The Castle at Skylands Manor Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,2
  • Services4,3
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,2
  • Repas4,0

Notation basée sur
41 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Beautiful setting

4,4 sur novembre 19, 2014

Beautiful, clean, noisy near fire door.woild have liked a breakfast that was not buffet.


Wonderful Time for a romantic get away

4,0 sur novembre 16, 2014

I had a wonderful romantic get away with my girlfriend, friendly staff, who gave great recommendations for food options. My Girlfriend and I are already planning out next trip...Would recommend to anyone wanting a wonderful stay and a charming place


Beautiful-atmospheric-awkward bathroom set up

3,6 sur novembre 04, 2014

Beautiful grounds- beautiful "castle"--disturbed at sight of elderly wedding guests arriving and stairs merely pointed out to them-no assistance with luggage ( my husband volunteered and made four trips up and down - one guest assumed he worked there and offered a tip! Room was beautiful - included breakfast wonderful ! One awkward point - we reserved a room with a private bath- however it was down the hall and while it had a small plaque designating it as "our" bathroom -wedding guests were using it all night long and one used my makeup! I packed up and removed our personal belongings at 1030pm after that !!


Fantastic Wedding

3,6 sur novembre 03, 2014

My daughter and son in law were married at Skylands Manor. Very charming surroundings.


Our 40th wedding anniversary stay at The Castle at Skylands Manor

4,0 sur octobre 27, 2014

Our recent stay at the Castle at Skylands Manor was wonderful!! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We were married there, at the small chapel by Shepards Lake, and had our reception at The Castle,40 years before! And before it was a Bed and Breakfast! The staff helped me pick the perfect room; The King Alfred Suite. Forty years before, I had dressed and had pre-wedding pictures taken in the Queen Antoinette room.Now the Queen Anne room in included with the "Wedding Package", and a wedding was being held there on that Saturday - which was kind of nice thinking they had picked "Our day". The staff was very helpful with local restaurants and other activities and the AM continental breakfast was very nice and held in the same room our reception cocktail party was held in!. Our room/suite was kept in the "old English" Manor house style and just took us back to that era. We just had a wonderful time reminiscing about our own wedding day. The staff was very accommodating and gracious. They showed us all the downstaris rooms which had been restored, and also the rooms where we had pictures taken. The gardens were as beautiful as ever and the weather was fantastic. It was like a dream come true to stay there for our anniversary.


A Hidden Gem

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2014

My fiancé discovered The Castle while searching for accommodations for our visit to West Point. At just 40 minutes away, how could we pass up the chance to stay in a CASTLE? I was so impressed with the keeping of the grounds which must be tricky this time of year with leaves etc. The property was stunning and the perfect way to unplug (while still having access to everything we needed). David is a wonderful host and treated us to a personal tour while balancing the myriad other things he does to keep the space looking clean and welcoming. We will definitely be back, and are telling all of our friends!


Exceptional value for those appreciating this amazing site

5 sur septembre 04, 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived just before sunset on a Friday night and this place, also on the site of the NJ botanic gardens, is magical for those who appreciate history, nature and gardens. We stayed in one of the lowest priced rooms with a shared communal bathroom and everything was very clean and new. Incredible value all around. Perfect for those coming from the south and planning on touring the Hudson Valley afterwards. I would like to come back around the holidays when the building is decorated.


Wonderful stay!

3,2 sur août 27, 2014

The staff and service were amazing, as was the view (WOW!). The rooms were also very comfortable. The excellent!!!!: When I say that the staff and service were amazing, I mean it. They were nice, engaging, and made me feel at home during my stay. I had no issues with the room while I was there, and walking around the castle (inside and out) was a lot of fun. There are a lot of really neat things to see on the grounds; I'd highly recommend walking through the gardens when things are blooming. The bad: Breakfast was kind of a raw deal though (only stayed one night, so I'm not sure if this is the norm or not). Food came out cold, didn't taste great, and some of the coffee cups were sticky. I don't like talking to the staff when problems like this come up, but I bet they would address the issue if you're the type to address things. The surrounding area takes a while to get to, in terms of food, so I'd recommend bringing your own meals if you want to eat on the cheap, or ordering out in advance (there are places that deliver, and the staff is more than willing to make recommendations). Breakfast is not a deal breaker for me, so I didn't let this ruin the experience. All in all, if I had more money I would have stayed longer. The place is pure eye candy - I want to visit again just so that I can walk around.


Great night in a beautiful setting

4,2 sur août 06, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Gatsby Room for our anniversary and we had a wonderful time. The room was beautiful and spacious. David was a terrific host and very accommodating with our requests. The only slight issue I had was the bathroom is in need of a little help. I was okay with it but I could see how someone may have issue with it (I know it's a classic setting and it's difficult to do these things and still keep the charm) Other than that the stay was great. On top of the rooms, it is set in a beautiful outdoor setting with great views and there is a lot to take in if you like the outdoors. Definitely going back.


Beautiful location; lots of fun

3,4 sur août 03, 2014

Recently, my girlfriend and I spent the night at the Castle, and overall, it was a great experience. Our room and the gardens were beautiful! While everything wasn't perfect (there was some debris in the bathtub, and breakfast, while very good, didn't offer much variety), I highly recommend the Castle for its ambiance and picturesque quality.


Very Nice Experience

3,8 sur juillet 17, 2014

This was the first time at being in a Bed and Breakfast and I must say it was nice and relaxing. David the night time host is excellent with a great sense of humor!! I will definitely visit again!


An Evening of a Lifetime

5 sur juillet 16, 2014

I had an evening of a lifetime at the spectacular Skylands Castle. After arriving late, almost midnight, from an exhausting drive, I was expecting an irritated host to sweep me into my room and tell me checkout was 9. Instead we were greeted by David, the epitome of true fun and hospitality. He not only made us feel comfortable and at ease, but placed his own comfort aside in order to make it an evening to remember. At our gentle request, David gave us a midnight tour of the castle under what conveniently was a full moon. He gave history, jokes, and was delightful. I will absolutely return to Skylands manor, and can only hope for a quarter of the experience I was gifted with the first time. This place is truly just as magical as it appears to be. If you want a fairy tale, come here!


Birthday stay at Skylands Manor

5 sur juillet 15, 2014

We were guests at the castle on July 12 for the occasion of my daughter's 25th birthday. We weren't able to arrive until very late- almost midnight-but our welcome was an amazing one. A gentleman named David treated us more like personal friends than as mere hotel guests who had arrived at such a late hour! His gracious courtesy made our stay very memorable. The beauty of the castle and grounds was much enhanced by the information he happily shared with us. Our stay here was exceptionally wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone.


Castle Skylands Manor

4,0 sur juillet 09, 2014

Nice place, not modern, but charming. The great location and service made it a good stay.


great experience at the castle

4,8 sur juillet 07, 2014

Beautiful grounds, Very interesting historical building. Really enjoyed our visit.


good

3,6 sur juin 24, 2014

Was a good stay


Nice property

3,6 sur juin 11, 2014

We would like to thank David for being kind & helpful. The service at dinner was also good but the cocktail hour service could use some help. Adding an extra person to each station or the more difficult ones would prevent the long wait times. A lot of food went to waist when the service stopped. The wedding we attended was very nice. This property has a lot to offer and the grounds are well kept. Great for photos and to just simply relax.


Very interesting

2,8 sur mai 30, 2014

It was just what you would expect from an old Castle, no working shower. The room was cozy though. I had expectations for a pool table in the billiard room and an omelet station for breakfast (that was listed on the web site). That was a little disappointing.


Skylands Castle - May 2014

4,6 sur mai 07, 2014

Excellent overall


My Castle Away From Home

4,2 sur avril 21, 2014

I travel often for business, and while the Castle at Ringwood is not the typical traveller's hotel, it is a wonderful place to stay. David, Dawn, Lisa and Linda are all wonderful. I've been there several times already and I feel so at home. David is the best! The staff gave me wonderful care when I was sick. It is an older structure so it lacks a little in amenities (Wifi is spotty, not all rooms have desks/tables), but the service more than makes up for it. I have enjoyed all my stays there.


A Night in The Castle

5 sur avril 12, 2014

We spent one night at The castle and everything was wonderful. The Castle is beautiful and David is a warm , friendly and wonderful host who makes you feel completely comfortable in his home ND


Castle Night

4,6 sur novembre 01, 2013

Enjoyed the fall foliage and atmosphere. Staff was friendly. Rooms were cool would have like a warmer room at night.


Beautiful and Romantic

4,4 sur octobre 29, 2013

Ignore all the bad things you read about Skylands Manor. It has an old world charm that you won't find anywhere else. Our room was clean and beautiful. Exploring was not only allowed, but encouraged. Our hosts were excellent from check in to check out. Breakfast exceeded my expectations. It had read some bad reviews about the breakfast in particular. So I expected much less. It was bountiful and delicious! Yes it has it's flaws as far as chipped paint (you really had to look for it) and outdated bathroom fixtures (that added to the charm of the room). I've stayed at 5 star resorts that had these problems. Skylands Manor is well worth the price.


Good job

4,2 sur septembre 18, 2013

Colin was an excellent host. Would have loved a coffee maker in the room.


a weekend in a Castle

3,0 sur septembre 15, 2013

We went to the Castle at Skyland Manors for a wedding. The rooms are old but you have to expect that since it is a Castle. We were on the 3rd floor with no elevators and the parking lot is pretty far away. The wedding was outstanding. Overall it was a good expierence.


Hidden Jewel!

4,4 sur août 31, 2013

Our stay was fabulous! The Castle is really charming and the gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was really delicious! I would absolutely go back.


Overnighter

3,6 sur août 31, 2013

Room was delightful, clean and true to the castle design. Value was wonderful. The room was clean with plenty of bath linens. Breakfast was great and relaxing! The gardens were beautiful, relaxing and great to stroll through with all the statues and fountains and benches.


A Great Place For A Getaway!

4,6 sur août 12, 2013

We were in the area for the renaissance faire in Tuxedo Park, so we booked this place to keep the theme of the weekend and we were glad we did. The scenery was amazing, the gardens, fountains and statues gave the place a serene and peaceful feel even while other people were around. The manor itself was amazing, with a historic yet cozy feel to it. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was full of interesting choices with several rooms to eat if you wanted privacy, or out on the patio to enjoy the morning. This is a must stay for couples who enjoy this kind of place, we will definitely be coming back soon!


Amazing!

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. We had the most amazing weekend getaway. From the beautiful grounds, to the over accommodating staff, this place is a must stay. I can't wait to return!


Excellent stay at the B&B

4,4 sur juillet 17, 2013

We found the B&B quite clean and the proprietor to be very friendly and helpful. He went out of his way to meet our needs. The breakfast that was served was delightful. His cooking was terrific.


Welcome to Paradise!

3,8 sur juin 08, 2013

My husband and I were guests at the castle June 4-6. We felt like we were in Tuscany, Italy! The castle is remarkable! We both said "wow!" when we entered the front drive. Please do yourself a favor and visit this place. The gardens are gorgeous with fountains, roses, flowers of all kinds and manicured lawns. Here's a good example, there is a hosta garden with 129 different types of hostas! Colin, the innkeeper, is also the chef for breakfast. Be sure and come hungry! His scrambled eggs are seasoned with sea salt he orders from France and he uses a blend of 4 peppers too. Now, let me tell you about his scones. He made 3 kinds, cinnamon, blueberry and raspberry with white chocolate. I have had lots of scones, but these were the best I had ever had. We cannot speak too highly of this place! We loved our time there and hope to visit again soon.


Our Company's Recent Stay

4,2 sur janvier 07, 2013

The rooms were very nice and all decorated differently which allowed a unique feel. It was winter, however, so some rooms were very cold. Overall, our entire staff enjoyed the intimate dinner and stay.


Holiday Tradition continues ........

4,6 sur décembre 10, 2012

Once again I enjoyed my overnight stay at Skylands Manor . Mr Peter and Mr Bob assured my comfort , I enjoyed breakfast in the great hall with music and lovely decor .


A beautiful getaway.

4,0 sur juillet 13, 2012

We stayed one night for a short little getaway from everyday life. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, as are the grounds. The breakfast wasn't very exciting but that wasn't why we went so it wasn't too much of a let down.


Very special place

4,4 sur juillet 08, 2012

We had a fantastic experience staying at Skylands Manor! The property is amazing; it was like we were staying in a real castle. The grounds are breathtaking too. It definitely felt like a very special place, and we would love to return. It's a bit strange that the only staff we encountered was one guy in shorts and a t-shirt who reluctantly showed us to our room. But otherwise it was 5 star.


Weekend Stay, Wedding Ceremony & Reception

4,4 sur juin 19, 2012

We had the best time this past weekend. A wedding event that turned out wonderful. The event coordinator did a great job and we know that is key to a large event. Would recommend having a wedding here!


Only 25 minutes from the Tappan Zee Bridge...but feels a world away!

4,2 sur mai 23, 2012

A unique get away in the middle of a NJ botanical garden. Perfect for a weekend trip. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. We stayed in the black and white Gatsby room and loved it! It was equally fun exploring the grounds and the castle/manor itself. Breakfast was better than we expected. Staff were minimal - which suited us - so don't expect to be doted on.


Great Little Getaway!

4,6 sur mai 21, 2012

Wow, what an amazing time. The castle takes you to a serene place with its romantic decor and lush gardens. Don't forget to stop by Warwick Winery and taste test their hard ciders. On the ride from Philadelphia, PA we took the backroads stopping along the way at local mom and pop shops for some one of a kind souveniers. The staff at the castle was very friendly and well versed in the local area. Tour the grounds of Ringwood Manor if you get a chance. It is equally relaxing. Have free continental breakfast complete with eggs, bacon, muffins and coffee on the patio overlooking the lush grounds. Will definitely visit again. If you are considering having a wedding here, the setting is more than appropriate and the rooms just as they appear in pictures!


Gorgeous place

3,2 sur mai 15, 2012

We stayed in the King's Room. Very expensive but very elegant. Huge. A really lovely experience to actually sleep IN such a place that normally you would just look at from behind velvet ropes. The staff was courteous but not overly so. We asked for an early check in, no one got back to us after saying they would call us back. When we got there they knew that we wanted early check in but room wasn't ready. That was ok because they let us leave our luggage there, but then they left our room wide open so people looking around the castle were in our room with our LUGGAGE right there. Wasn't too happy about that at all. The place is beyond exquisite though as far as elegance, ambiance and location. But there is an air of deterioration that needs to be tended to. Molding in our room was dusty, so were all the fake plants. In the eating area there was a chunk of wall that was rotted and water down one side. Our room the ceiling was coming down, looks like water damage and in the morning one chair was covered with all sorts of white powder from the plaster. I found that so odd when you consider the place was so gorgeous. That really should be tended to. We were also left only ONE towel, even though there were two of staying there. Another oddity? And at breakfast the eggs were ice cold in the buffet. I don't mean to beat this up - it was amazing and wonderful but the staff could do more to make it special and the repairs that need to be made should be tended to, but I would definitely go again and would definitely recommend to anyone.


A Holiday Thrill!

5 sur décembre 06, 2011

My stay at the Manor was most enjoyable!I recieved excellent attention and so look forward to making it a tradition. I was able to stay in my favorite room and the full breakfast was amazing especially the coffee !!!!!!


Wedding and Stay

4,8 sur novembre 25, 2008

We had our daughters wedding there lat weekend and it was over the top, the Castle is amazing and the overnight rooms were a dream


The Castle at Skylands Manor

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $335
  • Avis (41) 4,2
  • Chambres 24
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9739629370
  • Fax 1-9739629371

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut