Leith Hall Historic Seashore Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,3
  • Services4,8
  • Qualité/Prix4,3
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
34 Avis

Ecrire un avis

We had a wonderful stay

4,6 sur août 13, 2014

The room was wonderful,clean and comfortable. The breakfast was so good,sitting on the porch watching Cape May start the day was very relaxing. I know it is an innkeepers job to be NICE,but Susan and Elan truly ARE nice. Most thing you want to do are in easy walking distance even for seniors like us. We had a great time.


Recent stay.

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2014

Elan and Susan are wonderful hosts. We loved our room. Staying at Leith Hall made our anniversary special.This was our second time here,and we will definitely return soon. The Sloane's


A lovely place to stay!

4,8 sur mai 13, 2014

We enjoyed talking with Elan and Susan about Cape May and their home is lovely! The breakfasts were wonderful as was the room we stayed in.


Authentic B & B

4,0 sur mai 06, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Leith Hall. We loved that the room was on the 1st floor and that they were spotless. The bathroom was the only problem we had with the room as it was extremely small. We also liked that it was a half block from the ocean . Susan and Elan could not have been nicer and we learned so much about the area and the homes from both. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. I would recommend Leith Hall to anyone who would enjoy a very Victorian atmosphere.


affordable, great location, convivial hosts

4,8 sur décembre 21, 2013

We have stayed at a few other B&B's, and prefer their quiet quirkiness and intimacy over standard hotel/motel decor--and having to search out one's own breakfast in the morning! Leith Hall in particular offers quite the Victorian ambience (décor, afternoon tea) that Cape May is famous for, in addition to modern amenities. and an excellent location.


Leith Hall Was Delightful!

5 sur septembre 18, 2013

My husband and I love to stay in Bed & Breakfast Inns, and Leith Hall was the best. The innkeepers were very friendly, the accommodations and location could not have been any better, and the homemade breakfasts and tea treats were wonderful. Anne Taylor (in Virginia)


Leith Hall

5 sur septembre 05, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B located 1/2 block from the beach. We have stayed here 6 times and always have a great time. Elan and Susan are wonderful hosts, gregarious and interesting. Elan knows pretty much everything there is to know about Cape May and Victorian culture and architecture and is fun to talk with. The Turkish Suite on the 2nd floor has a clear view of the ocean from the bed and one can also enjoy the view from the rocking chairs on the wrap around porch. Elan does the cooking so the Breakfast is always a delight and the tea time sweets are not to be missed. We had a Jacuzzi, a flat screen TV with full cable (though we seldom watched) and WiFi. 5 of the rooms come with parking in the rear - a must have for Cape May in the summer. We will be back again next year. Pete Wells


Weekend at Cape May

4,4 sur juillet 03, 2013

our stay at Leith Hall exceeded my expectations. This was our first try at b&b and it couldn't have been better! The accomodations were fantastic! Elan and Susan were terrific hosts,the food was terrific, 2 blocks (if u could all it that) from the beach and you felt like you were home!The short walk to where we had to park wasn't a problem and all in all, I would love to return, our long weekend went by way too fast! Dave and Michelle Bingamton, ny


Quaint and Romantic

4,4 sur mai 22, 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and it exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by Violet and instantly felt welcomed. Our room was cozy and romantic with a beautiful ocean view. Both Elan and Susan were pleasant and kind, the afternoon tea was amazing and breakfast was excellent. We will not only be returning to Leith Hall but highly recommend it anyone who is lucky enough to visit Cape May.


A stellar B&B

5 sur avril 03, 2013

Leith Hall is an absolutely wonderful B&B! The decor is fantastic, breakfast was superb, location excellent, but the best thing that Leith Hall has going for it is Susan and Elan. They are so friendly and so knowledgeable about almost everything and such a pleasure to chat with. Afternoon tea was a great hit with Elan's homemade goodies. My particular favorite were the chocolate-blackberry crumble bars. We were particularly fortunate that one of the other guests, marvelous pianist, played during tea.


Great location, friendly innkeepers.

4,8 sur janvier 02, 2013

This is a wonderful and reasonably priced B&B to stay at. We stay in Cape May for several days every year right after Christmas. Both Susan and Elan were easy to talk to and very gracious hosts. Can't say enough about both the breakfasts as well as the Tea time goodies. Although my wife and I stay in different B&B's every year, we are considering coming back to the Leith Hall again. The location is terrific for strolls to the beach or to the Washington Street Mall.


Susan and Elan Leith are fabulous hosts in every way.

4,6 sur décembre 06, 2012

The ambiance and the food were excellent. We'll return to this inn without a doubt.


Wonderful place!

4,8 sur septembre 24, 2012

We booked this accommodation over the phone as we had trouble booking other hotels over the Internet. We forgot to mention our toddler as we take a pack and play and it normally makes no difference - we didn't see the Internet requests for children 12 years and over welcome!!! As you can imagine our horror when we arrived to hear that they don't usually accommodate young children! The owners were fantastic and made us so welcome and luckily the other guest were also very understanding. We were so grateful! The hotel is in a fantastic position. Close to the Main Street and the beach is over the road. Personal touches like beach towels, deck chairs and a hot running outside shower that are for guests use anytime was lovely. The rooms we had were beautiful with delightful sea views. Breakfast was delicious and something different every day. The owners were extremely friendly and made time to ensure each guest was having a nice time and if they needed anything. Overall a fantastic experience once we got over our embarrassing mistake! Would definitely recommend!


Great Time

5 sur septembre 12, 2012

The wife and I spent a very enjoyable time at the Leith Hall Inn, the food was pleasant to eat and the service was outstanding. We have stayed at lots of hotels, but you can't get the service or food at these places. If your going to Cape May, I highly suggest staying at the Leith Hall Inn! Also the people that you meet there are very nice to talk too as well.


Great historic house; Great hosts

4,8 sur août 12, 2012

This bed and breakfast is one block off the ocean and we had ocean views from our upper floor bedroom. Stayed in the Maple Leaf room which was clean, comfortable and quiet. It had a separate sitting room with a fireplace, tv and mini fridge and it also had its own private bathroom. Susan and Élan, the owners, could not have been more gracious. There was a delicious hot breakfast each morning and drinks and treats on the porch each afternoon during tea time. There were beach towels and beach chairs to borrow as well. Overall, it was a wonderful stay - just wish we had stayed longer!


A wonderful inn close to everything

4,4 sur juillet 09, 2012

I happened across Leith Hall when searching for an in near the beach and near the Washington Mall. We stayed for only one night, and I was very sad to leave as early as I did. Susan checked us in much earlier than the stated check-in time, giving us a thorough description of the inn, the town, and the meals. In conversation, it came up that Elon had been involved in the renovation and administration of the Physick house, which added another great experience to the trip. We stayed in the Celebrity room. All in all, our room was small but well appointed. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room cool during 100 degree heat. The location was within walking distance to most of the town. Afternoon tea was a refreshing treat that we did not expect (Elon's homemade baked goods were brilliant!). The challah french toast in the morning was fluffy and flavorful. I was stunned by the decor, thrilled with the food, and charmed by the innkeepers. I would absolutely return.


Superb Innkeepers-Excellent Service-Great Accommodations

4,6 sur juin 22, 2012

To say that Susan and Elan are superb innkeepers is, indeed, an understatement as they certainly went out of their way to be helpful. The food, accommodations, and service were definitely beyond reproach, and both Susan and Elan were constantly attentive to their guests' needs. Highly recommended and hope to return there soon!


Friendly, authentic, good location in Cape May

5 sur juin 17, 2012

We have stayed there for 23 years because the Victorian era is authentically and beautifully represented, Susan and Elan truly enjoy being hosts and the food is delicious and they are one block from the beach.


Great B&B

4,6 sur juin 12, 2012

Leith Hall is taking a step back into the Victorian era. Great place to stay in Cape May. The hosts are great and very knowledgeable of area and of the era. Breakfast is fantastic and the conversation is great. Plan to stay when we return to Cape May. Stan Kanowicz


Like Family

5 sur mai 30, 2012

Staying at leith Hall is a plus in all categories as all rooms, surroundings, verranda,common area and bathrooms were spectacularly clean and crisp. The breakfast as well as evening tea, which is included, is superb being all made from scratch. Being here for about 5 times now I feel as if i'm going to stay at family for a couple days.


Very nice, relaxing. Elan & Susan where great. Will stay again!!

4,2 sur mai 04, 2012

Much needed evening & day to unwind. It was perfect that the Summer season hadn't started. But still plenty of people in town & at the Inn. To me it felt like my clildhood when I was a little girl. Elan & Susan were very personal.


Always a wonderful stay!

5 sur avril 22, 2012

I am giving the highest rating I can to Leith Hall! I am a repeat customer for many years. My room is very comfortable and the furnishings and decor are so beautiful. Elan and Susan are warm and friendly - it's so nice to chat with them during tea and breakfast. And the food is delicious! It's also right at the beach. I always love going back!


Very nice place

4,6 sur novembre 16, 2011

Enjoyed our recent, Nov 2011, stay very much. Hosts were wonderful. Food was great. The afternoon teas are a nice touch. Location is great too. Considering a return trip next year.


Great experience

4,2 sur octobre 13, 2011

I had never stayed in a B&B before, so had no idea what to expect. Susan & Elan went out of their way to allow us to change out of our "period clothing" before traveling, even though we had "checked out" 2 hours previous to our need. The rooms were well cared for and the breakfasts and afternoon tea were delicious and plentiful. If you are going to Cape May, seriously consider Leith Hall as your


We Will Return

4,4 sur septembre 21, 2011

My wife and I love going to Cape May in September, the crowds are down and the ocean is warm. This year we decided to try a bed and breakfast instead of the usual hotel stay. Searching the internet to find one consumed many of my evenings. We finally decided on Leith Hall after reading many reviews of many B&B's. Upon arrival, we knew we made the right choice. The location was beautiful, a block from the beach and an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. The real key to our enjoyment was the owners and staff. We immediately felt welcome and it was obvious the owners were passionate about evey aspect of the bed and breakfast experience. For my money, if you enjoy good food and conversation, Leith Hall is at the top of the list.


A Great Experience

4,4 sur juillet 01, 2011

We had an exceptional experience at Leith Hall. It is very close to the ocean and all of the wonderful shops at Cape May. A short drive to the lighthouse made our trip complete. Susie and Elan and staff made our stay wonderful...and their food was an added bonus!


Leith Hall Needs Work

2,2 sur juin 17, 2010

After reading the 8 reviews posted about this B&B, I am wondering if we're talking about the same place. Leith Hall was shabby, and overwhelmingly centered on the man of the house, including a daily dose of his very liberal (and intrusive) political opinions at breakfast and teatime. Food was quite good, as were the towels in the bathroom and the rockers on the porch. I had to ask for help with my luggage (having been relegated to the second floor Turkish Room) and even then, the owner only took it part way to the car. Although I only stayed two nights, with a night in Atlantic City between the two in Cape May, I had to pay for 3. It is true that the location is good, and within walking distance of most of the interesting places to see in the historic district. For the money ($250/night plus tax), it was very poor value.

Réponse du propriétaire
We hope to give our guests a personal, fun experience at our bed and breakfast with lots of good food and entertaining chat on the porch - mostly about Victoriana, travel, things to do in Cape May, not usually politics. It sometimes happens that people want to try a "Victorian Bed & Breakfast in Cape May" but find out that they prefer the high-roller experience in a glitzy casino hotel in Atlantic City. This is clearly true in this case as many of his comments only make sense when talking about a hotel. For example, when guests make a reservation at our B&B, they choose the specific room that they want to be in - we do not have interchangeable rooms like a hotel so the comment about being "relegated to the second floor" simply doesn't make sense. The suite he chose (only available on the second floor) is one of our largest and has onsite parking. In our description we always mention what floor a room is on because some people don't want to walk to the third floor. We are in an 1880s Victorian house so we do not have an elevator. I find it surprising that the guest is complaining about someone helping him bring his luggage down from the second floor (we are not a hotel with bellhops but usually offer to help bring luggage down)! The luggage was brought down to the front of the house so that the guest could bring his car up to the front to put the luggage directly into the car. This was meant to be helpful, not annoying. The guest reserved three nights in our inn. He never spoke to us about not paying for the night he chose to stay in Atlantic City (right in the middle of his visit) - I think staying in Atlantic City that night must have been a last minute decision based on not wanting to drive after drinking. I believe this guest is used to and prefers large hotels with bellhops and elevators. I am glad that he enjoyed the food, the towels, and the rocking chairs.


Very Nice Place To Stay!

5 sur septembre 21, 2009

Every staff member at the Leith Hall was very pollite and helpfull. The breakfast was very tasty and the house was decorated very nice ( Felt like you were back in the late 1800s ) and it was very clean. The location is perfect, it is next to everything. The next block over was a bike rental place which I recommend (only $10 to rent for the whole day). Bikes make is extremely easy to get around town since everything is near by. Easier then driving around and looking for parking which you wont find for free. One thing that I would like others to know is that the free parking lot for the guests at the Leith Hall is about 4 blocks away (10 minute walk) which isnt a big deal since they do have a spot in front of the house for guest to load and unload their luggage and also you pass by a few interesting stores on your way to the parking lot which is always nice :) I had a great relaxing weekend thanks to Leith Hall and their staff !


A wonderful place to stay!!

5 sur juillet 11, 2009

My husband and I just returned from Cape May, NJ. We stayed at Leith Hall for seven nights. We found Elan & Susan (the owners) and their staff to be very caring, friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding - especially the desserts at afternoon tea!! Our room (The Empire Room) was beautifully decorated and came complete with an ocean view! Cape May is a beautiful, relaxing place to visit. We highly recommend Leith Hall to anyone who will be visiting the Cape May area. --Farmington Hills, MI--


Wonderful 40th Anniversary Stay

5 sur décembre 08, 2008

What a very pleasant experience! Great breakfasts and afternoon tea - loved the scones. The Turkish Suite is very nice - all of the rooms are very true to the period and nicely decorated. My husband and I enjoyed chatting with the innkeepers who are both very gratious and can converse on any subject imaginable! We highly recommend this B&B.


Great place; nice people!

4,4 sur octobre 02, 2008

Leith Hall is clean, close to almost everything, and is run won by wonderfully nice and caring people. It was a great weekend getaway!!!


Nice location

2,8 sur août 07, 2008

The B & B was in a good location but was a little disappointed with the room. I felt like the house needed some upkeep. The innkeepers were very nice and accommodating. Most things were in walking distance which was a plus because the parking seemed like it was on the other side of town.


Lovely home, lovely city

3,4 sur juillet 17, 2008

Owners & staff very friendly & welcoming. Breakfast on front porch can't be beat. Home well kept. Only down was having to park several blocks away.


The BB that keeps on impressing

4,6 sur juin 09, 2008

The pictures do not do the place justice. Everything has been restored to perfection and the service is great. The breakfast and afternoon tea is so very good. Waking up to the smell of home made food never felt so good. The owners were great and the company there was very nice. We would all sit on the porch and talk about our day. Also, it was near everything Cape May has to offer. the Mall was 2 blocks, Cabanas was 1 block, beach was 1/2 block....list goes on. Must stay here if you choose a BB in Cape May, NJ


Leith Hall Historic Seashore Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $95 - $295
  • Avis (34) 4,5
  • Chambres 8
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-6098841934
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8778841400

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut