Ophelias Restaurant & the Inn at Ophelias Avis

Ensemble
4,3

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix4,0
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,4

Notation basée sur
36 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Best experience ever!

5 sur août 22, 2014

We got my son and new daughter in law this room for their wedding night, as the chapel where they married was down the street, and also had the reception dinner at the inn's restaurant. It was outstanding!! Everything went without a hitch, staff was accommodating, and the dinner was divine. My daughter in law said it was the best meal she had ever had at a restaurant, and the whole experience provided for a stress free event and memory! Thanks, Ophelias!!


Excellent Service

4,6 sur juin 04, 2014

Although there was an issue with the reservation for our suite, the management team more than made up for it.


Loved our stay!

4,6 sur mai 31, 2014

Our room was beautiful as well as spacious and comfortable. It had everything we needed from the fridge and microwave to the single serving coffee maker. The staff were friendly and helpful. They made us feel like we were family. The restaurant serves fresh, we'll crafted, delicious dishes. Sunday brunch is a must!


Very nice stay

4,0 sur avril 16, 2014

We were given dinner and night stay as a gift. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and live music. The room was nice and clean. The stay included the Sunday brunch which was exceptional. We will stay again.


Beautiful Room & Location; not a traditional B&B

3,8 sur octobre 26, 2012

Breakfast is not their priority. It's really a set of lovely rooms, but you go to their restaurant for a breakfast, which is OK, but not special.


Pleasant, Kind of a Let-Down

2,6 sur août 14, 2012

The room was nice, and generally what we expected. We definitely felt like the minimal interaction we had with staff didn't seem as warm as a typical B&B; the manager seemed more involved with the restaurant side of the business than the inn. At no time did we feel like there was great service, but it's also not like there was anything significant lacking. We just felt like we were on our own, not being taken care of by a B&B atmosphere.


Passing through Independence, MO

4,6 sur juillet 30, 2012

Most B and B's are situated in a large house away from town,butOphelia's is right on the square. With great service, rooms, and dining all right there, it was a great experience, especially when the temperatures outside reached 105 degrees!


Great place to stay.

4,6 sur mars 26, 2012

I stayed here while in Independence on business. The staff was extremely accommodating to my needs. The rooms were well decorated and very clean. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. I would definitely recommend for business or leisure travelers.


First bed and breakfast trip was a pleasant surprise

4,8 sur octobre 18, 2010

This is a very great place! It was our first official bed and breakfast visit, and, if we have more experiences like this, we will definitely continue! The room was great, the restaurant was exceptional, and the service was extremely friendly. We WILL be returning!


Wild Kansas Night!

4,8 sur août 26, 2010

I was staying in Independence at Ophelia's in room 111. The day had already had some wild weather and I had spent 30 minutes in the Clay Co. basement for a tornado that passed north of Liberty. I drove through driving rain to get there and checked in around 4:00 P.M. The staff was helpful and efficient. The young lady showed me to my room, explained how to get in and out of the building and where everything was located at the Inn and in my room. The manager set up my breakfast time for the following morning. I left the Inn to head to the Royals -VS- White Sox game and was caught in another wicked lightning storm at the ball park which resorted in the game being called until the following day. On my way back, power was out all over K.C. It was pitch black out and no police anywhere to direct traffic at intersections. It was a scary and nerve-racking experience for someone not familiar with K.C. What a sight it was to get back to the Inn and see the warm glow of electricity coming from the building. I got back up to my room and was greeted by the manager again, who was friendly and kind. My room was so inviting and cozy after a wild day. The bed was soft and warm and the view of the courthouse and square was so pretty at night in the rain. Breakfast was made to order and was just the right amount of food. The gentleman who made my breakfast was courteous and prompt and I had hot eggs and toast before me in no time. Everyone I came in contact with was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. I would certainly stay here again, only next time, hopefully there won't be any more tornadoes!


Loved it!

4,6 sur juillet 27, 2010

My husband and I go to Independence at least once a year to visit his mother. This was the first (but not the last) time we will stay at Ophelia's. It was a wonderful experience. The room we were in was nicely appointed, roomy enough, very clean, as was the bath. The breakfast is served in the restuarant and was fantastic each morning. Diana Jennings, McDonough, GA.


A Great and Exiting Time in Independence

5 sur juillet 07, 2010

We usually do not stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel. When we arrived on July 1 and checked in the manager of Ophelia's Restaurant was more than gracious. The breakfast the next morning was awesome and the waiter was very friendly. We will back Ophelia's Restaurant Bed and Breakfast, I wanted to stay longer. Thank you for a great time love your city!


Ophelia's Review

3,8 sur mai 26, 2010

Ophelia's is a place we would highly recommend when visiting Independence, MO. Right dowtown, each room is lovely and yet different, and it is on the old downtown square. It is safe and nostalgic for Truman buffs, close to his home and Presidential Library.


Nice Place to Stay

4,6 sur avril 22, 2010

Very nice place to stay. A little more expensive, but the rooms were excellent, the food great, including breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.


Ophelia's in March

3,6 sur mars 21, 2010

Wonderful rooms tucked above an excellent restaurant. Even though there was only three of us, they served us an excellent breakfast. Others in our team will be staying here on our next visit.


Good Sunday's brunch

3,0 sur février 21, 2010

Great location and I recommend going for their Sunday's brunch buffet. Manager was not as friendly as the rest of the staff. Rooms are average for the price.


Great (at home) get away

5 sur février 21, 2010

We've stayed in numerous B&Bs over the past years, and we were pleasantly surprised to find such a great place so close to home. (We live in Lees Summit) We have already spread the word about how nice it was, especially if you stay on a Sat. night and get the Sunday brunch as part of the pkg. We have already started think about our next in-town get away.


Peace & Solitude at Ophelias

3,6 sur octobre 25, 2009

Because we came on a Sunday evening & left early Tuesday Morning we did not have the chance to enjoy a meal - have before and they are great! We were the only guests both nights but found a nice array of fresh fruit , muffins & juice in our fridge. Our "hostess/ housekeeper" was very pleasant - must live nearby - gave us her # in case we needed anything. Enjoyed our stay & wil reeturn.


THE place to stay in Independence!

4,4 sur septembre 01, 2009

The restaurant downstairs combines sophisticated tastes and textures to provide a unique dining experience. And the food is to die for! The room I stayed in was spacious and had its own personality. The standard accommodations such as the t.v. and air conditioning compliment your comfort and the visual ambience. Everything was very clean and fresh. Even the most sceptical of you would be hard pressed to find even the slightest flaw.


excellent food

4,6 sur août 14, 2009

The people where very nice, the room was clean and comfortable. The Sunday brunch was excellent lots of great food and great staff.


Very Comfortable

3,6 sur août 01, 2009

Other than the courthouse being under construction, we enjoyed our stay at Ophelia's and would definitely stay here again. Very peaceful and laid back B&B with a nice restaraunt on the ground floor below the guest rooms.


Ophelia's in Independence, MO

4,8 sur juillet 19, 2009

I'm a pretty picky traveler. That said, I have to give Ophelia's five stars. I stayed there for three nights in June 2009, and everything about the place exceeded my expectations. It isn't that impressive from the outside, but the inside is a different story altogether. Very nice, large rooms with private baths and a friendly staff. It is situated on the Town Square in Independence, and that added to the charm. (Independence, I might add, is an incredibly wonderful little town. No wonder Harry and Bess Truman loved it so.) If you find yourself in Independence, Ophelia's is THE place to stay.


Beautiful room

4,8 sur juin 24, 2009

Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable, quiet and private. We enjoyed being on the square in Independence and very close to all the Truman sights. Having the choice of breakfast time was great and the full breakfast was very good and the coffee was great. It was more like an inn than a B & B which was perfect.


Excellent!

4,4 sur mai 27, 2009

Very nicely furnished and maintained rooms. Dining here a real pleasure--top notch ingrediants and solid chef. Jazz and good martinis! Location to all sites superb. Quiet even when restuarant open below. Hostess warm and low-key. A/C went out, offered different room, but stayed in fun suite anyhow. Tucson Traveler


Exceptional Value

4,6 sur mars 04, 2009

We highly recommend Ophelia's. The inn exceeded our expectations. Our room was comfortable and private at an affordable price. We enjoyed our experience at the restaurant and look forward to returning.


a great getaway

5 sur mars 02, 2009

the rooms are great.we booked room 115 but we were shown the two other room that were open ,we of course changed are mind.the restaurant is one of the best that we have eaten in,service was great.everyone was so nice.we will return


the best place to stay in independence

5 sur février 23, 2009

the inn keeper was very nice and friendly he told us about all of the cites to visit. having the national parks office was very handy i would recommend to anyone that is looking for a cutt of the rest.


Three nights at Ophelia's Inn

3,2 sur février 23, 2009

The rooms are above the restaurant and our was very large with a comfortable sitting area and a restfull king-sized bed. The bathroom was also very large but with no window. We could hear no activity from below, but the streetlights outside were very bright and we were unable to block their light completely. We didn't take advantage of the restaurant, so can provide no critique.


Beautiful B&B

4,2 sur février 20, 2009

The food and the room were excellent. Very little communication on everything. We were shown our room and that was it. No info on how to order room service, what to do with the dishes or who to contact if we needed anything. Other than the lack of service, everything else was wonderful!


January 2009

3,0 sur janvier 30, 2009

Very pretty rooms in a good location. However, don't expect to be provided with a copy of your bill or a receipt -- they don't do paperwork here.


would go back!

4,2 sur janvier 29, 2009

we stayed in the suite with the jacuzzi tub; while the tub was a little small and the jets a little week, every other aspect of the room was relaxing as could be. Heavy window shades block the bright street lamps, every piece of furniture is wonderfully comfortable, and the room is just pretty.


Beautiful room but distant innkeeper

3,4 sur janvier 08, 2009

Room 115 was beautiful with tasteful, contemporary decor. It was spacious and had a wide entry with bathroom and closet to the left and a writing desk with tourism literature to the right. The entry opened into the bedroom with three large windows overlooking historic downtown. The room was furnished with an armoire holding a TV with cable access, a leather armchair in one corner and a mini-fridge and microwave. We had called ahead to see if we could get a portable crib for the room to accommodate our infant daughter, and it was set up for us. The bathroom was stocked with organic toiletries and plush white towels. Although the room exceeded our expectations, the service we received was sub par. We stayed 3 nights. Our check-in process was awkward and hurried (presumably because we arrived on New Year's Eve when Ophelia's Restaurant was preparing for a big party). We felt kind of lost, having to find the ice machine on our own and not knowing how to contact the innkeeper should we have other questions. No one was around the next day since the restaurant was closed. The next morning we waited around until 10:30 for our breakfast before finally heading out to do some sightseeing in Kansas City. Muffins in a basket were waiting for us when we returned around noon but housekeeping hadn't tidied up our room yet. We met the housekeeper in the hallway and she looked confused saying she thought we had checked out that morning, but we still had one more night of our stay. So we got fresh towels from her and she changed out our trash, but our bed linens weren't changed or even the bed made the whole time we were there. Our unsatisfactory experience may have been due to the holidays, but we didn't feel the warm welcome and hospitality we're used to with most B&Bs. We felt kind of forgotten. But, I must say that we were pleased with the room and enjoyed walking around the revitalized downtown. We also ordered an exquisite dessert from Ophelia's and ate it in our room.


Best B&B

5 sur décembre 05, 2008

My husband and I went here on our 1st wedding anniversary. We stayed in the suite and it was wonderful. The location was great - I could see tourists frequenting the famous ice cream parlor. The decorations are wonderful - I don't like old victorian decorations that remind me of how my grandmother smelled. Instead, the room was furnished with modern and luxurious decorations. The restaurant was also excellent. The next B&B we go to will have a hard time living up to this one!


Very Relaxing

5 sur octobre 17, 2008

I spent the summer of 2007 during the month of June working in Independence. I chose this location because of the tour given to me by Cindy McClain of the rooms and what they offer, and i knew it was perfect. The rooms are very comfortable with chairs that you fall right into. The Dell LCD was fantastic and the chair in my room was great to really check emails at the end of the night and then finish it off with some hot tea. I stayed in room 115. Great place to stay for a long period of time like i had to do or just to really get away. The Independence Square had everything to offer anad was really a great way for me to get away from the job when needed. Ray and Lisa are great innkeepers and were there to direct me to any place i wanted to go. Thank you Cindy, Ken, Ray, and Lisa. One more thing! Be sure to visit all the eateries! Great food!!


WOW!!!

5 sur mai 18, 2008

Ophelia's is AMAZING! I am from Westchester New York and I came to Independence to visit my sister in law's family (they live in Leawood KS) and her husband recommended this to us. So, my husband, Greg, and I decided to go. The food was absolutly magnificent and we were so impressed, we decided to stay a night! So we got to our quaint, little room and everything that we needed was there! The innkeeper, Cindy, told us about all of the wonderful things that we could do while we were in Kansas City. We were so amazed with the city, we bought a loft downtown that we could stay in as one of our Winter homes! Thank you Ophelia's! Samantha Passantino


Inn & Ophelias were perfect!

5 sur janvier 13, 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Inn at Ophelia's in December. The rooms were spacious, clean, elegant and soothing. The mattresses were excellent and even my mother who doesn't often sleep well gave it two thumbs up. Though we didn't get a chance to take advantage of the refreshments, or board games in the common area, we did get to do some excellent shopping on the Square. The shops offer a great variety of high quality goods. I particularly enjoyed the Primary Colors Art Gallery and the gourmet food shop. I'm currently planning a girls weekend out soon, and I know just where we're going to stay! With the movie theater, bowling alley, and ice cream parlor I think it would be great for families as well. Thanks for a great night's rest!


Ophelias Restaurant & the Inn at Ophelias

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $125 - $165
  • Avis (36) 4,3
  • Chambres 8
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-8164614525
  • Fax 1-8168364248
  • Portable 1-8165473360

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut