Kalamazoo House Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,7

Notation basée sur
103 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Hospitality at its finest in a lovely setting

4,8 sur janvier 07, 2014

We visited the Kalamazoo House to celebrate our first anniversary. We mistimed our drive and arrived early but Terry was happy to welcome us regardless. We felt right at home from the get go. We stayed in room #5.The bed was wonderfully comfortable with nice linens. Refreshments were waiting in the room on arrival. The bathroom was good size, with quality toiletries. I took advantage of the whirlpool tub which was clean and relaxing. The robes in our rooms were clean, fluffy, and comfy. The TV was nice quality and had an HDMI hook up. The tower fan in each room is a nice touch. Breakfast is outstanding! Terry’s creations were all wonderful, including his homemade bread. The breakfast room is cozy atmosphere. The common room is the perfect place for lunch, games, or puzzles – all of which we did while watching the local NFL game on TV. I took advantage of the massage package that the inn offers and would do so again. Great value and lovely massage. Walking distance from the inn. It's clear from our stay that Laurel and Terry are born to run an inn! They'd thought of everything. Plenty of refreshments around the inn. Coffee, tea, water, soda, and milk (of all sorts) available all the time, with cookies fresh baked before bed. Both Laurel and Terry were provided great conversation and seemed to always be easy to locate, without being overbearing. We felt we had just the right amount of privacy without feeling left without an innkeeper. Terry and Laurel are very in touch with the local community and were ready with information about the happenings around Kalamazoo. Terry knows his restaurants and steered us (foodies) in the right direction. Not only would I stay here again, but my husband and I are planning on visiting again this Spring. Only this time we'll be bringing our brother and sister-in-law along. A gem like the Kalamazoo house is meant to be shared.


NICE Stay on a Cold Winter Night

5 sur décembre 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. From the warm cookies before bed to the next morning's breakfast you will not find a nicer pair of inn keepers in Terry and Laurel. From the time you walk in by their friendly greeting to the time you leave, you are treated in as family. Would highly recommend this to anyone.


My First B&B Experience

4,6 sur octobre 18, 2013

I have always wondered about staying at a B&B and last year while visiting St. Augustine FL. we toured one and thought it would be nice to try one. Well, while planning a visit to Kalamazoo for a family event we searched the internet and found the Kalamazoo House. The pictures of the outside and inside were very impressive so we booked a 2 night stay and we were not disappointed.The home was walking distance to the downtown district on a quiet one way street. Upon arrival we were greeted by Terry & Laurel the owners and instantly felt welcome. They showed us around and explained the house's history. Later that evening we were treated to milk and homemade cookies and asked to write down our breakfast requests from about 5 of Terry's personnal concoctions. They all looked delicious and it was a tough decision. We were not disappointed. Our 2 choices were fantastic and we were even priveleged to get a recipe for one particular favorite. The bed linens that they use are by far the best I have ever slept on and our room was spacious and immaculate. The only downside was that the room that we chose happened to be on the third floor which meant a lot of stair climbing. I would highly recommend staying with the Parrotts at the Kalamazoo House if you are ever in the area.


Kalamazoo House - highly recommended

4,6 sur octobre 07, 2013

I attended a 3-day conference and chose to stay at the Kalamazoo House instead of the conference hotel. So glad I did! the room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were out of this world good.


Northern Paradise

5 sur septembre 25, 2013

This is an impeccable Bed and Breakfast. The comfortable bed, warm shower, elegant decor, and impeccable hospitality made our 3 nights there a stay in paradise.


Great weekend stay.

4,0 sur septembre 08, 2013

Kalamazoo House is a very nice B&B in a great location in Kalamazoo. If you want to be able to walk downtown and to Kalamazoo College, you can't beat it. Terry and Laurel were very friendly. The rooms were clean and very nice, and most of them had a sitting area as well. Breakfast was good, and the cookies in the evening were a nice touch! I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to others.


Wonderful experience!

5 sur août 27, 2013

We went there for our 49th anniversary. The house was beautiful and Laurel and Terry were wonderful innkeepers. Brunch with its many choices was excellent. We highly recommend this B & B as a must stay.


Quality service in beautiful setting

4,4 sur août 25, 2013

Our two night stay in Kalamazoo House was very pleasant and relaxing. The owners have attempted to restore the house to its1878 spendour and have succeeded very well. Our room was comfortable, very clean, and with all the expected amenities. Breakfast was served in a charming, sunny front parlor and the individual tables and menu choices makes this B&B a step ahead of others. Laurel, one of the owners, was quick to find a walking tour of Kalamazoo for me, when I inquired, and both she and her husband Terry were very knowledgeable about Kalamazoo. Their dining recommendation, Rustica, was spot on. The inn was very quiet; though full, we weren't aware of the other guests when in our room. All in all, and excellent stay.


Excellent Service

5 sur août 25, 2013

We used the Kalamazoo House for a guest speaker coming to WMU. The owners were so friendly and accommodating. They really made our guest feel like a prince. We will continue to house our travelers for the College of Engineering here. It's a great value and will give your guests a little something special for much cheaper than the Raddison or elsewhere. We will definitely use again.


Home away from home

5 sur août 18, 2013

Laurel and Terry are wonderful people. I felt very welcomed. This was so much better then a hotel!


Fantastic overnight pampering

4,8 sur août 18, 2013

We loved the luxurious, historical ambience of this grand old home - beautiful décor, wonderful landscaping. Terry and Laurel were very warm and catered to our every request. Bedtime was awesome - super-soft linens and fluffy down pillows. Location is great - downtown but on one of the more quiet streets.


A fabulous B&B in Kalamazoo MI.

5 sur août 15, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the home and accommodations. Laurel and Terry are great hosts. They were very helpful in planning our stay in Michigan. We would be very happy to return. Ed & Arlene


Fabulous from the first phone call

5 sur août 09, 2013

My husband and I both have schedules that are not conducive to "romantic get-aways". We had an opening and took it. It had to be somewhat local so I started my research. I put a call into The Kalamazoo House and Laurel called me back the same evening. She answered all of my questions and gave me more insight into my stay. I had to reschedule and she was more than accommodating. We just got back and I have suggested the Kalamazoo House to my family and friends. We arrived (locked entrance for safety-I love it) and Terry welcomed us in and showed us around. The house is breathtaking. So warm and welcoming. Laurel stopped by as Terry was giving us the tour and it was as if we were old friends. They gave us suggestions for dinner, drinks and festivities. After being shown to our room, (WOW!!!!) Laurel carried our suitcase, by the way.. despite my argument, we just took it all in. We stayed in the original Master bedroom of the home. Nothing but elegance here. What a difference from a hotel. The location is outstanding. The House is exquisite. The breakfast....Terry is a master!!!! Sooo very good. Terry and Laurel are a class act. A trip we were looking so forward to ended up brilliantly. My husband told Terry and Laurel we would see them next year. I think the Kalamazoo House will be an annual thing.


THE Place To Stay In Kalamazoo

5 sur août 02, 2013

The Kalamazoo House is definitely the best place to stay in town. It is walking distance to everything. Terry and Laurel are wonderful hosts - they are there when you need them but don't hover so you can have privacy. The rooms are so comfortable and clean! And Terry's breakfast is not to be missed - I am not normally a big breakfast eater but I clean my plate every time. If you are looking for a quiet, kid-free get away, this is your place.


Just Great! Kudos to Chef Terry!!

5 sur juillet 22, 2013

The very best hosts! Great location with a terrific breakfast!


Great Place to Stay

5 sur juillet 17, 2013

The Kalamazoo House is a great place to stay while in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Walking distance to fun spots downtown. An actual breakfast included, not just a muffin or cereal. You can get eggs, omelettes, pancakes, whatever various options are on the menu for the next day. Terry and Laurel are very nice hosts and the rooms are great.


Kalamazzoo House

5 sur juillet 15, 2013

Outstanding. Our second time here and not our last. We came up last year for the Kalamazoo Blues Fest and thankfully the Radisson was full. I look forward to staying at the Kalamazoo House almost as much as the blues festival.


Kalamazoo House B+B

5 sur juillet 14, 2013

Fine, attentive, gracious in all aspects and appointments; set in a very styling downtown


Our June Visit

4,6 sur juin 27, 2013

Terry went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our visit !


A great retreat during the week of our daughter's wedding

5 sur juin 24, 2013

Pristine home inside and out. The B&B is beautifully restored to its original beauty. Architectural features and period furnishings make the Kalamazoo House an interesting place to stay. Innkeepers Laurel and Terry welcomed us with a brief tour, making us feel at home instantly. We had three rooms for our family, and each one was unique and charming. The rooms are quiet from outside traffic and other guest rooms. The attention to detail is obvious, from the comfy bedding and towels to the personal plate of cookies and carafe of water each night. We were there three nights, and breakfast was amazing with plenty of variety. The menu options (approximately 7) were posted the day before, and our selections were served to us in style. Every breakfast started with fresh fruit and pastry options. Outstanding coffee. Excellent tea. (Both available 24 hours.) We enjoyed the front porch for a late night gathering. The side porch, overlooking a lovely garden, was especially nice in the morning. My husband also enjoyed a quiet morning cup of coffee on the couch outside of our room. There were many pleasant seating nooks throughout the home. A bonus is the proximity to downtown Kalamazoo - an easy 3 block walk to our wedding reception at Cityscape (a fabulous event venue), free parking and close to a number of entertainment, festival location, restaurants and shops. Also plenty of walking and running options for an energizing start to the day. Overall, a calming and restorative place to be in the midst of an exciting life celebration.


Wonderful time

5 sur juin 15, 2013

Could not of felt more comfortable. Loved the history of the home. Enjoyed walking to the mall more than once for great dining experience. Breakfast was delicious with a wonderful presentation. Looking forward to visiting again.


A terrific place to stay!

4,4 sur mai 17, 2013

The house is beautiful and just a short walk to the mall, shopping and food. The staff was onsite and very helpful. I would suggest a stay here for business or a weekend get a way!


Wonderful hosts, excellent decor, good food.

4,4 sur mai 16, 2013

This was the second year that my wife and I celebrated our anniversary with an overnight at Kalamazoo House. Laurel and Terry are wonderful hosts, make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The cookies at bedtime are a nice touch.


A Great Place To Stay.

5 sur avril 29, 2013

I loved my stay at the Kalamazoo House. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was great, and the people were nice. I also liked the location within walking distance to downtown where there is a lot to do. Had a great time will stay there again.


Beautiful room and the best breakfast anywhere

4,8 sur avril 24, 2013

Excellent, clean, comfortable, lots of ambiance. Quiet. Warm. Gay friendly. Great healthy breakfast. Very pleasant, friendly hosts. Excellent location for enjoying Kalamazoo.


The "Unexpected" in Downtown

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2012

Laurel & Terry are innkeepers who provide for their guests and respect guest privacy. The inn is fabulous and gardens exquisite! Thanks for helping me purchase Comptly sheets!


Great Escape for some R & R

3,6 sur mars 28, 2012

We visited Kalamazoo and enjoyed a concert at the Miller Auditorium. The Kalamazoo House was the perfect location for our stay. The innkeepers are a great team and are helpful and friendly and take time to enjoy their guests. We would definitely return to the area and The Kalamazoo House!


Something out of the ordinary...

5 sur mars 13, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about The Kalamazoo House. We have recently started taking an interest in B&B's, but this B&B has, without a doubt, captured our hearts. While sitting down to an incredible breakfast this morning, we were already planning our next trip. We could've spent our entire vacation in and around The Kalamazoo House. The architecture and decor are as fascinating as the history of the building itself. Surely, you could go to any hotel in the area and spend the same amount of money for a sterile, cold, corporate environment where all the rooms look the same and the service is mediocre, or you could stay at this B&B. The innkeepers, Terry and Laurel, have gone above and beyond anything we ever dreamed. They have thought through every detail to make ones stay unforgettable. The rooms are all decorated beautifully and just wait until you get between those sheets! They are the softest sheets ever and allowed for the most pleasant and restful nights sleep this insomniac can recall! They have utilized the space well and have provided any amenity one could ask for. Each night after returning from our walk around downtown Kzoo (Yes, everything is within walking distance!) and visiting with family friends, we were able to treat ourselves to delicious chocolate chip cookies and milk, hot tea or cocoa! Each morning we were treated to a steaming mug of rich coffee and our choice of a number of different breakfast options. We are vegetarian and had no difficulty finding something to satisfy our hunger and taste buds! We highly recommend the Banana Nut French Toast and the Asparagus Omelet! Yum! Needless to say, we plan to return very soon. If you are going to be in the Kzoo area for any reason, staying at this B&B is a must! Heck, we recommend coming to town simply for the chance to stay at this B&B! You will not be disappointed!


Relaxation Station!

5 sur novembre 27, 2011

Our stay was absolutely perfect. Thanks to Laurel and Terry they made our getaway very enjoyable. The house and room was beautiful and very clean, warm and inviting. The service and food was excellent. They made us feel very welcome. Really enjoyed the social hour, a nice way to interact with your guests and meet new people. Thanks again! Hope to visit again.


This place is home away from home :-D

5 sur septembre 10, 2011

Awesome place! I'm a student and have a rotation at Bronson Hospital, which is super close by (a plus!) and had to be out the door at 6am! Laurel was so helpful, she made my life so easy, got me whatever I needed and put my delicious breakfast (including fresh fruit, toast, butter, jam/jelly, everything!) in the fridge for me. This place is clean, safe, comfortable, homely, and great for anybody (students, travelers, etc) :) The cookies at night were something to look forward to each evening, and the free drinks around-the-clock is so considerate. My room had a great desk for me to do my homework, and the in-room climate control was great too. I didn't get to enjoy the complimentary cable & HDTV, or electric fireplace, maybe next time! Thanks for a great stay :-D


Wonderful B&B!

4,4 sur septembre 08, 2011

Absolutely Wonderful! My husband and I stayed here for a couple days and couldn't have been happier! The rooms were lovely and very clean, the owners are super sweet and the breakfast was amazing! They also bake cookies every night and leave them out for their guests! Would definitely stay here again! Sept 2011


Layla and Arend's review

5 sur août 25, 2011

The Kalamazoo House is owned by a wonderful couple who is very charming and hospitable. The house was very clean and comfortable. We can't wait to go back and visit again!


Fantastic bed and breakfast stay!

5 sur juillet 23, 2011

Absolutely gorgeous Victorian bed and breakfast, beautifully maintained. Such warm hospitality, with excellent breakfasts and wonderful ambience. Loved our spacious third floor room, so quiet and comfortable. Enjoyed many relaxing moments on the lovely porch and in the downstairs rooms. Terrific location in the vibrant downtown area, walked to great restaurants three nights in a row, and a beautiful park is located a block away. Highly recommend The Kalamazoo House!


Romantic Getaway

4,8 sur juin 20, 2011

For our anniversary we treated ourselves to a night out. Kalamazoo House was a perfect choice! The hosts are charming, the food is delicious, and the location is within walking distance of the city square and restaurants like Food Dance. We highly recommend it.


What a wonderful getaway!

4,0 sur avril 10, 2011

Had a wonderful night in Kalamazoo. Just a beautiful bed and breakfast. Friendly hosts who cared that we were enjoying ourselves. Spent time visiting us over a complimentary glass of Michigan wine. Gave us our choice of breakfast entrees and treated us like they cared about us. Thanks for a wonderful visit to Kalamazoo.


Our New Favorite Place

5 sur mars 14, 2011

We travel quite a lot and have never been so delighted with our stay as we were at the Kalamazoo House. The house is beautiful, well appointed to the time period it was built. A great location within walking distance of many restaurants and downtown activities, but in reality you just don't want to leave the comfortable Inn. I would indeed say it is more like an Inn than a B&B, it has great public spaces to spend time with friends or just relax after a delicious meal. I can't say enough about the meals, Terry had to of been a chef in a past life, we stayed several days and each of us tried a different breakfast each day, each one was better than the day before. After we arrived back home, my husband said that he would trade me in for another Cajun Corned Beef Hash Breakfast from the Kalamzoo House, I told him that I could understand that and that I would trade him in if i could only have the hot chef that made them. The Kalamazoo House is a tremendous place to stay and will now always be of weekend get away place.


Kalamazoo House

5 sur février 28, 2011

We stayed for two night at the Kalamazoo house and it was simply wonderful. It is a big, beautiful house right in the center of Kalamazoo. It is literally next-door to the institute of art. We were so happy with the room that it was hard to get us out in the city to do things. I know it is a cliche, but it was hard to leave. The food was fantastic. It inspired us to try making Eggs Benedict at home. Ok, this sums up how pleased we were with The Kalamazoo House. After we returned home to Boston, we were considering possible plans to return to Kalamzoo. I asked my girlfriend how cheap the Radison would hav eto be for us to consider staying there over The Kalamazoo House. We both agreed that we MIGHT consider it if the Radison were only about 50 dollars, but even then only if it were a quick visit or of we knew we would be too busy to really appreciate it. I can't recommend this place highly enough.


Great relaxing weekend at Kalamazoo House!

3,8 sur février 15, 2011

Stayed in rooms 4 and 5 for two nights. Both rooms were very nice. Jacuzzi in room 4 was great for the two of us! Room 5 has a one person jacuzzi. Loved the cookies & milk at night - nice little "homey" touch! Breakfast was delicious both mornings!


A gem

5 sur janvier 12, 2011

We have stayed the past 4? New Years. Beautiful, cozy rooms, large and small for different budgets. Spectacular breakfast and hospitality. Can't wait to go back.


A wonderful experience!

4,6 sur août 27, 2010

The warmth and welcome of our hosts began a wonderful experience. The house is magnificent, and within two blocks of great restuarants. We enjoyed group conversation with wine on the front porch, and a wonderful breakfast with others that we regretted to leave after two hours. You will love the Kalamazoo House. Ray and Ruth.


Best B&B I've ever stayed at!

5 sur février 12, 2010

The hospitality was unbeatable from the time we arrived until the morning that we left. We stayed two nights and enjoyed wonderful conversation; a cozy room with personal bathroom; Wine in the afternoon, warm cookies and milk in the evening; hot tea and beverages and microwave available 24 - 7; and fabulous speciality breakfast choices. Wireless and Parking included. Would never consider staying anywhere else in Kalamazoo!


Give yourself more time that we did.

4,4 sur janvier 30, 2010

Wonderful atmosphere and hosts. The home is beautiful. Everywhere you look there is something to marvel at. The entertainment district, within easy walking distance, is worth being sure you leave some time to investigate. Next time, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else and will enjoy the surrounding area as much as possible. Thanks Terry and Laurel


Comfortable, convenient and gorgeous inn!

4,4 sur janvier 27, 2010

We started our stay with a couples massage, walked to Food Dance for dinner, and ended the evening melting in our 2-person whirlpool. The hosts: Perfect! They were warm, friendly and accommodating, but never intrusive or overly-chatty. The house: Beautifully restored, no kitsch, no country---just good taste. The room: Very comfortable with FIVE massive windows - what a magnificent view, particularly of the gorgeous glass sculpture in the art institute next door. Very tastefully refurbished and decorated with gorgeous antique furnishings. The breakfast: We loved that we could choose from lots of delicious-sounding options. Laurel and Terry were very accommodating about our dietary needs. We were also able to choose what time to eat within a generous time frame they gave us. A very pleasant and comfortable stay!


We recommend this B&B

4,2 sur janvier 09, 2010

My husband I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The innkeepers, Laurel & Terry, made us feel right at home. The rooms were beautiful and clean. Breakfast was delicious. We will be visiting this one again!


Can't wait to go back

4,0 sur janvier 02, 2010

I love staying at the Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast. The price is comparable to the 2 hotels in downtown Kalamazoo and the rooms are much nicer. Easy walking distance to downtown Kalamazoo and Terry and Laurel are so nice. I will stay there over a hotel any time.


Planning to Return

4,4 sur octobre 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Kalamazoo House in October 2009 for a convention at the Radisson. After we checked in we found out the house was full that weekend but Laurel and Terry were great and very attentive. Laurel gave us a map with local restaurants marked that we used to find dinner that night. Breakfasts were delicious and the chocolate chip cookies and milk were a great snack at night (the cookies were waiting for us when we got back). We never had to move our van the location was a nice walking distance for anything we wanted to do, only 10 minutes to the Radisson! We talked all weekend about how great our stay was at The Kalamazoo House and plan to visit again in April for our next convention.


Perfect Peace

4,6 sur octobre 04, 2009

This is the place to stay if you are traveling anywhare in Southern Michigan. Very easy to find, wonderful inn keepers, outstanding food and warm cookies for bedtime. The eveing gathering in the living room for sharing was a nice time to get to know other people and feel comfortable, I hop to go back for a longer time.


Wow!!!

5 sur septembre 28, 2009

This bed and breakfast is the best. The old victorian home makes this an extraordinary experience, and one to be remembered for a long time. The free breakfast was the best I have ever had. The Kalamazoo House is close to downtown events. We were treated like royalty. It is quiet and cozy and everyone was so nice.


Home away from home!

5 sur septembre 21, 2009

One of the best parts of my trip (and the only part that went smoothly from original booking) was staying at the Kalamazoo House. Laurel and Terry are genuinely nice people who looked out for me, and anything I needed! Central to everything I was doing. Nice to know I had my own space and wasn't interrupting friends homes, kids, BATHROOM TIME..lol!..etc. Am looking forward to my return soon! Thanks Laurel, Terry! Blessings and hugs!


Better value than anywhere in KZoo...

4,6 sur septembre 21, 2009

I don't always stay in B&B's unless it's a special occasion. Traveling from Chicago to Ann Arbor and stopping overnight for an evening at the Bell's Brewery hardly seemed like a special occasion. However, it was impossible to pass up an opportunity to stay at such a beautiful establishment when it's the same price as the crappy chain hotels except downtown (ie closer to the brewery). The Kalamazoo House is probably the best value (not cheapest, but best value) in all of Kalamazoo. The hosts were kind and informative, the breakfast was outstanding, and the milk and cookies left for us upon return from our night out on the town made us feel completely at home. I will definitely only stay at The Kalamazoo House every time I'm in Kalamazoo.


A Memorablel B & B

4,8 sur septembre 16, 2009

All the extra touches. The Robes in the bedroom, the glass of wine and cheese tray, at 5;30 to meet the other house guests, and the fabulous breakfasts. Early coffee trays, so you can get up early and take it out on that spectaular front porch. The house was very quiet, never heard anyone else during the night. Anne and Bob from Naples Fl, we will be back!


Elegance and Hospitality

5 sur septembre 13, 2009

Kalamazoo House is an elegant victorian mansion, beautifully appointed to the highest 21st century standards. Service is superb and Laurel and Terry Parrott are the warmest, most gracious hosts you will find anywhere. Carla & Rick Johnson


Very relaxing stay and good location

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2009

We stayed at the Kalamazoo House after reading many of the reviews, on-line. Even though we were right near downtown, it was like a little oasis of comfort. The side porch had wicker furniture and faces a strip garden that was in full bloom. The weather was perfect and the breakfast was cooked to your specs. Terry (our cook) was trying a new breakfast panini with bacon, eggs, brie, spinach, tomato, avocado and onions, on chiabata bread-delicious. I had one of the house specials-crispy french toast with bananas and almonds in maple syrup-decadent. The rooms were quiet, even though they were almost full. The atmosphere isn't stuffy and they even offered drinks at their "bar" (5:30-6:30) in one of the sitting rooms on the first floor. Milk and fresh cookies were waiting for us when we came back from dinner. Even though we stayed one night, I'd return for even a longer stay. They were within 1 block of the Civic theatre, Kalamazoo Institute of Art (which had a Georgia O'Keefe exhibit going on), Bronson Park (with topiary and sculptures) and 2 blocks to the downtown mall, with coffee shops and restaurants. You don't need to use your car. They are about a mile from the college campuses (K and Western) but definitly not in a college rental area. We had a great time.


This is living!

5 sur septembre 02, 2009

Hard to say what is the best thing about staying at the Kalamazoon House: the incredible breakfasts made by host Terry, the evenings on the porch with wine, or the warmth and laughter the Parrotts exude. Look forward to returning each year. Diane


exceeding expectations

4,8 sur août 31, 2009

great to see someone maintaining a victorian home which style and sophistication


A Perfect Wedding Night Retreat!

5 sur août 29, 2009

We stayed at this bed and breakfast on our wedding night and were amazed upon arrival. Everything is thought of, from fresh baked cookies every night to a room stocked with odds and ends that make it a home away from home. A journal in our room had writings from past tenants who suggested places to eat and visit in the area and raved about their own wonderful experiences. It is a stay you will not soon forget! We highly recommend this beautiful place! Honeymooners Andrea and Matt Cook


FABULOUS!

4,6 sur août 24, 2009

The Kalamazoo House B & B was just amazing. Laurel and Terry were so friendly and welcoming! There was not one thing we would have changed. It's decorated soooo beautifully, clean, comfortable and so relaxing. From the comfy bed to the whirlpool tub we enjoyed it all, not to mention the wine at happy hour to the cookies and milk at night! Our only regret was having to pass on Terry's fabulous homemade breakfast as were still full from the wedding the night before. We did however enjoy the fresh fruit and coffee! If anyone is considering a stay in Kalamazoo this is the place to be! Enjoy, you won't be sorry!


The best service-oriented B&B ever!

5 sur août 24, 2009

We stayed 3 consecutive nights and were pampered from arrival to departure. The made-to-order breakfasts, wine receptions, and cookies and milk at night enhanced the sense of welcome along with Terry & Laurel Parrott's charm, caring, and service. We highly recommend the Premier Queen Room #4, although every room has its own special decor. This is a not-to-miss experience. Enjoy!


One of the best B and B's

5 sur août 24, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many B and B's but The Kalamazoo House was one of the best. Terry and Laurel made us feel right at home and their hospitality surpassed any where else we have been. All the special touches like cheese and crackers in the early evening and warm cookies later on. A delicious breakfast with many so many great choices. They were so helpful on where to eat, entertainment and walking directions. The location of their bed and breakfast is perfect and within walking distance of everything in Kalamazoo.We will be back!


unequivocally recommended for family, friends, and all business associates.

4,8 sur août 23, 2009

I had the distinct pleasure of staying here 7 -15 August 2009. Laurel and Terry are the epitome of the warm, gracious hosts and immediately made me feel completely at home. My stay was a pure joy and I can not thank the both of you enough. Rooms are clean and can accommodate any needs a customer may have.Regardless; it is worth it to stay here just for the breakfast- Banana/Walnut French toast! Location is within perfect walking distance for business or pleasure. I will return-unequivocally recommended for family, friends, and all business associates. P.S. Chocolate chip cookies with milk every night at 9:30! -Eric NOLA


A GRAND time!

4,2 sur août 16, 2009

My stay at the Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast was outstanding! The proprietors were there to meet my EVERY need. Of all my experiences at a bed and breakfast, this was my favorite. The home is an example of beautiful woodwork, charming decore , comfort and scrumptious food! Located downtown, within walking distance to everything Kalamazoo has to offer; museums, fine dining, shops and a gorgeous park. I had no idea Kalamazoo had so much to offer. I am looking forward to staying more than one night for next year's business meeting . This bed and breakfast is run with LOVE! ( and chocolate chip cookies and milk at bedtime.............not to mention the fine wines, cheese and conversation in the evening)


Wow!

4,0 sur août 04, 2009

We loved every minute of our stay! Everything was perfect. From the minute we got there, Laurel and Terry made us feel welcome. Our room was beautiful. The whole house was gorgeous! We loved the wine and cheese social hour and the cookies and milk before bed. And breakfast was delicious!! We enjoyed our stay and will definately go back again!


One of the nicer B&Bs I've ever stayed at.

4,0 sur juillet 14, 2009

This beautiful old building is situated just a block or two from the center of downtown Kalamazoo. You can park your car and walk to wherever you need to go for the rest of your stay. Also conveniently close to the Kalamazoo River Valley/Kal-Haven bike trails. Several nearby shops and restaurants, not to mention the Kalamazoo Art Institute right next door. The high ceilings only add to the feeling of spacious expansiveness in the building. The rooms are spacious and extremely tastefully decorated. Cheese and wine in the afternoon, cherries or cookies for dessert at night, and a tasty breakfast in the morning made for a delicious stay. Very quiet, very comfortable, very nice. I strongly recommend.


Great B&B

4,8 sur juillet 12, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The Kalamazoo House. The rooms were very nice and well decorated, the breakfast was delicious, and the hospitality was wonderful. It was a great anniversary for us!


Wonderful Inn, Amazing Hosts

5 sur juillet 06, 2009

Laurel and Terry are wonderful. Great company, incredible breakfast and an overall fantastic stay.


Great

4,0 sur juillet 02, 2009

We had a great one-night stay at Kalamazoo house on our way to Canada. Friendly service and cookies before bed :)


Wonderful experience

4,2 sur juin 13, 2009

What wonderful experience! My wife and I stayed at the Kalamazoo House for our anniversary.and had fantastic time. The house is gorgeous with amazing old architectural elements, fixtures and furnishings. Our room (#7) was beautiful, the bed was large and comfortable with lots of pillows, and the jacuzzi was very nice. The breakfast was remarkable-great eggs benedict! I can't say enough about the place and the Innkeepers. Laurel and Terry really made our stay special. Thank you!


What a great place to stay

4,0 sur juin 08, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Kalamazoo House this past weekend and had a wonderful stay. It is right downtown and within walking distance to many different attractions. The house was very well kept and the breakfast was very delicious. The Innkeepers are also very nice people and you can tell that they enjoy the guests and really want to get to know them. I would stay there again anytime! I highly recommend a stay if you will be in the area.


Wonderful stay in a wonderful location

4,4 sur juin 08, 2009

We stayed here to go to a festival downtown and were very pleased with the experience. The inn was beautiful. Our room was very nice with a wonderful bed and a nice bathroom. In the morning, a wonderful breakfast smell woke us up and brought us down stairs to several choices. We were so pleased with the whole stay that we immediately went home and booked again for another festival the next month.


Relaxation and fun in Kalamazoo

5 sur mai 25, 2009

If you are looking for and elegant, affordable romantic retreat this is the ticket. The Kalamazoo House has an outstanding location, close to restaurants, theatre, museums and nightlife. This town is a hidden treasure in itself and the KHouse is a great find. We were given a free upgrade just because the house was not full and we were return customers. It is a vacation in itself and the owners, Laurel and Terry are helpful and full of information. I would go here even if my kids did not live in Kalamazoo. Many people from Chicago come here to get away from it all and be pampered and relax. Do yourself a favor and go to Kalamazoo House, you will be back! Oh Yes the breakfast in unbelievable!


ABCDEFGH I had a great stay at the Kalamazoo House!

5 sur mai 21, 2009

Laurel and Terry Parrot run a fantastic b&b. I was glad to be able to stay here rather than in another hotel - which was often more expensive. Fantastic location to downtown everything. Tasty made-to-order breakfasts every am with no rush or over-formality. Perfect place for short or longer stay. You'll be disappointed if you don't stay here.


The BEST place to stay in Kalamazoo!!

4,6 sur mai 12, 2009

The Kalamazoo House is simply beautiful!! The owners are extremely friendly and really care about your comfort. They will accommodate just about any request that you may have and will go out of their way to ensure a great stay. Moreover, their genuine generosity and kindness is unparalleled, and their breakfest is great. I "HIGHLY" recommend the Kalamazoo House as I know that your stay will be memorable!!


Warm and Welcoming b and b in Kalamazoo

5 sur mai 10, 2009

Terry and Laurel offer a warm and generous welcome to a luxurious b and b. They provide a choice of home cooked breakfasts that are delicious and they will accommodate your every need. Tea is available all day and high quality wine and snacks in the afternoon. They are relaxed, interesting and interested without being intrusive. A delightul place to stay!


Don't miss out on this great B&B

5 sur avril 19, 2009

This was our first time staying at a B&B but it definitely will not be our last! Terry and Laurel are great and make you feel very welcome. The room was nice and we loved the king bed and jacuzzi hot tub. The breakfast was excellent as well. We will be back!


Cozy and comfortable

4,6 sur avril 13, 2009

We just returned for an encore stay after one last year. Lovely, big house with friendly but understated service and lots of nice touches (especially the before-bed homemade cookies). Very good deal for the money, especially since it's in walking distance to everything in downtown Kalamazoo.


a labor of love

4,2 sur avril 06, 2009

these folks take such pride in their property. they also are sensitive to the little nuances that make a guest feel special: cookies and milk before bedtime, fresh flowers, the sunday new york times, wine and hors d'oevres before dinner.


Excellent Stay at the Kalamazoo House

4,8 sur mars 15, 2009

Wife and I decided to pop into Kalamazoo for a quick visit with friends (1 night). I picked the Kalamazoo house because of excellenct reviews from this same site! We were greeted by Laurel and she was great! got the background on the house (it was really interesting) and tour, informed for treats, social hour, milk and cookies waiting at night, etc... it was perfect. Our room was on the 3rd floor and it was way beyond my expectations - top notch! Kalamazoo nightlife and dining was also great - in the morning after a very restful and pleasent evening the breakfast service was outstanding! My wife had the spinach quiche and I had their famous Banana nut crusted french toast (I highly recommend those!). Again, it was a quick stay but was definitely enjoyable and we will be back to stay again... Thanks to Laurel and Terry and hope to see you both soon...!


Location, location, location!

5 sur mars 15, 2009

I loved the location of the Inn. We parked our car on Friday and did not use it all weekend. We were within walking distance of shopping and restaurants, and right next door to a wonderful, free art museum. I loved the appearance of every room that I saw. The beautiful Victorian accents everywhere made it lovely to be in every room. I loved the personal touches like homemade warm cookies and milk at night, and the social hour at 5:30 each day to talk with the innkeeprs and the other guests. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming. i felt like I was home. The breakfasts each day were outstanding. I will definately return to this House.


Super B+B Value

4,0 sur février 27, 2009

Laurel went out of her way to make my stay wonderful. She is very friendly, helpful and a tremendous hostess. The house is a work of art and so conveniently located beside Kalamazoo Institute of Arts and close walk to town. My delicious breakfast was cooked to perfection and served in front of the working fireplace. Truly a taste of southern hospitality in the midwest. Thank you!


Really wonderful stay!

5 sur février 20, 2009

Laurel goes way beyond the call & is a pleasure to talk to! Very comfortable, great food, magnificent home with architectural features like we've never seen! This B&B has it all!! Will definitely return.


Tranquility

4,0 sur janvier 15, 2009

I have had the opportunity to stay on an anniversary weekend. My husband and I came back for a 'picture perfect weekend' workshop with my niece. outstanding: accommodations, hospitality, food, service in a classy historic home. Already recommended it to family and friends! What a deal!!!!!


A lovely visit

5 sur décembre 26, 2008

My husband and I visited Kalamazoo on a short driving vacation. We loved the Kalamazoo house and our room. We walked to downtown and found the city charming. The breakfasts were wonderful and Laurel was extra willing to help us find interesting things to do. We loved the room which was very clean and charming. We would definitely stay at this B&B again and have recommended it and Kalamazoo to friends.


Perfection

5 sur novembre 20, 2008

Best in town, a tremendlous place tostay, strong in class. Great owner, food, decor, amenities. Our stay was as close to perfection as I'll ever rate anything. Wonderful owners, friendly, welcoming and boy can they cook a breakfast. Highly recommeded by us and from the talk around breakfast, everyone else. Wish I had more time there.


Another great stay!

5 sur novembre 15, 2008

Once again, we had a great stay with Laurel and Terry. Friendly, accommodating and attentive, conveniently located in the downtown area, and a fabulous breakfast each day. If travel to Kalamazoo is in your future, be sure to stay at the Kalamazoo House!


Look no further

5 sur octobre 22, 2008

I recently returned from a (too) short stay at the Kalamazoo House while traveling with my mother and sister. I have stayed at many bed and breakfast inns, and would rate the Kalamazoo House among the finest. The Victorian mansion is magnificent inside and out, and the gracious hosts made us feel pampered and welcome. Our tastefully furnished rooms were immaculate and were not filled with the kind of silly gee-gaws that so often detract from other B&B's. After a peaceful night's rest, we were treated to a delicious full breakfast served in a sunny front parlor where individual tables are arranged so you can enjoy a private meal whenever you please or converse with other guests if you're in the mood. The Kalamazoo House is conveniently located near the historic city center and is within walking distance of the city's theater and entertainment district. In short, if you are looking for a good value and exceptional lodgings in Kalamazoo, you need look no further.


KZoo House Experience

4,8 sur octobre 17, 2008

I travel to Kalamazoo frequently for work and usually stay at the chains, but I was asked to check out the Kzoo House. As skeptical as I was, I agreed and I'm glad I did. Laurel is the best - very friendly, very professional - not to mention how great her breakfast is. I will stay many more times.


Hospitality and comfort!

5 sur octobre 17, 2008

Many relatives stayed at the Kalamazoo House while attending our son's wedding. Innkeepers Laurel and Terry graciously attended to the needs of a variety of age groups. The rooms were most comfortable and wonderfully decorated. Breakfasts were "made to order" with a variety of selections. The accomodated vegan guests and all special needs. The front porch was a comfortable meeting place for all to visit during the day. Laurel and Terry also graciously invited other relatives to the inn to visit between the wedding ceremony and reception, serving wine and appetizers to all. I would highly recommend this inn to all and applaud the innkeepers high standards and welcoming spirit.


Homecoming

5 sur octobre 17, 2008

Coming back to my hometown of Kalamazoo (after 29 years in Australia) my dream of living in one of the mansions on Bronson Park came true. Now I make it a yearly trip and the only hard part is forcing myself to leave it to actually see friends!


Wonderful experience!

5 sur octobre 10, 2008

I recently stayed here for a business trip. Laurel and Terry are warm and friendly, the accommodations are terrific and the food is absolutely amazing. There are also a ton of nice little touches-- wireless internet, real flowers in the rooms, warm chocolate chip cookies at night, free beverages, chocolates, bath fragrances and so on. I've been to so many fancy hotels on business that nickel and dime everything; this was a wonderful change. It made me think I might like to travel to Kalamazoo with my family on vacation some time!


Fabulous

5 sur juillet 28, 2008

I spent two blissful days and nights at the The Kalamazoo House and loved every minute of it. I don't think I've ever been so pampered and cared for. The setting is restful and beautiful, the interior offers delights to the eye where ever you look. The bedrooms offer every amenity and the food was incredible. I can't recommend this place enough.


Outstanding Establishment

5 sur juillet 22, 2008

I had never stayed in a B&B before in my life, but after my wife convinced me to stay in the Kalamazoo House during a recent trip to Kalamazoo, I am a B&B convert. That is if they are all like the Kalamazoo House. The owners were just wonderful people, Terry makes the best breakfast, better than any restaurant. Laurel was extremely attentive while serving and the variety and options were unimaginable. The rooms are extremely clean, quite and well furnished, I slept like a baby. The location to downtown activities as well as WMU and K-College was perfect. Out stay was perfect, from friendly discussions with Laurel and Terry to warm cookies and milk at bedtime to the smell of fresh coffee and bacon in the morning. My wife wants to stay at more B&B's, but I fear that all after the Kalamazoo House will be a little disappointing. I would highly recommend the Kalamazoo House and in fact, I have done so many times at work since our stay. I am planning a suprise trip back for our anniversary next spring for a suprise. Great Place, Great Value.


loved it.

5 sur juillet 09, 2008

Everything was great, we stayed in the king room, on the night of my birthday, and loved it. Highly reccomended, we'll be back.


What a wonderful experience!

5 sur mai 28, 2008

What a wonderful experience! My husband and I recently stayed at The Kalamazoo House and have only good things to say! We had the pleasure of staying in a most romantic room - the original master suite of the house #4. It was just as the pictures showed - beautiful decor, wonderful amenities, and a comfortable bed. Everything we needed, wanted, or forgot was there for us! Laurel & Terry, the owners, also added to the great experience. They were very pleasant and fun but also showed respect for our privacy (sometimes hit-or-miss with B&B owners). Breakfast was a delight! Fresh made-to-order omelets, and many other choises, scones, fruit - the works! The formal dining room was also beautiful and added to the experience. Overall, we had a very relaxing stay at The Kalamazoo House. We hope to return in the summer in order to enjoy the beautiful downtown and arts in Kalamazoo. Highly, Highly,Highly Recommended!


Made our Anniversary Special

5 sur mai 27, 2008

They made our Anniversary one to remember. It was lovely and we will definately be back. If you know little about B&B's or think you do, go to the Kalamazoo House and you will have a new level of appreciation. Especially with the food. Our host made us feel comfortable and at home from 1st walking through the door. They attended to our every needs, gave great advice to the many nearby downtown restaurants. We strolled to the Kalamazoo College University and to the Western Michigan Campus. The location of the Kalamazoo House is wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer, but duties called elsewhere. WE WILL BE BACK.......


What a delight

5 sur mai 27, 2008

what a delite it was to stay in this very clean and authentic B & B..........everything we needed was there for us..........Laurel & Terry, the inn-keepers, were truly wonderful & warm host. hats off to this B & B........it is one of the best! great nights sleep & Terry makes the best breakfasts hands down


This is such a GEM

5 sur avril 15, 2008

This is by far the nicest B&B we've ever stayed at. The host, Laurel, is friendly and warm and the house is magnificient. We have already planning to book two more stays. If you're looking for a real treat, try this gem. Don't miss the warm cookies before bedtime, they are wonderful.


A Perfect Place

4,0 sur avril 14, 2008

The Kalamazoo House is absolutely amazing; you simply can’t say enough with words. Everything is perfection, the innkeepers Laurel and Terry definately make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are great, very clean and extremely comfortable. The overall beauty of the Kalamazoo House was perfect. I surprised my wife by taking her here, Laurel provided the flowers and I had the wine chilled and ready, this was truly a dream come true. I will talk about this place for the rest of my life! We truely enjoyed it's close location to all of the downtown resturants and to the colleges. We never got in our car all weekend. We have stayed in others in Kalamazoo and the Kalamazoo House is definately the best we have stayed in.


A Wonderful Place

5 sur mars 04, 2008

We chose the Kalamazoo House because of all their great reviews and we were not disappointed. The place is beautiful, Laurel and Terry are great host, they make you feel as if this is your home too. Very entertaining without being intrusive. Tremendous breakfast, warm cookies at night.... Just lovely The house is extremely convienient to all the downtown and the colleges, we never had to get in the car. Highly recommended to everyone. Try the veggie scrammble in the morning, you won't be disappointed.


Absolutely Perfect

5 sur février 10, 2008

The Kalamazoo House: Perfect in every way. From the cookies to the real flowers in every room, Laurel and Terry make sure every detail is taken care of to make known how important you are to them. My wife and I had a great stay and would only recommend the Kalamazoo House!


Great Place - I will stay no place else

5 sur janvier 21, 2008

My husband and I just spent out 1st anniversary at the Kalamazoo House and it was wonderful. We were made to feel right at home by Laurel and Terry the owners, in fact we enjoyed chatting with them so much we almost missed our dinner reservations. They treated us like royalty and breakfast was wonderful with generous portions of several options cooked to order. I means nothing was prefrozen, not even the muffins they made themselves. I would highly recommend the Kalamazoo House to anyone, YOU WON"T GO WRONG.


Wonderful Stay & Place - Highly recommended

5 sur janvier 17, 2008

After a disappointing stay last year at the Henderson Castle, this year my wife and I had our best anniversary every after 16 years and we both attribute a tremendous amount of it to our stay at the Kalamazoo House. We had a wonderful time. Laurel and Terry are great host, they made our stay there very special to us. They attended to every detail even though they didn't even know it was our anniversary. Next year (and we will be back again next year) we will tell them just so we can celebrate it with them also. The house is warm and comfortable, the price is very reasonable and I just can say enough about the owners. They recommended restaurants, had refreshments with us and other guest and served a cook to order breakfast. We actually felt as if we got away from the kids and were pampered. I highly recommend it to anyone for a romantic weekend get away.


This place is GREAT!!!!!

5 sur janvier 15, 2008

I have stayed in the Kalamazoo chain hotels and in the B&B's in Kalamazoo while on business and nothing in the area compares to the comfortable and pleasant stay at the Kalamazoo House. I enjoyed refreshments with the host in the evening, I enjoyed cookies and milk just before turning in and I enjoyed a tremendous French Toast Breakfast the following morning. The bed was extremely comfortable and the house was a quite structure, I never heard another guest. It is centrally located so i could enjoy an evening stroll to several good restaurants in the downtown area. A beautiful park is just across the street and it is surrounded by wonderful old churches and buildings. I felt as if I was taking a walk as it was in 1900. This is a place you can't miss. Laurel and Terry, I'll be back for sure next trip to town.


Outstanding Place to Stay

5 sur janvier 10, 2008

While traveling to Kalamazoo to visit Kalamazoo College, I found the Kalamazoo House Bed and Breakfast on line and decided to give it a try. WOW, WHAT A GREAT DECISION, THIS PLACE WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! This is a beautifully restored Victorian Home, that has taken the effort to attend to the details. The rooms are extremely clean, the beds are comfortable, the linens and towels are of great quality and it is all done in the period era. I truely cannot say enough great things about the place. The host are great people to be around, interesting to spend time with and cook a mean omlette. I highly recommend this facility to anyone visiting Kalamazoo or looking for a weekend getaway. I hate to say it aloud, but it is priced too low for all of the comfort and ammenities received. This place is wonderful


Kalamazoo House

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $119 - $199
  • Avis (103) 4,7
  • Chambres 10
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2693820880
  • Fax 1-2693820897
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8663100880

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut