The Brewster Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,4

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,4
  • Services4,6
  • Qualité/Prix4,6
  • Propreté4,5
  • Repas4,1

Notation basée sur
120 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Brewster Inn visit Oct. 15th 2014

4,0 sur octobre 22, 2014

The room was clean, neat and the bed was comfortable AND the morning breakfast was awesome. Mark, the owner, is very friendly and always has been, we've been going for about 5 years now and always stay at his Inn. Won't stay anywhere else.. the scoring won't allow me to pick Outstanding which is what I'd give it!


Best B & B in New England

5 sur octobre 11, 2014

Now our favourite New England B & B as we stayed for the first time in Sept '14. Felt very much at home in this delightful Victorian mansion. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the host, Mark, is a pleasure to know. Knowing he restores and refreshes the building and rooms on a regular basis shows how dearly he cares for this place.. Look forward to seeing him again next year. Breakfast, outstanding and one can just feel all the comforts of home staying in for an afternoon or evening..


Wonderful stay

5 sur octobre 09, 2014

We just got home from a trip through New England. One of our stops was at the Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine. We loved our stay there. Mark, the innkeeper, is great and will do whatever it takes to make your stay perfect for you. He is full of day trip ideas and recommendations. His breakfasts were to die for and we loved reading the history of the inn while we were there. Many sizes of rooms from the small ( our choice) to the huge!


Charming Bed and Breakfast

4,2 sur octobre 09, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Brewster Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room, the Hideaway was very comfortable. Marc was very accommodating in offering suggestions and tips to get around the area which I might add is very beautiful. He also serves a delicious breakfast. We would highly recommend this place full of historic interest.


Hidden gem in a B & B

5 sur octobre 07, 2014

What an outstanding host at this quant bed and breakfast. It is so full of history and Mark brings it all out with life. Very comfortable and warm place. You would never believe it was 2 acres tucked away in Dexter. Have to stay here to believe! Looking forward to a return trip as very central to many great places.


beautiful historic inn

4,8 sur septembre 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the beautiful in Sept. 12-16, 2014. We chose the Game Room because it meet all of our needs, very large,,2 beds, frig, mircowave, gas fireplace which keep the room comfortable on the chilly nights. Mark was a wonderful host and help with our questions about the area and GOOD places to eat, which were a bit limited due to the small town. The people we meet were very friendly and helpful. The inn itself was beautifully restored and the history very interesting. The gardens around the inn provided a quiet and peaceful place to sit. The breakfasts that Mark made each morning were filling and his hot dishes were more than filling, you could also have your choice of breads, mixed fruit, cold cereals, eggs and juice,teas, great coffee, milk, or O.J. Thank you Mark for a beautiful stay.l


Enchanting!

5 sur septembre 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Truman Room, which was lovely and very comfortable. We will definitely return in the future. Breakfast was excellent, and we met several new friends there. The gardens are beautiful and lovingly cared for. A surprisingly gorgeous place to stay. Many thanks to our wonderful British host and innkeeper Mark Stephens.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm glad you both enjoyed your time here and i hope to be able to welcome you back in the future


Rustic And Centrally Located

3,6 sur juillet 18, 2014

If you'd like decent accommodations but wish to avoid hotels, this makes a great choice. Best of all? Mark takes it upon himself to ensure solid WiFi bandwidth and selection of DVDs for in-room viewing. The drawing room on the first floor is lovely, too.

Réponse du propriétaire
"Centrally located" is correct. Perfect for days trips all around large parts of Maine from the coast to the mountains and lakes. Drop your bags, unpack, treat the Brewster Inn like home, come and go as you please and use my knowledge to have a great time.. Perfect!


Just the right place to stay.

5 sur juillet 12, 2014

Beautiful from beginning to end. Surroundings, the décor, the history, the rooms, the people just every thing goes together to make this a great stay. The gardens and patios make it very nice to be there. Our first time, and we are going back next year. Mark Stephens is the best,. Very friendly, down to earth, and goes out of his way to take care of you and make you comfortable. While you are there, stroll the town and have lunch at the General Store.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you so much for your great review. The Fossa general store. An excellent addition to my many great ideas for my guests.. The final big project will be complete when you return next year with all the entrance hall and main staircase re-decorated. Going to look amazing


The Brewster Inn in Dexter

4,2 sur juin 29, 2014

Recently my wife and I stayed two nights at The Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine. Our host Mark Stephens was very cordial and did provide us a very comfortable stay. We would highly recommend this business for a comfortable stay while in the area.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for coming to stay. I appreciate your kind words very much and hope to see you again in the future


Comfortable and Friendly

4,6 sur juin 14, 2014

My family and I stayed here when we visited friends. Mark put us in the Game Room. We enjoyed looking at all the books and playing chess. The king size bed was comfortable and my daughter loved sleeping in the 3/4 bed in the alcove. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was refreshing with plenty of water pressure. The inn is charming and well kept. The garden is beautiful. When we arrived at the Inn we felt welcomed. We enjoyed talking to Mark and the other guests at breakfast. We are looking forward to returning to the Brewster Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you Claudia. I think I have 3 chess tables throughout the Inn inc in the Game room. Plenty of opportunity for chess players to sharpen their skills whilst staying here. Books are also good, and there are plenty around the inn, whether fiction, nonfiction, history or interests, something for everyone. The garden developments carry on at a swift pace. The patio is being rebuilt right now and should be complete in the next few days. Then it’s time to get the awning back up and the patio furniture out so guests can enjoy the peace that that space offers. Thank you for your comments on the inn and the cleanliness of the rooms. I like to aim high with what I do here for my guests. I look forward to seeing you all again in the future


Perect

5 sur mars 03, 2014

My husband and I decided at the very last minute to take off for an overnight get away and were fortunate enough to come across the Brewster Inn’s website. Mark, the Innkeeper, called us to confirm our reservation within about 20 minutes of booking it online. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Mark and felt very welcome immediately in our beautiful surroundings. The pictures on the website are all very beautiful, and we were pleasantly surprised to see it in real life - the photos cannot capture the history, the beauty and the love that obviously went into the beautiful mansion’s restoration and continued maintenance. The Inn’s foyer and living room are incredible, with beautiful attention to detail. Gorgeous hardwood floors, fireplace, large windows (with window seats) - lovely antiques and knick knacks in glass fronted cabinets, even a piano, not to mention furniture that makes you want to curl up with a good book! Very warm and inviting. The Honeymoon Suite is perfection, in a word. Not only is it private and quiet, it is beautifully furnished with everything you may want or need, it is spotlessly clean, from floor to ceiling. The bath is wonderful, a giant two person Jacuzzi with a separate shower, all surrounded in wood paneling, floors and ceiling. There are wonderful whimsical statues, urns and bowls on all of the beautiful built in bookcases lining the walls, with a great collection of books and a terrific sofa set in front of a gas fireplace - oh and more window seats! The bed and pillows are so soft and comfortable, we slept like rocks and didn’t want to go home! The breakfast we had was wonderful, and so filling we didn’t need lunch. I can’t thank you enough for a great stay, Mark. We will be back, and we will recommend your place to all of our friends. -Christine and Andy Condon, Saco, Maine

Réponse du propriétaire
I have a new reservation system on the way that should be ready in May. I'm excited about it as its going to open a lot more opportunities for my guests to add more to their stay. I'm looking forward to seeing it in action before later on this year; my new website will also be ready and online. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I can pretty much guarantee all my guests an incredible night’s sleep with my excellent pillows and very comfortable beds. The honeymoon suite is indeed an impressive room, big and private, large whirlpool, fireplace, big seating area. Real comfort at its best. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future


We loved the Brewster Inn

4,6 sur janvier 23, 2014

When I made a reservation at the Brewster Inn, i did it because the inn looked lovely from the pictures and because of the many positive reviews. My husband and I travel to New England every couple of years to enjoy the snow and wander around Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire. When I found this place, my husband questioned why on earth we would want to go up to Dexter where there was little to do in the winter. I told him I liked the inn pictures and he rolled his eyes. That got me a little worried, but when we arrived, our worries were put to rest. Mark has done an incredible job of refurbishing this inn. You can tell that there has been so much work done. For example, the living room. The painting detail is amazing and his taste is quite lovely. He continues to have things done and seems like he is always working on improving. Our room was the game room, and I highly recommend it. We looked at the other rooms and though all are lovely, ours was the biggest and the most spectacular. It is all covered in wood paneling, including a complex ceiling done in stunning wood design. The huge kind bed was comfortable and he had feather pillows, which we love. There were three luggage racks and lots of places to put things. The fireplace was a wonderful touch. Mark is more than willing to give help when needed. If you ask a question, be ready for a rather lengthy response - brevity is not his strong suit, but he is a gracious and caring host and we will definitely return to this lovely in. We did very little but drive around and look at the lakes and read and knit and cuddle, but other will find much to do during their days if pure relaxation is not your goal.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for coming all the way from the west coast. It was great having you here and enjoying the Game room. At 650sqft it really is an incredible room and very comfy for all my guests with king bed, great seating area, fireplace and lots of good amenities Whether you want to relax with your partner or be outdoors doing activities, the Brewster Inn is a great place to be


Fantastic B&B

5 sur janvier 13, 2014

This B & B is such a Treasure and full of History . We spent the Christmas Holiday at The Brewster Inn and had booked the Truman Room . Everything exceeded our Expectations and we could not have thought of anything else that would have improved our Stay . We will be sure to come back for another Visit and want to commend Innkeeper Mark Stephens for making everybody feel at Home while being away from Home . To anybody who is looking for an authentic historic clean friendly and beautifully restored B & B this is the Place to visit , you will not be disappointed !

Réponse du propriétaire
It was great having you here at the Brewster Inn and i look forward very much to seeing you in the future. I've just got the wood floors in the Truman room refinished so the colour matches all the floors downstairs now. Looks impressive


Best Inn Keeper Ever!

5 sur novembre 11, 2013

Mark was the most helpful Inn Keeper I have ever met. He helped me plan my itinerary, called me back at home with other suggestions and checking to see if I had gotten my reservations for activities in place. When we arrived the Inn was big and beautiful, our room very spacious, a hot delicious breakfast and a hard working Mark to make sure we had directions, suggestions and any help needed for our days plans. Couldn't ask for more - I was so impressed.

Réponse du propriétaire
"Best innkeeper ever" is your review title. That’s a big title to live up to but i try hard to do the best i can for every guest that comes in my door. I may get it wrong on occasion, I’m only human but i promise all my guests that i will always try my hardest to get it right every single time for them as i enjoy what i do and i want you to remember your stay at the Brewster Inn. Thank you for coming. Hope to see you both back over here in the future and i have lots more good recommendations for you


Brewster Inn - terrific Bed & Breakfast Experience

4,8 sur octobre 11, 2013

Vacationing in the New England area, the Brewster Inn was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast. The experience far exceeded our expectations. Mark was a terrific host, for beginners. Our room was a combination of a luxury suite and museum. The walls were tastefully decorated with all sorts of items of interest, that provided a quaint look into the history of the home and the area in which we were visiting. The best part was having Mark as a resource to direct our daily activities. He steered us into site seeing and hiking that we would have never found on our own. We twice visited the Vittles Restaurant which he recommended and enjoyed two meals there, the dining highlight of our two week vacation. Should we ever have the opportunity to visit that region again, we would use the Brewster Inn as our base location and adventure out daily from there, taking full advantage of Mark’s considerable knowledge of the area, sites and other points of interest. A tremendous debt of gratitude to Mark for all of his guidance and suggestions!

Réponse du propriétaire
I was very happy you enjoyed your first stay at a B&B. I get a lot of first time guests here and i like that very much. Lots of good recommendations are ready and available for all my guests so that they can do all the "must do" things whilst they are in the area. I love Vittles restaurant too. Best place to eat in the area by far. Love to see you back in the future


Enjoyable stay at an historic B&B.

4,0 sur septembre 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed one night at the Brewster Inn. Mark was very welcoming and informative. There is a lot of history at this Inn and we enjoyed hearing about it. The gardens are beautiful and I would definitely stay there again, should I pass through Maine again.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for coming to stay. Yes there is a lot of history here, way more than people might expect in small town Maine. The clues are here for all to see. If people have questions, I’m always happy to answer them. The gardens are continually developed and get better every year. I do hope to see you again in the future


A Delight

5 sur septembre 10, 2013

The Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine, is a delightful gem of a B & B. The proprietor, Mark, was very accommodating and helpful. My mother, daughter and I made the long trip from Franconia, New Hampshire, to Dexter in order to take a moose safari. Since we planned to arrive in the afternoon, about an hour before our safari, Mark made sure we were checked in, coordinated with our guide, he gave us directions to our guide's business, and made sure that we were able to find a good place to eat when we were finished with the safari and back in Dexter (which was about 8pm and we wouldn't have had a clue where to begin finding a place for dinner at that hour). The day was somewhat rushed but Mark made everything a lot easier for us. Breakfast consisted of a hot egg dish, fruit, breads and cereal, with tea and coffee available about an hour before breakfast (thank you Mark!!). Our rooms were comfortable, well-appointed and clean. The inn offers a handicapped accessible entrance and room (which I mention because it's the first I've ever seen in a B & B, and was one of the two we booked for the night). We had a lovely stay, although it was too short. We would highly recommend The Brewster Inn.

Réponse du propriétaire
Here in small town Maine I think it’s always good to make sure guests have all the info they need whilst they are here, esp if doing an outdoors tour like moose, birds or wildlife or maybe going white water rafting so that they know where things are in the evening when they are (for example) looking for dinner. It isn't 24/7 open all hours around here and some really good places close at times some people might call "early" so it’s good for my guests to have that good useful info before they head out. If there's something they need while they are out exploring, i always like them to know they can just give me a call on the phone so I can help them whenever and where ever they may be. I hope to see you all again in the future so you can spend more time here next time


Loved It!

5 sur août 16, 2013

This bed and breakfast was very clean, the beds were super comfy and the service was above and beyond! I felt completely safe and had a great night's sleep. The prices of the rooms are very affordable, as there is a room priced for everyone. Enjoyed the charm and the story behind the inn as well. Would definitely stay here again!

Réponse du propriétaire
I get a lot of comments on my beds. You will always have a great night’s sleep at the Brewster Inn. Yes my beds are very comfortable. Some guest’s comment that are on vacation that it’s the best night’s sleep they have had on their travels. I like that. It’s peaceful at night here too. Everything you need for a perfect nights rest. Thank you for the comments on my room prices. I just keep the same prices year round. No need for high season rates here. Good value for money lodging, great breakfasts and good customer service


Interesting Property

4,4 sur août 14, 2013

Breakfast was outstanding. Mark works hard to provide a fine experience.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your comment on breakfast. I always try hard to fill everyone up for their day and get asked for my recipes numerous times. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again


Brewster Inn

5 sur août 14, 2013

The Brewster in is a wonderful place to stay. My Husband is from England, so it was wonderful to him to hear our host Mark's accent. The grounds are beautiful, the home is beautiful and our room...well it was just what we needed after a 5 day road trip. We stayed in the Game Room it was masive in size and comfort! Breakfast was great and he had the best coffee of the 4 B&B's we stayed at on our vacation. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind, this is the place. We are looking forward to a longer stay next year. Thank you Mark for your hospitality, Darren especially enjoyed the train in the conservatory. See you next year! Cheers Anna and Darren


Lovely place to stay

4,0 sur juin 26, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights, but was really quiet and nice. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was delicious, but you had to get there early. Mark is very accomodating to every need. Can't wait to see the new front wall when it is repaired and full of flowers. the back gardens are very nice now, but will be even better next year. Hope to go back again as I have family in the area. Linda and Brian Young, Plainville, MA


Best Kept Secret in Maine!

5 sur juin 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Brewster Inn for five nights in June 2013. Mark, the resident owner and Innkeeper, made us feel special from the moment we arrived. He even carried our luggage down to our rooms for us! The Brewster is quite lovely and historical. The main rooms are beautifully furnished. The gourmet breakfasts are served each day in the large dining room.The menu is different each morning. Everything was delicious. We had the opportunity to meet and mingle with other guests which is why we chose a B & B. The gardens are exquisite for a stroll or to sit down and relax. The beds and pillows gave us a superb night's rest each night. The rooms and the entire Inn are impeccably clean.The Brewster is quiet and peaceful. Mark goes out of his way to make sure his guests have a wonderful stay. He is delightful! He will suggest itineraries and restaurants which was important to us as first time visitors to this part of Maine. We thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay and hope to be able to return to The Brewster Inn. This is a five start out of five stars!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your kind words. I enjoy what i do very much and making sure that guests have everything they need for a great stay is always my main priority. There is always so much to do in my part of Maine where you can go on some great day trips. Just let me know what you want to do or see and i can help you with that.. The Brewster Inn is a home away from home for all my guests


Very enjoyable

4,0 sur mars 05, 2013

Mark was a great host for our one night stay. Was first time in a bed and breakfast. He made it comfortable. The rooms were very cozy!! The morning breakfast was very delicious. Also want to thank Bonnie for the taxi ride to and from our event that we attended. Which Mark also arranged with Bonnie. Was a great experience and recommend to all.

Réponse du propriétaire
Its always good to have a reliable cab company just a couple of doors away. Thank you for staying with me at the Brewster Inn. I get a lot of first timers come and stay with me and i like that a lot. Always try to give them a great first BnB experience


"Live in History"

3,6 sur décembre 07, 2012

It is a rare experience to inhabit the same rooms as prominent historical figures, and the Honeymoon Suite was just that experience. I especially enjoyed being in the room that served as Ralph Owen Brewster's office. Nice touches surround you from the moment you walk into The Brewster Inn, and inn keeper Mark Stephens does a remarkable job serving his guests needs. Next time we intend to capture a moose -- with our eyes! ~ Paul & Krissy Siverling

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you Paul and Krissy. The honeymoon suite is indeed an impressive room. Plenty of history and throughout the house. Comfort and good service is what I want to give all my guests and that is what I always strive for. When you’re ready to see that moose next time let me know and I’d be glad to help you with that.


Charming place for a bridal shower!

5 sur novembre 15, 2012

I had 75 guests for a bridal shower for my daughter. It felt like a cozy party in a beautiful home. Mark is wonderful and is very English. His accent & English humor added to the evening. Mark was very attentive to all of the ladies bringing drinks & keeping up with the food. I was able to relax and enjoy the evening myself. Everyone commented on how much fun it was. My daughter didn't open the gifts, we ate, drank, played games & mingled. It was the perfect place!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your review. I have to agree that the Brewster Inn is a perfect location for occasions such as a bridal shower. I try hard to be an attentive guest and make everyone feel welcome and at home. I'm so pleased to hear you were able to relax and enjoy the evening with your daughter and guests.


A Perfect Getaway!

5 sur octobre 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Brewster Inn and could not have been happier! Mark made us feel right at home! The room was very comfortable. Great bed, great water pressure in the shower, and then an excellent breakfast to wake up to. We would highly recommend anyone to this establishment! Thanks Mark!

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! And that you enjoyed the bed and breakfast dish. I've tried every bed in the place to ensure all are as comfortable as possible for guests. My goal for breakfast is not only to fill everyone up, but make them feel as if they got a special "treat" they wouldn't normally fix at home routinely. Guests are often surprised that there can be such good water pressure for such a large property, but it's just another way to ensure everyone enjoys their Brewster Inn experience.


A very pleasant surprise

4,4 sur octobre 10, 2012

My wife and I experienced a very pleasant weekend at the Brewster Inn. We are not typically bed-and-breakfast folk and have had a negative experience or two in the few instances where they have tried bed-and-breakfast places. But this was different. Mark's willingness to serve, and his gentle sense of humor, put us quickly at ease, and everything he advised us about - from local restaurants to the quality of our room's pillows - was spot-on. We had a wonderful time and would recommend a fall visit to the Brewster Inn for anyone who wishes for a little peace and tranquility and the opportunity to tour a beautiful part of Maine.

Réponse du propriétaire
I'm so glad to know your experience at the Brewster Inn helped restore some faith after your negative experiences at other BnB. It's my belief that a good BnB owner is friendly,informational and does everything possible to make sure guests have a great stay and leave happy and willing to return. Fall is a beautiful time here. Each season has unique opportunities for guests at the Brewster Inn.


Awesome at the Brewster Inn

5 sur octobre 09, 2012

October 2nd thru the 4th 2012, we stayed at the Brewster Inn. Mark called to be sure we knew how to get there. He was waiting our arrival and helped settle us in for the night. When we got up the next morning he was waiting for us to give us directions to where we had to be for a work shop we were attending. We could not have asked for a better host, his sense of humor added to our over all experience. Rooms were very clean and nicely furnished, breakfast was great! We enjoyed our stay so much that if I ever go back to Maine the Brewster Inn will be where we will stay

Réponse du propriétaire
"Awesome" says everything I want guests to feel about their stay at the Brewster Inn. I pride myself on providing as much help as I can to guests, especially when they are not familiar with the local area. My “British” sense of humor is just part of who I am and I’m always thankful when guests understand and enjoy it. If you find yourself back in Maine, there will always be a clean room and delicious breakfast waiting for you here at the Brewster Inn.


Can't wait to go back!!

5 sur septembre 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Brewster Inn for the weekend and did not want to leave!!! The honeymoon suite is so cozy and comfortable. My favorite accesories are the great selection of old books and the most comfortable I have ever slept in!! Mark did a wonderful job and is very pleasant, thank you very much we will b back!!

Réponse du propriétaire
It was great having you here all the way from California. I get a lot of guests from California every year. More work has been going on in the gardens since you were here. We’re just in the final stages of a big new development in the front and side gardens which will be wonderful next summer. The Game room is indeed a wonderful room. Almost 700sq ft in size, big and very spacious with all that you need for a great stay. The train gets a lot of comment. People don’t expect to see it in the conservatory area. Looks amazing when running at night with all its lights on. It’s a great conversation piece I get a lot of guests that enjoy my coffee. I just like to think that I make it right. Looking forward to seeing you both again


Best Experience Ever!

5 sur septembre 03, 2012

Great bed+pillow+quilt+shower+breakfast!!

Réponse du propriétaire
The front wall is now finished being rebuilt. That certainly got a lot of attention. A lot of planting has now been done at the front of the property too. Should look very special this year when all in bloom. Thank you for coming and I hope to see you all again


Overnight Getaway

5 sur août 21, 2012

What a wonderful evening, sleep and breakfast we had at the Brewster Inn! Our evening began with a stroll through the gardens and a cup of tea. Our sleep was heavenly! Breakfast with the other guests became an opportunity to make new friends, share travels and job experiences. Mark is a wonderful host and a very talented man. We will never stay in a hotel in Bangor again, as long as we have this wonderful home away from home.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your kind words. I can pretty much guarantee that all my guests will get great night’s sleep here at the Brewster Inn. My beds are incredibly comfortable. The best compliment I can get is when guests bring their own pillows and I encourage them to try the ones on the bed, and that very same night the guests head back to the car with their own pillows. For someone in my occupation it doesn’t get any better than that. I’m also glad you enjoyed my breakfast and hospitality. I get a lot of guests stay with me here at the Brewster Inn that are heading to Bangor. I look forward to seeing you again


An Outstanding Stay

4,8 sur juin 17, 2012

Our Goat School classes were second only to our stay at the Brewster Inn in Dexter, ME. My room was very pretty, comfortable and so quiet. The weather was rainy and a little gloomy, but once we walked back in the door of the Inn after outside classes, we felt like we were back home again. A good glass of wine in the sitting room in front of the fireplace, regardless of the rain, made it all a really great day. When we left the Inn to come home, it was rather sad. It is just one of those places you hate to leave. I know we will go back again in the near future. Maybe to take Continuing Education Goat Classes! I do wish the town had more restaurants. However, Mark, the Innkkeeper, is very knowledgeable of the different cusines and restaurants in the surrounding areas. Mark was always willing to give us maps, directions and some sound advise. In my opinion, the Brewster Inn is one of the best Inns I have ever had the pleasure to stay. It shares so much history, is very clean, friendly, and beautiful.

Réponse du propriétaire
“Just like home” is what I like to do here. Make you feel just like you’re in your own home. The area is very quiet that the Brewster Inn is located and so that always guarantees peace and quiet for my guests. I make sure personally that all my guestrooms are just right for my guests before they arrive. It doesn’t take a second for one final check before a guest’s arrival As for dining, there are great places to eat and it’s my job to guide you to those places and there are plans in the area for 2013 for some other good dining options. Part of being a good host is to make sure my guests know where all the good things are in the area, know what times places are open till and how to get there and to know where the little gems are that you may not find on the internet and that is what I will always do for my guests here at the Brewster Inn


Our stay at the Brewster Inn

4,8 sur mai 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Brewster Inn and we plan on returning. Mark made us very comfortable. Our room was great and the breakfasts could not have been better; he takes pride in his inn. Mark was also so helpful with where to eat and everyplace he told what was delicious. We would highly recommend the Brewster Inn to everyone.

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for the compliments. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I get a lot of good comments on my breakfasts which make me happy. See you again


A gem in central Maine!

5 sur avril 03, 2012

I picked this spot originally because of its location in central Maine. I was looking for accommodations in a small town and imagine my surprise to come across the Brewster Inn with its rich history and warm welcome from the current owners. Thanks for the wonderful home-cooked meal which I shared with fellow Canadian guests. I wish you all the best as you continue your loving care and restoration of this historic property. Will be back again on a future road trip to my home province of New Brunswick, Canada.

Réponse du propriétaire
The Brewster Inn is in a great location right in the centre of Maine. The whole State is easily accessible from here with Dexter just being 20min from I95. I get a lot of Canadian guests who stay here going from Ontario or Quebec into New Brunswick or Nova Scotia (or vice versa) as well as guests going north and south on I95. It’s also ideally positioned for guests that want to take Rt 2 into New Hampshire and Vermont. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future


Our Maine Get Away

4,0 sur décembre 04, 2011

Charming Inn with hosts that were gracious and especially helpful. Concerned about our stay before we even arrived. Flew in from the west coast and were exhausted from our travels but upon arrival we were greeted with hospitality. Luggage was taken to our room we were invited into the parlor. Mark asked if we had eaten, which we had not, and went out of his way and set us up at a fabulous family owned diner. Restful and heavenly sleep. Rooms are charmingly decorated. Breakfasts are tasty and varied each morning. Mark & Judith were very informative on what sites to see in the area based upon our interests. They go out of their way to accommodate us. If we make it back to Maine this would be on the top of our itinerary! Consider us Happy Travelers


awesome b and b

5 sur novembre 14, 2011

Spent two nights at the Brewster Inn and all I can say is FABULOUS. I would recommend staying here to friends family and even strangers. Five Stars in my book. Cant wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!!


A British Bed and Breakfast in the Heart of Maine

3,4 sur octobre 26, 2011

In 1977, I first stayed with a friend in a bed and breakfast in the city of York, Yorkshire, England. It was a family affair: a room in a private home, set aside to accomodate guests. We shared with the family breakfast, conversation, and huge glasses of beer. Staying at the Brewster Inn echoed that first experience. From the moment you arrive you feel at home. Mark is passionate about his place, in the way an artist is passionate about his work. He is always ready to point you to good restaurants, scenic areas, and local lore. I had the misfortune of needing a doctor's urgent care on the night of my arrival. Mark was kind enough to drive me to a hospital, half an hour away. For me, the only major drawback of staying at the Brewster was the lack of an in-house restaurant. And the house, being old, has its quirks. But in my opinion they just add to the charm of the place. If you want to explore the historical and natural attractions of Maine, the Brewster Inn will serve you more than well as a home base. http://constantphotographer.blogspot.com/2011/10/fall-colors-in-maine.html


beautiful inn with gracious hosts

4,8 sur octobre 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two days at the Brewster Inn. Mark and Judith, the innkeepers, made our stay an absolute delight. They were gracious with their time and their hospitality. Mark's knowledge of the area is extensive, and he was more than willing to assist us with whatever information we needed to make our stay enjoyable and productive. The inn itself has been beautifully restored and is a testament to the care and attention the couple gives to their home and their guests. Our stay was pleasant, relaxing, and delightful. We would recommend the Brewster Inn to anyone who visits the area.


Texans visiting Maine

4,6 sur octobre 16, 2011

My parents suggested this Bed and Breakfast after visitng a few years back. The service was great. My parents grew up in the area so it was centraly located for our visit. If you want to see what the fall colors are supposed to look like then you will want to stay at this hotel. A five minute drive in any direction and you will be surrounded by the fall colors. Mark and Judith were such great hosts.


An old house

4,0 sur octobre 15, 2011

We thought the room was nice, the town very rundown, mark was very rude and condescending. Over advertised the area with stock pictures on FB. Never offered to show us the B&B or the grounds. We disliked his "rules" for bringing our own liquor. Wont be returing or referring. We usually enjoy B&B 's but this missed the mark!


Love This B & B!

4,2 sur octobre 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn for four nights recently, and thoroughly enjoyed our room, the house and grounds, and the hosts, Mark and Judith. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and I fell in love with it immediately. The main room is warm and inviting, with lots of warm wood, a four-poster bed, gas fireplace, antique furniture and decor, and wonderful vintage books with a variety of subjects. I could have stayed weeks just to read any number of the books so thoughtfully chosen and displayed throughout the room and the Inn. The living room is beautifully restored, with attention to detail, creating a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, where one may play a game of chess, plan daily excursions, or indulge in drinks and conversation with other guests. The dining room looks out on the gardens, a lovely space with arched arbors, creative plantings, crushed slate paths and a small lilly pond. My husband and I enjoyed the tasty offerings at the buffet breakfasts provided each morning, and we loved chatting with our hosts and the other guests each morning. A nice variety of fruits, cereals, breads and pastries, and one hot item make up the buffet, along with coffee and juice. We found our hosts, Mark and Judith, to be very friendly and engaging; Mark is wonderful at providing a variety of information on local lore, events and activities. I recommend the Brewster Inn as a lovely base from which to explore the surrounding rural Maine countryside and quaint, small towns, or simply relax and enjoy a truly inviting inn.


Brewster Inn

4,2 sur octobre 14, 2011

The management was very helpful and recommended great places to eat (at reasonable prices) and places to see.


jewel in a dull surrounding

4,4 sur octobre 14, 2011

My stay of 3 nights was a real pleasure. I travelled alone and the Brewster Inn saw to my every need. A great breakfast (at very flexible hours), information about what to do (from shopping, to fast nature trails or visiting Stephen Kings house) or giving me a selection of great (free) dvd's so that when it rains I would not get sad. Mark and his wife will make your stay one to remember and if you have any problems they will do everything to help you solve them. Do you want to visit Baxter state park, Mousehead lake or Bangor from this B&B it is 'just around the corner'.


Great visit

4,0 sur octobre 12, 2011

Great time, Great breakfast, very nice innkeepers. Wonderful experience


A Great Place to Stay

5 sur octobre 11, 2011

The only thing wrong with our stay is that we only had one day to enjoy this inn. The only warning I would give you is to set an alarm if you plan on getting up early -- the beds are so comfortable that we slept until 9 for the first time in years. Mark is very helpful and friendly. The house is beautiful and the decor is fitting for the age of the house. The bedroom was comfortable and the public rooms were warm and welcoming. We will definitely return!


Rustic yet Romantic

4,0 sur octobre 08, 2011

Just returnd from a wonderful Maine weekned at the Brewster Inn. We stayed in the honeymoon "sweet"... perfect in every aspect. This suite is rustic enough for a "manly man" like my husband and romantic enough for a "girly girl" like myself! Add to this beautiful inn the personal attention and great logistical info provided by Mark with the splendid breakfasts of Judith (especially the cheddar, raisin quiche) and you can not go wrong! Already missing the luxurious jacuzzi for two ! Can't go wrong with the Brewster Inn.


Excellent inn.

4,0 sur octobre 03, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my Sept. stay in the Strawberry Rm, the inn's least expensive. It was charming, clean, & comfortable. Only downside is that one has to drive from here to dine or for recreation, as Dexter itself is struggling to come back from economic downturn & has not tourist amenities. Moosehead Lake, however, is gorgeous, & worth the time to get there.


Great place to stay

4,4 sur octobre 02, 2011

Spent 1 night at the Brewster Inn in Sept, 2011. Mark and Judith made the stay very pleasant. They used technology well, including cell phone calls, text messages, and e-mail to communicate and coordinate the stay. Mark directed us to dinner, prior to our late arrival, to avoid extra driving back and forth from the Inn. Our room and the entire Inn were well kept, clean, and an overall nice enviroment. I enjoyed walking around the inn and in the gardens outside. It was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable, leading to a great night of sleep. Mark arranged for an early breakfast, so we would be on time for our massages, which he also scheduled for us. He was also a great source of information for planning the rest of our trip.


Wonderful stay at the Brewster Inn!

5 sur octobre 02, 2011

Recently stayed at the Brewster Inn and had a truly wonderful time! The inn is well-maintained and has been renovated quite a bit since the last time I was there. Very clean, well-kept, and the food is delicious. Will be back again!


Friendly innkeepers

3,4 sur septembre 25, 2011

Enjoyed an overnight stay with Mark and Judith. Mark is very helpful, providing dinner suggestions and confirmation calls prior to arrival. Guest room was a bit small and too warm but equipped with all the extras including an IPOD docking station, water, etc. Gardens are beautiful and the property is large and full of history. Breakfast is my favorite meal and Mark offers a buffet that is adequate but wasn't well attended. Plan to have dinner on the way or travel out again since Dexter doesn't have any local dining as Mark will tell you.


Great B & B Innkeepers

4,8 sur août 13, 2011

We were so pleased with our stay at Brewster Inn. Mark and Judith, originally from England (but making their home in the USA now) have brought back a beautiful old home and made a lovely inn. Mark was very accommodating with our "back and forth" schedules and made sure we were quite comfortable with every need met, and Judith's work with the breakfast was very fine. This is a special inn located on a quiet peaceful street in a quaint Maine town. We highly recommend a stay at the Brewster Inn -- you won't be disappointed!


Great Place and Fantastic Gardens

4,2 sur août 13, 2011

Mark is a wonderful host who works hard to make your stay enjoyable. He is knowledgeable about happenings all over the state. Walking the beautiful gardens is a delightful way to end breakfast. And during breakfast, we always meet interesting people from all over. We love the coffee they serve too! We will come back again and again.


great bed and breakfast

4,4 sur août 08, 2011

Stayed at the The Brewster Inn for two nights. The Innkeepers Mark and Judith were very friendly and welcoming. Mark offered his assistance to ensure that we had accomodations as we traveled up the coast during the peak vacation time. Mark also had many recommendations for lunch and dinner as well as local sites to visit. The Inn is loaded and rich with history. Be sure to stay at the Brewster Inn for a real Maine experience, you won't be disappointed!


Gracious Hospitality with Historical Charm

5 sur août 04, 2011

We stayed at Brewster Inn twice before and enjoyed the Inn, Judith & Mark, & the B&B experience. We returned again after two years and were amazed at how much J&M had enhanced the Inn. The garden was beautiful! Improvements like individual room heat controls shows how important the comfort of their guests is to J&M. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!


Brewster Inn, Maine

4,0 sur août 03, 2011

The service was exceptional. We received reminder phone calls and the room was ready for us when we arrived at 3:00 p.m. The room was very clean and nice, although a bit smaller than what we are used to as we frequent hotels more often than B & B's. The food for breakfast was quite generous and tasty. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the good service.


Hidden gem

4,2 sur août 02, 2011

The property is typical of Maine. A labor of love to restore on the part of the owners. Lovely garden to relax in. Our host were simply charming and did everything to make our stay perfect. For those who like the Bed and Breakfast experience, the Brewster will not disapoint.


A Maine Country Inn

3,6 sur juillet 29, 2011

This is a lovely inn. Clean, cozy, and charming. A relaxed atmoshere with down to earth.


Great calm night!

4,4 sur juillet 29, 2011

We were very weary of our trip thus needed a great night of sleep, we couldn't have chosen a better place for that! Thanks Mark and Judith for the hospitality, we'll be back when the opportunity presents itself.


Home away from Home

4,8 sur juillet 24, 2011

Every summer we visit my parents who have a home on the nearby lake and we always chose to stay with Mark and Judith at the Brewster Inn. We love the improvements they continue to make each year with the Inn and always look forward to our next trip! And spending time with Mark and Judith is like staying with relatives (except their accent is a little different than ours!) We highly recommend The Brewster Inn!


The Brewster Inn

4,6 sur juillet 08, 2011

Mark and Judith made our first bed and breakfast stay an awesome memory. Mark took us out and showed us his garden which was just photographed by a national magazine and told us all of his plans for it in the future. He was extremely accommodating without being at all intrusive. For us, this was the deal breaker, because we're very private. We got to know the couple and their story and became attached as well as impressed with the host's british humor and cooking. I would highly recommend this historic place to stay and would even call it a hidden treasure in Dexter Maine.


Good luck with your US venture

4,0 sur juillet 08, 2011

Being from the UK it was unusual to find A British couple in the middle of Maine running a B and B. I found warm hospitality and the eagerness to please. Mark has the ability and energy to make a success of the business. I hope they succeed in gaining permanent residency in the US. The hard work put in is obvious. There are many interesting features in the B and B and the effort to restore things to their former glory must be commended. Good luck to you both and well done. My friend particularly liked the downstairs room as she has a problem with stairs. Breakfast good and replenished often. Thank you for a pleasant stay.


Truly great place

4,8 sur juin 09, 2011

I spent one night at the Brewster Inn, and it really should have been longer. It is a delightful place with interesting historical renovations and decor, great service and a beautiful garden. Dexter is a little town with some nice historical buildings and not far from other attractions.


Brewster Inn Bed and Breakfast With a Smile!

5 sur mai 25, 2011

I and my fiance recently spent two nights at the Brewster Inn in Dexter, Maine and found it delightful! Mark and Judith, the Innkeepers, were helpful, kind, happy and concerned about our comfort! We awoke to find a lovely breakfast in the dining room (continental style with a warm dish included!) Delish! The Brewster Inn is clean and neat with a lovely warm atmosphere! We had friendly chats with other guests as well as Mark and Judith and we left with the conviction that we would stay again, in a heartbeat!


My stay at the Brewster Inn

4,0 sur mai 18, 2011

I found the location easy to find and plenty of parking. Evan though the gardens are still under construction you can actually sense the end result as you would at your home. Mark and Judith are great hosts and went out of their way to be helpful with directions and any needs I had. I did not get to enjoy the real breakfast at the inn due to my work schedule but Mark did have coffee on for me as well as having a continental style breakfast waitng for when I got to the dining room. My room was the smallest of the rooms but was very comfotable and quiet. It had everything I needed for my stay. My bed was made up for me when I arrived in the evening which was very comforting. I felt very at home staying here.


Not bad for the price

2,8 sur mai 11, 2011

We stayed at the Brewster Inn because of a family event in town. The room was small but comfortable; the owner informed us that it was going to be renovated shortly, and it needed it. The breakfast was OK, but nothing spectacular. Mark is a charming host in a quirky sort of way; however, checkout was not easy. I wanted to pay in cash and was told I would have to wait several minutes while he hunted down change; the amount wasn't worth waiting for, so I didn't.


We keep going back!

5 sur avril 10, 2011

First, Mark and Judith are wonderful people. There is nothing fake about them. They are a British couple in central Maine doing their best at running a wonderful bed and breakfast, and doing very well! The house is a beautiful old governor's house, with a dozen or so very well appointed rooms. This is our third visit, and our third room. We stayed this time in the honeymoon suite. I would recommend it to anyone, especially a newly wedded couple! The bedroom used to be Gov. Brewster's study, spacious and very comfortable. The bed was comfy and warm. The bathroom is beautiful with a tub truly big enough for two. The breakfast was delightful. This being our third time, I have had the opportunity to enjoy a number of different breakfast dishes prepared by Judith, the last one was a apple and raisin quiche with a light cheese: very good. I suggested she develop a cookbook. For some price is important. I haven't spent a night at a place like this for under $250 per night. Ours was $300 for two nights. I believe it to be very reasonable. The first stay I recall was $89 for the Truman room (yes, president Truman, when vice president, stayed at the Brewster house a number of times). Will we go back? Absolutely! We have made going every six months a thing we do. I can't say enough about this charming place away from everything. I word to the wise: the town Dexter does 'roll up the sidewalks' at like 8 PM. If you are looking for a place to get away and relax, a place as a base of operation for snowmobiling, or any of the many other outdoor activities (summer or winter) central Maine offers, seriously consider the Brewster Inn. You won't be disappointed.


Brewster Inn - Dexter

5 sur mars 21, 2011

In addition to the well-organized registration and room choice, the hosts of Brewster Inn offered soup when our guest didn't feel well, gave a hand at pulling off a pair of too-tight winter boots, patiently answered all phone calls & questions about the stay, and were delightfully friendly and concerned about the comfort of our guest. This is a lovely place to stay if you are planning to visit this part of Maine.


Lovely Winter Stay at the Brewster Inn in Dexter Maine

4,6 sur mars 03, 2011

I spent three days and two nights at the Brewster Inn in Dexter Maine last week and had an extremely enjoyable stay. This is my third stay at the Inn in two years and my second winter visit. I needed to be out very early in the mornings and Judith had a wonderful breakfast ready for me each time - a lovely quiche one morning and a blueberry cobbler dish the other which were both excellent, along with the usual variety of breads , muffins, yogurts and coffee. The Inn had just received a new roof and completely revamped heating system and the guest and common rooms were uniformly toasty despite the 0-15F outside temperatures during my stay. Mark and Judith have done a fantastic job restoring the property and I'm anxious to visit again in the summer when the lilacs are blooming in the huge garden adjacent to the house. I highly recommend a stay at the Brewster Inn. Also, for those who have a free day or two while in the region, the area has excellent ice fishing in the nearby lake and numerous well groomed snow machine trails nearby (the Brewster Inn can arrange snow machine rentals for guests). It is only a 90 mile (~2hr) drive from Bar Harbor and the Maine coast and the same distance heading west to the Sugarloaf ski area.


Winter stay in Dexter

4,2 sur février 21, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Brewster Inn in February. Booking the room online was fast and easy, with multiple choices on rooms. Confirmation was prompt, along with an email offering to answer any questions we had. The inn is very well maintained, cozy and comfortable. The bed was great; the temp was controlled in room and no fan noise coming on and off to wake me in the night. Large room for the price also. Shower nice but a bit small. TV channels good but need a flat screen TV (coming soon I hear). The Stephens were always available for help or a service item. Breakfast was over the top good, with hot and cold selections. For the price, I would stay there over any hotel I've been in, and I stay in hotels 10-12 nights a month. Thoroughly enjoyable!


Our Fall Foliage Trip

5 sur février 04, 2011

Our stay at the Brewster Inn was a wonderful experience. Our hosts Mark and Judith couldn't have been any nicer. The room was wonderful and the breakfast prepared by Judith was great every morning. We stayed for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The location was really good for our day trips to Acadia, Bar Harbor, Moosehead Lake and all the surrounding areas. We will certainly try to stay with them again. It is a long way from Texas to Maine. Right now the weather in Texas seems like Maine. John & Pat - Hurst, Texas


We like this inn very much - comfortable, loaded with history, and well run.

4,4 sur janvier 09, 2011

Our stay during the holidays was pleasant, a decorated tree was in the living room and the fireplace was lit. Our room was warm and comfortable. Breafast was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Best B & B in Central Maine

4,8 sur décembre 27, 2010

We stayed at the Brewster Inn over the Christmas holiday, and were thrilled to find everything advertised was accurate! Hosts, Mark & Judith are friendly and quick to give us the feeling of being in home-like environment. The suite was spacious and neat, very warm and inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed having a fire in the room, as well as the jacuzzi. Breakfasts were pleasant, and they made sure we had plenty of coffee! We are so happy, that we have now booked several more stays for 2011, and will consider nowhere else when we are in Maine visiting family or up on business!


My time at the Brewster Inn

5 sur décembre 23, 2010

From start to finish the stay was wonderful. The hosts were very flexible with my travel difficulties and made themselves available at all hours needed. the food was amazing. Especially considering cooking is not their primary function. Judith is a wonderful cook. Mark is charming and always ready to work with you to give you the best stay possible. i have stayed at numerous cookie cutter inns that are cheep and the service is atrocious. The Brewster Inn is a great change. the rooms were immaculate and cozy. I highly recommend this inn to anyone who is in the area.


A warm stay and more

4,0 sur décembre 01, 2010

What a lovely bed and breakfast in the heart of Maine. The Honeymoon Suite was wonderfully warm with a cozy fire and jacuzzi. And breakfast the next day was just what we needed. There's nowhere else to stay in the Dexter area with the level comfort and quality of the Brewster Inn.


Long Weekend Getaway

4,4 sur novembre 15, 2010

What a wonderful stay we had at Brewsters Inn. The Innkeepers Mark & Judith, were very gracious hosts and we look forward to return visits.


Historic B&B

4,0 sur novembre 10, 2010

Lovely historic B&B. Convenient location to family when visiting Dexter. Renovations to the rooms and upkeep to the grounds have been an added plus.


Surprise home away from home in Dexter, Maine

5 sur novembre 03, 2010

Not a fan of B&B's but this place changed my view. Privacy, great breakfasts, and the owners are super! We will stay here for future visits to the area. Sonja & Dennis


a most pleasant evening in Dexter Maine.

3,4 sur octobre 30, 2010

This hidden gem in Dexter will delight, relax and make the time fly! The hosts were gracious, and friendly. Would DEFINATELY reccomend this spot to others!!!!


Charming B & B

4,0 sur octobre 20, 2010

This bed & breakfast was an excellent choice. The Innkeepers were very personable and made my stay very relaxing and comfortable. The bed & breakfast was beautiful and well kept. I would definitely recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone travelling in the area.


Brewster Inn stay

4,0 sur octobre 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and spotless. The hosts were extremely helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable stay!


We had a great stay at the Brewster Inn

4,2 sur octobre 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Brewster Inn. Our hosts were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were attractive and each had a private bath which is very convenient. We were most impressed by the cleanliness. The bathrooms were spotless. I would highly recommend the Brewster Inn to anyone who needs to stay in the area.


First time in Maine

3,2 sur octobre 09, 2010

We applaud Mark and Judith for all the hard work they have put into restoring this historical inn, a very big undertaking. We were very comfortable in our room, enjoyed the fireplace and jacuzzi tub and had a very good night's rest. Guest parking was a bit of a problem the day we arrived. More signage indicating where to park would be helpful.


Wonderful Inn and People!

4,6 sur octobre 08, 2010

Thanks to Mark and Judith we had a wonderful experience. Not only have they done so much to this historic Inn but their plans for improving the gardens are amazing. We stayed in the Truman room and loved it. We would definitely return. We enjoyed our conversations and their suggestions for dining. All were great. The town of Dexter should appreciate their presence and many would probably ride right thru the town if it were not for the Brewster Inn. Mark and Judith are making their American dream come true. Thanks to both of you for sharing it with us and making us feel that we some how are contributing to it. Sherry and Ralph


Historical B&B

4,8 sur octobre 05, 2010

My husband and I stayed here back at the end of September for the first couple of days of our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. We ended up getting a phone call the day or two after we had booked the room to confirm the time we would be arriving. They both were there to greet us and Mark showed us around the houe a little bit and then took us to our room. He also let us in on some of the history of the house. The room was beautiful, we had the Honeymoon suite. It was big, you couldnt really here anyone else, and they had a big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The breakfast was very good and they were very good about answering our questions. Thank you Mark and Judith for making our stay really enjoyable. We hope to come back again in the future.


À lot of history

4,0 sur octobre 01, 2010

We had à wonderful Dinner and wonderful night. Judith cooked for us à nice Dinner like at Home.Mark did Care of us and give us Short overview about the House history. It was à pleasure to be at the Brewster. Thank you from the German couple from Bonn


Nice historical home

3,6 sur septembre 29, 2010

Great home. Their gardens are looking good. The room was a little small, but nice. Breakfast was Ok. We would stay here again if in the area. The town is charming and worth a stop. Dinner recommendations were great. This was a clean place to stay. The early morning quietness of the living room was great. Internet access was good.


Great stay with great people at a great house!

4,8 sur septembre 17, 2010

Mark and Judith have done a great job against all odds to put together a wonderful inn in a very interesting historical backdrop. We highly recommend this bed & breakfast to anyone who would like an interesting and enjoyable stay in Maine. Bill & Norma Elwell


A first and memorable B&B experience

5 sur août 15, 2010

This first B&B experience may have convenienced me to continue the lodging style. At the time, you were in the process of tree removal to restore the gardens. I look forward to a return visit to see the results. At 67 year old, last night was a memorable experience. I.E.: Lying on the grassy lawn at 11:00 p.m. watching "shooting stars" like I did with my sisters when I was 3 to 5 years old growing up in a big ole Mississippi home.


Worth the trip.

4,4 sur août 11, 2010

The Brewster Inn was our first experience at a B&B, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The facility was beautiful and well cared for, and Mark & Judy were incredibly flexible and willing to do amost anything to make our stay as plesant as possible. We would gladly stay there again, and are happy to recommend it to anyone interested.


The best hidden gem in Maine!

4,6 sur août 05, 2010

After deciding on getting away at the very last minute, we called the Brewster Inn with our fingers crossed that we'd find a room. Not only did we find a room, we found a treasure! Mark put us in the Game Room, which was utterly breathtaking. Mark was nothing but helpful our entire stay. He recommended places to eat and even volunteered to call a local restaurant to keep them open for us, as we had arrived quite late. He even suggested and gave us directions to a local tire store, as we had gotten a flat tire on our drive up. Breakfast was super yummy- better than I can say for many other places we've stayed. This was absolutely the best B&B we've ever stayed in & cannot wait to go back!!


Historic American charm, modern British comforts. A must see!!

5 sur août 05, 2010

I'm writing this review from the Game Room in the Brewster Inn. This place is simply astounding. The rooms here are almost like an adventure unto themselves. The rooms reflect a generous amount of American history and New England charm, yet with modern amenities and an exquisitely European attention to detail. Mark the innkeeper has been very helpful and friendly. This was a quick trip for me, but I cannot wait to come back...and their outstanding room value will be making it possible for me to be back...soon! I'll be making reservations for my return trip on the way out in the morning.


A Piece of History

4,4 sur août 01, 2010

Staying at the Brewster Inn was a very fun time. My wife and I visited on our honeymoon and were very pleased with our stay. Of all the B&B's we have stayed at, Mark and Judith are by far the most involved couple in their home. Mark was very excited in sharing with us the growth and development of the Brewster Inn, as well as share his plans in adding to their garden. We were very thankful for the hospitality Mark and Judith gave.


Where to Stay and feel like you are home with family

4,8 sur juillet 31, 2010

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast. It was great. The inn keepers Mark and Judith were so friendly and helpful. The room was large, clean and very quiet. I felt like I was with family. The living room was very welcoming with its large funiture, fireplace and window seat. I will stay here the next time I come to Maine . I would love to see the Inn in the winter time. Staying at the Brewster Inn was the icing on the cake for my trip to Maine.


Historic Restoral In Progress

3,6 sur juin 30, 2010

Mark & Judith are a great example of the creative, hardworking folks necessary to restoring a historic property to its former glory. The large house was the family home of a former Maine senator, but languished several years without the proper care & feeding. These two Brits are well on their way to bringing it back to first rate condition. The house already feels like you've entered a different, a grander time. The rooms are large, the common areas are comfortable, the breakfast was ample and varied. The gardens are a work in progress, with obvious improvement already accomplished, but more to be done. Same goes for the Inn. Several modernization improvements have been made, while still maintaining the historic property's integrity, but still lots to be done. It will be interesting to visit back in a few years to see the fruits of their labor. T J's family restaurant(recommended by Mark) is closeby, and provides a varied menu at reasonable prices. We ate there and loved it. Good luck, Mark & Judith, and thanks for a real historic experience. Ed & Mary Lynn


Excellent Experience

5 sur juin 25, 2010

Our family spent a week at the Brewster Inn and couldn't say enough good things about the Inn and Innkeepers. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The food was delicious and a great variety to suit everyone's tastes. The common areas were comfortable and beckoned you to sit, visit, relax whether it was in the lovely living room, on the wonderful screened in porch or on one of the many benches scattered throughout the grounds and gardens. The gardens are beautiful, everywhere you look there's some new gem to behold. The innkeepers were very gracious and gave us lots of good information about the local area and ideas for activities. By the time we left, it felt like leaving home and friends. We're recommending the Brewster Inn to all our family and friends. We look forward to return trips in the years to come.


Love Love Love

5 sur juin 23, 2010

The Brewster Inn is a magnificent gem that I was so lucky to have found. It is full of charm, history and beauty. You can't help but fall in love and never want to go home. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The robes are heavenly. Breakfast is always satisfying and tasty with a large variety to choose from. The Caramel French Toast a friend of the owners made was decadent and delicious. The gardens and lawn are so nice to stroll through. The porch/patio areas invite you to sit and relax as does the wonderful furniture in the living room. You'll be treated exceptionally well and get everything you need and desire during your stay. Visit once and you'll be sure to visit for years to come. I know I certainly will.


Lovely Historic Home

3,8 sur juin 02, 2010

The Brewster Inn was a great alternative on my latest business trip. Mark and Judith were very welcoming and helpful, giving me directions as well as restaurant recommendations. I am not a big breakfast eater, thus my rating on dining. But the coffee was hot and ready every morning, and they had options for breakfast, even though I didn't take them up on them every day. Would definitely stay here again.


Brewster Inn, Dexter Maine

3,8 sur mars 12, 2010

3/2/10, We were met by innkeeper, Mark (at 8PM), who was most hospitable, and helpful. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. In the morning of 3/3, we met innkeeper, Judith. She was also very hospitable, and cooked us a nice breakfast. We also has a nice chat with her. Unfortunately because we had to attend a funeral in a nearby town, we couldn't stay. But we did scan the downstairs of the house, and it was very nice. We plan to return again, but hopefully not to attenda funeral. This was our first stay in a B & B, and I think in the future that will enter in to our considerations for places to stay wherever we go.


Our Favorite B&B in Dexter, Maine

3,0 sur décembre 28, 2009

This was our third trip to the Brewster Inn. We have been there for three of the four seasons and each one is special unto itself. We love the location and have been happy with our rooms no matter which ones we pick.


Find Another Town, Find Another Inn

2,0 sur octobre 29, 2009

Upon arrival, we were met by a pushy innkeeper who proceeded to take us to our room and list off numerous rules. He later entered our room while we were out and unplugged our space heater! The space heater was needed because the heat in parts of the house had been turned off multiple times to "be green" and "save energy." This included overnight; he attempted to justify this by saying it was OK because they provided us with an electric blanket? Last but not least, the neighborhood and town were eyesores, we will not be back. Long story short, my wife and I were very disappointed in our experience. The website is VERY deceiving; we thought we were getting a great deal. In the end, it was anything but.

Réponse du propriétaire
We appreciate everyones patience as we remedy the heating situation right now. We can certainly keep you warm through the evening and night. We are making a major investment in a brand new heating system with every guest room with its own thermostat for total guest comfort and the plan is for that to be fully working by the end of November. Both Judith and myself can assure you that the comfort of our guests is always our number 1 priority here at the Brewster Inn and we like to think that the vast majority of positive reviews we've received will really show you that we look after all our guests very well.


We highly recommend the Brewster Inn

4,2 sur octobre 26, 2009

Mark and Judith go out of their way to make your stay memorable in a good way. The Inn is charming and comfortable. We have stayed three times now, with and without children and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when in the area. We're going back next month.


A great time was had by all

4,6 sur octobre 21, 2009

A friend and I had a wonderful time staying with Judith and Mark one evening in early October. We wished we had more time to spend. If I ever get the cash to go back to New England I would love to stay again.


3 nights in October

4,6 sur octobre 15, 2009

Wonderful old house with lots of character and hosted by Mark and Judith with real English hospitality. Grounds under reconstruction will turn the gardens into an A++ attraction. Very helpful in planning our day trips. We would return very definitely....Couple from Northern Alabama


Brewster Inn

5 sur septembre 28, 2009

The Brewster Inn was beautiful, a wonderful historic gem. Mark and Judith are both warm, gracious and make you feel very at home. We loved our stay and can't wait to visit next. We'd recommend the Brewster Inn to everyone. Looking forward to visiting in the summer and seeing the gardens in full bloom.


unplanned delight

4,8 sur août 27, 2009

We took off for our first kid free vacation in 14 years, we had no reservations and around 6pm starting looking for a place to rest for the night. I chose the inn, I liked it's look, my husband was reluctant, he's not a B&B guy but he is a changed man now. The room was comfy, clean and quiet, just what we needed. The breakfast and walking in the gardens were great ways to start the morning. We loved our stay and my husband wants to return.


Recent stay in Dexter, ME.

3,0 sur août 21, 2009

The Brewster Inn was clean and comfortable. It is not in an especially attractive neighborhood and the grounds need a lot of work to look as nice as in their pictures. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment.


A pleasure to stay at the Brewster Inn!

4,6 sur août 07, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Brewster Inn a few weeks ago and highly recommend the inn to anyone planning to stay in the Dexter area. Mark and Judith are very gracious hosts and made our stay very pleasant and comfortable. We certainly will stay at the inn if/when we travel to the area again. Thank you Mark and Judith!


Great B&B

4,6 sur août 02, 2009

What a wonderful way for us to begin our first trip to Maine! Mark and Judith were so friendly and helpful on the phone and via email that we knew we were in for a treat! Beautiful B&B, so historic, loved the flowers outside and the cozy beds and yummy bathrobes, breakfast and coffee waiting for us in the morning, suggestions for our day trip...I took my almost 21 year old daughter and just turned 24 year old son...stayed in the Honeymoon Suite so we'd have plenty of room...it was perfect! I would love to come back and stay longer!


Happy stay.

5 sur août 02, 2009

My wife and I passed an excellent stay at the Brewster Inn. The whole atmosphere was very pleasant and we meet interesting peoples. Best wishes to Judith and Mark for a great succes in their new enterprise, Best regards, Normand Vermette, aug. the 2nd 2009.


History laden comfort for a night!!!

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2009

We spent one evening at the Brewster Inn in the "Game Room" and it was fantastic. The room was clean and we were greeted by Mark and Judith whose warmth and kindness were immediately appreciated when they helped bring in our luggage and made the extra effort to see that everything in our room was to our exact liking. The shower was fantastic and the bed was so comfortable. The next day we were greeted by Judith and Mark who had prepared a wonderful breakfast for us and the other guests. They gave us good advice on how to get where we were going and gave us a great sendoff. My wife and I highly recommend staying there if you are looking for a home away from home and a wonderful experience in Historic Maine!!!


Wonderful

4,6 sur juin 09, 2009

The home is outstanding.Judith & Mark make you feel like you are Family. The wounderful smells of a true country kitchen fill the house as you awaken in the morning.Our hosts were most gracious and were ther e for anything that we needed or desired. I would Highly recomend this bed & Breakfast to anyone traveling to Dexter Maine. Omar Lanpher & William Boucher


Beautiful, cozy inn with excellent service!

4,6 sur mai 22, 2009

I went to Dexter for a weekend aiming to find a centrally located, quiet but friendly, home-like space to relax and meditate after a week of hectic business travel. The Brewster Inn fit my needs perfectly. The hosts, Mark and Judith, were welcoming, warm, and conversational with great tips about local food and sightseeing, and overall the perfect hosts. They made a single traveler feel at home. The inn itself is charming and full of history. It's very exciting to view the historic pictures when the inn was home to Senator Brewster and hosted then-Senator Truman. The inn has undergone a great deal of renovating since Mark and Judith have bought it, and though the amenities are simple, the inn is very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed sitting in the ever-evolving gardens and can't wait for my next visit!


Quaint, Historic Inn in Dexter, Me

4,0 sur mai 15, 2009

The owners were very friendly and attentive to our needs. The Game Room that we stayed in was large enough to accomodate the five of us in our party.We found the Inn to be very charming and comfortable and loaded with an historic past. We enjoyed the breakfast that was served, the kids and adults were all very satisfied!


A Beautiful Inn

4,6 sur avril 27, 2009

The Room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The Inn keepers were friendly and so accomodating to my individual needs. I would highly recommend the Brewster Inn to all those looking for fabulous accomodations at a great price!


Loved our stay

5 sur avril 20, 2009

Mark and Judith are fantastic hosts. Anything you need they provide. We plan to return many times.


Welcoming and Comfortable

4,8 sur avril 06, 2009

I've stayed at the Inn a couple of times now. I tend to pick the smallest rooms because I travel alone and don't need the extra space. I have stayed in the Strawberry room, the Blueberry room and the Truman room and I love all three. The beds are comfortable and the sheets and pillows are fabulous! Mark and Judith are friendly and welcoming and I feel like I'm coming home to family now when I go back. I look forward to my next visit - probably not again until Fall, but I would highly recommend the Inn to anyone who has reason to be in that part of Maine - or just make the Inn itself the reason to go. It's worth the trip.


A Great Place To Stay

4,6 sur mars 31, 2009

The Innkeepers are very friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay a good one. They even opened a smaller room just for me that is normally closed off-season. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The food was very good and the rates are a bargain. I highly recommend this charming B&B.


Enjoyed our stay at the Brewster!

4,0 sur mars 29, 2009

My husband and I spent a few days at this lovely Inn last summer, and enjoyed it a great deal. The owners were charming and friendly, and the inn was very comfortable and well-kept. We will definitely go back. . Wonderful grounds, charming patio and large enclosed porch - perfect for a summer getaway.


A very good start

3,0 sur août 27, 2008

The Brewster Inn is loaded with charm and history, and the hosts, Mark and Judith, have done a tremendous amount of work on the property and clearly love what they do. We stayed in Gov. Brewster's old office, which boasted several fun features, like a hidden buzzer and hidden storage spaces. There is more work to be done, but Mark and Judith have made a great start, and we would recommend the Brewster Inn to anyone planning to be in the Dover-Foxcroft area.


The Brewster Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $69 - $149
  • Avis (120) 4,4
  • Chambres 9

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone (207) 924-3130

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut