The Inn at Millrace Pond Avis

Ensemble
4,1

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,0
  • Services4,4
  • Qualité/Prix3,8
  • Propreté4,1
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
106 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Inn

2,6 sur juin 16, 2014

This Inn is located in a quaint village and is in a lovely setting. Unfortunately, average conversations from next door and the room above easily penetrate the walls and floors and it becomes difficult to sleep - the folks next door returned at 12:15 am and conversed for 30 minutes and the folks upstairs got in at 1:30am and it took them and their child at least 30 minutes to get settled thus it made for a disruptive night of sleep. This is also not an ideal place for those of us with significant dietary restrictions as the kitchen can not easily address them via their weekend breakfast buffet. Given the buffet is part of the room charge, it is aggravating to have little to safely eat.


A gem!

4,6 sur mars 05, 2014

The tavern is cozy and inviting, with good food and friendly service. Rooms are charming, romantic and very comfortable. A lovely visit all around


Wonderful Country Inn

5 sur janvier 15, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful pet friendly stay including a fabulous breakfast made to order the following morning. Highly recommend staying here!


We LOVE this place!

4,2 sur décembre 13, 2013

The Inn at Millrace Pond was GREAT! Loaded with charm and history the buildings & grounds are beautiful, the staff was friendly, the food was outstanding. It is truely one of the most unique places we have ever stayed. We 1000% will be going back!!


Lovely stay

4,0 sur décembre 06, 2013

Liked that it is pet friendly. We had a lovely one night stay and had breakfast the next morning it was all very good


Lovely place for a getaway

3,8 sur août 06, 2013

The innkeeper was charming and the room was lovely. There was plenty of bottled water and homemade cookies. The drinks and food in the downstairs bar were great and the bartender was a doll. If you plan on watching TV, you might be disappointed, as it was very old and tiny.


Recent stay

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2013

We stayed overnight this past weekend.We were pleasantly greeted by Debbie and shown to our room. The room was lovely, with period furnishings and the setting exceedingly quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was super delicious, and cheerfully served by Debbie. Our only recommendation would be that the lighting in the bathroom be improved.


historic and beautiful inn

4,0 sur août 21, 2012

Very pleasant stay -- great location to the Delaware Water Gap/Blairstown region.


Girls getaway!!

4,6 sur juillet 02, 2012

The Inn was amazing. The rooms were beautiful, filled with period furniture that was in great shape. The knowledge of the staff was very helpful in planning our stay. The grounds are filled with many quite spaces to getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. Thanks for a relazing stay.


Quiet and Lovely

4,0 sur juillet 01, 2012

As a writer I am always looking for a quiet, out of the way place to spend time reading and writing. The Inn at Mill Race Pond fit the bill. I stayed in the Stone Cottage which was spacious yet quite cozy. The outdoor space was well kept and appointed so I was able to spend a good deal of my time outdoors enjoying the particularly nice weather. The water sounds from the race were soothing. The staff was courteous, attentive and helpful. I could see that this would be a lovely venue for an event/wedding. As I live relatively close by I plan to go back to try out the resturant ( I was there mid week, the resturant was open on weekends.).


Beautiful Mountain Retreat

4,6 sur juin 21, 2012

If you love the mountains, fresh air and interesting small towns, this inn is for you. It is just miles away from the Delaware Water Gap and great hiking. The Inn itself has acres of land to explore and it sits on the site of an old mill. You can fall asleep to the sound of a stream running its course just outside your window. But perhaps the best part is the inn's restaurant and innkeeper. The restaurant has the best butternut squash soup I've ever had in my life. Apparently many people feel this way because the innkeeper, Christina, printed out the recipe for me. Christina herself is interesting, personable and very smart. She's a delight to talk to. I already know that I will stay here again.


The Mill is very historic and beautiful, very worth the price and trip to.

4,6 sur juin 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled to the Inn and spent one night here. The staff was very courteous and appreciative of our business. We were absolutely blown away by the stunning visual scenery of the actual mill itself, the town of Hope and the surrounding nature and its beauty. George Washington and the Continental Army were fed from the mill during the Revolution which interested me. In the lower section of the Inn (the bar is located here, was closed when we were there but they still let us see it), the Mill Wheel supports are there and you can see the Creek flow through the basement. A very awesome, clean, great place to stay. Book your reservation there if you can, I definitely will again in the future.


My brothers wedding weekend

4,2 sur juin 03, 2012

We stayed at the Inn and loved it. We never knew a place like this existed so close to where I grew up. The wedding was beautiful, the service outstanding and the food was delicious.


Awsome except for the quality of mattress

4,2 sur juin 01, 2012

I loved everything except for the mattress quality. I could not sleep at night at all. I was tossing and turning... These mattresses seem as old as other room furnishings! I think that for $267/night you should get a nice good night sleep... What I loved about The Inn was the food-really top notch and although pricey-it's very much worth the splurge....


Server/bartender, Innkeeper all uniformly terrific.

4,0 sur mai 14, 2012

Great surroundings, great food, great breakfast. Small bed, small tv screen. Rather rustic.


Relaxing Stay, Sad and Stressful Time

5 sur avril 10, 2012

We spent two nights at the Inn and were grateful for the quiet comfort as we planned and attended a Memorial Service for my Mother at Blair Academy. Thank you for the relaxing stay in what was a very stressful and sad time.


An Absolute Gem

4,8 sur mars 21, 2012

My 21 year-old daughter and I stayed two nights in room 16. She had the loft and I had a very comfortable queen size bed a floor below. We needed a place to decompress and The Inn at Millrace Pond was perfect. Our room was quiet and cozy. The grounds were lovely. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The food was outstanding. (Delicious mussels, the best fish and chips I've ever eaten, and a delightful trio of Creme Brulees.) I will go back as well as recommend the Inn to all my friends and family.


Christmas Day getaway

4,2 sur décembre 30, 2011

Very lovely room and experience. Hot tub and bed were extremely comfortable. Only concern is that we did not hear from staff confirming that we could get our key on the night of Christmas Day. Did not end up having any problems when we arrived, but worried there for a while!


Brief Stay

4,0 sur décembre 28, 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by an unnamed person who took us to our room. The room was spotless; temperature was just right. The Inn was quiet; we rested before heading to the pub. The fireplace had not been started (it was after 4:00 p.m.); that made the pub cold--temp and atmosphere. Our waiter was pleasant and attentive. We also dined at the Inn which was nicely decorated for Christmas; a string of lights was out on the tree. We were promptly seated by our friendly host. A dirty water glass was on our table and had to be replaced. When our wine glasses arrived, one was covered in soap film on the outside. Our appetizers were promptly delivered; they were delicious. We were not finished them, when our main meal arrived--too rushed. We sent them back. The waiter apologized. When the entrees arrived they were overcooked. The coffee was delicious; the dessert we wanted was no longer available. Our second choice was delicious. At breakfast the host had no help, so he was rushing to and fro for breakfast orders. The french toast and coffee were delicious. (Consider placing a coffee urn on the table and let patrons pour their own. The breakfast buffet at our previous stay made serving the meal so much easier, with more variety.) Lastly, my side plate was stuck to the table linen; it had remnants of chocolate on the bottom. The host apologized. I told him about the other dirty dinner items. He agreed there was a problem. We've been coming to the Inn since the early 1990's. We've been through 4 owners, I believe. The first and second owners had a simple but elegant approach to running the Inn. They were very attentive to the simple but important elements one desires when getting away for a respite: 1. extreme cleanliness in the dining room, 2. proper timing for serving meals, 3. a warm, welcoming pub atmosphere (owners 1 & 2 served complementary munchies with drinks in the pub). We were disappointed with our stay.


Nice, but not top-notch

3,2 sur décembre 16, 2011

Stayed for a get-away weekend. The location was perfect (being away, but convenient to get to). Very idyllic small village with murmering brook...Also great natural recreational activities, including the Lakota Wolf Preserve nearby. But for the price and as a property on the Select Registry I had expected just a tad more in terms of luxury, truly outstanding food, and overall room comport. It was VERY offputting to be able to understand every word of conversations by guests in the neighboring rooms...


Very Nice, But Isolated

4,6 sur décembre 08, 2011

The Inn at Milrace Pond is a beautiful location with a fantastic restauraunt, nice bar, and beautiful and charming rooms and grounds. Lots of history and old style architechture. But if you do stay here, be sure you do not want to do much else...it is very isolated, with no major attractions in the area. That being said, for a quiet, get away from it all weekend, it is just lovely.


Girls weekend away

3,4 sur décembre 07, 2011

The Inn was very charming and beautiful and the perfect spot for us to stay for the Craft Fair weekend. The staff was wonderful. The only things that we would have changed were the beds were very hard and uncomfortable, the t.v. was the size of a postage stamp LOL and no matter how hard the staff tried to fix it, we could not get the internet to work. But it was a great weekend and we will go again next year. Thank you :)


so relaxing

4,8 sur décembre 04, 2011

We won a door prize for the Inn at Millrace Pond. We had a wonderful simple relaxing time. Our room was lovely and the dinner and breakfast the next day were delicious.. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff bent over to make sure everything was ok.We had such a nice time.


Emergency family stay because of black out!!!

5 sur novembre 15, 2011

John, Lilly, rosey, and the entire staff made a very difficult situation very managable. Looking for a place that allows pets on the spur of the moment because of an east coast power outage was not easy. The service, from the incredible young waiter in the restaurant to lily's simpithetic nature made our stay wonderful. John and Rosey know how to treat their guests I will recomend this establishment to everyone. My family will be regulars at their unbelievable restaurant.


Relaxing in the inn.

4,0 sur novembre 12, 2011

I and my daughter stayed at the inn because of her interview at Blair Academy. We enjoyed dining and talking, especially sleeping in the room. Of course, we succeeded in interviewing next day. I want to come again if my daughter became a student at Blair Academy.


Old Historic Inn with Personality

4,8 sur novembre 12, 2011

Stayed in the gables on the 3rd floor of the Grist Mill. As an historic home built in 1769, it has a lot of charm that comes with minimal fluff and traditional early American furnishings.


Wonderful Place

4,6 sur novembre 08, 2011

I loved the rooms style and character. Service was great even when we lost power because of snow, they provide us with candles and make sure everyone was doing okay.


A find

4,2 sur novembre 07, 2011

Located in a beautiful country setting in a quaint town. Near to a number of historic sites. Dinner in an old tavern with a roaring fireplace. Signature butternut squash soup and a rack of lamb made for a memorable meal.


Unexpected pleasure!

3,2 sur novembre 06, 2011

We stayed at the Inn during the week of power failures from an early snowfall. The staff at the Inn were caught off guard but did their best to deal with the full house and even opened the restaurant for dinner even though it wasn't normally open. The rooms were lovely, clean and warm. We would stay there again to celebrate a special occasion. Would definitely recommend!


October stay

3,4 sur novembre 02, 2011

We stayed during the October Snow Storm. I know there was no control over the power outage but more could have been done in the way of extra blankets, more candles, and bottled water.


Nice country getaway close to the city

3,4 sur octobre 26, 2011

We stayed one night at the Inn after spending the day hiking in JEnny Jump State forset to see the leaves changing color. The Inn was very quaint, and the history of the buildings was very interesting. The food was excellent, although dinner was expensive (our bill was about $100 for two with a house bottle of wine). Breakfast was surprisingly good for a free breakfast. The room had a nice jacuzzi style bathtub which was a surprise. My only complaint was that the room became impossibly noisy once our neighbors woke up and starting going in and out of their door at 8am. Overall, I would recommend this place, but for $250 for a saturday night stay (I think it$160 any other night), I did not think it was an exceptional value, but at least worth the money we paid. Might think of this place sooner, if I have a weeknight or Sunday night stay in mind in the country.


Great Place, rooms are good

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2011

This place is well worth the visit, the rooms were nice and simple, but cozy. Food is excellent in the restaurant, and they even had entertainment! The grounds are beautiful and equipped to hold a wedding - which they did during the weekend we stayed. A lovely place.


1st Anniversary to remember

4,6 sur octobre 19, 2011

My husband and I spent our 1st anniversary overnight at Millrace and we were delighted with the experience. We were greeted by a very warm, friendly, and helpful staff member who also gave us some pointers on the local scenic spots to visit. There was a wedding on the grounds while we were there which created an energetic buzz througout the facility, and even though the staff was very busy with the wedding, we were taken care of as though we were the only ones there. We would absolutely go again and recommend it to anyone who is planning a trip to the area.


Wedding Weekend

4,6 sur octobre 12, 2011

We had our daughter's wedding here and booked out the entire Inn.


Lovely, "step back in time" feel.

4,0 sur octobre 03, 2011

The rooms have a period feel with unmistakable charm. The staff is young and delightful. We had a change in our plans, and they were most helpful in accommodating us. The only thing I would improve is the quality of the mattress. Dining at the INN was memorable, the food excellent. All in all a great experience.


constructive

3,8 sur septembre 30, 2011

room was great! water was lousy. no tissues in room. ( no complementary bottled water) meals were very good, except for veal, which was "oily". breakfast was great. room on the pricey side, and did not include complementary entrees, or even drinks, like the old days. better cost would be $145.


First B&B Experience

4,0 sur septembre 24, 2011

Very accommodating with our early check-in. The grounds are spacious and relaxing. Our Shih Tzu Coco was welcome. There were four in our party and only one other guest on this Sunday to Monday stay and the chef was there to prepare a fabulous breakfast!!! We plan to return for an entire weekend next year!


Near perfect with minor suggestions

3,0 sur septembre 20, 2011

A beautiful little inn in a gorgeous hamlet. The people and service were very nice. However, a few suggestions for the downstairs cottage: 1] the bed should not face the door. 2] the windowed door to the room needs an opaque curtain. 3] It's an old place, which makes it authentic, but there needs to be insulation or a rug upstairs so as to minimize the noise between floors. I plan to return!


Thanks for a great stay

4,2 sur septembre 13, 2011

A lovely spot and just the most gracious people. This was our second visit -- we were there in December -- and we're planning to return. A great, peaceful retreat.


Wow! Am I back to 17th century?

4,2 sur septembre 08, 2011

It was a very pleasant stay at the Inn, a touch of somewhat modern yet very 17th century feel. Love the restaurant most, its set up, decor and of course the food. Service was fantastic and everyone were very friendly.


Great Place

3,8 sur septembre 08, 2011

I enjoyed my stay very much. Rooms were clean and ground well-maintained.


Family of 4

4,0 sur septembre 06, 2011

We traveled with our "tween" sons - so the room (#16) with the sleeping loft with twin bed was perfect for our family. Staff was friendly. We would stay there again if we were going back to that area.


Very Nice!

3,8 sur septembre 05, 2011

Superb customer service-very accommodating which was especially important due to unforeseen circumstances which led to an unplanned overnight stay. The staff was also super friendly and polite to my children.


NJ Getaway

5 sur août 22, 2011

We really enjoyed the Inn at Millrace Pond. The food and accomodations were excellent


The Inn for a wedding

3,2 sur juillet 31, 2011

I thought the grounds were tastefully set up, and the food was great. The staff were friendly and attentive. We booked last minute, so we got the last or second to last room in the complex. I saw one other room which was nice; ours was a tiny room with separate twin beds and a nice view. Probably a good room to stash the kids while staying in the adjacent room we were able to visit, connected by a small hallway to a sitting room. Maybe I don't get out much, but it seemed to me like that room (and all the rooms) should have been less expensive. Overall, we had a lovely time there.


Our Special weekend

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2011

We were there to celebrate my husband's special birthday. Have eaten there many times, but this is the first time we stayed and it was really lovely. Our room #2 was so cheerful and clean as a whistle. We do wish there had been reading lamps by the chair and settee, we are avid readers and found it difficult to read by the bedside lamps. Otherwise, everything was perfect! Jan and Bill


Decent but could be improved

3,2 sur juillet 27, 2011

The room was clean, spacious but our bed was so hard that our backs were hurting the next morning. Also the air conditioning was extremely noisy. But in general for an old building this was ok. Service was in general extremely friendly and attentive. The dinner at the restaurant was very disappointing. We ordered pasta and we can do a better job at home than what we were served. One of our pasta dishes was barely edible. For the kind of money we paid, this was a big disappointment. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent. Very good pancakes, great omelet, great french toast.


Mother Goose at Mill Race

4,4 sur juillet 26, 2011

We had a wondeful time at Mill Race Pond. Hostess Melanie was terrific. Grounds keeper Fred was aces, too. In a brief chat I learned about well water, the recently renovated building that dates back 2 centuries, and the original owner of the Inn Charles Putnam. Our stay at the Pond surpassed the previous visits and was an improvement from the first month following the new take-over by the catering brothers.


Inn at Millrace Pond

3,8 sur juillet 26, 2011

Details: -Cozy environment -Cute, warming appeal and charm -Very friendly, courteous support staff -Delicious food with a fair variety of selections -Bedroom 17(3rd floor) in The Mill was very spacious and cozy. However, the AC Unit could not keep the room cool (but to their credit, the temp outside was ~95 degrees). The mattress could be replaced, it was comfy but had a huge dip in the middle. -Bathroom cleanliness was fair but shower fan was quite loud. In general, the establishment provides a great cozy and romantic environment which my Fiance and I adore but holds a bit of a price tag in my opinion. I'd like to go there more often (like for anniversaries, V-Day, etc.) but paying around $200(off-peak) to check in at 4 and checkout by 1030 the next morning is asking a bit much.


wedding weekend

3,4 sur juillet 20, 2011

The grounds are beautiful and the food was yummy. Overall service was good, except for one grumpy waitress. Do wish the pub could have stayed open past 9:00 for the guests.


Enjoyed peace, quiet and outstanding food!

3,4 sur juillet 08, 2011

We enjoyed a quiet, restful stay with our pet in room 4 of the Millrace House. The room was charming, the staff were pleasant and helpful and dinner on our first night was outstanding! Not really a complaint, but it was a bit strange to be all alone on the property the afternoon and night of July 4. We knew the restaurant would be closed, but were surprised that NO staff were on the premises til the following morning, therefore no one made up the bed or straightened the room. We've often had the option of not requiring the bed linens or towels to be changed, but we've never had to make our own bed. It's possible this would have been done had it not been a holiday. One of the main reasons we chose Millrace was to escape the noisy fireworks that terrify our almost 13 year old dog. It was certainly a memorable stay, and we definitely had the quiet we hoped for!


Daughters sweet 16 horseback riding getaway

4,4 sur juillet 03, 2011

Inn was very well manicured and clean. People that ran the inn were very nice. The room was very home, felt like I was staying in a historic museum. Food was fabulous, and the value of the room very reasonable and included an outrageous breakfast, which in New York would have cost the price of the room.


The Inn at Millrace Pond.

3,8 sur juillet 01, 2011

The Inn was charming and the food was excellent. The rooms could use a little updating. Since they use well water, the bathroom had an odor. Maybe an air freshener could be used in the bathroom. Not much to do in the immediate area except for antique shopping but about 20 minutes away from the Poconos.


Beautiful country get-away

4,0 sur juin 28, 2011

The room was tastefully decorated. The food was excellent. The people serving were great.


Inn at Millrace Pond

3,2 sur juin 27, 2011

Attractive property, room furnishings were excellent, breakfast was excellent.


What a great get-a-way

4,0 sur juin 09, 2011

My recent weekday retreat at The Inn at Millrace Pond was just what the doctor called for. Just a short trip from Essex County, NJ and it was as we were on a European countryside....charming accomodiations, great food, wonderful staff. My semi annual doctors physical is in about 5 months so you will see me just prior! lol


Delightful staff, beautiful grounds

3,6 sur mai 31, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn. Very scenic and charming. The food, although pricey, was very good. The rooms charming but still a bit pricey. Not much to do in the immediate area except explore the Delaware Water Gap. The Land of Make Believe, a small water park, is literally down the road. The staff was the best part for me. Eager to please, talk to and helpful.


A lovely overnight

3,4 sur mai 30, 2011

Our room was lovely and spacious, and we enjoyed the grounds immensely. Dinner was delicious, but way too much food.


Quiet Get-Away

3,6 sur mai 06, 2011

My wife and I spent a quiet one night get-away at Inn at Millrace Pond. Nice place, although they were undergoing some construction. That didn't really affect our stay. Originally a Gristmill. The room we stayed in was good, with a fireplace and the staff brought a log to burn when I asked. The restaurant was pretty good. Food was well prepared, wine list O.K. If I wanted to see or be in NJ Skylands area, I would stay here again.


Easter weekend

4,6 sur avril 28, 2011

Had a really excellent weekend at the Inn ; loads of charm and character , and the service and quality of everything was very good indeed . We promise to return !


Beautiful!!

4,8 sur avril 21, 2011

Loved everything about the Inn at Millrace Pond. Great tavern and phenomenal room!


An Unusual Experience

5 sur avril 01, 2011

This is an outstanding location fo9r an unusual experience. I loved the way they have preserved parts of the old Mill. The total atmosphere transported you back into history and made the experience unique. Algea Harrison, Ph.D


Weekend Get Away

4,2 sur mars 31, 2011

Lovely lovely inn and surroundings. Great dining. An excellent weekend get away


Had a great time everybody was helpful and friendly.

5 sur mars 30, 2011

There for a wedding if I needed help with anything the front desk and staff was so helpful


A little disappointing

3,2 sur mars 23, 2011

Rooms were a bit unclean, and needs some updating. Food was wonderful. Tavern room was great. Comedy night was a nice added surprise.


Memorable Experience...We'll be back...

4,0 sur février 18, 2011

My wife and I chose the inn upon a recommendation from a friend (who had dined, but had not stayed, at the inn). I saw the website, read a few reviews, and decided to go for it. Let me say that we have two small children and live in a city, so our hopes were to just get some fresh air and relaxing quiet time together. The inn delivered without question. The cons? The room had an inconsistent feel-some furnishings seem like first class "period' pieces while others felt a little second hand. The bathroom, while perfectly functional, was middle of the road contemporary. My wife and I did spot more then a few beetles--NOT roaches, but a local wood beetle that find their way indoors during the colder months. Not a big deal, but did I mention we were from the city? These 'cons' are just observations, and none of these things had a negative effect on us or our time at the inn. The Pros! The grounds and buildings are unique, the rooms are quaint, the beds comfortable, the fireplace charming, the restaurant excellent in both atmosphere and food quality. There is a short trail behind the inn if you'd like to stroll into the woods, which I did with my camera, and there are antique stores up the hill-although all were closed when we were there. (worth noting that our visit was mid winter-not the height of the season I suppose.) Best of all, the service was personable and friendly. We felt welcome. My wife and I loved our stay so much we quickly booked my parents a night to celebrate their anniversary. They reported having an equally fantastic experience. We'll be back.


Nice dinner nothing more

4,0 sur février 16, 2011

The cottage room itself was nice, it felt old as it should being built in the 1700's. The main problem for me was the bed was extremely uncomfortable, in addition we felt as if the bed was literally falling apart. In conjunction with the bed problem the well water being supplied to the room smelled of rotten eggs. You can imagine how pleasant a shower is... On the bright side was the on site restaurant, the food was good and the servers were nice. I have been to few B&B's and this was the lowest ranked by far. The inkeeper had zero personality, I can get more feedback from a stuffed animal.


Weekend review of Millrace Pond

3,6 sur février 09, 2011

Our stay was for the purpose of R&R and celebrating my husband's birthday. We enjoyed everything about the inn. The food was excellent and the quaintness of the fire was delightful. Peggy at the Flower Mill, on the same grounds, worked with myself and the inn keepers to put flowers in our room, prior to our arrival, just the way I requested. I have suggested that making the mattresses a bit softer would be more enjoyable to their customers. I was assured this was already in progress, stemming from previous feedback. We look forward to a return visit to go see the wolves at Lakota Preserve. Thanks


The Inn at Millrace Pond

5 sur janvier 06, 2011

My husband and I started a tradition of going here right after New Year's with our two dogs. We love the hot tub in each room and the spaciousness of the room, as well as the comfortable beds. We also think the package deal (where breakfast is included and guests get $50 towards dinner) is wonderful. What a warm and cozy way to spend a cold day. Our dogs enjoyed running around in the crisp air and resting on the braided rug.


Best Place for a Wedding Ever!

5 sur décembre 02, 2010

Can't say enough good things about this place. Quiet, refreshing, wonderfully friendly employees... This Inn was the best vacation spot I've ever been to.


Can't wait to come back!

4,8 sur novembre 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn with our two young boys. The food was amazing - and impressed my young connoisseurs! Although the room left a bit to be desired, after having met the new Innkeeper, I was informed that the Inn was recently under new management. He was so kind as to explain all of the new changes that were in store. When he also explained that they were now affiliated with the Frungillo Caterers, I know what an amazing job they have done with the Castle at Skylands in Ringwood, that I am excited to return once they have made their signature mark on this unique venue. Again, can't rave enough about the food and the service! So much to do in the area - great place to sneak away!


BEST GETWAWAY LOCATION IN JERSEY

5 sur novembre 16, 2010

I needed to just getaway from an extreemly difficult two weeks at work. My wife and I had the most wonderful experience at the Inn. The food at the resturant was sensational. The staff attentive to all our needs. Rooms were clean and service was on point. We will come back and highly recommend to all of our friends .


It's good to be back

4,0 sur novembre 15, 2010

We stayed at the inn last September 2009. Upon our recent return we were pleased to find that a new company has taken over and that it's management team was gearing up for the Winter 2011 season. The service and food were fine but the rooms were a bit dated. Once we found out that rooms were going to be "refreshed" in the coming months, we quickly made reservations for Valentines Day weekend!


A wonderful, relaxing experience

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2010

the food was incredible as well as the staff at Millrace Pond. I could not think of one negative comment. We did have a few "stinkbugs" in our room, but i have them at home so I just got rid of them carefully.


Ouch!! My back....

3,2 sur novembre 10, 2010

The food in the restaurant was awesome. Service was so so but not bad by any means. The staff was friendly and the hotel was really well done. All and all we had a nice time but the bed was so incrediblly uncomfortable was left exhausted.


Our wedding day

2,4 sur novembre 02, 2010

The setting and grounds are exceptional we can say that. Our biggest complaint was with the new managements completely unorganized unprofessional manner in which they handled the transition just 2 weeks before out wedding. Frungillo Caterers food was good except for the fact that they did not serve any lettuce with our salad. Embarrassing to say the least. We agree that the blame goes to the owner of the Inn for not considering us, the client in this completely unorganized takeover. Perhaps he might have considered keeping Bill & John (the previous managers) on to complete the transition. I met with and communicated with 4 different people who clearly did not communicate with one another. In addition, do not even consider hiring The Flower Mill (the so-called floral shop on the property). Prices outrageous, professionalism zero. I decided not to go with the Flower Mill after her prices skyrocketed and she nearly ruined the previous wedding 2 weeks before mine. And she yelled and made me cry at several meetings. And was surprised I decided not to go with her services. She also kept my deposit. All in all, we found the people of Hope rude, and unprofessional to say the least.


Nice historical getaway.

3,6 sur octobre 26, 2010

We were there for one night on a beautiful fall weekend. Evrything was wonderful but the service staff could have been a little more friendly I just checked in and went back to the desk to ask for two wine glasses and the same guy who checked me it asked if I was staying there? I just saw him two mins ago. Maybe he was just having a rough day. But, I laughed and he didin't.


Needs a new mattress

2,6 sur octobre 21, 2010

We stayed one night in Room 4. We were looking forward to having a room with a fireplace but were told when we arrived that we couldn't use it because the chimney sweep was coming in a few weeks. There was no fire in the beautiful fireplace in the tavern either. The mattress was uncomfortable, concave - needs replacing, it was not a restful night. The parlor in the buiding is nice. Overall, better lighting is needed for reading. Tavern and dining room are very nice. Food was good but a bit overpriced for dinner. Service was good, servers in the tavern and restaurant were great.


2 nights at the Inn

3,0 sur septembre 28, 2010

The mattress on the bed (double) was saggy and terrible. Otherwise everything was fine. Nice omelet breakfast that we had 1 AM.


Absolutely charming!

4,0 sur septembre 09, 2010

The Innkeepers and staff were geniuinely friendly and helpful without being instrusive. After staying only a few minutes, you will truly feel like a welcomed guest. The Inn has the authentic feel of an 18th century inn, but has been lovingly updated for the modern traveler. The rooms are refreshingly simple without any of that dusty granny feel typical of most B&Bs. This area of NJ is spectacular late summer through the fall. You can wander around the backroads and not hit a strip mall for miles. I highly recommend the location if you want to get away for some R&R, but other lodgers were venturing off for more adventurous activities in the nearby Poconos.


Dinner outstanding; B&B not so much; convenient location

3,4 sur septembre 08, 2010

Dinner was worth the trip alone. We had fillet mignon, rack of lamb, crab cake, and duck, along with a selection of appetizers and desserts as recommended by our waitress. Service was delightful. All was absolutely delectable, the best dining we've experienced in many years, albeit very expensive, suitable for a rare special occasion. Location was convenient to Delaware Water Gap recreation areas, and buildings were wonderfully restored. Main stone mill building was interesting to explore. As for our room: it was a non-smoking room, but emitted a distinct cigarette odor. As our arrival was quite late, the innkeeper offered Febreeze when phoned: not the best first impression. Room was spacious, but queen mattress was hard and unwelcoming. TV was small.No hangers in closets. Shower water temperature was inconsistent. Insufficient spots to hang wet towels. Lovely parlor was stocked with books but a paltry selection of lame store-bought refreshments which was not re-stocked in a timely manner. Breakfast menu was limited and unimaginative, same both days. Bacon came as a single burnt slice, no wheat bread available. Muffins were grocery-store quality. General consensus is the 'granola' was (not-so-completely) crushed-up Nature Valley Oat and Honey bars, still tasty enough. Service was cheerful and efficient. Grounds are fine, but limited. We were never quite sure if we met our innkeepers or not - would have liked to have been introduced. Overall, our two-night stay was pleasant, but only the dinner deserves great praise; the B&B part is not par with other Select Registry Inns we have enjoyed.


I cannot wait to return!

5 sur août 29, 2010

My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday weekend at the Inn. Everything was perfect! The room was beautiful, the staff so accomodating and gracious. Dinner and breakfast were outstanding. I am definately making plans to visit in the fall!


Antique Charm, Modern Amenities

4,8 sur juillet 21, 2010

Beautifully restored 18th century buildings, on beautiful grounds. Pub had great dinner. Close to Delaware Water Gap.


Relaxing

4,6 sur juin 29, 2010

We stayed at this inn for our anniversary. The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Dinner was out of this world! Our waitress, Sam, was so sweet and very helpful. After dinner, we were able to walk on the property's hiking path. It was perfect.... as was breakast the next morning. We would definitely go back.


Weekend Bliss - Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

4,4 sur juin 25, 2010

Quaint little B&B in a picturesque historic neighborhood; highly recommend! The cottages at The Inn are full of beautiful personality and charm while maintaining modern amenities for guests' comfort. Staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the area; scenery is breathtaking. Perfect stay for a weekend getaway!


We will be back for sure!

4,4 sur juin 09, 2010

Our party of 6 enjoyed the best service and food we ever had at a restaurant on Sunday, June 6, 2010. We ranged in age from 21 to 74 and we've eaten all over the US, Canada, and Europe, but this was by far the very best. I had a delicious soup, a fantastic salad, a wonderful drink called a Lichi Nut Martini, and my main course was the thick and creamy lobster pie. It had the meat of whole lobster creamed and baked in a marvelous bread shell, and the veggies were also out of this world. As the young folks say, the meal was 'to die for'! Laura our sweet and excellent waitress was worth a million, so in addition to a nice tip I gave her an extra $1,000,000! I carry realistic million-dollar bills to hand to people who do truly excellent things and Laura definitely deserved her 'extra million' and it put a smile on her face. A truly great place with great people and great food. We will be back! Dr. Charles


Relaxing Stop

4,2 sur mai 25, 2010

Great place and location. Easy access to I80 and Delaware Water Gap area. Excellent breakfast and enjoyed our stay!


George Washington Would Be Proud!

3,8 sur février 26, 2010

Our visit to the Inn was a relaxing moment, stepping back in time to this stone walled mill from long ago. The rooms were nice (bedding and towels a little lacking), the setting serene, and the dining (both food and great barkeeper) superb.


Relaxing stay

4,0 sur janvier 25, 2010

We had a great stay at the inn. Very relaxing atmoshere and the room was cozy and clean. We ate at the inn's restaurant each night. The food was phenomenal, the best quality and great portion sizes and the service was amazing as well. The employees at the inn had such pleasant dispositions and were really very welcoming. If I am in the area again I will definitely stop in for a bite.


Our new favorite getaway

4,6 sur décembre 29, 2009

We just needed time away from technology, chores & responsibilities at home. We spent hours on the internet looking for a B & B in a peaceful, picturesque area, but one that would also take children (and dog if possible). Amazingly it's easier to find one that will take dogs than children! We found the perfect place. Stepping out of the car and walking up to the beautiful buildings was a relief. The setting was perfect. The buildings were stunning and the tavern and the restaurant were warm, inviting, very classy but not at all pretencious. All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The grounds were lovely to walk the dog in. We feel very lucky to have come across the Inn & whenever we need a quick refresher - this is where we'll be!


Last Minute Christmas Eve Dinner

4,6 sur décembre 29, 2009

At the last minute, my husband and I decided to eat out on Christmas Eve. The Inn graciously accepted our reservation and we had an excellent meal. The waitstaff was very attentive(Renee), the atmosphere cozy, and the food exceeded our expectations. It was a great way to spend the holiday.


Our 39th Wedding Anniversary

4,6 sur décembre 10, 2009

Excellent accomodations, food, just what we were looking for a great weekend getaway.


COUNTRY ELEGANCE MEETS CITY DINING

4,0 sur novembre 28, 2009

We have frequented the inn for lunch and dinner many times and their unique menu coupled with excellent service and presentation always exceed our expectations. The rooms are all romanticly decorated, immaculate and provide a perfect ending to a days enjoyment. Of course we do have a few "favorite" rooms, but you be the judge and see which rooms create unequalled memories. Jonathan and his staff always put their guests needs first. Try it, you'll like it !


Lovely way to spend a rainy weekend!

4,4 sur octobre 28, 2009

It was a miserable day so our "wine tours" weren't that much fun. We decided to go to the inn and relax instead. We lit a fire in the parlor fireplace & spent the afternoon reading & drinking wine. We then had a magnificant dinner & then back to our room with another fire in the fireplace (so romantic). The next morning we had a delicious breakfast and then headed home. Everyone made us feel very special & the service was great!


Romantic Evening

4,2 sur octobre 15, 2009

Fantastic romantic evening with my wife. My wife and I decided to go away for a romantic evening so we did a search on B&B.com and found The Inn at Millrace Pond. We chose this location because they had fantastic guest rooms, the menu for the restaurant looked great and the pub appeared to have great ambiance and selection. We arrived to find a very helpful staff that directed us to our room where we found a lovely country style room with modern amenities. After settling in for a while we walked over to the restaurant that was fine enough to just visit even without staying there. We had a fantastic romantic quiet meal with everything prepared perfectly. After relaxing for a while we ventured downstairs to the pub where we relaxed and had a drink. The atmosphere was extremely relaxed and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously. After about an hour we ventured back to the room and spent the next hour relaxing in the hot tub. The next morning we strolled in to the dining room and enjoyed the most perfect omelette either of us had ever eaten. Not only did it taste great but it was literally perfectly shaped. We will certainly return to visit again and to think we only live about twenty minutes away. This place is worth driving across the country for. A true gem.


Excellent B&B

5 sur septembre 27, 2009

I was there for my anniversary. I had the best tim. The people there are so very friendly. It was so beauitful.


A perfect fall get away

4,2 sur septembre 09, 2009

The Inn keepers could not have been more helpful. Breakfast and lunch were wonderful...unfortnately we didn't have dinner there. The grounds were ideal for a lazy Sunday morning with the newspaper.


Wonderful stay, beautiful event.

4,0 sur septembre 04, 2009

We recently had a wedding at the inn. The innkeepers were very easy to work with and helped create a very memorable wedding for us. All our guests stayed at the Millrace House which made for a very stress-free day and evening. I would highly recommend the inn for a wedding or special event.


Two Days of Grace

4,4 sur août 20, 2009

My wife and I loved the authentic feel of the 240 years old restored grist mill and the great service by Bill, John and the staff. Walking along the millrace to where the dam used to be took us back in time to a very beautiful place to read and take in the lovely summer landscape. A must for those who like older buildings, 25 landscaped acres, great service and fine food.


wonderful hosts

3,8 sur juillet 17, 2009

Beautiful inn. Food was excellent and yummy. went to bed full and happy.


Historic B&B

4,4 sur juillet 10, 2009

Room was more authentic than anticipated! But the dinner was fantastic.


Review from Backroads Motorcycle Magazine

4,2 sur juin 23, 2009

Excerpt from Backroads Magazine, July 2009 issue: The Inn at Millrace Pond is beautiful and has a great homey and comfortable feel from the moment you stroll up the brick path from the parking lot. A small brook is crossed by an old wooden bridge and the mill stands stately and strong, dominating the grounds, which have a few other cottages and buildings sprinkled around it. Entering the mill you can see how it has been remodeled and the combination of old Moravian charm and modern amenities flow seamlessly between each other. Innkeeper Jonathon Teed and manager Bill Kirkhuff have much to be proud of here. There are 17 rooms all together and our second floor room with its period antiques, wide board pumpkin pine wood floor and huge bed was very comfortable, while getting out of it the next day was a Herculean task. The room rates are reasonable and we took advantage of a Spring Fling special which got us the room, two cocktails at the Fireside Tavern, $60 off the dinner bill and breakfast the following morning. Rates vary so it is best to check their website to see what is being offered. The menu that night was absolutely awesome. Shira started with the Drunken Mussels, steamed with Butter and Bourbon and I enjoyed the Wild Mushroom Ravioli. The main course found the special Swordfish and a thing the inn calls New England Lobster Pie, which is a half pound of lobster meat in a traditional sherry sauce with a potato crust. Absolutely phenomenal, as were the zucchini that came with it. The wine list was ample and the wine cellar is well worth exploring as it rests deep in the old mill and is the prettiest cellar we have ever seen. Shira wants one just like it now. All in all we can't think of a nicer place to escape. Enjoy the inn. We sure did.


Excellent!

5 sur juin 03, 2009

The Inn is a gorgeous getaway rich with history with a tranquil atmosphere away from the hecticness of life. The restaurant is one of the best places I have dined, and the service was friendly and courteous!


Weekend in Hope NJ

5 sur avril 21, 2009

We couldn't have asked for a better way to celebrate a romantic anniversary weekend! The Inn is beautifully appointed, wonderfully restored and maintained. The personal service and attention to detail exceeded our expectations.


Fairwell to Hope

5 sur avril 06, 2009

I stayed at The Inn at Millrace Pond when I was transferred out of the area due to work. The Inn is the most wonderful place to stay and the service is superb. I had a nicely appointed room. Staying at the Inn feels like going back in time but having all the modern amenities. I would recommend to anyone that goes to the Hope/Hackettstown area.


A rare find in New Jersey

5 sur novembre 29, 2008

Our recent stay at the Inn was great. The grounds were beautiful- I saw deer grazing in the mornings. The rooms were decorated in a clean and simple colonial style. Not having the clutter associated with some inns, made it easy to relax. The wireless internet service, which I was told had been added in the past year, was a big bonus for working. We enjoyed the Fireside Tavern as well as the Main Dining Room. Both were beautiful. It was very interesting to see the millrace running through the inn. The owners told us that it was used to heat and cool the inn. Seeing the giant exposed beams through-out the inn and tavern, made us realize the amount of work it took to build the inn. The food was wonderful. Our breakfast was a great value. It was listed as a contenental breakfast but we were able to choose bacon, omelets, fresh fruit and the most delicious homemade banana bread. This was included with our room. For dinner, we selected the Bleu Heaven Salad (loaded with Bleu Cheese), Loster Pie (delicious) and bread pudding (the best we had ever tasted). Our portions were huge. The staff was very helpful and nice- Telling us about the sights not to miss in the area. It was nice to see a big dose of southern hospitality away from home. It was a wonderful experience and one we will repeat.


The Inn at Millrace Pond

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $140 - $245
  • Avis (106) 4,1
  • Chambres 17
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9084594884
  • Fax 1-9084595276
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8007466467

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut