Historic Scanlan House Bed & Breakfast Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,5

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,6

Notation basée sur
231 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Beyond expectations

4,8 sur avril 16, 2014

From checkin to checkout, everything about our stay was above the norm. We stayed in the Safari Suite, so having the reserved parking spot and outside entrance was nice. Our only regret is that when we checked in on Thursday, there was no one else there, so we could have viewed all the other rooms, but we chose to unpack instead. The breakfasts, and especially the muffins and desserts(?) were exceptional.


Romantic

5 sur novembre 20, 2013

Friendly, fine dining, very private and delightful surroundings.


Scanlan House in November

4,0 sur novembre 19, 2013

We spend a relaxing lazy cool and foggy November Friday night in Lanesboro. The Scanlan House is a cozy comfortable place to unwind, and offers a wide selection of amenities.. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING!


Historic B&B

4,4 sur novembre 13, 2013

Great experience. Very gracious & nice hosts. Loved the amazing Barbie doll collection in the house and the antique decor.


our 1st b&b will not be our last

5 sur novembre 13, 2013

We could not have asked for a more lovely stay. We were both hesitant about the idea of a bed and breakfast. The room was clean and romantic. The food was great! Our only regret was... We only booked for one night. Next time it will be a whole weekend stay for sure!


Enjoyable Stya

4,0 sur novembre 04, 2013

We arrived early (2:00 PM) on a Saturday afternoon, but the room was ready and well appointed. Everything was spotlessly clean.The breakfast was very tasty, but I am used to a heartier breakfast, so I was left wanting more food.


Great place to stay

5 sur octobre 28, 2013

The Sunshine Suite was more than we expected, and I would recommend it. Everything about our stay was great. I am sure we will go back. The Brekfast was more than enough, and meeting new people was pleasant.


Mary is a delight! We enjoyed our visit and the breakfast was superb!

4,2 sur octobre 24, 2013

Thank you for an enjoyable stay! We will recommend you!


Short Stay ad the Scanlan House

4,0 sur octobre 23, 2013

Pleasant hostess, nice (but small) room, lovely breakfast and lots of little extras like an open snack area and movies. The home has a lot of character. Located close to shops, restaurants and bike trails. The only minor issue we had was trying to figure out how the TV/DVD worked, even with written instructions. We would visit the B&B again and recommend it to others.


Cute and Quaint

3,4 sur octobre 23, 2013

The Primrose room was quaint. My only complaint is that the fake fireplace is very loud and so we didn't use it. The food and service was great. The little kitchenette with teas, coffees and treats was great too. The ONLY thing I didn't like was sharing a table with 3 other couples for breakfast. I don't like small talk and I just wanted to spend time with my boyfriend. It was a bit uncomfortable. Separate little tables would of been nice or the option to eat in our room. Food was great though, but three courses made the breakfast long which if we had our own table, I wouldn't of minded.


Quiet, peaceful, beautiful old Victorian home.

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2013

Great escape, with fantastic breakfast!


Very Pleasant Stay

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2013

We had a very nice rest full night. I was surprised how quiet the rooms were. Everything was great!!


Great Food, Great Service, Rooms Need Attention

4,0 sur octobre 21, 2013

Scanlan House is a beautiful, historic home. The owners have kept the decor true to the era of the home. Some of the elaborate decorations were dusty, and so it made me worry about the condition of the other parts of my room. However, the staff was very friendly and the food was fantastic! Leave plenty of room for the multi-course, delicious breakfast! I would return to Scanlan House!


A great evening

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2013

The breakfast was wonderful


Scanlan House Lanesboro

5 sur octobre 12, 2013

Very nice. everything as promised and more.


One Night Away

4,2 sur octobre 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our first visit to a B&B!


Linda Corrigan Sept 2013

3,8 sur octobre 07, 2013

The B&B was charming and well-kept. The food was wonderful.


Amazing!

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

My girlfriend (21yrs old) and I (22yrs old) stayed in the Grandma Bell's room. I have never been to a bed and breakfast before this one, but I was extremely impressed. The room was gorgeous, it was the perfect example of elegance and class. The whole theme of the house and rooms really fit the original house. I have never been t.o a bed and breakfast before this one, but I was extremely impressed. The quality of service was just phenomenal. The breakfast was amazing, and filling :). You have access to all the things you need in the Butler's Kitchen(I think this name is right). You just need to see it to truly understand how great it is. I recommend this to anybody of ANY age.


Our weekend honeymoon - part 2 - 41 years later

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

We wanted to stay in a place that would bring warmth and togetherness and above all a place to renew our love for each other. We found that at The Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn


Love, LOve, LOVE the Scanlon House!

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Lanesboro and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Historic Scanlon House. Clean, comfortable rooms, beautifully decorated, and a gourmet breakfast! Would definitely recommend to others and will be back to stay again! Thanks for the wonderful experience!!


Very pleased and had a good time in Lanesboro

5 sur octobre 05, 2013

Went to Harmony first to Amish and then to Lanesboro as husband, son-in-law and grandson had gone on a tractor ride through there and thought it was so pretty so he wanted to bring me there to see where they went and then went on to Lake City to get wood for a mantel for our fireplace. Had a good time.


B & B virgin no more!

5 sur octobre 01, 2013

The B&B had everything we needed, including the attentive staff. The room was cozy and I had a lovely balcony to sit on. Breakfast was GREAT! Can't wait to go back! Biking was fun as we'll.


Wonderful place to stay!

4,4 sur septembre 30, 2013

Had a peaceful and relaxing weekend at scanlon house. Breakfast was awesome! Kirsten and Mary were wonderful and treated us warmly. We will be going back!!!!


Biking Get Away

4,6 sur septembre 30, 2013

This was our first time to Lanesboro and the Root River Bike Trail and Scanlan House. We will definitely go back and stay here again and bike the trail again. The trails are awesome, the whirlpool felt great after a 40 mile ride. We were in the Masquerade Room, the balcony is awesome, had a bottle of wine after a long day of biking. The Scanlan House is wonderful, Kristin and Mary are the best hosts and breakfasts were amazing both days. They were even so generous to give me a memory card when mine was full, very much appreciated. We ate one night at Pedal Pushers, great food and atmosphere. The use of local foods there is amazing. All in all you have a hidden gem in the area and we can't wait to come back again. Keep up the great work.


Cute B&B

3,8 sur septembre 28, 2013

I stayed here for a conference, wasn't able to eat the breakfast unfortunately but I really enjoyed my stay. They inn keepers were great and I loved my room; grandma belle's. It was soo cozy and cute. There was tea and coffee you could help yourself to and they sold wine and beer which was nice. Looking forward to staying genre again!


DELIGHTFUL!

3,8 sur septembre 28, 2013

Hostess Kirsten was great: left clear instructions for our check-in, key in the door, and chocolates on our pillows. Our room, the Masquerade, had a marvelous sheltered deck for relaxing and soaking in the ambiance of this beautiful little town, not to mention the lovely gardens beneath the balcony. Plenty of seating space in the wonderfully appointed Victorian house. Original stained glass windows invite one's soul into the 19th Century. And the breakfast, complete with dessert, was to die for. We would certainly rent a room in this B&B again if we're in Lanesboro another time, and we intend to be. Enjoy, if you're fortunate enough to stay here.


Perfect fall adventure

5 sur septembre 27, 2013

The weather was perfect for our mini adventure. While my husband biked from Houston to Lanesboro, I enjoyed exploring each of the towns along the route. After checking in to our B&B we walked down to the Riverside on the Root for dinner on their balcony. A wonderful four course breakfast in the morning. Thanks to The Scanlan House for a great stay!!


Great stay...

4,2 sur septembre 25, 2013

Nice rooms, good service. The only thing that could have been better was the mattress. It was pretty lumpy and needed replacing!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the message. If you by chance read this could you give us a call and let us know which room you were in so we may look into the issue. All of our beds are only one year old. Very important that we know this so we are still able to return and/or take advantage of warranty. Thanks again! :)


Top notch B&B!

5 sur septembre 22, 2013

We stayed at the historic Scanlon House last night and could not have been more pleased. The cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail was excellent. What beautiful decor! The breakfast was outstanding. It was so good, we made sure to reserve our room for next year before we left!


Perfect Get AWay

4,6 sur septembre 20, 2013

Lovely flowers and accommodations. Loved the felines, breakfast and quiet stay. We'll go back.


Lovely Weekend Getaway

4,6 sur septembre 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I had an absolutely wonderful time at the Scanlan. The hostess Mary was absolutely wonderful. The room was very clean, as well as the rest of the house. The house had an absolutely lovely decor. The food was delicious and had a wide variety. There were also many shops in Lanesboro that had discounts for us because we stayed at the Scanlan.


B&B Biking in Lanesboro MN

4,8 sur septembre 10, 2013

We stayed at the Historic Scanlan B&B to do a biking weeekend in Lanesboro MN. The B&B was great. Our room was the Steeple Suite which was very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfasts were amazing, very delicious and filling ( 3 courses). Kirsten, Mary and their staff are wonderful. We'd go back!!!


Scanlon House Lanesboro MN

4,0 sur septembre 04, 2013

The service and gourmet breakfast were fantastic! The room was very nice and well decorated but slightly smaller than I expected. It was a nice place to stay and and recommend it to anyone that visits Lanesboro.


Great place

4,2 sur septembre 02, 2013

The best part of the Scanlan House was its breakfast: it was interesting, tasty and overflowed! Our room was nice and comfortable.


Another Scanlan House Visit

5 sur août 28, 2013

Scanlan House is our favorite B & B. We especially like the breakfasts, which are unique, delicious, and expertly presented--the highest level of morning dinning on the planet. The house offers the highest comfort with museum quality furnishings and decorations, and plenty to do on a rainy day. The proprietors are friendly and always make our annual stay at Scanlan House special.


Quite spectacular

4,8 sur août 28, 2013

Safari Suite was ideal. Loved the private entrance and the fact that the breakfast was delivered to our room. I could go on and on. Let's just say I found nothing to complain about and I have been told I am somewhat picky.


Not a bad room in the place

4,6 sur août 28, 2013

This was our second stay and because we reserved late the only room left was the one downstairs behind the stairs (Victorian). This was the room we had thought we would never want due to the locale, but we found it very delightful. There is no shower, but the bathtub is "roomy". Mary and daughters are very friendly and will help you in any way possible. The bike rental is the best with good prices and great bikes. We'll be back for sure!


Historic Scanlan House Weekend-Absolutely Wonderful!

5 sur août 24, 2013

10+ stays at the Historic Scanlan House, and absolute wonderful time-Every Time! Right next to the golf course which we love, walking distance of the downtown activities, shops, and resteraunts. Also in walking distance of the trail / river activities such as biking, tubing, and kayaking (all available by rental if you do not have your own). The Root River Trail is great with various towns spattered along the way-great pie shop right next to the trail too! Absolutely recommend the entire experience, that's why we keep coming back-its a great get-away.


Scanlan House Experience

4,4 sur août 23, 2013

It was our first Bed and Breakfast experience and I have to say we both loved the stay. Everyone was so nice and the room was beautiful.


Lanesboro Safari room stay

4,0 sur août 20, 2013

The Safari room was outstanding, especially the private porch attached to the room. Beautiful facility with very friendly and helpful staff.


Our anniversary stay.

4,8 sur août 18, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our 40th anniversary and decided to stay at the Scanlon House for one of our nights out. The house is beautiful and our hosts were fantastic! Our room was beautiful and very spacious. Breakfast in the morning ended up being and hour and a half of great conversation with the other guests over a meal that was exceptional. If we go back to Lanesboro, the Scanlon House is definitely where we would stay again.


Scanlan House a perfect getaway

4,8 sur août 16, 2013

Gourmet breakfast was delicious! The room was very comfortable and the service was top-notch! The Scanlan House was a fantastic place to spend a few days and a perfect place to get away.


Birthday B&B

4,6 sur août 12, 2013

We stayed at the Historic Scanlan House to celebrate my 28th bday. It was both my boyfriend and my first time staying at a B&B. We stayed in the Safari Suite, awesome room! Decor was so fun, bed was amazing and the whirlpool tub was perfect. :) The room has a private porch too. It was quiet, relaxing and pampering. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious! 3 course breakfast with plenty of hot coffee and tea to go around. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, we look forward to coming back again soon!


Wonderful Stay

4,6 sur août 12, 2013

This was our second visit. Great environment. Great food and in a wonderful location for biking. Only problem is that not all rooms have showers, just check that out prior to making your reservation. Highly recommend the B & B.


The finer details

5 sur août 10, 2013

The Scanlon B&B was fantastic. From the beautiful landscaping to the chocolates on the pillows, we felt like they truly enjoyed owning a B&B, and that they liked their guests. The breakfast was wonderful and the bread pudding we were served is actually a family recipe. We will be back!


Our perfect quick getaway

4,6 sur août 07, 2013

We checked the websites of B&B's all over Lanesboro, looking for one that would accept us for a single-night stay, as many of them would not. As luck would have it, Scanlan House was able to accommodate our busy schedule. The staff offers great, friendly customer service. We stayed in Grandmabelle's (sp?) room, which featured a whirlpool tub and a TV with DVD player. I've never seen a TV in a B&B before, but after a 41-mile bike ride that afternoon, it felt terrific to soak our bones in the tub while taking in one of the several-hundred movies Scanlan keeps on hand for guests. Breakfast was fantastic and full-featured. The only caveat I can think of is that it included a very rich minty dessert, which doesn't really fit with my breakfast palate. The staff was gracious enough to let us leave our bikes locked up at Scanlan after we checked out, so we wouldn't have to move them before our kayaking trip the following day. Although I want to see more of what Lanesboro has to offer (this being my first visit), I would readily recommend Scanlan House. We'll be back in the future!


Grandma Bells

4,8 sur août 06, 2013

Very nicely decorated with good breakfast.


Great Experience

4,6 sur août 04, 2013

This was a great experience in a wonderful Minnesota town. Great rooms with an even better location close to local activities while being far enough away to be quiet.


great 1st time experience!

5 sur juillet 30, 2013

For our 20th anniversary we wanted to do something different, so we decided to try a bed & breakfast and it was a great decision! Spacious room with a hot tub, excellent breakfasts, and met some interesting people that stayed there too. We will definitely go back!


Our Stay at Scanlon House

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2013

Our stay was very enjoyable, the Scanlan House was comfortable and the owners were very friendly and helpful. There were alot of options for outdoor activities we enjoyed biking and canoeing. A great time!


Excellent Place To Stay

4,6 sur juillet 28, 2013

Rooms in the Scanlan were super quiet. All the rooms were full when we stayed and you couldn't hear anything from the other rooms. The service was excellent and staff very friendly. Breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend and will stay again.


Sexy Jungle Adventure

4,4 sur juillet 22, 2013

This room was immaculately furnished in a safari theme. Butter soft sheets, a private porch, and in room whirlpool tub made the room a delight. The innkeepers were warm and accomodating...Kristen even served our breakfast privately on the beautifully furnished porch! We will be back! :)


Great Getaway

4,8 sur juillet 17, 2013

This was our first time at the Scanlon House. Once we stepped inside, we were impressed by the decor and friendliness of the staff. Our room was great and we enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of biking. It was great that bikes are available there to rent, so we could take off and return from the place. We took advantage of the sitting areas outside, and it was nice to have the space there to visit. Breakfast was great - nice option to eat with others or have a more secluded table that we enjoyed with another couople we traveled with. Overall - we'll be back for sure an highly recommend this place to others.


Victorian B&B

3,6 sur juillet 16, 2013

The hosts were wonderful. We felt the rooms were over decorated. They did not have much space to set your personal items and no where in the bathroom to set your bathroom bag. The food was not up to my expectations especially on a weekend.


Idyllic, tranquil, welcoming, delicious

5 sur juillet 13, 2013

Our stay at the Scanlan House B&B was all of those. It was peaceful and just the retreat we needed. Having dessert with breakfast was marvelous. All aspects of the service was spectacular. We will definitely go again.


Amazing breakfast

4,8 sur juillet 11, 2013

This home is gorgeous. Comfortable, beautiful, quiet rooms and an amazing breakfast in the morning. We had never stayed at a B & B before and weren't sure what to expect, but this home was wonderful. The hosts were warm, welcoming and had a lot of knowledge of the home's history. They were also great chefs and produced one of the best breakfasts I have ever enjoyed--gourmet and homemade.


Lanesboro B & B

4,2 sur juillet 09, 2013

Wonderful place to celebrate a friend's birthday; comfortable and spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, great food, very friendly and hospitable hosts.


Scanlon BnB is wonderful!

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

We came in late around 8 pm. There was a note on the door for us explaining where our key etc was. The rooms have everything, tv, music, movies in the other room to choose from. You have access to a mini kitchen with teas, coffee, cocoa, and more beverages in the frig like wine and beer. We had a nice time playing cards outside sitting in the comfy lawn chairs and enjoying the view of the flowers in the yard. The room is so cutely decorated and relaxing is easy!


Great place to stay

4,4 sur juillet 03, 2013

Wonderful breakfast, coffee, teas and beverages. Lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the view. Very hospitable.


Amazing Place to Stay

5 sur juillet 02, 2013

This was a fabulous place to stay. Great service, very clean and beautiful amenities.


Fun Stay

4,4 sur juin 25, 2013

Just a one night stay. It is on our list of places to return to.


awesome!!

5 sur juin 24, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Scanlan house, and it exceeded expectations and then some. Super clean, lovely, cozy, and the owners were wonderful. I would recommend the Scanlan house to everyone, we are going to make this an annual trip!


Scanlan House Review

5 sur juin 16, 2013

My fiance and I were only here for 1 night and wished we would've stayed the entire weekend! The staff is so friendly and make you feel right at home. And the breakfast is fantastic!!


Wonderful

4,2 sur juin 15, 2013

The Inn was beautifully restored and maintained. Very clean and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts both days were amazing.....lots of food and so good! The room was great, very clean. The staff made you feel at home, they were so friendly. It was a great place to relax and unwind. Highly recommend!!


Beautiful, charming, well appointed B and B

4,4 sur juin 12, 2013

Room was beautifully decorated and spacious, clean, the food was outstanding. The house and grounds were charming and blew me away!! TOPNOTCH


Everything was great!

5 sur juin 12, 2013

The service was impeccable, the room was fantastic, and the food incredible. I am already making plans for going back.


Enjoyed our stay very much!!

3,8 sur juin 09, 2013

We regularly try Bed & Breakfasts so to say the room met our expectations is not a bad thing! We have stayed in 'roomier' places but it was very nice. We normally prefer having a shower in attached bathroom but it was very handy having it two steps across into the hall, so no problem. The jacuzzi was very nice given the weekend was not very warm. The breakfasts were fabulous! Great food, interesting recipes which we always enjoy. We ate with some folks we had so much in common with it was freakish! So it was very enjoyable! Would recommend it to friends.


Gorgeous little spot

4,4 sur juin 08, 2013

Our room, the Masquerade Room, had a wonderful round balcony under a turret in this Victorian mansion, which we enjoyed with a bottle of wine under a blanket on a cool night. The stillness of Lanesboro and the breezy sweep of the nearby trees at night were memorably cathartic—one of those moments when you can literally feel stress exiting your body. I enjoyed the Scanlan House. My one suggestion to the owners would be to consider removing the doll collection in the living room—it's a bit too personal of taste and doesn't match the rest of the room's more historic decor.


Outstanding

5 sur juin 03, 2013

This was our second stay at the Historic Scanlan House and enjoyed it just as much as the first time. The breakfast was delightful and full of wonderful surprises. It is a wonderful place to relax and highly recommended.


One of the Best

5 sur juin 01, 2013

This was our first stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and quiet. The inn keeper was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast each morning was exceptional and delicious. We enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast and met some really nice and interesting people. We will definitely be returning and recommending this place to our friends.


Wonderful Place to Stay

5 sur mai 27, 2013

We stayed in "Grandma Belle's Room". Very cozy, very much a romantic place to stay. Breakfast in the morning was very unexpected - delicious, definitely more than one person could eat. Very relaxing - great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.


review

4,4 sur mai 26, 2013

The charm, cleanliness, and warmth of the house was rivaled only by Kirsten's accommodating attentiveness and her genuine hospitality. This is the place to stay in Lanesboro, people!


Great place with wonderful breakfast

4,4 sur mai 12, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we had a fantastic time. I had pre-ordered champagne, fruit and flowers for our room and they were there waiting for us when we arrived. The room was very cozy and we really enjoyed the jacuzzi. The breakfast was outstanding - we enjoyed every bite! We could not have asked for a more perfect getaway.


Historic Scanlan House

2,4 sur mai 01, 2013

We stayed in the Safari Room; room was very nice, but there was another room above us that got very loud when the people used the jacuzzi. It happened to be later in the evening when we were trying to go to sleep, and was very annoying. Also, the outside of the property & grounds very much needed upkeeping. We stayed the end of April and Christmas decorations were still up throughout the B&B; we thought it should have been turned over to spring & summer decor. Not sure that I would stay here again.

Réponse du propriétaire
Happy you liked The Safari Suite. It's been our most requested room for 13 years! Regarding the grounds. I don't understand the complaint. It was a long snowy winter with the months of April (when you stayed) and May producing high winds, heavy snowfall, hail, oodles of rain and freezing rain in The Bluff Country area. Starting to prepare the grounds for planting, painting etc... was next to impossible. Even the farmers were unable to get into their fields on time. The entire city of Lanesboro has been busy for the past two weeks (including ourselves) taking advantage of the finally warm weather and preparing for season. So... Yes! Like every house that goes through a winter season... the house and grounds needed sprucing up in April as they do every year. This is sad but true, and here is the bad excuse. Christmas decorations were up (only in the two dining rooms) in April and most of May. Mary does all of the season changes in the dining rooms and through-out the house. She is returning later than normal to Lanesboro due to our wonderful weather. I have no talent for the decor on the dining room tables. :( So yes they stayed X-Mas. Made sense though since last week we had 12 inches of snow on the ground and it looked like Christmas! LOL! Bad excuse, I know, and Mary has her work cut out for her upon her return. But she is good at what she does and she will be thankful (as should the guests) that I didn't attempt something stupid! :) We are always pleased to get feedback, whether it is positive or negative. After 26 years in business we still know that our guests come first and making our Bed and Breakfast comfortable and beautiful has always been top priority. Without your feedback this would not be possible. However... If you are not returning because Spring cleanup had not comenced and you saw Christmas decorations; that would be a rough misinterprataion of our property and all it has to offer.


Feels Like Home

4,0 sur avril 29, 2013

Second stay but felt as tho we've stayed more often ! Felt welcome and comfortable to help selves to refreshments, relax in main rooms. Kirsten is easy to visit with and made time for our questions. There are 7 rooms and we'll try them all !!! ;


Scanlan has Victorian charm with all the modern conveniences.

5 sur février 20, 2013

Nestled in Bluff Country in Scenic Lanesboro, the Scanlan Bed and Breakfast is the best the Bed and Breakfast captial of MN has to offer. Easy to get to. Lovely rooms. Lots of space to spread out and be social. The hosts are always available and eager to make your stay relaxing. Beautiful area for a drive. Lovely place for a long walk. Fun places to eat. The other guest are just as friendly as the staff. Victorian charm with all the modern conveniences.


Perfectly Accommodating

5 sur février 19, 2013

We arrived late--they left the lights on and the door open. We left a ring--which they helped us find. The room was fun and comfortable, and breakfast delicious (we enjoyed it over a 3-hour conversation with the other couple who stayed that night). Overall, a great experience. The town is adorable, but if you go in the middle of winter, chances are most the shops will be closed.


Lovely Anniversary

4,4 sur décembre 15, 2012

If you like QuIet getaways in winter, Lanesboro is the place to go The Art Center is open, one or two stores, the corner cafe for lunch and the pizza shop for supper. If you want a big dinner, it's 7 miles to Preston. The gal at the Art Center said Looks like you're the only folks intown today'" and I think she was right. A lovely stay.....


Awesome people! Beautiful place!

5 sur décembre 05, 2012

Our stay was fantastic!!!


B&B Christmas Tour

4,8 sur décembre 05, 2012

We relaxed in the parlor, had lucious breakfasts and took careful notes on all the Christmas decor. We made ourselves at home. We arrived as a group, enjoyed the Holiday Dinner & Dance at the Lanesboro Community Center, and then, spent Sunday touring the B&Bs. A great weekend at Scalan House in Lanesboro.


Wonderfully romantic!

5 sur octobre 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time! Will be back again! Breakfast was delicious!


The Scanlan House

5 sur octobre 25, 2012

This was my 2nd visit and I look forward to my 3rd. It's a beautiful B&B and they are so nice! Would recommend and also go back.


A relaxing getaway.

4,8 sur octobre 23, 2012

This was our 1st time at the Scanlan House. We were celebrating our 35th Anniversary. It was a wonderful, relaxing stay. Our Host was so kind and helpful with telling us about the house, the town and what to do and see. The breakfast was outstanding. We had heard a lot about the incredible breakfast that is served each and every morning. We are now hooked with this place. We have already booked for next year. Had just a Wonderful Time. Just a beautiful House. Very warm and welcoming.We highly recommend! Ernest & Catherine


so far the best of Lanesboro

4,0 sur octobre 16, 2012

This was our 4th Lanesboro B&B over 4 years which was the best and we'll stay there again, but in a bigger room . The jacuzzi was nice but not for short people, so a shower next time.


Fun getaway!

4,8 sur octobre 10, 2012

We loved the ladies who run the bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious! Fresh fruit for the first course, a quiche for the second course and then yummy dessert for our last course. I love the butler's pantry which had coffee, hot chocolate (different varieties) and tea. We had a great stay and definitely would go back again.


Truely Victorian

4,0 sur octobre 08, 2012

The Scanlon house was VERY Victorian---fine for me---over the top for my husband. But we thoroughly enjoyed the quietness and the food was fabulous. Great converwsation at the breakfast table with a mix of ages, backgounds and experiences with B & B's. I was a bit concerned that there was no fire system in such an old structure and that there were several candles (enclosed) in a room with so much fabric as is Victorian style. The fire extinguisher provided woulddn't have gone far! We did not use the candles of course! We had a lovely weekend weatherwise and enjoyed the surrounding area & the theatre in the evening. Would reccommend the Scanlon House, especially for a ladies outing,

Réponse du propriétaire
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast Inn and Lanesboro! Glad that you enjoyed the Vicotorian atmostphere, but was sorry to hear that your husband did not enjoy it as much. Victorian decor however was our goal in this 1889 Queen Anne Victorian Home. With any luck he enjoyed the modern amenities of the TV/DVD/CD/Radio or Whirlpool and/or fireplace instead. Which is not a bad thing. :) Regarding fire safety system: We are actually one of 11 Bed and Breakfasts in the State of Minnesota that are completely fire inspected by State Officials annually. We have a fully operating fire alarm system with pull stations and emergency exit lights, electric and battery operated fire dectectors, fire extinguishers on each floor and in each room. We provide one self contained jar candle in each room and in a three rooms there are candle fixtures that hold three to four tea lights on the ledge of the whirlpool tub (Not next to any fabric). Any other candles that you see sitting around are actually the battery operated or electric candles. They do look very realistic and are easy to mistake for real candles. Especially since they are on timers and have a flicker flame. That however is what we love about them. The safety of our guests is of course our concern and we adress it thouroughly. Since I also live on the premise... that safety is also in place for me. :)


Very Nice Stay

3,6 sur octobre 07, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our one night stay at the Scanlan. The owners were very hospitable and we enjoyed the outdoor cats when we were in the garden. Everything was exactly as we had expected and the Lanesboro area is very nice.


Great stay at our first B & B

4,4 sur octobre 03, 2012

Had an awesome stay at the Scanlan House. Very pleased with the style and decor of the house along with the innskeepers. Decorated very nice inside and out, very comfortable. Eric and Janice M.


Fabulous!!

5 sur octobre 02, 2012

Beautiful home, wonderful food. Staff made us feel at home. Can't wait to return!!


relaxing

5 sur octobre 02, 2012

located in a quiet and relaxing neighborhood,excellent breakfast,friendly staff.Could not have asked for more.


Great getaway!!

4,4 sur septembre 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and could not be happier! Our room was wonderful and Mary and Kirsten were fabulous! Thanks!!


Superb establishment!!

5 sur septembre 13, 2012

From the outsidevto the rooms, A+++++!!!! The breakfast was first class. The room was perfect. The staff was like family!!!!!


Very nice B&B - Great B'fast, with dessert!

5 sur septembre 08, 2012

Lanesboro is the B&B capital of Minnesota. Who knew? I think we got one of the best, if not the best. Lanesboro also caters to the biking and tubing crowds, and that's another benefit of this B&B. They have a deal with the local bike rental shop for half off bike rentals. No need to bring your own, when you can get a good bike for $10 for the day. We spent 3 hours on the trail, and had a great time. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful staff. Very nice room. Great breakfast. Several of the other guests were return customers. That says a lot.


Scanlan House

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2012

We loved the Scanlan House. Our hosts were great, the room was perfect and so was the food.


A B&B that does it right.

5 sur août 29, 2012

We found the facility to be first rate. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The breakfast was gourmet. We strongly recommend it if you are interested in a quiet, peaceful stay.


Great Anniversary Get-Away

5 sur août 27, 2012

We stayed here for a milestone wedding anniversary. The room was well appointed and very quiet. Nice touch with the "butler's pantry" - a self service coffee/cocco and well stocked snack bar for after hours. Breakfast was outstanding even by the high bar set by Lanesboror Bed and Breakfast Inns


Fabulous in every way!

4,8 sur août 22, 2012

This was my first venture in trying out a B&B and the experience exceeded my expectations. My room was spacious, clean, well appointed and comfortable. Note that I stayed in the Steeple room that features a king-size bed, which was very comfortable! Breakfast was scrumptious including fresh fruit parfait, generous serving of full breakfast and delectable dessert! Wonderful hospitality by owner & staff. Also, the house and grounds were beautiful. I really loved the location being only a block away from the main street so had great access but also very quiet! I highly recommend the Scanlan House! Thank you for everything!


Still the BEST breakfasts!

4,4 sur août 18, 2012

Just as wonderful as when we visited several years ago...a lovely place to stay with fantastic breakfasts!


very nice!

4,8 sur août 16, 2012

the place is a little spendy but it's very nice inside and out. The grounds were full of blooming flowers and places to sit outside and chat. Inside, nicely decorated. Our room was one of the larger rooms with a whirlpool bath. Breakfasts were great -- varied and delicious and they accommodated my tricky dietary restrictions with grace and skill.


Charming B&B with delicious food

4,4 sur août 08, 2012

Very nice bed & breakfast. We had the Safari Suite, which was decorated nicely and included a nice fruit/cheese platter and champagne. The breakfast was delicious, three courses!! The Sarfari Suite also had its own porch and entrance. The one downside of this suite was that it was on the first floor and right next to the kitchen, it was not very sound-proof so it didn't feel very private when you could hear people walking around and preparing meals. We were able to rent bikes right from the bed & breakfast, which was a very nice feature. Overall, this was a very nice bed & breakfast, if we come back to Lanesboro we would definitely stay there again.


Scanlan House in Lanesboro, MN

4,6 sur août 06, 2012

The home is beautiful. Our room was great and the three course breakfast was fabulous. We biked for two days and it was so nice to be able to go back and relax after the ride. Lanesboro is a great place for families and couples. We will go back to Scanlan House.


Romantic and very comfortable

3,8 sur août 02, 2012

This was our first time at a B&B. We celebrated our 17th anniversary and truly enjoyed the Scanlan House. I didn't want a place with a bunch of foo-foo but something that was also comfortable for my husband. It met our expectations. The room was very comfortable with a private balcony which we very much enjoyed. When we got in after a wonderful dinner, I loved the coffee bar area in which we could make a cup of tea and popcorn. Easy and comfortable.


my fourth time staying at Scanlon every time was super!

4,8 sur août 01, 2012

Mel Milinovich, I keep going back because we enjoy the area but more importantly the Sanlon Hose stay far outstrips my expectations.


Contiues to meet or exceed expectations1

4,8 sur juillet 31, 2012

As usual, our recent stay at The Scanlan House met or exceeded all expectations - even after having stayed there four or five times over the past few years. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds. great breakfast, and a clean and comfortable room!


Scanlan House in Lanesboro, July 2012

4,4 sur juillet 31, 2012

The inn and the rooms were beautiful and romantic. Attention to detail was high. Breakfast was very good, if a little small. I highly recommend this inn.


scanlan house

4,2 sur juillet 28, 2012

Very nice place. Very beautiful. The food was good and the hostess was very nice. Many amenities. Would return someday.


Best in Lanesboro

5 sur juillet 18, 2012

We've stayed at the Scanlan House once or twice a year for the last 5 years and have never been disappointed. Kristen and Mary are gracious, welcoming and caring hosts. They provide comfortableVictorian accomodations a, a spectacular breakfast, (where else do you get dessert for breakfast) and relaxing gardens. It's a wonderful place to stay and we'll be back again.


Good Time

4,8 sur juillet 14, 2012

The room and food was outstanding and the service was next to none. The best B & B we've ever stayed at!


The Sunrise Room

4,4 sur juillet 11, 2012

We stayed in the Sunrise Room which is in the newer addition. It is a nice large room with jacuzzi & fireplace. It was very quiet which is important to us at a B&B.


What a wonderful get-away!

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

We absolutely loved the Historic Scanlan House! The house is amazingly beautiful and the service was outstanding. Mary is a wonderful hostess and we expecially loved the guest pantry (coffee and tea whenever you'd like!) and the hot tub in our room. Her gourmet breakfast was fantastic! We can't wait to go back to Lanesboro and stay at the Scanlan House!


Bday Weekend

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2012

We were celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. The B&B was a fun experience and the breakfast was fabulous. We had a nice stay in Lanesboro, plenty to do from shopping, eating and outdoor activities. We plan on going back in the future.


Very nice and relaxing

5 sur juillet 09, 2012

Most enjoyable and relaxing time my wife and I have had in a long time.


June Bed and Breakfast Stay

5 sur juillet 05, 2012

We were in town for a wedding, and we needed to get into our room early. I called ahead to let them know the time we would like to be in our room 2 p.m. (check-in is 4 p.m.). They were so accomodating. They had our room done and the air conditioning on, very appreciated in this heat. This is a great place to stay. The room was so clean! I stayed in a room with a whirlpool, it was great to relax. Also, they have a butler pantry, which includes an ice machine for drinks and a variety of beers for a reasonable price. The breakfast was also amazing-three courses, which includes a wonderful dessert. The bed and breakfast is Victoria style, but everything that counts, the bathroom and tubs is updated. The shared shower was a little rustic, but that just was a lesson for me to get a room with a shower in the room next time. We will definitely return!


They thought of everything.

4,4 sur juillet 04, 2012

The accommodations were great. Lots of extras are available, and there is lots to do if you are active or prefer a quieter visit. They have quite a knack for making each guest feel comfortable and welcome. They have thought of everything one may possibly want and have it easily accessible. They knew all the answers to the questions about what was happening in town. Nice portions, fabulous beginnings and endings, but only OK entrees.


My Scanlon Visit

2,8 sur juillet 02, 2012

Quiet rooms, breakfast average. Has an old-er lived in feel.


Amazing weekend vacation!

5 sur juin 25, 2012

Staying here for a weekend was great! We met many nice and fun people, and had great outdoor adventures!!


A very peaceful place

4,6 sur juin 25, 2012

This was our first stay at a Bed & breakfast and it was wonderful. Mary, Kirsten and the rest of the straff were wondeful. The breakfast is Great! Mary can cook up a storm!! The rooms were clean, quiet, and the bed was sooo comfortable! I would highly recommend the Scanlon House. In my opinion, Lanesboro is one of the best kept secrets that lies only 3 hours from where I live. I will definitely go back. Great restaurants, great bike trail and wonderfully relaxing atmosphere. Pat & Jane Mueller Iowa


Charming B&B

3,2 sur juin 21, 2012

Beautiful B&B. The grounds were immaculate! I did not care for the eggs at the breakfast and there was a long wait between the 1st and 2nd course, otherwise everything else was great!


June 2012

5 sur juin 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Primose Rose. In was peaceful, quiet, and just lovely. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, and the owners very accomodating.


A Great Getaway

5 sur juin 17, 2012

We have a wonderful stay. For the suite we had came with a private parking spot which was fantastic. Our Hostess's did a great job of caring for our every need. The little extra's made it just that much better. We would definitely stay there again if in the area. Thanks for a memorable stay.


Couldn't of asked for a better weekend get away!

4,6 sur juin 03, 2012

Our room was charming and cozy, especially the very comfortable bed. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. The highlights of our stay were the incredible breakfasts everyday and relaxing on the beautiful grounds. A nice change a pace from our usually busy life's.


Great retreat

5 sur mai 25, 2012

Great place to relax - amenities abound. Soooo clean. Elegant, delicious breakfast.


Weekend Getaway

3,8 sur mai 17, 2012

This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast so we weren't really sure what to totally expect. It was very charming and comfortable. The room we stayed in was right off the kitchen area therefore we were a little on edge about making any "noise". However we did have our own private entrance and parking. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic!!! And we really enjoyed sharing conversation with the other guests. We definitely would return to the Scanlan House - great hospitality!!! Thanks!


Historic Scanlan House a Delightful Getaway

4,8 sur mai 16, 2012

This is a lovely, Victorian B&B on the skirt of Main Street, Lanesboro. Our Sunrise room and bath were clean and handsomely decorated. Staff was friendly and accommodating. And breakfast on Sunday a.m. was homemade delicious with its just-right portions. We enjoyed glasses of wine on the front porch in the late afternoon; and cups of coffee in the yard in the early morning. This B&B is a healthy walk to/fro downtown shops, restaurants and theater; and walking/biking trails. We had a wonderful weekend in Lanesboro.


A wonderful Get Away!

4,8 sur mai 12, 2012

had a wonderful time... so enjoyed the room, the setting, the meal, the bikes! A great get away that really was the highlight of our time away!


Lovely Home, Friendly Inn-keeper

4,6 sur mai 11, 2012

A lovely old home surrounded by well tended landscape. Service was top notch. Our room had only a tub so check room selection if you prefer a shower.


Charming B&B

4,4 sur mai 02, 2012

lovely weekend in Lanesboro and the ambiance at the B&B is outstanding.


26th wedding anniversary

4,8 sur avril 28, 2012

We loved the Scanlan house! We had stayed there once before and always wanted to return for another stay. We were there in 1989 which is when the owners had recently purchased the house. We were so impressed on all the improvements or should I say additions of private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs in all the rooms. Mary is a great hostess and cook. We love all the detail to the hospitality. Lansboro is a charming town and the The Commenwealth Theater was really fun. We enjoyed our stay and want to come back in the summer when the gardens at The Scanlan house will be in full bloom!


Comfortable Scanlan

4,0 sur mars 14, 2012

Quaint B&B in Lanesboro. Within walking distance of the main street shops in town!


Excellent B&B

5 sur mars 09, 2012

Wonderful accommodations and excellent breakfast. A great place to stay.


one night get away

5 sur mars 06, 2012

My husband and i spent a monday night at the Scanlan house and loved it. We were given a lot of info about what would be open due to the season and we both were happy to know this and it helped us plan our stay easier. great breakfast and company for breakfast with the other guests. the bad thing was going back home and back to work. would love to have stayed another night.


Great B&B Stay

4,4 sur mars 06, 2012

Our Stay at the Scanlan House was great. We especially enjoyed the wonderful breakfast.


You won't be disappointed

5 sur février 19, 2012

Kirsten was a great host. She is very friendly but doesn't intrude on your space. The accommodations were more than expected. We will return. -- Mark


A fantastic retreat in Southern Minnesota

4,8 sur février 16, 2012

As we took a leisurely drive from the Twin Cities to Lanesboro, my wife and I commented on how beautiful the rolling hills, bluffs and winding streams were. As we pulled into the charming town and explored the quiet streets, we began to notice numerous B & B’s with cars parked outside. They all looked quaint, quiet and serene. The most beautiful and welcoming was our choice for the night, The Scanlon House. It was more than we expected both inside and out. The owner, Mary, greeted us and had a fresh pot of coffee brewing to take off the February chill. Our room was spacious and extremely well appointed, including a private whirlpool tub and half bath. The breakfast was delicious and we left extremely rested and ready to start our journey home. I would highly recommend this Inn to any couple looking for a respite from your busy life. We actually made a reservation for the summer before we left.


cozy in the winter

4,0 sur janvier 19, 2012

cozy victorian room! went in january 2012 and cuddled near our fire in the fireplace, long bubble bath with sunlight streaming in beautiful colored glass windows, extremely comfy bed!! Breakfast was prompt and delicious!! Just a warning - if you come in winter, be prepared for the entire town of Lanesboro to be shut down with the exception of a pub, a pizza/sub place and a coffee shop - and the latter 2 close at 8. Bring plenty of snacks and wine and you won't even need to leave your room!!


EXCELLENT

4,6 sur décembre 20, 2011

This was our 3rd time to the Scanlan House in Lanesboro. It is our favorite B&B. It is so romantic and quiet. Kirsten is absolutely the best. The breakfast is to die for. We enjoy coming here for our getaway of romance and relaxation. Can't wait to go back.


Scanlan House

5 sur décembre 07, 2011

Very comfortable, quiet, wonderful food. Room was welcoming! The fresh fruit tray delivered to the room was incredible! Thoroughly enjoyed it! Kirsten was also very friendly.


Romantic Getaway

4,0 sur décembre 02, 2011

The breakfasts were amazing and the inn keepers very friendly.


Another outstanding visit

5 sur novembre 27, 2011

Two rooms, four people, B&B Holiday tour was fun and worth the money.


First time B&B stay went GREAT!

4,2 sur novembre 09, 2011

This was the first B&B stay for my wife and I. We stayed at the Scanlan House in Lanesboro and have absolutely no complaints. Great property, excellent breakfast and an overall great experience.


Enjoyable small town hospitality

4,0 sur novembre 08, 2011

Really enjoyed the elegance, yet comfortable hominess of the Scanlon house. Had some nice visits when coming and going, made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was Amazing! Great tips on dining out as well, we have recommened the Scanlon House to several friends already.


Amazing

5 sur octobre 30, 2011

The home was absolutely beautiful. The ladies that run the place were wonderful. Everything was clean and neat. The room was very unique. I would also like to add that I have celiac disease and because of this I have dietary needs and meals were prepared just for me. We could not have asked for a better experience and we have already booked our stay for next year.


A great place for casual bikers

3,8 sur octobre 27, 2011

This B & B has abundant character, heavy with the atmosphere of the period this old Victorian lady represents. It has a good location, several rooms to choose from and an exceptional breakfast. Our room was quite comfortable, but lacked a place to hang clothing. We would stay there again if we returned to the area for biking.


Safari Suite

4,8 sur octobre 27, 2011

What a fun place to stay! We had our own deck with tons of seating, cheese/cracker plate AND fresh fruit plate WAITING for us! Loved the decorations- a lot of little personal touches: robes, lip balm, a fleece blanket to cover up with, magazines in the room! This was our second stay and we plan to come back next year!


wonderful!

5 sur octobre 24, 2011

Our stay was a mother/daughter get away. The Scanlon made it very special. We really enjoyed the community theater and the amish tour as well. We will certainly be back. Thank you!


Perfect for a Mother/Daughter Getaway!

5 sur octobre 23, 2011

I never had stayed at a B&B before, now I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Wish we could have stayed another night.


Fabulous!!!

5 sur octobre 18, 2011

I took my wife here for a weekend in the fall because she had wanted to stay at a B&B (this was our first experience). This was absolutely fabulous! We would go the the historic scanlan house again and again.


a little slice of heaven

4,2 sur octobre 12, 2011

The Scanlon House is the most beautiful B&B..The room was great, especially the whirlpool tub! The breakfasts were amazing, but for me a little too much on the sugary side. Having said that, dessert for breakfast is a "sweet" idea. I would also recommend stocking up on green tea, something more and more people are drinking. I also loved the relaxed atmosphere of settling up your bill when you come in and leaving without any need to check out. I loved Lanesboro!!

Réponse du propriétaire
We try not to give to much of this information while serving breakfast simply because many people do not like sugar free and low fat products. It seems if they know, they leave it rather than try it. But we actually try not to use to much sugar in the breakfasts. The muffins have no added sugar with the exception of the sugar sprinkle on the top and the ingredients in them (like chocolate). Our yogurt is sugar and fat free, the whipped cream we use is a non-dairy sugar free and the granola should only have a minimal amount of sugar in it. However... yes... the desert has plenty of sugar in it. LOL But it's really tough to turn down! Gotta think of it as your energy boost for the day. :) Adding green tea to the tea collection will not be a problem and is a very good idea. I appreciate the positive feedback and your suggestions! It really helps us to know what we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable. :)


A great Bed & Breakfast.

5 sur octobre 04, 2011

We have stayed at the Historic Scanlon House twice in the past month and it was a great experience both times. Excellent breakfast and room. We will be returning in the future.


Scanlon House

3,2 sur octobre 03, 2011

We went to Lanesboro primarily to bike on the trails and also knew they had great B&B's.


Scanlan House B&B

3,2 sur septembre 28, 2011

Didn't understand that there was no shower available, only a tub, until we got to our room. That kind of information is critical to know ahead of time.

Réponse du propriétaire
Please note that all descriptions on the website/brochure are completely accurate. It states exactly what we offer in each room. We were capable of putting a private bath in “EVERY” room. Six out the seven rooms have two-person whirlpools, but only four rooms also have a shower. I am always available for questions via phone or email and I would be happy to help you find the room(s) that would suit your specific needs. If you are a "Shower" person... That is a GREAT question to ask whenever you make a reservation at any Bed and Breakfast, as space can be limited in early 1800 homes. Thank you for the review and the kind reminder to others.... Always ask questions. :)


extra vacation get away

4,2 sur septembre 27, 2011

The host was very accomodating. The quality and selection of food rates among the best that I have experienced. We enjoyed conversing with the other guests. At age 72, I am finding that there is yet a lot to learn from others.


2 night stay

4,4 sur septembre 25, 2011

Our room was beautiful. The private balcony and large whirlpool tub were a special treat. The bed and linens were by far the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The extensive DVD library and distance from town were two unexpected convienences. You do not leave the breakfast table hungry. Both mornings were equally wonderful.


September Stay

5 sur septembre 22, 2011

We like it here so much that we have returned every September for the last four years and have already booked for next year. Lovely, relaxing, beautiful, friendly, refreshing - our favorite B&B!


Fantastic stay in a beautiful house!

4,0 sur septembre 21, 2011

We absolutely loved Scanlan House! The innkeepers were so friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and clean, and we loved the 24-hour pantry area for guests. Decor and outdoor areas are gorgeous! Delicious, huge breakfast--we definitely will plan to return again soon!


Honeymoon

5 sur septembre 18, 2011

I surprised my wife with a surpise honeymoon to Lanesboro, MN. The Scanlan House Bed & Breakfast was the last destination on our trip. Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. The staff is very friendly, and makes you feel right at home. The four course meal was amazing, and left you feeling very full and satisfied. We will definetely be returning for future visits.


Our stay was too short!

3,6 sur septembre 17, 2011

The Scanlon House is truly dressed to the Nines! It is like staying in a Victorian Museum. Mary + Kirsten are very friendly and helpful, made us feel like family. The breakfast was outstanding....tasty, fresh and well presented. Two thumbs up from both of us. Our only regret....we needed another night or two enjoy the property and village of Lanesboro.


Delightful

4,0 sur septembre 13, 2011

Scanlon House is in a very good location from downtown Lanesboro and access to trails. Our host, Kirsten, is the perfect combination of professional and friendly. Our room looked exactly like the website pictures. Breakfast was delicious and Kirsten works with your dietary needs. I recommend staying here.


nice stay

3,8 sur septembre 07, 2011

The service was great as was the food and location. The room was a teeny bit... oh I don't know, 'at-the-early-stages-of-falling-apart' - peeling wallpaper, cracked ceiling that kind of stuff. I'd stay there again though.

Réponse du propriétaire
I only have one guest room with wallpaper on the ceiling... so this was easy to narrow down. Yes, there is a very small corner of wallpaper above the television set in the corner that has peeled off the ceiling. This is a "Brand New" ceiling & new wallpaper that had the unfornate circumstance of a water leak from an air conditioner run off on the mini roof dormer above that corner. We also had a small area in the dining room affected. So last week we actually replaced a medium size section of the roof to cure the problem. The ceiling will be repaired but not until November when off season begins. Since this is purely cosmetic and minor... we decided it was not worth cancelling peoples long term reservations for, as this fix does require a couple of days to repair. As we appreciate all feed back.. it would be nice if any guests the view something like this in any room to actually let Innkeepers know personally. We only found this water leak due to the guest that was staying in the room the evening it happened. They noticed new water marks during their stay. Thanks again for your feedback! We always appreciate it.


Comfortable, elegant and great location

5 sur septembre 06, 2011

Beautiful rooms - the bed was very comfortable. Very clean. Breakfast was delicious but the best part was meeting all the other guests at breakfast and getting tips on the best bike trails. Many of the guests stay there every year they visit Lanesboro so we got alot of great advice from them. They do breakfast at the same time for everyone and it's served at a very elegant dining table in a beautiful victorian decorated room. The breakfast was incredible - hard to not eat too much before our bike ride. Also. it was just a short walk into town - maybe a fifteen minute walk through a quiet neighborhood and past a park, and several other B & B's or a five minute bike ride.


Safari Suite

4,8 sur août 30, 2011

We had a wonderful night in the Safari Suite. It is luxuriously and tastefully decorated. The sitting area is a comfortable place to relax. We also enjoyed the private porch where we ate a delicious breakfast. The staff were friendly and hospitable, but also gave us the privacy we desired.


Fabulous experience at Historic Scanlan House B & B Inn

4,0 sur août 30, 2011

We were made to feel welcome at this B & B from the moment we stepped onto their property! The breakfasts were outstanding (who has dessert for breakfast? We did, and it was wonderful!). The room was clean, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi bath, and the chocolates on the pillows were a nice touch. They had bikes for us to use, which was convenient. Each of the staff members couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming. We loved this Bed and Breakfast Inn, and fell in love with Lanesboro, too!


Our weekend in Lanesboro

5 sur août 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Scanlan house very much. The food was terrific, the friendliness of the staff was great and the relaxing private atmosphere was just what we needed.


Memorable stay at the Historic Scanlan House!

4,6 sur août 21, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Historic Scanlan House, we felt right at home, thanks to Kirsten's warm hospitality. We were able to check in early, and appreciated all of Kirsten's recommendations on where to go and what to see in Lanesboro. The breakfasts were phenominal and the conversations with other guests while dining were enjoyable. We will always remember this trip to Lanesboro and our stay at the Historic Scanlan House because we got engaged while kayaking on the Root River! We would love to go back and will recommend Lanesboro and the Historic Scanlan House to our friends. -Andrea and Rodrigo

Réponse du propriétaire
Andrea dn Rodrigo - I wanted to thank you for your kind review and Congratulate you on your engagement! I love hearing when my guests get engaged. And while kayaking no less! That is pretty darn creative. :) May you have many happy years filled with a treasure trove of beautiful memories! All my best...


A wonderful getaway

4,6 sur août 14, 2011

Our stay at the Scanlon House was a perfect way to celebrate our first anniversary. We were very pleased with our accomodations and the breakfasts each morning were wonderful! We will definitely be returning to Lanesboro and will hope for a reservation at the Scanlon House again!


St. Cloud

3,8 sur août 14, 2011

Excellent level so service and beautiful surroundings. Very pleasant experience...again.


Scanlon B&B - Great Stay; Wonderful Breakfast

4,6 sur août 13, 2011

My husband and I spent a low-key Sunday evening at the Scanlon House and it was everything I hoped. When we checked in, Kirsten's mother welcomed us and provided many helpful details about the home, what is available to us, and items of local interest. The room was very nicely appointed and the bed was quite comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. We had do quite a bit of walking to work some of it off. I would highly recommend the Scanlon House.


Our First Visit to Lanesboro

4,8 sur août 09, 2011

We were warmly greeted by our hostess and given a tour of the beautiful Scanlon House. Then off to dine at the City Hall (wonderful lamb chops and steak!) A walk around main street and back to visit on the lawn as dusk descended... with fireflies flitting all around us. It was fairy tale land. We retired with a delicious cup of mint hot chocolate to a very quiet rest in our comfortable room. Breakfast was lovely... certainly more than any of us needed! Biking in the rain to Whelan was an experience but didn't hamper our fun. Strolling the shops in town was great fun and we found some good treasures. The trip ended with a jaunt to Avarian Acrea for some birding and tips on feed. We so appreciated the warmth of the staff and the cozy stay at the beautiful Scanlon House and will want to return again sometime.


Excellent stay

5 sur août 08, 2011

We loved the gardens at the Scanlan - we enjoyed sitting out among the flowers on the beautiful furniture - very relaxing stay


First Time at a Bed and Breaksfast

5 sur août 08, 2011

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a bed and breakfast. The Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast exceed what we expected of a bed and breakfast. We plan to stay at the Scanlan again in the future


Great get-away

4,0 sur août 08, 2011

We were given a friendly reception. There are ample hot drinks and DVD's available, beautiful gardens, and lots to do in the area. Quiet! We didn't know there was anyone else in the house until breakfast.


Lanesboro gem

4,4 sur août 05, 2011

Welcoming inn keepers, wonderful house, yummy food, excellent air conditioning during a couple of hot summer nights, and a marvelous selection of DVD's made our two night stay one of the best we've had at a B&B. I'd definitely stay here again!


Beautiful B and B in Southeastern MN

5 sur juillet 29, 2011

We enjoyed one night at the Scanlon House for an anniversary celebration. It is a gorgeous old house in a picturesque town. The flowers were beautiful and the yard was perfect for sitting under a shade tree to relax and read. The room we had was spacious, immaculate and filled with every ammenity you can imagine. We loved the comfortable king-sized bed and the 2-person whirlpool tub. It had air conditioning which was a plus on the hot, humid night were were there. There was a TV, DVD player (lots of movies available for check out), CD player with CDs, coffeemaker, mini-fridge, and a mini bar in the hall. They didn't miss a thing!! The gourmet breakfast was fabulous and filling. You can rent bikes at the house to ride the nearby bike trails. We want to go back and stay longer next time!!


Scanlan House - relaxing getaway

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2011

At the recommendation of our children we booked our time at the Scanlan House. Beautifully kept grounds and Mary greeted us. Our room was very comfortable. The location was great. Close to just about everything. Breakfast was outstanding. Would have liked a shower, there was only a tub, but that is the only change we would make. Great place.


anniversary getaway

3,2 sur juillet 27, 2011

We had two wonderful nights. The innkeepers were great, very easy going and pleasant. I'm usually not a bed and breakfast guy but the rooms were comfortable, the food was good. We enjoyed our stay.


Scanlan House Best B&B Value

5 sur juillet 25, 2011

Thew rooms were large and comfortable, each having its own air conditioning unit. (It was very hot and humid during our stay.) The three course breakfast was a great value, included in the price, and they cater to people with dietary restrictions. Had they not told us about the sugar-free/gluten free meal we were eating, we could not have guessed. There is a great discount for renting bike while at the Scanlan House, and if you want to exchange it, they have a deal with the General Store in Lanesborowhere you can get the bike you want. Awesome stay! Would do it again!


Continued excellence

4,0 sur juillet 21, 2011

This was our third or fourth stay at the Scanlan House. As always, it lived up to our high expectations. Room was clean and neat. Breakfast was SUPERB! Grounds are neatly and tastefully decorted with a profusion of flowers making it a very pleasant experience! Hosts were friendly as always. Bob & Linda Cedar Falls, IA


Late June visit - sweltering couple of days

4,4 sur juillet 15, 2011

We would go back in a heartbeat. Everything was wonderful. Hostesses with the mostest!!!! From the cotton candy incident (inside joke) to the amazing breakfasts to the wealth of local knowledge, this was a trip to remember and repeat. Would look no further than the Scanlan House.


wonderful stay at the Scanlan house

4,8 sur juillet 14, 2011

I was introduced to dessert for breakfast with a wonderful crepe filled with ice cream, and topped with berries, chocolate, and whipped cream.


Staying at Scanlon House

4,2 sur juillet 13, 2011

I really enjoyed the balcony off of the Masquerade Room. We used it a lot. The breakfasts were very, very good!


Scanlan House B & B

4,8 sur juillet 13, 2011

My husband and I were at the Scanlan House last year and secided to make it an annual stop in Lanesboro. The yard is beautiful this time of year with many areas to sit under a shady tree and admire the flower gardens. The house is decorated with so many personal touches, right down to old fashioned hats we tried on for pictures. It made for a fun memory. Kirsten and her mother are very friendly and made us feel at ease right away. The beds sleep like a dream, and we could easily gain 5 lbs on the delicious breakfast, served with dessert! We recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a great get away.


Best Bed and Breakfast we've stayed

5 sur juillet 13, 2011

The Historic Scanlan House Bed and Breakfast has become our favorite. The breakfast is so delicious that I think it has spoiled us as no other B&B has offered such a meal. The rooms are all different and offer their own charm and character. The grounds are impeccable and peaceful. The staff is over the top friendly. It may seem a bit more expensive, but the meal more than makes up for this as you do not need to eat lunch!! I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. J&L Rambo


1st time stay.. 1st class level!

5 sur juillet 11, 2011

As a couple from Grand Forks, ND, we had not ventured to southern MN before and decided to stay over at this Bed and Breakfast, and then take part in a tour of the Amish community. Our time at Scanlan was lovely.. the beautiful Sunrise Suite was a good place to relax and feel rejuvenated. Outdoors was a floral gift to the senses. The wonderful brunch was as tasty as could be, as was the chance for us to visit with two other couples that had diverse and interesting lives. The mom/daughter duo tended to our needs and were friendly and very hospitable. It will be pretty difficult to find care at this level at any other B & B- We highly recommend the experience to others!


Our stay at the Scanlan House

3,0 sur juillet 08, 2011

We stayed here for one night in July 2011. It is a lovely home. Every space is filled with knick knacks and authentic period decor. We stayed in the Masquerade Room, specifically because it had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs - a nice place to sit and enjoy the outdoors. We have stayed in B & B's all over Europe and have found that European B & B's are a much better value for the money. $145 for one night's lodging and a good breakfast is a bit too much, in our opinion.


Lovely Stay at the Historic Scanlon B&B

4,4 sur juillet 06, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this B&B. We were greeted when we first arrived and made to feel at home immediately. The room we stayed in was very nice (the Masquerade Room)... we especially liked the small balcony and the huge whirlpool tub. We also appreciated they provide candles to light, a huge movie selection, games, beverages, etc. Breakfast was delicious and we definitely had enough to eat. Also, Lanesboro is such a cute little town with plenty to do... cute shops, biking, tubing, walking, etc. We will definitely plan to visit Lanesboro and this B&B again.


Historic Scanlong House Bed & Breakfast Inn

3,8 sur juin 27, 2011

I have rather severe dietary restrictions, and The Scanlan House provided a three-course gourmet breakfast that met them assiduously.


summer stay at Scanlan B&B

4,2 sur juin 26, 2011

Great stay at the Scanlan B&B. The food and service were exceptional. Proximity to downtown was great. Just far enough to walk off that dinner, but not to far where you felt you needed to drive! The only disappointment was the internet connection. The room we stayed in the internet was hit or miss. The bright side is that we didn't want to spend much time on the web while we were there.


Quintessential B&B

4,4 sur juin 17, 2011

The Scanlan House is our standard for what we expect when we go to any other B&B. The historic house if beautiful, well cared for, and filled with convenient amenities. The hosts are engagingly friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful without being intrusive. The rooms with private baths, are comfortable and cozy. The three course breakfasts were delicious. If you’re going to be visiting Lanesboro and want a first class B&B experience the Scanlan House will not disappoint.


Exceeded expectations in most categories

4,2 sur juin 15, 2011

We were made to feel very much at home in this huge Victorian mansion. Now that we've seen the other rooms, we want to try a new one on our next stay.


Safari Suite

4,2 sur juin 14, 2011

The service was incredible - we got to eat our fabulous breakfast on our private porch or in our room. I loved the little details: rubber duckies in the tub, the cat that visited our porch, stepstool to the bed, extra blankets in the tv area, the journal for guests to write in. Thank you for making this a wonderful 10th anniversary!


RELAXING

5 sur juin 14, 2011

I would highly recommend staying at the Scanlan House B&B, if you want to experience the following: Beautiful, clean, inviting rooms; wonderful, filling food and outstanding service. Our room was clean and inviting and owners were friendly and accomodating. We stayed in the safari room which has a private entrance and parking spot. (An exceptional extra touch). The fresh fruit and champaigne in our room after dinner, was the icing on the cake! The breakfast, which was served to us in our room (another perk of the safari room) was outstanding and very filling. My husband and i really needed a private get away and we got everything we needed. I just can't say enough about the service we received other than we plan to make this an annual trip!


Great stay

4,6 sur juin 11, 2011

Could some adaptation for handicapped individuals such as the bed and the tub. Very impressed by the level of cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff. The staff was very accommodating. The fruit tray and champagne the first evening was a really nice touch. I would recommend this B&B to others. This was our first stay at a B & B and I look forward to another opportunity to stay.


Wonderful Visit

4,2 sur juin 08, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Historic Scanlan House. The Innkeepers were very warm and welcoming and the food was fantastic. We would stay there again with no hesitation.


The greatest ever!

5 sur juin 08, 2011

The house was beautiful, the grounds were relaxing and comfortable, the rooms - great! Clean as you could ever imagine, the food - wonderful! Not one bad thing I could say about Scanlan House!


Wonderful even the second time around

4,6 sur juin 07, 2011

I was very impressed with everything the Scalan House had to offer. It was a perfect spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Twin Cities. Great R&R spot. The rooms were perfect. The housekeeping was immaculent. The breakfast was fantastic. We have already booked another room for September. That will be our third visit to Lanesboro in 4 months. Excellent all around.


Historic Scanlon House B&B June 1, 2/2011

3,4 sur juin 06, 2011

Nice large room, but not much space to hang clothes. The whirlpool bath was very nice after a long bike ride. Breakfast was good and certainly filling. Lanesboro has a couple excellent restaurants. Fun time.


Historic Scanlan House - a wedding night wonder!

4,6 sur juin 05, 2011

We booked the Safari Suite for our wedding night in May 2011, and we were VERY impressed with all aspects of our stay. The room was elaborately decorated, and the common areas of the house were SO interesting to explore. Breakfast was one of the tastiest I've had in ages, delivered right to the sitting area of our suite. Upon checkout, we booked the same suite for our one-year anniversary weekend. I think we'll make it our new tradition.


Lovely, Lovely Stay!

5 sur mai 31, 2011

Beautiful accomodations, friendly staff, breakfast that was as appealing to the eye as it was to the palate! Most certainly will recommend to others!


Historic Scanlon House is awesome

5 sur mai 31, 2011

We made a last minute decision to stop in Lanesboror on our way home from Galena, and chose the Scanlon House. We became a little bit lost finding Lanesboro and the innkeeper helped us find the right road. The room was great, and the breakfast was top notch.


Couldn't think of anything needing improvement!

5 sur mai 30, 2011

We spent two nights at the Historic Scanlan House during the quiet week before Memorial Day. We had a beautiful room (Sunrise Suite), exceptional hospitality, and a delicious breakfast. Kirsten and Mary were friendly and helpful as we asked for suggestions for dining in the area. Excellent place to stay in a cute little town!


Scanlon House Bed 7 Breakfast Inn

5 sur mai 24, 2011

I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast for people to stay. Mary and Kristen are very friendly and nice. Make you feel like you are at home. Good food and very nice rooms. Can help yourself to snacks, tea, coffee, and DVD movies.


Scanlan House scoop

4,6 sur mai 06, 2011

My husband and I love the Scanlan House. We try to get there at least once or twice a year. Kirsten and Mary are simply wonderful hostesses. The rooms are adorably kept and extremely clean. The breakfasts are to die for - 3 courses - with enough food to take along for lunch later. We only had to eat once more each day! We hope to continue our visits for many years to come.


WEEKEND REVIEW

3,2 sur mai 04, 2011

Room and food were ok. Really missed having a shower in the room. Food the first morning was not as good as the second.

Réponse du propriétaire
Please note that all descriptions on the website/brochure are completely accurate. It states exactly what we offer in each room. We were capable of putting a private bath in “EVERY” room. Six out the seven rooms have two-person whirlpools, but only four rooms also have a shower. I am always available for questions via phone or email and I would be happy to help you find the room(s) that would suit your specific needs. I was sad to see that one breakfast was not as full of flavor as the other. Since we are continuously trying new menus, it would benefit us significantly if “all” guests would let us know their personal thoughts or opinions about an individual menu. We are devoted to what we do and we want to make it an awesome experience for you. Your feedback can only make us better. (I however do not know which menu that was being referred to… would love it if you would contact me. As a chef… I am always up for a new challenge and making changes.) Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to make the review! We really do appreciate it. Kirsten


Nice inn, not quite Victorian

3,2 sur avril 30, 2011

Friendly, helpful owner who went out of her way to make us comfortable and well cared for. Decor is nice but a bit dowdy. Rooms are well laid out but small. Food was plentiful but too much sugar and sweets and less wholesome fare. Location is excellent and parking was easy. A nice town to visit. Be sure to take in the history center, an impressive collection. Be aware that dining opportunities are limited out of season.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are fond of the review feature because it not only helps to correct flaws or address issues of concern from our guests but also lets us know when we are doing a proficient job. I am responding only because I am not sure that a very small portion of this assessment wholly defines our accommodations. B & B guest rooms can be diverse sizes. Descriptions online are specific and all guests have the opportunity of choosing the space (small or large) that best suits their needs. (See virtual tours on website) We are very mindful about serving our legendary healthy/wholesome breakfast. We use fresh fruit and produce on a daily basis along with lean meats, no or low sugar content and low fat mixing products and grains including our homemade muffins made in diverse flavors (sometimes with chocolate). However our breakfasts end with a desert (made with sugar). That is optional to all guests and is the only type of sweet that we serve. We do work with dietary needs and allergies. If there is ever a special request… just let us know when making the reservation or checking in. We are more than happy to provide a wonderful savory breakfast that would be within your diet restrictions. We appreciate all input and thank you for taking the time to review our property. ¿


Loved It

4,6 sur avril 20, 2011

We booked our room online five days before our arrival. The website made it easy for us to choose a room - worry free! Our room (sunrise room )was huge. The king-size bed was so comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere. We came here in early Spring - We're booking our next trip this fall. I can hardly wait.


Relaxed and Comfortable stay

4,6 sur mars 30, 2011

We went for a weekend trip recently and even though downtown was not as busy during the summer, we had a great time. It's our first time in Scanlan and Kirsten is very nice and accomodating.Our room was very nice and comfortable. We enjoyed the balcony in our room and we had coffee in the morning even if it was quite chilly. Breakfast was good and has a very elegant setting and we had dessert served. We will come back again and stay in this place on the summer.


Excellent stay

4,6 sur mars 09, 2011

Our favorite thing about Scanlan was the amazing comfort of the room we stayed in - temperature, amenities, and especially the fantastic sheets! We would definitely return.


First time B&B experience - outstanding!

4,4 sur mars 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Historic Scanlan House in the Steeple Suite. It was our first time at a B&B, we weren't quite sure what to expect. The house itself was beautiful - we arrived at night and it was all lit up. I can't comment on the landscaping (it was the dead of winter), but the outside looked well kept. The entry and lounges were very nice and clean. The room was immaculate. The bed was so luxurious...my husband and I have a sleep number bed and tend to be very picky about beds...this was perfect for both of us! Oh, and whatever they use to launder their linens is wonderful - everything smells amazing! I especially enjoyed cuddling up in their fuzzy robes. The breakfast. Oh.My.Gawd. First course was a yogurt parfait with granola, blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries. There was also assorted fruit on the side. The 2nd course was an omlette with feta cheese (I think) which was also baked with cheese on top. This was served with an apple cinnamon muffin (yumm!). And don't forget dessert! Oh yeah, you get dessert for breakfast! A delicious crepe stuffed with ice cream and topped with raspberry and chocolate sauce, sprinkled with assorted berries and powdered sugar. You'll be full until 2-3pm, at least. Enjoy!


Warm winter getaway!

4,8 sur février 16, 2011

My wife and I decided to get away from home for Valentine's weekend. We found Scanlan House online and were immediately impresssed with the house and amenities. We booked for two nights so we could get in some skiing on the Root River Trail and were not disappointed. The Scanlan House breakfasts are famous everywhere you go in Lanesboro. Our room was perfect on our arrival and had everythign we needed for a romantic, relaxing weekend.


A great Place!

4,6 sur décembre 08, 2010

The rooms were lovely and the hospitality is the best I have ever had at a B&B. In regards to the food my husband said it was the best breakfast he's had in his life.


nice, cozy stay

3,4 sur novembre 24, 2010

Found the Scanlan House to be quite comfortable and cozy. Short walk to town for dinner. Self serve coffee, tea, hot cocoa for guests was a nice plus. Breakfast was yummy and filling. Mary and Kristin (owners) were very nice. Would stay again.


Our 1st B&B Experience

4,2 sur novembre 20, 2010

We chose the Masquerade Room for the oversized whirlpool for two and the turret balcony for anniversary. We couldn't have been more pleased. The room was wonderful, the whirpool and turret balcony lived up to our expectations and the breakfast was fabulous. We will DEFINITELY stay here again!!


Great B&B!

4,6 sur novembre 04, 2010

My husband stayed at the Scanlan House for 2 nights celebrating our 1 year anniversary. This was our first time at a B&B. The room and house was wonderful, we felt very welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the Steeple Suite, and we loved having the 2 person whirlpool in our room. The breakfasts both mornings were amazing! We also enjoyed the kitchenette area where we could help ourselves to refreshments anytime. Our stay at Scanlan House felt very romantic and special--we definitely want to come back again!


Very inviting

4,2 sur novembre 03, 2010

Unfortunately it was record lows and very windy the week we stayed at the Scanlan house. Fortunately warmth, hot cider, and fresh cookies were provided in the afternoon along with comfortable furniture to relax in. The breakfast was quite large and very good.


Charming Inn in beautiful area

4,2 sur octobre 22, 2010

The room was one of the best we have stayed in. Very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious but almost too much. We would definitely consider staying there again.


Our first experience at a B&B

5 sur octobre 18, 2010

This was our first experience at a B&B and I can say we picked the best place to try it on. We found the Hostess most helpful, cheerful and accomodating. We would choose the Scanlon House again. It was a great experience.


Beautiful B&B

3,4 sur octobre 14, 2010

The Scanlan House is a beautiful home with all the niceities of a bed and breakfast. Food was fabulous as was the service. Upon taking a close look though the home was in need of repairs, wallpaper falling and cobwebs in many corners.

Réponse du propriétaire
Our “Honey Do” list is always being added to. But as much as I hate to say it…. Sometimes a water leak from too much rain or a guest overflows a tub, etc… messes with things such as glue for wallpaper and so on. (We of course dislike those obscurities ourselves) Small things are of course dealt with instantaneously. Our challenge for minor things that happen during the summer is the construction time frame. Those are regularly fixed during the off season. If it is a major thing… It is of course addressed at once and taken care of. We are unable to tackle small interior construction projects that may be disturbing to the guests or make us close for a week or longer during our brief five month season. Re: Cobwebs – That is completely unacceptable! We will make sure that not only our staff but we the owners make every attempt to not let that materialize again. Our Guarantee and Promise to You: The Historic Scanlan House B & B has been operating for 26 years; it has had 2 million dollars in renovations in that time frame. We have always strived to be the “BEST” at what we do and have spared no expense. We will “always” continue to do so. Substandard is not in our vocabulary. Thank you so much for your review! Without guests feedback we would never know what we doing right or wrong.


Scanlan House Bed & Breakfast Inn

4,0 sur octobre 09, 2010

We only stayed one night, wish it could have been longer. Fabulous breakfast and the other guests were interesting to talk to. Staff were nice to talk to as well and not only friendly, but helpful with any questions. All the rooms were beautifully decorated with antiques and was like going through an antique shop. Private whirlpool was nice too. Lots of outdoor sitting areas on the grounds. Located in a quiet neighborhood just a short drive to downtown to shop. Also close to bike trail, Amish tour leaves from General Store, and Lanesboro is located in a valley with wonderful fall colored treed scenery all around it. There is are two churches in the middle of town on a very high peak to overlook the town and a dam. There also is a park for camping. Something for everyone!


Great Breakfasts

4,6 sur septembre 06, 2010

Breakfasts were outstanding!


Outstanding B & B Experience

4,6 sur septembre 02, 2010

House and premise were beautiful. Pictures can not depict the actual beauty of this Inn. Service was outstanding and the breakfast served was delicious. Breakfast service had a cozy home style atmosphere. Rooms were cozy with beautiful specialized decor of theme for the room and very quiet. If you do not reserve a room at this B & B you are truly missing the boat....Great value...Outstanding Inn Keeper.... Cudos to Kirsten on a very well run B & B.


Excellent First Experience at B&B!

4,0 sur septembre 01, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Scanlan House! It was nice to relax and enjoy some quiet time. Thank you!


Not a great experience

2,2 sur décembre 03, 2009

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, we could tell things were missing right away (like someone had quickly finished setting it up). The shampoo and conditioner bottles that were set up were totally empty, meaning someone had used them and they just set them up- not very high standards of cleanliness there. The staff was late on everything, the coffee was an hour late both mornings, and the breakfast was at least 20 minutes late both mornings. They weren't ever in the house when we needed them (dripping wet, no shampoo or conditioner, etc). It was just not great, especially for the money. On the positive end, they allowed us to adjust our package deal when we couldn't do certain items and the breakfast, though late, was good. They also have a neat little butlers pantry with all sorts of hot drinks and a couple snacks. However, we won't visit this inn again.


Off peak in Lanesboro

4,0 sur avril 10, 2009

The stay was so refreshing. the little town basically shuts down in the winter so it was like we have the town to ourselves. It was the perfect getaway. We felt like royalty in that house!


Historic Scanlan House

5 sur décembre 28, 2008

This place was so beautiful! Mary and Kirsten were one of the nicest people I have ever met! They made me and my husband feel at home and they gave us a tour of this beautiful B&B. I was amazed to see how great they decorated the place I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The breakfast was to die for and the hospitality was incredible. I will def. be coming back again and again, it was a great escape!! Thanks for being so kind you two!


We keep coming back!

5 sur décembre 21, 2008

This was our fifth stay at the Historic Scanlan House and we enjoyed it as much as we did the first time! Kirsten is such a wonderful host! The roow was specatular as always and the breakfasts can't be beat. If you're going to Lanesboro, you HAVE to stay at this place! Everything else will pale in comparison.


sweet and refreshing

3,2 sur octobre 02, 2008

Every year my sisters ( 9 of us) stay a few nights at a B&B. This year only 3 of us could make it and we choose the Scanlan Historic house, as it looked so charming and inviting!! we were NOT let down! We were well taken care of and felt very much at home and comfortable! The owner, Krista, is a gem and so servant minded! Coffee and tea 24 hours really was great, and candy in the dishes left around on the end tables was such a treat and made you feel very special ¿ Thanks Krista. I'm going to try to get my husband to stay there with me next time around. lol. Janey.


Fabulous Victorian Experience over and over

5 sur août 23, 2008

I was so disappointed to see a review bashing this owner's personal decor choices. I've stayed at the Scanlan House no less than once a year since they opened, and every year gets better and better. The updates to make the rooms and plumbing more of a modern victorian have certainly been welcome, especially with the addition of the jacuzzi tubs and the complete kitchen renovation over the years. And Mary's new gardens and sidewalk addition last year is an amazing wow renovation setting them absolutely at the top. We love the new help-yourself pantry area also! I appreciate though, that they did not lose the details of the old victorian charm, because the trinkets were very much a part of that decor. So many of these brand new victorian b & b's go with the contemporary victorian feel, and to me, it just leaves it cold and more like just another hotel room. We keep coming back to the Scanlan House because of the warm cozy feel of the place, the absolutely wonderful people we meet, an amazing breakfast (we call it brunch!), and an outgoing personality and service of the family owners. The location is fabulous for walking or biking around town if you want to just park that car. The activities in Lanesboro and the beautiful scenery of the area is so refreshing to come and see every year that we never get tired of it. Thank you for such a great job in all you do Scanlan House! Drusilla R. Austin, Texas


Excellent Victorian Bed and Breakfast

4,0 sur août 19, 2008

We stayed here almost 20 years ago when this B & B openend. We thought it was great at the time, but over the years the Innkeepers have remodeled and updated every aspect of this wonderful Victorian home. We are avid B & B'rs and This ranks in the Top five for us! The pictures do not do this place justice! When you walk in the door you are almost awstruck by the beauty of the woodwork and the Vintage (yet inviting and comfortable) dectorations and furniture. If you are looking for plain jane accomodations this is not the place for you. The photos and virtual tours are current and give a great way to choose your room and see the property. Great service and hospitality! Wonderful breakfast! Prices were very reasonable for a room with a whirlpool and fireplace. The gardens are unbelievable! Should be on a cover of a magazine.


Over done is an understatement

3,2 sur août 09, 2008

This could be a charming B&B but the decorations have taken over! The wonderful beds, bathrooms and breakfasts are lessened by things, things and more things. It is hard to find a place to put anything down. Less would be so much more. I would not stay again and all because of an easily corrected problem that the owner appears to know about but minimize.


Beautiful B&B, Great Breakfast!

5 sur octobre 14, 2007

This is a beautiful B&B. Service by the staff was exceptional. We stayed on a Tuesday night. There were 3 other couples. It was very quiet, comfortable and cozy. The two-person whirlpool was a treat! All the public rooms were beautifully decorated. The exterior is just as it is pictured on this website. Coffee/Tea/Cocoa is available 24 hours a day. Breakfast was phenomenal...four courses, with fresh orange juice/coffee/tea. I would stay here again. Good value!


Great place to stay.

4,8 sur octobre 10, 2007

Wonderful b&b. There was nothing forgotten - felt like family.


Historic Scanlan House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $100 - $225
  • Avis (231) 4,5
  • Chambres 6
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5074672158
  • Fax 1-9282443360
  • Portable 1-5072731003
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8009442158

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut