The Thistle Inn Avis

Ensemble
4,2

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,0
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix4,2
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,5

Notation basée sur
184 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Great value / perfect weekend in Boothbay

4,8 sur octobre 18, 2014

We loved the spacious room with King size bed (rare for B&Bs). The restaurant and bar were also a plus. We will be back!


Dining at the Thistle Inn was amazing!

4,4 sur octobre 15, 2014

Our two breakfasts and dining experience at dinner were stellar. We were told that we would be pleased with the cuisine, and we certainly were! Also, the service was quite good. The Thistle Inn is tucked into a nice part of Boothbay Harbor. It is close to downtown, but just far enough away to still be a quiet place to stay. We felt that it was a very good value, as well. We would be happy to stay there again.


1st Stay

3,8 sur octobre 10, 2014

Have had dinner here several times over the years, 1st time staying at the inn. Very glad we did and shall again. Food, drinks, and service are outstanding. Very warm atmosphere and hosts.


Comfortable stay

3,0 sur octobre 08, 2014

The Timberwind room, with its A-frame ceiling and skylights, was quite comfortable. The inn is a short walk from the harbor.


A reasonably priced option

2,8 sur octobre 08, 2014

Right on the main road into town but, quiet. Old, well-maintained and clean "road house" inn, with adjacent pub style restaurant. Nothing special but, clean, up-to-date room and bath; good home-style breakfast and locally- popular restaurant with verrrry popular happy hour. Good value.


B&B with a restaurant...or a restaurant with a few rooms attached?

2,2 sur septembre 24, 2014

The location was good and ordering off the restaurant menu for breakfast as part of the package was wonderful. Great food. However, the door was locked when we got there. A staff member got up from the patio and asked if we were checking in. She went inside another way, came out the front door, took us to our upstairs room and handed us a key. No owners, no lobby, no welcome, no info regarding the area, no who to contact if we needed anything. Our room had a door to the storage area of the kitchen, which was noisy at night and light shined through the bottom all night. There was no dead bolt on the door (a little scary as we were not sure if we might be the only ones in the B&B during the night and we had no contact info). No shade to pull down over the upper part of the window if using the AC. Noisy pipes when using water in the bathroom. No instructions in the event of a fire. Wobbly and precarious ceiling fan and a shower that scalded us after a few minutes. Would have gone to a hotel for two nights had there not been a no cancellation policy unless two weeks notice.


Worried at first but overall, evrything was great!

4,4 sur septembre 24, 2014

We arrived around 4pm and needed to call the number on the placard to find someone to let us in (check-in time at 3pm). The room we stayed in (American Eagle), is on the second floor and apparently next to an office and above the kitchen. It was a bit noisy when we arrived and we could hear some machinery (extractor fan or dish washer?). We were worried that we would be in for a woeful nights sleep. We had dessert and drinks at the bar later in the evening and it was lovely. When we went to our room around 10 it was exceedingly QUIET! Happy campers. The bed was very firm, but not uncomfortable. View of the patio dining area and swaying trees. Bathroom in this room was small but very clean and well appointed. Breakfast was outstanding.


Late summer getaway

3,8 sur septembre 17, 2014

Warmly greeted upon arrival. Nicely appointed room. Good value. Excellent outdoor dinner and an amazing breakfast. Have already recommended it to friends and we plan to return ourselves again.


A Very Good Value

3,8 sur août 27, 2014

The Thistle Inn completely lived up to our expectations. A nice but not fancy room, comfortable bed, very good food, and a convenient location. It was also a good value compared to other B&Bs in town. It was kind of strange that we never met the inn keepers during our three day stay and the bartender in the pub seemed overworked and less than friendly. However Stacey, one of the waitresses was just outstanding. She went out of her way to care for us, remembered our names, had our favorite beverages waiting for us at breakfast, and always had a great smile. She definitely made our visit to Boothbay an enjoyable one. I'd give the Thistle Inn a 4 on a scale of 5 and we'd stay there again if returning to the area.


Lovely Old Inn

3,2 sur août 24, 2014

We come up to Boothbay Harbor for a few days every summer and have spent the past few years at the Thistle Inn. It is always a lovely stay and easy walk into town. Breakfasts are yummy and the restaurant fare, though a bit pricey, is always delicious. The only downside this year was a lack of hot water one night when we had been hiking all day and had to take showers. The problem was fixed that night but too late for us since we had to be somewhere early, so - cold showers! We think Max could have offered us a free drink in the pub for roughing it.


"Bed bugged me"

3,4 sur août 18, 2014

Absolutely loved the restaurant, the bar, the room (appearance), the location, and the people!!!! HOWEVER - One "small" detail was overlooked by The Thistle Inn. The bed was absolutely terrible - hard as a rock, cheap. Felt like a $39/night motel bed. Don't be fooled by the fancy pictures on the website, the bed sucks. It really is a shame - If the mattress was good, I would be a return visitor, but there is no chance I'll return for another terrible night of sleep!

Réponse du propriétaire
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you did not sleep well. Please let us know what room you stayed in and we will address the problem immediately.


Nice place to stay in Boothbay Harbor

3,4 sur août 13, 2014

Rooms were nice and clean. Good service. Good food (a bit pricey though). Very nice stay overall.


First time in a B&B

4,8 sur août 08, 2014

This was the first time staying in a bed and breakfast for my significant other and I, and it was a wonderful experience. We chose the Timberwinds room, which was beautiful and very comfortable. I loved the privacy of the room and the skylights! It was very easy to get downtown, even though not much was going on since we went early in May. Decided to try the attached restaurant and it was really delicious. Only complaint we had was the fan in the bathroom was loud, which made it difficult for the other person to continue sleeping while one of us was showering. Otherwise, it was a great experience and we will definitely be returning.


Gem in Boothbay Harbor

5 sur août 07, 2014

This gem was just delightful - as was the staff, the rooms, everything. We got there late in the day and discovered their happy hour - which became a daily ritual. Large coffee cups - so grateful for these in the morning. Breakfast on the veranda - heaven. Walking distance to town. Next door to the opera house, which has delightful summer productions. All in all - can't wait to return!


Cute Inn with great breakfast

4,0 sur août 05, 2014

The room comes with breakfast from the Inn's restaurant which was great and has a beautiful outdoor patio space where you can eat when the weather is nice.


Maine Harbor B&B

4,2 sur août 03, 2014

Cozy pub, rustic restaurant, and outdoor breakfast on the deck; excellent food. Room rates seemed pricey, but include a delightful full-menu breakfast. Pleasant, spacious room. Cordial hosts. Maine seaport village w/in walking distance.


Like Staying at Your Grandparents' House

3,2 sur juillet 31, 2014

Quiet, historic building with six guest rooms and a tasty breakfast included each day. The rooms are a bit spartan, and the window AC units struggle to keep things cool, but the experience actually is a little bit like staying at your grandparents' house. The 3PM check-in rule is real, since no one is on site to check you in until then, so if you get there early, grab a parking space and take a walk downtown. Parking is a challenge during the summer season, since there are only eight spaces and diners/drinkers at the Thistle Pub occupy them starting at around 5PM. If you park on the street for more than four hours or in any of the neighboring parking lots you will be towed or ticketed, so if you don't succeed in grabbing a space on site, you may need to stay up late and wait for a space to open up when the Pub closes. I think it would make more sense to reserve the on-site spaces for guests and have diners/drinkers park on the street. The Inn has a lovely, tree-shaded deck for breakfast and dinner (weather permitting). If you have any trouble climbing stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as the stairs are long and steep. I spent five days at the Thistle Inn for a watercolor workshop and I would definitely return.


In Boothbay Harbor for a wedding.

4,8 sur juillet 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Thistle Inn and would definitely stay there the next time we find ourselves in Boothbay Harbor. The breakfasts were great and we'd love to try their dinners.


Great Breakfast!

3,6 sur juillet 23, 2014

The breakfast was wonderful. It was also really nice to have so much action around- I could hear music and laughter from the restaurant while I was in my room.


Wonderful!

5 sur juillet 20, 2014

This was by far the best b & b I've ever been to. My room, Timberwind, was beautiful and clean. The dining staff was fast & efficient without rushing you. The food was absolute perfection.


Short Stay

4,6 sur juillet 15, 2014

This place was a great little inn and I wish I could have stayed a night or 2 more to really get the full effect. The room was quaint and very cute. I stayed on a Monday night so I did not get to experience the restaurant. The breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay here again.


Our Stay at The Thistle Inn

5 sur juillet 12, 2014

A memorable experience....our room had it's own entrance & was so inviting.......the skylights amazing.....as well as the staff & cuisine. Highly recommend this relaxing & quality Inn. The "K's" from CT.


great place

4,2 sur juillet 04, 2014

Third floor rooms are a bit rough but comfy bed and clean towels &sheets made up for it. Second floor rooms were open for near a week, so why we were put up there is beyond me? Room service for rooms are non existent, especially Mondays as everything but breakfast is shut down. Restaurant is awesome as well the bar, though bar keep is not very friendly. The food is fabulous bar none in booth bay.


Getaway weekend

4,6 sur juillet 03, 2014

We had a wonderful visit. Walking distance to everything. The help couldn't have been more accommodating. Great service . We had breakfast (most amazing French toast) and dinner. The lazy lobster was outstanding. We would most certainly go there again.


Our dining experience was terrible, did not enjoy the food at all. We mentioned it to our waitress and she offered no apolgy or acknowledgement.

4,0 sur juin 02, 2014

My boyfriend and I ordered lazy man lobster and it was overcooked to the point of being rubbery. My ceaser salad was two stalks of romaine lettuce with anchovies that myself and many people do not like. It was really disgusting and very pricy.


Lovely Overnight in Boothbay Harbor - great spot!

5 sur avril 01, 2014

I needed to find a place in the off-season and found this place with online reservations. I was travelling for business and didn't have any flexibility. Such a nice place! I arrived in time for happy hour in the pub and it is clearly a well-loved place with locals as well as tourists. Specials were imaginative and tasty! I would happily go again.


Excellent

4,6 sur mars 09, 2014

I have stayed in most hotels in Boothbay and the Thistle is the best in the region for sure


A Great Find!

4,6 sur février 26, 2014

This is a wonderful weekend experience tucked into Boothbay Harbor. The restaurant was the highlight for us - we enjoyed Happy Hour then morphed into dinner in the restaurant, where the food was top notch (and I'm a food snob) and the ambiance somehow both lively and quiet enough for us old folks to hear. We'll definitely be back.


Travel for Business

4,8 sur février 24, 2014

I travel to Boothbay, Maine for business, and this was my first stay in the area. Although it was off season, and very snowy, it was great that they opened the restaurant, so I didn't have to travel for dinner. The crowd and atmosphere was friendly, and the service was excellent. I will definitely stay again! -Jane S.


Fabulous restaurant, comfortable stay

5 sur février 03, 2014

We stayed at the Thistle Inn in January of 2014 and had a wonderful time. Our room, the Sherman Zwicker, was comfortable and clean (although it did get really hot at night, we had to open a window--but better than too cold!). The bathroom is huge and the room is charming. They have coffee downstairs and a well-stocked little library/borrowing shelf. At the end of our stay we simply dropped the key in a hanging basket and were on our way. The highlight of our stay, however, was the FANTASTIC restaurant. I'm from Santa Barbara, my fiance and I live in Washington DC, and I've eaten at some really great restaurants in my life. I can honestly say that my meal at the Thistle Inn was one of the best I've ever had. Rob had the ribs, which were falling off the bone and had the perfect amount of sauce. I had the risotto and it was absolutely amazing! Like truly amazing, and I don't even usually like risotto all that much. The creme brulee was the perfect end to an incredible meal. Seriously, I could go on and on! We will definitely be back.


Boothbay stay

3,8 sur novembre 07, 2013

Great in town location. Room was nice but it was cold and heater didn't work well. Food is great and the pub has great atmosphere. Will stay there again.


Small Group

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2013

We had a good time at the Thistle Inn, and even though we didn't have breakfast served to us in the off season, it was still a nice stay. The check-in experience needs to be improved in the off season. ie. having someone there at 3pm sharp. Other than that, it was a good stay.


An amazing quick getaway!

4,8 sur novembre 03, 2013

My Lady Friend and I, had a marvelous time up in Boothbay. The stay at the Thistle Inn was very pleasant, the room broad and spacious. We had chosen the 'loft' with its up and out of the way location. I was dissapointed we had missed dinner and had not dined at an amazing quaint restraunt within. We'll just have to pop up there again! I would recommend The Thistle, great local and 'off season price'! a great value!


good dinning

3,6 sur octobre 30, 2013

Nice atmosphaere in the restaurant and bar


Nice place not much variety

4,2 sur octobre 18, 2013

We enjoyed our time at The Thistle Inn. Pros tavern next door a plus. Room very nice and clean. Owner friendly. We went during the week in October. breakfast was very good menu was the same for both days. Would have preferred more variety. Location was close to town but no view. One important note. Do not arrive before check in. We arrived at 2:30pm doors were locked and no one responded to our knocking. WAited for 15 min with still no response .


spontaneous visit to boothbay and the thistle inn

4,2 sur septembre 30, 2013

A few hours before we arrived in boothbay, we were searching online for an affordable place to stay in the area. The Thistle Inn had a room w/ a separate entrance, it was affordable, and we were excited about its restaurant. This was our first trip alone in 9 yrs and we wanted to find a quiet clean affordable place near the ocean for our 15 yr anniversary. Our stay there was perfect! The owners are fabulous: personable and kind and they make an amazing breakfast. The restaurant was amazing, and it's right downstairs from your room. The room was peaceful and felt apart from everything else. The Inn is not right on the water, but those places from the outside did not appeal to us after we had met the owners of the Thistle and had stayed there a night. We will definitely go back. A perfect spot to sleep after a day or two on Monhegan Island!


Beautiful rooms, sweet location

4,6 sur septembre 26, 2013

My room was large, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was superb.


Great Little Inn

5 sur septembre 24, 2013

Had a quick weekend visit and loved the Thistle Inn. Awesome location with plenty of parking. Very welcoming reception. The room was larger than expected, well decorated and large bathroom (Chimes). Comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. The owners were present and were very gracious and helpful. Would highly recommend this Inn.


First Time To Maine!

4,4 sur septembre 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Thistle Inn. The rooms were nice, clean and spacious. The breakfast was very delicious and served to our request. I would definintely stay there again if heading to the Maine area.


Thistle Inn a gret place to stay in Boothbay Harbor

4,2 sur septembre 11, 2013

Our family booked all of the rooms for a family wedding and we had a great time convening at breakfast each morning -- the breakfast is spectacular and you won't be hungry for hours given the generous portions of delicious, made to order food.


Family wedding

4,8 sur septembre 11, 2013

Food was great and the people were nice spent some time with the innkeeper very hospitable! Would come back. In the area for a family wedding!


it was a dark and stormy night

3,6 sur septembre 07, 2013

We drove in from Nova Scotia, through some really heavy rains, but the inn was quite pleasant and the town a nice place to spend some time We had a great dinner at the inn , but breakfast the next morning was super Danny and Krys , Ontario, Canad


Thistle Inn has its ups and downs.

3,2 sur août 30, 2013

Dining -- Loved the dinner we had... Best scollops COOKED I had all week but.... fell short on it's description in the menu.... Crisp Parma Prosciutto and Creamy Orzo...Could not taste the Prosciutto in the orzo.... I had this same dish in 2 other restaurants this week and both served the Prosciutto on top of the scallops. And it was served with a port reduction that was too sweet for the delicate scallop taste. (and was not on the menu description... Room --- the room was American Eagle and the bed was uncomfortable and the drapes did not close tightly. All visitors should be told that the stairs to the upper rooms are narrow and steep. The bath was very small. The room is a very dark room, need lights on at all times of the day. Cleanliness - When we arrived there was hair in the baseboard heater in the bathroom. The rug at the top of the stairs was dirty. Valus - would I stay again? Yes in the downstairs room, I would try for 1 night,,, but never again upstairs. Loved meeting Dillon, he was pleasant and made a great breakfast.


Lovely B & B in a beautiful town.

3,8 sur août 29, 2013

The Thistle Inn is a lovely B & B in a beautiful town. Jen was very attentive and helpful. It's restored beautifully. Breakfast was delicious. We were too full to try the restaurant because we had stopped on our way for lobster rolls at Red's in Wiscosset. But next time I'd like definitely like to try the restaurant for dinner.


comfy and healthfully delicious!

4,6 sur août 23, 2013

We had a lovely onenight get-away at Thistle and loved the deck dining under leafy trees, romantic outdoor atmosphere, delicious food and drinks. Breakfast was wonderful, and the room was comfortable, sheets soft, bed wonderful... who could ask for more?!


Could be better

1,8 sur août 22, 2013

The room was above the kitchen area and smelled like it. The bed was very uncomfortable and the bathroom was dirty. The greeting by the proprietor was odd and standoffish. She provided no information about the inn or the area. We will look for different accommodations for our next trip to Booth Bay Harbor.


Enjoyed Stay!

4,0 sur août 20, 2013

Portions for breakfast were less on Sunday then Saturday, specific to pancakes and eggs. Room was not made up on Saturday. We will recommend Inn.


Pleasant stay at Thistle Inn

3,6 sur août 15, 2013

The breakfast included was wonderful. Thistle Inn was covieniently located for us as we were catching a ferry to Monhegan right after breakfast.


High quality at The Thistle Inn

4,8 sur août 15, 2013

The Timberwind room was clean and well-lit by the ceiling windows...very cozy with a separate outside entrance. Service was pleasant and informative and the complimentary breakfast was well beyond expectations. High quality all the way around.


Delightful B&B!

5 sur août 15, 2013

We had a terrific experience at The Thistle Inn, staying in the Timberwind Room. Breakfast was delicious, the room was spacious, comfortable, and very private, and the Inn itself felt charming and gracious - as did Max and Jen! Definitely do not miss the happy hour, or the paella. Highly Recommended!


Great location for a walk to Boothbay Harbor

3,4 sur août 10, 2013

Room was nice and quiet but up 2 very steep staircases. Television was difficult to operate with a DVR-instructions would have been helpful. Breakfast was very good prepared and served on the terrace with fresh fruit, omelets and pancakes and plenty of coffee. A short walk to town allowed us to explore and enjoy a lobster dinner at Kaleys.


Wonderful experience and beautiful B&B

4,4 sur août 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend this past Sunday. The outdoor patio was fabulous and the complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations. The service was very good and everyone was friendly which added to the whole experience. We are already planning to go back in a couple months.


Great place!

4,0 sur août 09, 2013

This is a very comfortable place to stay. It's just a few steps away from the heart of Boothbay Harbor, but far enough away so that it's quiet. Our room was a good size, but the bathroom was a little small. The food was terrific. We had dinner in the restaurant and were very happy with the selections. A full breakfast was included and the choices were excellent. We would recommend this B & B anytime.


Great value!

3,6 sur juillet 31, 2013

Great value for your money! Clean, quiet rooms and walking distance to everything. Fantastic breakfast, great outdoor dining space! Nice menu choices for fine dining or pub food. Also love that it is a great place for couples, but is also children friendly. Very friendly, attentive service. Just wish they had coffee makers in the rooms or self serve coffee out all day. We can't wait to stay again!


Thistle Inn overnight

2,8 sur juillet 29, 2013

It was a pleasant stay in the "American Eagle" room, except for the tired mattress and linens. In spite of an ineffective, non-foam mattress topper, this mattress was very uncomfortable. Bed linens could use a fresh update. Otherwise, the room size was fine, and bathroom adequate and clean. The Inn has a great, lively bar. Breakfast was fabulous (blueberry pancakes as one option). Due to the rain, we couldn't enjoy the outside patio dining, but it's a beautiful space.


Review of Thistle Inn

3,0 sur juillet 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Thistle Inn for two nights. Upon our arrival no one answered the door (had to ring bell and someone was supposed to answer). We were told the doorbell wasn't working - at a bed and breakfast where people are coming and going? The innkeeper (don't know her name because she didn't introduce herself) seemed to be bothered by us arriving because she told us it was her day off! She simply took us to our room, gave us our key, told us when breakfast was and took off. Not friendly at all! Gave us no information about the town or anything else. The breakfast although was very good and our waitress was very friendly.


Good place, great location

4,2 sur juillet 25, 2013

I liked the room (Appledore) and we had a good experience overall, except for two things: We were charged the two nights a week before getting there, and our bathroom was not cleaned at all (we hanged our towels to save water, as requested, but the bathroom was not cleaned). Breakfast was delicious; location is excellent, about 3 blocks from the ocean; and we had parking.


Nice stay close to town

4,2 sur juillet 25, 2013

We had a nice stay in this place that dates back to 1861, when it was a sea captain's home. The room was a decent size and had an adequate bathroom. The steps to the 2nd and 3rd floors are quite steep, so if you have physical limitations you should ask for the lower-level room. Breakfast was included with a choice of an omelet, pancakes (plain or blueberry), or Beligan waffle with fruit. Between my wife and me, we tried all three and all were very good. There is a bar and restaurant on site, too, that is open from 5:00 on in the evening. One of the great things was that it was just a short walk to the wharf area where all the shops and restaurants are. We'd stay there again if we're ever back in Boothbay.


Honeymoon in July...

4,8 sur juillet 25, 2013

My (new) wife and I honeymooned in Boothbay Harbor at The Thistle Inn from 13 July 2013 to 18 July 2013. The rooms were spacious and well kept, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. All of the employees went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay and were helpful in recommending things to do in Boothbay Harbor. Considering the time of year, the price for our room, Victory Chimes, was excellent. There were almost no crowds in Boothbay Harbor itself and the experience was unforgettable. My only complaint is that the TV in the room was tiny! However, I would very much recommend The Thistle Inn to anyone interested in staying in Boothbay Harbor.


Unique Inn

4,4 sur juillet 17, 2013

Great weekend getaway - in any season. Close to town, great food and fabulous rooms all unique to each other.


Would stay here again.

5 sur juillet 15, 2013

Loved the loft room & had plenty of space for the 4 of us. Friendly staff & delicious breakfast.


Thistle Inn

4,8 sur juillet 10, 2013

The Thistle Inn is a charming New England B & B that features comfortable, clean, neat, and pleasant accommodations complemented by an efficient staff. The food meets high quality standards and the bar features well-crafted drinks prepared by an extraordinary bar staff. The breakfast menu offers several choices that are well presented and well prepared.


Xoxo loving-charming getaway! Can't wait to return!

5 sur juillet 01, 2013

The Timberwind Room ,the Food,the Service,the entire atmosphere at The Thistle Inn was perfect! We ventured out ,seeing Tall Ships,walking on the Foot Bridge-Break Water,shopping at sweet boutiques and shops,listen to a couple local bands-that rocked,even saw Pirates! Can't forget the Community gathering with fantastic crafters! Made us consider an annual stay-if not more often!


Great location

4,4 sur juin 25, 2013

Great location for walking to waterfront and many shops and restaurants with happy hours to boot! Thistle Inn was easy to find , great owners, always helpful and breakfast was over the top and prompt. I would be cautious in the "busy" season as noise may be an issue from the outdoor restaurant but regardless I'd be happy to return any day, any season.


Friendly B&B

4,2 sur juin 21, 2013

Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Met many locals in the bar/restaurant. The bartender, staff and owner were very personable and obviously were proud of their town. Gave us many great recommendations for places to visit, other restaurants in town, golf courses, etc. Definitely will stay there next time we are in Boothbay.


Good location, lovely restaurant, but Inn is disappointing during the off-season

2,8 sur juin 18, 2013

My family has stayed at the Thistle Inn on several occasions over the past several years, however the last two visits were a bit disappointing. Pros: The Thistle Inn is conveniently located for your stay in Boothbay and the surrounding area. We had a lovely dining experience at the Thistle Inn Restaurant - we'd recommend visiting the restaurant even if you stay elsewhere. Cons: Breakfast is not served during the off-season. This was not mentioned on the website or any time during the booking process (both online and telephone). The owners / staff are quite scarce during your stay (they leave a mobile number to call). This can be a pro if you don't require any assistance, however not when it comes to housekeeping - the room was kept tidy with daily maid service during our visit, however when my parents stayed at the Inn a few weeks later, they did not receive daily maid service - the maid actually informed them she had to leave early to take care of personal matters and simply left clean towels by their door.


Wonderful stay at the Thistle Inn

4,6 sur mai 27, 2013

We stayed at the Thistle Inn over Mother's Day. It was quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The restaurant/ Pub was not open when we were there so we can't rate the dining. We are certain it is excellent. (:


Overview

3,0 sur mai 23, 2013

The room was nice but the bed was hard. Everyone was pleasant. Overall, the inn was clean and would try it again. We only ate in the bar. The food was good not great. Atmosphere was comfortable in bar area. Close to shops was a plus.


Fun spot in center of Boothbay Harbor

3,2 sur mai 15, 2013

We stayed here during their off season, thus no breakfast was served, and we saw no staff to speak of. The restaurant however was open, which was wonderful and the service was outstanding. The location was close to town and it included free parking, which was great. We would go back again, but in season to be able to fully enjoy the property.


Great place to stay

4,2 sur mai 13, 2013

Only stayed 1 night and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was clean and comfortable. We had dinner at the pub downstairs and the staff was friendly and the service and food were excellant. Highly recommend a stay here.


What a wonderful place to stay!

4,8 sur avril 16, 2013

Splendid restaurant in the inn; really creative dishes magnificently prepared.


Great place, great deal

4,0 sur avril 09, 2013

Great friendly service no complaints


An Unknown Treasure

4,6 sur février 19, 2013

My husband and I have been to Boothbay Harbor many times. What we didn't realize, is that this B & B is very charming, with an equally delightful bar. We will definitely make plans to go back in the near future!


Winter Getaway!

3,6 sur février 01, 2013

We loved the convenient location of the Thistle Inn in the heart of downtown Boothbay Harbor; close to the ocean, dining (loved Cafe Bistro for brunch) , and the Opera House, (where we enjoyed dancing and listening to The Boneheads and Holy Mackerel). Our dinner at the Thistle Inn before the concert was excellent - the mussels, salmon and scallops were perfect!


Off-peak visit

3,2 sur décembre 30, 2012

Nice place, close to everything, in the quaint town of Boothbay Harbor. The only thing negative was that off peak also means service off. The restaurant part was excellent and the staff very friendly. Overall, I would recommend it and I would visit again. Just make sure you're ready to pay double the rate for a room between May and October.


Stayed off-season for a wedding

3,6 sur novembre 21, 2012

NOTE: Food Rating doesn't mean anything in this review. We did not have any food. A friend of ours got married & we needed a place to stay. Didn't want to stay at a 'box hotel'. This got good reviews and the pictures looked nice. We were pleasantly surprised when this place lived up to the pictures & reviews. Would definitely stay here again. Hopefully ON-season so we can take advantage of the breakfast. Definitely recommend.


Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, ME

3,8 sur novembre 12, 2012

We had a lovely late October stay at the Thistle Inn in Boothbay Harbor. The Inn is charming and comfortable, the room we had was spacious and private and had everything we needed. The off season rates were a big plus. In addition we dined in their Dory Pub and had a really delicious meal!


Lovely stay in Boothbay!

5 sur octobre 27, 2012

The Thistle Inn offered a convenient location with lots of charm! It was perfect for our stay in Boothbay.


Nice Cozy Inn

4,4 sur octobre 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Zwicker rooom and it was just fine--nice linens on the queen bed and soft, over-size towels in the huge bathroom. In the evening we enjoyed a cheese platter and beers before dining--a great value and wonderful cheese selections. When we checked in we were greeted by a lovely employee who showed us to our room as there is no reception desk or parlor. This was a sea captain's home and his parlor is now a guest room and his dining room is a breakfast room. This was not a problem for us. Meals were served in the adjacent tavern. Food was so plentiful and so good--omelettes, french toast, eggs benedict, fruit, and juice that we didn't even need lunch, I highly recommend theThistle Inn and we are back in Boothbay Harbor we definitely will try to stay here.


As Always An Excellent Stay!

5 sur octobre 17, 2012

This is the 4th year my sister and I stayed at the Inn and as always were very pleased. The food at the Inn is great, we eat on the Bar side and the Bartender/Waitress is wonderful. We will be staying again and alway recomend The Thistle Inn to anyone who is going to the Booth Bay Area.


Standard B & B

2,8 sur octobre 11, 2012

Room was clean, fairly neat, except for the wet towel in the bathroom, but pretty much standard b & b, though rooms are a bit small. There is no sitting/common room, it's either your room or the restaurant. Didn't eat at the restaurant--breakfast was OK, again nothing special. Internet not working during our visit.


Excellent Choice

5 sur septembre 26, 2012

We were greeted with a smile by every staff member we met. They were quick to accommodate our needs and very friendly. The Dory and restaurant were cozy and the food was amazing. The breakfast was over the top! Would absolutely stay here again!


A wonderful weekend getaway

4,8 sur septembre 14, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Thistle Inn and were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and clean our room was. The outdoor dining patio was very romantic and inviting. The full breakfast which was included with the cost of the room, was exceptional. We will be back to try some of the specialty cocktails that are offered in the Inn;s fully stocked bar!


Maine Coast

4,4 sur septembre 13, 2012

Heritage room roomy but on 3rd floor up 2 flights of steep stairs (only for the fit & healthy). Can't say enough about the breakfasts & evening dine. Excellent service, high quality food, great variety & good wine. Outside dining area is very pleasant. DS, LMD


Outstanding service

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2012

My wife and I were returning from a vacation trip to Canada and stopped at rhe Thistle Inn.The service was great & we enjoyed the young bar tender & his ghost stories, we hade a great meal on their wonderiful deck.The whole area of Boothbay Harbor was beautiful ,we will return, Maureen & Terry, Saugerties,NY


Thistle Inn delight

4,6 sur septembre 08, 2012

I had long known about the Thistle Inn's fine dining room after many summer vacations in Boothbay Harbor. This year, we stayed at the Inn for the first time. What a delightful surprise. We stayed in a beautiful room under the eaves with a separate entrance above the restaurant. It had a Queen bed and a couch/daybed, and was decorated in an elegant contemporary decor. The room felt like a quiet, restful hideaway. But the real pleasure was ordering from the restaurant for a late dinner. We ordered the artisan cheese plate and a dessert from the Thistle menu, taking it upstairs and feeling as if we were staying at a top resort in our little hideaway. Our breakfast was also excellent and you order from a menu, rather than selecting from a standard buffet. I can't vouch for the other rooms, but the one we stayed in was lovely and I highly recommend the Thistle Inn for a combination of cozy, comfortable accommodations and the best chef in Boothbay Harbor.


Perfect stay at Thistle Inn....again

4,6 sur septembre 04, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at the Inn, both were wonderful. This time the gourmet breakfest was included since it was in season. What an outstanding job they do on this meal! Great selection to choose from. My husband got Eggs Benedict and I got Bluberry pankakes.....both so delicious. The room was great, bed linens, towels, soaps all first class. Thank you! We also enjoyed happy hour as soon as we arrived. J & J from Stoneham, MA.


Charming Inn Amazing Food

3,4 sur septembre 03, 2012

Reserved entire Inn for my family to attend Maine wedding. The complimentary breakfast couldn't have been better. Friendly staff and delicious food. Rooms were just as they appeared on line. Some items in rooms could be updated especially towels. Other than that, we could definitely stay here again.


A very enjoyable time. We meet some great people there plus the food is outstanding as is service.

5 sur août 28, 2012

The Thistle Inn is near town and a easy walk, food, service, and atmosphere excellent. This was a stay for my 75 birthday and we truly enjoyed our time spent in Boothbay Harbor. This Inn should be on everyone list.


Thistle BB

5 sur août 27, 2012

Excellent dining, bar and BB. Very friendly staff and the best breakfast you can ask for Definitely a BB to visit again after only one visit SJ Duxbury


Wonderful Stay

4,4 sur août 27, 2012

This is the the third year my husband and I have stayed here, once on te 2nd floor and twice on the 3rd floor in the Appledore room. It's a great location, rooms are well appointed, and the tavern/ pub is a fun place for a drink or a meal. The food here is outstanding. We will be back next year!


Couples retreat

3,6 sur août 27, 2012

The Thistle Inn was the perfect b&b for my boyfriend and me. The Dory Pub was cozy and a friendly place to enjoy happy hour and the service was great. Brunch was delicious and the location is perfect.


Amazing Experience!

5 sur août 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed in the Timberwind room. It was an all around amazing experience. The room is a little bit separate from the rest of the inn, with its own private entrance. It was very spacey and very clean. We got there just in time for their happy hour(5-6) which has half price drinks (any drink they have, even the scotch!) and some half priced appetizers. The drinks were amazing and we got the mussels appetizer, which was also great. I actually liked the broth so much, we had over heard someone else made it into a drink, so I had them do it to mine too. The inn itself is located very close to town, just a couple minute walk. You also get a complementary breakfast in the morning if you are during the main season. The breakfast was perfect, with eggs benedict, three of them!, and the best fresh OJ I've had in the world. It tasted completely different from what you would expect. Overall, amazing experience, one which we'll be repeating soon.


Excellent Stay

4,4 sur août 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a great time staying at the Thistle Inn. We had forgotten that breakfast was already included with the room rate and couldn't believe the size of the entrees. Everything we ordered was fantastic. The Inn had the perfect New England feel and was in a great location for walking to town. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and family.


Our first visit to Maine and a bed & breakfast

3,6 sur août 19, 2012

My husband ,son and I came out to go to the lobster festival in Rockland but stayed in Boothbay and the thistle inn. We had the Best time! Our room was very nice (slept 3 comfortably) . The breakfasts that Jen and Max served was outstanding!! We are still talking about it. Would do the same thing all over again and the only change we would make is -- stay longer! Thanks from your visitors from Georgia .


Highly Recommended !

5 sur août 16, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Inn for our anniversary. The room was fantastic. Incredibly comfortable huge bed. Easy check in/ check out, relaxed and easy atmosphere with plenty of privacy. The evening food was outstanding and the breakfast was probably the best I've ever had. Excellent friendly service by all. Thanks and we'll be back for sure!!


great

4,6 sur août 12, 2012

it was a great stay the owner went out of his way to make us happy. the staff was very profesional and friendly. the breakfast was one of the best we had at any place we stayed.


Good value in Boothbay Harbor.

3,6 sur août 08, 2012

The full breakfast (included in price) was fantastic. Best blueberry pancakes I've ever had. The outdoor terrace is beautiful. 5 min walk to the harbor proper. Other than breakfast, no interaction with the Inn staff. Quiet and clean. Great for self-sufficient folks.


Great B&B

4,8 sur août 01, 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at The Thistle Inn while in Boothbay Harbor for a wedding. It's a very nice place in a good location, and the food is simply amazing. Our room was very nice, although it wasn't made up when we arrived. That was quickly remedied, so no real complaints. Highly recommended.


Nice Inn

3,0 sur août 01, 2012

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and stayed for two nights. The Inn is lovely, as was our room. My only complaint, and it is a small one, is that my husband could not find any coffee to make in the morning from the self-serve coffee station. Other than that, no complaints.


BEST Breakfast ever!

4,4 sur juillet 24, 2012

We stayed in 4 different places while on our Maine vacation! This was BY FAR our favorite! Comfortable bed and breakfast and service is EXCELLENT! If you are on the 3rd floor and going to arrive late on a hot summer day, call ahead and ask for the AC to be turned on in advance. We did okay going up the stairs, but we would suggest reserving the room on the bottom floor if you have knee issues. Our room (I think they all do) had a private tub and shower, but I could only get the shower to work (not the water from the faucet. Very FRIENDLY and helpful folks! Within a reasonable walking distance to town/harbor. We would definitely stay here again.


Great deal, good food

4,0 sur juillet 24, 2012

Had a nice stay at the Thistle Inn. Pretty good deal for what you get. The food was all pretty good. The room was nice, but hotter then hell on the top floor if you want to be environmentally friendly and not run the window unit 24/7. Didn't have the opportunity to meet the proprietors, but their staff was all very helpful.


Happy Guest!

5 sur juillet 23, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to the Thistle Inn on a first time visit to the Boothbay area. The room was perfect, comfortable and roomy. Great service. Dinner in the restaurant was DELICIOUS!


Fantastic Breakfasts

4,0 sur juillet 22, 2012

The rooms were spacious. The bathroom very tight. Location was great, within walking distance of everything in the town. Gourmet breakfasts on the deck were fantastic. The people were enthusiastic and very pleasant.


Great find!

4,6 sur juillet 21, 2012

We stayed here during the very busy summer months. This inn is removed from the bustle of downtown Boothbay Harbor, yet it is a quick walk to the Main St. The pub & restaurant were really nice & the breakfast was outstanding. The price of the room was great, considering it included a fabulous breakfast. I would recommend The Thistle Inn.


Excellent value

5 sur juillet 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night on our way up the Maine coast. Location of Inn was good: not in the thick of things, but within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and waterfront. Breakfast on the deck under the spreading tree branches was awesome. Staff were super friendly and the meal itself was high end, and included in the price of the room. We would highly recommend staying here and if not staying, consider just visiting for a reasonably priced delicious breakfast in a lovely setting.


Great Booth Bay Harbor B&B!

4,6 sur juillet 11, 2012

This was our second stay at the Thistle Inn and we will be back again! The food is outstanding and the service is great!


Overall Positive

3,6 sur juillet 09, 2012

Our rooms were on the third floor which was very hot as the AC had not been turned on before we got there. Also, I had requested a blow-up bed for our daughter which was no where to be found. I had to go into the bar to have them find someone to help us. A little disconcerting that there was no one there to greet us (I hadn't been informed of that on reserving) and we had to go find our keys. The personnel we had contact with were very pleasant! We had an excellent dinner and a delicious breakfast complete with fresh squeezed OJ. Left with an overall positive experience.


Highly recommend Thistle Inn

5 sur juillet 09, 2012

A perfect place to stay, affordable with an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. The room was very clean and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The owners went out of their way to accommodate our dietary limitations (vegan and vegetarian). I would not even search for another place to stay if we revisit Boothbay harbor. The experience at Thistle Inn was exactly what we hoped for and I am sure could not be beat!


A good value

3,8 sur juillet 07, 2012

For the price - I feel that the location, cleanliness, and details of the room were a good value. The B&B is located in downtown Boothbay Harbor, on the edge of all the shops. It's an Victorian house that is part restaraunt and lodging. We stayed in the Appledore room, which is a spacious room. The room includes dressers, a love seat couch, and a mini fridge. The other rooms we peeked at looked nice as well. Unfortunately the room is up on the 3rd floor and we felt that the a/c in the window was not strong enough to keep the room cool during the afternoon, and that day the temperature was between 87-90. Later in the evening it was more comfortable. The rooms on the 2nd floor felt cooler. The breakfast was delicious and filling and we enjoyed eating outside on the porch. The only thing that didn't meet our expectation was the check in and overall service. We found the check in process a bit confusing and rushed. We followed the signs around to the side door, but were greeted over an indiscernable intercom, and then waited 5 minutes on the porch before someone opened the door for us. We weren't sure if someone was coming or not. We felt that the owner could have spent a more time explaining things such as the town details, the events that evening, things around the area, where we could specifically find our room, etc. He left too quickly to manage the restaurant and we were left trying to find our way around the B&B and town. It was also difficult later to find someone at the B&B for our questions. We stay at B&B's frequently and the service here was flat. I think part is because that the owners are balancing a restaurant and B&B. We would stay here again if we are in the area, but next time we will have a different expectation and choose a room on the 2nd floor.


Good place in town.

4,0 sur juillet 06, 2012

Convenient...great dining...responsive staff...and Laphroaig!


Room decor and service were outstanding!

4,6 sur juillet 05, 2012

This stay - and the night in "Tumblewood" room - contributed to the great memories of our vacation in Maine which we will take back to Europe.


Awesome Bed and Breakfast!

5 sur juin 14, 2012

The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable! The food was delicious! Something different every day! Max and Jen were awesome! Highly recommend the Thistle Inn!


The Thistle Inn felt like home away from home - No regrets!

4,6 sur juin 13, 2012

We knew that the pictures online had completely sold us on this place, but we weren't prepared to have that confirmed from the moment we pulled up to the parking lot. How perfect! We knew from the crowd gathered in the restaurant that first night that we were in for a great meal and a fantastic weekend away. The room looked EXACTLY as pictured and it's definitely our favorite one in the inn (go Appledore!). The meals we had were A-mazing, the mussels were a favorite of ours and I cannot wait to go back for more of that grilled, buttery bread that comes with. Our room was very clean, oh-so-cozy, and super private. The surrounding area and neighborhood were so pretty, and met our every expectation. Breakfast was served on time every morning as promised and Max and crew were great about being flexible about our meal times (hurray for sleeping in!). Thanks again to Max and everyone at the Inn -- we had such a memorable weekend and you had so much to do with it. We appreciate all that you do and we hope to be back sooner than later!


A wonderful stay

4,4 sur mai 16, 2012

Sadly we visited in the off-season, but this place clearly would be a stand out when really cranking! The attached restaurant has great food, great prices, and an ambiance that was soothing (Also, the boat bar, that was so cool!)


Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, ME

5 sur mai 01, 2012

Great room and location. We traveled in off season, so price was great. Owner met us promptly as arranged and was very friendly and helpful.


Stay in the inn THE THISTLE INN

3,4 sur avril 18, 2012

Our off season innocuous stay was relaxing and at times too sedate. The benevolent atmosphere was refreshing. Tranquil off season shopping at Enchantments rewarded our senses. Onsite restaurant caters to a local populace.


All the comforts of home and more. A pleasant walk to the quaint town of Boothbay Harbor and all of its amenities.

5 sur avril 13, 2012

Home away from Home. Clean, comfortable, safe and friendly. The restaurant is great and the food better! When I put the key in the front door, I feel like I'm home. The Thistle Inn is a really nice place. Much better than commercialized hotels. Enjoy!! Corinne & David


Very pleased!

4,0 sur février 10, 2012

I was in Maine on business in February and everything was closed. I emailed the innkeeper and she responded quickly that she had a room. I was getting in late and she was very accommodating. My room was very nice. There was even a small refrigerator. The Inn is right in the heart of BoothBay Harbor, walking distance of the wharf, and the rest of the village. I did not get to eat there because of my schedule but I will try it when I come back!


Nice Mini break at the Thistle inn

3,8 sur janvier 18, 2012

The room was great! It was clean and spacious we loved the huge windows! There was a great atmosphere at the bar even in the middle of winter the pub was full! We had a great time the food was very good the only complaint would be the buffalo chicken tenders were very dry. The rest of the food was awesome!


Off Season Stay in Boothbay Harbor

3,6 sur novembre 30, 2011

The Thistle Inn was really lovely. The owners were great and the pub downstairs was pleasantly busy for an off season stay. I strongly recommend the fried scallops - possibly the best I have ever had. (I don't say that lightly having grown up on the cape.)


Great honeymoon spot!

4,8 sur novembre 22, 2011

We didn't have the opportunity to dine at the inn, but our experience was outstanding nonetheless... We'll definitely be back!


off season stay

3,4 sur octobre 28, 2011

we were there in off season, so that we did not test the breakfast and dining. for us the street was a little bit to loud in the morning. boothbay is very nice, small place.


Weekend away!

4,6 sur octobre 24, 2011

Our room was larger than expected and comfortable. The bar and dining were beyond any expectation. Our dinner meal was outstanding! Great location!


our stay at the Thistle Inn

4,0 sur octobre 05, 2011

I would love to have an in-room coffee maker and cups available, as we are usually up around 7am and enjoy coffee before getting up and out.

Réponse du propriétaire
We have now added a Keurig single cup coffee maker in the Mary Day room/library of the inn. This will help for those early cups of coffee and when there is no breakfast in the off season. Thank you for a valuable feedback.


The place to stay in Boothbay!

5 sur octobre 05, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn 3 times and have had a excellent experience each time. Would recomend that if you get a chance stay or at lease have dinner.


Another Wonderful Stay

5 sur octobre 03, 2011

We just spent another wonderful 2 nights at the Thistle Inn. We stayed in the American Eagle room and it was roomy, and inviting. We had wonderful breakfasts prepared by Zach & Jessica and then at night we ate at the bar with Sasha and had great food and wine. Looking forward to next year.


Vacation

5 sur septembre 21, 2011

Great location, room was extremely comfortable and the food was outstanding. Jessica and Zach were great!


A+ Inn

5 sur septembre 21, 2011

Everything was wonderful ... lots of charm ... fantastic food!


The Thistle Inn

4,2 sur septembre 21, 2011

I enjoyed my too short stay at The Thistle Inn. My room, Victory Chimes, was large and pleasant. The location near the front door made moving in and out a breeze, and I enjoyed stepping right out to check the weather. There was no problem with noise from the door area. The innkeepers were great. They are very knowledgeable about the area and easily shared ideas with us travelers. The breakfast was wonderful, with a few strips of good bacon and some awesome apple crepes. The location of the Inn was fine, just a few blocks from the center of town, an easy walk. I did not need to use the computer they provide for guests, but the wi-fi worked well.


Great stay in a great Inn

4,2 sur septembre 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Thistle Inn this past weekend and had a marvelous stay. The Innkeepers were wonderful; the bed and linens were so comfy; the bathroom was quite large and the breakfast was scrumptious. They even gave a us a goodie bag of muffins for the road trip home. Would highly recommend this Inn - walking distance to everything. We will be back. We ate at the attached restaurant and it was superb - high quality food.


warm and comfortable

4,6 sur septembre 16, 2011

Friendly and accomodating --- dinner was an 11 Our room was cozy and comfortable and quiet.


Labor Day Weekend

4,6 sur septembre 09, 2011

It was a beautiful venue with an exceptionally large room and bath. It had air conditioning, a frig, and television, telephone. Even though we were on the first floor the room was quiet and the curtains kept out any light, so good sleeping. The Thistle Inn is walking distance to town, so that's great. The restaurant is charming, there's a cool pub and the outdoor dining lovely as well. Both breakfasts were large, hot, prepared for us individually, and absolutely delicious. Great coffee and very friendly and helpful staff, too, I'd definitely go back.


Unbelievable place!

5 sur septembre 08, 2011

This b&b was one of the best we've ever stayed in. The location is perfect, food delicious, rooms cozy & clean, and staff super nice & accommodating. We are already planning another stay.


Good visit

4,2 sur septembre 07, 2011

The rooms were very nice, the staff (Jessica) was great, breakfast was exceptional and dining in the restaurant in the evening was our best meal in Boothbay Harbor. Thistle Inn is just 1 block from downtown shopping and very convenient.


Wonderful Getaway!

4,4 sur septembre 05, 2011

The Thistle Inn was charming. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was terrific. The breakfasts were always very interesting selections and delicious. The dinner menu was extensive and the most accomplished in Boothbay Harbor. In short, the food was delicious. The happy hour in the Inn's bar was a great way for guests to meet and share their stories from the day. All in all, a great place to stay.


Wonderful

5 sur septembre 04, 2011

What a great stay. jessica was great in surprising us with wine to go with our dinner. Really felt at home.


Our 40th Anniversary Gift from our son and daughter-in-law

5 sur août 31, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Thistle Inn. We had never visited Boothbay and were happily surprised when we arrived. We love our room which was situated above the pub. The pub atomosphere was very friendly and the food portionswere large. The food was great! The owners were froendly and suggested that we visit the Botanical Gardens which were beautiful and fun. We spent most of the day there. We enjoyed a lovely dinner on the dining porch on the second evening and it was fabulous. There was an extensive wine selection. It was a lovely way to relax and celebrate our anniversay. The breakfasts were beautiful and yummy. What a wonderful gift we received from our children. I would recommend this place to our friends.


One night at the Thistle

3,6 sur août 30, 2011

We had a good stay, the hosts were great, the Inn lovely and the food fantastic. Unfortunately having a ground floor room we couldn't open the windows and the air-con was noisy and the bed could've been more comfy.


Great Stay

5 sur août 29, 2011

We spent one night in the "Victory Chimes" room and it was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom large and sparkling clean. I feasted on the lobster paella in the restaurant that evening where the service was also very good. Breakfast was outstanding - the hosts cleverly dealt with my gluten and dairy restrictions and provided us with a delicious start to the day.


amazing meal and beautiful outdoor dining area

4,0 sur août 28, 2011

We had one of the best meals we have ever had. The outdoor dining area was so beautiful and atmospheric. Gorgeous oak trees strung with white lights overhead, soft music, fabulous service. The inn keepers went out of their way to help us plan our stay in the area. Lovely place.


Outstanding Dining

4,2 sur août 27, 2011

We stayed at the Thistle Inn for two nights in mid-August. This inn is very quaint with a large deck seated under the canopy of beautiful maple trees. The food was incredible both for dinner and breakfast. Would love to go back for a weekend getaway.


thistle inn

5 sur août 21, 2011

excellent food in the pub below and the breakfast was delicious.


enjoyable and friendly

4,6 sur août 20, 2011

the thistle inn has a very clean and friendly atmosphere. the innkeepers/staff are very pleasant/helpful. breakfasts were wonderful as were the treats given to us for one of our outings.


A pleasant experience

3,8 sur août 19, 2011

The Thistle was conveniently central, charming, comfortable and efficient. The staff were helpful. We enjoyed our stay and found it out of the ordinary.


Great Place

5 sur août 17, 2011

Very friendly. Great service. Great food. This was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast. I would stay here again.


Brown Review

4,4 sur août 15, 2011

We were so pleased with the service especially regarding the great care given to accomodate my husband's dietary needs. Those needs are often misunderstood yet they were perfecty understood by the innkeepers at the Thistle Inn. It made our stay very enjoyable. We loved everything.


Thistle Inn

4,6 sur août 15, 2011

The Thistle Inn was fantastic. The innkeepers and proprietors were most accomodating and helpful. The service could not have been any friendlier and the dining was exceptional. It was so relaxing and enjoyable we tried to stay another night, but alas, the were booked solid. the Inn is in a perfect location to enjoy the shops and restaurants in Booth Bay Harbor. The breakfasts were absolutely outstanding, and unfortunately only served through Columbus Day. Dinner is served year round and that also was a dining delight. Service from the Innkeepers could not have been better. We will definitely come back.


Thistle Inn continues to deliver

4,8 sur août 08, 2011

It was lovely to hear music playing on the patio in the morning and in the evening. The food was spectacular, the morning breakfast was delicious and extremely peaceful and sedate eating breakfast on the terrace with the music playing. A nice way to start the day.


Great stay at The Thistle Inn!

4,0 sur juillet 28, 2011

Wonderful location in Booth Bay, Me. Beautiful , very clean rooms. Great food and even better cocktails.


Good value

4,2 sur juillet 27, 2011

This Inn was A good alternative from the average hotel/motel room in the typical Maine town. The room ws spacious but the shower was small. The innkeepers were helpful and friendly and the food was very good. It was much nicer staying here than anywhere else we noticed as we wlked around town. Dont worry about not being right on the water because it is only 2 blocks from the harbor and you will be right in downtown! A nice place to stay!


New England charm

5 sur juillet 24, 2011

The Innkeepers, Jen and Max have done a superb job making sure that each guest feels at home. The rooms are very comfortable, the food outstanding!!!! They have one of the best mixologist (bartender) we have have met. So much charm and warmth in this lovely B&B. When considering a stop in Boothbay Harbor, this is a must. Patricia and David Patterson Haddonfield, NJ


Nice Stay

3,2 sur juillet 23, 2011

For the dollar value it was nice. Slightly less then others in the area however, having coffee, tea or a snack available during the day was missed. One of the most pleasant innkeepers around who make you feel always welcome.


Great Getaway

4,4 sur juillet 19, 2011

Cozy inn with excellent bar and restaurant. Close to town, but quiet. Wonderful breakfasts.... Very creative..... although set breakfast reservations meant less opportunity to socialize with other guests.


Loved it!

5 sur juillet 04, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and loved it. The Timberwind room was more lovely than even the photos depict, so comfortable, spacious and clean. The breakfast was delicious, prepared with home-style care from Jessica and Zach. Jessica was friendly and helpful with local suggestions, and even packed a treat bag of muffins for our ride home on the last day. The inn is a very close walk to the harbor without being in the middle of the action. We can't wait to return!


Vacation in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

3,6 sur juin 29, 2011

Room Sherman Zwicker Pros: Room well appointed, very clean Bath very large and good setup for storing suitcases and preparing for day ++Resturant was excellant, I had the Atlantic Salmon, Really enjoyed the bar n resturant being on ground floor, makes for enjoyable evening if one over indulges. Breakfast room excellant, staff courteous and friendly, breakfast meal outstanding. Cons: TV a little small, but OK Bath/shower could be improved for 'old folks, like me (64)', needs slip resistant pad and/or hand bars for entry n exit n while in shower Location: A 1/2 mile walk to main tourist area Would stay again when in area and would recommend to couples who want a clean quiet location


Our Stay

5 sur juin 20, 2011

Great location; awesome accomodations and the innkeepers Max & Jen went beyond in making our stay special and went out of their way to accomodate us by getting up early and making a gourmet breakfast to go since we had to leave early. thank you


Thistle Inn

4,4 sur juin 15, 2011

This was a great place to stay. The Innkeepers Max & Jen were just great! The food was outstanding. Has a very quaint atmosphere! Would highly recommend.


May 2011 at the Thistle Inn

4,2 sur juin 14, 2011

The inn is charming and convienently located. The staff were delightful and very friendly.


Close to everything!

4,2 sur juin 04, 2011

If you are going to Boothbay Harbor, The Thistle Inn is a great place to stay. It is in walking distance to everything in town. The properties managers are warm and friendly and anxious to answer all your questions about the area. The breakfast is fantastic. If they are not busy you can pick your choice of breakfast menus. As an added plus, the Inn has a bar and restaurant. Lamb is a speciality. I highly recommend the Thistle Inn.


Quaint and comfortable place to stay

3,2 sur mai 28, 2011

We spent one night at this B&B with two other couples in May. All three rooms were uniquely decorated and spacious. Only one room is on the bottom floor, and the stairs to floors 2 and 3 are narrow since it's an old sea captain's house. The neighborhood was quiet. Because we were early in the season, we negotiated a lower rate with no breakfast. There's a cute bakery nearby that was great for breakfast, and Boothbay Harbor Botanical Garden is close by and worth the trip. I would recommend this inn and would stay here again.


Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, ME

4,6 sur mai 22, 2011

The place is adorable. Very affordable off season prices. The Inn itself was much more than exceptional. The Inn's restaurant? Food was absolutely incredible, but the servers... although very friendly and helpful seemed a bit hassled and harried and slow, which we found unusual for the slow season. My dinner-mate ordered a draft beer which was served flat, very disappointing, since the bartender should have known better. But is it worth a return visit? Absolutely.


A wonderful B&B.

4,4 sur mai 18, 2011

We arrived on 5/13/11 (before the "High" Season, no breakfast was provided). Checking in was fast and easy. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We stayed 3 nights. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. Would recommend without hesitation.


off season

3,2 sur mai 17, 2011

We were at the Inn during an off season weekend and we know to expect no crowds, but we were not told ahead of time that the dining room would be closed on Sunday and Monday (our stay was saturday-monday) NO ONE was around. we wandered to our room ourselves and only found out we had a small fridge on the day we were checking to make sure we had packed everything to leave. Good price for room but...expect to be self sufficient if you go off season!

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry that you were not 100% happy. We make every effort to keep our website up to date with when the restaurant is open in the off season and apologize that this was not communicated well to you. Each guest receives a welcome letter with an overview of where things are in the room and there is a book in each room with the same information. Timberwind has lots of closets, refrigerator in a closet, skylights and a ceiling fan to operate - it needs a little explaining, I agree. We hope we can better serve you on another visit. Our in-season staff begins as of 5/20 with a full breakfast in the morning and more interaction. We hope we get to meet you again.


Boothbay's Thistle Inn

4,2 sur avril 19, 2011

The Appledore room is so beautiful - well-appointed with antiques and lovely bedding. We also have eaten at the pub twice and enjoyed the food and atmosphere very much. I would definitely stay at the Thistle again!


Excellent hotel/motel alternative

4,4 sur février 24, 2011

Staff was very accommodating. Parking is very limited and since we arrived after Happy Hour began, there was no parking. Max quickly got us a spot near the door. We also observed that even though our room was close to the bar and restaurant, we never heard a sound from there. Our room was clean, very quiet (with plenty of space).


Beautiful Winter Weekend at the Thistle Inn

4,8 sur février 21, 2011

We stayed at the Thistle Inn for a night on a recent weekend getaway, and had a delightful evening. Because it was mid-winter, we were the only guests staying at the Inn, but we felt very welcome as soon as we stepped into our warm and cozy guest room. It was spacious and beautiful, and a great value in the off season! After exploring snowy Boothbay Harbor, we returned for great happy hour specials and a delicious dinner at the Inn's restaurant. The only drawback was that we didn't have a thermostat in our room, so overnight it got a little too warm and cozy, and we couldn't do much about it. Otherwise everything was fantastic; we can't wait to go back in the spring!


Great Winter Getaway!

4,4 sur janvier 04, 2011

This was a great place to get away for a weekend in the winter. The off-season prices are great, the food is great, it's a great location in Boothbay Harbor, and it's not far from Acadia!


THE BEST!!!

5 sur janvier 04, 2011

I recently stayed at The Thistle in for New Years! Not only were the accomodation incredible but the food and service I received were far above anything else I had ever encountered. THe management team went above and beyond my expectations. They turned a hopefully nice evening into something completely magical. Don't miss out on this amazing Bed and Breakfast with the best service and friendliest staff. Trust me you won't regret it!


wonderful as usual

5 sur janvier 02, 2011

We have stayed multiple times here and have NEVER had a complaint!!! the innkeepers could not be more accommodating. Lisa at the bar is fabulous, Chef Mike is outstanding. The best food in BBH without a doubt. Just park your car and get ready for a restful time in a spotless room with great food and drink. You may not want to leave.


WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE!!!

4,8 sur décembre 01, 2010

Dinner was in the bar by choice, excellent fare, sever by the bar tender. Nice selection of wines. bar is an old Wooden lapstrake type boat hull! They have signature "tater tots "that you might serve at a formal dinner! Yumm! Great with a burger or Tuna tartare ( my choice ) Our room was recently redecorated and the king bed mattress brand new. Nicely appointed and comfy! Even though we were off season ( great rate reduction ) the service and the attention to details get an A +! lovely end to Thanksgiving! DD Booth Buffalo, NY


Thistle Inn

2,6 sur novembre 27, 2010

Beautiful inn in a beautiful location. However, was not terribly impressed that the innkeeper did not help me bring my bags up to my room on the third floor, nor did he show me to my room. I also thought that it was unsatisfactory that there is not at least coffee served in the off season, much less at least a continental breakfast. Not likely to return.

Réponse du propriétaire
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We offer a low rate of $99 in the off season for lodging only (Nov. 1 - May 31) with no breakfast. We try to make this clear on all reservations. If our guests are interested in breakfast, it can be arranged in advance by contacting the inn. Otherwise, we recommend 3 locations for breakfast that are within short walking distance from the inn. I do appreciate your feedback.


Charm and comfort

5 sur novembre 26, 2010

We loved our room -- the Victory Chimes -- in the off-season. The restaurant menu was delicious and imaginative. We'd rebook in a flash.


Low-Key and Relaxing

4,6 sur novembre 16, 2010

Excellent restaraunt, convenient location. Easy check in- check out process. Owners were terrific, helpful but not overbearing. Such a fine line w/ some B&B's/ inns. The owners were accessable if needed, but respected our privacy and space, which is exactly what we needed. Great stay!


Thistle Inn, Boothbay harbor

3,6 sur novembre 03, 2010

Our room was very neat, clean and the linens were fresh. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good along with a superb evening meal at a very reasonable price. Will definately stay again. Paul & Dottie Savard


The Thistle Inn, Booth Bay Harbor, Maine

3,0 sur octobre 18, 2010

Very nice inn: quaint and cozy. Color schemes in bedroom was very well chosen. Thankfully the bathroom was updated and very functional. Breakfast was delicious and the dining room serving as a library is a great idea. Our visit was short, but in nice weather the outdoor area must be gorgeous. We had already made dinner plans, so we didn't try the restaurant on premises but the menu looked scrumptious.


Great Inn

4,2 sur septembre 12, 2010

The Owners of the Inn make you feel like you are right at home


Thistle Inn, Good B&B, Fantastic food

4,0 sur septembre 01, 2010

The restaurant was excellent in every regard. The B & B was good, quiet, comfortable, and clean. It lacked a community feeling having limited common space. We prefer having breakfast in a more country setting with other guests around a large table creating a forum for discussions and meeting others.


The Thistle Inn is 5 stars.

5 sur août 30, 2010

We stayed in the Victory Chimes room on Aug 20-21, 2010. Spacious 1st floor room with very large private bath. King size bed, excellent mattress and pillows. Flat screen TV (but we didn't turn it on). Wifi. Superb location just 2 blocks from town shops and harbor. Excellent (and very popular) restaurant on premises. The included full breakfast is outstanding, and the innkeepers are terrific. Breakfast served on the deck, weather permitting. I didn't see the rooms on the second floor but this room beats all for convenience location and access without stairs.


Beautifull!

4,0 sur août 29, 2010

Beautifull place!


Wonderful!

4,6 sur août 25, 2010

My husband remembered this inn from several years ago and wanted to surprise me for a romantic getaway night. The room we stayed in was beautiful - clean and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the pretty little attached bath - I was thinking we might have to share one with other guests but that wasn't the case. Dinner in the restaurant was very memorable. I have never tried duck before and the meal was expertly prepared, beautifully presented and indescribably delicious! Breakfast in the morning was on the terrace and we were very impressed by the attentiveness of our hosts and the quality of the meal. They took the time to explain a little of the history of the place. We also loved the maple canopy that overhung the terrace - it gave privacy even though the inn is on a busy road. All in all, our stay at the Thistle Inn was everything we could have wanted. We would certainly recommend it and would stay there again.


2 day stay

3,8 sur août 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the inn. Everyone was very friendly and accommadating. The dinners at the restaurant were excellent.


Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, ME

4,6 sur août 16, 2010

This inn is nicely located away from the busy downtown area but was an easy walk. The inn keepers were very accomodating. The restaurant was excellent for dinner and the breakfast was lovely. Great way to visit the coast and the Botanical Gardens which were amazing and a must see.


A great stop on a trip to the Maine coast

4,4 sur août 13, 2010

This was a terrific place to stay in Booth Bay Harbor, Maine. We loved the experience of staying at The Thistle Inn. The Innkeepers, Max and Jen were extremely accommodating. We arrived late and had dinner at the Inn. Not only was the food fantastic, but the service was great too. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast with the best blueberry muffins ever. In fact, they were the best blueberry muffins we had on our 5 day trip to Maine. My husband and daughter told me that I really scored on this B&B pick - we will definitely return to The Thistle Inn.


The Thistle Inn

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $99 - $159
  • Avis (184) 4,2
  • Chambres 6

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-2076333541

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut