The Dormer House Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
40 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Perfect stay!

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2014

It was my first stay at the Dormer house this weekend. It really was a perfect stay! The staff is SO friendly and accommodating. The rooms are typical B&B style rooms but spotless!! The porch is wonderful, I never wanted to leave their porch swing! The breakfast was delicious. We didn't make it to tea time unfortunately. Upon checkout the staff offered us to use their showers, beach chairs and come for afternoon tea time since we would be in the Cape May area. I thought this was so nice of them! The location is also perfect, walking distance to the beach, shopping and good eats! I have nothing but good things to say and in the future wouldn't stay elsewhere!


Looking forward to coming back again

4,0 sur août 26, 2014

This was my first stay at The Dormer House. A great old B&B with all the charms of a bygone era and the conveniences of the internet era. Breakfasts were wonderful as were the treats during afternoon tea. Very comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff.


A great stay

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2014

Our first time in Cape May...we found the staff very courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was very nice as advertised. Food was delicious. Location was great...just a few blocks from the beach, and a few from the shops and eateries. Would definitely go back to the Dormer House...Steve N


Still a nice place

4,2 sur juillet 26, 2014

We have not been to the Dormer House for more than ten years. We used to stay here regularly (summertime) when we lived in the East (now live in the SW). The B&B is still a very pleasant place to stay while at the Shore. The food and service were excellent, and the porch is a very relaxing place to spend the evening hours. We will not wait ten years for a return visit!


We will certainly be back!

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2014

We had originally not planned on going anywhere this year on our vacation week, but last minute decided to see what was available in Cape May. Not having ever done the B&B thing in NJ, we headed to the internet. We found one room available at the Dormer House. The reviews looked promising, so we gave it a try. From the initial phone call all we can say is wow, what a nice experience. We did not get to meet Lucille & Dennis during our stay, but the staff we did meet was very helpful and polite. They went out of there way to accommodate us.Our room was very clean, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon treats were delightful. This is now our favorite B&B. Can't wait to come back again. Definitely met our expectations.


Our Favorite!

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2014

This was our 6th visit to the Dormer House and we just love it there! The rooms are nice, the front porch is just a wonderful place to sit and relax, and the breakfasts are delicious!! Lucille, Dennis, and Diane are terrific. We consider it our home away from home. Jill and Kevin


A much needed time away

3,6 sur juillet 05, 2014

We enjoyed the Dormer House very much. It was a nice getaway with tranquil moments. The breakfasts were varied and perfect. They were enjoyable as you could interact with everyone or you could remain with your partner. The house is lovely and close to the beach and so many restaurants.


Another wonderful weekend at the Dormer House!

4,6 sur juin 30, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Dormer House for years and we are never disappointed. The rooms are lovely, food is delicious, staff is wonderful and Dennis and Lucille are delightful! Short walk to the beach and shops! We always look forward to our weekend getaways in Cape May!


Great Place to Begin and End Your Cape May Day

4,2 sur juin 20, 2014

Loved the outdoor showers (with shampoo, soap & conditioner provided!!! Yay!) The breakfast on the open-air front porch was delightful, followed by coffee/tea on the rockers. Birds came right up to us--so pleasant. Birding at the B&B--who knew? The staff was very accommodating of our special requests. Ample parking a huge plus. Convenient walk to beach, shops and restaurants.


Wonderful anniversary getaway!

4,8 sur juin 20, 2014

My husband and I spent our 2 year anniversary here for a night and had such a wonderful, relaxing time. It was close to the beach where we walked and spent time on and close to the shopping and restaurant area. We really enjoyed coming back for tea and sitting on the outside porch which was so relaxing. Tea at night on the porch was another favorite thing for us there in the cool evening. Breakfast was very delicious and better than we could have expected. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a great stay and would return for sure.


Loved it!

4,4 sur juin 12, 2014

This was our first time staying here and we loved it. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful to anyone who was new to the Cape May area. Would definitely stay there again.


FIRST TIME, BUT NOT THE LAST TIME

4,8 sur juin 10, 2014

June 6 - 9th. Not our first time to Cape May, but our first to the Dormer House. Reasonable rates, lovely staff, yummy breakfasts, convenient location. What's not to love. We have been to many B&Bs in Cape May but for the money this one can't be beat!


Weekend get-away

4,6 sur juin 03, 2014

We had a great time at The Dormer House! Nice room, Great food and NICE staff! Enjoyed quietness, bike riding and beach and price was good! Looking forward to going again in the Fall!


Perfect location

4,8 sur juin 02, 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from our weekend stay at the Dormer House. The location was perfect - 2 blocks from the beach in one direction and 2 blocks from the center of town the other direction. This B&B had some very cool historic elements, and the decor was antique-y. The breakfast both days was delicious and they even accommodated me since I have a some food allergies. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. We have visited other B&Bs where we felt like we had to hang out with the hosts - this was not like that at all! I would highly recommend staying at the Dormer house!


Comfy!! And great location!

5 sur mai 25, 2014

Always the best! So relaxing. Dennis and Lucille are attentive hosts and breakfast is casual and delicious - make your reservation now! All rooms lovely and beautiful porch!


had a very nice time!

5 sur mai 20, 2014

My daughter knew I wanted to visit Cape May so she got me a gift certificate for one night at the Dormer House for my birthday. We've never stayed at a B & B before and probably wouldn't have chosen to stay at one if it weren't for the gift certificate. We had a wonderful time! The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The amenities were nice: afternoon tea and snacks, coffee and pretzels always available in the parlor, an ice machine and nice areas to sit and relax. It was off season when we visited so parking wasn't an issue but I'm sure the parking lot is a huge plus during the summer. Breakfast was wonderful. We couldn't wait until 8:30; the smell of the fried potatoes was coming in our bedroom window. My husband thought the bed was so comfortable and that's unusual. He always complains about hotel beds. The Shannon Room was charming. Just some advice for others. The Shannon Room is accessed by a separate entrance at the back of the house. Some might find the staircase a little difficult; it was very narrow and a little steep. We did not find that to be a problem and liked the convenience. We wish we would have been able to stay longer.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur mai 15, 2014

Charming Bed and Breakfast located near the beach, shopping, and dining. You will be greeted with a warm welcome and smile. You can relax in a rocking chair or on the big wooden porch swing during the day and watch the horse and carriages go by. Nature lovers can walk through the neighborhood bird watching, take a lovely stroll along the beautiful shoreline, or take a bike ride through the neighborhood. Lots of shopping and dining options within walking distance or a short car ride. The dining options are fantastic! I would highly recommend 410 Bank Street. I stayed in the George Jacoby Room on the first floor right next to the check in area. It was so quiet and peaceful. The bed was extremely comfortable and I the tub was awesome. This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. Lovely relaxing stay!


peaceful & beautiful

5 sur mai 10, 2014

A perfect place to step back in time& get away from everything in your life that is hectic. The room was clean & spacious & beautiful. Breakfasts fresh & delicious. Innkeepers were friendly& helpful.


quaint inn for a perfect cape may weekend

3,8 sur mai 05, 2014

Old, well kept/well managed inn. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the yummy breakfasts and afternoon snacks. Great location for the beach, shopping, and touring in general. Dormer House is a little gem!


Cozy Cape May Getaway!

5 sur avril 28, 2014

My fiancee and I had a wonderful time staying at the Dormer house! We stayed in the Diana room, which was really nice because it has a separate entrance. The room gets a lot of light and faces the street so you can see the horse drawn carriages coming down the road.The bed was super soft and comfortable! Also tea time was a lot of fun, they had an amazing coconut pie!!! Breakfast was spectacular! They served eggs with biscuits topped with sausage gravy! The great part is that it is walking distance from everything. I would love to stay there again!


Love Dormer House

5 sur avril 21, 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and I have to say The Dormer House exceeded my expectations. The staff that run the facility are so friendly, the charm of the home is amazing and the rooms are adorable. Not to mention the breakfast was out of this world. We will certainly stay again. Thank you Dormer House for a wonderful weekend.


First time at a B&B

5 sur avril 17, 2014

I stayed in the Dormer Suite on the third floor. It was quite a climb to get there, made hard because I'm old, but it was really worth it. I fell asleep each night to the sound of the ocean. During the day, the horses and carriages passed right below my windows, so it felt as if I'd stepped back in time. This was my first time staying at a B&B. What a pleasant experience! I was alone because my husband was too sick to travel. Alone, but not lonely since everyone was so friendly. The suite was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. I plan to return to this charming B&B.


What a wonderful weekend away!

4,4 sur avril 08, 2014

My husband and I got a much needed weekend away from the kids and escaped to the Dormer House in cape may. Despite the fact that we got stuck with a rainy 3 days, the B and B was fabulous! Our room was a suite and had a little sitting area that made the room seem spacious. It's location was ideal, walking distance from town(only 3 short blocks) and the beach (2-3 blocks). Despite the rain we were still able to walk everywhere, we never took out the car! I was bummed we went when it was too cold and rainy so we couldn't use their beautiful porch. The breakfasts were amazing as well! They really outdid themselves! We hope to make a repeat trip soon!


ellen

4,8 sur avril 03, 2014

totally enjoyed and would recommend this b & b- the afternoon tea upon my arrival was great. was totally comfortable and upgraded to a suite in the main house without a fee b/c of the rainy weather. i'm not a hot breakfast person so don't go by me....but i'd rate it highly


Off season weekend - Great Stay

4,4 sur mars 24, 2014

3 of us stayed in late March and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Antique Rose Suite so we could be in the same room. It was clean & comfortable - and the folks there are so friendly! It's an easy walk to shopping and close to the beach. Would definitely go back again!


Great Off Season Stay

4,2 sur mars 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely two-night stay at the Dormer House. We stayed in the Jacoby suite, using a Groupon. The room was great - the jacuzzi tub was amazing, the bed was very comfortable, and the suite was spacious. We really appreciated all of this for the discounted price of the Groupon - we're students, and we typically can only afford lower quality rooms. Breakfast was also great, and we loved having the private two-person table on the sun deck. The service was great. The only major complaint we had was the room's temperature - it was often cold in our room, though the rest of the house was quite cosy. Other than that, we had a fabulous stay, and hope to return this summer or next spring.


Dormer House - great place to stay!

4,0 sur mars 10, 2014

This place is awesome! No problems. Would recommend to anyone, and intend on staying there upon our return. I knew it would go well after the first phone call. The young lady was very sweet and enthusiastic and gave me and my fiance a nice big room without even having to ask for one. We stayed for one night early March 2014 and showed up on a cold, rainy day. There is plenty of parking in the big lot right on the property (and parking is nearly impossible in Cape May). The inside is warm and cozy. You're greeted by a big fireplace once you walk in. There's really cool furniture and wall hangings inside. They have a coffee/tea/hot water/pretzels area for you to use at any time. They have soft music playing quietly in the common room. We were greeted by a nice woman who asked us our names only and gave us our room key and showed us the way. The key works the outer doors so we could come and leave as we please. The 8:30am breakfast was delicious! We would recommend Dormer House to anyone, and we'll be BACK! Thank you, Mike S. Binghamton, NY


Wonderful, 5 Stars!!

4,8 sur décembre 26, 2013

I went here with a girlfriend last week just for one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer! Cape May is one of my favorite places and I have stayed at a few B&B's, but this one has been my favorite by far. Decorated beautifully for Christmas and it felt like my home away from home. The owner was so welcoming and sweet and it was so quiet and peaceful! Keep in mind, it is the off season but I have no doubts it's also very quiet in the busy season as well. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. It's only a few blocks away from the beach and Washington Street, walking distance! It's like stepping back in time, beautiful Victorian Cape May charmed rooms with all the necessities and amenities you need. Don't pass up The Dormer House, it's perfect!


wonderful stay!!!

5 sur décembre 08, 2013

we just returned from a restful over night at the Dormer House. The owners were wonderful and welcoming. The house was lovely and looked beautiful for the holiday! Tea and cookies on the porch was delicious! you could see the carriages driving by and at night when we went to bed, we could actually hear the ocean lulling us to sleep! the breakfast was delicious in the morning! Kudos to the innkeepers!


Relaxing November Weekend Getaway

4,4 sur décembre 02, 2013

Very nice, relaxing weekend at the Dormer House. First time there, but was not disappointed. We stayed in the Smith Cottage, pretty big room yet very cozy and clean. The whirlpool tub was a plus, big enough for two people. There were two things in this room that I had a small problem with, but didn't really spoil my weekend, in the bedroom there is a dresser, very nice piece since it's from the Victorian period, which I believe is important to keep the decor in that style since the house was originally built in 1899, however, these pieces should also be kept as functioning furniture. The bottom of the very top drawer was actually coming apart so I wasn't able to use the drawer at all, not a problem since we only stayed a couple of nights and didn't really need all the drawers, but for people that are staying for a week at a time, that would pose a problem. The other issue was the shower curtain, not the liner, that was very clean, however the outside decorative curtain had mold on the inside of the curtain, and so did the curtain on the window inside the shower. Little details that need to be looked into. I loved the glass window enclosed sun porch where breakfast and afternoon tea is served. The food was great, and we enjoyed speaking to Dennis about the history of the house. The horse carriage ride at dusk was beautiful since some of the houses were already decorated for Christmas and all lit up. It's almost like going back in time. We enjoyed it very much and definitely will be back to the Dormer House.


November Getaway

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Dormer House! Bright,cheery and clean guest room! Great breakfast on an inviting sun-porch. Loved the afternoon teas and chats with Dennis and the other guests! Definitely will return!


Great Fall Weekend Getaway Spot

4,6 sur octobre 28, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing 3-day weekend at Dormer House. Starting with Diana's cheery greeting when we arrived, everything made us feel welcome and well taken care of. Breakfast was freshly made, inventive and beautifully presented. Individual tables on the enclosed porch make it feel like a little restaurant. Sorry we weren't there for afternoon tea and cakes, as we were out and about enjoying the shops in Cape May at tea time. Bed was super comfortable, and fresh towels were provided each day. I always make the bed myself in order to save the staff the trouble when we're going to be there a few days, but we returned to find our bed had been re-made anyway. Coffeemaker and many many varieties of tea are always available in the sitting room. Free WIFI and off street parking were a plus. Lots of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. We definitely hope to get back sometime -- it seems like a nice place to stay in any season.


Fantasy Weekend

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

My wife and I had a Fantasy Weekend at Dormerhouse Bed and Breakfast. It was our 50th Wedding Anniversary and my 75th Birthday. Our stay was at the Smith Cottage, a two room Honeymoon suite. It was clean and very comfortable. The Innkeeper Dennis, his wife Lucille and the great staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very delicious and parking was a dream. For another special weekend we will stay at Dormerhouse. Anthony and Joyce Vitulli


Great B&B

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

Wonderful old inn with a great way of serving your needs but staying out of the way. Great pankakes!


Wonderful HoneyMoon

5 sur octobre 08, 2013

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon in Cape May. It was our first time traveling to the area and we enjoyed it very much. The Dormer House was a wonderful place to stay, the service was excellent, and the breakfast and afternoon tea and treats were so delicious. The smith cottage is a perfect honeymoon suite, it has it's own separate entrance, a hot tub for two and a very comfortable bed and couch to lay out on after a busy day walking around town. It is only a few blocks from the beach and the Washington Mall. We will absolutely be coming back for another stay.


Very Friendly and Comfortable

4,0 sur août 20, 2013

It was our first visit to Cape May and we will certainly return. Innkeeper Dennis was friendly and helpful. The Dormer House was very cozy and comfortable. We especially liked that even after we had checked out we could still use the outdoor shower, towels and bathroom. Nice touch.


Dormer House is Great!! Tracy in P.A.

5 sur août 19, 2013

Dennis and the staff were great! The breakfast was delicious and big portions. The house looks and feels like you stepped back in time, We didn't want to leave. Everything about Dormer House was perfect and we didn't have to worry about beach chairs, towels or beach umbrella..............Dormer House provides it free. We will be back next year!! Thank you Dormer House for a great vacation, you made us feel like family!


Quiet and Private

5 sur juin 24, 2013

This bed and breakfast is located in a quiet part of town and yet it's within walking distance to the beach and promenade. My wife and I have stayed at this house many times. The owners and staff are friendly, engaging, and they respect your privacy as do their guests. I like that they have individual tables in the breakfast area and porch that allow you to have a private dining experience while giving you the option of socializing as well if you wish to. They provide delicious snacks in the mid-afternoon for their guests every day. And they have plenty of off-street parking spaces.


Excellent Getaway Charming B & B

5 sur juin 17, 2013

Dennis is a great inn keeper -- friendly & good dining recommendation


Best so far....

4,6 sur août 22, 2007

One of the best bed & breakfast we have stayed at so far. Very, very happy with the room. Almost like a small apartment with flat screen TV too. Loved the shower for two. And clean, clean, clean. Great parking, convenient to the beach. Air conditioning and overhead fan. Just a great place to stay. We WILL be back!


The Dormer House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $250
  • Avis (40) 4,6
  • Chambres 14
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6098847446
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8008005052

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut