1774 Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,7

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,7
  • Services4,9
  • Qualité/Prix4,5
  • Propreté4,8
  • Repas4,8

Notation basée sur
103 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Elegant Inn on the Water

4,8 sur novembre 17, 2014

Our first encounter with the 1774 Inn was when our daughter was a freshman at Bowdoin. I had neglected to get reservations for Family Weekend early enough and every room in Brunswick was sold out. I stumbled upon the 1774 Inn and liked that it seemed so peacefully located, historic, and yet was only 20 minutes away from Bowdoin. We liked it so much, we came back this year and will continue to stay there as long as our daughter is at Bowdoin and maybe longer. The Innkeepers, Jackie and John, are intelligent, hospitable, and entertaining. John took 30 minutes to go over the rules of rugby with us and cooks a fabulous breakfast. The rooms are all impeccably decorated and comfortable. We feel very much at home, but the Inn is certainly more elegant than our real home. It's also set on the most beautiful piece of property you can imagine. It's on a slight hill overlooking a green lawn that slopes down to the water. There's a great hiking trail right over the bridge, and it is off the beaten track. That said, it is very simple to get back to Route 1 and the drive is beautiful. The 1774 is a great find.


Best Sister Trip Yet

5 sur octobre 21, 2014

My sister and I take a week long get away once a year and the 1774 Inn was the last and best stop of the week for our 2014 trip. The peace, quiet and natural beauty of the setting was perfect for us. We loved the ship builders room! Sitting on our porch and enjoying the brightest display of stars at night was magical. Jackie and John were so kind and hospitable and we felt like we had new forever friends. Just by visiting with us they knew exactly what we were looking for. Jackie suggested a quirky little lunch/farm one day and we knew she understood places that were special and native to the area that we would enjoy. Thank you for such a lovely three nights! -Julie Cottrell


Stop looking-- you've found it.

4,4 sur octobre 16, 2014

Perfect. It's perfect.


Perfect :)

5 sur septembre 29, 2014

1774 Inn Could not have been any better! This is the most perfect B&B we have ever experienced. This property is beautifully historic and private, yet very close to everything in town. It is within walking distance to the Phippsburg Congregational Church, which is where we were married and is also beautiful, historic and highly recommended. A short drive to restaurants on the water and popham state park/beach. One of the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen. Thank You Jackie & John for your hospitality and most delicious breakfast!!! S & S Austin, TX


Dream Vacation

5 sur septembre 21, 2014

Best trip ever! John and Jackie made our stay absolutely wonderful! The sweetest and kindest people you will ever meet. They made our dream wedding come true! They will always have a special place in our hearts! Thank You so much!


Absolute,y the best!!

5 sur septembre 07, 2014

I stay in many B and B's and the 1774 Inn is by far the best I have ever stayed in. Beautiful location, gorgeous rooms, incredible Breakfasts and the nicest , most helpful yet unobtrusive hosts ever. I hope to be back many times!! I was traveling with my 17 year old daughter who also can't wait to go back!


A hidden gem!

4,8 sur septembre 02, 2014

Tucked in a lovely corner of Phippsburg, with a gorgeous view of the Kennebec River and near Popham Beach and Hermit Island, this historic inn is exquisite. The innkeepers are articulate, pleasant and run a delightful place. I would recommend it to all my friends. We will definitely keep coming to this terrific place!


Three Perfect Days in Phippsburg

5 sur août 11, 2014

The 1774 Inn is comfortable and beautifully decorated. It has a lovely, peaceful view of the river that we looked forward to enjoying at the end of each day. John is a wonderful host. He knows the area in detail and made excellent recommendations for dinners, activities and sightseeing. We thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and the interesting company of the other guests. Although our first visit, everyone else had been there before and was returning to a place that clearly held special memories. We hope to return also!


Super view, friendly owner, amazing food

4,4 sur août 11, 2014

And that i wall you can ask from such an old property. the rooms are OK, but that is not way we came to Maine. I strongly recommend you try swimming in the lake just at the bottom of Parker Head road: we saw the locals do it and it turned out to be the perfect temperature, clean, and beutifull. and, if you have a Kayak, the bold eagles on Goat Island are very active and worth a visit.


a great place to stay

4,2 sur août 06, 2014

the owners are extremely helpful. the inn itself is historic and beautifully furnished. the setting is gorgeous. probably the best B & B I have ever stayed in.


gorgeous inn and town

5 sur août 06, 2014

We arrived to a charming welcoming from John. Showed us around the beautifully restored home. Our room was very cute and comfortable. Before going out to dinner my husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine by the waters edge. Breakfast each morning was delicious, hats off to the girls. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, can't wait to return.


BOOK THE 1774 INN FOR YOUR WEDDING IMMEDIATELY!

5 sur juillet 15, 2014

This past weekend my new wife and I had our wedding at the 1774 Inn. From the beginning of the planning through the week after our wedding John and Jackie could not have made our experience better. The home, the grounds and the hosts are quite possibly perfect. Situated perched on its huge rolling lawn above the Kennebec River, it truly is the perfect setting. We had around 100 guests and all of them told us personally that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. We would love to think it was because of the Bride and Groom, but I think really it was because of the location and the experience. Please don't hesitate to contact them about an event or even just a nice weekend stay. It will be the best decision you have ever made. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you again John and Jackie!


The Perfect Getaway

4,8 sur juin 04, 2014

Beautiful property overlooking the water. Sumptuous breakfasts. Charming, affable owner who exudes hospitality. Spacious rooms, exquisitely decorated to the period.


Relaxing stay at a beautiful Maine B&B.

4,6 sur novembre 04, 2013

The very old house had been painstakingly rehabbed and decorated. The breakfasts were elegant and delicious. The proprieters were friendly and just delightful people. The view with the river running just behind the house and the fall colors was just incredible.


Every room has view

4,4 sur novembre 04, 2013

The 1774 Inn is situated in a wonderful place by the river with every room offering such views or that of the majestic colour of the fall. Rooms are tastefully decorated with a hint of old world charm blending nicely with modern facilities. Breakfast is bountiful and home cooked which sets you up for a day of walking. John and Jackie are superb hosts and we will return. Dave and Wendy Weston


Great Stay

4,4 sur octobre 22, 2013

Had a wonderful stay,beautiful waterfront setting. Jacqueline and John are the best hosts, would love to stay there again. Glenn and Pat Long Beach Island N.J.


Relaxing days at the 1774 Inn

4,0 sur octobre 20, 2013

We spent four relaxing days at the 1774 Inn. The view down to Kennebec river is gorgeous. The indoor furnishing reveals an excellent taste. The breakfasts were simply outstanding - the best we had during our stay in the States. It is for sure that we will be at the 1774 Inn again the next time we are in Maine. It is an excellent address. Highly recommended!


Weekend on the Kennebec

4,4 sur octobre 11, 2013

We stayed at the 1774 Inn on a weekend in October 2013. We were attending a nearby reunion and the location was just perfect. From the moment we checked in to the aroma of home made cookies baking to our check out on a beautiful atumn Monday morning, it was a great experience. John & Jackie were the perfect hosts, always providing a welcoming and relaxing environment. Although this was our first stay there, I felt as if I had been to the 1774 Inn many times. The Woodshed Suites was simply outstanding, with our own private porch with rockers and a million dollar view of the Kennebec River. The 1774 Inn is a B&B that I would most definitely return to.


Great Place with Great Food!

4,6 sur octobre 11, 2013

A very nice B&B with great views and great food. Jackie and John go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. Jackie is an outstanding cook; great breakfasts.


Perfect retreat

5 sur octobre 07, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the inn, our host and the atmosphere. A beautiful home and such comfortable environs create the perfect combination for a relaxed and welcoming retreat.


Rented the inn for a nearby wedding.

5 sur octobre 03, 2013

We had a perfect weekend renting the inn for a local wedding. John and Jackie were terrific hosts and made for such a special bonding experience for the two families. The inn is so beautiful inside and out. We held the rehearsal dinner in the charming old barn. If we hadn't been so busy, we would have had more time to take in the spectacular setting. The whole experience could not have been better!


woodshed room

4,8 sur septembre 30, 2013

wonderful. clean, quite. great food and the inn keeper was so nice and helpful. beautiful place by the river and country side.


Total Sanctuary!

5 sur septembre 13, 2013

We absolutely fell in love with the 1774!! We booked our next visit before we left!


Labor Day Getaway

4,8 sur septembre 06, 2013

We were immediately cheerfully greeted and provided a thoughtful orientation to the inn and the area. Our hosts were always willing to tell us about the area. Our room was clean. The inn is clean and tastefully decorated. The area is quiet Maine with beautiful view of the river. Our kayak paddle from the nearby launch was outstanding-beautiful and interesting with seals popping up to inspect us every few minutes.


Beautifull place, friendly and helpfull host

4,8 sur septembre 05, 2013

David and Beatrix


Wonderful Inn

5 sur août 27, 2013

The inn is just as pictured. The food was great. John and Jackie were superb hosts.


A return stay

5 sur août 23, 2013

Our visit this year was as relaxing and enjoyable as last's years. Jackie and John are marvelous hosts and have excellent recommendations on things to do in the area. 1774 Inn is a warm and gracious spot. Angela and Dick


A Perfect Trip Thanks to the 1774 Inn!

5 sur août 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I had an absolutely lovely stay at the 1774 Inn! It is an impressively historic Colonial home situated on a gorgeous and well manicured lawn right beside a beautiful lake. The couple who run the inn are incredibly kind, hospitable and well informed about all that there is to do in the area. They gave us great recommendations along with all of the info and details that one could need. They recommended beaches, hikes, restaurants and all the best things to do in a coastal Maine town. I felt very at home at the Inn which is an important part of the B&B experience. Not to mention that the breakfast was tremendous! I loved every aspect of my stay at the 1774 Inn and plan to return!


Will go back.

4,0 sur août 14, 2013

Beautiful inn. Friendly and attentive hosts.


Best Inn in Midcoast Maine

5 sur août 12, 2013

I landed at the 1774 Inn by accident (since my first choice was sold out) and am very glad that I did. The property is lovely, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, and Jackie and John are the most engaging innkeepers I've come across in my many travels. It's my new favorite and I hope to return often.


Simply the Best B&B

4,8 sur août 11, 2013

We took two rooms for five splendid nights at the 1774 Inn. For once, the publicity shots are not an exaggeration - in fact, they cannot do justice to this fabulous property and it's tranquil location. Above all, charming hosts Jackie and John paid attention to every detail to ensure our stay was exactly what WE wanted it to be. Bravo!


Marco Boivin, saguenay

5 sur août 09, 2013

Très belle maison historique dans un décor enchanteur. À proximité de la magnifique plage de Popham beach et des villes de Brunswicket freeport. Hôte très acceullant et serviable. Ne pas oublier de demander à John d'enlever son alarme de porte pour la nuit.


Restful stay

5 sur juillet 22, 2013

It was the perfect stay for us.


beautiful hideaway with a stunning view

4,2 sur juillet 16, 2013

We stayed just two nights at the 1774 Inn but we had a great time. Jacky is a wonderful host: she is very friendly and gave us lots of tips where to go, what to do and where to dine. The 1774 Inn is a beautiful house with a gorgeous interior. The B&B's lawn leads down to the river, where you can watch seals resting on a little island during low tide. The area around Phippsburg is really nice: lots of wood, beaches, hicking trails -- there's a lot you can do "in nature" to relax! It's the perfect hideaway!


A Most Wonderful Stay

5 sur juillet 08, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful properties in the area. The original house is stunning, with dining and living areas that make you want to sit and relax. The room we stayed in was spacious, overlooking the lawns and the river. The best part though, was our gracious and knowledgeable hostess, who is not only a great cook, but was also able to direct us to wherever we were interested in going. Highly recommended!


Outstanding B&B in a beautiful part of Maine

4,8 sur juin 11, 2013

Jackie and John are wonderful hosts and the moment you step through the door of this most amazing inn, you feel welcome and at home. You feel as though you have stepped back in time to the 17th century yet with all the modern comforts of today. There are a wide variety of baked goods and fresh fruit along with a hearty cooked breakfast that tastes delicious. The views are beautiful and relaxing. Popham Beach is nearby, with vast expanses of sandy beach so it never feels crowded. We go every year to the 1774 Inn!


Treated like a queen

4,2 sur octobre 29, 2012

Wonderful place with exceptional setting and gracious hosts. I had an extrordinary view of the river. Hated to leave my room.


1774 Inn - A real gem

4,8 sur octobre 09, 2012

A beautiful, airy, New England house. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Lovely position close to the waterfront and a genuine, hospitable, welcome from the owners. Ypu will not find a better B&B ! NAC Oxford, UK


Amazing Location......Great Hosts

5 sur octobre 04, 2012

John and Jackie own a wonderful 18th century inn on the banks of the Kennebec river. Their hospitality is un-surpassed. You really come to understand how friendly and attentive hosts can add huge value to a stay. We spent two nights, September 17 and 18 in the Woodshed Room. We loved the room's rustic feel and the relaxing porch with an unobstructed view of the Kennebec and Goat Island. Breakfast was a perfect blend of British and American fare served in both formal and casual dinning rooms. We could have spent a week just sitting on the lawn next to the river reading and playing. Make sure you visit Spinney's Restaurant at Popham Beach for fresh lobster and North Creek Farm for lunch.


All our high expectations were met and more! This was the perfect place for our short getaway.

5 sur septembre 25, 2012

We are retreat owners and had a little opening in our schedule allowing us to getaway and do some recharging of the batteries and play tourist. We stayed in the "Woodshed" suite. It was cozy, warm on the chilly nights and we very much enjoyed having a couch to sit on and chat on and have a glass wine with snacks kept cold in the mini fridge. The decor inspired us to return and do a remake on one of our cottages. Jackie has impeccable taste and creates an understated atmosphere that represents the sea faring traditions of this historic community while being comfortable, practical and beautiful. This suite has a private porch overlooking a large sloping lawn down to the river. There is nothing more soul satisfying than a long view such as this. If not for my love of the beach and having Popham Beach only 15 minutes away, we would have spent most of our time right on the porch, gazing, reading, napping. Our breakfasts were huge. We could have a light breakfast of fresh fruit and yogurt...but no, we splurged on as much of the wonderful baked goods, eggs, breakfast meats and blueberry pancakes as we could hold! It held us to supper time. John, Jackie and their cook/helper are warm, gracious, helpful and sincere. Being engaged in this line of work ourselves, we know what it takes to hold this quality of space for others to enjoy. Our expectations for our stay were high and were exceeded in every way. We felt the love in the home that was shared with us and the very wonderful service that was given.We look forward to being able to return to the inn and do more exploring of the Bath area which has so much beauty, history and diversity to offer up. Joanna & David Buell, Light Heart Retreat, Sullivan, Maine


Beautiful and charming Bed&Breakfast in Phippsburg/Maine

4,6 sur septembre 15, 2012

We had a very relaxing and wonderful stay at the 1774Inn. The B&B is located at a very wonderful place in the nature of Maine. The service of the Innkeepers was outstanding (very good breakfast!) and the rooms of the Inn are very beautiful, clean and have a nice view to the river.


Labor Day Weekend

3,4 sur septembre 06, 2012

The owners are great, new to the trade, but very anxious to please the guests. Historic site, beautiful grounds, in a great location. If you love Mid-Coast Maine, definitiely stop in here for a couple of days while you explore the area.


Phantastic stay!

5 sur août 24, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the lovely 1774 Inn. Breakfast cannot be beaten and the rooms were extremely nice, lovely decorated, spacious, clean. The friendly owners were always helpful and provided us with lots of good recommendations for restaurants, beaches and activities. The gardenview is breathtaking!


Beautiful inn, terrific scenery and delicious food

4,4 sur août 23, 2012

The 1774 inn is beautiful. We stayed in the Haggett room and it was spacious and overlooked the river. John and Jackie, the inn keepers, were very friendly and hospitable. The food and cookies are delicious! I would definitely stay again.


last minute weekend getaway

4,8 sur août 22, 2012

this inn had a beautiful setting and the innkeepers were beyond hospitable. Next time I'm bringing my kayaks, the inn 's property runs down to the water and the view is stunning.


A little bit of tidal riveside heaven

4,8 sur août 19, 2012

Welcoming hosts, beautiful building with interesting history and location with beautiful views. I hope to return.


Not to be missed!

5 sur août 16, 2012

Part of the fun (and challenge) of planning a vacation is selecting the B&Bs. We hit a home run with the 1774 Inn! It is all it says it is and more! A perfect place to explore the area and come back to sit on the lawn at the end of the day. The rooms are exquisite and the charming and gracious hosts give you a sense that they really want you to share their surroundings. A walk on Popham beach before a breakfastof fresh vegetable quiche was great. Angela and Dick


Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 sur août 06, 2012

We really relaxed at the Inn and did not want to leave. The breakfast was delicous and most generous in portion size. The whole Inn is so beautifully decorated Our second morning we sat by the water and read books. We definitely want to return next year on our trip to Maine.


Fantastic

5 sur août 02, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. John and Jackie are fantastic! Would recommend to friends and family for sure!


Fabulous stay

5 sur juillet 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the 1774 Inn for a quick honeymoon. It was beautiful, relaxing, and exactly what we were looking for. The breakfasts were delicious and John and Jackie couldn't be nicer. Great friendly service, clean, and very charming. Thank you!


Local friends visit

4,2 sur juillet 26, 2012

Our hosts were execellent. We stayed at the Inn while attending a local wedding so visiting other activitities in ME was limited. However we are planning another stay without distractions. Love loved the historical aspects of this Inn, The peacefulness it provided and our course the great hopitality of the Inn Keepers. Our Rating: Bravo Zulu in sailor talk....


You'll love this place!

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

We can't say enough good things about the classical 1774 Inn and it's charming hosts. One thing they don't advertise, however, is that the inn overlooks the best striped bass fishing location in the State of Maine. World class light tackle fishing for stripers (some very large) takes place right here. There is an excellent free boat launch a mile up the road. We will definitely stay at the 1774 again! Jerome and Sherrill Robinson, Lyme NH


Wonderful Stay - We'll be beack

4,6 sur juillet 16, 2012

1774 Inn is a truly special place. We've been there 3 times and we will be back.


Perfect Getaway!

5 sur juin 26, 2012

My husband and I loved staying here. The beautiful inside and grounds of this rambling historic home, enhanced by thoughtful attentiveness from the hosts, made the two-night stay memorable. This Inn is just a few miles from beautiful and secluded beaches and a short drive from Bath and Brunswick. We hope to stay here again!


Casual, comfortable and friendly

4,2 sur mai 23, 2012

We spent a weekend in the woodshed room. It was very comfortable and attractively furnished. The private verandah has wonderful views of the river, and there are optics in the room for seal watching. The house and grounds are lovely. The innkeepers are friendly and good conversationalists. Breakfast is ample and well prepared. The only minor negative for us was that the shower was warm - not hot. We travel to the Popham area frequently, and would definitely stay at the inn again.


Fantastic stay at the 1774 Inn

5 sur mai 23, 2012

John and Jackie were wonderful host's. I would highly recommend this inn to anybody looking for a magical weekend in Maine!


Beautiful home, wonderful hospitality

4,0 sur octobre 14, 2011

Lovely grounds and room...The area has plently to do and see!


A perfect getaway!

5 sur octobre 04, 2011

Our trip was cut short so we only got to spend 1 night, but the inn was everything we hoped for. The house is spectacular as a whole, but we particularly enjoyed the the woodshed room, where we stayed. Very comfortable, with a private entrance and deck, a great view in the morning, and exceptionally quiet in the evening. John and Jackie are very gracious hosts who made us feel completely at home. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. Look forward to returning!


Peaceful, Relaxing Escape

4,4 sur septembre 25, 2011

Had a wonderful weekend stay at the 1774 Inn recently and was very impressed. Stayed in the Woodshed Room, very spacious with its own couch and private porch looking out onto the nearby river. Enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and very welcoming innkeepers who remembered all of our names, even though a large group of us was staying in the inn that weekend. Would love to stay there again!


The 1774 Inn is stunningly beautiful in every respect

5 sur septembre 20, 2011

The 1774 Inn and its location took my breath away - and my husband's. The grandeur of the house, both inside and out, was such a pleasure. Guests are not confined - they are allowed to experience the history and the luxury because they have full access to beautifully decorated rooms beyond their own bedroom. It was like going back in time in terms of the architecture and I could not stop wandering through the rooms to get a real feel for the place. We actually felt privileged staying there. We could see the lake from our room, which had its own private terrace to the immaculate lawns. The view had an amazingly calming effect on us but we have much too many photos of exactly the same spot! Sitting outside on the lawn, facing the lake, the air was literally perfumed with smells of honey and foliage and the sounds of the birds and the crickets added to the serene perfection of it all. The breakfasts were divine and unfortunately I became addicted to the fabulous vanilla granola with fresh fruit and yoghurt! And that was only the start of the breakfast! The hosts, John and Jackie, whose sense of style created this wonderful space, could not have been more hospitable or generous. We went to lots of the places they recommended and were never disappointed. My husband is planning our return visit already but we live in London, United Kingdom, so we won't be able to visit as often as we would like. On behalf of myself and my husband, we have marked all the levels as outstanding, because that is what they truly were. We were not able to do that for the fancy New York hotel we stayed in afterwards, en route back to the UK, that's for sure. Don't miss this amazing place on your travels. You will not regret a visit - but plan for a week if you really want to explore the area and experience the magnificence of the Inn. That is what we did, but we felt we could have stayed even longer! Patricia O'Sullivan, London, UK.


Review

5 sur septembre 08, 2011

John and Jackie were wonderful hosts during our stay at their inn. We were in a big group there for a wedding. They made every effort to help us with directions and suggestions for activities. They even learned everyone's name! The breakfast were absolutely amazing!


1774 House Bed & Breakfast an absolute favorite!

4,8 sur septembre 08, 2011

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. The hospitality, rooms, views and breakfasts are the absolute best. We have been there three times and look forward to our future visits!


A little gem

4,0 sur août 27, 2011

If ever two people were destined to own an inn it's Jackie (from Ireland) and John (from England). From the minute you walk in the door of this former ship builders home you are enamored by their warmth and enthusiasm for both the history of the inn and the beauty of the area. Jackie has decorated the Inn in a style reflective of the late 17 and early 1800s. The rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. To take it up a notch it would be nice to have had late afternoon iced tea and cookies when we returned from our hike. Maybe next time. Meanwhile we look forward to returning.


Tresure island

5 sur août 27, 2011

This is one of the places were one serieously thinks of saying that it is an awful place so that nobody else would go there and one could have the place for oneself. But that would not be fair to these wonderful people running the place and to anyone else who should also have the opportunity to spend some time there: a lovely house, extraordinary rooms with beautiful interior, an exceptional breakfast, beautiful surroundings... All in all, just perfect.


1774 inn review

5 sur août 20, 2011

Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings. John and Jackie were attentive and made our stay very enjoyable! We will definitely be back. Brilliant!


Excellent B&B Experience

4,0 sur août 20, 2011

1774 Inn lived up to our high expectations (at $215+/night). Location is great, halfway between Bath & Popham Beach. Setting is lovely as portrayed in the pictures. House was inviting and elegant, but not stuffy. Our room (Minot) was airy, nice view over the lawn down to the wide river. Nice to be somewhere where the doors don't lock and don't have to. Breakfasts (blueberry pancakes, strata) were delicious, complete with choice of fresh juice, fruit, Greek yogurt, granola and fresh breads. John and Jacqui are great hosts, with the right mix of being engaging, but not overbearing. They were very helpful to folks who did not know the area well. There's a pond to swim in about a 5 minute walk down the road, and the Phippsburg Church up the hill next door has a lovely perch. Bath is great, with Solo Bistro being a favorite.


Epitomy of peaceful and gracious Inns

5 sur août 15, 2011

The 1774 Inn was delightful in every way: the Inn is beautifully decorated and welcoming, John and Jackie are the perfect innkeepers, and the setting on the Kennebec River is peaceful and refreshing.


Wonderful Weekend

5 sur août 11, 2011

John and Jacqueline provided a exquisite backdrop for our son's wedding weekend , we look forward to returning soon


1774 inn- maine

4,6 sur août 05, 2011

the place was beautiful and the owners are wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend staying there.


Can't Wait to Go Back!

5 sur août 04, 2011

The 1774 Inn was spectacular. If you are visiting Bath or Phippsburg, you absolutely must check it out. The area in general is stunning, so it is the perfect backdrop for a bed and breakfast. The house itself was spotless, beautifully decorated, oozing charm and warmth. My room was very comfortable and had a view across the lawn to the water. The breakfasts were delicious and the owners were wonderfully friendly and helpful. If I didn't live 3,000 miles away, I would make this spot a regular retreat!


A dream

5 sur août 04, 2011

stayed 2 nights with my family in Juli. Incredible nice place, very clean and outstandig services from the owners (breakfast, helps with organizing journeys, or simply where to eat have dinner). We should have the possibility to give 6 points.


Fabulous view!

4,8 sur août 04, 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay near Bath this is a gem. I brought a book to read but couldn't take my eyes off the view! Wonderful breakfast and John and Jackie were warm and welcoming. You won't be disappointed.


Lovely welcome for my out of country guests

5 sur août 02, 2011

My guests felt instantly at home and welcome. They raved about the breakfasts and the friendly banter between themselves and the owners. The rooms were in a lovely colonial style with comfortable furnishings. They also enjoyed reading in the garden and the quiet surroundings by the water.


Relaxation at its best!

4,6 sur août 01, 2011

What a fabulous home base for a trip to Maine...As soon as you walk in the door, John and Jackie make you feel right at home and the feeling of relaxation is instant. If you like history, the home has a great background. Very peaceful grounds...just a short trip to Brunswick and Bath... One note: If you are looking to come during a hotter time period, there was no air conditioning. The owners do provide fans however in every room.


1774 Inn is an unforgetable experience!

5 sur juillet 07, 2011

John and jackie are the consumate hosts, always looking out for their guest's needs and ensuring a memorable stay. Breakfast at the Inn is outstanding!


A Lovely Stay

5 sur juin 21, 2011

If you are looking for a beautiful inn in ME and wish to have a filling breakfast each day with innkeepers who make you feel like one of the family - this is the place! John and Jackie quietly run a wonderful inn that is decorated beautifully and sits on grounds that overlook the Kennebeck river. It is an elegant, while quiet and peaceful, retreat. The breakfasts are served in a formal dining room with a sideboard service of breads, granola, fruits, coffee and juices. All this would have been a plentiful meal, but a main hot breakfast is served, as well. John shares info about weather and tides each morning and is happy to provide you with suggestions for your day's activities. Dinner reservations and restaurant suggestions are also offered. If you have anything you want - simply ask. I felt like we were given the run of the inn!! There will be no question about where I will stay again if I return to this area of ME. Book this inn - we met as strangers and parted as friends.


Excellent Hospitality at the 1774 Inn

4,8 sur juin 14, 2011

John and Jackie were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. Breakfasts at the 1774 Inn are delicious!


Perfect Getaway in Maine

5 sur janvier 11, 2011

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and we drove up the coast from NYC. Unfortunately, Jackie was not there during our stay, but John was the perfect host. He provided detailed information for everything nearby that we expressed interest in, including hiking trails, museums, and shops. He also showed us around the Inn, which has a fascinating history. The morning breakfasts were delicious and filling. The Inn itself is beautiful and has an amazing view of the water. It is also in a great location, with lots to explore nearby. To top it off, we visited in September 2010 and we received a holidays card from John and Jackie this December, with a beautiful photo of the Inn at winter. I highly recommend the 1774 Inn to anyone planning a trip to Maine!


weekend get-away

4,6 sur novembre 18, 2010

Excellent. Charming Inn and delightful hosts. We will be back!


our stay at the 1774 Inn

4,4 sur novembre 01, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the 1774 inn recently when we stayed 2 nights. Our hosts were charming, the breakfasts were excellent, and the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. There was this gas fireplace in the bedroom for extra heating which made it even more comfortable since we happen to like it warm! All in all, a great experience. When we visit this part of the world again, we'll definitely stay here.


Almost wonderful

3,4 sur octobre 20, 2010

Marketed as a "luxury" property, the 1774 Inn's visual impression is perfect, but the guest experience doesn't quite reach those heights.The natural setting, spacious layout, and historic ambience are absolutely gorgeous, particularly during "leaf season" which is when we visited. The furnishings and housekeeping are lovely, but not totally comfortable. Our bathroom was quite small and the shower head downright primitive. The lighting level by the bed was too low to read comfortably; the bedding was lovely but not warm enough considering the autumn chill in the house. The host and hostess are affable and attentive while visible -- recommending hikes, restaurants, etc. -- but went off to their quarters without telling us how to contact them if we needed anything. Two mornings' worth of hot cooked breakfasts were OK but neither imaginative nor remarkably tasty -- a notch below other B&B's of similar quality.


Great experience of "New England Atmosphere"

5 sur octobre 17, 2010

Spent three wonderful days in 1774 Inn and really found it "outstanding". We arrived on a rainy afternoon but John, the innkeeper welcomed us with a hot cup of tea and some cookies and we instantly felt comfortable at his place. Also the house and the rooms appointed and professionally decorated by Jaqueline reflected a warm and pleasant feeling of a home with the special atmosphere of New England in the 18th century (of course with all the amenities of today). At our first and sunny morning in 1774 Inn we could enjoy a wonderful view from our room onto the river, followed by an excellent breakfast in one of the living rooms (rich buffet complemented by cooked breakfast). Afterwards we had the choice of either relax on one of the deck chairs in the spacious garden or to explore Phippsburg and the surrounding area. We recommend to have visit the Maritime Museum of Bath, to have a walk around Beaver Pond or watch sunset at Popham Beach (everything very nearby). You can complete the day with reading one of the hundreds of books from the Inn’s library in one of the living rooms in front of a fireplace.


leaf peepers

4,2 sur octobre 08, 2010

We had a great stay at the inn and John was the best host, telling us about all the happenings in and around town. Spinneys restaurant had a cool atmosphere and great seafood; Reid and Popham Beach State Parks were close by; and the best lobster roll in Maine was at Redds. One of the best parts was coming back to the inn, looking up, and seeing the Milky Way. Amazing how many stars you can see out away from the city.


An outstanding experience of hospitality!

5 sur septembre 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the 1774 Inn on the first night of our honeymoon trip through New England. John and Jacqueline were the most gracious of hosts and made us feel wonderfully at home. We left feeling as though we had made new friends. It was the quintessential Maine experience, and we look forward to returning!


Delightful

4,4 sur septembre 15, 2010

A charmed destination and pastoral setting detached from the rest of the world! Jon is a very gracious host.


Is this Heaven?

5 sur septembre 10, 2010

No, it's Maine, but it's close (to Heaven). A poor B&B experience could have made our weekend on the Maine coast a downer, but staying at the 1774 Inn made it magic. Where do we start - how about with John and Jackie, the owners - couldn't possibly be more warm, welcoming, fun and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic both mornings. The room was beautiful. The view is amazing - gorgeous huge lawn with view of the water. Incredibly peaceful and romantic. The Inn looks huge, but it's truly an intimate experience of great food, wonderful people and gorgeous scenery. Sounds gushing, but that's how we felt. We can be equally scathing when we don't find true excellence. We are from Colorado, but we will definitely make the trip back to visit.


A gem of an inn

5 sur septembre 09, 2010

The inn is a lovely get-away in a magical spot with a lawn that graciously goes right down to the water. The rooms are beautifully decorated. John and Jackie are warm, friendly and very helpful


Great Weekend

5 sur septembre 08, 2010

The property is lovely. The innkeepers were very friendly and proud to show off their property.


Perfection!

5 sur août 31, 2010

If your looking for a quiet place where you don't need to DO anything, this is it! This is not a hot spot which was a rare and welcome find. Delightful Inn Keepers, interested, interesting and informative. Easy pace, long water view, sumptuous breakfast, spacious airy rooms with luxurious sheets and lovely bath. History and antiques all around. The Pompham Beach close for a long stroll. The temptation is to go and see sites around the area, but really the best idea is to stop moving and sit with a book or glass of wine in the gorgeous surroundings of 1774.


A quiet and beautiful spot on the river

4,6 sur août 31, 2010

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay at the 1774 Inn. John is a gracious and charming host, the breakfasts are plentiful and delicious....and the view of the lawn, the trees and the river is spectacular!! This lovely old home has been beautifully-restored and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. A great quiet retreat!


Maine Vacation

4,0 sur août 21, 2010

We found this B&B online and the pictures sold us. The pictures accurately display the property which we feel is important when booking online next to last minute. It's history with a modern touch also attracted us (and rooms were available) where we tend to enjoy a more contemporary style. Staff was pleasant and the breakfast was great. It's central location along the coast was also a plus with Portland only an hour away and Bar Harbor a little more than an hour. Very peaceful and quiet. Great place to just get away from everything.


We enjoyed our stay at The 1774 Inn

5 sur août 18, 2010

Peaceful location, very comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms, and delicious breakfast served each morning. John is an excellent host, we hope to meet Jackie next time. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable visit.


Perfect New England Inn -- Chic & Comfortable with Gorgeous Scenery

5 sur août 18, 2010

Everything to want from an Inn - --Comfortable and clean with stylish, fresh decor. --Great location outside of Bath, close to incredible Reid & Popham State Parks. --Owners are a delight - welcoming and hospitable while giving guests their own space. --The lawn overlooking Kennebec River is an extra bonus! Plant yourself on the white Adirondack chairs for the evening and take in the view with a glass of wine.


Beautiful

4,0 sur août 17, 2010

The 1774 Inn is an amazing example of a pre-revolutionary Maine house. The rooms are immaculate, and John is a wonderful host. Speaking as a Mainer, if you are visiting to Maine for the first time, there is no better place to stay than the 1774 Inn.


Try the 1774!

5 sur août 16, 2010

Fabulous food, accommodations, and innkeeping! We look forward a return soon!


Like Staying with Family, If Your Family Were Awesome and had a Gorgeous, Really Clean Home

5 sur août 15, 2010

This is our second year staying at The 1774 Inn and we will certainly be back. John is a fantastic host and makes you feel so welcome (unfortunately, Jackie has been away both times we've stayed, but we look forward to meeting her one of these days!). You can tell they care so much about the Inn and the area. Everything is perfectly renovated, decorated and cared for. There are wonderful common areas and a great deck and huge yard to relax in. It's also in an area with a lot of natural beauty and things to do - walking the beach, hiking, visiting Fort Popham. But, you really don't need to do much because the Inn is so beautiful you could just stay there the whole time and really relax...


Great stay with John and crew

4,6 sur août 11, 2010

Very clean, really nice breakfast with fresh blueberry pancakes cooked by Janie. John is an interesting fellow and the consumate host. Denise and Dexter Collier


Absolutely Wonderful

5 sur août 09, 2010

I would strongly recommend the 1774 Inn and I will be back. Absolutely charming place and relaxing getaway. True New England charm...


1774 inn is a must

4,8 sur août 09, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time. We took my parents there for their 60th wedding anniversary. John and Jackie had a bottle of champagne in celebration of their anniversary, waiting for us when we arrived. The rooms where beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. It was a very nice stay and we would definitely go there again. John and Jackie were wonderful...we loved John's charming sence of humor and Jackie's decortating style.


Great exprerience wonderfull stay

5 sur août 08, 2010

we enjoyed the stay in the 1774Inn, the rooms, the views the breakfast were perfect. the innkeeper john was helpfull and gave as the tips for dinner and beach. we can recommend the B&B without a doubt


Exceptional Visit

5 sur juillet 26, 2010

The 1774 Inn is the ultimate location for a peaceful, relaxing and well pampered break. Jackie & John are perfect as guides, local historians and just darn nice people to be around...and no hovering or overbearing presence. Just right. WE loved our stay and would highly recommend this beautiful property in a bucolic setting in lovely Phippsburg.


An amazing find......wonderful home and innkeepers who try and cater for the 21st century guest.

5 sur juillet 19, 2010

An amazing home/inn/setting......so quiet, so clean, so historic...yet so 21st century. The inn is listed and the owners innkeepers should be! They bend over backwards to try and make your stay memorable. The inn is a wonderful old Phippsburg home and has many different rooms you can stay in. The beds and linens were divine, the bathrooms more humble of the rooms I crept into to have a discrete look. Our room the Woodshed was an.....old woodshed! It overlooked the water, and the early morning brought....SILENCE! Wonderful....no noise, little light...thus we snoozed for ages.....and did other things in complete privacy.....but none of that is your business!!!!! The breakfast time is flexible, the food served satisfying and fresh. We had fresh scrambled eggs with ham mixed in, started with greek yoghurt and fresh berries...but you could choose from many items. Now onto the tea.....being a fellow innkeeper (who's standards are demanding!!!!) and BRITISH....I am VERY demanding on my morning cuppa....and they delivered! The home is impressive and Phippsburg and Bath in general are not like Camden....over developed and touristy. You can cycle from their inn to Popham beach and fort...where there is a great restaurant, not fussy, serving fresh lobster (out of the tank in front of you!) and a plethora of other dishes. John & Jackie the innkeepers try to please in a quiet and relaxed way, are not over burdening, and take pride in their home....but do welcome one to use many parts of it. The setting overlooks the water and is next to a church....I could go on....but won't....just get yourselves booked in when you are 'doing' the Maine coast.


What an Exceptional Stay!

4,0 sur août 09, 2009

My wife, 1-yr old son and I had the wonderful priviledge of being guests at the 1774 Inn from July30th - August 2nd. Our experience could not have been any better! The hosts, John and Jackie have only recently re-opened the Inn, but they operated it with such grace and ellegance that we would have thought they were seasoned veterans. The Inn is perfectly located just south of Bath on the banks of the Kennebec River. It was only a short drive south to the Phippsburg Penninsula for a day at the Beach and 10 minutes north for a walk through historic Bath and Dinner there. Breakfast on the Patio overlooking the river was devine. This Inn comes highly recommended from this hearty traveler!!


1774 Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $160 - $220
  • Avis (103) 4,7
  • Chambres 8

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2073891774

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut