The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard Avis

Ensemble
4,1

Plus d'infos

  • Chambre
    4,1
  • Services4,2
  • Qualité/Prix3,8
  • Propreté4,3
  • Repas4,1

Notation basée sur
38 Avis

Ecrire un avis

Lovely stay

4,6 sur septembre 12, 2014

Our stay at Doctor's House was wonderful. It was quiet, peaceful, and restful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. All of our needs and requests were met and service was exceptional. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Vineyard Haven.


Lovely B&B with great breakfast

3,2 sur août 17, 2014

We had a perfect week in this charming b&b. The Doctor's House is a romantic place to stay and rest a few days. Some of the interior is a bit outdated and the equipment shares the age with the CRT TVs. The breakfast is fresh and outstanding but only served between 8 and 9. The room was clean when we arrived but the daily housekeeping was at the bare minimum - making the bed and emptying the baskets. Tyler, a young man responsible for the breakfast service, cleaning the rooms and maintaining the lawn (so almost everything) is very friendly and very service oriented. The hostess, Jilana, is very inconstant in her behavior, can be be friendly with an austere charm but has no problem to argue with Tyler whether he spends too much time hosting the guests. One of the highlights is the turkey show. Every evening at sunset 17 turkeys meet to climb the tree one by one.


Wonderful stay! A true island gem

5 sur août 07, 2014

Spent a weekend at the Doctor's House and it was absolutely wonderful! The owners and staff are such warm, kind and welcoming people. The property is really beautiful and is in a very peaceful spot for sleeping while still being in a really great location to get around the island. Really has that island lifestyle feel! I would recommend staying here to anyone and everyone. Already planning my next weekend on MV


Offensive behaviours on the property

2,6 sur juillet 28, 2014

No locks on the rooms. This meant that every time we went out we had to take all valuables with us. Even to the beach. While sitting in the back yard during the evening a person that lives there proceeded to shower naked at the back of the house with no shield around him. Very offensive. Wouldn't recommend to families or couples.


honeymoon stay

3,0 sur juillet 24, 2014

we stayed in the suite. it was nice and bed was new. I was a little unimpressed with the lack of cleanliness during the week we were there. we are asked by a kid who has never worked in hospitality industry (it was evident) almost daily if we wanted someone to come make the bed and take the trash . for the price we paid, I would have expected daily cleaning, without asking and fresh towels every few days instead of having to ask for them. we were never offered keys to the locks on our room (Vineyard is very trusting apparently) and this made me nervous with some valuables in the room. Same food choices daily which got old. One of us has some dietary restrictions which we were never asked about and too afraid to speak of. inn keeper was nice but not overly friendly or approachable.


Wonderful 3 day visit!

5 sur juin 26, 2014

The house itself is beautiful and impeccably kept up. It is located on a very quiet road, and has lovely lawns and gardens. The room itself was pristine, and very comfortable. Jilana, the innkeeper, attended to all of our needs, including setting us up with bikes, beach umbrellas and good tips for which beaches to go to.


Wonderful trip

5 sur juin 25, 2014

The owner was so friendly and helpful. She had many good suggestions about what we should see and do. Breakfast was great. The homemade granola was my favorite. The house was charming and very quiet. The gardens were beautiful. Easy walk to Vineyard Haven.


Great Stay!

4,6 sur juin 12, 2014

Great location and beautiful home. Limited time for breakfast - difficult to plan around. Coffee not available until late morning.


Cozy, family friendly B&B

5 sur mai 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Doctor's for two separate seasons. Each stay was comfortable, friendly, and included a gourmet breakfast. The property sits on a beautiful and spacious set of land with an expansive back yard for enjoying. It's a stone's throw away from Vineyard Haven center, which has a quaint downtown with dining, shops, and Ferry. We also brought our dog who has become fast friends with the resident dog of the residence :-) We look forward to returning to the Vineyard again and staying at the Doctor's B&B!!! -Dan & Raelee


a great stay

5 sur octobre 09, 2013

We had a great three nights at the Doctor's House, at the beginning of Fall. It was beautiful, well kept, and cozy. Jilliana is an excellent chef/baker, and we enjoyed conversing with her after breakfast. Would highly recommend this great B&B, a 2-minute bike ride to the center of town, to anyone. Tom and Sarah L.


Lovely stay on the Vineyard

4,0 sur septembre 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doctor's House B&B for a long weekend and were very pleased with our selection, particularly since there are limited dog-friendly accommodations on the island. The inn is far enough from the ferry and main street to be relaxing, but close enough for us to walk easily. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms but it was perfectly fine for us and our small pug. The breakfasts were delicious with a nice variety, and the inn was large enough that we rarely saw other guests other than at breakfast. We enjoyed spending time reading in the spacious yard and brought back lunch and wine one day to enjoy on the back patio. Vineyard Haven was a good choice for us because of its proximity to the ferry (which made bringing our pup easier!), and we were particularly glad we chose it over the Oak Bluffs area which had a less than upscale vibe. We did enjoy visiting Edgartown with its stunning views and beautifully maintained properties, and it was an easy bus ride away from VH. We didn't have the time (or bring a car) to explore the more isolated parts of the island but would love to return. And we would not hesitate to stay at the Doctor's House B&B again.


Lovely setting and staff

4,0 sur juillet 12, 2013

We had a very nice two-night stay at the Doctor's House B&B. The house is gorgeous, as are the gardens around it. It's a five minute walk from the shops and restaurants on Main Street in Vineyard Haven, which is close enough to be convenient but far enough that it's quiet. The staff is very courteous and breakfast was copious and tasty. The room we stayed in is quite large and also has an adjacent sitting room. However, for a room that is named the "Romantic Suite", it did have one major drawback and that is that the bed is extremely creaky. The tiniest shift makes the whole thing squeak very loudly. Also, the mattress sags in the center, causing both occupants to sink towards the middle. My suggestion would be to get rid of the poster bed frame and replace the queen mattress with a king size one, for which there is ample space. In summary, I would recommend this B&B to anyone, but I would suggest inquiring about the bed before booking.


Tree full of wild turkeys at The Doctors House.

3,6 sur juillet 06, 2013

The Doctors House is a very comfortable B&B in Vineyard Haven and, with its location just up from the town, makes a very good base for exploring the island. Our room was relatively small but nicely decorated and very comfortable. It's a rambling old house with a number of available common areas including a refrigerator. There were three house cats and one dog while we were there so, if you don't want animals around, this is not the place for you. There were also a "tribe" of wild turkeys who roosted in the huge old oak tree in the evening. Jilana and Ben offer five good options for breakfast each morning. David Smith


Quiet & Peaceful B&B

4,4 sur mai 27, 2013

Lovely home - beautiful grounds - quiet and peaceful. Nice to enjoy the busy towns and go back to the inn for peace & quiet. Various rooms to sit in with nice views of the grounds. We were lucky with weather and enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast and relaxing in lawn chairs in the afternoon. There were 2 cats, a dog, birds galore and lots of turkeys around. We loved the social visits from the very friendly cats and dog but those who don't prefer animals should be aware. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated but mattress wasn't too comfortable. However it's tough to compare to our home mattress which is high end. Everything was clean and tidy. Coffee & tea available at all times. There were 4 options for breakfast each day that remained the same for 4 days - and one additional item on our 4th day. Food was good - great homemade granola! Jilana and Ben (resident summer help) were friendly and eager to please. Would definitely return.


It's not wht it used to be

2,2 sur octobre 03, 2012

Instead of being greeted by people we were greeted by an envelope tacked to a board near the front door. We didn't meet anyone until the next morning when a charming lad from Texas took our breakfast orders. The breakfast was less than abundant and no seconds were allowed. The online price for our room was $45. less per night than the price we paid, so I suggest you clarify what room you are getting before signing up. Not the usual level of gracious B&B one has come to expect.


Review of the Doctor's House B&B

3,2 sur septembre 13, 2012

The place was clean and larger than other B&B's I've stayed in. The location is great and we ended up walking to town a couple days. The room was well decorated and had every amenity you could need but the bed was a little uncomfortable. Breakfast was delicious but we didnt like that you had to eat between 8am-9am. We would have preferred a two hour window. Overall, we would return.


ok

3,8 sur septembre 04, 2012

The owner was obviously not happy we brought our dogs - although it is listed as "pet friendly." Perhaps they should clarify to say "some pets welcome, please call to discuss before coming"....or take all the BS out, and simply don't advertise as "pet friendly." We were told (no less than 3 times while checking in) that "you cannot leave the dogs unattended in the room for any amount of time." When we pleasantly agreed to obey the rules, we were asked "well, how are you going to go to dinner?" As if we were't going to respect the rules. Had to go to breakfast one at a time downstairs, because of conflicting rules: dogs can't stay in rooms unattended, but can't bring food up to the room - have to eat breakfast at a table downstairs - for 2 days, my husband and I ate breakfast separately. We would have happily stayed somewhere else, that truly was "pet friendly."


Summer Weekend

4,2 sur août 23, 2012

Charming spot to get away from it all and be able to get around the Island


wonderful visit martha's vineyard

4,6 sur août 21, 2012

welcoming staff, excellent breakfast, very good location


Nice place in a quiet, but convenient neighborhood.

4,0 sur août 20, 2012

This was the first time we had ever stayed in a B&B so we weren't sure what to expect. Jilana went out of her way to explain the house, for lack of a better term, "rules" and make us feel welcome. It is not a long walk to Vineyard Haven, but the house is quite a bit higher than the town, so it may be too strenuous for some. All in all, a nice place to stay if you want a quiet visit to MV.


A wonderful stay

4,4 sur août 15, 2012

We loved our stay- the room was beautiful and the breakfasts delicious. Can't wait to go back


Absolutely Delicious

4,0 sur août 07, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt like home. Th Inn has every detail covered, the atmosphere is relaxing, the personnel very helpful without intruding, the garden is beautiful, the rooms are very confortable and the breakfast is beyond what you normally get in a B&B. Really delicious!


Beautiful property with very peaceful surroundings...

2,6 sur août 04, 2012

The property is absolutely stunning, breakfast is delicious and Lexi, the dog is very friendly. The check-in was a bit strange since nobody really asked for any form of an ID. The only complaint that I have is the bed - very, very, very soft mattress. I came back a week ago and I still can't fully turn my neck. I couldn't sleep at all it was so uncomfortable but i guess it's just a matter of preference and I don't know if the mattresses are the same in every room. Another little strange detail was (never happened to me before and I travel quite a bit) - the rooms have no keys. Nothing bad happened, nothing got lost or stolen - it just that I found it a bit weird. Overall, very nice property, very residential, close to ferry, very quiet with very nice neighbourhood to walk around.


The Doctors House Martha's Vineyard

4,6 sur juillet 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Doctors House. The service was friendly and helpful. The accommodations were outstanding. The room was large and clean. They had beach towels and robes for the guests. The residence is a large property in a quiet leafy neighbourhood, which is a 10 minute walk to Vineyard Haven. The breakfast was beyond continental, with tasty and filling choices. The cost for the stay was pricey, but this is Martha's Vineyard and everything is high so as value goes it is fine. The island is easy to navigate by public buses, which are inexpensive and run regularly. We highly recommend a stay at the Doctors House; the other people we met at breakfast were enjoying their stay as well.


Lovely B&B - We hope to be back!

4,2 sur juillet 07, 2012

The Doctor's House is tucked away from the rush of Vineyard Haven but still within the scent of the sea. Walk just a few hundred yards and you can see it too. We were delighted to arrive at this tranquil spot in the late afternoon, and to be greeted by the friendly, low key staff. In early summer, the garden is spectacular and a great place to lounge and read in the shade or sun - I have no doubt it's equally pleasant other times of year too. Our room was one of the smaller ones, I think, but very nicely appointed. We felt as though we'd arrived somewhere very special and are eager to return again and see the Vineyard in another season. Check it out - I bet you'll like it too.


Excellent place to stay

5 sur juillet 07, 2012

The Dr.'s House is a wonderful place to stay. Jilana was a great host; welcoming and great to chat with. She helped us hone in on various activities and offered up a bunch of new ideas. The house is well decorated and very comfortable. We loved our room and found it very peaceful. We enjoyed the well-maintained grounds; sitting out in the backyard in the afternoon after an active day. The house is easily walkable to central Vineyard Haven (we did not need a car at all), but is off the main path so is quiet. The breakfasts were amazing from the yummy coffee to the fresh scones to the eggs benedict. WiFi worked throughout and they even had a few bicycles on hand that we could borrow. We absolutely loved our stay here and it will be our first choice when we return. -Andrew & Cheryl


Wonderful B&B !

4,8 sur juin 09, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Dr.'s House B&B. The owner is very involved and makes a wonderful breakfast, very personal consideration for our needs, and of course, extensive knowledge of the island for new visitors. The grounds and the gardens are beautiful and the house, itself is beautifully renovated and a warm welcoming atmosphere to enjoy. We highly recommend this B&B.


Fantastic Little Getaway

4,4 sur mai 16, 2012

When you go to the Vineyard, this is the kind of place you hope to stay. You can walk to the town and nearby beaches, but when you're on the large property it's secluded and feels like being in a country home at the turn of the century, not touristy at all. Breakfast was awesome and it was so nice to sit on the porch in the morning sunshine with a cup of coffee. The room had a canopy bed and was quite comfy. Jilana made everything super easy and relaxing, she embodies the Vineyard! We've been to other B&Bs where we felt like we were invading someone's home. This place made us feel like we were in our own home.


Chilling out at the Doctor's House, Martha's Vineyard

4,2 sur octobre 17, 2011

We stayed two nights at The Doctor's House in October after an action-packed eight day road trip in New England and it was the perfect relaxing end to a memorable holiday. This is a gem of a B&B. The setting, ambience and kindness of the owners in sharing their lovely home are exceptional. Breakfast was delicious, our room was welcoming and confortable and the grounds are a delight. We cannot recommend this accommodation too highly. Looking forward to a return trip in the not too distant future.


Very nice getaway

3,8 sur octobre 12, 2011

Had a wonderful time at the Doctor's House. Robert, the innkeeper, was extremely gracious and most accommodating. Breakfast was awesome!!


Thank you for a lovely visit

3,2 sur octobre 09, 2011

What a delightful find! Easy off the ferry, comfortable and a yummy breakfast. Very pretty grounds and friendly staff.


Great value - Friendly, comfy bed and breakfast

4,0 sur octobre 05, 2011

This lovely bed and breakfast has an enormous amount of character and charm, comfortable beds, clean comfortable bathrooms and great staff. Innkeeper provided delicious cooked to order breakfasts - was charming and friendly. Rooms were a good size and the location was very quiet and accessible to town. I would definitely visit again.


Fabulous Stay in Vineyard Haven

4,0 sur octobre 05, 2011

Off a quiet street and close to town, the Doctor's House stands majestic and inviting. The rooms are cozy and well kept, and the breakfast, made to order is delicious and seasonal. The resident cats are friendly and can be found wondering the premises looking for someone to cuddle up with. We were very pleased with our stay and if we find ourselves on Martha's Vineyard again, we will definitely be booking our stay here.


Fabulous week at the Doctor's House!

5 sur septembre 12, 2011

This is my 3rd stay at the Doctor's House and it was an absolutely fabulous 5 days. The highlights: Atmosphere: beautiful, well-kept, peaceful with sprawling gardens. Inside is roomy, cozy, and clean. Breakfast: Choose from several fabulous choices. I enjoyed the yogurt parfait, eggs benedict, salmon plate, and croissant french toast. Location: walking distance to Vineyard Haven ferry and downtown area with tons of unique shops and restaurants. Bonus: access to bikes (for free), hammock, and wild turkeys! The owner, Jilana, knows everything there is to know about the island and gave us many great recommendations. This is a must-stay B&B!


Doctor's House visit

5 sur août 11, 2011

The Doctor's house was fabulous and the staff was extremely warm and friendly. The breakfast was spectacular, with a warm welcome each day from Ben! The rooms were outfitted beautifully and very comfortable. I would highly recommend the Doctor's House and hope to be back next year!


Gorgeous B&B in Vineyard Haven!

4,0 sur juillet 08, 2011

The Doctor's House is a short walk from the ferry and downtown VH. We stayed in Room 6, the smallest room on the property, which was still ample in size and very charming. The grounds are gorgeous as you can see from the pictures. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order with choices of croissant french toast and eggs benedict in addition to scones, muffins, and a fruit plate. Overall, we were very pleased with The Doctor's House and can't wait to return!


The Doctor's House

3,0 sur juillet 04, 2011

It would be nice to have access to an area in the kitchen for self serve coffee in the morning, an ice maker, etc. There's a B&B - the Cape Charles House in Cape Charles VA that has a built in cupboard in the kitchen specifically for guest. Built in ice maker, cups and coffee pots etc in the am. Nice Touch.


Can't wait to come back!

4,6 sur mai 20, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at The Doctor's House. It's a beautiful house located just a short walk from the town of Vineyard Haven. The property is beautiful and the rooms were all lovely. The best part about this B&B was the fact that we were, for the most part, left alone. We could come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful (fantastic coffee!). My husband and I had a lovely stay and can't wait to return!


The Doctors House B&B of Martha's Vineyard

Détails

  • Prix par nuit $195 - $400
  • Avis (38) 4,1
  • Chambres 7
  • Accepte les cartes cadeaux

Contactez ou Réservez

  • Téléphone 1-5086960859
  • Fax 1-5086960403
  • Appel gratuit (depuis les USA) 1-8665076670

Site web du B&B »

Plus d'infos

Haut