Marcel's Creative Exchange – Boutique Hotel Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,6
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,2

Notation basée sur
21 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Wonderful Place, Wonderful Host

3,4 sur octobre 26, 2014

My husband and I have recently stayed at Marcel's Creative Exchange in the two room balcony apartment. The apartment is spacious and graciously decorated. If you like to feel like you live where you are visiting, this is the perfect place to stay, especially because your host Marcel is happy to give you inside tips on where to go and what to do. Follow his advice and you will eat well and be sufficiently entertained. The location is super/central, but the room is peacefully quiet. Enjoy!


Il nostro incantevole soggiorno

5 sur septembre 12, 2014

Siamo una famiglia con due bambini e da poco siamo tornati da Amsterdam dove abbiamo alloggiato per una settimana presso Marcel’s Creative Exchange. Non potevamo fare una scelta migliore. La casa di Marcel è un bellissimo edificio storico nel centro della città in una delle vie più prestigiose, vicinissima alla fermata del tram che in pochi minuti collega alla stazione centrale (usato giusto un paio di volte perché qualsiasi punto d’interesse e’ facilmente raggiungibile a piedi). Nelle immediate vicinanze si trovano i musei più importanti, nonché innumerevoli locali, negozi e ristoranti. Il nostro era un appartamento a l’ultimo piano, affascinante come del resto tutta la casa, arredata con il gusto di un vero artista che si evince nella ricerca dei particolari e non lascia nulla al caso. Le camere sono molto spaziose e luminose. Marcel si è rivelato una persona molto accogliente, gentile e disponibile. Dal primo giorno ci ha fornito tutte le informazioni per vivere Amsterdam non come un semplice turista. Ci ha fatto visitare il suo cinema che è il secondo più antico d’Europa e abbiamo goduto anche di una spettacolare vista su Amsterdam dal suo incantevole giardino sul tetto della casa. Come in tutte le case storiche anche in questa le scale sono piuttosto ripide. Noi lo abbiamo vissuto come particolarità e possiamo affermare che è un piccolo sacrificio in confronto alla bellezza del luogo. Roberto e Nadia


Vacanza ad Amsterdam

4,0 sur août 29, 2014

La casa di Marcel Van Woerkom colpisce al primo impatto. Per me è stato un sollievo ed una vera sorpresa scoprirla dopo aver cercato a lungo tra case e alberghi. Il suo sito è fatto molto bene, ricco di particolari e di belle immagini. Ci chiedevamo se poi, come talvolta succede, alle nostre aspettative corrispondesse la realtà. É stato proprio così. Sali una ripida scala e ti trovi in un posto fuori dal comune e con i una persona fuori dal comune. Marcel anagraficamente può dirsi una persona anziana, ma lui è un fanciullo e ne conserva la vitalità. Vero talento di artista, ha studiato ogni dettaglio e, cosa che depone a suo favore, ha fatto tutto da solo. Amante dell'interior design, vivere e osservare era una gioia continua. La casa è la sua casa. Lui ci vive, ma è di una discrezione assoluta. Siete suoi ospiti e, se lo gradite, lui è prodigo di racconti e informazioni in tante lingue, poiché è un vero poliglotta. La posizione si è rivelata perfetta. Il quartiere, quartiere dei musei vicino agli antichi canali, è uno dei più affascinanti della città. La casa è una posizione animata, eppure silenziosissima. Facevamo colazione guardando i tetti, dove ogni tanto si posava un gabbiano. Marcel ci ha portato a vedere il vecchio cinema, che fa parte della casa. Lo seguivamo come bambini curiosi attraverso vestiti, scale e corridoi. Si è arrampicato su una scala a pioli per mostrarci la terrazza e lasciarci storditi. Vero incanto. Marcel ha un animo romantico, la sua sensibilità ci ha colpito ed ha fatto della nostra vacanza ad Amsterdam una vera magnifica vacanza. Ci torneremo e ci manderemo tutti i nostri amici. Paola e Roberto


Holidays in Amsterdam

4,4 sur août 28, 2014

Marcel Van Woerkom's house involved us immediately. I searched for many hotels and apartments in Amsterdam, and when i finally found Marcel's house i felt relieved. His website is really well done, full of beautiful pictures and useful descriptions. We wondered if the place was as wonderful like the photos, and it was. Just walking up the steep stairs, you notice that you will find yourself in a peculiar and unordinary place. Marcel is like a dynamic and vivacious boy and he is also a brilliant artist. He takes care of every single detail and he does everything on his own. I love interior design and staying there gave me an enourmous joy. He is very discreet and careful with his guests. If you want he can tell you stories and also give you informations in different languages. Although the neighborhood is one of the most fascinating in the city near the canals, the location is very quiet. We used to have breakfast observing the seagulls on the roofs! Marcel also took us to visit the old beautiful cinema, which is part of the house. He climbed the ladder to show us the terrace and the wonderful view. Marcel's sensibility affected us very much, we had an extraordinary stay in Amsterdam and we will suggest Marcel's apartments to our friends. We hope to come back soon ! Paola and Roberto


A great find...

5 sur juillet 24, 2012

Marcel was a very kind host, the apartment was thoughtfully equipped and beautifully furnished.


Good times in Amsterdam

4,8 sur juin 11, 2012

I really enjoyed my time staying with Marcel, in Amsterdam. He was very courteous and helpful. The rooms were sun filled and well furnished. No food provided, but with the amazing location, right in the heart of Amsterdam, this was no problem. It was so nice to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the street and canal below, and then to walk out of the apartment and be in such a central and exciting location. I would definitely stay there again.


Love Marcel's

5 sur septembre 19, 2011

I recently attended the biggest trade show for my industry in Europe, IBC 2011. After a tiring overnight flight we arrived at Marcel's door. He greeted our team warmly and explained the ins-and-outs of life in Amsterdam to those of us not familiar with life in the heart of the city. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and extremely comfortable. Marcel has a spectacular collection of art and furnishings. I stayed in the Style Room, Marcel lit the fireplace in my room each night and put fresh sunflowers on my desk. It's the small things that make staying at Marcels so wonderful. Marcel is a fantastic host with a warm heart. He takes the time to ensure that his guests are relaxed and feel welcome in a foreign city. When he found out about the tragic state of the food at the RAI during our show, he contacted a wonderful associate who opened her doors to pack us the most delicious sandwiches, truly saving us from the typical show food. Thanks to Marcel and Cora for making sure we got through the trade show safe, relaxed, and well fed. I cannot say enough about his hospitality, caring, and beautiful home. There is no other place in Amsterdam I would consider staying.


A wonderful place to stay!

5 sur juillet 17, 2010

If you are looking for an exeptional, cosy, chic, happy, full of art, fantastic place to stay in the turbulent inner city of Amsterdam - this is it. And much more: the rooms are unique, the beds outstandingly comfortable, the quietness amazing for being actually in the middle of leidsestraat and Marcel is a wonderful person, artist and host.


We will return! Uncle Marcel :))

5 sur février 11, 2010

A kiss from Italy by Valerio and Silvia. Maybe we'll come to you in L.A. See you soon!


Amsterdam Haven

5 sur octobre 26, 2009

Marcel's Creative Exchange is a beautifully appointed and well maintained haven located in the heart of the city, a 'working home' for a gifted artist who is more than willing to share his considerable experience (and considered opinions) of everything his city has to offer. It's very clearly NOT a hotel, and if you want neutral, sanitised accommodation then this is not for you. But if you want to engage fully with this beautiful, vibrant town, Marcel's is an excellent place to start, and to stay. Definitely my choice for future visits (if there's room!)


lovely place in the middle of amsterdam with artistical flair!

4,0 sur septembre 02, 2009

we went to marcel in august 2009 with 4 friends. we felt very comfortable and we felt in good hands at marcels bed&breakfast.it was like vistiting an old friend. the location is perfect for vistiting amsterdams city with museums, shopping and nightlife. one tip: take eraplugs if you have a light sleep. we would come back anytime again.


Chez Marcel

4,2 sur mars 25, 2009

Je recommande chez Marcel à Amsterdam. Vous ne serez pas mieux reçu ailleurs et vous découvrirez le talent de Marcel qui entretient le meilleur de ce que lègue le passé dans une maison confortable : des souvenirs, des objets, un mobilier d'un goût très sûr, en noir et blanc, bien sûr, de rigueur à Amsterdam. J'espère revenir à Amsterdam un de ces jours. Martine (Paris)


resort of piece and concentration

4,0 sur juin 15, 2008

there are no words for the style, thoughtfullness of placing the original design pieces and the special atmosphere in marcel´s last outpost of creative culture in the heart of amsterdam what was even more important than coming home in terms of taste and comfort - i had to finish some scientific work for a congress and medical examination- there was a great feeling of continuity and peace in the patio rooms, so i could work on these subjects with great progress. i definetely do recommend marcel´s creative exchange to people using a stimulating atmosphere for the scientific work konrad mader md trauma and orthopaedic surgeon eic strategies in trauma and limb reconstruction


Marcels is wonderful

4,0 sur juin 08, 2008

Everything about Marcels creative exchange is interesting. The location is great and the space very comfortable and inspiring. The history of the building and Marcel's amazing life story both play an important part of the experience. We loved our 10 days here and are already planning a return trip. ! Thank you Marcel for a wonderful stay!!


A Uniquely High-quality Place & Best Location

4,4 sur avril 03, 2008

Location is unbeatable and incredibly and immediately well-connected to many tram lines, taxi stations, and bike rentals. We stayed with our mid-30's 'special needs' son in adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom. This historic property has been exquisitely restored, carefully maintained, yet creatively adapted to the needs of modern travel. Designer furnishings are also extremely comfortable, with high-end audio-visual ands in-room coffee & tea facilities; our bedroom had a balcony overlooking lively yet not-at-all-disturbing Leidsestraat, while our son's had a bright, interior garden view. Marcel is the perfect host - intimately knowledgeable and helpful about Old [and Modern] Amsterdam. You quickly come to understand and appreciate that Marcel is also a person of high standing in the art, culture, and entertainment world of the Netherlands; but at the same time, he can answer the most trivial question a traveler might as well. Early in our stay, a problem developed with the plumbing which required major, high-tech attention; Marcel saw to it immediately - and provided special access to other facilities during the 12 hours required to fix & replace parts. We will stay at Marcel's at every future visit to Amsterdam - if we're fortunate enough to find his rooms available! He was especially sensitive to our "handicapped" son, who in turn thought the world of Marcel. We stayed there for 8 nights in early October 2007.


Hidden treasure

4,0 sur mars 27, 2008

I first stayed at Marcel's about 12 years ago after reading about it in Rough Guide and I couldn't believe that this treasure, although featured in a major guidebook, was such a haven that hadn't been overrun by other travellers. Marcel is a gem without price and his house is a really special place. I have since introduced four other people to the house who only stay there when in Amsterdam. I'm only concerned about this review because I don't want the world and his dog to find out about my special home-from-home!


It doesn't get any better than this!

5 sur mars 13, 2008

We have been to Amsterdam 3 times and Marcel's B & B was by far the best accommodations and location. There will never be a reason to stay anywhere else when we visit again. He is an extremely interesting, worldly character that is more than happy to share his knowledge with you, but also give you privacy when that is wanted also. We loved our stay!


Unique and special experience

4,6 sur mars 13, 2008

This is unlike any other bed and breakfast in almost every way. For starters, there is no breakfast, but plenty of coffee and tea if you want it. The lack of breakfast (which is easy to obtain in one of the many nearby cafes) is easily made up for by the remarkable 1970s monochrome decor and your host Marcel's passionate involvement in your stay. What I mean is this is a place, as it is named, for an exchange of ideas and creativity. Expect, over coffee, to contribute conversation that will stimulate Marcel - you are a guest in his house and are paying for the privilege of an audience with him as well as his professional attentiveness. The room I stayed in was beautiful, clean, ensuite, comfortable and decorated with fresh white roses. I have recommended Marcel's CE to many friends.


The place to stay!

4,2 sur mars 13, 2008

From the moment we arrived Marcel was the most helpful host, his house is beautiful and he knows all the best places to go. We will hopefully be returning one day. Last time we visited we stayed in a hotel but this was far better. Marcel is a legend!


Fantastic Place in Amsterdam

4,4 sur août 22, 2007

If you want something extra ordinary, you should stay a few night with Marcel in Amsterdam. This 72 years old host, knows all about Amsterdam and still dance at the clubs this city has.


Great Place to Stay

5 sur décembre 28, 2006

Loved Marcel, the location, the building!! Loved it all.


Marcel's Creative Exchange – Boutique Hotel

Détails

  • Prix par nuit EUR 140 - EUR 190
  • Avis (21) 4,5
  • Chambres 3

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 31-0206229834

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut