and it maintains that opulence and grandeur. The second thing you'll notice is that the staff really wants you to make the most of your time in the Finger Lakes region. When we checked in, she took 30 minutes to help us understand various things to do in the area, including marking certain hotspots on a map. Then she recommended restaurants, wineries, sight-seeing locations, and anything else that interested us. We wanted to reallocate our funds towards wine & food, so we chose a budget option on the room. Therefore we were sharing a bathroom with one other room (I believe only 2 of the 12 rooms have this option, the other 10 all have private baths). Still, the room was plenty big and only once in 4 nights did we need to coordinate with the other room for showers (and this was on a busy holiday weekend). Finally, I cannot speak enough of the opportunity to relax in the evening. Even though the B&B is only 4 blocks from downtown Watkins Glen, it sits several hundred feet about the town due to steep topography in the area. Therefore you can sit outside in the evening on the wraparound porch, in the gazebo, or in a chair in the grass, enjoying the views of the Lake and surrounding hills. A very refreshing way to wind down in the evening.


Wonderful, hidden gem in Watkins Glen!!

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2013

Talk about charm! This place has it, and is also spotless clean. The innkeepers are delightful, the rooms are peaceful and relaxing, and the grounds are breathtakingly beautiful! It has all the amenities you need for comfort too, like central air.


Long weekend

4,8 sur juillet 01, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Idlwilde Inn. The room was very nice, and breakfast was delightful.


Fabulous Experience!

5 sur juin 26, 2013

My wife and I absolutely enjoyed our time at Idlewild. We spent 5 nights with them while enjoying the NY, Finger Lakes Region. Our hosts Jon and Maria were so pleasant and accommodating. They made our stay at the Inn and our Finger Lakes experience everything that we had hoped for. The Inn is beautifully restored and meticulously cared for, creating a comfortable and relaxing experience every step of the way.


wonderful place to stay

5 sur juin 22, 2013

My husband & I were looking for a relaxing and fun place to get away for a long weekend. We found that place here at Idlwilde Inn. Our room (#10) had everything we needed. Maria, our innkeeper was warm and friendly as well as very helpful. She accommodated my husband's dietary restrictions with each breakfast without hesitation or reminding. The Inn is also very convenient to Watkins Glen State Park and lots of wineries all of which we enjoyed. We couldn't have asked for anything better all around. We have been telling everyone we know about this gem!


It was okay

3,2 sur juin 12, 2013

The innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful. Room was adequate, but no tv. Breakfasts were good but no other goodies like 4:00 tea and pastries or cheese. Pretty grounds and house but nothing above and beyond in experience. Watkins Glen State Park will bring me back again.


A great getaway!

5 sur juin 08, 2013

We visited Watkins Glen to celebrate our 1st wedding Anniversary. It was a beautiful location and the Idlewilde Inn was the perfect place to stay. The owners were so welcoming and very gracious hosts. They gave us plenty of information on the surrounding area and where to visit. They were so friendly and the breakfasts were delicious! Our room was gorgeous and clean and the whole Inn was beautiful! If you plan to visit Watkins Glen, this is the only place to stay in our opinion! You won't regret it.


Warm and cozy hideaway

4,0 sur mai 31, 2013

Great location, great innkeepers


Beautiful Inn

5 sur mai 25, 2013

We had a great weekend celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary.


Wonderful Spring Setaway

4,2 sur mai 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast.


Seneca Lake wine trail weekend

4,6 sur avril 17, 2013

Beautifully restored and maintained home. The owners are very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We are already talking about a return trip next year and have no need to look for other accomodations. We can't wait to stay at Idlwilde again.


Should have been better!!

1,6 sur octobre 28, 2012

The Idlwilde innkeeper that checked us in and served us breakfast was not at all welcoming. She made us feel like we were imposing when we asked for anything. Our room was clean but they did not provide hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, or facial tissues. Two small bars of soap and two plastic cups were the only items provided in the bathroom. The bed had only two pillows with pillow cases and there were no robes provided. If this was a $80 room I wouldn't expect these amenities, but for $240/night, I expect much more! The one-choice breakfast we were served was a super carb-loaded. French toast with syrup, peach cobbler, 2 kiwi slivers, and 2 sausage links. The only breakfast options were Cheerios, Bran Flakes, & Rice Crispies, sitting in their boxes. The last straw was bad coffee- weak and tasteless. We were so disappointed we would have checked out but didn't want to forfeit our payment. The inn is located in a lovely setting but the attitude of the staff was very disappointing compared to the many other B&Bs we've stayed in over the years. We will not return to the Idlwilde.


What a fabulous getaway spot!

5 sur octobre 16, 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary doing something simple yet memorable. We found Idlwilde on line and fell in love with it immediately. The grounds are well maintained and the front door was so welcoming. Maria greeted us with a happy anniversary and a tour of her b&b. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a nice view of Seneca Lake and we enjoyed the private patio for star gazing. The room, as well as the house, was spotless! The breakfast was outstanding and very satisfing. Maria was also very knowledgeable of resturants and other places of interest. For example a wonderful meal at Suzannes and hiking at Watkin Glenn State Park. We will definitely visit again!


PERIOD B&B ROOM COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER

2,8 sur octobre 12, 2012

Idlewilde is located high above the lake with good views from the front of the building also the grounds are well maintained and attractive. The lounge and staircase areas were comfortable with plenty of period features. Unfortunately the room (room 2) we had was located on the ground floor tucked at the back of the house near the car park. The room's decore, air conditioning and bathroom felt and looked tired. You also need to be reasonably fit to negotiate (by foot) the steep roads down to the town. Maria (proprietor) was friendly and provide good information about the local area.


Excellent place to stay

5 sur octobre 11, 2012

Stayed: 10/9/2012 We decided last minute to take a ride from Potter County PA to Watkins Glen to walk the falls and visit some of the vineyards. We were pleasantly surprized to find a room open at Idlewilde. The service, room, breakfast, and just the warm and friendly atmosphere provided by John and Maria set the tone for a great stay. We have never stayed at a better B&B.


Relaxing spot-Watkins Glen, NY

3,8 sur octobre 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend in Idlwilde Inn. The innkeepers did a wonderful job restoring this 19th gem. The house is beautiful and their breakfasts were quite good. It was a great spot from which to easily access many of the area's attractions.


anniversary

3,8 sur octobre 01, 2012

Really nice place. We travel a lot. Beautiful old mansion. The place was clean as a whistle. Missing some small amenities that we find at some B and B's we stay at. TV in rooms, snacks or happy hour, etc. Overall, we would stay here again.


Idlewilde at Watkins Glen - Wonderful weekend

5 sur septembre 16, 2012

Beautiful home, well managed, quiet restful rooms with great views of Seneca lake. Comfortable living rooms, wi-fi, the grounds and garden are lovely. The porch area is perfect for after-breakfast coffee and the gazebo is perfect for before dinner wine. The hosts are warm and welcoming, make you feel at home.


Lovely Property in Great Location

3,6 sur septembre 12, 2012

This is a beautiful building that is in exceptional condition. Almost museum like so not as comfortable and welcoming as many other B&Bs at which we have stayed. Breakfast was fine. We stayed in one of the least expensive rooms on the first floor and it was extremely clean and well maintained, if not large. Hosts are pleasant and accomadating but not the welcoming extroverts you find at many B&Bs. When checking in it was a little difficult finding someone to speak with so resorted to ringing the door bell. But overall, lovely property in a great spot. Fair, but not low, price. A reasonable value. Recommendations: More welcoming reception process to help newcomers feel at home.


Delightful visit

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2012

Immaculate, very close to the main town if you are able to walk well (there are some hills), beautiful front porch-wonderful for relaxing and chatting wth other guests.


Relaxing weekend

4,4 sur septembre 06, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. The grounds, building, view from our room, and the hospitality were just what we needed for a relaxing weekend.


Wonderful experience

5 sur septembre 04, 2012

A delightful few days. The hospitality was wonderful, the grounds are beautiful and the village has a nice variety of things to do.


Great house/food and location!

3,8 sur août 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay but it is definatly a winter water view now since the trees have grown up, but very comfortable wrap around porch! Marie is wonderful and we will stay again on our way up to the wine trail :)


NASCAR week

3,4 sur août 27, 2012

Great place to stay during a race at Watkins Glen International, or if you just want to visit the town. Great locaatoin off the beaten path. Very quiet. Terrific view from front porch. Unfortunately, I have yet to dine on breakfast, so can't rate it.


A wonderful "find"!

4,8 sur août 27, 2012

We travel to WatkinsGlen to the NASCAR races every year and this was our first time "in town". The Inn surpassed our expectations...beautiful rooms, gracious hosts, hearty breakfasts, and a beautiful front veranda with a great view. We will definitely be back!!


Wonderful Inn, Stay Too Short!

4,8 sur août 20, 2012

This was one of the most lovely places I've ever seen -- and our room was stunning. I only wish we had been able to arrive earlier and stay longer! But we will definitely be back! Maria is a terrific hostess and amazing cook; the grounds are like an estate;...made us feel for a bit that we were of the manor born!


Wonderful Time

4,8 sur août 20, 2012

Our stay at Idlwilde Inn was great. Only minutes to walk to downtown Watkins Glen. It is a steep hill so getting back to the Inn is a good climb. Great exercise though. The Inn was clean, service was great and the hosts were marvelous. Maria, especially, was a delight to talk to which only made our stay even better. After returning home we have recommended the Inn to our friends. Roz and Roy


Comfortable and tucked away on the Hill!!

3,4 sur août 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn for several years. Chose a different room for variety and value. Very nice. The family is welcoming and breakfasts are nice!


Best experience in a Bed & Breakfast I have had

5 sur août 16, 2012

The innkeepers were so friendly and accommodating. The whole place was immaculate. I got some amazing photos and memories there. I did a lot of reading and there were multiple relaxing locations to do that.The breakfast were all large in portion and delicious. The place was convenient to the downtown area and easy to find.Loved every minute of it.Not a single complaint.Thank you to Maria &,John and Nancy & her husband.


A very good value

4,4 sur août 16, 2012

Excellent, friendly innkeepers. Helpful in storing our bikes and use of freezer. The AC vent in the room was too strong and we could not find a way to control it. We would have liked an extra blanket. The food was decent. the coffee was not good. A very good value as you can choose which room you prefer to stay in. Public rooms and veranda views are beautiful. Very convenient location, yet high on a hill, above the traffic.


Great way to get away

4,0 sur août 13, 2012

We had a great time at the idlewilde inn. The home was beautiful. The views were spectacular and the the food was great! Would highly recommend and would definately stay again.


Wonderful Experience

4,6 sur août 09, 2012

Innkeepers were charming and provided many suggestions to fill our days in th Finger Lakes area. Breakfast was very good. Hanging out in one of the common areas to watch the olympics was a treat. We fixed and enjoyed dinner one evening on the wrap around porch while we enjoyed the company of the innkeepers and a pleasant evening.


Wonderful stay at Idlwilde Inn

4,4 sur août 07, 2012

The Inn was beautiful and lived up to the photos and description. We will stay there again.


Beautiful setting for a relaxing historic building

5 sur août 04, 2012

I should say that the pictures do not do the Idlwilde justice; it is much more amazing than pictures can show. It is easily the best looking property in Watkins Glen. The rooms, especially the upstairs rooms, are comfortable and very nicely decorated. We stayed downstairs, but had we known how great the upstairs rooms were (bigger, places to sit other than the bed, great views), especially the master suite, we would definitely have paid more to stay upstairs. The owners are knowledgable about the town and the wineries around the area. The breakfast is filling and tastes great. Overall we had a fantastic stay.


Very nice property and wonderful people, but

3,6 sur août 04, 2012

for the cost of a night's stay here, the breakfast was poor by the standards set by other B&B's we've stayed at. Only one choice of breakfast unless you wanted boxed cereal and fruit. No pastries, not even toast. For $180.00 per night we were served 2 pancakes, 2 frozen brown and serve sausage links, a half a peach with some reddi-whip squirted into it and a strawberry. That would cost the owners about $2.00 per person. This is a great place to stay if you don't care about the "breakfast" half of the whole concept.


A quiet place to relax

4,4 sur août 02, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with the intention of doing very little. The Inn was just what we wanted and needed. Only minor issue was they should install an ice maker. The ice supply was a little lean.


Wonderful!

4,4 sur août 02, 2012

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I tend to not stay at B&B's because I can be a little anti-social and shy. The people running the Inn were wonderful. They were warm and attentive without being invasive. The Inn was spotless and beautiful. My travel to the Inn was an absolute nightmare but they were calm and caring on the phone when I called to explain the situation and worked with me so that I could check-in when I needed to. The breakfast was wonderful and the view and land around the Inn was peaceful and picturesque - but also right near some fun things and, of course, the lake. A wonderful weekend and a well run, clean, and friendly place to stay.


Our stay in Watkins Glen Idlwilde Inn

4,6 sur juillet 31, 2012

Our stay at Idlwilde was wonderful. The staff, and especially Maria, were very friendly and accommodating. We are vegan, and Maria made sure to have vegan friendly options for breakfast on both mornings during our stay. The room was lovely, clean, and quiet. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was large and very clean. All in all we had a fantastic stay, and would recommend Idlwilde without hesitation. We hope to return someday in the near future. John, Patricia and Ellis G.


Wonderful inn and great hospitality

4,6 sur juillet 30, 2012

Great inn, great location and very reasonably priced. Absolutely a find. Maria - the owner is a lovely lady, very hospitable and helpful. I would recommend this inn to my friends without reservations.


Lovely B & B with great views!

4,8 sur juillet 18, 2012

Stayed in Room 6 and was very satisfied. Huge bed, great shower, a study area, two balcony's (one screened in, the other not) and plenty of views of Seneca Lake. The Innkeepers were friendly and helpful, breakfast was tasty and the Inn is only a short walk to the heart of town. Will be returning soon!


Awesome

5 sur juillet 17, 2012

Maria, John, Carlo and Nancy, wonderful sweet people. Very Clean, views spectacular, great breakfast


Bob Chapman - June 2012

4,8 sur juillet 15, 2012

I stay at Idlwilde every year, during Rolex Grand-Am Six Hours of The Glen weekend. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. My early hours didn't permit me to have breakfast at the inn during this trip, so my dining score reflects breakfasts eaten during past visits.


Lovely Inn with friendly hosts that go out of their way to make your stay pleasant

4,4 sur juillet 11, 2012

The Inn is lovely, quiet and well kept. The hosts are extremely helpful and friendly. Would definately recommend this inn.


A warm & friendly place to stay!

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2012

we visit Watkins Glen several times a year during race weekends and can't imagine staying anywhere but here. We are treated like family and appreciate the quiet & peaceful atmosphere. Acclaids to Maria, John, Nancy & Carlo!


Idlewilde Inn 28 June - 2 July

3,4 sur juillet 05, 2012

The Inn is a beautiful, restored, 120 year old house. The Innkeepers are outstanding, very friendly and pleasant. A few minor complaints: Coffee could have been available before 7:45am. We get up well before 7am most days. Our last two days we did not receive tissues for the bathroom (not T.P.) tissues. Also our last full day there, we did not get any washcloths with our towel set. Other than that it was a delightful experience and we would go back there any time.


Outstanding B&B in Watkins Glen

5 sur juin 18, 2012

This was our first stay at Idlwilde, but it definitely will not be our last. We were so pleased with everything, including the breathtaking views, that we have put it on our regular summer getaway list. We found that it was the perfect place just to sit and read a book or visit the vineyards, Corning glass museum or the natural wonders including Seneca Lake. We were also impressed with the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. They are great. We would recommend this to anyone.


great inn

5 sur juin 18, 2012

Fantastic place. definitly worth staying there


Lovely setting. Beautiful Inn.

3,8 sur mai 30, 2012

Beautiful location and restored Inn. Close to lots of restaurants and wineries.


Family wine tour weekend

3,6 sur novembre 06, 2011

Checked in on a Friday night. The hostess is a cute lady with a great sense of humor. Will definitely stay Here again.


Beautiful Inn

4,8 sur novembre 01, 2011

We spent a weekend at Idlwilde Inn. It is a beautiful home. The pictures on the internet do not do it justice; it is much prettier in person. The Inn was clean and well kept. We were greeted at the door by Maria with a warm and friendly welcome. She was gracious and kind. She gave information for places to eat and things to do. She was accomadating to a member of our party who is a finicky eater. The Inn keepers all made our first trip to the Watkins Glen area relaxing and enjoyable; we hope to go back again soon!


Hatten visit

3,8 sur octobre 28, 2011

We were in the area for a number of days. It was great to come back to the Idlewilde at any time and be able to relax on the porch and in the gazebo.


The Perfect BB

5 sur octobre 24, 2011

The owners make you feel like home, they are very attentive and accomdating, you really feel like is your house, great hospitality. If you want to have a Romantic and Relaxing long weekend, this is the place you want to be.


Review

4,4 sur octobre 20, 2011

Because of my racing schedule, I was unable to stay for breakfast every am--but the one meal I had was excellent. Spotless inside, and the grounds looked beautiful. I loved the quiet setting.


Gem in Watkins Glen

4,2 sur octobre 06, 2011

There are precious few nice places to stay in Watkins Glen and Idlwilde Inn is one of them. Large old mansion converted to an Inn. Period furnishings. Charming innkeepers. Leave your car trailer at the track though.


September 23rd Visit to The Finger Lakes

5 sur septembre 28, 2011

We had a great time! The porch is so comfortable and has a beautiful view. Great for gathering together a group. The breakfasts are delicious and the service is perfect. A great place to stay while visiting the Finger Lakes.


Great location, great people

5 sur septembre 28, 2011

The owners of this B&B absolutely made our stay. Not only is the house gorgeous, it has been very well kept and modernized nicely without taking away the dramatic historic ambiance. The location is great, near many wineries. We spent one day on one side of the lake, and the next day on the other without backtracking much. Idlwilde took our stay from great to outstanding.


Beautiful mansion!

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2011

Beautiful Victorian Mansion! Very very clean! Breakfast is very good! Maria, one of the innkeepers is such a doll! Highly reccommend this B&B!


Gorgeous

4,2 sur septembre 17, 2011

This was a beautifully maintained B&B. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.


Could not have asked for more....

4,4 sur septembre 03, 2011

Our four days at Idlwilde were the beginning of a wonderful trip. The house is beautiful, like stepping back in time, and we were treated like friends instead of customers. Our room was perfect and the public rooms downstairs really made you feel you were staying in someone's lovely home. Breakfast was outstanding, customized for John's allergies, and Maria was a fabulous hostess. We will send all our friends to Idlwilde if they ask about the Finger Lakes! John & Paula, Room 5


Beautiful Place to Stay

3,8 sur septembre 03, 2011

The grounds are lovely and the prepared breakfast is superior.


seneca lake overlook

4,0 sur septembre 02, 2011

Everything was perfect but there was a problem with the municipal water supply during our stay.


Idlwilde Inn

4,0 sur août 31, 2011

We had a very nice stay recently at the Idlwilde Inn. Our room was neat and had everything we needed, and the breakfasts were delicious and had nice variety. Beautiful building with lots of common areas if you are there with friends or a group.


So pretty & great hosptality!

4,4 sur août 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Idlwilde Inn, our room was one of the smaller and less expensive because it was the only one left when we booked. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom large. Our only issue was there there was not any place to put toiletries down by the sink. We hiked Watkins Glen after getting directions to the walking path from the inn and we had an amazing dinner at Suzanne's, our inn keeper's recommendation. Our breakfast was delish and in an elegant dining room. Sit on the porch and the gazebo, both perfect places to start or end your day. If you're planning a Fingerlakes tour, add Watking Glen and the Idlwild to your list.


Beautiful and friendly

4,4 sur août 15, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B. The room was beautiful and immaculate as was the rest of the establishment, and the innkeepers were genuinely friendly and helpful. Though we were suprised breakfast was only offered for one hour, we understood the reason why. Plus it was homecooked and delicious! Different items were also offered everyday. There were only two things that were a bit disappointing, but one has nothing to do with the any parts of the B&B. 1) It is situated on top of a big hill. It is pretty steep and goes on for 6-8 blocks. We wanted to walk back and forth to the local pubs - that hill made the walk far less fun and took more time. 2) The bed and pillows in our room was extremely hard. To us it felt like laying on the floor, and the first morning our backs hurt. Of course I am sure all the beds here are different, you may just have to ask for one that is more suited to your level of firmness. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay and would consider going back.


weekend getaway

3,4 sur août 15, 2011

The place was just fantastic, the grounds and the Inn itself was awsome. The only thing that I think can and should be improved upon are the breakfasts. They were nothing special. I have been to many bed and breakfasts where the food was over the top,when one pays the kind of money for the rooms in this place, one expects a gourmet breakfasts. There were no choices given and no one asked if you wpold like seconds.


great place to stay

4,6 sur août 15, 2011

awhsome place to stay , quiet yet close to everything. innkeepers were very helpful and made our stay pleasant. The house is a gem, outstanding. thank you, Greg Strickmaker


A great getaway!!

4,0 sur août 12, 2011

My wife an I really enjoyed our anniversary and this beautiful bed and breakfast. Thank you!


Immaculate House

3,8 sur août 10, 2011

Beautiful home and location. Was a little disappointed about the lack of wi-fi throughout the house.A small afternoon snack for the guests would be nice.


7/23 Weekend

3,0 sur août 07, 2011

Breakfast as a little disappointing as it only lasted an hour and when on vacation I like to sleep in a bit.


My stay at the Idlwide Inn

4,0 sur août 05, 2011

John & Maria were very charming. The inn is a great example of period architecture and the furnishings were the same. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood not far from the bustle of downtown. I will stay here again when visiting Watkins Glen.


Idlwilde Inn Texan

4,2 sur août 03, 2011

Owner greeted us at the door, explained things clearly, was extremely accomodating. House and rooms were beautiful, period furnished, homey and wonderful. Overall a great experience.


Idlwilde

5 sur juillet 24, 2011

This is the place to stay!!! The rooms are clean and the staff is wonderful! Maria is very sweet and very helpful! Idlwilde B&B is the best!


Wonderful time

4,4 sur juillet 18, 2011

We loved our stay at the Idlwilde Inn. We were on the top floor in room 11. The views of the lake and sunrise from the room were stunning. The house was impeccable. I was amazed at how clean everything is always maintained. Maria was super sweet and always helpful and accommodating. The A/C was amazing... almost cold, but perfect for a hot summer day.(and this was on the top floor, so we worried about that). Sharing a bathroom was not ideal, but it worked out just fine. There were no issues with that. The porch and grounds were amazing. I cannot say enough positive things about our stay there!!


awesome

4,4 sur juillet 15, 2011

Beautiful home and grounds. Very well kept, pristine. Breakfast was very good!


First timers at B&B

4,6 sur juillet 14, 2011

This B&B was beautiful. Beautifully decorated, white glove clean, comfortable rooms and beautiful setting. For a first time B&B it was the best. We have now been spoiled. Hope future B&B's can measure up. Owners/Operators extremely friendly and very helpful with suggestions of area attractions.


Exceeded Every Expectation!

4,6 sur juillet 13, 2011

I was surprised the moment we pulled up to the place. When we went inside I thought "this place is too nice for us". The owners are the friendliest, nicest people. They explained where everything was & how it all worked as far as breakfast & such. And they have done an amazing job restoring the place. It is probably the cleanest place I've ever stayed. The rooms are beautiful & the breakfasts were wonderful. And anything you needed they would try to accommodate you in every way. It made our four day trip extremely nice. A great value for the money! Very pleasant stay.


Pleasant B&B - lovely setting

3,0 sur juillet 07, 2011

This is a lovely property, and the hosts are nice. It has more rooms than we are used to - almost a small hotel - so breakfast has a little more of a restaurant feel, with quite a few separate tables. Most guests chose not to sit at the larger communal table, so we didn't get the extended morning conversation that we like. We prefer a cozier atmosphere, but I would certainly recommend this property to others.


BEAUTIFUL CLEAN B&B

4,4 sur juillet 07, 2011

I've stayed in MANY B&B's, and this one is up towards the top of my list. We stayed in one of the rooms that included its own bathroom (Room 5). The room was separated into a sitting area and the bedroom, both of which were comfortably sized. The bathroom was also enormous. The room, like the remainder of the B&B, was clean. Spotless in fact. Breakfast was good and available from 8-9. There are two large indoor common areas as well as a beautiful enormous front porch overlooking the estate's grounds. Parking was just a bit awkward due to the small driveway but I've stayed at B&B's with much worse parking accommodations. We would definitely stay here again when in Watkins Glen!


classic Victorian

3,8 sur juillet 04, 2011

wonderful setting, beautiful views, the room was clean, neat and very comfortable breakfast was ordinary


Wonderful stay for our anniversary

4,6 sur juin 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the master suite, room six. It was a huge room, actually 4 rooms and a balcony. It was beautiful and very peaceful. We had a wonderful view of the lake and it is a short walk to the state park through a gorgeous cemetary on a hillside. The entire premise was beautiful and Maria was a wonderful host with lots of good suggestions in the area. Would recommend a stay here.


A wonderful experience!!

4,8 sur juin 26, 2011

we visit Watkins Glen several times each year to enjoy the auto racing events & have stayed at several diifferent venues. The search has ended after our stay at the Idlwilde Inn! We were a bit concerned when we made our initial reservation because it is a bit more expensive that other places, however the exceptional atmosphere & TLC are worth every penny! Can't wait til our next visit to be pampered by Maria, John, Carlo & Nancy!!


Beautiful, restful surroundings

4,4 sur juin 25, 2011

This is a gorgeous ,well maintained turn of the century property. Inkeepers are gracious and helpful. Breakfast was lovely each day. Would recommend for your stay in or near Watkins Glen.


Lovely Historical Inn

3,4 sur juin 23, 2011

Idlwilde Inn was a lovely place, friendly innkeepers, great food, and good location. Every effort was made to meet any need we had.Large enough to join in with a group or have your privacy , whichever you prefer. Beautiful property with wonderful views, it has the potential to be a truly amazing place to possibly host a wedding with just a bit more work on the gardens, but was lovely just as it was and also spotlessly clean.


The only disappointment was...

4,0 sur juin 20, 2011

It is the only B&B in many years I've stayed at that didn't have snacks available at all times. I just needed a little something to nibble on, but there was nothing offered/available! No fresh fruit, baked goods, even a drink station...


June stay for 6 Hours at The Glen

4,2 sur juin 18, 2011

I did not dine at Idlwilde, so I have no basis for opinion. Please disregard that rating, as it should be "n/a".


First wine getaway

4,0 sur juin 09, 2011

Beautiful location and Maria was a gem. Excellent place to unwind after a day of wine tours. The service was very good, the rooms were clean and the breakfasts were awesome.


Wonderful place to relax

4,6 sur juin 05, 2011

Idlwilde has a magnificent view of Seneca Lake and is located close to great restaurants and activities. I enjoy relaxing on the huge Victorian porch and taking day trips to wineries, farmers markets, and hiking trails. If you want some exercise, walk the 4 blocks down the hill to the stores, restaurants, and tourist activities in Watkins Glen, and then walk back up the hill to burn calories! This is the best place to stay anywhere along Seneca Lake.


I won't recommend it

2,2 sur juin 02, 2011

One of the reasons to go to a B&B is to meet friendly hosts. The hosts were not friendly. Just business like. We were leaving early the next morning. The hostess simply said "oh you won't be there for breakfast". Not that we were expecting them to prepare early for us. But a few thoughtful words would have been nice. In general, the hosts were behaving as though we were intruding their space.


Idlwilde Inn Review

4,8 sur novembre 07, 2010

Our stay was wonderful. We had the most contact with Maria and John and they were quite friendly and made us feel most welcome to the Watkins Glen area, and Idlwilde Inn in particular. We will definitely keep Idlwilde Inn on our list of places to return to.


Will definitely come back!

5 sur octobre 21, 2010

My husband and I came to the Finger Lakes for a weekend- our first weekend away after having our first baby. We didn't want to stay at a regular hotel so I looked into Bed and Breakfasts. I was a little bit afraid that what I saw online wouldn't be how the house actually was, but it was even better. The entire house is beautiful, with furniture and decor to match the beauty of the Victorian house itself. The grounds were kept really well, the breakfasts were amazing, the owners were incredibly friendly and the view from the deck in room 10 is amazing. We actually left the wineries early so we could enjoy a bottle of wine and cheese on our private deck. So relaxing. We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends looking for a relaxing weekend away from the kids!


Review of rooms with a view

4,8 sur octobre 17, 2010

We happened to come upon the Idlwilde Inn by chance when trying to find accommodations on line. Having been to the Watkins Glen area before, we knew the beauty of the area and the Inn certainly reflects it as well. The owners do a marvelous job of making the guests feel welcome and the time, effort and love they put into their property is obvious. Glad we had the chance to stay and perhaps will do so again someday.


Charming and Clean B & B

5 sur octobre 16, 2010

This was the best Bed and Breakfast we ever stayed at it was very clean and had a good breakfast. The hostess was very helpful and gave us some good ideas where to tour in the local area. We will consider staying again at this B & B the next time we are in the Watkins Glen area.


Fun at Seneca Lake

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2010

Maria was great! We had a tour of the Inn and learned it's history. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather so were able to enjoy the vistas from the great front porch. Breadfast was delicious and more than expected!! Yummy bananas and pancakes with New York state maple syrup!!


Would definitely come back

3,8 sur octobre 02, 2010

While my philosophy is normally "So many B & Bs, so little time", this is one of the few that I would stay in a second time. It had the best food overall and wonderful atmosphere. The innkeepers were very friendly, and it is an elegant estate.


Weekend Escape

5 sur septembre 24, 2010

This is an amazing Inn. Beautiful. My husband and I decided to visit Watkins Glenn and do the Seneca Lake Wine Tour for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We stayed in Room#10. Gorgeous view of Seneca Lake from our private balcony. Peeked into some of the other rooms and they looked beautiful as well. Inn owners were very friendly. Couldn't get over how clean everything was. Husband kept commenting on how clean the windows were. :) Highly rec. this Inn to stay price is definately worth it! Will go back again.


Nice view

3,0 sur septembre 11, 2010

Lovely location, good breakfast, clean. Main house seems fine, but carriage house musty.


Wow!!!

5 sur octobre 14, 2009

Stayed two weekend nights on the third floor. the place is charming, clean, quiet, and I loved being away from the constant barrage of electronics we are subjected to during our daily lives.


Best B & B in the village!

5 sur juillet 29, 2007

So much to do in the area. Close to town, and 10 minutes from the racetrack. The hospitality of the hosts was outstanding and breakfast was delicious!


Idlwilde Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $110 - $270
  • Avis (144) 4,3
  • Chambres 15

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6075353081

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut