Sterling Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,7
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
59 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A gem in the heart of Brooklyn

5 sur août 05, 2013

We were lucky to find Sterling Place on short notice (2 weeks) and were delighted with our stay! A beautifully-appointed home, warm and gracious hosts, comfortable and quiet rooms, diverse breakfast choices, delicious coffee - we felt at ease the moment we arrived. The Arches is spacious and quiet, the Garden room artistic and energizing. We were able to find parking nearby even at night. Fun places to dine, shop, and party are within a few blocks. We could come and go as we pleased, visiting family, exploring Prospect Park and greater Brooklyn by car, bus, train, An excellent value with the ambience of neighborhood living. - TK


Sterling Bed & Breakfast

5 sur août 01, 2013

We stayed in the Arches for a week - what an absolutely beautiful, comfortable, and quiet room. The complimentary breakfast included delicious fresh fruit and freshly baked pastries every morning. The hosts were tremendous - very helpful. This is truly a wonderful place to stay - great location for local and express subways to Brooklyn and Manhattan. - Tari & Dennis


Unique Charm

4,2 sur juillet 12, 2013

Our stay at the Sterling was such a unique experience. Our hosts were not only attentive and welcoming, they spent extra time getting to know us. The fellas have a great sense of humor and bent over backwards to meet our needs. Stay at the Sterling!


Charming B&B

4,2 sur juin 09, 2013

Friendly staff, comfortable quiet surroundings, and convenient location. If looking for a great place to stay near the Brooklyn Museum and Botanical Gardens then the Sterling is the place for you. If you run out of things to do in Brooklyn, Manhattan is just minutes away by subway. This family owned and run B&B is lovingly cared for by the Orr family who will do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one.


Rasa goes to Brooklyn

5 sur mai 28, 2013

This was a great place for us to get a sense of the community we were visiting.


Super günstig, in Bestlage und tolle Gastgeber !

5 sur mai 27, 2013

Die Gastgeber waren so nett und hilfsbereit - ein echtes Familienunternehmen mit Herz! Die Lage ist sehr praktisch, das Ambiente in dem klassischem Brownstone romantisch und das Frühstück lecker! Ist gleichermassen für Paare wie auch reisende Familien mit Babys und Kindern geeignet. Wer rechtzeitig bucht kann auch mehrere Zimmer belegen - wir sind mit Kindern und Freunden dort gewesen!


Cleanliness is next to ....

4,6 sur avril 28, 2013

I enjoyed my short stay at the Sterling Bed & Breakfast, and wished it would have been available for a longer stay. Why? Love the books titles on the shelves, the clean and quiet sorroundings, great heavy & clean un-wrinkled cotton sheets, The Family ambient and "Cheney's freshly baked, King Arthur breakfast muffins.


Great location, great hosts, charming and comfortable rooms.

4,0 sur avril 07, 2013

Everything was done to make us come back. We will!


Wonderful location, can walk anywhere or take a subway. The house was beautiful and the morning fruit and scones and coffee were perfect. the owners and their sons are very nice and we had a perfect stay. The room price was totally reasonable !

5 sur janvier 17, 2013

Patti and Hugh Downing


Good Times!

5 sur novembre 28, 2012

I stay at sterling bed and breakfast frequently and always have the best experience! The hosts go out of there way to make sure that you are comfortable and happy with everything. The rooms are beautifully decorated and always very cleanly. I find it much more comfortable and homely than a hotel. When visiting the big apple i wouldn't stay anywhere but here!!!


A Sterling Memory

4,4 sur novembre 26, 2012

Can't recommend Sterling Bed and Breakfast highly enough...the family that keeps this B&B humming is hospitable, helpful, and knows how to make strangers feel at home. The Garden Cottage was a welcome refuge from city holiday hustle & bustle. This B&B is well located, and has the added bonus of being on a street where is on-street parking even at busy holiday seasons. O joy!


Quickie wedding trip

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

We were in town for a wedding nearby in Brooklyn Botanic garden, and this was a wonderfully close locatoin to Prospect Park for that. Very considerate hosts.


Sterling bed and breakfast

3,8 sur octobre 15, 2012

we needed a place in the neighborhood to stay - there were no hotels. This was our first experience and glad we took the chance. My wife and I were very comfortable and noticed a much quieter enviroment than we get from a traditional hotel. The owner and family also helped to share info on the neighborhood and made some great non tourist type recommondations for some great food.


We will be back!

5 sur octobre 12, 2012

My only reluctance to write the warm review I'm doing arises out of fears that I won't be able to get a reservation next time I want to! We felt so very welcome and at home -- our hosts went out of their way to be helpful, and all the other guests we met at breakfast were delightful. What we loved in particular -- we were in the the Cottage -- was the amazing silence.


It doesn't get any better than this!

5 sur juillet 16, 2012

My 2 daughters and I stayed for 3 nights (7/11 - 7/14) and had a most magnificient stay. The "Arches" room was perfect for our needs and the owners went out of their way to make us feel most welcomed. Breakfast in the morning was superb (both the food and conversation). You are just a short walk away from the subway and should we travel again to NYC, this will be where we want to stay! You can't beat the value!


The Strrling is top notch

5 sur mai 19, 2012

Our stay at the Sterling was perfect. The hosts were accommodating and made our stay comfortable and warm. The room was just beautiful , spacious and clean.Each room had somethng special to offer and breakfast was fabulous.The neighborhood was fun and the location was close to many great offers in Brooklyn. Price was reasonable for all it had to offer. We can't wait t return to the Sterling.


Truly, a Sterling Experience

5 sur mai 02, 2012

We stayed in the Cottage - peaceful and private. The innkeepers and family were most helpful and very nice. Other people staying at the B&B were very interesting. A wonderful place to stay - and close to the subway so easy access to Manhattan. Easy to get to JFK on public transportation, too. All in all, a wonderful home away from home!


Awesome, quiet and safe--very welcoming hosts

4,8 sur avril 11, 2012

This is a genuine b&b--family run yet well managed. I was there with spouse and a four year old and felt it was the best choice for us. Having lived in nyc for 6 years before moving to London I was pretty well informed and would highly recommend sterling to others trying to decide


Wonderful!

5 sur février 03, 2012

Sterling Bed and Breakfast is so lovely! My host , David Orr, was welcoming and attentive. My room was so comfortable, warm and very quiet, overlooking the pretty backyard and cottage. Yes, in Brooklyn! I feel so lucky to have found such a fabulous place to stay while visiting my son in Brooklyn. I look so forward to staying in the cottage on my next visit.


Perfect!!!!!!!!!

5 sur janvier 11, 2012

We have stay at Sterling twice, both times it exactly what we wanted. The owners were kind and very helpful. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast had everything we could want including homemade scones. The linens were luxurious. It is the best B&B I ever stayed in.


Wonderful B&B

5 sur janvier 11, 2012

We stayed here twice during a return to the US for the holidays and each time it was like coming home -- a level of comfort we've not experienced in American B&Bs; owners are welcoming; breakfasts are real -- freshly baked scones, fruit, excellent coffee; highest quality sheets and towels; and the decor is charming and not overdone. We'll be back.


Wonderful accommodations & hosts

5 sur octobre 30, 2011

Good location on a culturally diverse street. Near museum, park, & transportation. Well-traveled host family adds to the experience.


At home abroad

4,4 sur octobre 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed with Masha and David a few days in October and we enjoyed it a lot. We both agree that it had been the right choice to stay in Brooklyn as we liked to flee the hectic atmosphere in Manhattan and relax from our busy days in the evenings. The Sterling Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations: our room was cosy, the breakfast (with fruit, berries, and freshly baked scones and muffins) excellent, and our hosts just charming! We took pleasure in all the interesting conversations and if we were coming back to NY, we would definitely stay at the Sterling B&B again.


Really enjoyable stay at Sterling B&B

5 sur octobre 07, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sterling B&B on our first visit to New York in September. We wanted somewhere which was clean, friendly and a close location to our son who lives in Brooklyn. Well we got all that and more. Masha and David are great at making you feel right at home. During our visit we managed to sleep in all 4 rooms so we got to see them all. We especially like the Arches room. We will return at some point in the future because its such a great place.


All-around comfort, plus much more

5 sur septembre 29, 2011

We stayed here to be close to the Botanic Garden, where our son's wedding was held. It was so nice to feel we were going "home" at the end of each hectic day. The owners were friendly and helpful and put us at ease immediately. We loved the decor. Breakfasts included fresh fruit, freshly baked scones or croissants, and delightful conversation. Neighborhood restaurants had food that appealed to my sensitive stomach and my husband's more adventurous tastes.


Sincere, thoughtful hosts

4,0 sur septembre 02, 2011

The thoughtful, thorough, and generous attention of the hosts to their guests makes this delightful B & B a standout.


Sterling Accommodation!

5 sur août 18, 2011

I would recommend this B&B to my friends. Home away from home, lovely rooms, interesting furniture, pictures and period features. Comfortable and friendly. Enjoyable breakfasts. Far removed froma bland hotel!


Brooklyn Nights

4,8 sur juillet 19, 2011

Sterling B&B was a "diamond in the rough" for us as we visited our family who were living only 5 blocks away. as this was a special anniversary visit,the comfortable accommodations were sanctuary after long jaunts into Manhattan by nearby subway connections. The breakfasts were ample and fresh to start the day of exploring and allowing for the tasting of the fares of the city shops later on. The innkeeper was very engaging and accommodating to our needs in all ways. We would definitely return to this location.


A lovely place to stay

4,8 sur avril 12, 2011

Warm cozy atmosphere, clean rooms, quiet location. In short it was an excellent experience.


Charming, friendly B&B in Brooklyn

5 sur mars 03, 2011

We visited the Sterling B&B in late February 2011. Not only is the location great for exploring Brooklyn or visiting Manhatten, the house is a beautifully restored brownstone. Our room (the Garden Room) was spacious, comfortable, and nicely furnished. The breakfasts were continental, but substantial and tasty. But best of all, hosts Masha and David were friendly, helpful and very interesting to talk with. Sterling B&B is our new go-to loadging for visits to New york.


un trésor dans brooklyn !!!

5 sur janvier 09, 2011

pour mon premier voyage à new york, je suis tombé par hasard sur ce bed & breakfast et je ne le regrète pas. le garden cottage est confortable et si paisible après une journée à arpenter new york ! l'accueil chaleureux, un petit déjeuné copieux et suculent pour nous requinqué chaques matins.les magasins ouvert non-stop,le métro à deux pas! et ne parlons pas des restos, il y en a partout tout autour! bref le voyage parfait!!! je reviens dès que possible!!!! merci masha !!!!


Only one word: excellent!

5 sur décembre 17, 2010

we had a fantastic week at Sterling Bed & Breakfast. Marsha and David were very friendly and helpful. It felt always like coming home.


Excellent Visit!

5 sur août 17, 2010

Best bed and breakfast experience I've ever had! The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They served great breakfasts, with freshly-squeezed orange juice, amazing coffee, an assortment of fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, bagels, and pastries. Everything was delicious! The room was very clean and cozy and had a wonderful charm about it. My girlfriend and I had an amazing stay, and recommend it highly to anyone wanting to stay in Brooklyn.


Wonderful

5 sur août 06, 2010

Very comfortable home, welcoming family and great location. Immaculately clean.


A B&B Apart

5 sur juin 08, 2010

My husband and I have stayed in several B&Bs in the Brooklyn area, and so I can say there are B&Bs and then there are B&Bs. What sets Sterling apart? The location is great, and it is clean and tastefully furnished. But it is the warmth of the household that we loved. Breakfast is served at one table, affording you the opportunity to chat with other guests as well as hosts David and Masha. If you need personal attention, they are there to offer directions and suggestions. Still, it is non-intrusive – one morning, waiting for my husband to get ready, I sat in the upstairs parlor peacefully reading for about 45 minutes. After plunging into the busy-ness of NYC, it was always a pleasure to return to the peace and warmth of Sterling B&B.


Wouldn't Hesitate to Recommend

4,2 sur juin 03, 2010

Staying at Sterling B&B has been a relaxing way to start our US adventure. Remarkably quiet, this beautiful home from home has been a great base for NYC and the Brooklyn Museum. Great hosts, David and his family, made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped inside. Breakfasts were good and relaxed. Oh and bed is really comfortable.


Trip to see the new baby

4,0 sur février 22, 2010

We stayed at Sterling Bed & Breakfast for two nights in early Nov. It was great, room very relaxing with nearby private bathroom. Right around the corner from my son's apt. Breakfast and their company was a delight. We strongly recommend it to everyone.


Your #1

5 sur janvier 13, 2010

This is a great place. My husband and I felt like we were at home, totally not what we expected to find in New York. We had never been here, and Marcia and Davids help was invaluable, even to walking us to a fantastic wine cafe. Really, it couldn't be better. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks so much Marsha and David.


Weekend in Brooklyn

4,4 sur juin 25, 2009

We stayed in the Cottage for 4 nights. It was private and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic every morning, and we thoroughtly enjoyed the company of Masha and David and their charming family. The neighborhood seems on an upward trend, maybe due to the efforts of caring residents such as the Hamilton-Orrs.


great value

4,4 sur juin 09, 2009

Great location and value. Would heartily recommend to NYC visitors who would like to retire to a slower pace during their stay.


Recommended

4,6 sur mai 11, 2009

My husband and I spent 8 nights at Sterling B&B. We really do recommend it. Our room was spacious and we had a private bathroom. The owners are very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. the location is great- just a few blocks from subway that takes you to Manhattan in 15 minutes. Neighborhood is safe.


Hidden Gem in Brooklyn

4,8 sur avril 19, 2009

What you find when you step into Sterling B&B is completely unexpected—at least to me. It is exactly like a home in the city. The hosts are warm, loaded with advice and maps and menus. The breakfasts are delicious. Our room was great and the location couldn’t have been better for us. We will definitely come again.


Electric Eclectic B&B

5 sur avril 14, 2009

The people at the B&B were an eclectic group from various backgrounds, worldwide exposures, and conservation to liberal persuasions. The B&B hosts had a manner about them that encouraged dialogue, so breakfast became a post-graduate senior in human interaction- enlivening and enriching!


enjoyable

4,6 sur avril 13, 2009

Great and interesting owners and neighborhood. Very pleasant all around.


Brooklyn neighborhood

4,8 sur mars 19, 2009

Had a great time talking to hosts, who love food and having fascinating lives. Very generous with their time.


A Superb Visit

5 sur mars 03, 2009

Sterling B&B was convenient, clean and the hosts were super friendly. There is great attention to detail, and I loved the neighborhood. Subways are very close, as is the Brooklyn Museum. Sterling B&B made my NYC visit extremely pleasant. I began recommending it to other people even before I’d unpacked my bag.


Pampered At Bargain Price

5 sur février 15, 2009

My husband and I took a long weekend getaway and chose Sterling initially because you can walk to the Botanical Gardens and it is also close to subway for quick access to Manhattan. We weren't prepared for how comfortable and friendly it was. Our room was great and reminded us, even in the cold of winter, of being in sunlight Arizona. The sheets were luxury quality and the breakfasts were delicious. The atmosphere was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning to Sterling B&B and recommending it to friends.


Pampered At Bargain Prices

5 sur février 15, 2009

My husband and I took a long weekend getaway and chose Sterling initially because you can walk to the Botanical Gardens and it is also close to subway for quick access to Manhattan. We weren't prepared for how comfortable and friendly it was. Our room was great and reminded us, even in the cold of winter, of being in sunlight Arizona. The sheets were luxury quality and the breakfasts were delicious. The atmosphere was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning to Sterling B&B and recommending it to friends.


Great Neighbourhood

5 sur janvier 18, 2009

We loved our stay at the Sterling Place B&B. We met interesting people, a pretty little cat who welcomed us and a personable family. It is close to major Brooklyn sites and public transportation. I loved the neighbourhood, it is packed with diversity. I will definitely stay there again.


Affordable, Great Rooms and Location

4,8 sur décembre 18, 2008

My husband and I loved Sterling B&B. The hosts did everything they could to accommodate us, and the location is ideal for getting around both Manhattan and Brooklyn. Our room was great. Breakfast was delicious. No hesitation in recommending Sterling, and we will stay here again.


Great Conversations, Warm Hospitality

4,8 sur octobre 23, 2008

A perfect place to stay while visiting New York City: Sterling B&B feels like an upscale version of home. We had wonderful conversations and laughter over tasty breakfasts in the dining room, and our hosts helped us with maps and guidebooks. We will not forget Sterling, and we will definitely stay here again.


Honeymoon Delight

5 sur septembre 27, 2008

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon here and we loved our room - the cottage. It was charming. Our hosts were so warm and welcoming and helped us with guidebooks, suggestions and good conversations over breakfast. It was a memorable stay and we hope to be back for anniversaries.


Perfect Home Base!

5 sur juin 12, 2008

Not only was the room comfortable and gracious, but our hosts were so welcoming and engaging. They handled extra needs, providing directions, restaurant suggestions, and even took in our lost luggage when the airline delivered it while we were out on the town. It was a great stay and the location, close to the Brooklyn Museum, Botanical Gardens, Prospect Park and subways, was just about perfect for us.


Sterling B&B? No way! Sterling home!

5 sur mai 19, 2008

To B&B dot Com review: (Montreal, Quebec, Canada, 19th of May 2008). Mme Masha Hamilton and M. David Orr welcome their guests in their cosy retreat from busy NYC, a conveniently located home. My wife and I enjoyed the confort of the room, the library, the access to internet, the good -- without being submerged by unnecessary sweet food -- breakfast, the availability and sound advices of our hosts, their discretion: in one word, the soul of their home. We felt part of it. To be underlined: a most welcoming family! After having lived so far in eight countries, we do believe that this B&B ought to be considered a point of reference in any federation or association (national or international), a "point de passage et de séjour obligé" (an obligatory transit and sojourn stay). Merci (in French), dank U (in Flemish) and of course, thank you !


Wonderful stay in the cottage

5 sur avril 23, 2008

The Garden Cottage was a sanctuary in the city at the end of the day. The hosts were so helpful with giving us directions and advice about everything from museums to restaurants. Breakfast in the garden was perfect, and was even available when we had to leave before dawn for an early flight home. Couldn't have been better!


We'll definitely come again

5 sur février 29, 2008

My husband and I were in town for a family event and found Sterling B&B to be just about perfect. Great location for us, spacious room, nice conversation with the interesting innkeepers over breakfast. I feel like we made new friends in Brooklyn at Sterling B&B.


We'll come again

4,8 sur février 29, 2008

My husband and I were in town for a family event and found Sterling B&B to be just about perfect. Great location for us, spacious room, nice conversation with the interesting innkeepers over breakfast. I feel like we made new friends in Brooklyn at Sterling B&B.


The Extra Mile

4,8 sur janvier 30, 2008

It was cold outside, but very warm, friendly and comfortable inside Sterling B&B. The hosts were gracious and always went the extra mile to help us and the location was ideal.


Wonderful room, great location

5 sur janvier 15, 2008

Our room overlooked a spacious garden and you never would have guessed you were in the middle of the city. The room itself was exceptionally clean and peaceful, and the location was perfect for getting everywhere from Manhattan to Coney Island beach. We will definitely stay here again!


Sterling Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $145 - $245
  • Avis (59) 4,8
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-7184992509

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut