Skara Brae Scottish Bed & Breakfast Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,5
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
71 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great place to stay.

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

It has been our favorite place to stay. We stay there every year in the fall. There is nothing not to like about this place. Great rooms, breakfast and a beautiful view of the lake. Sad to see you go Ron.


A charming, relaxing place to stay

4,8 sur septembre 01, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Skara Brae. Ron was a wonderful host, and his breakfasts were excellent. He said he was hoping to sell the place by the end of August, though!


Skara Brae B&B

4,6 sur août 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay.


Wonderful host and great stay

4,4 sur juillet 28, 2013

Great breakfast and comfortable room. Very accommodating for special requests.


Lovely place

4,6 sur juillet 27, 2013

We stayed at the Skara Brae for three days and were extremely satisfied with the accommodation. It is a lovely place and the host provided a wonderful service. The breakfasts were delicious and well created, and our room was nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed everything and can recommend this B&B. Anthony & Carmen Dukeman


Very pleased

5 sur juillet 09, 2013

Host Ron keeps a clean quiet respectful B&B. Nice lake view, very clean room and bath, good hot coffee in morning along with home cooked breakfast.


Skara Brae

4,4 sur mai 08, 2013

Our host at Skara Brae did a great job in making us welcome and providing what we needed. THanks for helping us have a great getaway. The breakfast was tasty and filling (even if he claims I was the first person in his 10 years there to ask for seconds!!) And he sat and chatted with us at breakfast so we could ask questions about local attractions etc.


Skara Brae B&B

5 sur janvier 27, 2013

Awesome lake view, quiet comfortable room and fantastic breakfast.


Peaceful and serene

4,6 sur janvier 10, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in July. Being "older" newlyweds, we wanted some place quiet, peaceful but yet close to hiking and the lake. The accomodations are homey and comfortable. Ron is a great guy, attentive to needs but not intrusive. Breakfasts were amazing and the conversation around the breakfast table with other guests was great! Close to everything you want to see and do on the North Shore but a retreat off the beatne path.


Lovely Time in Grand Marais

4,8 sur novembre 10, 2012

What a wonderful experience at Skara Brae and Grand Marais. Beautiful views from a cozy and inviting B&B. We would stay there again.


Excellent Bed and Breakfast

4,8 sur novembre 08, 2012

We stayed in the Baird Cottage. This was an extremely nice room basically a separate building attached to the main living quarters. It had many windows which faced Lake Superior. It was very roomy and clean. We enjoyed it tremendously.


Peaceful view of Lake Superior

4,8 sur septembre 28, 2012

Nice room and great view of the lake. Host was helpful, yet quiet and unobtrusive. Breakfast was delicious!


Weekend at Skara Brae

4,0 sur septembre 19, 2012

We stayed at Skara Brae for a weekend getaway and had a lovely stay. The owner was very helpful with recommendations for hikes and restaurants, and our room, the octogan addition to the house was excellent. Bed was amazing and the view can't be beat. Each of the three guest suites are somewhat separate from one another, which gives you plenty of privacy.


Peace and tranquility

5 sur septembre 16, 2012

We had a wonderful two days at Skara Brae. The setting is beautiful, right on the shore of Lake Superior. The breakfasts were outstanding. Ron is a great host. We plan to return next fall.


1st B&B experience ever~love it!

4,6 sur septembre 13, 2012

Host was very knowledgeable about things to do in the area and had recommendations for eating locations as well. Wonderful view of the lake from the deck. Very peaceful and quiet. Makes great coffee and an awesome breakfast! We plan on going back here again next year and stay in a different room.


Enjoyed a full moon over Lake Superior

2,8 sur septembre 07, 2012

The setting was a big plus. The host was less engaged with the guests than we are used to at other B&Bs we have visited.


Quiet,peaceful retreat with delicious morning meals

4,4 sur août 27, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 day stay at Skara Brae Scottish Bed and Breakfast. Ron the innkeeper was very helpful in suggesting interesting hiking trails, restaurants and events to enjoy during our stay. We are so happy to have been able to stay at this lovely, inn overlooking Lake Superior. Chuck and Claudia Lucas


Quiet, beautiful getaway

4,4 sur août 21, 2012

This B and B is actually a couple of miles outside of Grand Marais, up Superior's coast, but we found that this provided a welcome added sense of quiet and seclusion. The proprietor is wonderful, very warm and generous. We had a restful, wonderful stay, and plan to return.


Comfortable and convent

5 sur août 20, 2012

Our stay at Skara Brae is always the perfect getaway. It's comfortable, a short drive from Grand Marais, and the view doesn't get any better. Ron does a superb job!


Perfect place to wake up every morning!

3,8 sur août 02, 2012

The real catch is the deck overlooking Lake Superior. There's nothing better than to wake up to a beautiful view of the lake with a coffee in hand. The breakfast is wonderful! The only reason I didn't rate higher on the rooms is because I stayed in the cheapest one available...so what did I really expect? I would definitely stay here again.


Very nice Grand Marais location

4,0 sur août 01, 2012

Comfortable room. Great breakfasts and service. Location is nice, just north of Grand Marais, but only a quick 2-mile drive to get into town. Overall an awesome trip.


Excellent Stay at Skara Brae

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

Excellent location, great room, wonderful host. Could not have been better.


Grand Marais visit.

5 sur juillet 11, 2012

Ron was very helpful in recommendations for dining in Grand Marais, the breakfasts were fabulous and the lodging was very comfortable. Thanks, Mike Condon


North Country Vacation

3,2 sur juillet 04, 2012

It was our first trip along the Lake Superior Shore, we had a great time. Fully enjoyed Grand Marais and the Gun Flint Trail. Our trip was on motorcycle and the only concern with the Skara Brae is the limited, on a slant parking. But it ended up working fine for us.


Summer Fun

3,8 sur juin 23, 2012

Close to town, food was delicious, view was amazing.


Wonderful stay on Lake Superior

5 sur juin 16, 2012

Lovely bed and breakfast with an incredible view of Lake Superior, both from the outside deck and from the inside common area. Very relaxing, attractive room, highly recommend for a getaway.


Skara Brae exceeds expectations.

5 sur juin 14, 2012

Skara Brae is a great getaway on Lake Superior.. Hot coffee at 7 a.m. and a delicious breakfast at 9 a.m. The perfect way to start the day. Baird cottage was spacious and comfortable. At night we were lulled to sleep by the lapping of the waves on the shore. The common room with a huge fireplace, the deck overlooking the lake, great books, and videos were only some of the amenities provided by Ron Wise, our most gracious host. Our only disappointment-that we didn't book for longer than 4 days! We shall return.


Sixth wedding anniversary

5 sur mai 25, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Will seriously consider staying again should we revisit the area.


Excellent surprise !

4,0 sur mai 14, 2012

Ron, the owner is a super nice easy going guy - easy to talk to and willing to accommodate in any way he can. The common area is beautiful! Open concept, comfortable, good library and beautiful view of Lake Superior. The breakfasts were excellent gourmet fare and our rooms were very comfortable.... good library of movies as well. We would definitely go there again !


B&B overlooking Lake Superior

3,6 sur avril 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Skara Brae B & B. A charming get-a-way overlooking Lake Superior. A spectacular walk to the lighthouse in nearby Grand Marais really made our trip memorable.


Great Stay in Grand Marais

4,0 sur mars 14, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay at Skara Brae B&B. Our room was beautiful, roomy, and very comfortable sleeping. Breakfast was great. We really enjoyed our stay.


Great Stay!

4,8 sur janvier 09, 2012

We stayed here for a nice quiet getaway and it was awesome! Ron is a great host and an excellent cook. The lake is right out back with a fantastic view. Its also very close to town which makes it easy to go in and eat at the many delicious restaurants. The room was very clean and we instantly felt comfortable when we stepped in. All in all, a great place to stay. We plan on going back and will recommend it to anyone!


Cozy, peaceful stay for a wrung out couple

4,0 sur décembre 28, 2011

Nice, private, clean room. Lovely breakfast. Great coffee. Good conversation when desired. Just what we needed.


Best view in Grand Marais

4,2 sur octobre 18, 2011

In a nice quiet area of Grand Marais without a long drive to town. The view was worth the stay.


Fall Color Tour

4,6 sur octobre 17, 2011

Everything as planned, good web site, Nice host, excellent breakfast


Amazing North Shore Getaway

4,8 sur octobre 13, 2011

We had an amazing time at Skara Brae. The room is lovely (we were in the room with the adjacent sitting room) and the views of Lake Superior are worth paying for. Ron was the consummate host, there when you needed him but respectful of space and privacy. The coffee set out at 7 am so we could watch the sunrise from the porch overlooking the lake was a wonderful touch and indicative of how much thought has gone into making his guests feel welcome. Breakfast was amazing (omelet with veg, sausages, fruit and potatoes) and conversation was lively and friendly. The resident cat helped add the homey touch. Highly recommended to anyone who wants a restful, relaxing break with gorgeous views and a bit of pampering!


Exceptional breakfast and beautiful view of Lake.

5 sur octobre 07, 2011

Ron prepared us a beautiful and delicious breakfast. The view of Lake Superior was quite wonderful and the B&B was convenient to many things on the North Shore.


Skara brea review

4,4 sur octobre 03, 2011

Ron was a great host. The cottage was very nice but pricey for a night of sleep. In all we were very happy with our stay.


A European flair by the LAKE

5 sur septembre 30, 2011

What a warm, cozy, B and B in the quiet woods. The hospitality was superb and the food delicious. Ron makes his guests feel like he has known them for years. The cottage has a great view of the lake from the deck and was well equipped with movies and cd's for your listening/viewing pleasure. We just enjoyed the peace and quiet in a lovely surrounding. We enjoyed sharing our stay with the resident cat, Sly. We will highly recommend this to our friends and family. Should our vacations take us to the North Shore again, we will definately go back to Skara Brae. go back to Skara Brae.


Skara Brae B&B

3,6 sur septembre 19, 2011

Room was small and bathroom, while not a shared bathroom, was located down a common hallway. Ron, our host was very gracious and a very good cook.


A Perfect Week

4,6 sur août 29, 2011

The location is lovely, as is the interior. We enjoyed morning walks along the lake down from the house and a great trout stream minutes away. Our room overlooked the lake, as did the deck- which functioned as a gathering space for pre breakfast coffee for guests to intermingle. The food was ample and very good, and the coffee was set out early for those of us that have to get a walk in before breakfast. We enjoyed Ron & interesting guests! Vickie & Terry


It was amazing!

4,6 sur août 25, 2011

It was our first bed and breakfast stay and we will visit again for sure!


Awesome Stay!

5 sur août 24, 2011

We stayed two nights. We were blessed at arrival with an upgrade to the lake view room. Had access to the living room and deck area. Enjoyed the variety of movies & CD's. Breakfast was delicious. Owner was very helpful with recommendations for the area. Decor very nice! We would definitely stay again!


Very Pleasant

4,2 sur août 18, 2011

Very pleasant B&B right on Lake Superior. Tasty breakfast and welcoming host! Would go again!


A unique B&B in Grand Marais

3,0 sur août 17, 2011

off the beaten path, but not too far from the action with access to running trails, etc. Nice place, nice people, nice host, good food.


Skara Brae was terrific!

4,0 sur août 16, 2011

Had a queen sized bed in a cozy room, videos to view, yummy breakfast, & very friendly host. The location was perfect for our getaway. Very clean & nicely decorated.


Great Experience for our first B&B stay

3,8 sur juin 27, 2011

Ron was a great host and an exceptional cook!! We didn't end up getting their on our first night until almost 11 pm but Ron made us feel welcome and was ver accomidating. He even upgraded our room at no cost since the better room was available! He is a superb chef and our breakfasts were 4/4 star quality!! He gave great advise on where to go and where to eat around town, which made our stay even more enjoyable since we had never been to the Grand Marais area before. I would recommend him to anyone who asks where to stay in the Grand Marias area!


May Stay

4,2 sur mai 05, 2011

Ron is a very nice gentleman, his breakfasts are amazing!


Very charming place

4,4 sur mars 14, 2011

Skara Brae is a charming bed & breakfast with stunning views of Lake Superior. The service was excellent and the food delicious.


Peace and quiet

4,8 sur décembre 06, 2010

Loved the place; enjoyed the host;very much liked the Scottish; the proximity to the Lake, the trees, the quiet winter all made for a perfect retreat. Also, proximity to Grand Marais is a big plus. Highly recommended.


Skara Brae and the Moose Festival

5 sur novembre 07, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Skara Brae over MEA weekend and the Moose Festival.


Moonlight on Lake Superior

3,4 sur octobre 24, 2010

As the only guests we had the common area to ourselves which is nice, but it is also nice to meet new people. Our ratings may appear low, but that is based on comparison with many B & B's around the area. This was a lovely place and I would willingly recommend it to others.


We loved it!

4,6 sur octobre 14, 2010

This comfortable B&B with a deck overlooking Lake Superior was a wonderful place to return home to after hiking in the woods or wandering in Grand Marais all day.


A Heavenly Visit - You'll Come Back

5 sur septembre 08, 2010

I went to Grand Marais for the first time to get a stress relief vacation. I loved everything about my long weekend there. Ron is soooo nice. He's friendly, knowledgeable, and was loads of fun to talk to. He's a great cook and every breakfast was wonderful. Sly, the cat, is a real charmer. He sure makes you feel like you are part of his home. Skara Brae is lovely and the setting is enchanting from the old world decor to the beautiful view of Lake Superior from the deck. I can't wait to go back again. I will always go to Skara Brae when I go to Grand Marais. There were some tears in my eye when I left because I wanted to stay so much.


A good choice.

3,0 sur août 10, 2010

My stay was very enjoyable, despite the fact that I forgot my socks. It was what I needed and what I expected. I heartily recommend a stay here.


Skara Brae should always stay

4,6 sur août 10, 2010

Great experience. Ron was informative and helpful. He is also a marvelous chef. Enjoyed our stay.


You'll want to come back again and again and again!

5 sur août 10, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Skara Brae so many times ,I can't remember how many! We stay with Ron two or three times each year. Ron is an excellent host,cook,innkeeper and conversationalist.The rooms are clean and well maintained. The location cannot be beat,right next to Lake Superior and Grand Marais but not right in the town so you can enjoy the quiet and peace of the north woods. Everything you might want to do is nearby.We often take an early hike on the Superior Hiking Trail before enjoying Ron's excellent breakfast.I can't say enough about how excellent this B&B is.We've stayed at a number of other B&B's and prefer them to hotels.We plan to continue our stays at Skara Brae for years to come!


our stay for our anniversary

5 sur août 10, 2010

we wanted somewhere quiet and laid back for our first year wedding anniversary. we are in our 60's and quiet and calm are what we look for. we found it at skara brae. a very relaxing, cozy, laid back experience. the deck over looking lake superior was awesome. loved sitting with our coffee out there. the breakfast was out of this world. enough that you were not hungry when finished but not stuffed either.perfect. the coffee waiting for us in the morning was the perfect way to start the day...the host was very friendly but left us to do what we wanted when there...just what a host should be like. we loved our room..very cozy. the whole experience was awesome. we would go back there for sure!!! we recommended to friends at church and they have made a reservation for 3 days this month.


Great time

4,0 sur août 08, 2010

This was my Husband & My first stay at a B&B and it was a total success!! I was a little sceptical at first but thought we might as well try it. The decor was beautifully done and very comfortable. The deck was my Husbands favorite place to sit and relax. The people we met were all so nice and interesting to talk with. Loved Sly the cat. Ron was very helpful with places to go for supper as we tried the Crooked Spoon and can't wait to come back again and try it again. Ron is a wonderful cook and fun to talk to. I would like to go back in the fall next time. We stayed there in July and it was a little warm. We will definatly go back.


Scottish and Norwegian feel!

5 sur janvier 24, 2010

Everything about this place was wonderful! We came in winter. The architecture in the main area reminded me of Norwegian buildings with the big ceiling beams! Some of the decor also had a Scandinavian feel. The "cottage" room (a later addition attached to the house) had an interesting circular design, plus, from the bed, Lake Superior views to die for! You feel "out in the country" and close to nature (the Stonehaven room has beautiful evergreens outside the window; the living & dining areas look out on the lake) but you are only 3 minutes' drive from Grand Marais restaurants, art galleries, etc. Ideal! Ron's warm hospitality and delicious food await you!


Repeat stay

5 sur octobre 27, 2009

We have stayed four times, even brought guests. A real delight; rooms, breakfast, all with Lake Superior view.


The perfect getaway

5 sur octobre 20, 2009

Beautiful accommadations, a gracious host, wonderful food, and a tranquil setting equal a great weekend at Skara Brae


peaceful retreat

3,6 sur juillet 17, 2009

We stayed in Skara Brae, a Scottish themed B&B on the shore of Lake Superior to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. Although the sky was cloudy, we had a wonderful time relaxing in this beautiful B&B!


Neat Place!

4,0 sur juillet 13, 2009

We spent 2 nights at this delightful b&b. Our room was comfortable. The scenery from the deck is very nice (Lake Superior). Our breakfasts were different both days & both were delicious & very well presented. Host Ron was very hospitable & I would highly recommend this facility. It was very reasonably priced too. Diane Patrick


Scottish B&B

5 sur janvier 14, 2009

This B&B is located on the shores of Lake Superior. A lovely home, spacious, delicious breakfasts, warm, intelligent conversations with the owner and teatime was very enjoyable! Highly suggested. Reasonable rates!


Relaxing Getaway

5 sur octobre 15, 2008

All aspects of the stay were fine; clean rooms, great view, good meals, great other guests to have breakfast with. Recommendations for dining and biking pleasant!


Pleasant stay at Scara Brae

3,8 sur août 23, 2008

We stayed at the Scara Brae in July and this was the first "home" like B&B we have stayed in. Our room was clean, nice, and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great. We booked the lowest priced room as we didn't think we would be there much, but the other rooms were quite large with views of Lake Superior. The only "surprise" was that our bathroom was not right in our room, although it was right next door and only for our use. Ron was friendly, interesting to visit with, and helpful with information and ideas on where to ride our motorcycle. Breakfast each morning was fantastic and nicely presented. We felt like we definitely got our money's worth, especially after we stayed at a very highly rated B&B in another city right after our stay there and had to pay twice as much for a room which was maybe more elegantly appointed, but lacking in comfort and "coffee".


Skara Brae

4,2 sur octobre 16, 2007

Ron Wise was a great host and wonderful cook. We'll be back next year.


Don't miss this one!

4,2 sur septembre 19, 2007

What a delight to find such a well-run b&b in Grand Marais, MN. My room had a lovely view of Lake Superior. There is excellent attention to detail throughout the property. The hose (Ron Wise) is gracious and charming. Highly recommended.


What a view!

3,8 sur septembre 10, 2007

We selected this B&B based on its Scottish theme and location. The room we had wasn't on the lake side of the house but there was plenty of time to take it all in from the deck as well as the dining room. Breakfast each morning was wonderful! The common area was quite cozy and comfortable. Thanks Ron for all your hospitality!!


Thanks Ron and Lyanne!!

5 sur juillet 29, 2007

The owners of this B&B went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Grand Marais -- sharing fun conversation and recommending things to see and do around the area. The entire place was cozy and well-kept, and waking up to such a beautiful view of Lake Superior every morning was wonderful. Having delicious breakfasts at the table overlooking the lake was even better! Thanks Ron and Lyanne (and Sly!) for a great weekend; we look forward to visiting you again!!


Skara Brae Scottish Bed & Breakfast

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $59 - $164
  • Avis (71) 4,4
  • Chambres 3
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2183872861
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8664675272
Haut