Kara's Kottages Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,9
  • Services4,7
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,9
  • Repas sur place4,2

Notation basée sur
42 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great Kalamazoo Stay!

5 sur juin 14, 2016

We stayed in the Douglas Fir Kottage above Kara's actual house and it was a great stay! The whole place is super clean and very comfortable. The decor is gorgeous and very romantic. It was also walking distance to a great Indian food place and only a little over a mile from downtown so that was walkable as well! It was a perfect place for a two night stay in Kalamazoo.


Adorable b&b

4,0 sur juin 13, 2016

The place was great! So nice and clean but would have loved some other breakfast options.

Réponse du propriétaire
Hi and thanks for your positive review! I see that you mentioned wanting more breakfast options. Since we value the opinion of our guests and hope to meet and hopefully exceed their expectations, I was hoping that you might be willing to share with me what other breakfast items that you had hoped for. Here is a list of what I offer for easy reference: English Muffins Cream Cheese Bagels Waffles Eggs Sausage Patties & Links Assorted Cereal Organic Granola Greek Yogurt Almond Milk Fruit Juice Peanut Butter Whole Bean Coffee & Grinder Half & Half Assorted Teas Oatmeal Farina Muffin Mix Dried Cranberries Real Maple Syrup Ciniman Rolls


Newest unit

5 sur juin 11, 2016

Nice decor, well stocked, close to the college, casual comfort,private and convenient. Highly recommend.


Wedding Weekend

5 sur juin 06, 2016

We rented all of the Kottages for the weekend of our daughter's wedding. Our immediate family stayed there along with the bridesmaids and their spouses. To say it was an amazing place in just not enough!! Both the inside and outside areas are so welcoming and homey. It was a great place for everyone to gather and relax. The breakfast selection was so much larger than we expected - you name it, it was there. Kara was so helpful and accommodating. Perfect place, perfect weekend!! Stay here - you will not be disappointed! Deb K


Lovely

4,2 sur avril 13, 2016

Lovely, comfy, cozy, clean. What a wonderful little retreat! Thank you Kara!


Shannon and Jen's stay

4,8 sur mars 26, 2016

This was a romantic getaway for us. I perposed to my lady and Kara help make everything perfect for our stay. Would absolutely stay again and will tell others about her Kottages. Very nice


Exceeded expectations

5 sur décembre 29, 2015

We had a great stay. Parked in a covered garage, walked in to a super clean, cozy, homey room. We had total privacy with our own two bedroom suite. Breakfast was in the fridge, ready to eat when we were. The sheets, robes and towels were really high quality. The private living room was filled with DVDs, books and comfy furniture. I would definitely recommend.


Douglas Fir Kottage

4,2 sur décembre 01, 2015

My husband and I stayed for two nights. We were in Kalamazoo to attend a local music festival. Our accommodations were absolutely charming and impeccably clean. The photo gallery is a perfect representation of Kara's offerings. We plan to come back and stay just for a leisurely get away to enjoy the comfortable surroundings. We'll explore some more of Kzoo but probably spend equal time lounging around the "Kottage". The skylights above the bed and claw foot tub let in the clear starry night and made the whole experience that much more romantic.


A Real Treat.

5 sur novembre 12, 2015

I travel constantly on business and staying at Kara's Kottage made it a restful and fun experience. I highly recommend Kara's.


Kara's Kottages in Kalamazoo

4,6 sur novembre 04, 2015

Kara's is always a wonderful place to hang our hats while we spend time with our college student in Kalamazoo. It is very comfortable, and the amenities go above and beyond what one would expect. You scarcely need to bring any toilet articles as most everything is provided. The ease and comfort of the facility make it worth a return trip.


The Best!

5 sur novembre 01, 2015

This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and I practically live on the road and stay in everything from Motel 6 to the Four Seasons. The Kottage was spotless, the breakfast was over the top in choices and quality, and every possible need was anticipated. I almos t hate to say this because the next time I am in Kalamazoo to work with my client there, I want to be sure I can get in to Kara's Kottage. Thank you so much.


Anniversary weekend in Kalamazoo

4,2 sur octobre 19, 2015

Was looking for the perfect place to stay at during our weekend in Kalamazoo. Kara's Kottages was more then perfect. Great location,great amenities, and over all a great place to come back to after taking in all the great sites of Kalamazoo.


Fall Weekend Getaway

5 sur octobre 15, 2015

Kara's Kottages was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I stayed at the newest unit, the Redwood for one night. Kara was very attentive and accommodating as we tried to book a unit as well as when we were trying to access the complimentary Netflix. In terms of the unit, it was as if we had stepped into a magazine. Kara's attention to design detail is impeccable. She thought of and included every convenience, down to antacids in the bathroom! We honestly did not want to leave to go anywhere! Beds, towels, robes, and furnishings were clean and comfortable. The entire unit was extremely clean and in fantastic condition. There were plenty of healthy breakfast items to prepare and a fully stocked kitchen in which to prepare it. I would recommend any of Kara's Kottages to anyone! We will be returning for sure!


Lovely experience

4,8 sur septembre 22, 2015

Our stay was a wonderful experience. We were not sure exactly what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised.The rooms were spacious, extremely well decorated and neat as a pin! The location was very close to great dining and downtown Kalamazoo. Kara went beyond stocking the necessities and provided a bit of luxury. The complimentary coffee and snack cart was much appreciated along with a mini-bar with very reasonably priced extras. We would definitely stay at Kara's cottages again.


Kara's Kottages

4,6 sur août 30, 2015

Wonderful stay. Delighted at the kottage, well worth staying again.


Just like Home

5 sur août 11, 2015

Wonderful stay in Kalamazoo. Every little detail at Kara's Kottages was thought of. Definitely stay here again!


Wonderful place to stay close to downtown Kalamazoo

4,6 sur juillet 17, 2015

We stay here every time we come through Kalamazoo. The "cottages" are just beautiful - right off the pages of Pottery Barn. There is even a lovely patio with a firepit, chairs, and a nice big table. And, the house is close enough that you can walk to downtown Kalamazoo. By the way, this isn't a typical B&B. There is no shared dining area. She does have some eggs and other breakfast items available to cook your own breakfast (there is a kitchenette in the room with a full size fridge and stove). So, this is way I gave the Onsite Dining only a 3.


Awesome BNB, without the 2nd B

4,0 sur avril 12, 2015

My husband and I stayed in The Pine Room at Kara's Kottages. It was a breath-taking room, with private sitting area (fireplace, tv), kitchen (stove, microwave, full fridge), and full bath all included in the suite... and this is the smallest of the rooms! She's done a lovely job with the reno! We were less than a mile walk to the downtown area (Kalamazoo Mall), and countless breweries, restaurants, and shops. Kara was a gracious hostess, and left us everything we could possibly need. The only thing that kept our stay from being perfect was the lack of breakfast. Let me preface by saying that Kara leaves a fully stocked kitchen with many breakfast choices (eggs, bagels, biscuits, cereal, granola, juices, milk, cream cheese, etc.)... for you to make for yourself. With no breakfast being served, we ended up skipping out both mornings, and simply opting for leftovers from dinner the nights before. We were also expected to do all of our dishes before we left. That part did not feel like a BNB to me... at least, not one we've been to before (more than a dozen in several states). I don't want to deter anyone from staying at Kara's Kottage, because we really did enjoy the stay, over all. We just felt like part of what we pay extra for in a BNB is a more personal breakfast experience.


My first B&B

5 sur avril 08, 2015

This was my first B&B and I enjoyed every second of it! Even though it was only for one night, I know for sure that I will be returning again and again. Kara was there to greet me and she showed me around the other two rooms and I was in awe. The decor was beautiful and all I could think is that I'll have to come back and bring friends! It is definitely a home away from home. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything was great. The reason I came was to surprised my girlfriend and she loved it, it's definitely better than a hotel. I give it two thumbs up!


Nice and relaxing

3,4 sur mars 30, 2015

This was a nice stay.


Weekend Stay

5 sur mars 10, 2015

Had a wonderful overnight stay at Kara's Kottages. Our room was beautifully decorated and oh so clean and cozy. Loved that the cottage was equipped with everything you need for your stay! I would highly recommend a stay at Kara's Cottages.


Wonderful Stay at Kara's Kottages

5 sur février 24, 2015

I brought my daughter to Kalamazoo for a visit to Kalamazoo College. Kara's Kottages was the perfect place to stay. Close enough to campus we were able to walk to all campus activities so we did not have to worry about parking on campus. The cottage was wonderfully warm and inviting. We didn't want to leave when our visit was over. I would recommend anyone visiting the Kalamazoo area to stay here!!


Great place to stay!

3,8 sur février 11, 2015

The "Kottage" was cozy, very clean and had many upscale upgrades. It felt like home with the plush bedding, TV, cable, DVDs, wireless Internet, books and magazines and fully stocked kitchen. I have 3 small complaints. The photos make it look as if you are in the country. In fact, you are near downtown on a busy road and next to the railroad. Second, the cancellation policy is ten days prior to stay or you pay full price. We had a conflict come up 7 days prior. Thankfully, our conflict ended up being cancelled, so we could enjoy the Kottage. Last, there were many quick breakfast items, but no fresh produce. Fruits to go with the plain yogurt or veggies to cook with the eggs would have been much appreciated! Overall, it was a great place to stay, many times better than a hotel! I would stay here again if visiting Kalamazoo!


Best bed and breakfast I've been to

4,8 sur février 09, 2015

If you find yourself in Kalamazoo, stay here. The rooms (apartments really) are large yet cozy, Decorated very well and no detail is missed. Super highly recommend


Great find

5 sur février 09, 2015

This B & B is on the top of my list. Amazing property and all the comforts anyone could want.


Wonderful Stay, Perfect Engagement Weekend!!

4,2 sur février 05, 2015

To celebrate my 25th birthday, my boyfriend (now Fiance!) & I booked a stay in the Pine Kone Kottage for the weekend of Jan 30th. Our cottage was exquisite, so cozy & romantic. Within 15 minutes of arriving Travis was inspired to get down on his knee & propose! The lights were dimmed just so & the fireplace was gently roaring, it was a moment of a lifetime! We will definitely be returning. Kara's attention to detail in both amenities & decor was spectacular. All the breakfast fixings were provided, as well as a stocked "mini-bar." Toiletries & extra linens were available too. The location was splendid. We had a pleasant walk downtown on Saturday, many restaurants were nearby. A train runs close to the Kottages so that may bother some people but it didn't bother us. I am so thrilled that Kara's Kottages was the location of our precious engagement story. I happily will refer all my family & friends to stay at Kara's Kottages if they find themselves in Kalamazoo! Thank you Kara!


Overnight in Kalamzoo

4,8 sur février 04, 2015

Very nice "Kottage" in a residential area of Kalamazoo. The main street the house is on is a little busy, but with the blinds closed, it wasn't too bad. The Kottage itself was very nice, and all the free items you can use for breakfast were a great bonus. I will definitely come back here again.


Comfortable but downstairs guests noisy

4,2 sur janvier 04, 2015

Beautiful B&B located close to downtown Kalamazoo. Well stocked kitchen and a variety of food such as eggs, sausage, yogurt, granola and cereal. No fruit as pictured in the photos. Our first night was spectacular, but the second night the guests downstairs came in noisily at 12:30 am and were smoking and loud until 4 am, a blatant disregard for the Kottage rules. I left a message on Kara's voicemail about the disturbance. Kara notified me that she charged the guests for our room in addition to the $200 smoking fee. When she notified the other guests about those charges, they asked her if she would talk to us to remove our charge. That put the burden on us and we felt uncomfortable being the ones responsible in charging the disruptive guests for our inconvenience, especially because there was no policy stating this would happen. We ended up paying for a restless night. Kara indicated to me that she is revising the quiet policy to include monetary damages for violators. I realize that this is unlikely to happen again, but it did happen to us.


A place I'd like to live

5 sur novembre 17, 2014

We had the most wonderful stay at Kara's Kottages this past week. The property was so lovely and charming and had everything you could possibly want or need. We decided that we wised we could live there! Kara was extrememly nice and accommodating and allowed us to extend our checkout time when our transportation was delayed by weather. I highly recoommend staying here and will absolutely stay here if I am ever in Kalamazoo again. 5 stars.


Dreamy....

5 sur octobre 14, 2014

Kara's Kottages is a beautiful tucked away treasure near downtown Kalamazoo. The beds are like sleeping on the clouds. Kara has every paid every attention to detail in the Kottages and you won't want to miss an opportunity to stay in this beautiful home away from home. You will love this dreamy bed and breakfast with more bed than breakfast, it is definitely a must see!! Thank you Kara for hosting us for our wedding!


Wish we could keep this place secret

5 sur octobre 07, 2014

I managed to convince my daughter to go away for a weekend where we could be together and catch up, without her dealing with her senior year college demands. We could basically go anywhere in a 100-mile radius from where she studies, (I had to take a 7 hour flight anyway). We ended up choosing the Kalamazoo area because we liked the pictures Kara posted in her site. I had come up many things to do together: there was a hot air balloon show going on, and I figured we could explore the town and watch the ND football game at a local pub on Saturday night. We ended up staying in all weekend, cuddled up in the wonderful sofa, surrounded by peace and quiet and in the most homy, well-thought place we have ever been, watching tv, and sipping Kara´s delightful coffee and teas. The bedding, towels, the throws and robes in which we spent most of the time, the floors and pottery barn decor is extra comfy and impeccably clean. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to make anything we wanted for breakfast, and all the seasonings to cook our other meals. Kara has stocked up the place with everything from q-tips to chip clips… (by the way, we accidentally took one with our opened bag of chips, we will be bringing it back when we stay again.) This is the kind of place one wishes to keep secret to go back time and again. Kudos, Kara on what you have accomplished here. Thank you for the quiet time and the happy memories!


Ultimate Comfort and Relaxation

5 sur novembre 18, 2013

We arrived a bit earlier than what we stated in the reservation and had the good fortune of meeting the owner, Kara. She is extraordinary! Kara gave us a grand tour of all the units, because they were not rented for the evening. Her attention to detail is outstanding and I can assure she has gone to great measures to make sure your stay is comfortable. We stay in the Pine Cone Cottage and it was perfect! The unit was clean and cozy, especially with the fireplace and had all the comforts of home. I highly recommend Kara's Kottages.


Comfortable, charming and perfect for our needs.

5 sur novembre 07, 2013

The accommodations could not have been more ideal or better suited for our needs. We were thrilled and plan to stay there again and again.


Fantastic stay, would recommend to anyone interested in staying here.

4,8 sur juillet 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kara's Kottages the weekend of my brother's wedding. It was fantastic--the room was clean and very comfortable, and had everything we needed from extra linens to a very generously appointed kitchen (we went to the grocery store before checking out what was offered, and bought many unnecessary items.) Kara was extremely attentive and responded quickly to our questions once we were there. My parents and uncles stayed in another unit, and were equally impressed. The common courtyard was so convenient and was where we spent most of our time catching up and hanging out. I will definitely stay here again whenever I'm in town again. Thank you so much Kara!


Would stay again!

5 sur mai 24, 2013

Very nice. Had everything we needed and more. If in the area would stay again.


Unparalleled beauty, charm and attention to detail...

4,6 sur avril 29, 2013

We arrived to an inviting fireplace and cozy lighting that just begged us to sit and relax for a bit. It was even nicer than it looked in the photos. The refrigerator and cupboards were stocked with everything we could think of for our breakfast needs---most items even healthy and organic! Definitely one of the cleanest and most comfortable places we've ever stayed---it would even pass my grandmother's "white glove test" ---I would recommend KarasKottages wholeheartedly and without reservation. Since it is downtown and close to a college campus, you do get a little noise from groups walking by (especially late Saturday night/early Sunday morning). If you are used to city life, it won't even phase you.


Amazing!

5 sur avril 17, 2013

Karas Kottages are a very warm cozy place to stay. Everything was beyound clean and Kara was so very helpful and friendly! We will be going back plenty of times to have get togethers.


Home away from home

5 sur octobre 23, 2012

My co-worker and myself were in town for a conference and stayed at Kara's because the conference hotel was booked. We were blown away by the cottage! It was so cozy and comfortable, we referred to it the whole time as "home", it was really hard to leave the cottage to go to the conference and it was the perfect place to return to after a long day of sessions. The details in the cottage were impeccable! I can not say enough good things about this, by far the best place I have ever stayed anywhere in the country! Thank you so much, Kara!


My thoughts...

2,6 sur août 12, 2012

Pics show what room looks like, daily housekeeping is not done, breakfast is make your own but supplied (as shown on add), location very close to downtown, train did not both me, best description is studio daily apartment rental.


Oh so fantastic!

5 sur mai 25, 2012

This B & B is truly an exceptional place! We checked in to absolutely wonderful accomodations, but it was the little touches that really set this place apart. . . such as the well stocked fridge, the comfortable pillows, the guest bathrobes, and the lovely outdoor seating, with a firepit! Well worth the price!


Great accommodations

4,6 sur avril 20, 2012

My Husband I were upgraded to a nicer room at no extra charge due to a double booking. The owner was very nice and quick to respond to questions. The place was clean, comfortable, and beautifully decorated.


A hard person to satisfy

5 sur avril 15, 2012

I'm the guy that never feels he gets his money's worth and also the guy that would never write a review, but here I am. My wife and I rented the two bedroom suite on the second floor this weekend we had our daughter, son inlaw and granddaughter coming from Wisconsin to join us we met Kara at the room because we needed to get in early which she made possible, even let us shower while she finished her cleaning! Kara was very personable and friendly, very accommodating with all our needs. The suite was fantastic everything the site says it is and more,all items top of the line bedding, linen, furniture. Was impressed enough this is where I will stay when ever we are in town, and I just want to thank Kara for everything! The one time I will say I Got my money's worth!!


Kara's Kottages

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $179 - $179
  • Avis (42) 4,7
  • Chambres 5
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Réservez

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut