The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley Avis

Ensemble
4,8

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,8
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
26 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Elegant charm in a country setting

5 sur octobre 04, 2014

From the moment you enter the driveway and admire the well kept grounds, vintage barn and hear the sounds of the nearby stream you instantly start to relax! Inside we were warmly greeted by the owner Marcia who gave us a tour. We learned of its rich history as well as its modern technology. Don't miss the before picture! All the rooms are beautifully decorated with elegant warmth and charm . You can't help but notice the perfectly placed furniture, paintings and beautiful linens. Our first stay was in the Morris room. It was light and bright and had the most comfortable bed we ever slept in! We returned in September and stayed in the Hunterdon room with its rich autumn colors was perfect for a fall get-a-way! Both rooms were clean, cozy and very quiet. Note: we requested the chocolate covered strawberries at the time if reservation and were well worth it! The other enjoyable part of our stay was the inn keeper Brooke. She was polite, friendly and made us feel right at home! She prepared a scrumptious breakfast that was beautifully served at the time we requested. Some of the delicious delights were: mixed berry smoothie, cranberry orange bread, apple cider pancakes and of course the BACON ( fresh from the local butcher) what we couldn't finish Brooke would wrap for us in a goodie bag complete with water bottles and napkins for our "road trips " or for a snack later. She also remembered to have my favorite tea ready for me. It's those special touches that make you feel pampered and keep us coming back . We have such pleasant memories here that we will be including the Inn in our future wedding plans! Scott & Jackie


Charming B&B!

4,6 sur mai 05, 2013

From the moment we met John (our host) at the back door, he made us feel "part of the family". The room and Inn is so magnificent, clean, charming, bright/sunny, and relaxing that we look forward to staying again next year. The breakfasts were exactly what we asked for- prepared by John and his staff, and they accommodated our vegetarian diet with smiles on their faces. The fishing is awesome too (those large trout are not easy to catch) and the grounds are immaculately groomed and it is so relaxing to just sit by the water and listen to the birds. One of the nicest B & B's we've ever stayed at. We highly recommend this country Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
What a wonderful weekend it was to host you here at the Inn. The weather was perfect for fishing and I am so glad you took the time to enjoy the sight and sounds of the country. We do our best to make sure you have several breakfast options and plenty of fresh fruit to accommodate your diet; I'm glad you were happy and well-fed. What a joy it was to get to know you and share our stories together. I look forward to your visit next year. Until then our trout will have a chance to get bigger!


Delightful Inn & hosts

5 sur mai 03, 2013

Our friends treated us to a night in the Sussex Room. It was lovely & the breakfast was delectable~creme brulee french toast!! The hosts were very friendly & aimed to please.


Wonderful Doesn't Say Enough

5 sur octobre 29, 2012

John and his family MADE our stay great. The place is beautiful, yes...very clean, and the food was awesome. But it's PEOPLE that make it great and John helped us make our friend's wedding there just a perfect event. He helped us, he shared stories with us and our friends. and the room my wife and I had was clean, and full of personality. The food he made for breakfast was fresh and wonderfully presented. And his wife and daughter were so nice to us. I hope I can go back there very soon. Thanks John! Mark L.


Romantic Getaway

4,8 sur octobre 08, 2012

Just came back from our stay here. John is so accommodating and treats you like family. His service was over the top to please his guest. Rooms were beautiful and very clean. We can't wait to go back again and make this a regular stop for getting away from everyday life. Thank you John.

Réponse du propriétaire
I am so glad you were able to get away from the hectic pace of life and enjoy the beauty of the Inn and property, especially when the trees are in full color. I'm sure it was a joy to take a horse ride and bike the Columbia trail with the one you love. You are always welcome to come anytime and have a little getaway, a home away from home.


Wonderful Bed & Breakfast in Califon, NJ

5 sur avril 04, 2012

My family recently traveled to New Jersey for a funeral, and our previous experience with the only hotel within 10 miles was beyond awful. Terrifying, even. So, this time we were cautiously optimistic about the Raritan Inn, which wasn't open last time we were there. We arrived late to a wonderfully rustic, restored house, all rooms are highly upgraded, the kitchen is top-notch, bathrooms are gorgeous. It has a cozy unique feel, and it felt warm and friendly inside. The innkeeper is a wonderful man named Jon, who joined us for a drink when we arrived. Wonderful conversation over a glass of wine, and we felt as at home as you can when you're in another state for a funeral. The rooms were spotless, and each had their own charm. It's eco friendly, and on a gorgeous property, complete with a river and barn that apparently has been host to many weddings and events. The absolute highlight was getting to meet the chickens that are on the property. Jon takes such great care of them and the property, he is the true heart and soul of the Inn. He absolutely made our stay wonderful. Oh, and his omelette was amazing.


Had the most wonderful weekend here

4,6 sur mars 26, 2012

Booked a Sunday night in the Warren Room ("the honeymoon suite") based on the great reviews here. The owner, Bill, was on hand when we arrived and gave us a personal tour of the house even though they were in the middle of a wedding information open house. His enthusiasm for the place was evident and his knowledge of the area and the history is extensive and interesting. John, the innkeeper, is a treasure. Always smiling, and genuinely happy to meet us and make our stay great, he also makes a mean spinach omelet. We were in the Warren Room this time, but after looking at the rest of the rooms, I might go with the Hunterdon room next time - it faces the back of the property instead of the front and gets morning sunlight, which I generally prefer. But ALL the rooms were absolutely gorgeous (since we were the only guests that night, we got to check them all out!). If we can, we will certainly stay here again. Might be great to snowshoe on their large field in the wintertime!


Oustanding in every way!

5 sur février 25, 2012

My wife and I needed one night away to relax and be refreshed. After searching for the "perfect" B&B in our area (quality, price, location) -- I finally decided on the Raritan. We were NOT disappointed! The innkeeper answered every question and treated us like royalty. We were given our choice of breakfast time (so we slept in and ate late!), and our entire stay was just what we needed. We WILL be back!


Fall Wedding Weekend at Raritan Inn

5 sur novembre 19, 2011

The Raritan Inn was exactly what we were looking for - a non-traditional venue that had character, warmth, charm and endless possibilities for our Fall 2011 wedding. As our wedding weekend rapidly approached, both the owner Marcia and Innkeeper John helped answer ALL of our questions and concerns, particularly about the logistics of the weekend. We were able to visit the Inn throughout our planning process in order to help us more fully envision our day and also to ensure that we had the correct measurements etc for our DIY decorations and projects. The weekend of our wedding, John, the Innkeeper was indispensible – helping with the delivery of some of our rentals, checking our Inn guests in, and problem solving some last minute details that we overlooked in the planning process. The guests that stayed at the Inn with us were blown away by the beauty and character of the Inn itself. The rooms were warm and cozy (especially with the fireplaces in the bedrooms!) and John made each of us feel at home in the common areas. The breakfasts at the Inn are absolutely amazing! John took time out of his busy schedule to answer questions about the Inn’s history, as well as some of the natural history of the area. We are thrilled that we chose the Raritan Inn for our wedding. Our guests are still talking about the venue, and how unique and intimate the setting was. We were fortunate to hold our ceremony outside, down by the river and we couldn’t have chosen a more beautiful backdrop. The barn and rented tent made for a one of a kind setting for our cocktail hour and reception. Our only regret is that the entire weekend went way too fast for us and we can’t remember all of the details and wish we could turn back time to that weekend. The Raritan Inn exceeded our expectations. Thank you John and Marcia for helping us with the wedding experience we had dreamed of, we would highly recommend the Raritan Inn to anyone! Kate and Tim


What a Find!!

5 sur juillet 27, 2011

We stayed at the Raritan Inn the weekend of July 23/24 this summer and it absolutely surpassed our expectations! The location is serene, the Inn grounds are lovely, the rooms are wonderful...new but with a charming sense of history, quaintness with a nice flavor of modern day technology to add the location. Breakfast was wonderful as prepared by Holly....who was so thoughtful and caring. Bob and Kim


The Best Little Get Away

4,8 sur juillet 17, 2011

The Raritan Inn is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. We stayed there during one of our fishing excursions - June 4 2011. The Inn itself is very beautiful, the food is great, the rooms are very clean and cozy and the hospitality is wonderful. We had two great fishing days staying at the Raritan Inn guided by Shannon's Fly Shop. Bill and Marcia made us feel so comfortable from the moment we met them, we felt like family. We are looking forward to many more stays at the beautiful Raritan Inn. We would recommend the Inn to anyone. P.S) The homemade blueberry muffins and cookies are awesome!!! Thanks to Bill and Marcia. Karen and Rich Mazzatelli


A quality B&B

3,4 sur septembre 01, 2010

A warm and efficient welcome, effective in enabling us to promptly borrow their bikes to explore the Columbia trail. Excellent carbon negative ethos used to restore the house which is an important local historic landmark. The bed was very comfortable. Margy was knowlegeable about interesting local history. In the basement is a wonderful vintage juke box, pinball machine and pool table. Where else can you boogey to 60's music while trying to play pool!


A Beautiful Destination

5 sur août 09, 2010

We have been celebrating at the Inn since our wedding in August 2008. I grew-up in Califon and my family used to drive by the building before it was the Inn. We used to wonder what it would look like if someone renovated it and were absolutely delighted when the current owners completely revolutionized it. The Inn is stunning, Margie is wonderful, and we look forward to our visit each year. We highly recommend the Raritan Inn to everyone we know and love.


Fantastic Raritan Inn

4,8 sur juin 27, 2010

Breakfast will never be the same after eating at The Raritan. The food was excellent. The service, you could not ask for any better. Now, I am back to reality. If our children ever want to get us another gift certificate from here, we would gladly accept it. Ox and Rachel


What a pleasant surprise

5 sur juin 21, 2010

Our friends took us to this wonderful B&B for an overnight stay. We were overjoyed with the accommodations and cleanliness. The innkeeper, Margy was so nice and made us feel like part of a family. The breakfast was over the top. She couldn't do enough for us. I can't wait to return to his wonderful place and to see Margy again. She was a delight. Fritz and Donna of Mt. Sinai, NY


Spring stay at the Raritan Inn

4,8 sur avril 09, 2010

The Inn Keeper is a treasure. Margy had everything ready as she new my schedule. Check in was simple and courteous. Rooms and baths are tastefully appointed. Conference room was as comfortable as my own livingroom. After hours activity and amenities were fun. Breakfast was outstanding. The site is very pastoral and relaxing. An excellent stay.


Very comfortable and accommodating

4,4 sur mars 30, 2010

The level of attention to detail that I perceived while using this inn was quite impressive. It is a very old house, but we always felt a high level of clean and cozy here. I would not hesitate to recommend this destination to anyone, regardless of how high their expectations are. The setting is quite picturesque, the building is well maintained and the service was thoughtful and timely. We really enjoyed the food and will always remember this experience.


Wonderful in every way

4,8 sur décembre 08, 2009

My husband and I knew this was where we wanted to celebrate our marriage the minute we walked in the door. The charm and warmth of this Inn's casual elegance envelops you immediately and you feel instantly at home and at ease. Our guests have all told us it was such a wonderful place to have our wedding. They could not say enough about the atmosphere of the Inn. They loved the blend of historical and modern elements that it so proudly puts on display and which Margy the Innkeeper will happily give the details of. As for breakfast, words cannot describe how delicious it was. There is no more caring and consciencious and Innkeeper than Margy. She was there at every turn leading up to our wedding and throughout our stay. So friendly and helpful, she took incredible care of us! Spoiled us really! We live just around the corner, but will certainly be back to this relaxing and wonderful place!


Great 40th Anniversary

4,6 sur août 20, 2009

The Raritan Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian Inn in immaculate conditon. We had the pleasure of recently celebrating our 40th anniversary at the Inn. Margy, the innkeeper, is gracious, warm, & attentive to the needs of her guests. The gourmet breakfast she prepared was a treat. The Inn is a wonderful place to relax, & escape the hectic pace of everyday life.


A big yes!

4,6 sur août 13, 2009

Clean, friendly and nice. Close to fishing.


The Raritan Inn

5 sur juin 22, 2009

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary at the inn and it was wonderful. I require a gluten free diet and our host was more than capable of providing us with treats and a gormet breakfast that anyone would love. The setting was beautiful, the inn meticulous and the kindness of the innkeeper was more than we could ask for -- we would definitely recommend it. We also did some hiking in the area which was beautiful. All in all, a wonderful getaway.


A lovely place for an intimate wedding

5 sur mars 29, 2009

We stayed at the Raritan Inn for two nights for a friend's wedding. The wedding was in the barn, and was fabulously intimate. We had such a wonderful time the night before the wedding, playing games and relaxing in the living spaces of the Inn. The bedroom was quiet, cozy, and perfect for what we needed. After the wedding, Margy helped us dispose of leftovers and provided us great service as we relaxed with the newlyweds over leftover wedding cake. They jetted off to their hotel and we settled in for another night at the inn. Breakfast was fabulous always - local meats, great baked goods and fabulous parfaits. We are looking for an excuse to return!


Unexpected pleasure.

5 sur février 26, 2009

We have stayed here before and have never bin disappointed. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are great, and spotless. The hospitality is above and beyond, and the food is exquisite. The biggest compliment that we can give is that we would stay here again with out having to think about it.


A great experience

5 sur décembre 18, 2008

I would highly recommend this B&B and can't wait to go back! Everything was wonderful. A B&B not to be missed!


Simply Wonderful

4,4 sur octobre 29, 2008

I've stayed at the Raritan several times for business and it has always been an outstanding experience. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The inn is a treasure trove of history. The setting is picturesque. The food is over the top. And Margy, the Innkeeper, is a wonderful woman who goes out of her way to make sure that every visit is perfect. I highly recommend the Raritan Inn.


A safe harbor in a storm

4,6 sur août 14, 2008

We were forced to move out of our 4 bedroom home for one week to make way for repairs and found a safe harbor at the Raritan Inn. The Inn is a lovely structure recently renovated and decked out in full energy cnservation regalia and furnished with antiques and sited on the upper reaches of the Raritan river, a local fishing hot spot. The Innkeeper provides a marvelous breakfast using recipes handed down by her mother and grandmother. We were welcomed and made to feel at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay to the point where we were sad to leave and return to our own renovated home. Highly recommended. Jane and Robert Fox


The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $149 - $279
  • Avis (26) 4,8
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-9088326869
  • Fax 1-9088326883

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut