The Dormer House Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas sur place4,6

Notation basée sur
95 Avis

Ecrire un avis

A Great Place to Stay

4,8 sur juin 27, 2016

I was part of a group having a reunion at the Dormer House last weekend. My third floor room was very comfortable, and our afternoon teas and breakfasts were delicious. We were close to everything, yet had plenty of room on the wide front porch to rock and catch up with each other. It was a perfect choice!


What an amazing experience!

5 sur juin 26, 2016

What a great old house! The neighborhood is walking distance to the beach, shops, and dining. Rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you.


Anniversary Stay

4,4 sur juin 24, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us some great suggestions for exploring Cape Mary.


Wonderful time!

5 sur juin 18, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great place and wonder people. Our honeymoon was fabulous and they all made us feel like family.


Best relaxing weekend getaway!

5 sur juin 07, 2016

This our second time staying at the Dormer House. We rarely getaway alone being we have 3 daughters and it seems every time we do we book the Dormer House. We love the staff they make you feel so comfortable & the breakfast is outstanding. Every morning they cook up something different and its freshly made when you enter the dining room. Best family run bed and breakfast we've ever been to. Not to mention close to the beach & the cape may shopping strip! We'll be booking another in the near future.


Relaxing place for a getaway

5 sur juin 04, 2016

We have been staying hear at least once a year for the last 15 years,the place and the people could not be nicer,we would not think of staying anywhere else when in Cape May


Relaxing get away

4,8 sur mai 31, 2016

Excellant get away-quiet but you were aware staff was present.Loved the extra amenities -coffee service and the afternoon tea service so delicious!


Very nice stay

4,0 sur mai 28, 2016

This was our first experience with a B&B and it was really nice. We will do this again! Nice people and the location was pretty central to all Cape May has to offer. Excellent breakfast and treats with afternoon tea on the pretty enclosed porch or the nice big outside porch that also had tables, chairs, rockers, and even a porch swing for two! Minor issues like doorknobs, but Mr. Doherty is on the job with ongoing repairs.


Our stay was excellent in all respects. We would go back and recommend to others.

4,6 sur mai 27, 2016

Excellent


Most enjoyable B&B in Cape May

3,4 sur mai 25, 2016

Over the past 7 years my wife and I have stayed at the Dormer House on average 7 times. It is a very nice B&B, centrally located, is well maintained and the breakfasts have been very good. Our last visit was again most enjoyable. One item we did notice, our room was not as clean as it has been in the past. We still consider the Dormer House a very nice place to stay while in Cape May.


Excellent wwekend stay!

5 sur mai 23, 2016

Friendly, excellent service, food was great, lovely accomadations, lication is right in the heart of things!


Very enjoyable stay

5 sur mai 18, 2016

My girlfriend and I went for a weekend in early May. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was comfortable and the service was very pleasant. Breakfast on Sunday was outstanding. We can't wait to go back!


Nice stay

4,0 sur mai 15, 2016

My daughter gave me the best gift at Christmas... a one night stay at "The Dormer House" I was over the top excited. My husband and I decided to use it on our 13th wedding anniversary. We arrived early afternoon and immediately felt the charm of this 13 room B&B. We choose the "Diana Suite" named for the inn keepers daughter Diana who in fact greeted us upon our arrival. She was sweet and charming as she gave us the key to our room. She mentioned the daily "Tea" and invited us back for it. She let us know when breakfast would be served the following morning. It was amazing! The best pancakes I ever had! Diana was knowledgeable about the Inn's history and was happy to tell us it's story. The Inn has beautiful rooms and a very nicely decorated living room and I loved the wraparound porch and plenty of parking! Just park your car and walk around this beautiful Victorian town. Just a few blocks from the Atlantic ocean. We will definitely be back!


Such a pretty Inn

5 sur mai 05, 2016

Nice people., pretty rooms and amazing breakfasts - we really enjoyed our stay at the Dormer House. Plus, you can easily walk to everything - including the beach!


Weekend Getaway

3,8 sur avril 28, 2016

We truly enjoyed our stay. The treats were delicious. Our room was big and very clean. Overall, great experience.


Amazing Place!

4,8 sur avril 18, 2016

I can not wait to go back! The room was very quiet and pretty. The food was amazing! My husband can not wait to go along next time! The only negative about the trip was that it wasn't warm enough to enjoy the chairs and swing on the front porch!


Fabulous weekend stay in spite if April snow and rain

5 sur avril 15, 2016

Our children gave us this weekend at the Dormer House. It is a lovely, comfortable B&B with gracious hosts and fabulous food. Clean and neat, easy to find and food so good we didn't eat again until dinner. Thanks for a lovely stay.


Not bad, but not great either.

2,8 sur avril 04, 2016

I purchaed a weekend stay at the Dormer House for my husband and I to get away for a few days. Upon arrival, we were greeted well by a friendly host who showed us to our room, explained a few of the amenities, and offered us afternoon tea in the parlor. Our room was cozy and clean and offered a good amount of space and natural lighting. The mattress was a bit too soft for our taste, but it was fine for the two days we were there; however, if one suffers from back issues, I wouldn't necessarily recommend this room for that very reason. My only concern about the cleaniness was the small shower stall in our suite, the George Jacoby Suite. The stall was old, tight, and showed noticable discolored grime staiins along the bottom perimeter. I don't think it was due to a lack of effort on behalf of the cleaning crew. I think it was more the material of the stall which absorbed the dirt stains over the years. While I believe that due to space, there really no way for them to expand the size of the shower, I think changing out the whole unit will be a lot more appealing to guests. As it stand, it raises questions about the cleaniness of the whole place after seeing it. Also, while showering on our first night, the shower head came off and we notified the staff the next morning. They immediately replaced the head that morrning and we were back in business later that day. Kudos to them for immediately addressing the problem and having such a quick turnaround. The food selection offered was fine and the food tasted fairly decent, but it was nothing supurbly special about it. Overall, I rate our stay as, "Met my expectations," as we felt farily comfortable and at home but next time I visit Cape May, I will be looking for something that exceeds the comforts of home in both the decor and dining experience.


Another great stay

5 sur mars 31, 2016

Took a spure of the moment trip and as always had an outstanding stay . Room ready when we arrived the afternoon tea and snack great . The morning breakfast are great and always plenty to eat .


The Dormer House is Delightful.

4,2 sur mars 27, 2016

The staff at the Dormer House is devoted and courteous. The house is family owned and it shows it's more than a business for them. The room and common areas were clean and cheery. We enjoyed taking our tea to the airy porch and relaxing while we sipped tea and ate homemade cookies and pastries. We stayed two nights and enjoyed two delicious, quality breakfasts in the sunny breakfast porch. This was our first stay and we look forward to returning!


Our First Stay, But Won't be Our Last :-)

4,2 sur mars 16, 2016

We went to Cape May for a weekend getaway before the craziness of summer began. This was our first stay at the Dormer House, but I would venture to say will not be our last. We stayed in the Dorothy Thomas room, which was very quaint and comfortable. Diane was a very gracious host, her husband Mike an excellent chef (the breakfasts were spectacular!), and her mom, Lucille, is a baker extraordinaire (her cookies and cakes are second to none!). Our plans were thrown off a bit by car trouble that required a tow to a repair shop upon arrival, but even that couldn't ruin an otherwise perfect weekend. Thanks for a lovely stay--we'll be back again for sure! Debbie & Tim


Another lovely stay

4,4 sur février 22, 2016

Inviting and lovely atmosphere, clean and comfy. Delicious afternoon homemade pastries and port wine, rocking on the porch while the horse and carriage trot by...so peaceful and relaxing. Highly recommend the Dormer House for good breakfast, comfy rooms, cleanliness and value. ; )


B & B Good Location

3,2 sur janvier 16, 2016

Staff friendly and attentive, but the room ceiling fan clicked most of the night and the room was excessively hot. The shower was hard to access due to the deep rim around the tub. Breakfast room was lovely and the food was attractive and good. Next time I'll chose a different room.


Festive B&B

5 sur janvier 16, 2016

We stayed over New Year's Eve and it was lovely, as usual. They treat everyone royally with tea in the afternoon and wonderful breakfasts. We sat in the parlor in the afternoon and enjoyed the quiet, beautiful decorated house.


Always Amazing...

5 sur janvier 11, 2016

The Dormer House is our favorite B & B in Cape May. Price is right, breakfast is delicious, staff is courteous, rooms are authentic and quaint, and it is a perfect location. We stay there every time we visit Cape May. Barbara and Stephen Signorile


It's great during Christmas too

5 sur janvier 10, 2016

We just completed our second stay this year. We wanted to experience the Christmas season in Cape May. Once again our stay was lovely. We did the Christmas Candlelight House Tours where we visited a number of homes decorated for Christmas including the Emlen Physick Estate. Most had the Victorian flavor and were very nice, but both my wife and I agree that the Dormer House was by far the prettiest of all those we saw. We requested the same room, Dorothy Thompson. Breakfast was very tasty and my wife LOVED the scones. She's begging me to contact the Dormer House to get the recipe. :-) If we were ever to return to Cape May we will try to stay here again.


An Amazing Stay

5 sur janvier 07, 2016

Our stay was a Christmas gift from my mother. The Dormer House was beautifully decorated inside & out for the season. Our room was elegant, spotless and comfortable. The huge tub was an added bonus. Breakfast was delicious and the staff courteous and caring. We will definitely be coming back!


Charming, romantic and festive

4,0 sur janvier 05, 2016

Friendly, family run with great breakfasts. Great stay for the holiday season!


Cape May Dormer House

4,0 sur janvier 04, 2016

Our stay at the Dormer House was a very pleasant experience. The location was great within walking distance (a couple of blocks) from the main shopping and dining area. Diane, who ran the Dormer House could not have been a more hospitable hostess. We will definitely try to get back there again and again.


Beautiful Stay at Christmas Time

5 sur décembre 26, 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Dormer House for 4 days right before Christmas and it was wonderful! The house is lit up with so many lights, it stands out from any other B & B during this time. It felt like Christmas there, and the innkeepers are spectacular. They are friendly, offer suggestions for dinner, and will just take the time to talk to you. Their breakfasts are amazing! You can tell everything was hand made, and you were definitely full when finished. Then in the afternoon, there is tea and once again, all kinds of home made pastries and different every day. The room was gorgeous, and there was hot tub in it that opened up to the rest of the room, and it was amazing. Everything about our stay here was perfect, and can't wait to do it again next year!


Holiday Getaway

5 sur décembre 20, 2015

Beautiful B&B, It was decorated so nice for Christmas. Breakfast was great and our room was beautiful.


Lovely stay

3,6 sur décembre 16, 2015

Lovely long weekend at the Dormer House. Diana is a wonderful host, very helpful and friendly. She had our room ready at noon, even though check in isn't until 3:00. Beautifully decorated for Christmas - all cars stop in front of the Dormer House to take photographs. Terrific front porch and beautiful parlor room on first floor. Convenient walk into town. Generous breakfast, and nice afternoon tea. Highly recommended.


Holiday Overnight

5 sur décembre 08, 2015

Beautiful bed and breakfast - decorated so nice for Christmas! Our room was beautiful and the breakfast was great. The afternoon tea and snacks were wonderful and a nice addition. Cannot wait to go back!


Great place for a beautiful stay away from home!

4,6 sur novembre 30, 2015

The room was nice and spacious. Everything was nicely clean and the staff was really friendly.


Great Find

4,0 sur novembre 17, 2015

Liked the fact that the website specified which floor each room was on--- we are dealing with a back problem and knowing we were reserving a first floor room was a benefit. We were there off-season and were very pleased with the room rate. The innkeepers were attentive and helpful and kept amenities such as coffee and tea readily available. The Dormer House will definitely be seeing us again.


Birthday stsy

4,4 sur novembre 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed on a whim for only 1 night but it was great! The inn keeper was very accomodating and always ready to chat or give us advice about cape may. she even made a reservation for a winery in case we wanted to go. The food was all delicious! Will definitely be back!


Very Quaint. Outstanding Service. Great Location!

4,2 sur octobre 29, 2015

First time in Cape May. The Dormer House is in an excellent location, within walking distance to shops and beach. Very accommodating. Clean, comfortable suite at a great value.


PERFECT PLACE FOR R&R

4,6 sur octobre 27, 2015

MY WIFE AND I HAD THE MOST RELAXING AND ENJOYABLE STAY AT THE DORMER HOUSE.THE BREAKFASTS ARE GREAT AND THE AFTERNOON TEA IS A GREAT WAY TO SIT ON THE PORCH AND RELAX


Love the Dormer House

4,0 sur octobre 26, 2015

We have stayed at the Dormer House many times with each stay getting better and better!


Great Place

5 sur octobre 25, 2015

We have stayed at the Dormer House many times (actually lost count). It is convenient to the center of Cape May. On site parking a big plus. It has been a favorite of ours for years.


Excellent B&B in Cape May

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2015

Very nice, well kept B&B with very friendly staff and owners.


Excelllent B&B

4,6 sur octobre 01, 2015

Have been coming to the Dormer House for a number of years. We find it an enjoyable and pleasant B&B in Cape May.


Lovely lovely place

3,8 sur septembre 24, 2015

For the money this bed and breakfast is lovely.


Enchanting Bed and Breakfast

5 sur septembre 07, 2015

We reserved our stay at the Dormer House for a mini-vacation - 4 days/3 nights. It was perfect. We enjoyed the Victorian atmosphere especially the antique furniture. Breakfast was always on time, delicious and plentiful that was served on a quiet old fashioned style porch. The owners were always friendly and helpful. The B & B is located on a quiet street surrounded by beautiful trees and landscape. Our room was clean and private. We stayed in the two room, honeymoon suite, that had its own entrance. We did not want to go home. We will definitely be coming back again.


3rd stay-we must like it!

4,4 sur septembre 03, 2015

Quaint, larger property. Charming, very quiet suite. We've stayed in 3 different suites, each was very nice. Very clean. Street is active with horses and bicyclists but few cars. About 3 blocks from the beach, so no late night rowdiness. Easy, ample parking. Needs a little maintenance, but so does every Bed and Breakfast I've ever stayed at. Breakfast is good but there are basically no options and food is hearty. While the food is tasty, some healthier options, even just yoghurt and fruit, would be appreciated. Two cold cereals were offered, but both were sugared. There are some more upscale Bed and Breakfasts in Cape May, but they are much more expensive. Factoring "value" and "location" in the equation, this is the best. Not a place for small children, though older children are welcome. Beach chairs and towels available, along with an exterior shower. They have a bike rack but do not lend bicycles.


Great stay

5 sur août 30, 2015

Great stay, good breakfast and nice rooms!


Wonderful Stay

4,6 sur août 27, 2015

Having never stayed in Cap May, I booked a room at the Dormer House via the internet and was pleasantly surprised. Dormer House is conveniently located on a quiet tree-lined street. The suite was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The beach and the Washington Street mall are each a short walk (about 4 blocks) from the Dormer House. We enjoyed looking at the houses and other buildings during our walks. Off street parking and use of beach chairs and towels were a great bonus. Our stay was very enjoyable and we will return again.


doormer house

3,4 sur août 16, 2015

room was ok but bathroom can use an update or just a deep clean around woodwork


Birthday getaway

3,6 sur août 12, 2015

We spent one night at the Dormer and had a wonderful time. Check in was easy, hosts were attentive (even brought an iron/iron board to our room upon asking). The afternoon treats and tea were delicious, all homemade baked goodies. Unfortunately we were unable to stay for breakfast so can't rave about that, but I heard they have delicious scones and zeppoles! Within close walking distance to washington avenue to go to shops and restaurants. Beware of uneven sidewalks!


Highly Recommended

5 sur avril 28, 2015

Our first time staying at a B&B in Cape May and it was amazing. The room was much nicer than the pictures on the website! The breakfasts were amazing and Diana is so nice and friendly. Definitely check them out on your next visit to Cape May!


Another perfect weekend!

5 sur janvier 06, 2015

We can't say enough about our second stay at the Dormer House. Dennis was so helpful in taking our last minute reservations, and went out of his way to accommodate us with our late arrival. When we pulled in at 8:00pm, everything was exactly as promised. The room was perfect, and as usual, the bed was very comfortable. We wanted to see the Christmas lights throughout the town, and of all of the B&B's, the Dormer House lights were the most amazing. A delicious breakfast welcomed us in the morning. Thanks to all of the staff for another perfect visit. It's great to have a destination spot in this wonderful shore point! We'll be back for sure.


Magical Christmas visit

5 sur décembre 12, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this lovely B&B and have nothing but praise for the accommodations and the hospitality. Since its the Christmas season the house was decorated beautifully. We took one of the evening trolley tours and The Dormer House by far was decorated the best. The breakfasts were delicious and the owners daughter was a gracios hostess. We would definitely stay again.


Christmas time in Cape May

4,0 sur décembre 09, 2014

Very nicely decorated both inside and out for the Holiday season. Probably the best Holiday lighting in all of Cape May, NJ.


Comfortable & Inviting

4,8 sur novembre 08, 2014

Conveniently location in the heart of the historic section, a short walk to the Washington Street Mall, beach. Nicely situated on a corner lot with wraparound enclosed porch adorned with windows. Home cooked breakfast is served restaurant-style on the porch. Looks lovely when lit up at night. Tasteful afternoon tea with homemade baked goods, assorted teas and a pitcher of sherry served in the antique filled parlor. Innkeepers hospitable and friendly. Very "homey" atmosphere.


Becoming our favorite Cape May destination.

4,8 sur octobre 23, 2014

We have been here twice for our Anniversary. Spacious and numerous common areas both indoors and out. These areas and afternoon tea remain available on checkout day as well. Husband and I enjoyed sitting in the living room playing chess & having a beer while winding down in the evening. Coffee and tea are available in the living room at all times which is great when you want an evening cup of tea but don't want to go out. Full hot breakfast is served at individual tables on the enclosed porch (in the Fall) and is simple but delicious. Cold options are also available. The rooms we have stayed in have been lovely, older but comfortable. And off-street on-site lot parking ensures that you don't have to walk a mile in foul weather to retrieve something you forgot in the car. The location is closer to the beach then it feels like on the tree lined street. We will keep coming back.


Perfect stay!

4,8 sur septembre 09, 2014

It was my first stay at the Dormer house this weekend. It really was a perfect stay! The staff is SO friendly and accommodating. The rooms are typical B&B style rooms but spotless!! The porch is wonderful, I never wanted to leave their porch swing! The breakfast was delicious. We didn't make it to tea time unfortunately. Upon checkout the staff offered us to use their showers, beach chairs and come for afternoon tea time since we would be in the Cape May area. I thought this was so nice of them! The location is also perfect, walking distance to the beach, shopping and good eats! I have nothing but good things to say and in the future wouldn't stay elsewhere!


Looking forward to coming back again

4,0 sur août 26, 2014

This was my first stay at The Dormer House. A great old B&B with all the charms of a bygone era and the conveniences of the internet era. Breakfasts were wonderful as were the treats during afternoon tea. Very comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff.


A great stay

4,0 sur juillet 27, 2014

Our first time in Cape May...we found the staff very courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was very nice as advertised. Food was delicious. Location was great...just a few blocks from the beach, and a few from the shops and eateries. Would definitely go back to the Dormer House...Steve N


Still a nice place

4,2 sur juillet 26, 2014

We have not been to the Dormer House for more than ten years. We used to stay here regularly (summertime) when we lived in the East (now live in the SW). The B&B is still a very pleasant place to stay while at the Shore. The food and service were excellent, and the porch is a very relaxing place to spend the evening hours. We will not wait ten years for a return visit!


We will certainly be back!

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2014

We had originally not planned on going anywhere this year on our vacation week, but last minute decided to see what was available in Cape May. Not having ever done the B&B thing in NJ, we headed to the internet. We found one room available at the Dormer House. The reviews looked promising, so we gave it a try. From the initial phone call all we can say is wow, what a nice experience. We did not get to meet Lucille & Dennis during our stay, but the staff we did meet was very helpful and polite. They went out of there way to accommodate us.Our room was very clean, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon treats were delightful. This is now our favorite B&B. Can't wait to come back again. Definitely met our expectations.


Our Favorite!

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2014

This was our 6th visit to the Dormer House and we just love it there! The rooms are nice, the front porch is just a wonderful place to sit and relax, and the breakfasts are delicious!! Lucille, Dennis, and Diane are terrific. We consider it our home away from home. Jill and Kevin


A much needed time away

3,6 sur juillet 05, 2014

We enjoyed the Dormer House very much. It was a nice getaway with tranquil moments. The breakfasts were varied and perfect. They were enjoyable as you could interact with everyone or you could remain with your partner. The house is lovely and close to the beach and so many restaurants.


Another wonderful weekend at the Dormer House!

4,6 sur juin 30, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Dormer House for years and we are never disappointed. The rooms are lovely, food is delicious, staff is wonderful and Dennis and Lucille are delightful! Short walk to the beach and shops! We always look forward to our weekend getaways in Cape May!


Great Place to Begin and End Your Cape May Day

4,2 sur juin 20, 2014

Loved the outdoor showers (with shampoo, soap & conditioner provided!!! Yay!) The breakfast on the open-air front porch was delightful, followed by coffee/tea on the rockers. Birds came right up to us--so pleasant. Birding at the B&B--who knew? The staff was very accommodating of our special requests. Ample parking a huge plus. Convenient walk to beach, shops and restaurants.


Wonderful anniversary getaway!

4,8 sur juin 20, 2014

My husband and I spent our 2 year anniversary here for a night and had such a wonderful, relaxing time. It was close to the beach where we walked and spent time on and close to the shopping and restaurant area. We really enjoyed coming back for tea and sitting on the outside porch which was so relaxing. Tea at night on the porch was another favorite thing for us there in the cool evening. Breakfast was very delicious and better than we could have expected. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a great stay and would return for sure.


Loved it!

4,4 sur juin 12, 2014

This was our first time staying here and we loved it. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful to anyone who was new to the Cape May area. Would definitely stay there again.


FIRST TIME, BUT NOT THE LAST TIME

4,8 sur juin 10, 2014

June 6 - 9th. Not our first time to Cape May, but our first to the Dormer House. Reasonable rates, lovely staff, yummy breakfasts, convenient location. What's not to love. We have been to many B&Bs in Cape May but for the money this one can't be beat!


Weekend get-away

4,6 sur juin 03, 2014

We had a great time at The Dormer House! Nice room, Great food and NICE staff! Enjoyed quietness, bike riding and beach and price was good! Looking forward to going again in the Fall!


Perfect location

4,8 sur juin 02, 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from our weekend stay at the Dormer House. The location was perfect - 2 blocks from the beach in one direction and 2 blocks from the center of town the other direction. This B&B had some very cool historic elements, and the decor was antique-y. The breakfast both days was delicious and they even accommodated me since I have a some food allergies. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not overbearing. We have visited other B&Bs where we felt like we had to hang out with the hosts - this was not like that at all! I would highly recommend staying at the Dormer house!


Comfy!! And great location!

5 sur mai 25, 2014

Always the best! So relaxing. Dennis and Lucille are attentive hosts and breakfast is casual and delicious - make your reservation now! All rooms lovely and beautiful porch!


had a very nice time!

5 sur mai 20, 2014

My daughter knew I wanted to visit Cape May so she got me a gift certificate for one night at the Dormer House for my birthday. We've never stayed at a B & B before and probably wouldn't have chosen to stay at one if it weren't for the gift certificate. We had a wonderful time! The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The amenities were nice: afternoon tea and snacks, coffee and pretzels always available in the parlor, an ice machine and nice areas to sit and relax. It was off season when we visited so parking wasn't an issue but I'm sure the parking lot is a huge plus during the summer. Breakfast was wonderful. We couldn't wait until 8:30; the smell of the fried potatoes was coming in our bedroom window. My husband thought the bed was so comfortable and that's unusual. He always complains about hotel beds. The Shannon Room was charming. Just some advice for others. The Shannon Room is accessed by a separate entrance at the back of the house. Some might find the staircase a little difficult; it was very narrow and a little steep. We did not find that to be a problem and liked the convenience. We wish we would have been able to stay longer.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

4,6 sur mai 15, 2014

Charming Bed and Breakfast located near the beach, shopping, and dining. You will be greeted with a warm welcome and smile. You can relax in a rocking chair or on the big wooden porch swing during the day and watch the horse and carriages go by. Nature lovers can walk through the neighborhood bird watching, take a lovely stroll along the beautiful shoreline, or take a bike ride through the neighborhood. Lots of shopping and dining options within walking distance or a short car ride. The dining options are fantastic! I would highly recommend 410 Bank Street. I stayed in the George Jacoby Room on the first floor right next to the check in area. It was so quiet and peaceful. The bed was extremely comfortable and I the tub was awesome. This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast and I was not disappointed. Lovely relaxing stay!


peaceful & beautiful

5 sur mai 10, 2014

A perfect place to step back in time& get away from everything in your life that is hectic. The room was clean & spacious & beautiful. Breakfasts fresh & delicious. Innkeepers were friendly& helpful.


quaint inn for a perfect cape may weekend

3,8 sur mai 05, 2014

Old, well kept/well managed inn. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the yummy breakfasts and afternoon snacks. Great location for the beach, shopping, and touring in general. Dormer House is a little gem!


Cozy Cape May Getaway!

5 sur avril 28, 2014

My fiancee and I had a wonderful time staying at the Dormer house! We stayed in the Diana room, which was really nice because it has a separate entrance. The room gets a lot of light and faces the street so you can see the horse drawn carriages coming down the road.The bed was super soft and comfortable! Also tea time was a lot of fun, they had an amazing coconut pie!!! Breakfast was spectacular! They served eggs with biscuits topped with sausage gravy! The great part is that it is walking distance from everything. I would love to stay there again!


Love Dormer House

5 sur avril 21, 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and I have to say The Dormer House exceeded my expectations. The staff that run the facility are so friendly, the charm of the home is amazing and the rooms are adorable. Not to mention the breakfast was out of this world. We will certainly stay again. Thank you Dormer House for a wonderful weekend.


First time at a B&B

5 sur avril 17, 2014

I stayed in the Dormer Suite on the third floor. It was quite a climb to get there, made hard because I'm old, but it was really worth it. I fell asleep each night to the sound of the ocean. During the day, the horses and carriages passed right below my windows, so it felt as if I'd stepped back in time. This was my first time staying at a B&B. What a pleasant experience! I was alone because my husband was too sick to travel. Alone, but not lonely since everyone was so friendly. The suite was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. I plan to return to this charming B&B.


What a wonderful weekend away!

4,4 sur avril 08, 2014

My husband and I got a much needed weekend away from the kids and escaped to the Dormer House in cape may. Despite the fact that we got stuck with a rainy 3 days, the B and B was fabulous! Our room was a suite and had a little sitting area that made the room seem spacious. It's location was ideal, walking distance from town(only 3 short blocks) and the beach (2-3 blocks). Despite the rain we were still able to walk everywhere, we never took out the car! I was bummed we went when it was too cold and rainy so we couldn't use their beautiful porch. The breakfasts were amazing as well! They really outdid themselves! We hope to make a repeat trip soon!


ellen

4,8 sur avril 03, 2014

totally enjoyed and would recommend this b & b- the afternoon tea upon my arrival was great. was totally comfortable and upgraded to a suite in the main house without a fee b/c of the rainy weather. i'm not a hot breakfast person so don't go by me....but i'd rate it highly


Off season weekend - Great Stay

4,4 sur mars 24, 2014

3 of us stayed in late March and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Antique Rose Suite so we could be in the same room. It was clean & comfortable - and the folks there are so friendly! It's an easy walk to shopping and close to the beach. Would definitely go back again!


Great Off Season Stay

4,2 sur mars 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely two-night stay at the Dormer House. We stayed in the Jacoby suite, using a Groupon. The room was great - the jacuzzi tub was amazing, the bed was very comfortable, and the suite was spacious. We really appreciated all of this for the discounted price of the Groupon - we're students, and we typically can only afford lower quality rooms. Breakfast was also great, and we loved having the private two-person table on the sun deck. The service was great. The only major complaint we had was the room's temperature - it was often cold in our room, though the rest of the house was quite cosy. Other than that, we had a fabulous stay, and hope to return this summer or next spring.


Dormer House - great place to stay!

4,0 sur mars 10, 2014

This place is awesome! No problems. Would recommend to anyone, and intend on staying there upon our return. I knew it would go well after the first phone call. The young lady was very sweet and enthusiastic and gave me and my fiance a nice big room without even having to ask for one. We stayed for one night early March 2014 and showed up on a cold, rainy day. There is plenty of parking in the big lot right on the property (and parking is nearly impossible in Cape May). The inside is warm and cozy. You're greeted by a big fireplace once you walk in. There's really cool furniture and wall hangings inside. They have a coffee/tea/hot water/pretzels area for you to use at any time. They have soft music playing quietly in the common room. We were greeted by a nice woman who asked us our names only and gave us our room key and showed us the way. The key works the outer doors so we could come and leave as we please. The 8:30am breakfast was delicious! We would recommend Dormer House to anyone, and we'll be BACK! Thank you, Mike S. Binghamton, NY


Wonderful, 5 Stars!!

4,8 sur décembre 26, 2013

I went here with a girlfriend last week just for one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer! Cape May is one of my favorite places and I have stayed at a few B&B's, but this one has been my favorite by far. Decorated beautifully for Christmas and it felt like my home away from home. The owner was so welcoming and sweet and it was so quiet and peaceful! Keep in mind, it is the off season but I have no doubts it's also very quiet in the busy season as well. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. It's only a few blocks away from the beach and Washington Street, walking distance! It's like stepping back in time, beautiful Victorian Cape May charmed rooms with all the necessities and amenities you need. Don't pass up The Dormer House, it's perfect!


wonderful stay!!!

5 sur décembre 08, 2013

we just returned from a restful over night at the Dormer House. The owners were wonderful and welcoming. The house was lovely and looked beautiful for the holiday! Tea and cookies on the porch was delicious! you could see the carriages driving by and at night when we went to bed, we could actually hear the ocean lulling us to sleep! the breakfast was delicious in the morning! Kudos to the innkeepers!


Relaxing November Weekend Getaway

4,4 sur décembre 02, 2013

Very nice, relaxing weekend at the Dormer House. First time there, but was not disappointed. We stayed in the Smith Cottage, pretty big room yet very cozy and clean. The whirlpool tub was a plus, big enough for two people. There were two things in this room that I had a small problem with, but didn't really spoil my weekend, in the bedroom there is a dresser, very nice piece since it's from the Victorian period, which I believe is important to keep the decor in that style since the house was originally built in 1899, however, these pieces should also be kept as functioning furniture. The bottom of the very top drawer was actually coming apart so I wasn't able to use the drawer at all, not a problem since we only stayed a couple of nights and didn't really need all the drawers, but for people that are staying for a week at a time, that would pose a problem. The other issue was the shower curtain, not the liner, that was very clean, however the outside decorative curtain had mold on the inside of the curtain, and so did the curtain on the window inside the shower. Little details that need to be looked into. I loved the glass window enclosed sun porch where breakfast and afternoon tea is served. The food was great, and we enjoyed speaking to Dennis about the history of the house. The horse carriage ride at dusk was beautiful since some of the houses were already decorated for Christmas and all lit up. It's almost like going back in time. We enjoyed it very much and definitely will be back to the Dormer House.


November Getaway

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Dormer House! Bright,cheery and clean guest room! Great breakfast on an inviting sun-porch. Loved the afternoon teas and chats with Dennis and the other guests! Definitely will return!


Great Fall Weekend Getaway Spot

4,6 sur octobre 28, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing 3-day weekend at Dormer House. Starting with Diana's cheery greeting when we arrived, everything made us feel welcome and well taken care of. Breakfast was freshly made, inventive and beautifully presented. Individual tables on the enclosed porch make it feel like a little restaurant. Sorry we weren't there for afternoon tea and cakes, as we were out and about enjoying the shops in Cape May at tea time. Bed was super comfortable, and fresh towels were provided each day. I always make the bed myself in order to save the staff the trouble when we're going to be there a few days, but we returned to find our bed had been re-made anyway. Coffeemaker and many many varieties of tea are always available in the sitting room. Free WIFI and off street parking were a plus. Lots of nice restaurants and shops within walking distance. We definitely hope to get back sometime -- it seems like a nice place to stay in any season.


Fantasy Weekend

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

My wife and I had a Fantasy Weekend at Dormerhouse Bed and Breakfast. It was our 50th Wedding Anniversary and my 75th Birthday. Our stay was at the Smith Cottage, a two room Honeymoon suite. It was clean and very comfortable. The Innkeeper Dennis, his wife Lucille and the great staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very delicious and parking was a dream. For another special weekend we will stay at Dormerhouse. Anthony and Joyce Vitulli


Great B&B

5 sur octobre 17, 2013

Wonderful old inn with a great way of serving your needs but staying out of the way. Great pankakes!


Wonderful HoneyMoon

5 sur octobre 08, 2013

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon in Cape May. It was our first time traveling to the area and we enjoyed it very much. The Dormer House was a wonderful place to stay, the service was excellent, and the breakfast and afternoon tea and treats were so delicious. The smith cottage is a perfect honeymoon suite, it has it's own separate entrance, a hot tub for two and a very comfortable bed and couch to lay out on after a busy day walking around town. It is only a few blocks from the beach and the Washington Mall. We will absolutely be coming back for another stay.


Very Friendly and Comfortable

4,0 sur août 20, 2013

It was our first visit to Cape May and we will certainly return. Innkeeper Dennis was friendly and helpful. The Dormer House was very cozy and comfortable. We especially liked that even after we had checked out we could still use the outdoor shower, towels and bathroom. Nice touch.


Dormer House is Great!! Tracy in P.A.

5 sur août 19, 2013

Dennis and the staff were great! The breakfast was delicious and big portions. The house looks and feels like you stepped back in time, We didn't want to leave. Everything about Dormer House was perfect and we didn't have to worry about beach chairs, towels or beach umbrella..............Dormer House provides it free. We will be back next year!! Thank you Dormer House for a great vacation, you made us feel like family!


Quiet and Private

5 sur juin 24, 2013

This bed and breakfast is located in a quiet part of town and yet it's within walking distance to the beach and promenade. My wife and I have stayed at this house many times. The owners and staff are friendly, engaging, and they respect your privacy as do their guests. I like that they have individual tables in the breakfast area and porch that allow you to have a private dining experience while giving you the option of socializing as well if you wish to. They provide delicious snacks in the mid-afternoon for their guests every day. And they have plenty of off-street parking spaces.


Excellent Getaway Charming B & B

5 sur juin 17, 2013

Dennis is a great inn keeper -- friendly & good dining recommendation


Best so far....

4,6 sur août 22, 2007

One of the best bed & breakfast we have stayed at so far. Very, very happy with the room. Almost like a small apartment with flat screen TV too. Loved the shower for two. And clean, clean, clean. Great parking, convenient to the beach. Air conditioning and overhead fan. Just a great place to stay. We WILL be back!


The Dormer House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $89 - $250
  • Avis (95) 4,5
  • Chambres 14
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6098847446
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8008005052

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut