Wilderness Gateway Bed and Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,1
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,7
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
14 Avis

Ecrire un avis

new mexico treat

4,0 sur novembre 07, 2010

warm and welcoming stay - nice retreat for a weekend getaway!


Pecos Wilderness Beauty

4,6 sur octobre 13, 2010

We had the guest cabin and it was very nice. Comfy bed and very clean. The location of the cabin is secluded and the view of the stars at night breathtaking. Would certainly stay there again. We did not eat any meals at the Lodge.


Cabin stay

3,0 sur septembre 22, 2010

We rented the cabin so did our own cooking and clean up. Close to where we were in a meeting so was very convenient.


Beautiful location.

3,8 sur septembre 09, 2010

The location and view were amazing. The rooms were very clean, and the hosts were very nice. The walls, however, are paper thin and so even quiet conversation can be heard clearly in the next rooms. There is only one TV which is in a small room in-between the two guest rooms in the house and is also easily heard through the walls even at low volume levels. We enjoyed our stay, but did think that some might want to know that there may not be quite as much privacy or peace and quiet (depending on who else is staying there) as one might hope for.


Mountain Paradise

4,0 sur août 16, 2010

This bed and breakfast is remotely located in the mountains above Pecos, NM. The inn and its surroundings are beautiful. The proprietors, Steve and Patty, were friendly, helpful and good cooks. Because of its remoteness, we chose to have our dinners at the inn, and they were great. Of course, so were the breakfasts. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and for our next stay we are going for the larger room with king size bed - cuz' we like to stretch out. All in all, we can recommend the Wilderness Gateway Bed and Breakfast - for peace and quiet, friendly service, and the great outdoors for excercise to walk off the wonderful meals!


Nice room, a little cramped

3,6 sur août 08, 2010

You should put in a little table or utility cart for the microwave and coffeemaker. Take them off of the table. This room could be a cozy retreat for a couple. Also include a couple of stemware glasses for wine. Even cozier!


Mountain Paradise!

5 sur novembre 23, 2008

The location is primo, the dinners were delicious, the lodge was warm, comfortable, and very clean. But, the best parts of the whole experience were the host and hostess, Steve and Patty. We were warmly welcomed and treated like family. They were wonderful to my son and I for our entire stay. For hiking, fishing, or just relaxing away from the rest of the world, this is the place to stay in New Mexico! David Henslee


Fantastic

5 sur août 31, 2008

This was a return visit and it was just as good, if not better, than our first visit. Steve and Patty are fantastic hosts. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The location is perfectly suited for hiking, birding, fishing, or just escaping. The food is wonderful. A great B&B in a beautiful setting. A real value. Highly recommended.


An awesome experience

4,6 sur août 19, 2008

Originally, we booked 2 nights with Steve and Patty for our 6 night vacation in New Mexico. After the first night, our accommodations were so great that we asked if other nights were available and we lucked out that our room was still available. We booked! The inn is beautiful, peaceful, quiet, intimate, and yet accessible. The grounds were beyond my wildest imagination and the pictures on the web-site do not do the landscaping and physical setting justice. It is awesome and the sound of the river has the sound of soft music. I encourage you check out the pictures on Steve and Patty’s web-site. Our room was immaculate with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was beautiful and romantic…and handicap equipped. I connected everyday to the wireless internet and checked my work e-mail. Our food was delicious and we were served on a beautiful outdoor covered patio as well as in a cozy parlor. One could sit and read, walk the grounds, hike in the Pecos Wilderness or drive short a distance to hike higher in the wilderness or be in Santa Fe within 45 minutes. Steve and Patty were gracious hosts and always worked to accommodate our schedule of hiking, rafting, shopping in Santa Fe, and just goofing off. The couple in the other B&B room was kind and great guest –mates which enhanced our experience. I searched my memory for a disappointment or something that was not a good fit…but I just could not recall any problems. Our stay was wonderful and we would happily return for the change of the fall foliage or to experience the first snowfall. We will return...and soon.


peaceful and tranquil

3,4 sur mai 14, 2008

One would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful site for a B & B. Steve and Patty are the perfect hosts and could not be more accomodating. We found, however, the price of lodging to be a tad steep in comparison to other B & B's of similar type that we've stayed at over the years. The included breakfast was tasty, but our particular selection on the sparse side. There are a variety of menu selections from which to choose.


Tranquil & Accessible

5 sur octobre 07, 2007

My husband Bill, my friend Dorothy and I had a lovely stay here with Steve & Patty. I am now confined to a wheelchair from a bicycle accident so I can no longer hike the beautiful forests. Bill the flyfisherman tells me the fishing is excellent. It is very hard to find places that are really accessible but our room was easy to manuever and I could wheel around the grounds. The bed was very high making for a difficult transfer so Steve & Patty hustled around & lowered the bed. We never felt like we were at an INN but at the home of friends. I can second all the nice things said in the other reviews but want to add this. Should you have a member of your party who is old, infirm or just cannot walk like me this is a great place. You can still have the "nature" experience w/o going far. The star gazing was awesome. I enjoyed the trout pond. One last comment, the food was excellent. I gaining 3 pounds but I quess I have to blame that on myself.


You Will Not Find Nicer People or a More Perfect Cabin in the Mountains!

5 sur août 20, 2007

My friend and I spent three nights at Wilderness Gateway recently. We intended to find a place that was close to the fishing and hiking, that provided a roof over our head and a hot shower. When we arrived, we thought we might be at the wrong place, as it was a picture book setting - a beautiful log home surrounded by lush green grass and trees overlooking the Pecos River below. We rented the guest house, which is a nice, comfortable cabin situated a little above the main log home. The guest house contains 2 identical rooms, each of which are large, roomy, comfortable, and spotless. Each room has a kitchenette with fridge, sink, and stove. All necessary cooking utensils, pots & pans, etc. were provided. There is a beautiful grassy lawn with several different sitting areas to overlook the beautiful mountains and the Pecos River below. Patty and Steve were the best hosts one could wish for. Both are warn and friendly, and truly made us feel welcome at their property. They gave us privacy, but still managed to somehow be around if we needed anything. We thoroughly enjoyed spending time with them and staying at their cabin. On top of this, the rates are reasonable and Steve makes one mean breakfast! We will be back soon and often!


Outstanding

5 sur août 19, 2007

My friend and I stayed at the Wilderness Gateway during the week of August 13, 2007 while fly fishing the waters of the Pecos Wilderness. We each took one of the two rooms in the Guest House. Our stay could not have been better. First, Steve and Patty are fantastic. They could not have been nice and more gracious hosts. They both went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Our rooms were perfect. Steve and Patty recently had built the Guest House and their attention to detail is evident. The two rooms are connected by a small hallway with two doors that each can be kept open or closed. Each room has its own kitchenette with two burners, a sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, pots, utensils, paper towels, plates, etc. Thus, we were able to prepare all of our meals. The beds are big and comfortable, the bathrooms nice, and the rooms large. Each room had its own small dining room table. Additionally, the rooms were spotless. We had our own private outdoor sitting area with a beautiful view of mountains, and we were able to bring our truck right up to our rooms which made for convenient loading and unloading each day. For our fly fishing needs, the accomodations could not have been better. Because the Wilderness Gateway is located in Cowles, it sits right in the middle of some of New Mexico's finest trout water. In fact, the Pecos River is only about a few hundred yards away. Additionally, there are a dozen or more fly fishing options within a short drive, and even more if you are willing to walk or hike a bit. The country is pristine and it is hard to imagine a more inspiring location. Of course, the fishing is fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast with Steve and Patty on our last day and the food was great. While we let them select the menu, I got the sense that they would make just about anything for you if you asked. Cheers to the Wilderness Gateway -- we'll be back.


Great End to a trip.

4,8 sur juin 11, 2007

We spent the night of June 9th in the Guest House. A little background information, my wife and I along with five other people had just spent six nights backpacking in the Pecos Wilderness and had an amazing time seeing herds of Elk, a lone coyote and even a young bear! Three of us decided that rather than travel back to ABQ, we would spend the night at the lodge. All seven agreed to have dinner there. Well, we drove up in two vehicles and saw Steve and Patty outside working and they gave us a warm and very welcoming greeting. I asked Patty if it would be a problem for our four friends to shower in our rooms and Patty not only told us that it wouldn't be a problem, but they had been expecting them to. Patty provided extra towels, soap, shampoo and even razors. Dinner was a BBQ and the food was fantastic, the menu included brisket, bbq organic chicken, Kielbasa links, egg salad, corn on the cob, mixed green salad, baked beans, lemon bars and apple crisp. We ate till we were about to burst and then found a little more room. After seeing our friends off for their drive to a motel near ABQ and laughing at their comments that they had made a serious mistake in not staying, we took a walk along the Pecos River and retired for the night. So, if you are looking for a home base to bird, fish or hike from, or looking for a relaxing night before or after a big trip into the Pecos or just a relaxing night, then the Wilderness Gateway is the place.


Wilderness Gateway Bed and Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $135 - $160
  • Avis (14) 4,3
  • Chambres 2

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5057572801
Haut