Rockcliffe Mansion Avis

Ensemble
4,6

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,5
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,4
  • Propreté4,6
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
81 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Found a treasure!

5 sur juillet 05, 2014

What a gem! Staying here is like stepping into a time capsule. Juan was a fabulous host and guide as we settled into our stay at Rockcliffe Mansion. The house and furnishings are unlike any we've experienced in a B&B. Anyone interested in historic homes, buildlings and collections would do well by visiting here. Our stay whle short, was excellent in all ways.


Sleep in the year 1900

4,4 sur juin 30, 2014

The Rockcliffe is the best place to stay in Hannibal, but you must be open to traveling back to a time with no screens. The house is peacefully quiet at night. The lighting is dim. The bed is quite comfortable. The bathroom fixtures, all original, are charmingly quirky. But the highlight of our stay was breakfast with the manager, Juan. The food was fantastic, and the conversation was very engaging!


Historic stay in Hannable at the Rock Clift

4,4 sur juin 16, 2014

Stayed here a number of times, nice week end get a way, hospitality is great ! Guan take every effort to make you conforable, and makes you feel wellcome, service a geat breakfast, and in the evening wine, cheese, and fruit are servied, if you like historic homes, this is the place for you,,,,,like living in the 1800"s Great !!


Sentimental Journey

4,4 sur mai 26, 2014

We much enjoyed our stay which included wine and cheese on our arrival, conversation with our host, comfortable accommodations, a tasty breakfast, and a tour of the mansion. We did not miss the TV at all, but we would have liked a little more light in order to read before we went to bed. As it turned out, we were quite tired from our journey and fell asleep immediately.


A 'Must Do' in Hannibal

5 sur mai 04, 2014

A hidden gem. The Rockcliffe Mansion demands to be visited by anyone visiting Hannibal. We were greeted by Juan with a wine and cheese welcome, on the veranda overlooking the Mississippi, and were made to feel we were visiting a friend. We stayed overnight, and the accommodation was quiet, private and comfotable. A delicious, well presented breakfast was provided by Juan the next morning, and we were able to catch up with more of the fascinating history of the mansion, and its rescue from demise by Juan, who has and continues to bring the mansion back to its glory years. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Hannibal. It has charm, history, location and value for money. What more could one ask for? Simon & Nancy Des Moines, IA

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you, Simon and Nancy, for your review. I enjoyed your visit and I also appreciate that your will recommend our B&B. The work here is sometime overwhelming but it is also very rewarding. I feel honored to be part of the restoration of Rockcliffe. Thanks again. Juan.


Step Back in Time

5 sur avril 29, 2014

Rockcliffe Mansion was highlight of our week-long trip in the area. We loved talking to Juan about the house and his restoration journey. He has done an amazing job of providing a beautiful step back in time for Hannibal and surrounding areas. Thanks Juan. Carol in Ohio

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you Carol for your review. We appreciate your comments and I enjoyed your visit. You are actually the second guest that stayed in Anne Louise's Chamber and I am glad you liked it!


Wonderful Architectural History

4,2 sur avril 26, 2014

A truly historical architectural structure with a story that leaves many parts untold. But the story is not significant. The artifacts are significant. Take the time to explore this beauty and you will be rewarded with a rich history.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. You are right. The Mansion is full with original artifact, furniture, light fixtures and plumbing. Staying at the Mansion is traveling back in time!!!


A beautiful Mansion

4,8 sur avril 08, 2014

although restoration is still in progress, we were treated liked royalty, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. I enjoyed your visit.


Great Experience

4,4 sur mars 27, 2014

An impromptu road trip in late March took us to Hannibal, MO and a 2-night stay at Rockcliffe. The house is beautiful and unique, with a very interesting history. The proprietor was extremely gracious and welcoming. I will recommend this spot to friends and family, and we would like to return when the weather is a little nicer! Thanks to Juan and Mary for a memorable visit. Dave and Beth Williams - Morris, IL

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review.


Absolutely Outstanding all around stay!

5 sur novembre 10, 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend here, and we were completely thrilled and will be returning again. Donna and Michael Hazelwood, Mo


grand time at Rockcliffe Mansion, Hannibal, MO

5 sur octobre 30, 2013

enjoyed the mansion.. plan on returning next year

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review.


A wonderful stay in Hannibal

5 sur octobre 27, 2013

We were greeted with a warm smile and handshake by Juan, the owner of Rockcliffe, and treated as friends from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the Magnolia room and had a spacious area to relax with our wine and cheese, after walking the streets and hills of beautiful Hannibal. It is a charming home full of history and intrigue in every step. Trinkets and reminders of an era gone by delight you in every glance. Juan has painstakingly refurbished a 4 decade old neglected home and kept century old items out and available for our viewing enjoyment. We felt at home the minute we arrived and Juan gave us the opportunity to look around the entire house, before we toured. I highly recommend staying here, for the quiet ambiance, incredible view atop Hannibal hill, a great breakfast and a very hospitable host!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our Mansion. I thank you also for rehoming our place. Juan.


Weekend Getaway

4,2 sur octobre 25, 2013

We had a ok time staying at the mansion. I think it was a little overpriced for what you got though. I wouldn't stay there again unless the price went down. Breakfast was just ok. Plus it was cold.... On the plus side, Juan was amazing. He was very knowledgeable and friendly.


Rockcliffe Rocks

5 sur octobre 24, 2013

Loved our night at the museum! Juan was a gracious host. Wine, cheese, nuts and grapes on the porch was a beautiful start to our stay. Breakfast in the Dining Room was grand. We also took the tour and I am still telling my friends about it. It was an experience to remember. Thanks, Juan.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I also enjoyed your staying.


Beautiful Experience

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2013

Rockcliffe Mansion was saved at the last minute from destruction and we are so glad it was. Juan was very welcoming and we felt right at home. The rooms are lovely. This is a beautiful piece of history.


Exceptional Bed & Breakfast

4,8 sur octobre 21, 2013

What a beautiful historical mansion this is. It was so exciting to find this and then to stay here. Having the owner of the mansion giving the tour was very informative and Juan is a very soft spoken kind hearted man. Is a great cook too! The Golden Room is a very good sleeping bed. The dishes used for the meal was like going back in time to when it was built for the best of the best! We highly recommend staying here.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your review.


Wonderfully unique and charming B&B

4,4 sur octobre 20, 2013

Living history indeed! Rockcliffe Mansion is a museum as well as a beautiful B&B. Don't let the peeling paint on the outside of the house deter you from coming in to a wonderful surprise. This house is chock full of original period pieces and gorgeous Tiffany windows and lamps that were somehow miraculously left intact after a 43 year vacancy. We stayed in Mr. Cruikshank's Chamber and found it most charming...although the square toilet seat was rather droll! Juan is a friendly and accommodating host, and we loved having wine and cheese on the porch overlooking the Mississippi. He is renovating and updating the mansion, and has started with the guest rooms, but will continue to the systems and outside areas. So far so wonderful!! I highly recommend it!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review.


Richard and Kathy

5 sur octobre 18, 2013

Our stay at Rockcliffe was very satisfying. It was everything we had expected it to be. We would recommend it to others and will defilnitely stay again. The Easleys


Impressed

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2013

Happy with experience.


Loved it!

5 sur octobre 12, 2013

Beautiful house, comfortable bed, wonderful breakfast, and a great host. Loved every minute of our visit and look forward to another one.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. Looking forward to having you again here.


Great place to relax!

5 sur septembre 29, 2013

My wife Kim and I had a WONDERFUL time at Rockcliffe B&B. Juan was the greatest host we could of had. The room was awesome and the house was so interesting. We loved the breakfast! We greatly enjoyed the time on the porch with our wine and cheese. Juan spent time with us and really made us feel welcome. Mary really does a great job on the tour! I would recommend this to any couple looking for a weekend away from the busyness of life.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. I really enjoyed having you and your wife in the Mansion. I appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the future. My best wishes for all your plans. Thanks.


This place has great potential.

3,2 sur septembre 21, 2013

There is still a great deal of work to be done to restore this mansion. We stayed on the 3rd floor where the 2 rooms had Queen size beds. The bathroom was very clean, but we were uncomfortable with the cleanliness of the area rugs. The owner greeted us wearing a t-shirt and looking more like a laborer than the owner of a historic mansion. :) He wore similar clothing when he met us at breakfast. Not a big deal, but it would make the experience more special with better grooming. We look forward to stopping by in the future to see the progress that has been made.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. You are right about me looking more like a laborer. That is how I consider my presence here: A labor of love.Thanks. Juan.


A True Mansion

4,0 sur septembre 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed recently in this history laden, sprawling mansion. We were greeted by a very charming owner and host who served us treats on the veranda upon our arrival and made his services available throughout our visit. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and delightful! We enjoyed delicacies on fine china and had a cheerful conversation with the other guests. We stayed for the tour of the mansion which was full of wonderful information about the mansion's history. I would highly recommend a stay at this very intriguing B&B!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review.


Beautiful Rockcliffe

5 sur septembre 14, 2013

Have been on several tours over the years of the mansion. To stay there was a dream come true. Was wonderful staying there. Look forward to seeing the future restorations that Juan will be doing. Thank you Juan for the tour and opportunity to stay at Rockcliffe. The mansion and views are beautiful.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your wonderful review.Juan


Raves for Rockcliffe

4,8 sur septembre 13, 2013

We chose this B&B as we drove cross country and decided we needed to relax. What a great place - gorgeous house, lots of history and a welcoming host. We stayed in the 3rd flood quarters and had the entire floor to ourselves. We were served wine and chees upon arrival which is just what we needed after several miles of interstate highways. The breakfast was elegantly served and delicious. Our host was very accomodating, offered restaurant suggestions and kept us entertained with stories of Hannibal. I highly recommend it.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I enjoyed your visit.


Fabulous living history

4,4 sur septembre 10, 2013

If you are into Victorian mansions and all the trimmings, then this is the place for you. This is a prime example of the period and no costs were spared in its construction and furnishing in 1898-1900. This is evident today by the amount of fantastic original items that remain to be enjoyed. The story and Rockcliffe Mansion and its rescue and return from the brink of demolition is wonderful. My wife and I were absolutely thrilled with the accommodations, the food and the entire living history atmosphere. With co-owner, general manager and tour guide Juan Ruiz-Bello at our service, we were treated to a very personal and awe inspiring stay. I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed Rockcliffe Mansion. Highly recommend and we will be back.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review.


A Definate Place to Stay

5 sur septembre 09, 2013

Visiting the mansion was like stepping back into the past. The availability to be allowed to walk around and look at the fine antiques during the tour and even before my husband and I went to bed, was more than I could imagine. And Juan is a fabulous historian. Our overnight stay was very pleasant. The rooms were extremely clean as well as were the bathrooms. Juan had left us a morning reminder for breakfast the next day. What a nice touch! Our breakfast was more than we could eat, and we enjoyed it very much. We also enjoyed that he sat with us as we ate and continued telling us more of the history of the mansion. We look forward to spending time again in the future. Thank you so much.


Rockcliffe Mansipn

4,6 sur août 28, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay at Rockcliffe. So much so, in fact, that we returned with guests for another stay. The Mansion has a unique history and the current owner has stepped up and is restoring this historic monument to it's original glory. Thank you!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and for coming back to the Mansion.


Historical Treasure

3,4 sur août 26, 2013

What an interesting stay at the Rockcliffe! The host was very informative and friendly regarding the history of the mansion and the history of Hannibal itself. The mansion is certainly a work in progress, so there was still a lot of work to be done. If you like history and a unique stay, this is the place. If you are looking for a highly polished bed and breakfast....not so much

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. Sorry you were not satisfied to your highest expectations. As you said it is a work in progress. Thanks. Juan.


Stay of a Lifetime!

5 sur août 25, 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Rockcliffe Mansion. Our host was very knowledgeable about the mansion and his knowledge only added to the splendor and magic of this exquisite home. We loved everything about our stay and only regret that we could not spend more time here. Our children,ages 12 and 14 have asked to make return trip. We will do our best to accommodate their request. We have told everyone about this grand home and have encouraged them all to stay. Wish Rockcliffe Mansion was closer to our home in Colorado! We cannot say enough positive comments about this regal home and its owner!


Perfect Marriage of History and Comfort

4,8 sur août 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rockcliffe. My mother, sister, and son stayed for one night. We were in two rooms and shared a bathroom. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and we all had a great night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous - much more than a home style breakfast in our opinion. But the most enjoyable for us was to be able to stay in a historical home and have additional access to the rooms beyond what a visitor would have with a normal tour. We really loved our stay. Juan, the owner since 2010, was very hospitable and engaging. His service was excelllent! We would recommend staying here to any of our friends and family.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I really enjoy sharing my experience with the guests and restoring the Mansion is a satisfaction. Thank you for staying here and my best regards to your family.


Night and tour at the Rockcliffe

4,6 sur août 18, 2013

Beautiful facility. Excellent service. Very detailed tour. Wonderful food.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for review. I appreciate your business and enjoyed your staying at the Mansion.


29TH Anniversary Stay

4,2 sur août 08, 2013

Our 2 night stay was great way to celebrate 29th Anniversary. Tour was magnificent, lots of history, antique and period furnishings, Juan has done a wonderful job and hope he can eventually get everything back to its original splendor someday.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I hope you had a good wedding anniversary in Hannibal and thank your for choosing Rockcliffe Mansion for that celebration. Bringing the Mansion back to its splendor is our goal. Thank you again.


Amazing Mansion!

5 sur août 04, 2013

We love historic homes and Rockcliffe Manor is beautiful! The owner is still refurbishing the home using the most authentic antiques he can. It is obvious how much he loves the home. We truly enjoyed our stay. And, sometimes old homes can smell funny, but Rockcliffe does not. Very clean and pretty. We stayed in the Fathers room. The bathroom is large and roomy and the bed was very comfortable. Be aware, no t.v., so bring a book!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. A book is an excellent idea. We also have wifi in case you forget your book. Thank you again.


Fantastic!

5 sur juillet 25, 2013

The owner of Rockcliffe Mansion has a great passion for the house and his guests get top-notch treatment. Our stay started with a tour of the mansion. . . beautiful, extremely interesting. We then relaxed on one of the porches with wine, cheese and crackers. The view is excellent, and even though it was a hot, humid day, there was a delightful breeze. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Being a historic home, the only way to cool the rooms is with a window unit. They are a bit noisy, but honestly not worse than units in a lot of motel rooms. The breakfast was delicious. . . fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice, excellent bacon, some of the best sausage links and French toast I've ever had. The owner has great plans to further restore the mansion to its original glory. If you're in Hannibal, MO, the Rockcliffe Mansion is the place to stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I also enjoyed for visit and I appreciate your opinion about the Mansion.


Great Get Away

5 sur juillet 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Hannibal. The art show downtown brought us here. The Mansion was icing on the cake. The hospitality and service were wonderful. Look forward to staying there again next year!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. Looking forward to having you in the Mansion during the next Art Show


Wonderful Place to Stay

4,8 sur juillet 08, 2013

We came here for the fourth of July and it was just wonderful the view from the mansion overlooking Hannibal and the Firework show was breath taking.. We arrived a little early and got the full tour of the house then we were taken out to the porch and given a wine/ cheese platter which is a very nice touch .. Our breakfast the next morning was fantastic and very filling .. We are already thinking about coming back in the fall with some friends

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. Looking forward to seeing you again.


Outstanding is an understatement

5 sur juillet 03, 2013

Been to nearly all the antebellum mansions in the Old South, but this is different and magnificent. Bigger is only the starting point (and it is huge). More of everything is the rule: rooms, floorspace, ceiling heights, and ESPECIALLY original furnishings, decor and personal effects. Condition of everything is amazing, considering that it was effectively abandoned for 43 years. Juan and Warren (if he is about) are wonderful hosts and Mary's tour is not to be missed. Staying anywhere else in the area is no longer a consideration for us.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you in the Mansion.


outstanding

5 sur juin 17, 2013

I loved the mansion I had toured it back in the late 90s and fell in love with it was so excited when my husband suggested staying their for our 15th anniversary

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you very much for your review. I also enjoyed your stay in the Mansion.


A trip back in time, if you appreciate vintage experiences.

4,2 sur juin 11, 2013

We loved our third floor suite (2 room combo). Our bathroom was not one hundred per cent vintage, as the mansion is being restored as Juan gets time and funds. But, that said, we loved our stay here. Juan was wonderful about telling us about the mansion history, allowing us to visit each room for as long as we wanted. Breakfast was awesome, dining under a Tiffany light, on fine china, and food that was delish...we want to go back. We were so comfortable. The bed linens were very special.


Hannibal experience

3,6 sur juin 04, 2013

The owner of the B&B was very polite and courteous. The first night there we experienced a tornado and power was lost to the entire town. Juan still made us a full, hot breakfast in the morning and offered to return our money to us. We left the Rockcliffe with a full stomach but we refused to allow Juan to return our money from our reservation. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. The history is amazing and the owner is great!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. Sorry the weather turned out so nasty that day!!!! We did not get the electricity until Saturday morning.


An enchanting evening in a gem of a home

4,6 sur mai 03, 2013

This B & B is a unique experience. The rooms lack the convienences and comforts of today's standards but it is an amazing experience of that time period. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast fantastic and Juan was an extremely gracious host. If you are looking for something special for your visit to to Hannibal I would include a stay at the Rockcliffe Mansion. If you can't stay here the tour is worth it as well.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and for staying in our Mansion. We appreciate your business and enjoyed your visit.


First time at Rockcliffe

5 sur avril 17, 2013

Our stay qas just perfect, the beauty of the old mansion is breathtaking. Juan was the most gracious host, and ensured that everything was just perfect. The room was great, the wine and cheese was great. There is more to say than space allows. We will definatly return again. We highly recommend the Rockcliffe for a weekend getaway or longer stay.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review and for staying in our Mansion. We appreciate your business and enjoyed your visit.


Great stay and wonderful hospitality!

5 sur mars 24, 2013

This was a great stay in a historic home. The owner is extremely gracious and accommodating. Thank you!

Réponse du propriétaire
It was our pleasure to show you our hospitality and the restoration of the Mansion. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the wonderful amenities that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Absolutly Loved my

4,8 sur novembre 15, 2012

We loved our stay will be back again. It was like stepping Back in time what a Fabulous Place!!!!


Enjoyed our stay and would recommend

3,6 sur novembre 14, 2012

Was a very enjoyable experience and interesting history of the mansion


First-time B&Ber...looking forward to future endeavors.

4,6 sur novembre 11, 2012

Having never stayed at a B&B before, I am pleased having chosen this 13,000+ sq. ft. mansion for my initiation. Lavishly appointed by a lumber baron with ready access to all things wood, you know you are in a house of means when the dining room dado treatment is human-height, not chair-height. The welcome tray of wine/cheese/grapes/nuts proved a convenient snack before walking downtown and the return walk (it's called Bird Street for a reason). The rooms available at the time all have shared baths, but they are nearly finished with the "master" rooms and, I believe, those are ensuite. I stayed Friday, October 26th, and the "permanent residents" of the town are fans of Halloween visitors. Most "permanent residents" at Rockcliffe are pleased with being recognized, but there was one who wanted to play late in the evening; after telling "him" to relax because I needed some sleep, it was restful slumber. I don't like the term "haunted" because I believe this place is very much cherished and, while playful and desiring attention, they are anything but malefic. Breakfast, artistically prepared by Juan, was delicious and nutritious. Even though one can walk through the common areas, I took the full tour of the house on Saturday morning after I checked out; it was a very informative tour giving not only the information about the house, its original owners and how they lived, but also how much the house has been through during the 40+ years of neglect and vandalism and the revival efforts since the late 1960s. Is it in perfect condition? No, some things are falling apart almost faster than they can keep them operational. But if you can look past the surficial evidence of a mansion that has lived a hard life you will find more character(s) than a Tolstoy novel within these walls. Would I return? Yes, but I will wait until the master bedroom is finished; as I did not get to do everything I hoped to in Hannibal on such a short stay, I now have the appropriate excuse to return.


excellant

5 sur novembre 06, 2012

we had great eats and friendly atmosphere.


Birthday Bucket List item of mine

3,0 sur octobre 22, 2012

This is an amazing property in need of some serious external repair-the interior is undergoing renovation and is a great example of the period it was built but the cleanliness of the interior is somewhat sad and depressing. It is obvious that it will take a hugh amount of money and time to bring Rockcliffe to the place it once was a hundred years ago. I sincerely hope that the current owner continues to strive to make the necessary changes to preserve and restore it to it's place in Hannibal history that it so rightly deserves! The owner is very knowledgeable and personable and we enjoyed getting acquainted with him. We would consider returning for another stay in the future.


fun experienxe

3,4 sur septembre 27, 2012

Great house with lots of history, Was fun getting to know the current owner and his heart for the place!


Visit to Rockcliffe Mansion

4,8 sur septembre 20, 2012

Owner very friendly, accomodating and very knowledgeable on history of the B&B and community. Food was delicious and presented appealingly.


A night in a mansion

4,4 sur août 04, 2012

My son and I spent a night here. When we first drove up, we saw a decaying looking mansion in a not-great neighborhood. Our hearts dropped as expectations had been high. Fortunately, we were wrong in our initial impression. Rockcliffe Mansion is amazing. It needs a great deal of renovation work but the new owner has brought warmth and magic to the mansion. The breakfast was incredibly delicious . Juan is an outstanding host, friendly without being intrusive and open to conversation. The rooms we stayed in did not look quite as lovely as the web site which was momentarily disappointing but I admit to having the best night's sleep I've had in ages. It would have been nice to have some B& B amenities in the rooms, like bottled water or chocolates. Overall, we loved staying here.


A Trip Back in Time

4,6 sur juillet 27, 2012

When you step into the Rockcliffe Mansion it truly is like stepping back one hundred years in time. Such hospitality too! How nice to be greeted with wine and cheese in your room upon check-in! The rooms are decorated with period furnishings and it is clear that the owner is trying to stay true to the period and also make things comfortable for the guests. It was a welcome break to have peace and quiet and enjoy several nice conversations (no T.V. or internet!!). The one modern amenity I was thankful for was the air conditioning. We were quite comfortable on the second floor and that is saying something since we were there during the days of 100+ degrees in July. I was traveling with my mother (70), my husband and my son (8). We had two rooms with an adjoining restroom (also period with original facilities). The breakfasts were wonderful! One day we had french toast with bacon and sausage and the second day we had quiche and fried potatoes. Both breakfasts also included coffee, tea, juice, and fruit. Very declicious and filling! I thought the rates were very reasonable since they did include breakfast and a tour of the house. I would love to stay at Rockcliffe Mansion again someday and would recommend it to anyone that has an interest in history.


Loved this mansion

4,6 sur juillet 25, 2012

I traveled to Hannible for my birthday with my girlfriends and stayed at the Rockcliff. We had an exceptional time and absolutley loved talking with the manager, Juan, and hearing about his travel stories. Juan served us wine and cheese when we checked in and made us a fantastic breakfast in the morning. He made us feel right at home. The mansion is beautiful and we cannot wait to visit again.


We felt like royalty!

4,8 sur juillet 24, 2012

We stayed at Rockcliffe for a wonderful night. The owner was delightful, and so helpful. The bed was small, as it was original to the house, but comfortable. The rest of the furnishings were all original to the house as well - what an experience! Breakfast was almost too pretty to eat, but we did... :-)


Rockcliffe Mansion in Hannibal, MO

4,6 sur juillet 20, 2012

Our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast and Rockcliffe was AWESOME. We would typically stay at a 21st century three or four star hotel because we just need a place to sleep and take a shower. Rockcliffe cost a bit more than we normally spend, but it was worth every dime. We got the "official" tour (no additional cost), but after the last tour time we were free to roam the entire mansion and grounds to our hearts content. Love this place, love the staff, and will go back.


beautiful time in Hannibal

5 sur juin 17, 2012

Went to Hannibal to celebrate my Aunt's 63 rd birthday. We had a lovely time. It was a special time. Everything was lovely. I will be back again....


Best Place in Hannibal!!!

5 sur juin 16, 2012

The stay was wonderful!! It was my second time staying at Rockcliffe Mansion. We had so much fun and the breakfast was wonderful!! And the owner, Juan, is such a nice person. I have recommended this place to everyone I know. 5 Stars!!!


EXCELLENT ACCOMODATIONS

5 sur juin 13, 2012

The mansion is great in all aspects - minutes from all tourist attractions. The host makes you feel welcome. We plan on another trip again soon.


Bet you won't stay just once!

5 sur juin 13, 2012

Have been to Rockcliffe Mansion twice now, and will return. Such a beautiful home with an interesting history. You could easily spend an entire vacation walking around this Mansion, but it right next to Hannibal's awesome dinning, shopping, and attractions for both couples and families.


A great stay; you will not be disappointed!

4,8 sur juin 05, 2012

We stayed at the Rockcliffe for the Memorial Day holiday weekend. When we arrived we were greeted with wine and cheese. Thr rooms were a walk back in time. The morning breakfast was gourmet quality. You will not be disappointed!


Fabulous experience!

5 sur mai 27, 2012

Recently stayed at the Rockcliffe for two nights - can't say enough about it. I think my companion and I will be raving about this experience for the next few months to family, friends, and co-workers. The house is a gem - beautifully (nearly) restored to its former glory and with original furnishings and decor. Juan, the proprietor, was incredibly thoughtful and generous with his time to answer all our questions about the house, its history, and restoration efforts. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast consisted of a lovely presentation of fruit, yogurt/cheese and freshly baked bread, and a second course of french toast or quiche. Highly recommend!


Rockcliffe Mansion--History and Hospitality!

4,4 sur mai 22, 2012

From the moment I called to make a reservation and throughout our stay, the owner of the mansion was very helpful and accommodating. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. Our stay was restful and relaxing. The breakfast was delicious. And, we got a free tour of the mansion with our stay. It has an intriguing history. The mansion is just a few blocks from downtown Hannibal and had a wonderful view of the whole area.


The Perfect Memory

5 sur mai 16, 2012

Our stay at RocKcliffe Mansion created the perfect memory that will be hard to top, The Mansion is steeped in history and there is guided tours throughout the mansion that gives you the complete history from when the construction began in 1898. The B&B rooms that are available are amazing as well as the food served to you On true to period china and even the silver ware and napkins, the hospitality is second to none from the start when they start your stay off with a bottle of wine and a tray of cheese and crackers and the experience gets better, We have stayed at many B&B's and have never been this pleased. With the RockCliffe mansion being located in Hannibal, it makes your stay there even better with all of the things to do and see. We are already planning our next stay there, Do your self a favor and spend a night at the mansion and create the memory of your lifetime.


A Step Back in Time

4,6 sur mai 12, 2012

We loved the 2 nights we spent at Rockcliffe Manor. Juan was an excellent host and cook and we really enjoyed the one on one conversations with him. He spoiled us and made us feel very special. The history of Rockcliffe is amazing and it was so much fun imagining what it was like living there at the turn of the century. The details of each room told a story and the furniture and decor were so unique and beautiful.


Unique and Memorable Experience

3,6 sur mai 05, 2012

Even if you don't stay the night, a tour of Rockliffe Mansion is a must when visiting Hannibal. Proprietor/Owner Juan was a gracious host. He and his business partner have taken on a big challenge in bringing this turn-of-the -century gem back to life, but they seem genuinely interested in restoring the mansion to something of its former glory. It remains a work in progress. You'll have to deal with some issues that come with a restored mansion like waiting 5 minutes or more for the hot water to reach your shower, but things were clean, bug-free and comfortable. We stayed in the Golden Chamber and the bed and furnishings were great. Red roses and chocolates were ordered extra and were of excellent quality.


Gorgeous Mansion!

5 sur mai 04, 2012

WOW! What a beautiful HUGE home! I happened to be the only one there and had the entire place to myself. Juan was very friendly, warm and welcoming - - we enjoyed a glass of wine and chatted like we were old friends. I was able to explore the whole house - - and I stayed in the Golden Chamber which was very comfortable. The private bathroom was just down the hall a bit and was decorated beautifully. Breakfast was delicious and way more than I could finish! I can't wait to go back! Thank you Juan, for making me feel so at home!


Experience History

3,8 sur mai 02, 2012

The mansion is much as it was 100 years ago. The new owners are doing a beautiful job supplementing the original furniture and decor. We stayed in the Rose Room. Juan met us with wine, cheese and nuts. He is very charming and accommodating. We had the house to ourselves! I thought the price was a little high for a double bed ($189 plus tax), but my husband was absolutely thrilled with the historically accurate furniture, fixtures, and decor. It was like staying in a museum! The mansion tour is included in the price. The substantial breakfast kept us going all day. It was an experience we will never forget.


Beautiful Historic Mansion One Night Stay

5 sur mars 26, 2012

One night stay at the beautiful and historic Rockcliffe Mansion in Hannibal, MO March 21, 2012 with my mother was outstanding in every way due to the gracious hospitality of our host for the night, Manager, Juan Ruiz-Bello. Reservation discount for booking the Sage and Golden Chambers together for the midweek stay was an outstanding value.


Interesting.

4,0 sur novembre 03, 2011

A little disappointed. Needs a LOT of work. Too many cobwebs. Spiders in the bathroom. Not exactly a gourmet breakfast. That said, the house is awesome to see, the history is very interesting and Hillie was great. I would have rather taken the tour than to stay there. You could spend many hours and not see all the details. I understand they are closing for the winter for more renovations. I sincerely hope they continue. It is an awesome home. It just needs a little more TLC.


Two nights in an authentic turn of the century mansion

4,8 sur août 19, 2011

We are still talking about Rockcliffe Mansion and the Cruikshank family! Spent two nights in the Rose Chamber and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The house is not pristine but what it lacks in finished details it makes up for in authenticity. Original furniture, Tiffany chandeliers and stained glass, ten unique hand carved fireplaces and even original velvet and tapestry drapes and gilded wallpaper. The entire house was open to us and it felt like coming home every evening. Hilly, our hostess, was a great cook and the most wonderful story teller. If you want history this is the place to stay.


What a great experience

5 sur juillet 22, 2011

My wife and stayed there recently and it was our first B&B, so we didn't really know what to expect. We were pleasantly suprised as we walked up those stairs to be greated by Sandy and Hillie(they even had a birthday cake waiting on me(tasted greated Hillie)). We were spoiled by Sandy who catered to our every need in this beautiful mansion. To say we are now hooked would be an understatement. The tour was nice too but it seemed read word for word out of their catalog, so I wouldn't purchase it till after the tour. Great job to Sandy on everything you did for us. The castle and the staff are a must see!!


Wonderful

5 sur juin 20, 2011

We had a fantastic experience. We were a party of 2 couples and had rooms on the 3rd floor with a shared bath. The staff was especially nice and the breakfast was great. We loved sitting on the varanda drinking our coffee in the morning and visiting with another couple staying. Planning another trip in the fall - I expect that the color on the trees will be outstanding.


Amazing in every way !

5 sur avril 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this amazing mansion this past weekend. We've stayed at many B&B's and I must say that this one has made quite a lasting impression. This is a 'must stay' for anyone with a passion for the history of beautifully preserved homes such as this one. Our hostess was so informative and definitely wow'd us! She took us up to the 'lookout' room and we went up to the roof with glasses of wine at sunset, and coffee at sunrise... the view was beautiful since it is the highest point in Hannibal and you can see the entire town as well as the river. We will definitely be back...


Beautiful B&B with an interesting history

5 sur mars 10, 2011

Rockcliffe is incredibly beautiful, with so many original furnishings and architectural details, it's a must-see for anyone interested in early 1900s architecture and design. As B&B guests, we basically had the run of the place and could explore the whole mansion as much as we wanted. Hillie, the caretaker, is delightful and very knowledgeable about the history of the mansion. She had a bottle of wine and a cheese & fruit plate waiting for us on arrival, and makes a great breakfast too. The new owners of Rockcliffe have big plans for continuing to restore the house and grounds to their original condition, and we are planning to go back this summer to see how things are coming along--I expect it will be even more beautiful and fascinating than it already is and that's saying a lot! Highly highly recommended!


Most amazing weekend!!

4,8 sur juin 08, 2010

Stayed at Rockcliffe and it was amazing!! The house is full of beautiful antiques and Tiffany lighting. Could have spent the weekend just looking at the light fixtures! There is so much history here and guests have access to areas others don't. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff - would love to go back again.


What An Amazing Piece of History!!

5 sur mars 10, 2010

What an incredible stay!! Rockcliffe Mansion is such an amazing piece of history. The amount of authentic contents of the mansion is unbelievable. When you enter Rockcliffe you feel as though you are stepping into a museum; a true experience of the past. Its as if a historical presence grabs you by the hand, drawing you in, encouraging you to see a glimpse of historical times. As you enter each room you understand the way of life of the Cruikshank family so long ago. Innkeepers Ken and Lisa Marks made us feel incredibly welcome, food was delicious and accommodations superb. Ken and Lisa’s passion when telling the history of the mansion and the Cruikshank family undoubtedly expresses their love for this incredible treasure. We truly feel privileged to have stayed overnight. Thank you for such a memorable stay! Mark and Amy Winters


Pleasantly Mystified

4,0 sur mars 11, 2009

I first visited this mansion in 1968. Never thought I would ever have the chance to stay all night. What a magnificent dream come true. This B&B is not for the 21st Century traveler. However, if you're wanting to experience life circa 1900 (i.e., original fixtures in the bathroom), this is the place and it includes a great innkeeper! With no TVs, phones, or laptops, my wife and I actually had real conversations seated in the grand and spectacular entrance foyer. Great views of Hannibal and Ole Man River. For those seeking gentler times, this is truly the "rock".


Outstanding Weekend

4,4 sur janvier 24, 2009

We had an unbelievable experience at Rockcliffe, lovely rooms, wonderful people and pictures that will remind us of a great weekend.


Memorial Day weekend excursion

5 sur mai 28, 2007

Our stay at Rockcliffe mansion was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful to first time visitors to Hannibal. All were very knowledgeable about the mansion. The accommodations were great and the meals were exceptional. We would definitely stay at the Rockcliffe Mansion again when visiting Hannibal.


America's Castle is IDEAL!

5 sur mai 22, 2007

The Bed and Breakfast at the Rockcliffe Mansion is a beautiful experience. The history of the home is given upon arrival and is fascinating! The entertainment, food and staff are the best I've seen in the United States and Canada. Thank you so much to the owner and staff for sharing this beautiful home with guests. I would never stay anywhere but the Hannibal Bed and Breakfast at Rockcliffe Mansion when visiting the region. Simply put, I had a fabulous time!


Rockcliffe Mansion

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $139 - $350
  • Avis (81) 4,6
  • Chambres 4

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5732214140
  • Portable 1-3054587183
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8774234140

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut